Back to NZBVortex page
NZBVortex free download for Mac

NZBVortex Reviews

3.4.3
11 February 2018

Lightweight Usenet NZB download client.

Paddy-nyc
11 March 2010

Most helpful

I've been using NZBDrop, but this seems more utilized for CPU usage...so far so good. Thanks mate.
Like (6)
Version 0.4.2

Read 161 NZBVortex User Reviews

Rate this app:

rick-eisner1
10 May 2019
Great app, it makes up/downloading a breeze.
Like
Version 3.4.3
Barry5p
15 October 2018
Great app. Will there be a Dark Mode version?
Like
Version 3.4.3
Ajjan501
23 May 2018
I have been using NZBVortex for the past few years and have not been disappointed. The developer is attentive to his product and notifies of updates in a timely manner.
Like
Version 3.4.3
nevarfa
16 May 2018
Hi, Fantastische app! Nooit problemen en een goede helpdesk. Een echte aanrader.
Like
Version 3.4.3
Tiffer
27 April 2018
Fantastic app and the only NZB client you need for your Mac. Loads of features and very lightweight on resources. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 3.4.3
gokoudes
23 April 2018
Fantastic NZB client app for Mac. Nothing else seems to come close to NZBVortex's feature set and simple usability. Easy NZB cleanup of junk files + cloud check for passworded or junk NZB's = really great client experience. No crashes, hanging, or bugs. Very lightweight and fast, recommended whole-heartedly for Mac users looking to process .nzb's / Usenet shares
Like
Version 3.4.3
mikemanx
17 March 2018
It´s just the best NZB loader on a mac!! Since 4 years running smooth on all my MacOS versions.
Like
Version 3.4.3
nttrick
20 January 2018
It was very good when it worked, but lately it is slow and I have to force quit the app. I have 2.11.10 and it tells me I'm up to date but I see here the version is 3.4.2
Like
Version 3.4.2
1 answer(s)
Nzbvortex
Nzbvortex
23 January 2018
Version 2.11 is a very old version of NZBVortex. Version 3 has a lot of new functionality and tweaks. It's not a free upgrade. So I can imagine that version 2 might not perform as expected. You might want to read the FAQ on our site: might be a configuration issue on your side.
Like
Rmoran
20 November 2017
Great support and timely updates along with Smart Downloading and Clean-up features make this a winner.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.1
henrylenton
20 February 2017
After a lifetime using windows. windows ten was a joke. So I bought my first Apple Mac and went looking for a program to download from usenet groups. After trying a few I found NZBVortex. This program is easy to install and connect to mu usenet groups. It is fast and handles any thing you could throw at it.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.10
Psifi
30 November 2016
The developer has confirmed that this app is compatible with Sierra.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.8
Diatesseron
12 November 2016
Since the demise of Unison, this is the next best thing - not sure why it took me so long to switch. It pretty much does everything you need it to do - with stealthy speed too. Great value as well.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.7
Barry5p
27 June 2016
Just keeps getting better and great value for only $10
Like (1)
Version 3.3.5
John-F
19 June 2016
Excellent product with continual updates. Never had any problems with it and would recommend I have been using it for years without any need to contact support.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.3
MattL3040
19 April 2016
Been using this software since 2009/2010 time frame. Used Unison briefly before but it is not as good for the way I use usenet. This app is one of the best investments I've made since I've owned Mac. Great app, can't go wrong.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.2
I have been using this app since may 2010 never used or looked back to other apps doing the same the developer is committed and very active making it every time better smarter and more useful it would get 5 stars if the search history would we configurable i made that request long time ago 10 items is for me not enough for others it might. Overall the best NZB client out for MAC OS X.
Like
Version 3.3.2
pologirl
17 April 2016
The bomb for NZB handling on OS X. Fast, smart, flexible. Just does it's job quickly and quietly in the background. Top-tier developer. Absolutely nothing "hit-or-miss" about this app, as someone mentioned in an older review. Thank you Vortex Apps — you have a fan for life!!
Like
Version 3.3.2
AndrewW7520
11 April 2016
best app ever
Like
Version 3.3.2
gokoudes
01 April 2016
Absolutely the best Mac nzb client. Fast, with smart features.
Like
Version 3.3.2
Noraa
26 March 2016
By far the best NZB downloader out there (on any platform). Easy to use, yet powerful. Fast downloads (will completely saturate you connection if you don't put a speed limit on - which I think is great) and extremely fast combining/decompressing far archives.
Like
Version 3.3.2
r-polding
18 January 2016
Easily the best NZB downloader on any platform. I've been using this for over a year now and it never fails. It is stable, very easy to use and has an excellent interface. Once you try this, you won't want to use any other downloader!
Like
Version 3.2.3
pologirl
05 January 2016
Absolutely top notch software by a top-notch developer. One of the best pieces of software I have ever had the pleasure of installing on my macs. Been using it for a few years and have never looked back. NZBV launches at login, sits quietly waiting for watch folder activity. Does it's job efficiently, cleans up like a champ and leaves everything organized for Hazel to come along and do some more detailed file sorting. Don't waste time with anything else for handling NZBs, this one is a smooth operator and will never let you down.
Like
Version 3.2.3
jason-roberts007
18 December 2015
I have come over from windows, and was using NewsBin Pro for many years without issues, but Microsoft Pissed me off with there prophetic windows 10 and all the crap that came with it, so i decided to move to Mac, now there isn't a NewsBin Pro for Mac, unless you use something like crossover, but i decided to look for something like NewsBin and come across NZBVortex, been using this for some time now, and in fact i prefaire to use NZBVortex, it does a lot more than NewsBin ever did, and thats a Big well known Program,
Like (1)
Version 3.2.3
vitorspencer
09 November 2015
Have been using this for more then 2 years. Not really hard to review it, since there is just no other competitor comparable, this is by far distance THE best NZB client for the Mac OS. Period. :)
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
Woodjoe
02 November 2015
I use NZBVortex since version 2 and I love it... I even stopped using SABNzbd on my Windows machine because this app is so easy to use... The UI looks nice, the cloud works as intended and the support via Twitter is very fast, they work very transparent and don't try to keep any secrets from you. You can even test new betas, posted in Twitter. It's worth every $. Thanks to the developers and keep on the good work, I wish there would be more App devs like you...
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
1 answer(s)
Ger-Teunis
Ger-Teunis
04 November 2015
Thanks for the kind review!
Like
randald
26 October 2015
Hit and miss.. works sometimes, others not... won't be purchasing...
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
2 answer(s)
Ger-Teunis
Ger-Teunis
26 October 2015
Could you send me an email at support@nzbvortex.com
Something clearly is wrong in your configuration as others have no issues.

