Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Waterfox page
Waterfox free download for Mac

Waterfox Reviews

07 April 2021

High-performance browser based on the Mozilla platform.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Mcr
Mcr
Apr 7 2021
78.9.0
0.0
Apr 7 2021
0.0
Version: 78.9.0
I would be very skeptical about claims regarding 'better privacy' or 'faster speed' versus Firefox. Just for laughs, I installed Waterfox in a virtual machine with Little Snitch installed; it makes NUMEROUS connections behind the scenes even when it should be 'idle'. These connections are to servers all over the US. So I would NOT trust any claims by Waterfox that there is no data collection. You can easily disable telemetry on Firefox via about:config. As for being 64 bit, Firefox Quantum has been 64bit only for several years now. I would avoid this Waterfox
nobody2011
nobody2011
Apr 7 2021
78.9.0
5.0
Apr 7 2021
5.0
Version: 78.9.0
Works verywell on Big Sur. Great job by the Developers.
ChristineVans
ChristineVans
Apr 4 2021
78.8.0
3.0
Apr 4 2021
3.0
Version: 78.8.0
Does it work with the new architecture? + starting from macOS Mojave all apps are working on 64-bit mode, aren't they?
Aargl
Aargl
Sep 14 2020
68.0
5.0
Sep 14 2020
5.0
Version: 68.0
After a few years using Waterfox instead of Firefox Quantum, it became harder and harder to tell the difference and why, in the end, I was using it... The dev used to put an emphasis on privacy but since he recently partnered with a firm that arose some doubt about data collection (System1), he wrote in a forum that we users had misunderstood and Waterfox never claimed to be a privacy focused browser... :-o I've not been convinced by his answers to the doubts expressed by the other users, and while I've been a happy user for years I finally switched back to Firefox a few months ago. I'm not saying that Waterfox is worse than other browsers, privacy wise, but I'm simply not convinced that it's better than Firefox for that matter — provided you use all the necessary addons and set the right settings in about:config. Moreover, I was using Waterfox Classic to be as close as possible to pre-Quantum Firefox, so when I read that it should now be considered "best effort", that achieved to decide me. I keep it at hand, just in case... ;-)
George6
George6
Aug 14 2020
68.0
1.0
Aug 14 2020
1.0
Version: 68.0
It makes a loads of uncontrollable Connections, even when opening with a blank page. For that we already have Chrome.
bob-185
bob-185
Jul 22 2020
68.0
5.0
Jul 22 2020
5.0
Version: 68.0
Well I have been using this for a few days and must confess I really like it. I can log onto a web address that until now kept saying Blocked Addware. Even though I hadn't.
Grafovich
Grafovich
Jun 25 2020
68.0
1.0
Jun 25 2020
1.0
Version: 68.0
None of the versions I tried worked on 10.6-10.7.
kingjj
kingjj
Jul 8 2019
56.2.11
3.5
Jul 8 2019
3.5
Version: 56.2.11
This version has been out for 20 days or so, so this isn't just a first impression. The new icon really looks like a blue fox urinating. I understand that Alex really needs to change the icon, so maybe he can have a "Make My Icon" contest or something. Speaking of which, boy does this thing piss away memory. It launches using a not great but acceptable half gig, but after a day of average usage, it's usually sucking up triple that amount. And, say I wanted to have a baseball game running in the background while I did something more productive. I'm just kidding. That wouldn't be possible with Waterfox. If I tried to switch to another app I'd be looking at a beachball for ten minutes, I can't even imagine what it would be like to try to work while it was playing video.. So unfortunately, Waterfox seems to be outgrowing me at a pretty rapid pace, and I'm constantly forced to use my backup of Opera even though I hate the layout, and I know it's probably logging every move I make, I just need that 1.5 gb of memory for other things.
