Back to Flame Painter page
Flame Painter free download for Mac

Flame Painter Reviews

4.1.0
22 August 2019

Procedural painting program.

SickTeddyBear
07 May 2013

Most helpful

The MAS version of this app appears to have been abandoned (no updates past 1.5.1, no links to the MAS on the developer's web site), yet the developer has the audacity to keep selling it there, even promoting it today via TwoDollarTuesday. I think it's unethical for developers to continue selling software on the MAS, unless there is some kind of feature parity between the same product sold via other channels. I understand completely that Apple's approval process and sandboxing requirements often make it impossible to sell up-to-date or fully functional apps on the MAS, but at some point, it becomes false advertising to present such a product to the public. At the least, put a disclaimer in the MAS description letting people know what they are getting, and if they want the full experience, to purchase it directly instead. There are a lot of less tech savvy people, who hear about a software product, but instead of getting the details direct from the developer, they blindly depend on the MAS, and end up with a much worse product. Either keep apps up to date, or delete them from the store.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.1

Read 16 Flame Painter User Reviews

Rate this app:

DragonMaster
03 November 2019
A really fine digital painting app...a surefire alternative to Painter!
Like
Version 4.1.0
Weasel
09 December 2014
I had the same problem "403 Forbidden". I just retried the link Tues 11-09 3:20pm & it's worked.
Like
Version 3.2
2 answer(s)
jesse-6de557d8
jesse-6de557d8
10 December 2014
Me too. I am very disappointed in the entire process. Not what I expected 15$ for a demo I could have downloaded for free. I hope MacUpdate makes this right.
Like
stones
stones
10 December 2014
Hello Weasel.
I am glad the link worked for you.

Dear Jesse,
Please contact us at support[at]escapemotions.com, attach the screenshot of the MU purchase receipt and our support team will send you the download link for Flame Painter 3.2.

Thank you!
Like
Beadydee
09 December 2014
I downloaded the demo, then purchased the full version through MacUpdate. The email arrived with "If you have downloaded the demo version..." etc. When I click on this link I get a screen that says" 403 Forbidden nginx/1.0.10" and there seems to be nothing more I can do. How to proceed????
Like
Version 3.2
1 answer(s)
stones
stones
10 December 2014
Hello Beadydee,

here is Peter from Escape Motions. I am sorry you are experiencing these troubles. Please contact us at support[at]escapemotions.com, attach the screenshot of the MU purchase receipt and our support team will send you the download link for Flame Painter 3.2 - full version, not a Demo! :)

Thank you!
Peter
Like
ArlynDeBruyckere$ugu
09 December 2014
It doesn't work. The link is only to the demo version so I paid for a free demo version.
Like
Version 3.2
1 answer(s)
stones
stones
10 December 2014
Hello Arlyn,

here is Peter from Escape Motions.
I am sorry you are experiencing these troubles. Please contact us at support[at]escapemotions.com, attach the screenshot of the MU purchase receipt and our support team will send you the download link for Flame Painter 3.2 - full version, not a Demo! :)

