Back to Day One page
Day One free download for Mac

Day One Reviews

4.2.2
19 October 2019

Maintain a daily journal.

100%MacSince1990
10 April 2019

Most helpful

This could be a great app, but it is missing an essential (to me) feature that was in the original DayOne app but which was removed by the developers. v1 allowed for setting a "Repeating Reminder" ranging from a selectable period from every 15 minutes to once a week. This feature was incredibly handy. The current v3 of the app, has a reminder feature, but there is no way to have it reapeat. Not only that, but the ability to customize a reminder in v3 is crippled by the inablity to duplicate it, so that each custom reminder has to be setup manually. If you want to see the Repeatable Reminder feature back (and the ability to duplicate a Reminder) please write to the developer using the Contact Support item in the Help menu.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4

Read 56 Day One User Reviews

Rate this app:

Gazman
10 August 2019
MacUpdate admins - the note at the end of your description says "Day One is not encrypted or password protected on this version. If this is an issue for you, please do not purchase this app yet". Day One has offered end-to-end encryption for quite some time now (from memory v3.1, it's now up to v4.1). From there website: "Privacy protected with industry leading end-to-end encryption."
Like (1)
Version 4.1
100%MacSince1990
10 April 2019
This could be a great app, but it is missing an essential (to me) feature that was in the original DayOne app but which was removed by the developers. v1 allowed for setting a "Repeating Reminder" ranging from a selectable period from every 15 minutes to once a week. This feature was incredibly handy. The current v3 of the app, has a reminder feature, but there is no way to have it reapeat. Not only that, but the ability to customize a reminder in v3 is crippled by the inablity to duplicate it, so that each custom reminder has to be setup manually. If you want to see the Repeatable Reminder feature back (and the ability to duplicate a Reminder) please write to the developer using the Contact Support item in the Help menu.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4
Kitmos
14 December 2018
I like Day One, however it crashes upon launch and repeated emails to the developer go unanswered. Is this abondonware now?
Like
Version 2.9.2
Scott-C-H-
14 May 2018
Buyers, be aware; they just had a massive sync issues between May 7th ~ 10th, 2018, and the details of how it happened should scare you. http://help.dayoneapp.com/day-one-sync/may-2018-day-one-outage-postmortem In short, some unintended sharing of personal diary data took place due to some design flaws on the server side. There have been 106 users whose data was inadvertently exposed to another account. It should never happen. I can't believe they didn't catch what I would consider being an elementary level mistake with the way they designed the Day One sync service. Just imagine some of your intimate private thoughts are shared with random strangers, and you get locked out of your account due to account ID mismatch. It is not assuring at all considering that I have had some sync issues with entries with photos way before the May outage. I normally steer clear of this type of "bucket apps." But, last year, I decided to make an exception, embrace Day One and gave a glaring review last year. Never again. I am putting everything back on my encrypted disk image as a folder full of Markdown files and accompanying media files.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.4
3 answer(s)
Funjoy
Funjoy
02 June 2018
Good thing they offer end-to-end encryption. Too bad those users didn't turn it on. OTOH, I have several journals and only encrypted my personal daily journal. If a bug let others see my cooking journal or my journal of pics of concert tickets I'm okay with that, lol.
Like (2)
Odysseus
Odysseus
27 August 2018
Perhaps consider Agenda if it meets your needs? It uses iCloud (very successfully, I might add!).
Like (1)
cig0
cig0
27 August 2018
+1 for Agenda.

Day One is awesome and if you enable E2E encryption all should be good, but the take on minimalism and agility that Agenda brings for note-taking finally won me.