Would be glad to look at what is causing your issues.
Like (2)
Ger-Teunis
Ger-Teunis
29 October 2015
Too bad you didn't contact me what "hit and miss" issues you had. We didn't have any reports of the client not working. Would have been great if you at least could explain what was going on so we can improve it for other clients.
Like (2)
Enkaytee
26 October 2015
Excellent piece of software. Thanks to the developers for producing such a high quality, feature rich and reliable NZB client. Highly recommended
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
Mikejc
21 October 2015
Had this product for a few years now. Works flawlessly, and the developer keeps making it better. 5 stars from me!
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
rdm-za
21 October 2015
Brilliant NZB client. A lot of functionality covered by a super user friendly interface! Excellent value for money. I would't hesitate to buy again.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
Sasasushi
21 October 2015
The most intuitive, fully featured and lightweight NZB client I've used in my years and I've tried many. The app's developer is also quick to respond to any technical issues and couldn't be more helpful.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
Mark-van-Eijken
28 September 2015
The Best USENET Client for Mac It,s a must have Grtz iP4L Team
Like (1)
Version 3.2.0
avasi
06 August 2015
One of the best purchases ever made. Moved over from Windows with Newsbin Pro and was looking for the equivalent or better on a Mac. After trying a few other free and paid clients I found it. To echo other reviewers, NZBVortex is a lightweight but powerful, easily configurable application. Unpacking/repairing/joining files is extremely fast and light on system resources, completely unobtrusive. It just works. You cannot beat the price for the features and performance this client offers. Hats off to the developers.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
anserhal
20 July 2015
The good: makes a taxing thing easy; makes a good thing even better. Everything you need in a tight intuitive package (though I can never figure out the RSS feeds as I do with torrents). But that's of no fault of the developer. It seems so well layed out that when I do know what I'm doing, It will be a matter of plug-and-play. As for the bad: In all of 3 months since I've used it, it has not once failed me. It warns me when a package is corrupt or password protected. It downloads faithfully whatever you want and whenever you decide or schedule. It is money well spent and time less wasted sifting through repositories and reading the reviews only to have a failed download. And the 10 day trial is more than enough to have you singing praises. Enjoy!
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
1 answer(s)
Ger-Teunis
Ger-Teunis
21 July 2015
Thanks for the new review, glad you like using the application!
Like
pkh1961
08 July 2015
One of the best apps I ever bought for my Mac. Works perfectly. I used some other NZB apps but NZBVortex is the best by far.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
Fatboy71
06 June 2015
I've used NZB Vortex for around 2 years now, this was when I first started using NZB's and also moved over to Mac. I used to use another NZB client which was problematic and this did initially put me off downloading NZB's, but this was until someone suggested NZB Vortex on a forum I'm a member on. So I downloaded a trial version of NZB Vortex and since then, I've had no more issues with the hundreds of NZB's I've downloaded. If you are wanting a rock solid, reliable, and also light on system resources, then NZB Vortex does all of this and then some, also at the $10 (£6.55) asking price it's extremely cheap for all of this too. The developer is extremely helpful and quick to reply on the couple of occasions I needed to email them to ask about some connection settings/questions when I first started using NZB Vortex.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
Lovemymacs
23 May 2015
This is a PDA app. Pretty "Darn" Amazing. It just works. It is solid, doesn't use unnecessary resources, and gets the job done. So what more should I expect? I tried pretty much every other NZB download application and this one immediately kicked the others' butts. And the developer is maximum cool. He is awesome!!!! So that's it. Totally pleased. Occasionally I have the feeling that a repair is taking a really long time - occasionally. And maybe something could be improved there but I'm not sure. I had a 30 GB file recently that took around 24 hours for a repair. Not sure why. I moved it over to MacPar Deluxe and ran the same process just to see - I think it took around four hours. So something can occasionally get screwy with a really huge file given all the other things I do on my computer. But still this is the best I've found and when I get such a large file I do often transfer the process over to the other application and let this one work on other files. Overall - quite happy and I'm not sure I'm even right about the issue that sometimes seems not to be quite right.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
adrianwilliams
30 April 2015
One of the best purchases I've made. I had been using news-rover on a PC but moving over to NZBVortex on my mac made downloading, repairing, and filing so much easier. It's also saved me an annual subscription so I'm very pleased with the software and set-up I've now got.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
Noraa
09 April 2015
By far the best NZB client out there for OS X. I miss some of the features that Unison had (sorta still has...), in that you could actually search for and view the various newsgroups, post topics, upload files, etc - but for what NZBVortex does it is superb. Downloads consistently saturate my bandwidth (sometimes need to enable throttling just so I can do other things on the internet while downloading something), unraring and fixing rar files via par2 files is seamless and fast, the built-in search function for the various nzb aggregators out there is extremely effective, built-in cleanup options (automatically delete nzb files after adding, deleting "sample videos" etc.) works extremely well, etc. Overall the program does what it does extremely well, while it lacks features of a full blown usenet reader, for straight up downloading of nzb files it simply can't be beat.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
Spudboy
06 April 2015
Is the MAS version no longer being updated? I'm still using version 3.0.3
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
2 answer(s)
Ger-Teunis
Ger-Teunis
06 April 2015
It sure is being updated. Sadly Apple is giving us a hard time lately.
We've submitted all 3.1.x releases to Apple.