Thank you!
Peter
Like
Rpmurray
19 December 2013
As far as I can tell there's no way to upgrade from this to the Pro version without having to pay full price.
Like
Version 2.5.0
1 answer(s)
Dcuwcy
Dcuwcy
19 December 2013
You should start Flamepainter, than go to menu. There is a link where you can update to the pro version.
Like
PETERTRINIDAD4633
13 December 2013
One fine software that has me come out with creative images that I never imagined I could have done. I am glad I came across this software which has sparked that creative spirit in me again. I do a lot of photography and this will surely help me with my own creative backgrounds. Love this with a 5 Star. Kudos to the developer for making it available at such an affordable price. The software itself is very easy to use if one understands how to create art. It has a smooth flow and although I would have loved it to have an option to set the canvas size and also an option where I could re-size it to the pixel size of my choice. But I guess all this would kick up the price and I would still go and upgrade it for the new price. Stability is not an issue although I lost it a couple of times, but I can't blame the software itself as yet as I guess I guess I was doing too many things on my Mac at the same time and will give it a benefit of the doubt. If I do find any issues again I will come back with an update. BTW I am just a hobbyist and nothing commercial about me LOL.
Like
Version 2.2.0
1 answer(s)
PETERTRINIDAD4633
PETERTRINIDAD4633
13 December 2013
Just an update to my own. Looks like I have not explored the software in full having sat on it for just a day. Well it does have the option to set the canvas size and pixel. Sorry for the earlier hurried review. Cheers!!!
Like
jasonboard5781
10 December 2013
Okay, got this with the Holiday Bundle. Looks great but how do you put in your LIC key info?
Like (1)
Version 2.2.0
2 answer(s)
bizkitxfx
bizkitxfx
11 December 2013
I'd like to know the answer to this too!
Like
Chazza2013
Chazza2013
16 December 2013
In the email that you received when you purchased the bundle scroll down until you see the following sentence "The full version of Flame Painter is included in the full bundle above, however you can also download it individually from here." Just click that link and you should have the full version instead of the demo version.
Like
Derekcurrie
05 December 2013
$29.99 for the Personal Edition (only 3 layers…) $59.99 for the Professional edition (unlimited layers…) IOW: The price currently listed on this page ($397) is incorrect. See the developer's site for details. Looks like an excellent app.
Like
Version 2.2.0
2 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
05 December 2013
The current MU bundle is for the Personal Edition. This may be my have app of the 12. Grab it ASAP if you like it! Flame Painter goes pumpkin at 5,000 sales.
Like
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
09 December 2013
Derekcurrie, as you point out, Flame Painter itself is not $397 as shown to the right of "Demo" in the application header above: that's the retail value of the Holiday Bundle. The price of Flame Painter itself is shown to the right of the Comments/Reviews section, in the Information panel: $29.99. And you're right about Flame Painter being an excellent app! The developers keep bringing new functionality to the table, increasing its value. And I'm looking forward to the release of Escape Motions' Amberlight tomorrow, 10 December 2013.
Like
SickTeddyBear
07 May 2013
The MAS version of this app appears to have been abandoned (no updates past 1.5.1, no links to the MAS on the developer's web site), yet the developer has the audacity to keep selling it there, even promoting it today via TwoDollarTuesday. I think it's unethical for developers to continue selling software on the MAS, unless there is some kind of feature parity between the same product sold via other channels. I understand completely that Apple's approval process and sandboxing requirements often make it impossible to sell up-to-date or fully functional apps on the MAS, but at some point, it becomes false advertising to present such a product to the public. At the least, put a disclaimer in the MAS description letting people know what they are getting, and if they want the full experience, to purchase it directly instead. There are a lot of less tech savvy people, who hear about a software product, but instead of getting the details direct from the developer, they blindly depend on the MAS, and end up with a much worse product. Either keep apps up to date, or delete them from the store.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.1
5 answer(s)
dodbar
dodbar
08 May 2013
Dear Negritude, I work with the Flame Painter team, and would like to react on your comment - MAS version update is definitely not abandoned and is our key priority currently. Issue is unfortunately on Apple side which is taking a time approving the App which is in their approval process since mid-March as we of course sent the app for approval before releasing it via other channels and hoped to have them launch at the same time :( I can just say that we are working hard to get update to MAS asap. Unfortunately we could not wait for Apple, so gave the update option to our customers at least via web site. The version on MAS is clearly marked as 1.5.1 so no misleading. Saying that we never expected approval/sandboxing to take so much time :( Issue with MAS not only for us, but for all developers, is that we do not control the channel, have no contact on customers and thus can not even communicate to them any issues like the above. For all the other customers we have email and can send at least a newsletter with updates etc. Saying that, MAS is a great channel and we are glad we can use it, however with the above issues which any developer has to live with :( If you have issue with current version - please write to support (at) escapemotions.com and we would be glad to send you (and any other customer with similar issue) update manually till it won't be available on MAS. Btw. regarding the link to MAS on our site - we have standard option to purchase the software via appstore when you buy the software, we do no see reason for any specific link. Once again sorry for the trouble caused - we are doing our best to make this work and hope to solve issue with MAS soon. Regards, Jozef