From Day One & OmniFocus to Agenda & Things 3 -- quite a change, but couldn't be more happier.
Like (1)
Sonnendeck
20 December 2017
Still the best journaling app, but I hate subscription...!
Like (3)
Version 2.5.5
3 answer(s)
JohnnyFave
JohnnyFave
20 December 2017
Agreed - will NOT upgrade / buy because of subscription model.
Like (3)
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
20 December 2017
same here user sinve V1 but will not upgrade to subscription model
Like (4)
476429
476429
24 September 2018
MacJournal has been rock solid for me for years. No problems at all.
Like (1)
rw49
11 November 2017
The team are always trying to make this app better and succeeding too. With encryption now it's even better. Syncs perfectly between OS and iOS.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.3
2 answer(s)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
11 November 2017
Did you see the Note, above?
"Note: Day One is not encrypted or password protected on this version. If this is an issue for you, please do not purchase this app yet."
Like
rw49
rw49
11 November 2017
Yes, but the premium version to which I've subscribed has end to end encryption.
Like (2)
Grug
04 October 2017
Day One Classic, was a good and pretty little app, Day One 2 a good proprietary app, Day One 2.5 a good racketeering app. To be honest it could be a good solution if you want multiple diary & picture storage, but if you just want to write your personal diary, try something else.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
Ptk3
Ptk3
15 November 2017
So true ! I loved Day One classic, and be thankfull to the devs to maintain it after Day One 2 was out; but now it seems that it's time to go to another app before the subscription get your datas prisoners of the app. That's what I've done, using now Mweb which allow me to journal, blog, organise all my stuff written in Markdown, with all my datas saved both on my mac and on iCloud and/or Dropbox (and so syncronised with the iOS app). So long, Day One, I used to love you…
Like (1)
YellowSubmarine
10 September 2017
Sorry, don't like subscriptions. Will stay with my previously purchased Mac/iOs versions until I find a better replacement for it ( or they revert back to offering perpetual upgradeable versions )

Like (4)
Version 2.4.1
Markoh
30 August 2017
Day One is now subscription based. No thanks. Humanity has managed to live without subscription based software. However, greed has become uncontrollable.
Like (3)
Version 2.4
Scott-C-H-
07 July 2017
It's a beautiful, well-crafted journaling solution that finally made me stick to journaling after years of off-and-on struggles to keep a personal journal. It is surprisingly versatile. I keep track of my activities, things I did for the day, exercises, communications with my clients, and, of course, personal thoughts. I love how it works with Mac/iPhone Location Service to automatically keep track of where I logged each entry and the weather information. In some way, it's like journaling version of Evernote. It has become my external memory repository. I also love how it tells me to look at journal entries from the past. I enjoy going along with Day One reminding me of some entries from the past. It's a lot of fun. Day One's data export has been very reliable and fast as well. I regularly export the entire journal in all available formats. It's wonderful. I gladly paid for the new Premium plan. I think it's a bargain at the full price, but I happily locked myself into $24.99/year plan since I was already a v.2x license user. Sure, I could keep a journal in Apple Note, or TextEdit.app for that matter, but why, when I have access to such a wonderful journaling app on the Mac? None of them do the things described earlier. Day One is way beyond some simple text journaling. Strongly recommended, and huge kudos to the developer!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.4
Jimw
06 July 2017
If the limited free version will totally meet your needs; now, and in the future, this may be an ok product, but the full featured version is subscription based and currently cost $35/yr and you have to pay for it every year for as long as you use it. Do the math; in 10 years, not an unreasonable time to journalist, that is at least $350, assuming, that the price does not increase.

Thanks, but I think I will continue to use Apple Notes, setting up a journaling folder in it, and using a "Word Services" app to enter in todays date with a single keystroke.
Like (4)
Version 2.3.3
Funjoy
03 July 2017
Bloom announced encryption, and then they announced $25/year discount subscriptions for current owners of Day One. I'd owned the updated iOS app (I think it was free for a while) but I stuck to the Classic apps so I could continue to use the Classic Mac app (since the updated Mac app cost $40). So, I bought the premium subscription. $25/year for updated iOS *and* Mac apps, synced and encrypted, is fair. (If they made me pay the $50/year price for new users I'd never have done it.) So far, so good.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
1 answer(s)
Funjoy
Funjoy
28 January 2018
Update: I now have multiple journals synced to Day One's cloud, and they are encrypted end-to-end for complete privacy. Everything is great when it works - which is usually - but there are occasional glitches in syncing which the developers seem to squash within a day of them arising.

The iOS app seems to be given the most attention, as (according to a recent Twitter poll) that's where the majority of users use the app. That makes me a little concerned, since I edit a few dozen words on iOS, but enter hundreds if words daily on my Mac and I worry that the Mac app is going to get neglected.

