Back to Keep It page
Keep It free download for Mac

Keep It Reviews1.11.4

05 October 2021

Store notes, web links, and documents in one place.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Turquoise
Turquoise
Nov 3 2020
1.8.20
2.0
Nov 3 2020
2.0
Version: 1.8.20
There should be an easier way than using Automator to choose what folder you want your files to be saved to.
finlaywelsh
finlaywelsh
Oct 29 2020
1.8.20
4.0
Oct 29 2020
4.0
Version: 1.8.20
I am trialling this after the latest disastrous update to Evernote. So far it seems good. My main gripe though is that the web clipper is poor and I can find no way to add it to chrome or Vivaldi. The instructions for adding a bookmarklet don't work. If the clipper worked better I'd be tempted to go with it.
zlazkow
zlazkow
Oct 13 2020
1.8.19
5.0
Oct 13 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8.19
My second rating is for those who are still on the fence. KeepIt is a brilliant application for organising your notes, of all kinds. It is fast, does not stall, pleasant outline, super effective SEARCH...etc.
bohdanz
bohdanz
Sep 30 2020
1.8.17
1.0
Sep 30 2020
1.0
Version: 1.8.17
It's frustrating that I download the app, with the intent and hope to buy it. And every single time I launch the app it crashes. Again and again and again. How am I expected to make a judgment of an app I can't even trial run?
zlazkow
zlazkow
Aug 30 2020
1.8.15
5.0
Aug 30 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8.15
I'm trying it right now. Dragged all my notes from abandoned DEVONnote. Looks beautiful and works great. Search is excellent, as good as in DEVONnote, and even better.
Caper2
Caper2
May 6 2020
1.8.7
5.0
May 6 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
Great app! Both Mac and iOS support. Frequent updates. For me it just works.
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Feb 22 2020
1.8.2
0.0
Feb 22 2020
0.0
Version: 1.8.2
Or just use the Notes app in iOS/macOS. :)
bdikkat
bdikkat
Sep 25 2019
1.7.1
5.0
Sep 25 2019
5.0
Version: 1.7.1
Keeps on egtting better
Kerry-Dawson
Kerry-Dawson
Sep 5 2019
1.6.19
0.0
Sep 5 2019
0.0
Version: 1.6.19
Have you ever thought of doing an Android client. I would buy the system in a flash if you did.
bdikkat
bdikkat
Apr 1 2019
1.6.3
5.0
Apr 1 2019
5.0
Version: 1.6.3
The support pages say you can put any type of file in Keep It and have them sync, but I can't seem to sync Scrivener projects. This, despite the fact that updates to cater for Scrivener have appeared in release notes.
bdikkat
bdikkat
Feb 5 2019
1.5.10
5.0
Feb 5 2019
5.0
Version: 1.5.10
It gets stuck on "Downloading from iCloud..." and "Preparing to index items..." again :(
dwp-1
dwp-1
Sep 18 2018
1.5
5.0
Sep 18 2018
5.0
Version: 1.5
Love Keep It and its iOS counterpart. The developer has been working on versions of this application for years. He consistent;y updates with new features and bug fixes. The compact mode is just what it needed. Give it a try, I think you'll be very pleased. ??????????
cig0
cig0
Jul 11 2018
1.4.2
0.0
Jul 11 2018
0.0
Version: 1.4.2
Seems like a nice solution; however the need to buy a subscription to get the features that I'd take for basic capabilities makes a no-go to me. DEVONthink Pro may look ugly in comparison, yeah -- but it's quite a piece of software for the buck.
bdikkat
bdikkat
Mar 20 2018
1.3
5.0
Mar 20 2018
5.0
Version: 1.3
1.3 is a great update - except that the "activity" window seems stuck with the message "Preparing to index items"
prestonlittle
prestonlittle
Feb 22 2018
1.2.5
3.5
Feb 22 2018
3.5
Version: 1.2.5
A bit pricey for its purposes
isdn
isdn
Feb 5 2018
1.2.4
4.0
Feb 5 2018
4.0
Version: 1.2.4
Nice and simple app. However, it seems that the items can be synced only via iCloud. No Dropbox or other options. No backup options.
Also, the type of item cannot be changed (for example from plain text to rich text) and the items cannot be encrypted.
Jlock
Jlock
Jan 28 2018
1.2.3
5.0
Jan 28 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.3
Keep It allows me to store all of my notes for work, documents that I want to refer to later, and images/links that I want to keep organized with projects that I am working on. I was using the built-in "Notes" app for Mac before using this app, and Keep It offers a plethora of awesome features, but I never felt like any of them were thrown in there for no reason or that they didn't add value to the app, each one has its place. For example, I LOVE using tags on my notes. I attend a lot of meetings at work and being able to tag meeting notes so that I can view them by department all at once makes my life very easy. No more "Where exactly did I put that note from that meeting again?" moments, which I really am happy about. The developer is active and keeps making improvements to the app, you can't go wrong with this one!
sidebox-1
sidebox-1
Nov 1 2017
1.1.3
3.5
Nov 1 2017
3.5
Version: 1.1.3
given the forced change from Together to Keep It, and the introduction of a more cost-intensive (a.k.a. subscription-based) system in case of use across devices Keep It is a mixed bag. with a promising trajectory, but also with some caveeats as to feature loss vis-a-vis Together. while some big advantages can be seen (tag drill down for even better/faster file-/info-retrieval; and an overall better iCloud sync), there are some big losses on some features that really made me chose Together. others have some other complaints as to this (like encryption missing now), but for me the biggest loss – and one that seems a little self-defeating for an app enhancing the use of tags for retrieval – is the dropping of a well-featured way to manage your tags in the first place (Together had hierarchical tags, tag groups, you could see and review all your tags in a structured way). so for me Keep It (along with its subscription politics) remains a hopeful contender. while it excels in some repsects over Together, and one can see a rationale for it becoming a 'different' app compared to Together, the loss of some of the real strengths of Together at a time where you have to put up more money will only be justified in the long run, if Keep It keeps it up on feature development – ... and also closes some 'gaps' in relation to the Together it´s supposed to replace (in some way). – for people who now have to hang with Keep It but are accustomed to Together and its feature portfolio, there is a good thread to trace all the trade-offs involved (or most of them): https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/15586/together/reviews
Mirsky
Mirsky
Oct 22 2017
1.1
4.0
Oct 22 2017
4.0
Version: 1.1
I really like this app. It's simple but deceptively powerful. I like how it integrates tags and folders. Some apps have a folder view and a tags view and the two are separate. Keep It integrates them. So, for instance, if you choose a folder, you only see the tags of items in that folder.

