Back to TG Pro page
TG Pro free download for Mac

TG Pro Reviews

2.44
23 October 2019

Control fan speeds, monitor temperatures, and find faulty sensors.

ramon-saenz
27 July 2019

Most helpful

Excelente programa muy completo
Like (2)
Version 2.40

Read 185 TG Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

maxedmac
01 November 2019
Does what it is supposed to. However, it's pricey and not 100% bug free.
Like
Version 2.44
davea2750507
31 October 2019
TG Pro version 2.44 no longer shows external drive temps
Like (1)
Version 2.44
Knapster
25 October 2019
The author regularly updates the app. Plenty of sensor information and ability to override native settings for the fans if you so wish. Well worth it.
Like
Version 2.44
wb-3
02 October 2019
Veldig bra program for å få oversikt over temperaturen på mac
Like
Version 2.42
ramon-saenz
27 July 2019
Excelente programa muy completo
Like (2)
Version 2.40
Altech
30 June 2019
I really like this App. I am using on a 2019 iMac i9, 27". Looks great and gives a lot of info. if you want it. But on the 2019 iMac 27 there is only one fan . Coming from a 2009 Mac Pro with several Fans it seem odd.
Why 2 1/2 stars? My problem is that every time I startup my iMac it asks for the activation key.
I have emailed Tunabelly the app creator and Paddle the Money collector and Activation key issuer. Paddle said they cannot duplicate my problem. So I asked for refund. Maybe next version the activation thing will be fixed, for me anyway.
Guess it is back to smcFanControl.
Like
Version 2.40
tarapcik0378
02 May 2019
One of my computers used to overheat and loc-up till TG Pro was installed. Stellar software. Thank you for excellent app.
Like
Version 2.39
shooter907
23 March 2019
With the 2.39 update this app is perfect! Used to have a problem with app after waking from sleep but no more. This is a must for any MAC, load at startup on every boot and go. Especially useful if you are also running virtualization software on your computer such as VMware, Parallels, VirtualBox, which can run temps higher. Could not be more pleased.
Like
Version 2.39
Tiber3m
20 March 2019
Very helpful utility to keep my MB Pro calm, cool, and collected.
Like
Version 2.38
alexander-potemkin
08 March 2019
Worth every cent. Makes my MacBook Air with SSD upgrade works good again
Like
Version 2.37
bradley-dichter
28 February 2019
It's history of max sensor temps makes it invaluable for setting fan speeds at various breakpoints, far better than the free MacsFanControl. I agree it's worth the price. I'd give it 5 stars if it explained or showed where these sensors or fans are, so you can target a blast of compressed air or inspect for damage.
Like
Version 2.37
imagetec
25 February 2019
Powerful software! I can now easily keep en eye of the CPU, GPU temperature. Well worth the price. iMac (27-inch, Mid 2011)
Like
Version 2.37
rs9-1
01 February 2019
Purchased TG pro several months ago and the main thing that this software accomplished for me is: SOLVED my iMac27, late 2017 10.14.2 overheating issue. It only takes a few minutes to figure out how to set the fan speeds to provide enough air flow to keep the processor away from 205F+ damaging temps! Intel states that this is an OK temp for their newer 4+Gbt processors. (Like stepping into doggie poo on the midnight trip to the potty & Barefooted.) I'd like to keep my well equipped and $,$$$.$$ until I can't resist the newest offering; and get a good price for this one! How long did it take TG Pro to solve this? RIGHT AWAY! Add a "+++" to my 5 star rating!
Like
Version 2.37
Cliff999
19 January 2019
My 13" early 2015 MacBook Pro still overheats but at least I can see it happening
Like
Version 2.36
1 answer(s)
rs9-1
rs9-1
01 February 2019
9 years old? Dust will do that... Did you try manually setting your fan(s) to 100% and run your system for a day or two? Still overheating? My Late 2017 27" has one fan and maxed out as far as heat producing hardware goes. Average Temp. is 113F & peaks on very heavy rendering using 40Gbt of 64Gbt of ram and has never peaked past 180F for more than 2 seconds. When purchased and used stock, it routinely gave off alarms at 212F! TG Pro fixed my overheat issue. Some would argue that 210F is normal. My research and professional opinions differ. Consider a clean-out or fan upgrade. Hope that's all it is...
Like
ryanshaunkelly
31 December 2018
Near perfect engineering -- you will like it.
Like
Version 2.36
Stockport-Lad
18 December 2018
This app has been most useful in enabling me to solve the "Black Screen" problem which had arisen on my iMac. A really good value app of this kind.
Like
Version 2.33
nyctalopia7
26 November 2018
I don't think any app in the fan control and sensors market tops TG Pro. The way this app operates makes it so easy to fall in love with and use with excitement instead of being worried and confused i had so much fun setting it up to my preference, everything is easy to identify and understand how it works. The team on Twitter is also very helpful and responsive.
Like
Version 2.33
dgd3
04 November 2018
works for me.
does what I want to monitor cooling operations of my 2012 15" MacBook Pro & give fan control.
added an HDMI external monitor which made things run hotter.
Like
Version 2.33
Thaiwest
04 November 2018
Love it on my iMac!
Like
Version 2.33
taomarku
27 September 2018
TG Pro 2.32 shows all rules I had at various % at 100%, no choice to change it, not latest MBP..
Like
Version 2.32
RK2039
22 September 2018
Very good app. Easy, intuitive, works as described and as required (I needed to slow down a broken internal fan going full speed all the time).
Like
Version 2.32
hornshwangler
21 September 2018
Provides great insight to cooling issues on my older mac mini server. Highly recommend.
Like
Version 2.32
Stelicmu
05 July 2018
I use it for a long time and it always does its job well!
Like
Version 2.30
eikiemer
14 June 2018
I used to have overheating issues with my Mini, this App fixed the problem. Support is quick and helpful as well. Couldn't rate anything less than 5 and well worth the money.
Like (1)
Version 2.30
tech-ken-again-1
23 April 2018
Great app for monitoring the temp and fan speeds. The only thing that I don't like is the auto boost, it doesn't seem to work. Using manual seems to work much better.
Like
Version 2.29
John-Schmidt
10 March 2018
Excellent, can save the life of your computer!
Like
Version 2.29
Pawel68
31 December 2017
Simply the best
Like
Version 2.28
HideshiKurihara4986
26 November 2017
One of the most versatile utility software for keeping machine. There is no ploblem.
Like
Version 2.27
zrfvwzzl
24 November 2017
I think these 5 star reviews are fake. My experience is not that great:

1. This program is not as reliable as the free Macs Fan Control app. Sometimes it gets "stuck" and does not obey the user-defined rules.

2. The menu bar display is larger than necessary and you cannot remove the text label. (I know its a small thing, but if you have too many menu bar gadgets taking up space, it will interfere with application menus.)

3. Unlike other fan apps the menu bar display moves around when the digits change. This is distracting and annoying.

4. Developer ignores bug reports and feature requests

This app has potential to be much better but I dont think its worth the high price. It does not work reliably and the free alternatives like MacsFanControl are working better for me at this time.
Like (1)
Version 2.27
3 answer(s)
zrfvwzzl
zrfvwzzl
24 November 2017
+ cant change the ugly app icon
+ cant use temperature scale symbol with short rpm display
Like
Demolition
Demolition
11 December 2017
How ironic. You call other reviews fake, yet you created an account solely for the purpose of posting this review (your only one) using an obviously random user name. On top of that, you spew several unsubstantiated and spurious complaints. Then, you name-drop a competing app.

If you like MFC, then that's great for you. You should have written a positive review on MFC's page. But, to create a fake account to bash TGP Pro and insult its users is pretty scummy. You have shown yourself to be a lying, dishonest slimebag.
Like (4)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
14 December 2017
I agree with what Demolition said.


In the years I've used it I've never seen TG Pro "get stuck."

Although MFC is a free and apparently proficient controller, it does not offer the customization that TGP does.
Nor can it send alerts via Notification Center or email when temperatures exceed the settings.

And guess what? Macs Fan Control doesn't allow you to remove the "rpm" text label, either!
So why are you whining about TGP not doing it?

You want the "rpm" text to be removed to make the display SHORTER, but you want the temp. symbol added which will make it LONGER? Are you high?

Why would you want the temp. symbol added if you're trying to make the display SHORTER?!
For anyone wanting to make the display as short as possible, it would be counterproductive for the developer to include an additional symbol that only needs to be viewed ONCE.

The temp. scale is like a Showtime Rotisserie: Set it and forget it.
It's not gonna change unless YOU change it.