That said, I've tried other journaling apps and if you want to capture thoughts, photos, locations, weather and sync it all up between multiple iOS and Mac devices I don't know of any app out there that equals Day One right now.

Not crazy about the subscription pricing, but you do get your money's worth.
Like (2)
Funjoy
13 June 2017
I'm still using the older 'Classic' version of the iOS and Mac apps, primarily because I like iCloud syncing (which works perfectly) and I distrust the removal of that in favor of a proprietary sync service. That service is currently free, but what happens if/when they decide to charge for it? Currently you can only migrate Classic journal entries to the new format, but not back, so you're stuck. Give me Dropbox/iCloud syn again and I'll happily upgrade to the new version.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Szeoli
Szeoli
29 June 2017
They are beginning to charge for that with "Premium." Supposedly, current users can still sync all their journals for free, but I've read reports where that doesn't always work properly.
Like (1)
bobembry
04 May 2017
As a journaling app, Day One has all the features I currently think I need and I haven't had any problems with it. I have a daily template that is still evolving. It contains sections that enforce a form of discipline: Sleep, exercise, food, TV, mood, stress, places, news titles and summaries, things I worked on, things to remember ... Basically I'm a satisfied customer
Like
Version 2.1.9
Gazman
16 February 2017
Broken promises about encryption, expensive upgrade from version 1, Mac app that still looks and feels like a ported iPad app instead of a native Mac app. I'm looking elsewhere for my diary needs now.
Like
Version 2.1.7
Scott-C-H-
07 February 2017
I bought it when it was version 1, and I upgraded when it became version 2. Then, after learning the value of computing simplicity and the danger of being locked into a proprietary app, I abandoned it. Now, I just write a diary in a plain text file saved inside an encrypted Disk Image. It’s just a folder full of plain text files, written in Markdown. My approach is simplistic; it does not give me all the bells and whistles that Day One affords, such as auto-tracking of your whereabouts, the weather, the photos taken on your phone, and so on. But do these features matter? Would you honestly care every bit of mundane details of today years later? I contend that they don’t matter at all when it comes to writing a diary. What matters is whether your data is readable many years later. What matters is whether your most inner thoughts are protected from prying eyes. And what matters is whether your developer feels like keeping up with this app many years later. Day One utterly fails in these criteria. Day One locks your diary data into Day One database format which then will reside on Day One server if you choose to sync your journal data. Its ability to export does not count, because you are screwed if Day One tanks and the developer doesn’t feel like fixing it in the next moment you need it. The database file is a collection of text files, but they are all serialized with non-semantic file names, and they are in an user-unfriendly format. It doesn’t count as “no lock-in.” I strongly recommend against using something like this for writing diary notes. Keep it simple. Keep all your personal data in an open format, and make sure you will be able to access it even when some apps are discontinued a few years later.
Like (8)
Version 2.1.4
5 answer(s)
ibalek01
ibalek01
15 July 2017
Try our app. It works on iCloud. Dyrii.com
Like
rw49
rw49
11 November 2017
I like this app very much indeed because I love searching through past dates to see what happened. It's easy to find subjects, photos, tags - in fact anything. What's more it syncs straight away with the iPhone app which I use more than the Mac version and it's getting better and better, particularly now that it has encryption.
Like (1)
Canadianpj
Canadianpj
22 December 2017
I strongly recommend using it and am curious if you know the person below who is trying to sell something?
Like
Gazman
Gazman
25 January 2018
I’m now the same, writing all my journal entries in plain text and storing them in an encrypted disk image. Free, non-proprietary and secure. This also means I can write my journal entries in my favourite text editor (currently Typora) instead of being stuck in Day One’s iPad'esque interface.
Like
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
03 March 2018
@ibalek01
Looks nice, but I have to point out that it still doesn't allow me to access the internally stored data directly without relying on its export feature. The export feature can NOT qualify for a seal of approval because there is no guarantee that it will always work. My experiences with Evernote's export feature scared the hell out of me (it kept choking on me), Day One's sync had some glitches albeit to a lesser degree, and now-defunct Journler was also a classic case of data lock-in. I am not willing to commit to another app that won't allow me to access my data directly without the app.
Like
Gazman
18 November 2016
Still waiting for encryption. When Bloom announced version 2 of Day One they said that it would support encryption. Then they said encryption was coming in 2.1. Now we're up to 2.1.3 and still no encryption and no word of it on their blog since August when they said it was 'coming soon'. One of the main reasons I forked out for version 2 (a lot more expensive than version 1, now called 'Classic') was for the promised encryption.
Like
Version 2.1.3
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
18 November 2016
Just wanted to add, that the Mac version is not a very nice environment to write in. There is no typewriter scrolling mode and it's not visually appealing. I usually do my actual journal writing in ByWord or iaWriter and then copy and paste it into Day One for safe-keeping (which would be much more safe if it had the promised encryption). If i had my time over, I would not have purchased version 2 of the app and would have stuck with the 'Classic' version or looked around for alternatives. However, having invested so much into a journal app I feel obliged to keep sticking with it.
Like
rw49
19 March 2016
This app just gets better and better with instant syncing between iOS and OSx. The developers are making every effort and I believe them when they say that encryption will come and, when it does, I'm sure it will be good.
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
27 May 2016
They're serious enough about encryption coming to Day One to write this about it:

End-to-End Encryption for Day One Sync | Day One
http://dayoneapp.com/2016/05/end-to-end-encryption-for-day-one-sync/
Like
Gazman
07 March 2016
I've used Day One classic for years, but am put off upgrading to Day One 2 because of the hefty upgrade price - even now, while it's still on 'sale', it costs many times more what the original Day One did. Any upgraders out there want to comment on the benefits or downsides to upgrading? Is it worth the cost?
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Kerry-Dawson
Kerry-Dawson
14 October 2016
i've stayed with Classic. Two reasons:

- sync
- compatibilty with Narrate (android) gone

Personally I prefer the classic. I hate the look of the new Day One. I'm in the process of switching to Journey.
Like
Simon3
21 February 2016
No encryption? Changes in the syncing approach? This makes this app completely unusable to me. I guess I will have a look at Cryptex, even if the syncing issue will remain, at least I can feel safe.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.1
2 answer(s)
rw49
rw49
18 June 2017
You can feel safe now with the latest version.
Like (1)
ibalek01
ibalek01
15 July 2017
Try our app. It works on iCloud. Dyrii.com
Like
forwardleaps
19 February 2016
iCloud and Dropbox syncing removed in Version 2.0? Only way to sync using a proprietary server? No encryption?

You are asking me to store my most inner thought in this app?

No thank you.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Canadianpj
Canadianpj
19 February 2016
They use S3 buckets via Amazon for the storage. Yes, there should be encryption and they've said that's coming in version 2.1. Syncing has been fast and very reliable for me.
Like (2)
Spudboy
12 November 2015
I like the app but understand that the NSA is reading everything I type. If you can live with that, you might like the app too.
Like (1)
Version 1.10.2
Essadee
18 May 2015
I'd probably rate this a 4, but I'm picking 5 just because there are some mouthbreathers that don't understand how encryption, web services, or the Dropbox and iCloud APIs work, or all of the above. Short version is this — iCloud and Dropbox encrypt your data. They encrypt in transit and they encrypt at rest. Some in the cheap-seats can pretend it matters that "servers are in the US" or that they know anything about encryption, but anyone leaving a review or comment about how your DayOne data isn't safe and isn't encrypted is not remotely qualified to say so since it's well documented. You could argue that Dropbox is "less confidential" than iCloud and I don't have an opinion on the Day One service for publishing notes (but given the purpose of sharing entries on the web is to allow access to non-authenticated requests it seems like a pretty stupid thing to be up in arms about) but I think considering nobody can access my DayOne journal without my AppleID and authorization tokens in my Keychain meets and exceeds the privacy and security requirements of any journal I've ever kept.
Like
Version 1.10
4 answer(s)
PickyA2452
PickyA2452
30 July 2015
You my friend, have no idea what you're talking about. If I were as uneducated as you, I certainly won't be going around insulting other users. Okay, perhaps "uneducated" is a bit rough. Maybe "pseudo-educated" or "buzzword-savvy" or "self-proclaimed power user" would describe the persona you seem to embody.

