Back to Keep It page
Keep It free download for Mac

Keep It Reviews

1.7.10
15 January 2020

Store notes, web links, and documents in one place.

bdikkat
25 September 2019

Most helpful

Keeps on egtting better
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1

Read 13 Keep It User Reviews

Rate this app:

bdikkat
25 September 2019
Keeps on egtting better
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
Kerry-Dawson
05 September 2019
Have you ever thought of doing an Android client. I would buy the system in a flash if you did.
Like
Version 1.6.19
bdikkat
01 April 2019
The support pages say you can put any type of file in Keep It and have them sync, but I can't seem to sync Scrivener projects. This, despite the fact that updates to cater for Scrivener have appeared in release notes.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.3
1 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
18 July 2019
Have you contacted the developers about this?
Like (1)
bdikkat
05 February 2019
It gets stuck on "Downloading from iCloud..." and "Preparing to index items..." again :(
Like
Version 1.5.10
1 answer(s)
bdikkat
bdikkat
22 March 2019
... which now seems fixed, so all is well again. One of my favourite apps
Like
dwp-1
18 September 2018
Love Keep It and its iOS counterpart. The developer has been working on versions of this application for years. He consistent;y updates with new features and bug fixes. The compact mode is just what it needed. Give it a try, I think you'll be very pleased. ??????????
Like (1)
Version 1.5
cig0
11 July 2018
Seems like a nice solution; however the need to buy a subscription to get the features that I'd take for basic capabilities makes a no-go to me. DEVONthink Pro may look ugly in comparison, yeah -- but it's quite a piece of software for the buck.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.2
2 answer(s)
Reinvented Software
Reinvented Software
14 July 2018
The iOS app is subscription only, but you can buy the Mac app with a one-time payment.
Like (2)
dwp-1
dwp-1
18 September 2018
DevonThink Pro is what 3 times the price? I have thousands of files in DevonThink and find it a pain to use and only seem to use the features from DevonThink that are also in Keep It. Therefore making the switch was a pleasant and so much nicer to work in. DevonThink is in need of a complete overhaul.
Like (1)
bdikkat
20 March 2018
1.3 is a great update - except that the "activity" window seems stuck with the message "Preparing to index items"
Like
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
Reinvented Software
Reinvented Software
21 March 2018
The phantom indexing activity (it had already finished) has been fixed in v1.3.1. Thanks.
Like
bdikkat
bdikkat
21 March 2018
That was quick! Loving the app !
Like
prestonlittle
22 February 2018
A bit pricey for its purposes
Like (1)
Version 1.2.5
1 answer(s)
bdikkat
bdikkat
23 June 2018
I don't agree. I think, for what it does, it's very fairly priced. And the iOS app subscription cost is very low, if you want to go with that. For me, this app is one of the absolute best. It kills Evernote stone dead.
Like (2)
isdn
05 February 2018
Nice and simple app. However, it seems that the items can be synced only via iCloud. No Dropbox or other options. No backup options.
Also, the type of item cannot be changed (for example from plain text to rich text) and the items cannot be encrypted.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4
7 answer(s)
Reinvented Software
Reinvented Software
22 June 2018
In Keep It 1.4, you can now encrypt items. Dropbox doesn't provide enough for Keep It to sync its database, but you can relocate its document files to anywhere you like by holding on Command + Option when the app starts up. Thanks.
Like (2)
isdn
isdn
22 June 2018
That is great, thank you.
Is it possible to add, for example, WebDAV or s3 compatible storage options?
Like
Reinvented Software
Reinvented Software
22 June 2018
It's not likely the app will gets built-in support for S3 or WebDAV due to it being a ton of work, and an overall lack of interest, sorry.
Like
bdikkat
bdikkat
28 November 2018
Developer - you wrote, "Dropbox doesn't provide enough for Keep It to sync its database"

What do you mean exactly here? Dropbox doesn't provide enough what?
Like
Reinvented Software
Reinvented Software
29 November 2018
Dropbox can sync files, but not databases. Put a database file in Dropbox, sync it, and it'll soon become corrupt.

Unlike iCloud, Dropbox has no way to store the kind of structured data you'd find in a database. Dropbox used to have that, but dropped it in 2016 (https://blogs.dropbox.com/developers/2015/04/deprecating-the-sync-and-datastore-apis/)

For apps that rely on databases to use Dropbox, developers have to come up with their own methods of storing this data safely, and in such a way that you can merge the changes between various devices.

That's a huge job, and there is almost no demand for Dropbox these days - iCloud is considerably more affordable than Dropbox, and works really well.
Like
bdikkat
bdikkat
29 November 2018
DEVONthink syncs of its databases via Dropbox without problem.