Do you really need a little "°F" symbol after the number to remind you every time you look at it that you're viewing it in Fahrenheit?
Here's a tip: If the display is reading over 100° in Celsius, then you need to run and grab a fire extinguisher because your Mac's on fire!

I never really noticed the display "moving around" in the menu bar until you mentioned it. Thus I can say I haven't found it distracting or annoying.
What's I DO find distracting and annoying are your reviews.


You CAN change the icon if you're knowledgeable enough, and it's not difficult - can be done in 30 seconds if you have a replacement that you think is better.
Of course you'll have to change it again with every update, but if you hate it that much...


I dispute your claim that the developer is unresponsive.
He has always been responsive to my support requests.
I currently count 23 replies from Matt in my inbox dating back to 2014 and have probably deleted others.
I reported one bug which was confirmed and quickly fixed in an update.


Your "reviews" are ludicrous and unwarranted, and unfairly impacts the dev's rating.
If you think MFC is so great, why haven't you posted your glowing review there?

Good luck finding a better fan app!
There are certainly others, but this is the preeminent fan controller.

Frankly, I hope your computer does burst into flames so we're not subjected to any more of your rants.
Like (1)
stuart-werner
09 November 2017
Yeh this this really does it & has some really cool little tricks too! for example you can have it continue to run the fans during sleep, and has another option to run at sleep only when connected to AC power. SOOO SMAAAART! It'd be cooler if there were mac pro n macbook pro common presets for the boost feature based on CPU & Northbridge optimal temps but its easy enough to make your own
Like
Version 2.27
Eleve
14 October 2017
Not much to say. It does what it promises in an unobtrusive way. I wish more programs were this way. Well done :)
Like
Version 2.27
Dandalf
11 October 2017
This program is literally a life safer for my seven year old iMac. It was running so hot, that the top of the monitor felt like an oven. But with the purchase of TG Pro, I can now use my computer for hours at a time. It still has the problem with the heatsink reaching temperatures over 200 F without TG but while using it the top of the computer is cool to the touch. I think it will keep me going as long as it takes to save to buy a new computer. I'm 67 and money is tight so I was thrilled to find this solution. I never heard of this program before, but I must say it is the best $18 purchase I have ever made.
Like
Version 2.26
zdriver
03 October 2017
Its comprehensive, intuitive and interesting to use as well.
Like
Version 2.26
Beetle52
27 September 2017
Great app
Like (1)
Version 2.26
Felixmac
27 September 2017
excellent
Like (1)
Version 2.26
Krisztian
05 September 2017
Really nice app, thanks!
Like (1)
Version 2.26
icci-Aaron
30 August 2017
I have used TG Pro for many years. It was particularly useful for extending the life of my 2011 MBP with discreet graphics. The current version of TG Pro supports my late 2017 MBP. The number of monitoring points available and well labeled is amazing. As a consultant, I have recommended TG Pro as "Best product in " class. Yes, I have looked at others including SMCfanControl. Obviously, TG Pro is not a freeware product, so, you get what you pay for (in my opinion). YMMV
Like (2)
Version 2.26
Eleve
27 August 2017
Love it :)
Like (1)
Version 2.26
Balage
25 August 2017
Excellent utility to customize fan settings.
Like (1)
Version 2.25
Septemous
15 August 2017
Mac was running weird - this app helped me realize that it was core temp messing me up! Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 2.24
Matthiasr
06 August 2017
I am using TG Pro through SetAPP subscription. It shows all information i need to know about my Mac hardware.
Like
Version 2.23
diarma
30 July 2017
5+ App. I love it. Entire machine covered - beautiful!
Like (2)
Version 2.23
dimout1
23 July 2017
Excellent app, best of its kind!
Like (2)
Version 2.23
1 answer(s)
garry-skurka
garry-skurka
04 September 2018
One of the most useful apps I have come across in a very long time. This app has solved so many problems and frustrations.
Keep up the good work, please.
Like
Yubben
22 July 2017
I do really like this app. I was using it since the first time it was on sale on MacUpdate. Since last upgrade though, I have an issue with the fan speed. It isn't as speed as before, even when I put the fan at 4800 RPM/ 3600 RPM or 5900 RPM... It's less noisy that way but I don't think it is normal. It used to be more noticeable when I rise up fan speed. Now it seems to be the same no matter the fan speed... When I use TechTool Pro, Fans speed test show that it can be more rapid than in TG Pro. For unknown reason, the speed limit was reduced on TG Pro... Any idea why ?
Like
Version 2.23
dimout1
04 July 2017
Excellent app!!
Like (1)
Version 2.21
GlennL8026
25 June 2017
I like this app. It not only tells you the temperature of all your CPU cores but many other components as well. And of course it adjusts your fan speed to better help deal with higher temperatures.
Like (1)
Version 2.21
drewcranna
07 June 2017
Program does what it is designed to do monitor all temperatures and control the fans Works great to keep my old MBP cool
Like (1)
Version 2.20
1 answer(s)
Tunabelly Software
Tunabelly Software
11 June 2017
This is great news that TG Pro is able to help get some more life out of your older MBP by keeping it cool! This is one of the reasons we built the app - to help people keep their Macs running cooler and to last longer.
Like
cathy247
02 June 2017
My iMac ran very hot for years but this software seems to have fixed it which is fantastic. Top marks.
Like (1)
Version 2.20
1 answer(s)
Tunabelly Software
Tunabelly Software
04 June 2017
Awesome! That's definitely one of the features of TG Pro - to fix iMac fans that are going crazy at full speed after replacing a hard drive.
Like
espheric
06 May 2017
I had iStat Menus for awhile, but deleted it as it had too much "application sprawl". I just want something that can give me a quick peek into what's going on with my MBP in terms of temperature; a tic I developed after losing my 2011 17" MBP to the dreaded graphic chip overheat failure, just slightly after the extended AppleCare warranty ran out, but I digress... TG Pro is great because of its parsimony – it does what it does and stays out of the way the rest of the time. I run a fair bit of video and 3D rendering, and if my machine is getting overly warm, I will throw and external fan on it. TG Pro is on my Dock, definitely worth it to purchase.
Like (2)
Version 2.19
3 answer(s)
Uncoy
Uncoy
14 May 2017
If you're looking for minimalism, Macs Fan Control has a far more streamlined interface and is free. Strangely the developer from TG Pro began a conversation with me but both of our answers have been deleted while my review has been turned into a comment. Not nice. It's an interesting coincidence that after I mentioned iStat Menus your review is anti-iStat Menus. Particularly as it's a first review.
Like
Tunabelly Software
Tunabelly Software
30 May 2017
If you're suggesting that we posted a review of our own app under a different account, that's completely false. This is a genuine review from one of our customers.