Either way, the gist of the matter is that your data is being stored in plaintext, both locally and server side when syncing with dropbox. That the transfer protocol is secure means diddly-squat. Encrypting a small database of text and images is not complicated, not matter how you cut it. That Bloom Built refuses to implement it, presumably to hold it off as the magical innovation for a paid 2.0 version, is laughable (or insulting, depending on whether you got suckered into buying this one).
Like (7)
Gazman
Gazman
07 March 2016
From Day One's own website (http://dayoneapp.com/sync/):

In 2016, we will develop and provide full private-key encryption on the server in our 2.1 release for iOS and Mac apps by May 2016. Our encryption features will utilize the user’s private key to encrypt all entries before they reach the server. In short, the server will have no access to the user’s unencrypted data. Neither iCloud nor Dropbox currently provide this level of security, thus making Day One Sync even more secure than these other sync/backup methods.

In short, Day One is saying that until 2.1 there is no encryption - not with iCloud, not with Dropbox and not with their own sync service.
Like (3)
Jimmysmits
Jimmysmits
18 March 2016
Day One stores it's data in an unencrypted text file. They have been promising encryption for at least 3 years. Essadee, you may want to find out what "mouthbreathers" are talking about before you start mouthing off how "pretty stupid" they are.
Like (4)
Essadee
Essadee
24 March 2016
Obviously we're talking about server-side crypto, not whatever is happening on your local computer. Nobody cares about local computer anyway when you have excellent technology like FileVault 2 available to you.

I'm not surprised even my dumbed-down explanation went right over the heads of a few commentators on Macupdate. My only regret is that I wasn't able to make it even simpler for you people to understand what I was even talking about since you're obviously in over your heads.

Keep in mind my original post was about Day One prior to Day One 2, and the removal of iCloud and Dropbox as storage and sync mechanisms. I would now give this application a rating of 1 star accordingly, since the only option is to use the unvetted and therefore untrustworthy sync service built by a couple of devbros in Salt Lake City that don't have the experience or skills of, say, the thousands of engineers that solved this problem eight years ago.

Like
twinturbine
19 March 2015
There is no way to sync this app with the mobile version other than to upload your private data to their cloud. No encryption possible. Definitely not worth the risk.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.6
6 answer(s)
Canadianpj
Canadianpj
16 May 2015
Or Dropbox, or iCloud... Yes no encryption but their own storage is not the only option.
Like (1)
Essadee
Essadee
18 May 2015
You don't know what you're talking about. Not only do you not have to use any service of theirs, encryption is absolutely possible and being done for the vast majority of users with certainty.
Like (1)
njwinter
njwinter
27 May 2016
I wish I could get my money back. Without end-to-end encryption this product is too dangerous.
Like
Canadianpj
Canadianpj
29 May 2016
Sigh. Dangerous. I couldn't care less if someone found my diary. All in all I think they would be pretty bored.
Like
njwinter
njwinter
14 July 2016
Yes, dangerous. Why are you even commenting on this thread if you don't care about encryption? Actually, please don't answer that.
Like
Canadianpj
Canadianpj
15 July 2016
Well since you asked. What are people putting in journals that is so terribly dangerous in the first place? Chances are unless your the CEO of a major company, a celebrity or otherwise then no one is going to go to the trouble of wanting to know what is in the journal.