Like (7)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
21 June 2013
Well, now they've updated the MAS with version 2 in both personal and profesional versions, but those who bought the original 1.x version never got an upgrade to 1.7.1.
Like
dodbar
dodbar
18 July 2013
Dear Negritude, thank you for your comments. As mentioned earlier, we are unfortunately still waiting for 1.7.1 MAS approval, which is our priority as it is the only way how to contact MAS people to have their version updated. Otherwise,unfortunately, users themselves have to contact support (at) escapemotions.com to get their update for this moment - and we gladly offer each one of them their free update to 1.7.1. So please, send us an email to this email address to get your version updated. We are very sorry that this situation might look unfair to you but we hope, that you understand our situation (which is unfortunately out of our hands) and will still enjoy creativity with Flame Painter. Thank you, Jozef.
Like
dodbar
dodbar
06 August 2013
Flame Painter 1.7.1 was finally approved on Mac App Store :-)
Like
protagonistic
protagonistic
12 August 2013
I really like the program but your complaint points out why I will forego the convenience of the app store and buy directly from the company if I have a choice. I then rely on MacUpdate Desktop to let me know when there is an update. (Shameless plug for MacUpdate). :-)
Like (1)
silkythreads
14 March 2013
I purchased this software on 12 March, 2013. It will not run, I get 7 error messages and then it crashes on startup. It is still within the 5 day grace period and I want my money back. I have notified "support@escapemotions.com" via 3 different email without response from them. Even sent them the error messages, nothing. So MACupdate, please send my refund back to my card. Thanks, DW PS...my specs --- OSx 10.8.2 Model Name: MacBook Pro Model Identifier: MacBookPro4,1 Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo Processor Speed: 2.5 GHz Number of Processors: 1 Total Number of Cores: 2 L2 Cache: 6 MB Memory: 4 GB Bus Speed: 800 MHz Boot ROM Version: MBP41.00C1.B00
Like
Version 1.7.1
2 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
14 March 2013
Sorry for the trouble you've been experiencing! Please send an email to support AT macupdate DOT com. Our support team will sort that out for you.
Like
silkythreads
silkythreads
28 March 2013
My problem is being worked on.
Like
Gestalt
08 March 2013
Will the App Store version of this application get updated? I purchased Flame Painter from the App Store almost a year ago and there have been no updates. It's currently at version 1.5.1 from November of 2011 - I'd like to upgrade to 1.7.1.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
Gestalt
Gestalt
31 March 2013
I checked directly with Escape Motions support. For any who are waiting for the MAS version upgrade as I am, 1.7.1 has apparently been in the submission process since mid-March. So hopefully we'll see this update available soon.
Like (1)
Sgginc
07 March 2013
This is one of my favorite programs (and I own a lot)!!! Very responsive program with an infinite number of possibilities. I especially like the transparency option, makes great folder icons. Try it and you’ll love it!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
hamster47
28 February 2013
Hi. I've just dowloaded the full version but it quits instantly upon launch The demo version runs OK
Like
Version 1.5.1
2 answer(s)
stones
stones
07 March 2013
Hello, there is a new update to version 1.7.1 available for free.
Like
Recoiller
Recoiller
19 December 2013
where did you download the full version? I can only download the demo version and there is no option to add the licence??
Like
mandylessismore
29 January 2013
This software is just great. You can create countless number of different images. I can imagine that professionals are able to make real artworks there. But I appreciate that my children love to play with it and it is not a waste of time for them.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
stones
stones
28 February 2013
Thank you Mandy, I am glad you like it, you can download the latest v.1.7 and publish your paintings to Flame Painter Gallery too. :)
Like
mikri
22 October 2011
you can create amazing wallpapers or general pics... new version 1.5 allows save&load brushes and indepentent layers which were 2 main things I was missing previously... main issue remaining is that it is too addiciteve :)
Like (1)
Version 1.25
1 answer(s)
mikri
mikri
22 October 2011
I am writing like 5 years old - nevermind.. time to go to bed :D btw. to add to soderberg's post, full version seems to have infinite resolution (depending on the memory size), goes to 8000*6000 on my machine without any major problems
Like
Soderberg
06 July 2011
I'm really liking this app so far, although I haven't had a chance to put it through all its paces. The single comment on the Mac App store reported a concern about output resolution being limited to 800 x 600 pixels (not enough for serious projects) ... happily however, it's possible to set custom resolution when you open a new file, which seems to change the default for that session, although it resets to 800 x 600 when you close & reopen the app. Working at a higher resolution slows down real-time rendering, but you can set the preview resolution to half to speed things up without affecting the resolution of the finished file. The only glitch I've come across so far is that sometimes the brush "paints" over the canvas without me clicking to activate it; perhaps I've inadvertently set it to "auto" but I can't find an option on the tool board. Minor annoyance, since you can undo. Since I didn't buy this via the App Store, I can't make a review or comment ... perhaps the developer would like to clarify so that others aren't discouraged from trying it, since this app is definitely worth a look.
Like (2)
Version 1.25
1 answer(s)
stones
stones
28 February 2013
New version is a lot better and many new features were implemented since then, it's worth to try.
Like