Back to Paintbrush page
Paintbrush free download for Mac

Paintbrush Reviews

2.5
15 September 2019

Cocoa-based paint program similar to Microsoft Paint and MacPaint.

Yoshinatsu
24 July 2010

Most helpful

It's the best MS Paint clone for Mac OS X EVER! Now I can finally make Reddit "fffffffuuuuuuuuuuuu" comics on my Mac!!
Like (6)
Version 2.0.1

Read 16 Paintbrush User Reviews

Rate this app:

Beamy
01 May 2019
Paintbrush 2.3 is available...
Like
Version 2.2.1
lesliekim
02 February 2018
gooooooood!
Like
Version 2.2.1
Y-Guy
28 December 2017
Great upgrade to an already good program. It's one of the first apps I put on any time I update or change my Mac. It is not a high end program but for quick edits to basic files it's hard to beat, and the price really makes it unbeatable. Big kudos to the developer for keeping the program updated and going all these years.
Like
Version 2.2
marleybobby
22 April 2016
Nice thing for doodling. Pretty simple. If you have kids Paintbrush is the thing you need. Perfect time killer. Try and you'll like it. Have fun.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.2
kruger89
18 September 2015
Having grown up on MS Paint, it's understandable that once I got a Mac, I looked for a software that is comparable in both features and capability. This software gets it right. They capture the primary features that were essential to Paint, and make the software very simple for the user. Most importantly, it is far superior to all other free photo editing software for Mac. Give it a try!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
GoldonyJohn
12 June 2015
It is a nice app but a little simple. I could not do much with paintbrush. If you are an designer like me, I recommend this http://mybrushes-app.com/MyBrushes-MAC.html
Like
Version 2.1.1
gatovadio
23 June 2012
sufferin' succotash, the guy below took the source code and, behold, released a fork that is exactly the same as paintbrush. http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/43532/sketchpad
Like
Version 2.1.1
Yoshinatsu
24 July 2010
It's the best MS Paint clone for Mac OS X EVER! Now I can finally make Reddit "fffffffuuuuuuuuuuuu" comics on my Mac!!
Like (6)
Version 2.0.1
MAchintrucbidule459
29 January 2009
basic layers support would be perfect. I know there is seashore but it doesn't manage curves well (I'm doing 1 pixel line-drawings), and graphic converter is nice but still doesn't manage layers. That said it's a well crafted app. I love the bomb and the extensible toolbar (ie:shapes tools) is a clever idea. Oh and patterns à la macpaint would be cool too :).
Like (2)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Rockin'-Kat
Rockin'-Kat
22 May 2012
I second the patterns like MacPaint had request. Otherwise, this is a very nice little application.
Like (1)
Binarymix
22 January 2009
This new version is perfect! A complete paintbrush clone that works very well. I especially like the new "place" text selection feature. Not for pros obviously, but great for kids or just some doodles.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Roro01
05 August 2008
Serious Drawback Although it saves PNG images, it doesn't save them transparent.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Yoshinatsu
Yoshinatsu
24 July 2010
Hmm... Yeah that is true. Transparent .PNG's and layers would be great.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Freebsd
08 January 2008
I think it takes a sense of humor to realize the value in this basic, wonderful drawing program. Does no more or less than it should!
Like (3)
Version 1.1
Mex4eric
16 August 2007
Crashed badly! Had to reboot.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Musubana
21 July 2007
A decent little app. Doesn't do much; for more advanced drawing, people should download Seashore. However, if you just want to make a quick sketch, it's perfect.
Like (1)
Version 0.8
Threedee912
06 June 2007
Simple and easy to use program. Free, and saves in multiple formats. Similar to Paint on Windows.
Like (1)
Version 0.6
Musubana
29 May 2007
A paint program with no useable lasso tool? No way. Better download SeaShore.
Like (1)
Version 0.5
4 answer(s)
Maverick
Maverick
05 June 2007
it clearly says that it still is under development....patience is a virtue....thank you...
Like (2)
Version 0.6
Intellect-Inside
Intellect-Inside
19 July 2007
Hey... It's a simple paint app, not a photo editor. And it's not even version 1.0 yet. And it's free. Give the developer a break.
Like (2)
Version 0.8
Musubana
Musubana
21 July 2007
This program has improved a lot (incl. a lasso tool!), so I will modify my original harsh review a bit. However, I do think that the app was launched to the public too early.
Like (1)
Version 0.8
Strider72
Strider72
01 January 2008
It's pretty standard that any time you see a pre-1.0 version, it's a pre-release version -- essentially a beta version. Wait for version 1.0 before judging it on completeness of features. It _was_ released to the public early, and knowingly so, in order to get feedback on the parts that are done.
Like (1)
Version 1.1