Not everyone shares the same opinion which is why the free market works - you can choose to purchase (or not) whatever apps you like. It's not fair to attack someone because they disagree with you.
Like
GlennL8026
GlennL8026
25 June 2017
I had this problem on my old 2011 too! And like you I'm more sensitive to my new Mac getting overheated. I also run beta releases of Mac OS and just today (hence the reason I was leaving a review), my kernal was well over 200% CPU and my cores were getting hot. I noticed this because the fans were running full tilt (thank you TG Pro). Not sure what was up with the kernel but i shut my Mac down and restarted it.
Like
Uncoy
04 May 2017
I own Macs Fan Control, iStat Menus and TG Pro. iStat Menus has a memory leak (depends on version) and takes a small toll on your CPU (about 2% depending on the speed of your updates: hint slow them down). iStat Menus will help you accelerate your fans on a MBP to keep temperatures down but is basically useless on a desktop (for fan control). It's worth the CPU price for all the info you get. Macs Fan Control is free and fabulous, allowing you to easily read your temperatures and set up alternative profiles for desktop which really helps if you have graphic cards which discharge in the machine (raise temperatures a bit but also ventilate so no harm done). Keeps your computer quiet. I haven't mentioned TB Pro yet.

TG Pro costs money and is less reliable with strange display and high CPU. I wouldn't trust this application with my valuable silver towers health. A terrible purchase. Use the free Macs Fan Control for desktop and inexpensive iStat Menus for laptops. I thought that as a paid app TG Pro would have to be better than Macs Fan Control. It's not.
Like
Version 2.19
1 answer(s)
Tunabelly Software
Tunabelly Software
30 May 2017
I'm not exactly sure why you're saying it's a terrible purchase since we have many, many happy customers that use TG Pro every day. Yes, it's a paid app - that's how we support our business. If it was free, there would be no incentive to continue to update, add new features and support our customers. We publish updates regularly to address any issues customers come across and to add new functionality to make it even better.
Like (1)