iCloud is indeed cheaper than Dropbox per GB of space, but to say that "there is almost no demand for Dropbox these days", is hardly correct: the latest stats tell me that there are currently 500 million Dropbox users (11.9 million of whom are paying customers) who upload 1.2 billion files every day. I wouldn't term that "almost no demand".
Like
Reinvented Software
Reinvented Software
29 November 2018
There is almost no demand in my support inbox, I have heard from about five or six people since releasing Keep It in Aug 2017. The work would take months, and I don't think that's worth my time.
Like
Jlock
28 January 2018
Keep It allows me to store all of my notes for work, documents that I want to refer to later, and images/links that I want to keep organized with projects that I am working on. I was using the built-in "Notes" app for Mac before using this app, and Keep It offers a plethora of awesome features, but I never felt like any of them were thrown in there for no reason or that they didn't add value to the app, each one has its place. For example, I LOVE using tags on my notes. I attend a lot of meetings at work and being able to tag meeting notes so that I can view them by department all at once makes my life very easy. No more "Where exactly did I put that note from that meeting again?" moments, which I really am happy about. The developer is active and keeps making improvements to the app, you can't go wrong with this one!
Like (2)
Version 1.2.3
sidebox-1
01 November 2017
given the forced change from Together to Keep It, and the introduction of a more cost-intensive (a.k.a. subscription-based) system in case of use across devices Keep It is a mixed bag. with a promising trajectory, but also with some caveeats as to feature loss vis-a-vis Together. while some big advantages can be seen (tag drill down for even better/faster file-/info-retrieval; and an overall better iCloud sync), there are some big losses on some features that really made me chose Together. others have some other complaints as to this (like encryption missing now), but for me the biggest loss – and one that seems a little self-defeating for an app enhancing the use of tags for retrieval – is the dropping of a well-featured way to manage your tags in the first place (Together had hierarchical tags, tag groups, you could see and review all your tags in a structured way). so for me Keep It (along with its subscription politics) remains a hopeful contender. while it excels in some repsects over Together, and one can see a rationale for it becoming a 'different' app compared to Together, the loss of some of the real strengths of Together at a time where you have to put up more money will only be justified in the long run, if Keep It keeps it up on feature development – ... and also closes some 'gaps' in relation to the Together it´s supposed to replace (in some way). – for people who now have to hang with Keep It but are accustomed to Together and its feature portfolio, there is a good thread to trace all the trade-offs involved (or most of them): https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/15586/together/reviews
Like
Version 1.1.3
2 answer(s)
Reinvented Software
Reinvented Software
09 November 2017
Together’s aggregate iCloud statistics showed that fewer than 0.05% of libraries had any tag bundles at all, and given that those who used them would’ve likely had more than one, the actual number would be much smaller. Around 80% of Together users were using iCloud by the end, so those stats should be pretty representative.

In general, on Together features that Keep It hasn’t adopted, there is the niche stuff (e.g. tag bundles, encryption), things that proved confusing or troublesome for typical users (e.g. multiple libraries stored anywhere), or unsuitable for a modern app (e.g. creating web archives, because of security concerns), with the vast majority replaced (e.g. smart groups > saved searches).

Keep It’s design and feature set is well informed by years of feedback, experience and stats, so while there are some minor things, in future you’re far more likely to see new ideas and enhancements than stuff resurrected from Together.
Like (2)
sidebox-1
sidebox-1
10 November 2017
thx for these clarifications about motivation. I think to know such reasoning might help the userbase to (maybe) understand some decisions. at least that is true for me.

I remain curious to see how Keep It will – in the future – be supporting all the potential of the unique 'tag-drilling' feature by way of providing meaningful channels/mechanisms for setting up/managing a controlled tag system by user to really support it and make it meaningful. (whether this is via tag bundles, or otherwise). at least for me the tag-system and it´s overall strength remains the #1 reason to turn to Keep It (or before Together).

maybe it works otherwise for others (and I am happy to learn about that too :-)), but I can´t see how such an elaborate feature like tag drilling will be used extensively without any good way to manage/review/streamline the underlying tag set.

and I am curious about adoption numbers of the tagging system in the current manner. ... maybe this is something for future stat-analysis. (and then maybe the whole tagging system in general is not what people are after in this kind of app...)
– but at least my hunch (and my own experience) says, either you have a full blown system for tag management, or features like tag-browsing, -drilling etc. will not really be used either.

in any way thx for sharing these deeper insights into development thinking. it helps getting better to grips with the development, in whatever way.
Like
Mirsky
22 October 2017
I really like this app. It's simple but deceptively powerful. I like how it integrates tags and folders. Some apps have a folder view and a tags view and the two are separate. Keep It integrates them. So, for instance, if you choose a folder, you only see the tags of items in that folder.

I use Keep It for storing lots of disparate information including little notes that would get lost otherwise. I think it's better than Evernote. I also think it's better than Paperless, which costs the same.

Plus Keep It's files are saved in the Finder as normal files. So if for some reason in the future you decide to stop using Keep It, moving the files to another program shouldn't be hard.

I'm giving it four stars instead of five only because I think Keep It could add some features. But for version 1, I think it's quite good.

I have not used the IOS version, though, so my review is only for the Mac version, used as a stand alone.
Like
Version 1.1
bdikkat
18 October 2017
Keep It is a pretty worthy successor to 'Together', with much improved speed and iCloud syncing reliability. You do miss the ability to encrypt items, but hopefully this will be re-introduced. (Small gripe: it occasionally garbles pasted links - but again hopefully this will be fixed in an update.)

As I stated elsewhere, this app has the unique ability to subvert a chosen part of your Finder file system and make it "iCloud managed" for syncing, without messing with iCloud Drive's various app-dedicated folders.

Hold down command and option as the app launches, and you can place your stuff in the folder location of your choice, with sub-folders too - all managed in the app, but there in your file system in the regular way. Many items can be viewed and edited straight in the app, and all can be opened with their default app if you prefer.

I don't know of anything else that does quite what this does. It works and syncs well with its iOS companion. Import/export or sharing is also pretty good. All in all, it's a fantastic app, and to my mind well worth the price.
Like (1)
Version 1.1