Back to HDD Fan Control page
HDD Fan Control free download for Mac

HDD Fan Control Reviews2.5

10 June 2014

Control fan speed in relation to drive temperature.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Nick-Collingridge
Nick-Collingridge
Jul 27 2017
2.5
5.0
Jul 27 2017
5.0
Version: 2.5
I had previously purchased HDD Fan Control and installed it on an iMac 27 with a replacement (non-Apple) hard drive. It worked fine, but I have now installed a SSD in place of the HDD and HDD Fan Control is no longer activated. I went through the process on their website to be re-notified of the serial number, but although the number came through OK it is not accepted by the activation dialog. This software has only ever been installed on this Mac. I have tried contacting their support by email but have had absolutely no response. My guess is that their activation server is now offline and the lack of a response to my emails suggests that the company is no longer in business. Beware!
jfbloom22
jfbloom22
Nov 7 2016
2.5
5.0
Nov 7 2016
5.0
Version: 2.5
Works perfectly on my 2010 iMac running macOS Sierra after replacing the original hard drive with an SSD.
Mashmashu Studio
Mashmashu Studio
Aug 10 2015
2.5
0.5
Aug 10 2015
0.5
Version: 2.5
Very difficult to remove.....
RomaMTKing
RomaMTKing
Aug 9 2015
2.5
0.0
Aug 9 2015
0.0
Version: 2.5
I'd give minus 5 stars if I could for this VIRUS app !
I installed this and used for 2 days I got unsatisfied with its inner fan control system and decided to delete it. I clicked the remove in pref pane, however the app was still in application folder, I removed this too!

I discovered that my RIGHT FAN was not working (via another software).
After 2 hours struggling to fix the issue and reseting SMC a dozen times, I discovered that those irresponsible lame developers made a daemon that always runs, and still runs after I uninstalled the app.

I forced quit the daemon but it kept coming back, the devil... I finally found it in lib/lunchdeamons and removed it, but still my Right Fan was broken at 300 RPM...

Then I reset SMC once again and my fan finally came back to life !