Their review times are taking a long time and we needed to make a couple of changes and where rejected because of this.

Please hang in there.
Like
Spudboy
Spudboy
06 April 2015
I kinda figured that. 3.0.3 works fine so I really don't know what I'm missing not running 3.1.2
Like (1)
kingjj
05 April 2015
NZBVortex is an extremely user-friendly binary leecher, in that it downloads and joins all segments, determines the need for recovery files, downloads and runs the recovery files (if needed), and cleans up everything but the desired files(s) all n a single click. Nothing one can't do for free, but the streamlining of the whole process makes it worth the $10. However, there are two caveats. Number one: It deems a good number of NZBs as "invalid," refuses to run them, and suggests to re-download. Doing so never seems to alter their validity, although Unison will run the same NZB and all the segments download and join without a problem. The really odd thing is, this problem never occurred with the free, unregistered version of NZBVortex, only after I paid. In fact, it ran a particular NZB in unregistered mode, then refused to run the same NZB after I paid. It almost makes me recommend not paying (although you're speed throttled in unregistered mode, which nixes that idea) The second caveat is a bit more philosophical. NZBVortex is a leecher, period. Meaning, if everyone solely used it, there would be nothing on the usenet to leech. The makers profit from the kindness of others and give nothing in return. So, there was a tinge of guilt handing over ten dollars, justified only by the fact that I use NZBVortex only for convenience, and regularly use other programs to contribute content that it leeches off. Still, I would have gladly paid double the price if their program compressed, segmented, created recovery files, and UPLOADED with the same ease in which it downloads. They would only be adding value to their product, and may want to consider it in the future.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
1 answer(s)
Ger-Teunis
Ger-Teunis
05 April 2015
Please contact us about the bad downloads.

