Back to smcFanControl page
smcFanControl free download for Mac

smcFanControl Reviews2.6

17 October 2016

Control Intel Mac fans to make them run cooler.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
henryw07
henryw07
Oct 16 2021
2.6
5.0
Oct 16 2021
5.0
Version: 2.6
Works great on my M1 13" Macbook Pro. I use this app to force the fans to turn on when the laptop gets warm. Without it, the OS lets the laptop get very warm and doesn't kick on the fans.
mp969696
mp969696
Sep 22 2021
2.6
1.0
Sep 22 2021
1.0
Version: 2.6
This was the first fan control app I ran on my 2009 imacs. I only found it useful for monitoring the temperature, as it seemed to have many glitches when actually trying to control fan speed. Usually it did not work at all.
dickhyoung
dickhyoung
May 30 2021
2.6
0.0
May 30 2021
0.0
Version: 2.6
I really liked this app on my 2013 and 2017 MacBook Airs, but it's not working at all on my 2020 MacBook Air M1.
HarperHunt
HarperHunt
May 12 2021
2.6
5.0
May 12 2021
5.0
Version: 2.6
I love this app. Bypassed me from many troubles
avrlara
avrlara
Feb 8 2021
2.6
5.0
Feb 8 2021
5.0
Version: 2.6
Works great. Worked great on my Macbook early-2008, worked great with all OSX updates until my computer could not be updated anymore so I bought a mid-2015, updated to Big Sut and SMC Fan Control keeps working great.
joseluislorenzoflores1
joseluislorenzoflores1
Feb 3 2021
2.6
3.0
Feb 3 2021
3.0
Version: 2.6
It is a good application, with an easy and intuitive interface to use, but it has several flaws. First: The program when I leave the mac to sleep or turn it off stops working and I have to manually reopen it. Second: I have seen that the program does not show you the real speed of your fans, it limits the speed but other programs do not like Macs Fan Control. That is all.
gaiamie
gaiamie
Aug 24 2020
2.6
5.0
Aug 24 2020
5.0
Version: 2.6
excellent, simply shows rpms and system temp in menu bar, highly recommended.
moltar222
moltar222
Aug 23 2020
2.6
5.0
Aug 23 2020
5.0
Version: 2.6
Well, I put a new HDD in a 2011 iMac, then I realized the lack of a sensor/signal from the drive made the fans blast on max constantly. So, this software fixed it, for free! And yea, it asks for the user password constantly. But, I am thinking once it auto launches at bootup, I should not really have to touch it again.
john-giallanza
john-giallanza
May 10 2020
2.6
5.0
May 10 2020
5.0
Version: 2.6
I used this ten years ago and it worked great. I used it today in 2020 and it's still a great app. Thanks!!
narasimhamoorthyladdagiri
May 6 2020
5.0
Version: 2.6
No compromise in giving 5 rate, Where as it doesn't work as expected in Catalina. Can you kindly provide the any script to run or any alternative for this issue to fix. Could help a lot. Tx
enersoldnah
enersoldnah
May 4 2020
2.6
5.0
May 4 2020
5.0
Version: 2.6
Great app for Imac stays cool
gengaoxiang
gengaoxiang
Mar 27 2020
2.6
1.0
Mar 27 2020
1.0
Version: 2.6
This stupid software keeps asking me to type in my password all the time! Really annoying!
kozmeljozbej
kozmeljozbej
Feb 4 2020
2.6
5.0
Feb 4 2020
5.0
Version: 2.6
its year 2020 and it still works great on my iMac. Cools it down pretty fast.
colley
colley
Jan 30 2020
2.6
5.0
Jan 30 2020
5.0
Version: 2.6
Saved my overheating MacBook Air - Thanks!
ibouracine
ibouracine
Jan 12 2020
2.6
0.0
Jan 12 2020
0.0
Version: 2.6
Hello
paulc1061
paulc1061
Dec 18 2019
2.6
5.0
Dec 18 2019
5.0
Version: 2.6
Simply brilliant ! Brought a new life to a VERY expensive, top-of-the-line mid-2012 MacBook Pro which should had been part of a clearly articulated recall for flawed and faulty motherboard, using a cheap, underpowered PCI chip. I still encounter ocassional booting issues, but the laptop is back in action.