Aargl
Aargl
May 21 2019
56.2.10
5.0
May 21 2019
5.0
Version: 56.2.10
After Mozilla's grotesque blunder with addons expired certificates, Waterfox confirmed its benefits as a solid and reliable browser. As for the future, news are pretty good: the next big version should continue putting together what is/was good in Firefox, some old extensions are even being updated, as mentioned in the release notes: https://www.waterfox.net/blog/waterfox-56.2.10-release-download/ I salute Mr Alex's dedication to his project and feel more confident than ever about this great successor to Firefox! :-)
Wikno
Wikno
Apr 29 2019
56.2.9
5.0
Apr 29 2019
5.0
Version: 56.2.9
Really enjoying Waterfox so far after using it a couple days. I'm not heavy on the add-ons, just a few. But I'm always looking for something decent based on FireFox or WebKit.
Aargl
Aargl
Apr 22 2019
56.2.9
5.0
Apr 22 2019
5.0
Version: 56.2.9
Since my precedent review, I had issues with Chromium on some sites, so Waterfox came back to be my main browser, even if Chromium is faster. But moving forward, some XUL extensions started to have issues: MAFF stopped working, FEBE too, now Cookiebro seems to go the same path... XUL support was the main reason why I switched from Firefox Quantum to Waterfox and, though I've achieved a viable Firefox UI through a combination of userChrome.css and theme, plus various tricks to restore my workflow, I still have issues (in particular, the version of 1Password for FFQ won't work with all my other browsers, while an old version works everywhere except for FFQ! :-/ ) The next version of Waterfox is cooking (based on FF68 ESR) and it's very likely that it will break a lot of things. At that point, the gap between Waterfox and Firefox might only be about privacy — which you can achieve with a bunch of addons and tweaks in Firefox, so... Wait and see. ;-)
smayer97
smayer97
Dec 13 2018
56.2.4
0.0
Dec 13 2018
0.0
Version: 56.2.4
requirements page is down.... cannot tell if I can run it. here: https://waterfoxproject.org/en-US/waterfox/56.2.5/system-requirements/ OR here: https://staging.waterfoxproject.org/en-US/waterfox/56.2.5/system-requirements/
Aargl
Aargl
Oct 12 2018
56.2.3
5.0
Oct 12 2018
5.0
Version: 56.2.3
WTF 56.2.4 is out. Time for a small review. :-) Now that FF Quantum has gone away from me and my use case, I'm still using the last version of Chromium running on OS 10.9 as my main browser, but this will probably change as it's not being updated anymore for that system. Now, I coud call WTF "the old faithful" as it is slowly evolving, integrating security patches from FF, but keeping what I liked in old FF. No doubt it will take the place of Chromium for me, sooner or later. In the meantime, it's my safe choice when Chromium is not satisfactory or buggy on some site.
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Jul 16 2018
56.2.2
5.0
Jul 16 2018
5.0
Version: 56.2.2
Jeez, I didn't even know this browser existed until today. I'm glad I found it. I like the older tab style, and it seems to run smoother than the more current version of FF. It's also easy on the CPU (so far, at least). I'm not into using a lot of add-ons, but that seems a nice bonus for other users.
Dougster
Dougster
Jun 18 2018
56.2.1
0.0
Jun 18 2018
0.0
Version: 56.2.1
Worth using for the extensions that no longer work in Firefox.
kingjj
kingjj
May 25 2018
56.2.0
3.5
May 25 2018
3.5
Version: 56.2.0
I'll keep this very short and to the point. If you're a Firefox user from way back and use a Mac desktop, you need this. Runs well (very well, in fact), and all of your old add-ons work. I'm unsure why it's so under the radar, as I wish I would have discovered it a year ago instead of mucking around with ESR.
Aargl
Aargl
May 18 2018
56.2.0
5.0
May 18 2018
5.0
Version: 56.2.0
Not much to add to my former reviews... ;-) It keeps working perfectly, it runs old XUL addons together with new webextensions (just what Firefox should have done!) and keeps the classic look of old Firefox. I regularly test current Firefox (60 at the time of this writing) and I can't see any good reason to abandon my old habits as it's not even faster — at least on my machine (some say it's faster on recent macs...) The promise of future development is quite enthralling as they plan to incorporate the latest enhancements of Firefox (Multiprocess even with classic add-ons?)
