Back to Day One page
Day One free download for Mac

Day One Reviews6.11

25 October 2021

Maintain a daily journal.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Feb 12 2021
5.9.1
5.0
Feb 12 2021
5.0
Version: 5.9.1
It's the best journaling app that is more than just writing. It reduces the friction of developing a good journaling habit. Its UX and UI are pleasant, and it helped me stick to journaling.
Kitmos
Kitmos
Dec 2 2020
5.7
3.0
Dec 2 2020
3.0
Version: 5.7
Good app but support from the devolopers is awful. I've emailed them 3 times over the last 6 months about syncing and still haven't heard back.
yaelism
yaelism
Jul 20 2020
4.15.3
5.0
Jul 20 2020
5.0
Version: 4.15.3
Awesome, simply.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Feb 22 2020
4.8
0.0
Feb 22 2020
0.0
Version: 4.8
NOTES about Day One: There is a PREMIUM version for a subscription price of $2.92/mth, billed annually, IOW $35.04 yearly. The comparison chart is here: https://dayoneapp.com/pricing/ - What you add with Premium is: • Unlimited journals (vs just one) • Unlimited secure cloud backup • Sync across all your devices (vs just one) • Unlimited photos (vs 1 per entry) • Unlimited videos • Unlimited audio recordings • Unlimited voice-to-text transcription • Unlimited drawings • Instagram Importer • Auto importing using IFTTT • Send email to your journal • PDF Embed • Scan documents to PDF (using the in=app camera) • Dark mode • 25% book printing discount • Bonus journal colors • End-to-end encryption for privacy <- ONLY with Premium! - - The fact that it has a companion iOS app is excellent. I'd point you to MacJournal 7, a free alternative. Except the MacJournal developer is not going to update the already buggy iOS version. That puts Day One into the lead as the best option.
Gazman
Gazman
Aug 10 2019
4.1
1.5
Aug 10 2019
1.5
Version: 4.1
MacUpdate admins - the note at the end of your description says "Day One is not encrypted or password protected on this version. If this is an issue for you, please do not purchase this app yet". Day One has offered end-to-end encryption for quite some time now (from memory v3.1, it's now up to v4.1). From there website: "Privacy protected with industry leading end-to-end encryption."
100%MacSince1990
100%MacSince1990
Apr 10 2019
3.0.4
3.0
Apr 10 2019
3.0
Version: 3.0.4
This could be a great app, but it is missing an essential (to me) feature that was in the original DayOne app but which was removed by the developers. v1 allowed for setting a "Repeating Reminder" ranging from a selectable period from every 15 minutes to once a week. This feature was incredibly handy. The current v3 of the app, has a reminder feature, but there is no way to have it reapeat. Not only that, but the ability to customize a reminder in v3 is crippled by the inablity to duplicate it, so that each custom reminder has to be setup manually. If you want to see the Repeatable Reminder feature back (and the ability to duplicate a Reminder) please write to the developer using the Contact Support item in the Help menu.
Kitmos
Kitmos
Dec 14 2018
2.9.2
3.0
Dec 14 2018
3.0
Version: 2.9.2
I like Day One, however it crashes upon launch and repeated emails to the developer go unanswered. Is this abondonware now?
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
Dec 20 2017
2.5.5
0.0
Dec 20 2017
0.0
Version: 2.5.5
Still the best journaling app, but I hate subscription...!
rw49
rw49
Nov 11 2017
2.5.3
4.5
Nov 11 2017
4.5
Version: 2.5.3
The team are always trying to make this app better and succeeding too. With encryption now it's even better. Syncs perfectly between OS and iOS.
Grug
Grug
Oct 4 2017
2.5.1
0.5
Oct 4 2017
0.5
Version: 2.5.1
Day One Classic, was a good and pretty little app, Day One 2 a good proprietary app, Day One 2.5 a good racketeering app. To be honest it could be a good solution if you want multiple diary & picture storage, but if you just want to write your personal diary, try something else.
YellowSubmarine
YellowSubmarine
Sep 10 2017
2.4.1
0.0
Sep 10 2017
0.0
Version: 2.4.1
Sorry, don't like subscriptions. Will stay with my previously purchased Mac/iOs versions until I find a better replacement for it ( or they revert back to offering perpetual upgradeable versions )

Markoh
Markoh
Aug 30 2017
2.4
0.0
Aug 30 2017
0.0
Version: 2.4
Day One is now subscription based. No thanks. Humanity has managed to live without subscription based software. However, greed has become uncontrollable.