diegozagalia
diegozagalia
Nov 22 2019
2.6
1.0
Nov 22 2019
1.0
Version: 2.6
I installed this current version on my old Macbook Pro 2009 El Capitan and I just can't change the cooler temperature at all, and it only stays at 4000rpm. Lucky I have a saved old version that I was able to reinstall. I have been using this program for a few good years and I hope you will correct this problem.
andpavan88
andpavan88
Oct 29 2019
2.6
0.0
Oct 29 2019
0.0
Version: 2.6
what happens when we quit the app? will our Mac go back to the normal software which control the fan or this is the only software which control our fans. what if I quit thus app and use my Mac.is thus gonna effeec.
zmg2059
zmg2059
Sep 15 2019
2.6
5.0
Sep 15 2019
5.0
Version: 2.6
Worked well on my 2015 Macbook Pro. My computer started getting really hot lately due to a number of programs I am running for a school project. I cleaned the fans but nothing worked to keep the temp down. I can control each fan separately and there is an ability to change the modes for higher fan speed for when I am running on batter, on log-in and when charging. Simple and well done.
raelcohen
raelcohen
Apr 4 2019
2.6
2.0
Apr 4 2019
2.0
Version: 2.6
Didn't work on my Mac - had to find a substitute
Petersphilo
Petersphilo
Aug 29 2018
2.6
5.0
Aug 29 2018
5.0
Version: 2.6
I love this application, but, very very sadly, it no longer works on the 2018 MacBookPro...
To the Developer, i'm sure some of us faithful users would be willing to pay for an update capable of working on the 2018+ Macs...
ackerrj
ackerrj
Jul 17 2018
2.6
5.0
Jul 17 2018
5.0
Version: 2.6
Great app. Solved my IMac 27 cooling problems.
cducharme
cducharme
Jun 17 2018
2.6
0.0
Jun 17 2018
0.0
Version: 2.6
At login I must enter my user code 2 times: very annoying. And the app does not control the minimum speed: only show the actual speed. I am in 2018!!!. I have an iMac, 3 years old, OSX 10.13.5
Xpuserpjc
Xpuserpjc
Mar 31 2018
2.6
4.5
Mar 31 2018
4.5
Version: 2.6
smcFanControl works well for me. Today, I have a colleague in Asia where it is hot. She has it installed and chose 'Higher RPM'. It was a bit unstable... fan runs, then not, etc. Here, I could not hear the fan. (Haven't run the app in a long, long time.) I hear no difference fan is quiet. FAQ says to choose Info & Support > Reset, then restart. Did so and relaunched smcFanControl. Now works great. I believe I have had a couple macOS upgrades since I last worked with it. Bottom Line? It works great for what we need.
jaywerner
jaywerner
Feb 22 2018
2.6
5.0
Feb 22 2018
5.0
Version: 2.6
Had to fix video card on my mid 2011 iMac and when I put back together the fans would go full blast. This solved the problem. Not sure why my iMac was doing this. Probably a sensor got messed up. I took it back apart and checked everything.
uzapucax
uzapucax
Oct 28 2017
2.6
2.5
Oct 28 2017
2.5
Version: 2.6
I am a big fan of this App. It is very easy to set various fan speed presets compared to other apps.. However I cannot control my HDD fan anymore. I remove the thermal sensor since I upgraded to an SSD in my iMac and now is running full speed all the time. I thought the problem was the missing thermal sensor but I was able to solve it with Mac Fan Control App which does the jobs. I would like very much if SMC will solve this issue since is very easy to use.
maruticeo
maruticeo
Sep 25 2017
2.6
0.0
Sep 25 2017
0.0
Version: 2.6
My SMC always asking for password after every login. after every screen lock.. How to clear that.
nickeltabs
nickeltabs
Sep 25 2017
2.6
5.0
Sep 25 2017
5.0
Version: 2.6
Use the V 1.4.8.1 on My imac 2017 i5-7600K, 3.8 GHz, with Turbo Boost up to 4.2 GHz. Use it on the boot camp windows 10 and it’s the best out there.