Lastly, they said the next major release, 2.1 or something, will contain encryption.
Like
JBX
06 November 2014
As much as I enjoyed using DayOne, it's time to find something that is better programmed. The fact that with updates I always have data loss is the biggest issue and is ridiculous. And once in a while, I find the DayOne file in my ~/Library/Containers/com.dayoneapp.dayone to be 8GB or more. This size file also manifested in other DayOne folders from time to time as a .zip file and when up compressed contains zero bytes. I think this is a badly programmed app. Will find something else.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.6
2 answer(s)
JBX
JBX
06 November 2014
That should say "un-compressed".... zero bytes.
Like
Canadianpj
Canadianpj
16 May 2015
I have been using it for some time now and have yet to experience any data loss or large files. It's still I find the best option out there.
Like
I like it more and more for simple things like keeping track of finances. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.9.6
DRasulev
18 July 2014
Really excellent app! Use it two years, works great, sync immediately (through dropbox), very convenient!
Like
Version 1.9.6
Macott
09 July 2014
Bought this sometime in 2012 (together with the iPhone version), used it for a couple of month but it didn't stick. The idea of logging daily activities and have metadata like weather and location automatically added sounded fun, but in the end the app was a little too limited when it comes to do something with the data that was added to the journal.
Like
Version 1.9.5
Dan-D
12 April 2014
I'd love to use this app for private diaries, but I don't want my unprotected private data on Sync-Servers located in the US. Encryption should be the No.1 feature in a diary-app.
Like (7)
Version 1.9.3
1 answer(s)
Xenophile
Xenophile
05 August 2014
Don't worry, the NSA already knows everything you might put in a diary.
Like
Exegete77
28 February 2014
I have used a variety ofMac diary programs/apps since 1990. This one is easy and not intrusive. However, it crashed every time it launched (for about a month). But the support over this time has been constant and helpful in diagnosing a couple problems. The latest release now seems to have fixed the problem. Excellent support.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.3
1 answer(s)
Exegete77
Exegete77
16 April 2014
Problem was a conflict with a plug in for online video conferencing. Nothing could be done. I need that online video (part of my teaching). So I have stopped use of DayOne. ‘Tis a shame, as it seemed to offer a good package.
Like
When I get old and grey (well, old) I won't want to read about how high my utility bills were back in 2014 or how much I liked "Cloud Atlas." I discovered, through this app, that I am NOT a journal-type person. I collect info, undated, pure info. Jounler was great for that and now I use MacJournal. But for the die-hard "where was I on June 14, 2016," it's a perfect app. I think forgetting is as important as remembering!
Like (2)
Version 1.9.2
Filou53
19 January 2014
Hi. Six times the same (bad) review from MonkeyJunkey ... It seems you have a problem ! It's unfair for DayOne
Like
Version 1.9.1
Monkeyjunkey
19 January 2014
Does it collect personal data? YES Does it allow upload to cloud services? YES Does it allow encryption? NO Go figure.
Like (8)
Version 1.9.1
1 answer(s)
Spudboy
Spudboy
18 May 2015
What do recommend? I like this program, but don't like it for the reasons you give.
Like
larrymcj
05 December 2013
I’m always impressed when one of the apps I purchase turns out to be an indispensable tool on my Mac, especially one that has to sync with my iOS devices, and Day One is just that. I’ve tried the top five journaling and daily timeline apps for iOS and Mac and IMHO, Day One is the clear winner in all regards. It looks good, it feels good, and it serves every imaginable need of an app in its genre. But even the best of apps need something that most apps don’t have…support from the developer. I encountered a couple of minor issues I couldn’t figure out about Day One and their support guru promptly responded and professionally solved both issues. He took the time to have an email dialog with me and made me feel like a real customer, which I appreciate immensely. Kudos to Bloom Built, LLC for not only a great app…but equally great support.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.1
Kitmos
25 November 2013
Crashes on a daily basis. I've sent reports to them every time but no answer back.
Like
Version 1.8.1
Frankeed
15 December 2012
It costs $9.99 on the App Store, not $4.99.
Like
Version 1.7.2
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
16 December 2012
Nice catch! Sorry for the confusion. The listing's been updated to reflect the correct price.
Like
Balanchine
28 September 2012
Very attractive journaling app that syncs well with the excellent iOS version. However, it needs better exporting features. Currently only one day at a time can be exported to pdf and any photos are stripped in the process. I'd like to be able to archive off my entries to pdf a month or more at a time, including photos. The app also lacks encryption. You can password-lock your journal within Day One, but this seems a bit pointless as the database is unencrypted and anyone can read it by simply opening it in a text editor.
