Back to Paintbrush page
Paintbrush free download for Mac

Paintbrush Reviews2.6

09 April 2021

Cocoa-based paint program similar to Microsoft Paint and MacPaint.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
sammythetrainfan
sammythetrainfan
Apr 9 2021
2.6
5.0
Apr 9 2021
5.0
Version: 2.6
Being a Mac user and a person with artistic talents, I've been searching for an app that is like Microsoft Paint. When I came across Paintbrush for Mac, I'm enjoying creating art on this app. I recommend this for beginner digital artists! :)
shai-axelrud
shai-axelrud
Dec 18 2020
2.5
1.0
Dec 18 2020
1.0
Version: 2.5
Under BigSur paintBrush crashes when you use the Text Tool :( and the author ran away... no answers, nothing!
mosesandjoshua64
mosesandjoshua64
Nov 14 2020
2.5
0.0
Nov 14 2020
0.0
Version: 2.5
Paintbrush crashes on Mac os big sur when downloading text to main canvas.
grannyels1
grannyels1
May 26 2020
2.5
1.0
May 26 2020
1.0
Version: 2.5
It won't close.
damobart
damobart
May 9 2020
2.5
1.0
May 9 2020
1.0
Version: 2.5
This app is terrible. There is literally no way of formatting your own text. There is not even a possible way of editing your own text boxes without deleting the whole thing and rewriting it. You also can't insert your own images. This is definitely not a substitute for MS Paint and the developers missed the mark by a long way. By the looks of it, the only thing that this is useful for is drawing your own images which is not what I needed this app for.
s3000m
s3000m
Mar 13 2020
2.5
5.0
Mar 13 2020
5.0
Version: 2.5
Love it! I converted from PC to Mac and definitely needed an app like paint that I had on my PC. I was surprised that Mac, with all its "tools" of creativity that they don't have a PC paint equivalent. I searched the Web and thank goodness, I found this little gem. It is exactly what I needed. Something simple without a learning curve to quickly get the job done. Funny this app isn't on the apple store. I want to thank the developer who took the time to develop this app and make life easier. Please keep updating it with the ever constantly changing Mac operating systems.
Beamy
Beamy
May 1 2019
2.2.1
0.0
May 1 2019
0.0
Version: 2.2.1
Paintbrush 2.3 is available...
lesliekim
lesliekim
Feb 2 2018
2.2.1
5.0
Feb 2 2018
5.0
Version: 2.2.1
gooooooood!
Y-Guy
Y-Guy
Dec 28 2017
2.2
5.0
Dec 28 2017
5.0
Version: 2.2
Great upgrade to an already good program. It's one of the first apps I put on any time I update or change my Mac. It is not a high end program but for quick edits to basic files it's hard to beat, and the price really makes it unbeatable. Big kudos to the developer for keeping the program updated and going all these years.
marleybobby
marleybobby
Apr 22 2016
2.1.2
5.0
Apr 22 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.2
Nice thing for doodling. Pretty simple. If you have kids Paintbrush is the thing you need. Perfect time killer. Try and you'll like it. Have fun.
kruger89
kruger89
Sep 18 2015
2.1.1
0.0
Sep 18 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Having grown up on MS Paint, it's understandable that once I got a Mac, I looked for a software that is comparable in both features and capability. This software gets it right. They capture the primary features that were essential to Paint, and make the software very simple for the user. Most importantly, it is far superior to all other free photo editing software for Mac. Give it a try!
GoldonyJohn
GoldonyJohn
Jun 12 2015
2.1.1
4.0
Jun 12 2015
4.0
Version: 2.1.1
It is a nice app but a little simple. I could not do much with paintbrush. If you are an designer like me, I recommend this http://mybrushes-app.com/MyBrushes-MAC.html
Guest
Guest
Jun 23 2012
2.1.1
0.0
Jun 23 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
sufferin' succotash, the guy below took the source code and, behold, released a fork that is exactly the same as paintbrush. http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/43532/sketchpad
Yoshinatsu
Yoshinatsu
Jul 24 2010
2.0.1
5.0
Jul 24 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
It's the best MS Paint clone for Mac OS X EVER! Now I can finally make Reddit "fffffffuuuuuuuuuuuu" comics on my Mac!!
Fromage-Head
Fromage-Head
Jan 29 2009
2.0
0.0
Jan 29 2009
0.0
Version: 2.0
basic layers support would be perfect. I know there is seashore but it doesn't manage curves well (I'm doing 1 pixel line-drawings), and graphic converter is nice but still doesn't manage layers. That said it's a well crafted app. I love the bomb and the extensible toolbar (ie:shapes tools) is a clever idea. Oh and patterns à la macpaint would be cool too :).
Binarymix
Binarymix
Jan 22 2009
2.0
0.0
Jan 22 2009
0.0
Version: 2.0
This new version is perfect! A complete paintbrush clone that works very well. I especially like the new "place" text selection feature. Not for pros obviously, but great for kids or just some doodles.
Guest
Guest
Aug 5 2008
1.1
0.0
Aug 5 2008
0.0
Version: 1.1
Serious Drawback Although it saves PNG images, it doesn't save them transparent.
Freebsd
Freebsd
Jan 8 2008
1.1
5.0
Jan 8 2008
5.0
Version: 1.1
I think it takes a sense of humor to realize the value in this basic, wonderful drawing program. Does no more or less than it should!
Mex4eric
Mex4eric
Aug 16 2007
1.0
0.0
Aug 16 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0
Crashed badly! Had to reboot.
Musubana
Musubana
Jul 21 2007
0.8
3.0
Jul 21 2007
3.0
Version: 0.8
A decent little app. Doesn't do much; for more advanced drawing, people should download Seashore. However, if you just want to make a quick sketch, it's perfect.
Threedee912
Threedee912
Jun 6 2007
0.6
4.0
Jun 6 2007
4.0
Version: 0.6
Simple and easy to use program. Free, and saves in multiple formats. Similar to Paint on Windows.
Musubana
Musubana
May 29 2007
0.5
3.0
May 29 2007
3.0
Version: 0.5
A paint program with no useable lasso tool? No way. Better download SeaShore.