Back to Micro Snitch page
Micro Snitch free download for Mac

Micro Snitch Reviews

1.3.1
13 December 2018

Know when someone spies on you (was NOYB).

MacUpdate-Ishaq
15 June 2015

Most helpful

Although I have never had the displeasure of discovering I've been spied on through my webcam, the days when I could scoff at such a notion are long gone. Marginally skilled hackers have long found ways to tap into our webcams, which is frustratingly frightening enough, but a proliferation of reports in recent years emphatically shows that even employers and schools have been found guilty of secretly accessing users' webcams. I wouldn't call myself an internet security paranoiac by any stretch – I'm actually among the least so in my group of friends and colleagues. My willful naivety has afforded me the luxury of never needing to *know why* users get spied on. It's a topic of conversation outside of which I can sit happily, minding my own business. I think the dev team at Objective Development – developers of Little Snitch and this wonderful new app – knows some of us are this way, which is why Micro Snitch indulges a different, more universal user interest: it doesn't let you *know why*, it just lets you *know*. And with a menu bar app and overall UI as unobtrusive as Micro Snitch boasts, alongside a comprehensive log that records info right inside your Console, you don't need to feel like a conspiracy theorist to be in the clear. Micro Snitch gets you covered for an almost negligible price: it costs no time to set up, it costs you barely any system resources to load and have running, and it costs you less than you'd spend on almost anything useful. Maybe you're not preoccupied with webcam security – with Micro Snitch, you'll never need to be.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1

Read 11 Micro Snitch User Reviews

Rate this app:

davjacmack
11 May 2019
Does not appear to function with Apple Thunderbolt monitor.
Like
Version 1.3.1
franticfreddie
15 October 2018
Micro Snitch was updated to version 1.3 at the end of Sept. https://obdev.at/products/microsnitch/releasenotes.html Unfortunately it is still incompatible with Apples original iSight FireWire camera. It is recognized as cam + mic, but no reaction from Micro Snitch when it becomes active... :-(
Like (1)
Version 1.2
TCalhau
30 December 2016
I bought Micro Snitch in the Mac App Store but unfortunately version 1.2 is not compatible with the new MacBook Pro 2016. I hope the developer does not delay to update your application! Here's what I get when I open Micro Snitch: Micro Snitch is not compatible with these devices The following devices can not be reliably monitored: CaptoDevice Soundflower (64ch) Loopback Audio Soundflower (2ch) https://cl.ly/ibhT/Micro_Snitch_Failure_on_MacBook_Pro_2016.png
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Psifi
06 December 2016
The developer has confirmed that this app is compatible with Sierra.
Like
Version 1.2
Forn
14 November 2016
No need to pay, there is a free tool. https://objective-see.com/products/oversight.html Download only on https.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Chansirip
Chansirip
09 December 2017
Thank you for sharing a ton of lovely utilities. Great Site wonderful developer.
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
24 June 2015
I want to like Micro Snitch. The price is fine. BUT:

- It doesn't actually work with a lot of Apple built-in iSight cameras! That includes my late 2013 MacBook Pro. I wish they'd warned me before I bought it! I now own $3.99 of junkware.
- Objective Development never bothered to actually test Micro Snitch on every supported model of Mac. Instead, their paying users were forced into the role of Quality Assurance. That's a bad thing.

Here is the most recent list of UNSUPPORTED MACS according to the developer:

https://obdev.at/products/microsnitch/releasenotes-de.html

12-inch MacBook with Retina display
13-inch MacBook Air (Mid 2013 and newer)
13-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display
15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display (Late 2013 and newer)

And there may be others affected as well. We won't know until further victims of Objective Development complain. (o_O)
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
bjad
bjad
13 July 2015
This is a bug in 10.10. on Macs that are equipped with PCI based FaceTime camera hardware. It’s inconvenient for some users at the moment but without Micro Snitch this bug in 10.10 wouldn’t have been detected. On the long run Micro Snitch raises the awareness and will make OS X more save. Hopefully Apple releases a fix soon.
Like (3)
Objective Development Software GmbH
Objective Development Software GmbH
07 October 2015
This issue is fixed with OS X El Capitan and Micro Snitch 1.1.2. Of course a free update for all our users.
Like (2)
Kobalt
23 June 2015
Bought it and it works fine on my iMac, but not so on the MBP running Yosemite, just as the dev warns. It would also be great to have the ability to block certain apps from accessing either or both the mic and camera. Maybe that can be incorporated in a (near) future version.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Big Johnson
18 June 2015
PARANOIA ALERT! You really think hackers want to watch you sittin' there in your underwear? Okay, perhaps Annie-Walker down there, but for the rest of you it's just wishful thinkin'!
Like
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
bjad
bjad
13 July 2015
Well,

http://www.theguardian.com/technology/2015/jun/23/google-eavesdropping-tool-installed-computers-without-permission

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robbins_v._Lower_Merion_School_District
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
16 November 2015
Inane observation by "BigJohnson" who doesn't get privacy issues, nor does this individual understand that computers are often placed right in the middle of peoples lives.

It's not a question about want, which should be proven by all the "hacked" on site cameras out on the web right now. If it's possible it will happen.

It's far too easy to activate camera and microphone in OS X. Protection should be built into the OS. But it isn't.
Like
djebarin-1
16 June 2015
With all the news about spying and hacking, It is fine to find a small app that I hope it is effective. I just bought the app at the introductory half price. I tested it and when the mic or cam are used (by FaceTime) it logs the activity but I do not know effective it is. I hope some experts will review it soon.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
MacUpdate-Ishaq
15 June 2015
Although I have never had the displeasure of discovering I've been spied on through my webcam, the days when I could scoff at such a notion are long gone. Marginally skilled hackers have long found ways to tap into our webcams, which is frustratingly frightening enough, but a proliferation of reports in recent years emphatically shows that even employers and schools have been found guilty of secretly accessing users' webcams. I wouldn't call myself an internet security paranoiac by any stretch – I'm actually among the least so in my group of friends and colleagues. My willful naivety has afforded me the luxury of never needing to *know why* users get spied on. It's a topic of conversation outside of which I can sit happily, minding my own business. I think the dev team at Objective Development – developers of Little Snitch and this wonderful new app – knows some of us are this way, which is why Micro Snitch indulges a different, more universal user interest: it doesn't let you *know why*, it just lets you *know*. And with a menu bar app and overall UI as unobtrusive as Micro Snitch boasts, alongside a comprehensive log that records info right inside your Console, you don't need to feel like a conspiracy theorist to be in the clear. Micro Snitch gets you covered for an almost negligible price: it costs no time to set up, it costs you barely any system resources to load and have running, and it costs you less than you'd spend on almost anything useful. Maybe you're not preoccupied with webcam security – with Micro Snitch, you'll never need to be.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Retrobuff
06 June 2015
It would be a sure sell if Mavericks were supported.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
09 June 2015
Agreed. ;-)
Like
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
16 June 2015
Support 10.8 and i'm in.
Like