1Password
1Password
7.4.3

2.9

1Password free download for Mac

1Password

7.4.3
28 February 2020

Powerful password manager; integrates with Web browsers and more.

Overview

1Password is a password manager that uniquely brings you both security and convenience. It is the only program that provides anti-phishing protection and goes beyond password management by adding Web form filling and automatic strong password generation. Your confidential information, including passwords, identities, and credit cards, is kept secure using strong encryption.

1Password fully supports major Web browsers, including Safari, Firefox, Chrome, and Opera. All browser extensions share the same encrypted data which means you never need to manually copy your passwords between browsers or from the password manager to a browser ever again!

Note: price shown in the listing is that of a 1-month subscription. To view other pricing options, go here.

1Password is also available for and syncs with Windows, iOS, and Android.

What's new in 1Password

Version 7.4.3:
Fixed
  • Fixed an issue where newly shared vaults could not be accessed. {#4523}
  • Fixed an issue that could cause unnecessary communication with the server after a refused connection. {#4554}
  • Fixed an issue where signing into an account that requires MFA authentication would stall while signing in.

Related articles

Join over 500,000 subscribers.

Subscribe for our newsletter with best Mac offers from MacUpdate.

1755 1Password Reviews

See all

Rate this app:

daveulrich
27 January 2020

Most helpful

I don't get all the flack and bad reviews. This have been such an amazing tool for my entire family and part of my life for a long time now. It has grown and evolved, and I trust the developer. When it went subscription, I was annoyed because I generally hate subscriptions. But they kept a non-subscription option. Then, I looked closer at how much I used it, and how important it was to me, and how valuable it would be to add my family and share things, and suddenly, the subscription cost seemed beyond reasonable and better than the frequent upgrading cycles. I am all in—with no regrets.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
LuxLogica
23 March 2020
Paid for a family subscription, and am very happy. Integrates nicely with browsers, also has iOS apps, keeps all info synchronised across all. Allows for shared password vaults, makes using 2FA super easy on all sites, and keeps prompting you to develop safer online habits (e.g., don't reuse passwords, makes it easy to use more complex passwords confidently, keeps track of latest data breaches and warns us if used passwords have been compromised).
Like
Version 7.4.3
Laurent-Grisel
20 March 2020
Application indispensable simple et fonctionnel
Like
Version 7.4.3
juvor
17 March 2020
1password is a very pleasant experience in every way. Integrates great with all brwosers on my mac and on my iOS devices. Fast, reliable and makes me feel secure enough to trust it with most of my passwords.
Like
Version 7.4.3
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
18 March 2020
Hi there, juvor! Thanks so much for your kind review! I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying 1Password! :)
Like
Version 7.4.3
brian_ag
brian_ag
18 March 2020
Hi there, juvor! Thanks so much for your kind review! I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying 1Password, and we'll be here to help if you have any questions! :)
Like
Version 7.4.3
Derekcurrie
03 March 2020
I have to vent, yet again, what a HORRIBLE organization Agile has become. The convolutions of lunacy I run into with them is brain fryingly frustrating. - - I bought as part of a bundle a year of 1Password Families. Then I tried to set it up and found road block after road block with Catch 22 loops in their website process, misleading and outright wrong verbiage, 'Help' that offered only further frustration inspired by the sheer chaos of their website. Their Level 1 support was friendly but just a loopy as the Agile website. I reached the level of IRATE and requested, pleaded for someone who could get me going with this software, which I now regret buying. It's one of the most lunatic customer experiences I have ever had. LOOK ELSEWHERE. Agile's marketing division is ABYSMAL. That's a shame, because I've enjoyed the non-subscription version for years. Sick and sad.
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Hi there! I’m so sorry to hear that you had this experience with our team, Derekcurrie. We pride ourselves on having top-tier support, so I’ll make sure to investigate what happened with our support team. I hope we can win you back in the future, but greatly appreciate your years of support in the meantime!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.3
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
09 March 2020
Thank you brian_ag. Your staff is consistently friendly, which is always appreciated. I am willing to voluntarily help your marketing folks understand the detriment they currently are to Agile as well as provide and contribute to solutions. If they are willing, they can contact me using my full name, as used here as my ID, via iCloud email. If you have questions or would like to know more about me, please write. I wish you best wishes and very much enjoy your software, after overcoming your poor marketing.
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
Kitmos
27 February 2020
I have been using this since the beginning. At least 3-4 times a day. One of the few subscriptions that I think are worth it.
Like
Version 7.4.3
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Thanks so much for your kind words and long-time support, Kitmos! Much appreciated! :)
Like
Version 7.4.3
Veðrfölnir
27 February 2020