Aargl
Aargl
Mar 28 2018
56.1.0
5.0
Mar 28 2018
5.0
Version: 56.1.0
I finally came back to Waterfox (from FF 52ESR) after a few months, mainly because some extensions were not updated for FF52 but for FF56 yes (and MAFF is now working!).
I haven't faced a single bug, all is working perfectly!
Aargl
Aargl
Mar 21 2018
56.0.4
5.0
Mar 21 2018
5.0
Version: 56.0.4
Actually there's a place where you can get some news: https://www.reddit.com/r/waterfox/ In fact, you'll read that the next version should land in a few days! And that a new website is coming too: https://staging.waterfoxproject.org/en-US/
Aargl
Aargl
Mar 18 2018
56.0.4
5.0
Mar 18 2018
5.0
Version: 56.0.4
While I'm still using Firefox 52 ESR, I frequently run Waterfox and I consider more and more using it for a number of reasons:
- it IS Firefox 56 while FF52ESR has only its security fixes, so...
- ... many extensions can't update in FF52 while they can in WTF56
- it keeps the XUL extensions working
- it keeps the Classic interface (not 'butt-ugly' FF57+ ;-) )
- it's supposed to be less 'telemetric' than Firefox
To be fair, there are a few uncertain things about it, though:
- addons.mozilla.org recognizes it as being Firefox 50.0! :-o
- some extensions that should work don't... (or not yet)
- it has not frequent updates (and no up to date blog to keep users informed about its development progress)
- it seems to rely on one single man, no one can tell if he will be able to keep up with the effort for years, for whatever reason...
Anyway, it's a very good choice, for the time being, especially for the old users reluctant to FF57+!
Macfool
Macfool
Mar 12 2018
56.0.4
3.0
Mar 12 2018
3.0
Version: 56.0.4
This is a solid browser with a bit less telemetry than FIrefox.
Macinman
Macinman
Feb 14 2018
56.0.4
0.0
Feb 14 2018
0.0
Version: 56.0.4
I used this quite a few years ago before Firefox was completely 64-bit. I installed the latest version on my iMac running High sierra, and while this works. Is it really worth running anymore? Compared to Firefox Quantum, it seems old and not as optimized.
rcd
rcd
Feb 3 2018
56.0.4
1.0
Feb 3 2018
1.0
Version: 56.0.4
This does not work on Mac OS X 10.6.8. I get "Waterfox cannot be opened because of a problem." There seems to be a log file, if you want to see it.
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Feb 2 2018
56.0.4
5.0
Feb 2 2018
5.0
Version: 56.0.4
I like it better than Safari and chrome nonsense. It also works very well on older OS such as OSX 10.8 which is abandoned by firefox. So if you're running older OS this or seamonkey are your best bets. Seamonkey has email built in but is much slower to upgrade.
Aargl
Aargl
Oct 7 2017
55.0.2
5.0
Oct 7 2017
5.0
Version: 55.0.2
MU> 55.2 is out.
Aargl
Aargl
Sep 29 2017
55.0.2
5.0
Sep 29 2017
5.0
Version: 55.0.2
After trying a bunch of sites, the current version (55.1.0.1) seems to work perfectly. It took me time to find that localization doesn't work as in Firefox: it's a setting in the prefs! — strange enough, the languages are not sorted alphabetically, so I had to watch carefully until I found French... Importing a profile from FFx: apparently you only can do it on the first launch and it doesn't import everything. Copying the profile and editing profiles.ini doesn't work. I had to create a profile with the same name of my FFx profile then copy the old profile's contents into the new folder. It took a few launches for Waterfox to sort things out but in the end all seems to be working. The "ethical" search engine is a nice addition. For me, it will be when FF57 (or even Waterfox 57?) comes out that we'll see how they compare. Wait and see.
anonymous-skink-4656
anonymous-skink-4656
Aug 23 2017
54.0.0.1
5.0
Aug 23 2017
5.0
Version: 54.0.0.1
Cool! Without all those unnecessary things that are in the original Firefox. Seems to be a bit faster too.
bianca96000
bianca96000
Feb 28 2017
51.0.1
3.0
Feb 28 2017
3.0
Version: 51.0.1
It's ok, but not what i was expected.