MaximMel
MaximMel
Aug 26 2017
2.6
4.5
Aug 26 2017
4.5
Version: 2.6
Simple and effective. So some reason after installing new OS X it didn't work (Couldn't increase rpm) but after a while it started working.
gaya71
gaya71
Aug 23 2017
2.6
4.5
Aug 23 2017
4.5
Version: 2.6
음.....좋다
johngibson-1
johngibson-1
Jul 28 2017
2.6
2.0
Jul 28 2017
2.0
Version: 2.6
Sorry, not the best app. It did not work for me at all. I tried to increase the rpm, it said that it increased, but it did not work at all, I do like the multi-fan that you can select. With the fan controlling software that I use now, you can check the temperature for every part of the laptop. CPU's , GPU's , and other different sensors. You can find the software that I use, its called "Macs Fan Control.
qualitytechnos
qualitytechnos
Jun 7 2017
2.6
4.0
Jun 7 2017
4.0
Version: 2.6
Apps yang menarik dan berguna sekali.
Greets and Thanks from Indonesia.



http://www.jetsindo.com
violin-vanderlei
violin-vanderlei
Apr 10 2017
2.6
5.0
Apr 10 2017
5.0
Version: 2.6
Muito bom, Parabéns, recomendadíssimo
iamacook1
iamacook1
Dec 18 2016
2.6
5.0
Dec 18 2016
5.0
Version: 2.6
The best Fan Control program by far !! It Rocks !!
Gawan78
Gawan78
Nov 2 2016
2.6
5.0
Nov 2 2016
5.0
Version: 2.6
nice tool
puceludo
puceludo
Aug 12 2016
2.5.2
5.0
Aug 12 2016
5.0
Version: 2.5.2
This worked! Now I can enjoy my iMac without that terrible noise
mookee
mookee
Jul 16 2016
2.5.2
0.0
Jul 16 2016
0.0
Version: 2.5.2
am sure its right that fancontrol doesnt undergo the minimum fan speed of your mac, BUT sometimes i wonder if your mac goes hot and you have a low fan speed value set in fancontroll, that this value may be slower than it would be without fancontrol...zb: mac is on 80degree and you are just set on default 2500 rotations - but without smc your mac would probably go higher than 2500 that would be a problem and i would love to be clear on that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! how does it work on those scenarios? on the other hand also think that smc should be able to be automaticaly set by temperature, not only by fanspeed...please inculude that
kadagure5
kadagure5
May 22 2016
2.5.2
4.5
May 22 2016
4.5
Version: 2.5.2
sms fan control set up
ghostbiker69
ghostbiker69
May 4 2016
2.5.2
4.0
May 4 2016
4.0
Version: 2.5.2
Does what it needs to do.
MightyBoo
MightyBoo
Nov 1 2015
2.5.2
4.0
Nov 1 2015
4.0
Version: 2.5.2
Works with 10.11. But does not have the ability to have the FAN speed change, based on the user defined temperature threshold. There is only option to change the fan speed MANUALLY based on the provided temperature readings.

This app is due for an update with such a feature.
kreurts
kreurts
Jun 12 2015
2.5.2
0.0
Jun 12 2015
0.0
Version: 2.5.2
Hi, I have a little problem and perhaps someone could help me out. I installed smcFanControl on my iMac (Yosemite) and it appeared in the right-hand top menu bar with a temperature and a rpm indication. When I tried to change the minimum rpm via settings, it demanded a password for administrator rights, at which stage I decided to abort the action. So I clicked cancel whereafter the window disappeared, but not only that, the icon in the right-hand top menu bar also disappeared. Now I can't find smcFanControl anywhere on the iMac. How do I restore this program, or at least where can I find it?