First caveat: this should not happen. Without proper feedback and sample NZBs we can't make it better for you. We'd personally like users to mail us directly to get support instead of waiting for weeks or even waiting for new releases and then seeking support via reviews. We are here for you to make the app better.

Second caveat is something we choose for, in the past it was illegal to share (upload) content in our country. We followed NZBget, sabnzbd and newznab in that we only offer download. 99% of the users are only downloaders so we invested in downloading as it's out major usenet users.
Like
robdevenish
05 April 2015
I purchased version 2 of this excellent piece of software & upgraded to version 3 through Mac App store. The software is brilliant, the best out there. Where it falls down however is the developer's lack of support for the App store version. I am stuck at version 3.0.3 with no update in sight yet people who purchased directly can download 3.1.2 which, if I remember correctly, is three updates ahead of mine. I cannot download it & activate directly as I have no serial number & feel as if I'm being treated as a second class citizen. I think the developer should send me a complimentary serial number to compensate for this inconvenience or improve his support for the Mac App store. I've previously contacted him directly about this same issue.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
1 answer(s)
Ger-Teunis
Ger-Teunis
05 April 2015
Thanks for the feedback. I cannot stress this enough.

It is not our fault the updates are slow in the Mac App Store. We submit the updates direcly to apple. We 100% support and want the updates to appear in the Mac App Store.

Apple is slowing down the update for weeks not, their review is very very slow and make our lives hard with two rejections already.

Please keep in there and remember it is not us who is delaying the release.

Further more, we do not control who bought the app, we cannot review who bought the app and who didn't. Because of this we can't offer a license tranfer.
Like
gokoudes
03 April 2015
Cannot beat NZBVortex's speed, ease of access to nice features, powerhouse and lightweight overall client. Have been using since v2, worth every penny for v3. Will definitely upgrade to v4 whenever that comes out.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1
Fra
14 March 2015
What are those stupid links "mudesktop:" in place of regular download links in the home page ? I think i'll change of site for my sofware updates...
Like
Version 3.1.1
Jamerican
31 January 2015
NZB V 3.03 will not start with Mac OS X 10.10.2. Something has been broken. Has anyone got a fix for this?
Like
Version 3.0.3
5 answer(s)
Ger-Teunis
Ger-Teunis
02 February 2015
There are no known issues on 10.10.2 - no other users have reported issues. I think you are correlating your OS X update with a non related issue.

Please don't use reviews to report problems. Send us an email so we can have a normal support back and forth.
Like
Ryde
Ryde
02 February 2015
I confirm that I am not having any problems with NZBVortex 3.0.3 on OS X 10.10.2.
Like
Jamerican
Jamerican
02 February 2015
I have to walk back my comment that NZBVortex is broken. It is now working perfectly after a full install of OS X 10.10.2. Sorry for the misunderstanding.
Like (1)
Ger-Teunis
Ger-Teunis
02 February 2015
No worries Jamerican. Don't hesitate to contact us directly if you want to get proper support. We don't scan Mac Update every day for comments but we respond to email and support tickets rather quickly.

Thanks for using NZBVortex, hope you enjoy using it.
Like (1)
Flavum
Flavum
02 March 2015
You're not allowed to say anything negative in the comments section. Only praise and high-fives are permitted.
Like (2)
Jazzyguy
04 January 2015
Excellent Software,I have used it since it began and I love it.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
2 answer(s)
WetNet
WetNet
10 January 2015
What wrong with you?! A triple post on Little Snitch and now a double here? *facepalm*
Like (1)
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
02 March 2015
Karma whore?
Like
Jazzyguy
04 January 2015
Excellent Software,I have used it since it began and I love it.
Like
Version 3.0.3
Jamie-Harding
01 January 2015
Fantastic peace of Software, So Elegant easy to use, I have Purchased version 2 and 2 copies of Version 3. One thing I wish there was a windows Version so I could use it on my win7 box at home. Fantastic NZB client the best out there.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
vitorspencer
19 December 2014
No doubt, THE best NZB client for Mac. All others run far behind on features, simplicity and elegance. I had version 2 (already incredibly spectacular) and purchased version 3 simply because it is that worth it. I'd recommend it to anyone, and the price: its a bargain! Hope they continue the good work on this gem.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Mextex
18 December 2014
I hoped for a proxy feature in version 3. However, Version 2 was all I ever wanted from a NZB client (except missing proxy settings). Will ugrade anyway to support further development.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
grantster5405
26 November 2014
By far, the best NZB program I have ever used. The design is so elegant and simple (very mac-like), yet gives more control over your downloads as compared to other seemingly more complex programs. Well worth the money, especially when other programs which suck are charging $29.95 for their outdated software...
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1