Like (9)
Version 1.7.2
2 answer(s)
Oneblessedguy
Oneblessedguy
29 September 2012
I have to agree. Encryption is absolutely necessary. This is THE missing feature.
Like (7)
Sunburn
Sunburn
24 April 2013
The developer cannot hear that enough times. Day One looks great and I'd love to buy it, but I won't until there is real encryption. Bloom Built, you are losing customers by not supporting this feature.
Like (5)
Snowlprd
27 September 2012
Version 1.7.2 is out but not reflected here on MacUpdate. Changelog follows. ================ New: - Calendar view now uses the system's first day of week setting - Redesigned Dropbox setup - Auto-embed YouTube links - Auto-link Twitter screenames - Improved layout support for embedded images and videos - Full Smartypants support (when Markdown enabled) - Integrated crash reporting - Additional Markdown support: * Strikethrough * Autolink * Lax HTML blocks * Superscript * Fenced code * Space headers * Tables Fixed: - Fix for Avenir Heavy font issue - Fix duplicate Notification Center reminders - Fixes for Momento and MacJournal imports - Fix cursor moving to end of text when app becomes active - Fix text button hover state - Update licenses in Legal window - Retina graphics in About window - Fixes for Calendar view not showing some days - Remove Helvetica Neue Light style (was causing unresolvable issues)
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
27 September 2012
Thanks Snowlprd, I've updated our listing!
Like
Achiever
19 September 2012
I have been using Day One as a MacJournal replacement for a couple of months now and on the whole I love it. It has been stable for me since the beginning, the syncing has been very reliable and the development is very active, with important features seemingly being added in every release. I love the clean and uncluttered interface, which takes all of 30 seconds to master. Also, and I cannot state this enough (especially as compared to MJ), the price points are ideal both for the desktop and iOS versions. Plus, unlike MJ, the iOS versions also sync flawlessly through iCloud and have universal iPhone/iPod compatibility with a single app purchase. There are still a few shortcomings of Day One which prevent it from being a 5 star app for me at this point. The first is the lack of support for multiple journals. This is a big one for me as I keep multiple journals for multiple people/projects. The developer has indicated this feature is forthcoming and I can only hope it comes soon. Second, and despite other reviewers having different experiences in this regard, I have been unhappy with the customer support. I submitted a simple question of how to import a MJ journal through the developer's website support portal several weeks ago. When I didn't receive a response for about 10 days, I re-submitted. Nothing. The absence of such support on the website's FAQ section (after all, they offer a step by step tutorial for importing from another journaling app and advertise the MJ importing capabilities as a feature) and upon direct contact of the developer through their own support channels is both disappointing and a bit unacceptable. It also speaks to a possible need for a community/support forum on the website where users can ask such questions and assist each other. Absent this, the developer needs to be much more responsive to formally submitted help requests from its users. Still, I highly recommend this application and look forward to its continued growth and development. They are a single feature away from making me a full time convert from their competitor and becoming a 5 star app.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.1
JBX
10 September 2012
Same issue as previous update. 1.7.1 app will not see previous data.
Like
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
amar
amar
09 November 2013
You know alternate apps? Paid or free but open source?
Like
Aetnaria
24 August 2012
Finally updated this version and the iOS version in tadem after updating to Mountain Lion (yeah, it was finally time to upgrade to a new computer). Maybe it's because I held off during the initial big release, but I've had no problems with this version. Ran the latest version on the computer first, re-authed with Dropbox (as it prompts), made some entries. Ran the latest version on iOS, re-authed there as well as prompted and agreed to folder move. Waited as it updated the entries, made some edits on a few entries myself, then came back here. Everything shows up fine.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Jfm
18 August 2012