35$ ?! I wish the developers would pay me 3500$ for all the work and time I wasted dealing with this VIRUS app!
souldiet
souldiet
Oct 18 2014
2.5
1.0
Oct 18 2014
1.0
Version: 2.5
Screwed! Even after uninstalling this app, HDD fan can not be changed with any other fan control app. If I reinstall this HDD fan control app again, I can tweak it. What is wrong is this.... My HDD fan speed is just fixed, because of this app. I emailed them, just waiting their answers....
crystalidea
crystalidea
Aug 5 2014
2.5
0.5
Aug 5 2014
0.5
Version: 2.5
$35 bucks for what can be done for free? (Macs Fan Control, smcFanControl and whatever)
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
Jun 11 2014
2.5
0.0
Jun 11 2014
0.0
Version: 2.5
Do yourself, and your wallet, a favor. Bypass this software and instead surf to exirion.net to download & install the FREE, and excellent, SSD Fan Control software. Works perfectly fine with HDD's as well. (Just a satisfied end-user of SSD Fan Control; NOT a hater of HDD Fan Control.)
JamesTomk
JamesTomk
Apr 2 2014
2.4
2.0
Apr 2 2014
2.0
Version: 2.4
I purchased this app after trying out the demo. The demo seemed to work, but now my fan is back to full speed. I've tried adjusting settings in Preferences (btw i think that interface is well designed), but to no affect. The menu-bar display says my fan should be at 1372 rpm, although the preferences target says it should be at 1100. I can hear my fan running very loud as before installing this software; much much faster than 1372.
crystalidea
crystalidea
Sep 23 2013
2.2
0.5
Sep 23 2013
0.5
Version: 2.2
The price is now 35$, please fix is in the macupdate listing
Xenophile
Xenophile
Jul 26 2013
2.2
0.0
Jul 26 2013
0.0
Version: 2.2
$30 to fix a simple problem? Vulture-ware. Do yourself a favor and use a free fan controller.
Nick-Collingridge
Nick-Collingridge
Mar 19 2013
2.2
5.0
Mar 19 2013
5.0
Version: 2.2
Works OK, but no apparent way to find out which version you have installed. Neither the PrefPane when viewed in System Preferences or the PrefPane file itself when viewed in the Finder give you any clue what the version is. I have just installed v2.2 but I do not know if this is a different version than I already had installed or not.
Shirkster2666
Shirkster2666
Oct 12 2012
2.2
5.0
Oct 12 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2
Just replaced the Hard Drive in my iMac after it suddenly stopped working. The next day the fan noise was crazy, I thought it was broken. A bit of googling and I realized it was this damn sensor issue. I installed this and the noise stopped near instantly!!! An instant purchase! The price is well worth it to stop that awful noise, and I now know the fan is working correctly again. I did check the settings as I wanted to make sure that the drive would not be overheating and found that the defaults okay for my drive, but a bit of adjustment and I am very happy, the fan hardly ever increases in speed and only seems to do it when the drive is in heavy use. I tested this by copying very large movie files for an hour. Thank you Surtees very much for the great fix.
RSchnell28
RSchnell28
Aug 23 2012
2.2
4.5
Aug 23 2012
4.5
Version: 2.2
I learned of your Fan Control software after looking on here [MacUpdate] for fixes for my iMacs fan problem. I replaced my hard drive several months ago, and didn't discover a good resolution until yesterday--I downloaded the trial, it performed as promised (the fan slowed down straight away!), so I purchased the software and it works marvellously! Thanks you.
Nick-Parrish
Nick-Parrish
Jul 26 2012
2.2
0.5
Jul 26 2012
0.5
Version: 2.2
Free Alternative: http://exirion.net/ssdfanctrl/ Works great. $30 is outrageous.
Xenophile
Xenophile
Jul 25 2012
2.2
0.0
Jul 25 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2
LMFAO at $30 for a fan control app!
Pripyat
Pripyat
Mar 26 2012
2.2
0.0
Mar 26 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2
Doesn't work correctly on my late 2009 MacBook Pro running Mac OS X 10.7.3. Shows current speed as -1RPM and tells me that my CPU's temperature is 35C, even though iStatMenu tells me it's 62C. This app seems to be kinda disconnected from reality. :P
EthanAspen
EthanAspen
Mar 17 2012
2.2
5.0
Mar 17 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2
Had to replace the drive in a late-2009 iMac (Lion OS) with a consumer – i.e. unformatted – version of the original drive. Hadn't gotten below 6000 rpm for a week, despite trying smcfancontrol etc. This is the ONLY software that went directly to the source of the problem – the loopy drive temp control system in that generation of iMacs – and fixed it. The fans slowed to about 1200 rpm the moment it was installed. (Right now, the HD is at about 52C and 1863 rpm while a full system backup is running.) Yes, $30 is steep, but it's a small price to pay to expel that hideous fan roar from an iMac. If that sound is making you nuts, this app won't disappoint. And you can demo it for an hour first!
Nick-Collingridge
Nick-Collingridge
Feb 7 2012
2.2
5.0
Feb 7 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2
Since upgrading to 10.7.3 it doesn't seem as if HDD FanControl is functioning correctly. I have mine set to a minimum fan speed of 1000rpm and set to increase from 50degC, but even with the current cpu temperature at 22degC the fan is running at 1267 rpm. It looks to me as if HDDFC is not actually controlling the fan temperature any more so the question now is what is actually controlling it? Before installing HDDFC the fans ran at full speed but they are not doing that now, so something is limiting the fan speed.
Nick-Collingridge
Nick-Collingridge
Dec 8 2011
2.2
5.0
Dec 8 2011
5.0
Version: 2.2