James
James
Jul 6 2017
2.3.3
0.0
Jul 6 2017
0.0
Version: 2.3.3
If the limited free version will totally meet your needs; now, and in the future, this may be an ok product, but the full featured version is subscription based and currently cost $35/yr and you have to pay for it every year for as long as you use it. Do the math; in 10 years, not an unreasonable time to journalist, that is at least $350, assuming, that the price does not increase.

Thanks, but I think I will continue to use Apple Notes, setting up a journaling folder in it, and using a "Word Services" app to enter in todays date with a single keystroke.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Jul 3 2017
2.3.2
4.5
Jul 3 2017
4.5
Version: 2.3.2
Bloom announced encryption, and then they announced $25/year discount subscriptions for current owners of Day One. I'd owned the updated iOS app (I think it was free for a while) but I stuck to the Classic apps so I could continue to use the Classic Mac app (since the updated Mac app cost $40). So, I bought the premium subscription. $25/year for updated iOS *and* Mac apps, synced and encrypted, is fair. (If they made me pay the $50/year price for new users I'd never have done it.) So far, so good.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Jun 13 2017
2.2
4.5
Jun 13 2017
4.5
Version: 2.2
I'm still using the older 'Classic' version of the iOS and Mac apps, primarily because I like iCloud syncing (which works perfectly) and I distrust the removal of that in favor of a proprietary sync service. That service is currently free, but what happens if/when they decide to charge for it? Currently you can only migrate Classic journal entries to the new format, but not back, so you're stuck. Give me Dropbox/iCloud syn again and I'll happily upgrade to the new version.
bobembry
bobembry
May 4 2017
2.1.9
5.0
May 4 2017
5.0
Version: 2.1.9
As a journaling app, Day One has all the features I currently think I need and I haven't had any problems with it. I have a daily template that is still evolving. It contains sections that enforce a form of discipline: Sleep, exercise, food, TV, mood, stress, places, news titles and summaries, things I worked on, things to remember ... Basically I'm a satisfied customer
Gazman
Gazman
Feb 16 2017
2.1.7
1.5
Feb 16 2017
1.5
Version: 2.1.7
Broken promises about encryption, expensive upgrade from version 1, Mac app that still looks and feels like a ported iPad app instead of a native Mac app. I'm looking elsewhere for my diary needs now.
Gazman
Gazman
Nov 18 2016
2.1.3
1.5
Nov 18 2016
1.5
Version: 2.1.3
Still waiting for encryption. When Bloom announced version 2 of Day One they said that it would support encryption. Then they said encryption was coming in 2.1. Now we're up to 2.1.3 and still no encryption and no word of it on their blog since August when they said it was 'coming soon'. One of the main reasons I forked out for version 2 (a lot more expensive than version 1, now called 'Classic') was for the promised encryption.
rw49
rw49
Mar 19 2016
2.0.3
4.5
Mar 19 2016
4.5
Version: 2.0.3
This app just gets better and better with instant syncing between iOS and OSx. The developers are making every effort and I believe them when they say that encryption will come and, when it does, I'm sure it will be good.
Gazman
Gazman
Mar 7 2016
2.0.1
1.5
Mar 7 2016
1.5
Version: 2.0.1
I've used Day One classic for years, but am put off upgrading to Day One 2 because of the hefty upgrade price - even now, while it's still on 'sale', it costs many times more what the original Day One did. Any upgraders out there want to comment on the benefits or downsides to upgrading? Is it worth the cost?
Simon3
Simon3
Feb 21 2016
2.0.1
0.5
Feb 21 2016
0.5
Version: 2.0.1
No encryption? Changes in the syncing approach? This makes this app completely unusable to me. I guess I will have a look at Cryptex, even if the syncing issue will remain, at least I can feel safe.
forwardleaps
forwardleaps
Feb 19 2016
2.0.1
0.5
Feb 19 2016
0.5
Version: 2.0.1
iCloud and Dropbox syncing removed in Version 2.0? Only way to sync using a proprietary server? No encryption?

You are asking me to store my most inner thought in this app?

No thank you.
Spudboy
Spudboy
Nov 12 2015
1.10.2
0.0
Nov 12 2015
0.0
Version: 1.10.2
I like the app but understand that the NSA is reading everything I type. If you can live with that, you might like the app too.