I use Keep It for storing lots of disparate information including little notes that would get lost otherwise. I think it's better than Evernote. I also think it's better than Paperless, which costs the same.

Plus Keep It's files are saved in the Finder as normal files. So if for some reason in the future you decide to stop using Keep It, moving the files to another program shouldn't be hard.

I'm giving it four stars instead of five only because I think Keep It could add some features. But for version 1, I think it's quite good.

I have not used the IOS version, though, so my review is only for the Mac version, used as a stand alone.
bdikkat
bdikkat
Oct 18 2017
1.1
5.0
Oct 18 2017
5.0
Version: 1.1
Keep It is a pretty worthy successor to 'Together', with much improved speed and iCloud syncing reliability. You do miss the ability to encrypt items, but hopefully this will be re-introduced. (Small gripe: it occasionally garbles pasted links - but again hopefully this will be fixed in an update.)

As I stated elsewhere, this app has the unique ability to subvert a chosen part of your Finder file system and make it "iCloud managed" for syncing, without messing with iCloud Drive's various app-dedicated folders.

Hold down command and option as the app launches, and you can place your stuff in the folder location of your choice, with sub-folders too - all managed in the app, but there in your file system in the regular way. Many items can be viewed and edited straight in the app, and all can be opened with their default app if you prefer.

I don't know of anything else that does quite what this does. It works and syncs well with its iOS companion. Import/export or sharing is also pretty good. All in all, it's a fantastic app, and to my mind well worth the price.