Works brilliantly - very impressed. Only minor comment is that the version that is installed is not mentioned anywhere within the Prefs pane. Furthermore there doesn't appear to be any automatic update facility, either to alert you if there is a newer version or to offer to download and install (such as Sparkle). There certainly isn't any sign of it in the UI. Please remedy this! One star downgraded because of this - would be full five stars if this is fixed.
Lesion
Lesion
Nov 30 2011
2.2
4.5
Nov 30 2011
4.5
Version: 2.2
Awesome !! I've just installed this app and wow....silence! Congratulation to the team, wonderful work !
Xenophile
Xenophile
Nov 17 2011
2.2
0.0
Nov 17 2011
0.0
Version: 2.2
LOL, $30 for an app that controls fan speed! There are several free apps that control fan speed, they're not as pretty but they will do the job. I've updated my Mac Mini with a 2.33 GHz Core 2 Duo and a Seagate Momentus 7200 HD, and the freeware "Fan Control" works flawlessly. Another option for anyone who really wants to spend thirty bucks is to buy an external HD case.
iindigo
iindigo
Nov 12 2011
2.2
0.0
Nov 12 2011
0.0
Version: 2.2
I am currently using the original, free version, I find the new version to be a hard sell, being priced at $30. $15 would be a much more reasonable price point considering what this software does; I have paid much less for software that provides a far greater scope of functionality than HDD Fan Control provides. I understand the need for income, as I am a Mac developer myself, the the way to get that income is through a greater volume of smaller sales, not a lesser volume of large sales.
rushyman
rushyman
Oct 14 2011
2.2
5.0
Oct 14 2011
5.0
Version: 2.2
Yesterday I bought new iMac and changed hdd immediately without any information about fan problem in new model. After I used my new mac for a while. The fan was blow out like a large hair dryer. I spent all night long to find the way out ! At last, your program help me !! It work like a charm. Thanks your guys so much .
Haekon
Haekon
Aug 24 2011
2.1
5.0
Aug 24 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1
I gave this 5 stars simply because it does exactly what it says on the tin. I spent 12 hrs yesterday running round shops talking to supposed experts all had no idea what to do to stop the fan running at max speed. I was ready to throw the imac out of the window! I'd attempted to use smcFanControl and the command line technique that is floating around on the web to set the max fan speed, which is not an ideal solution... it didn't work for me anyway on 10.6.8. My fan was spinning at 4500 rpm when I downloaded the demo version of HDD Fan Control, it instantly reduced it to 1000rpm, this software is a quite frankly a steal at $35 /£20 in relation to the hassle and expense to get Apple to fit a drive yourself! If you are fitting a Sata II drive then get this, if SSD you might get away with disconnecting from the MBA as someone has suggested but i'm sure its only a matter of time before Apple find a way to screw that solution! I would just like to say a huuge thanks to the developer who wrote this software I really was at my wits end yesterday thinking I had a very expensive paper weight!
IanTimothy
IanTimothy
Aug 12 2011
2.1
4.5
Aug 12 2011
4.5
Version: 2.1
I have had so many problems with my iMac crashing , I was about to go back to PC ! I downloaded the app , set the fans to 1300 rpm and within 30 minutes I was running at 36 degrees C , and not a crash , in any application , Logic , Final Cut Express , Its a brilliant tool and I am running lion and 8Gb ram , very very pleased indeed , Amazing Many Thanks ..Ian
Charbelk
Charbelk
Jul 6 2011
2.1
5.0
Jul 6 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1
I am presenting the same problem, and I don't know how to solve it... I am going crazy with the noise of the fan, can't support it anymore... I just want to see if the HDD FAN CONTROL SOFTWARE is worth it or no? any thoughts ?
anonymous-heron-1398
anonymous-heron-1398
Jul 4 2011
2.0
4.5
Jul 4 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0
Before criticizing a software you have not tested, read its description. Today, there is NO free alternative for iMac 2009-2011 when you want to replace its hard drive. The fan runs at full speed. It is doing what smcFanControl is not able to do: controlling the fan speed according to the temperature data sent by the hard drive or the SSD drive. If the temperature rises, the fan speed rises consequently. It is not a static speed, but a dynamic control. It works at the very startup, before the login screen appears. It is doing what smcFanControl is not able to do: copying the behavior of the Apple proprietary hard drive firmware in all iMac 2009-2011. Blame Apple for that. Either you upgrade your iMac hard drive for 50$ for a 1TB + 30$ for HDD Fan Control, or you by a genuine apple's iMac drive at 300$ with its proprietary firmware.
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Jul 4 2011
2.0
3.0
Jul 4 2011
3.0
Version: 2.0
$30 for controlling my drive's fan?? What are you guys smoking??
HarryG205
HarryG205
Jul 4 2011
2.0
5.0
Jul 4 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0
THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I wouldn't have believed it could work so well. Instant fan reduction upon install!! I replaced my hard disk in my late 2009 iMac 27" model. I was going crazy when my HD fan speed was blowing full speed the whole time. This app saved me around $150 repair bill and a massive headache from the noise! You guys rock!
Sherlockbones
Sherlockbones
Jul 4 2011
2.0
0.0
Jul 4 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0
If you're going competing a free app* with more versatility than your own you'll need to show a compelling reason for people to pay 30.00. (* smcFanControl, still compatible with 10.6.8)