Essadee
Essadee
May 18 2015
1.10
5.0
May 18 2015
5.0
Version: 1.10
I'd probably rate this a 4, but I'm picking 5 just because there are some mouthbreathers that don't understand how encryption, web services, or the Dropbox and iCloud APIs work, or all of the above. Short version is this — iCloud and Dropbox encrypt your data. They encrypt in transit and they encrypt at rest. Some in the cheap-seats can pretend it matters that "servers are in the US" or that they know anything about encryption, but anyone leaving a review or comment about how your DayOne data isn't safe and isn't encrypted is not remotely qualified to say so since it's well documented. You could argue that Dropbox is "less confidential" than iCloud and I don't have an opinion on the Day One service for publishing notes (but given the purpose of sharing entries on the web is to allow access to non-authenticated requests it seems like a pretty stupid thing to be up in arms about) but I think considering nobody can access my DayOne journal without my AppleID and authorization tokens in my Keychain meets and exceeds the privacy and security requirements of any journal I've ever kept.
twinturbine
twinturbine
Mar 19 2015
1.9.6
0.5
Mar 19 2015
0.5
Version: 1.9.6
There is no way to sync this app with the mobile version other than to upload your private data to their cloud. No encryption possible. Definitely not worth the risk.
JBX
JBX
Nov 6 2014
1.9.6
2.0
Nov 6 2014
2.0
Version: 1.9.6
As much as I enjoyed using DayOne, it's time to find something that is better programmed. The fact that with updates I always have data loss is the biggest issue and is ridiculous. And once in a while, I find the DayOne file in my ~/Library/Containers/com.dayoneapp.dayone to be 8GB or more. This size file also manifested in other DayOne folders from time to time as a .zip file and when up compressed contains zero bytes. I think this is a badly programmed app. Will find something else.
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
Jul 18 2014
1.9.6
4.0
Jul 18 2014
4.0
Version: 1.9.6
I like it more and more for simple things like keeping track of finances. Thanks!
DRasulev
DRasulev
Jul 18 2014
1.9.6
5.0
Jul 18 2014
5.0
Version: 1.9.6
Really excellent app! Use it two years, works great, sync immediately (through dropbox), very convenient!
Macott
Macott
Jul 9 2014
1.9.5
3.5
Jul 9 2014
3.5
Version: 1.9.5
Bought this sometime in 2012 (together with the iPhone version), used it for a couple of month but it didn't stick. The idea of logging daily activities and have metadata like weather and location automatically added sounded fun, but in the end the app was a little too limited when it comes to do something with the data that was added to the journal.
Dan-D
Dan-D
Apr 12 2014
1.9.3
0.0
Apr 12 2014
0.0
Version: 1.9.3
I'd love to use this app for private diaries, but I don't want my unprotected private data on Sync-Servers located in the US. Encryption should be the No.1 feature in a diary-app.
Exegete77
Exegete77
Feb 28 2014
1.9.3
4.0
Feb 28 2014
4.0
Version: 1.9.3
I have used a variety ofMac diary programs/apps since 1990. This one is easy and not intrusive. However, it crashed every time it launched (for about a month). But the support over this time has been constant and helpful in diagnosing a couple problems. The latest release now seems to have fixed the problem. Excellent support.
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
Jan 22 2014
1.9.2
4.0
Jan 22 2014
4.0
Version: 1.9.2
When I get old and grey (well, old) I won't want to read about how high my utility bills were back in 2014 or how much I liked "Cloud Atlas." I discovered, through this app, that I am NOT a journal-type person. I collect info, undated, pure info. Jounler was great for that and now I use MacJournal. But for the die-hard "where was I on June 14, 2016," it's a perfect app. I think forgetting is as important as remembering!
Filou53
Filou53
Jan 19 2014
1.9.1
0.0
Jan 19 2014
0.0
Version: 1.9.1
Hi. Six times the same (bad) review from MonkeyJunkey ... It seems you have a problem ! It's unfair for DayOne
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
Jan 19 2014
1.9.1
0.5
Jan 19 2014
0.5
Version: 1.9.1
Does it collect personal data? YES Does it allow upload to cloud services? YES Does it allow encryption? NO Go figure.
larrymcj
larrymcj
Dec 5 2013
1.8.1
5.0
Dec 5 2013
5.0
Version: 1.8.1
I’m always impressed when one of the apps I purchase turns out to be an indispensable tool on my Mac, especially one that has to sync with my iOS devices, and Day One is just that. I’ve tried the top five journaling and daily timeline apps for iOS and Mac and IMHO, Day One is the clear winner in all regards. It looks good, it feels good, and it serves every imaginable need of an app in its genre. But even the best of apps need something that most apps don’t have…support from the developer. I encountered a couple of minor issues I couldn’t figure out about Day One and their support guru promptly responded and professionally solved both issues. He took the time to have an email dialog with me and made me feel like a real customer, which I appreciate immensely. Kudos to Bloom Built, LLC for not only a great app…but equally great support.