I had bought some journaling applications, but never started to use them for more than a few days. Since buying DayOne, I have been using it, since it is very pleasant and easy to use: what is amazing is that, in some way, the app itself convinces the user to keep a diary. It is simple to use, and perfect sync with iPhone and iPad. There is only one significant thing that is missing: the ability to export pictures. Nobody can ever be sure that an app will last forever (I have seen good apps discontinued), and the content of a journaling app should not be captive. While the export of text works nicely (and the explanations of the developer have convinced me that Markdown can be a good solution), the inability to export pictures is a problem: I would like to include pictures sometimes, I started to do it, but I gave up after the first few days, since there is no way to export them. Once this feature is added, I wll gladly give five stars to this app. In the meantime, I consider it as a very good and highly recommended app, but not yet perfect.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Lodestone
17 August 2012
I'm loving Day One. I like: * Seamless sync via Dropbox or iCloud with iOS client * Markdown support * Beautiful interface * Reminders to add an entry * Responsive support
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
liquidhelsinki
14 August 2012
Where can I get the version compatible with Snow Leopard?
Like
Version 1.7.1
Crucial
03 August 2012
1.5.5 was great. Great in that it worked reliably. I am on Mountain Lion and just wasted an hour and a half after updating to 1.7. First the app wouldn't see my journal file, when I finally got it to open the file by changing its location in the sync preference everything was fine until I quit the app, then I had to go through the whole move the journal file in preferences thing again, and again and again every time I quit and re-launch. I used to have the journal file hidden away in a bunch of folders on Dropbox which worked fine, now the app insists on it being at the root level (apps should never take over the organisation of your folders unless you ask them to), but even at root it wont open the file on startup. Before the update I carefully copied 1.5.5 to my desktop, but now that is gone as the App store cleverly updates your apps rather than deleting and replacing so where do I get a copy of 1.5.5?
Like (4)
Version 1.7
2 answer(s)
alfarobl
alfarobl
04 August 2012
I have same issues with upgrade... complete waste of time. So easy to do it right if you think a little bit the changes. Posted a bug report and no answer. iOS app has worst issues with Dropbox. Wish I never upgraded to this version. People stay away if you use Dropbox sync until new release or fix is posted.
Like (1)
Fishscale
Fishscale
11 August 2012
You don't get your previous version. If you deleted it, it's gone unless the dev is nice enough to give you a copy he has directly. This is why you do not support MAS developers. Too restrictive, apple takes WAY too large a %. Unless people demonstrate to inidie devs that the way to go is through direct sales and good marketing... it will only get worse. DayOne is great. But I will not give apple more money to restrict my ability to choose what version I want and downgrade.
Like (1)
JBX
02 August 2012
updated to 1.7 and it would not see my old entries! I had to reinstall 1.5.5 and export to txt then re install 1.7 and import. the app dose an auto back up but you can't import the back ups :/
Like (2)
Version 1.7
2 answer(s)
JBX
JBX
02 August 2012
Never mind... after some testing the 1.7 will not open previous entries and is now hanging! DOWNGRADING NOW!
Like (1)
F451
F451
03 August 2012
You're not alone...I've been unable to use v1.7 too. Hmmmm...
Like
Aetnaria
07 June 2012
I'm still using it. That's really the best endorsement anyone can give. Three other diary apps (and countless physical notebooks) all fell to the wayside within a month (or less) of my starting them, but come the 22nd I'll have been using this one for an entire year. The ease of entry and menu-pop reminder (that you can set your own schedule for) are the winning combination.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.5
1 answer(s)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
02 August 2012
As I am still using Snow Leopard (and this mac can't handle Mountain Lion), seems I'll be sticking with the old v1.5.5 until I get a new computer. A shame, though I do understand dropping support in order to add features.
Like (1)
EndoLab
08 March 2012
When I first saw this app on the MAS or Crap App $tore I thought it was a crap app like many over there. A few month later I discovered it on a friend's computer and tried it: I like the unobtrusive quick entry mode with short cut, Markdown support and its searching capability. I miss tags but I saw on your website that you are going to introduce it (as well as photo support) in a next release then I'm already tagging the entry a I'm making. I bought your app because I was able to try it before and only because of this. I've also discovered later in Brett Terpstra' blog a script who put automatically the @done from TaskPaper in Day One, how to log from the terminal and even (I don't remember where) to make entry from some other apps. I use Day One to remember what I've done during the day (scripts, mails, etc). Very practical for me. I wonder why you don't provide a trial and I understand that people don't want to buy your app without a demo. No demo no sale.
Like (8)
Version 1.5
It's been said before. No demo, no sale.
Like (6)
Version 1.5
JBX
24 January 2012
updated to 1.5, now all older entries are gone :/
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
JBX
JBX
24 January 2012
never mind, showed up on re-launch.
Like