Back to Paintbrush page
Paintbrush free download for Mac

Paintbrush Reviews2.5

15 September 2019

Cocoa-based paint program similar to Microsoft Paint and MacPaint.

5
Yoshinatsu
24 July 2010
Version: 2.0.1

Most helpful

It's the best MS Paint clone for Mac OS X EVER! Now I can finally make Reddit "fffffffuuuuuuuuuuuu" comics on my Mac!!
(6)

How would you rate Paintbrush app?

Read 19 Paintbrush User Reviews

1
grannyels1
26 May 2020
Version: 2.5
It won't close.
(0)
1
damobart
09 May 2020
Version: 2.5
This app is terrible. There is literally no way of formatting your own text. There is not even a possible way of editing your own text boxes without deleting the whole thing and rewriting it. You also can't insert your own images. This is definitely not a substitute for MS Paint and the developers missed the mark by a long way. By the looks of it, the only thing that this is useful for is drawing your own images which is not what I needed this app for.
(0)
5
s3000m
13 March 2020
Version: 2.5
Love it! I converted from PC to Mac and definitely needed an app like paint that I had on my PC. I was surprised that Mac, with all its "tools" of creativity that they don't have a PC paint equivalent. I searched the Web and thank goodness, I found this little gem. It is exactly what I needed. Something simple without a learning curve to quickly get the job done. Funny this app isn't on the apple store. I want to thank the developer who took the time to develop this app and make life easier. Please keep updating it with the ever constantly changing Mac operating systems.
(0)
Beamy
01 May 2019
Version: 2.2.1
Paintbrush 2.3 is available...
(0)
5
lesliekim
02 February 2018
Version: 2.2.1
gooooooood!
(0)
5
Y-Guy
28 December 2017
Version: 2.2
Great upgrade to an already good program. It's one of the first apps I put on any time I update or change my Mac. It is not a high end program but for quick edits to basic files it's hard to beat, and the price really makes it unbeatable. Big kudos to the developer for keeping the program updated and going all these years.
(0)
5
marleybobby
22 April 2016
Version: 2.1.2
Nice thing for doodling. Pretty simple. If you have kids Paintbrush is the thing you need. Perfect time killer. Try and you'll like it. Have fun.
(3)
kruger89
18 September 2015
Version: 2.1.1
Having grown up on MS Paint, it's understandable that once I got a Mac, I looked for a software that is comparable in both features and capability. This software gets it right. They capture the primary features that were essential to Paint, and make the software very simple for the user. Most importantly, it is far superior to all other free photo editing software for Mac. Give it a try!
(1)
4
GoldonyJohn
12 June 2015
Version: 2.1.1
It is a nice app but a little simple. I could not do much with paintbrush. If you are an designer like me, I recommend this http://mybrushes-app.com/MyBrushes-MAC.html
(0)
gatovadio
23 June 2012
Version: 2.1.1
sufferin' succotash, the guy below took the source code and, behold, released a fork that is exactly the same as paintbrush. http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/43532/sketchpad
(0)
5
Yoshinatsu
24 July 2010
Version: 2.0.1
It's the best MS Paint clone for Mac OS X EVER! Now I can finally make Reddit "fffffffuuuuuuuuuuuu" comics on my Mac!!
(6)
MAchintrucbidule459
29 January 2009
Version: 2.0
basic layers support would be perfect. I know there is seashore but it doesn't manage curves well (I'm doing 1 pixel line-drawings), and graphic converter is nice but still doesn't manage layers. That said it's a well crafted app. I love the bomb and the extensible toolbar (ie:shapes tools) is a clever idea. Oh and patterns à la macpaint would be cool too :).
(2)
Show comment (1)
Binarymix
22 January 2009
Version: 2.0
This new version is perfect! A complete paintbrush clone that works very well. I especially like the new "place" text selection feature. Not for pros obviously, but great for kids or just some doodles.
(2)
Roro01
05 August 2008
Version: 1.1
Serious Drawback Although it saves PNG images, it doesn't save them transparent.
(2)
Show comment (1)
5
Freebsd
08 January 2008
Version: 1.1
I think it takes a sense of humor to realize the value in this basic, wonderful drawing program. Does no more or less than it should!
(3)
Mex4eric
16 August 2007
Version: 1.0
Crashed badly! Had to reboot.
(1)
3
Musubana
21 July 2007
Version: 0.8
A decent little app. Doesn't do much; for more advanced drawing, people should download Seashore. However, if you just want to make a quick sketch, it's perfect.
(1)
4
Threedee912
06 June 2007
Version: 0.6
Simple and easy to use program. Free, and saves in multiple formats. Similar to Paint on Windows.
(1)
2
Musubana
29 May 2007
Version: 0.5
A paint program with no useable lasso tool? No way. Better download SeaShore.
(1)
Show comments (4)