Kitmos
Kitmos
Nov 25 2013
1.8.1
3.0
Nov 25 2013
3.0
Version: 1.8.1
Crashes on a daily basis. I've sent reports to them every time but no answer back.
Frankeed
Frankeed
Dec 15 2012
1.7.2
0.0
Dec 15 2012
0.0
Version: 1.7.2
It costs $9.99 on the App Store, not $4.99.
Balanchine
Balanchine
Sep 28 2012
1.7.2
4.0
Sep 28 2012
4.0
Version: 1.7.2
Very attractive journaling app that syncs well with the excellent iOS version. However, it needs better exporting features. Currently only one day at a time can be exported to pdf and any photos are stripped in the process. I'd like to be able to archive off my entries to pdf a month or more at a time, including photos. The app also lacks encryption. You can password-lock your journal within Day One, but this seems a bit pointless as the database is unencrypted and anyone can read it by simply opening it in a text editor.
Snowlprd
Snowlprd
Sep 27 2012
1.7.1
0.0
Sep 27 2012
0.0
Version: 1.7.1
Version 1.7.2 is out but not reflected here on MacUpdate. Changelog follows. ================ New: - Calendar view now uses the system's first day of week setting - Redesigned Dropbox setup - Auto-embed YouTube links - Auto-link Twitter screenames - Improved layout support for embedded images and videos - Full Smartypants support (when Markdown enabled) - Integrated crash reporting - Additional Markdown support: * Strikethrough * Autolink * Lax HTML blocks * Superscript * Fenced code * Space headers * Tables Fixed: - Fix for Avenir Heavy font issue - Fix duplicate Notification Center reminders - Fixes for Momento and MacJournal imports - Fix cursor moving to end of text when app becomes active - Fix text button hover state - Update licenses in Legal window - Retina graphics in About window - Fixes for Calendar view not showing some days - Remove Helvetica Neue Light style (was causing unresolvable issues)
Achiever
Achiever
Sep 19 2012
1.7.1
4.0
Sep 19 2012
4.0
Version: 1.7.1
I have been using Day One as a MacJournal replacement for a couple of months now and on the whole I love it. It has been stable for me since the beginning, the syncing has been very reliable and the development is very active, with important features seemingly being added in every release. I love the clean and uncluttered interface, which takes all of 30 seconds to master. Also, and I cannot state this enough (especially as compared to MJ), the price points are ideal both for the desktop and iOS versions. Plus, unlike MJ, the iOS versions also sync flawlessly through iCloud and have universal iPhone/iPod compatibility with a single app purchase. There are still a few shortcomings of Day One which prevent it from being a 5 star app for me at this point. The first is the lack of support for multiple journals. This is a big one for me as I keep multiple journals for multiple people/projects. The developer has indicated this feature is forthcoming and I can only hope it comes soon. Second, and despite other reviewers having different experiences in this regard, I have been unhappy with the customer support. I submitted a simple question of how to import a MJ journal through the developer's website support portal several weeks ago. When I didn't receive a response for about 10 days, I re-submitted. Nothing. The absence of such support on the website's FAQ section (after all, they offer a step by step tutorial for importing from another journaling app and advertise the MJ importing capabilities as a feature) and upon direct contact of the developer through their own support channels is both disappointing and a bit unacceptable. It also speaks to a possible need for a community/support forum on the website where users can ask such questions and assist each other. Absent this, the developer needs to be much more responsive to formally submitted help requests from its users. Still, I highly recommend this application and look forward to its continued growth and development. They are a single feature away from making me a full time convert from their competitor and becoming a 5 star app.
JBX
JBX
Sep 10 2012
1.7.1
2.0
Sep 10 2012
2.0
Version: 1.7.1
Same issue as previous update. 1.7.1 app will not see previous data.