1Password is hands down the best password manager I have ever come across. People who have issues with 1Password must have issues with most other things in life as well.
Like
Version 7.4.3
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Thanks for your review, Veðrfölnir! If you have any questions or run into any issues, we’ll be here to help!
Like
Version 7.4.3
Bremen
21 February 2020
Very disappointed - the program assumes control of your Mac (with the permission of Apple, of course). I agree that the quality has diminished significantly and it appears as if their standard solutions at their help centers is "Uninstall, Reinstall".
Like (1)
Version 7.4.2
3 answer(s)
Veðrfölnir
Veðrfölnir
27 February 2020
How the hell is it assuming control of your Mac? And Apple is not giving 1Password any permission, if anyone is giving it permission it is you.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.3
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
27 February 2020
It has to be able to fill in password fields.
Like
Version 7.4.3
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Hey there, Bremen! We require some permissions from macOS to be able to autofill your logins, but I’d be happy to connect you with our security team if you’d like to chat with them about this! Just send an email to support@1password.com and we’ll make sure to get you in touch with the right folks. In regards to our help center, would you be able to clarify any articles that you think could use some updates? Our documentation team is always looking to improve our knowledgebase, so your feedback would really help us here! Thanks in advance!
Like
Version 7.4.3
Frodo-life
20 February 2020
made the mistake to update to 1PW 7 now can't open my fault application just hangs and needs to be force quit. While not perfect (search never worked properly) 1PW6 at least worked and did not leave me stranded without an application. Wast of money
Like (2)
Version 7.4.2
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Hi, Frodo-life! I'm very sorry that 1Password is freezing up for you, and that you're having some trouble with searching. Would you be able to send a diagnostics report to support@1password.com so we can look into getting these issues fixed for you? You can generate a diagnostics report by following these steps: https://support.1password.com/diagnostics/ — Thank you in advance!
Like
Version 7.4.3
aaronneilwood
11 February 2020
I have found that the quality of 1password has decreased over time. I was exceptionally happy with 1password 6. The new family features in 1password 7 are promising, and I don't mind subscriptions when they come with continuous improvement. But 1password may be one of the most frustrating apps I use on a regular basis. The setup workflows for adding new family members and logging in across multiple apps is poorly implemented—abounding in dead ends, inadequate help documentation, and user flows that simply don't seem to have been thought through. Basic features like autofill in a browser has recently broken and seems to work randomly. A day doesn't go by where I experience some obnoxious behavior. The apps no longer save be time. I hope this improves.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.2
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Hi there, aaronneilwood! I’m really sorry to hear that 1Password 7 isn’t working for you so far. You mentioned that you found the processes of adding new family members and signing into new devices to be frustrating, which the team would be happy to look into. Would you be able to clarify what part of these processes you had troubles with? Feel free to send an email to support@1password.com with your thoughts and we’ll make sure to investigate. We’ll also be happy to help with the autofill issues that you mentioned.
Like
Version 7.4.3
vogtpk
08 February 2020
In my hands, v7 is not an improvement over v6. First on, when I open the application, I expect to see the last-used category. v7 gives you the whole collection, and it takes two clicks to get where you want to be. But where v7 really fails is handling mail orders on the web. It cannot deal with different shipping and mailing addresses, and the Safari extension is particularly useless in this function as well ad in others. Say you would like to log into a website for which all information is in your vault and ask the Safari extension to auto-login. Forget it, it usually does not work. Rather, you may even get a reminder that your password is too weak. I really do not need an application to educate me about passwords. When you are finally ready (after several circuitous procedures) to put in your credit card, the Safari extension cannot do it. The extension cannot transit from login to credit cards and if you search "credit cards" at that point in the extension, such a file cannot be found. Come on! At the end, you have to go back to the full application, and even there it will take several copy-pastes that will get you where you need to be, no autofill. I find version 7 frustrating and dysfunctional in core activities.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.2
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
09 February 2020
Hi there, vogtpk! I'm sorry to hear that you're not a fan of 1Passwword 7, but very much appreciate your feedback. I'll make sure to pass it along to the rest of the team. The issues that you mentioned with the extension are things that we definitely want to look into. Would you be able to send us an email (https://support.1password.com/contact/) letting us know the specific websites that aren't playing nicely with the extension? That way our extensions team can take a look and get those resolved for you. They'll also be able to help you troubleshoot some of the other issues that you mentioned as well. Thanks so much in advance!
Like
Version 7.4.2