Aargl
Aargl
Feb 11 2017
51.0.1
5.0
Feb 11 2017
5.0
Version: 51.0.1
I would have liked to like it but latest version doesn't run on 10.6, so I DL v48, launch it, it asks to update to v50, I do, it won"t run... :-/
I reinstall v48, ride a few pages, notice a lot of glitches on certain sites full of ads, have a few crashes, stop.
As I was searching for a replacement browser for a friend who is still on 10.6, I won't make any other trial: Firefox v45 ESR is a lot more... everything! ;-)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Oct 1 2016
35.0
5.0
Oct 1 2016
5.0
Version: 35.0
Waterfox is on 48.0.2 and still supports 10.6 unlike firefox.
Cheops
Cheops
Aug 27 2016
35.0
0.0
Aug 27 2016
0.0
Version: 35.0
Waterfox is currently at 48.0.1 (Aug 10, 2016), not 35.0.
mr-smith
mr-smith
Jul 17 2016
35.0
0.5
Jul 17 2016
0.5
Version: 35.0
Using a browser that has not been updated for over a year is never a good idea.
kscmint
kscmint
Jul 6 2016
35.0
5.0
Jul 6 2016
5.0
Version: 35.0
Just as good as Firefox except 64-bit although slightly behind in version.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Feb 4 2015
35.0
0.0
Feb 4 2015
0.0
Version: 35.0
Offers nothing that would make me switch from the original. These 3ᴿᴰ party builds must be treated with caution.
-rick-v-
-rick-v-
Jan 26 2015
35.0
0.0
Jan 26 2015
0.0
Version: 35.0
Just FYI to other readers out there— Firefox for Mac is already 64-bit, and has been for quite a a few years now. Therefore, I’m not sure there’s a whole lot of advantage to running Waterfox on Mac over the regular mainstream Firefox. But there might be a few disadvantages. For example, being a down stream fork, any new features or (more importantly) security updates have to be incorporated into the Waterfox project before it's pushed out to us. Things are different on the Windows side of the fence, where this Waterfox project originated. Despite Windows being 64-bit since Vista, many (if not most) programs still run in 32-bit mode. For Windows, I admire and applaud Waterfox's efforts.
The-Equalizer
The-Equalizer
Jan 25 2015
35.0
0.0
Jan 25 2015
0.0
Version: 35.0
Chromium still loads webpages 3x faster for me. Yahoo mail took almost 2 minutes to load with this, but less than 20 seconds with Chromium. Perhaps the developers might consider an ultra lightweight, stripped-down, version in the future that is specifically designed for speed ... Just an idea ...
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
Jan 21 2015
35.0
4.0
Jan 21 2015
4.0
Version: 35.0
Not only is this Firefox clone compatible with Firefox itself but apparently it simply takes over your Fx Default personality folder and opens with all Extensions and Bookmarks plus the latest version of Flash already loaded. The only thing that differentiates Waterfox from Fx is that it's been tweaked to load and open pages a bit faster. If I had fewer Extensions its speed might improve. You may or may not find Wfx preferable to Fx, but it's easy to try out and see. Though I found no problems with it I'm knocking off one star just because for me it's not that much faster than Fx. But I'm going to continue to use it to see what future versions may bring.
Max-G
Max-G
Jan 21 2015
35.0
5.0
Jan 21 2015
5.0
Version: 35.0
Very fast FF version. Highly recommended.