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
Aug 24 2012
1.7.1
5.0
Aug 24 2012
5.0
Version: 1.7.1
Finally updated this version and the iOS version in tadem after updating to Mountain Lion (yeah, it was finally time to upgrade to a new computer). Maybe it's because I held off during the initial big release, but I've had no problems with this version. Ran the latest version on the computer first, re-authed with Dropbox (as it prompts), made some entries. Ran the latest version on iOS, re-authed there as well as prompted and agreed to folder move. Waited as it updated the entries, made some edits on a few entries myself, then came back here. Everything shows up fine.
Jfm
Jfm
Aug 18 2012
1.7.1
4.0
Aug 18 2012
4.0
Version: 1.7.1
I had bought some journaling applications, but never started to use them for more than a few days. Since buying DayOne, I have been using it, since it is very pleasant and easy to use: what is amazing is that, in some way, the app itself convinces the user to keep a diary. It is simple to use, and perfect sync with iPhone and iPad. There is only one significant thing that is missing: the ability to export pictures. Nobody can ever be sure that an app will last forever (I have seen good apps discontinued), and the content of a journaling app should not be captive. While the export of text works nicely (and the explanations of the developer have convinced me that Markdown can be a good solution), the inability to export pictures is a problem: I would like to include pictures sometimes, I started to do it, but I gave up after the first few days, since there is no way to export them. Once this feature is added, I wll gladly give five stars to this app. In the meantime, I consider it as a very good and highly recommended app, but not yet perfect.
Lodestone
Lodestone
Aug 17 2012
1.7.1
5.0
Aug 17 2012
5.0
Version: 1.7.1
I'm loving Day One. I like: * Seamless sync via Dropbox or iCloud with iOS client * Markdown support * Beautiful interface * Reminders to add an entry * Responsive support
liquidhelsinki
liquidhelsinki
Aug 14 2012
1.7.1
0.0
Aug 14 2012
0.0
Version: 1.7.1
Where can I get the version compatible with Snow Leopard?
Crucial
Crucial
Aug 3 2012
1.7
0.0
Aug 3 2012
0.0
Version: 1.7
1.5.5 was great. Great in that it worked reliably. I am on Mountain Lion and just wasted an hour and a half after updating to 1.7. First the app wouldn't see my journal file, when I finally got it to open the file by changing its location in the sync preference everything was fine until I quit the app, then I had to go through the whole move the journal file in preferences thing again, and again and again every time I quit and re-launch. I used to have the journal file hidden away in a bunch of folders on Dropbox which worked fine, now the app insists on it being at the root level (apps should never take over the organisation of your folders unless you ask them to), but even at root it wont open the file on startup. Before the update I carefully copied 1.5.5 to my desktop, but now that is gone as the App store cleverly updates your apps rather than deleting and replacing so where do I get a copy of 1.5.5?
JBX
JBX
Aug 2 2012
1.7
2.0
Aug 2 2012
2.0
Version: 1.7
updated to 1.7 and it would not see my old entries! I had to reinstall 1.5.5 and export to txt then re install 1.7 and import. the app dose an auto back up but you can't import the back ups :/
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
Jun 7 2012
1.5.5
5.0
Jun 7 2012
5.0
Version: 1.5.5
I'm still using it. That's really the best endorsement anyone can give. Three other diary apps (and countless physical notebooks) all fell to the wayside within a month (or less) of my starting them, but come the 22nd I'll have been using this one for an entire year. The ease of entry and menu-pop reminder (that you can set your own schedule for) are the winning combination.
EndoLab
EndoLab
Mar 8 2012
1.5
0.0
Mar 8 2012
0.0
Version: 1.5
When I first saw this app on the MAS or Crap App $tore I thought it was a crap app like many over there. A few month later I discovered it on a friend's computer and tried it: I like the unobtrusive quick entry mode with short cut, Markdown support and its searching capability. I miss tags but I saw on your website that you are going to introduce it (as well as photo support) in a next release then I'm already tagging the entry a I'm making. I bought your app because I was able to try it before and only because of this. I've also discovered later in Brett Terpstra' blog a script who put automatically the @done from TaskPaper in Day One, how to log from the terminal and even (I don't remember where) to make entry from some other apps. I use Day One to remember what I've done during the day (scripts, mails, etc). Very practical for me. I wonder why you don't provide a trial and I understand that people don't want to buy your app without a demo. No demo no sale.
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
Mar 5 2012
4.0
Version: 1.5
It's been said before. No demo, no sale.