xstek99
xstek99
Jun 9 2015
2.5.2
5.0
Jun 9 2015
5.0
Version: 2.5.2
This app is Fantastic! I have a May 2011 iMac with the Raydeon graphics card that has run 24-7 since purchase, as my key machine. It serves as the brains of my desktop full of non-Apple hardware and devices... I finally got tire of all the intermittent video collapses, the blue/white vertical bar screen of death, and decided to go shopping for a new video card. I found that the Raydeon card had a known defect, and Apple had quietly extended the warranty period three years after purchase (I'm only four), on a case by case basis, on request. I called my Apple rep and asked for a new video card. We ran two diagnostics, including a 48 hour test, which the machine passed. I wasn't that anxious to have another Raydeon card...I installed smcFanControl and lowered internal temperatures from 70-90 range to the current 36. I added 16GB, total of 20GB, of memory to help out Yosemite. I've now been running 24-7 for a month. :)
jwpastor1963
jwpastor1963
May 30 2015
2.5.2
5.0
May 30 2015
5.0
Version: 2.5.2
This app is AWESOME! Total control of my fans, left and right side individually, who could ask for more? Three category default settings for AC power, battery, or charging, with the ability to create my own personal default profiles in each category, just amazing! The function is flawless on my MBPr 15. Now I can set it on my bare legs, and the bottom of my laptop stays cool (max speed both sides) to tepid (Med speed both sides), depending on fan sped "I CHOOSE," not Apple. Menu bar info is easy-to-read and exactly accurate.

As one who uses constantly running air purifiers in my home/work office, I know that these type of fans run for years with no issues. They are designed to run 24-7-365 and never wear out for years. I know Apple uses the same quality type fans or even superior, so I never worry about replacing fans prematurely in my MacBook. Moreover, even if I needed to in two or three years, that's a fraction in cost of replacing my SSD or multi core processors due to heat, not to mention that cooler processors run infinitely better than overheated ones. All high graphic use 3D gamers know this, I'm told.
Dru-K
Dru-K
Dec 3 2014
2.5.2
5.0
Dec 3 2014
5.0
Version: 2.5.2
Absolute MUST-HAVE if you have a Macbook pro. My laptop was almost unusable as I couldn't even type comfortably due to the heat. This brought the temperature right down within minutes. The ability to control fan speeds individually is a huge plus!
Lightning
Lightning
Dec 1 2014
2.5.2
5.0
Dec 1 2014
5.0
Version: 2.5.2
Does all that I require and does it well.
dtansey99
dtansey99
Nov 7 2014
2.5.2
0.5
Nov 7 2014
0.5
Version: 2.5.2
I just upgraded to the latest version 2.5.2 yesterday. Since then, my Mac Air is overheating and the fan is so loud, it's driving me nuts. What have you done?
grarnigh458
grarnigh458
Nov 3 2014
2.5.2
5.0
Nov 3 2014
5.0
Version: 2.5.2
I've been using this SMC Fan Control since the upgrade to Mountain Lion and my dusty/smokey apartment started to make my late 2009 iMac hot. Last year, this app stopped after I upgraded to Mavericks, so I started using iMac Fan Control, which was just a preference pane called Fan Control that controlled with sliders of minimum and maximum temps and minimum speeds for each fan. It was kind of nice and it was still working this morning, but then I went and updated to Yosemite and during the hour of Googling it took to find this to replace the that broken Fan Control app, my iMac was so hot to the touch. I even took it to Radio Shack just this summer to clean the dust out, still so hot. Oh man! Am I so glad to see that this app was updated Nov 1, 2014, just in time for my upgrade to Yosemite. 5 stars for the return of a great SMC Fan Control app! :)
ashton2
ashton2
Oct 22 2014
2.5
0.0
Oct 22 2014
0.0
Version: 2.5
Just updated to 2.5 on my '08 iMac A1224. It crashed; log description below.. (When I discover how to send some $$ to author for the excellent, trouble-free use of 2.13 for years, I will--am sure this glitch shall be fixed) Will check back here, though hope my login e-mail will be available, so as to hear back? Else will check-in here, later. It would be helpful if a means were provided for "Trouble" reports, exchanges here. Thanks for this option, in any event. A. Brown Snow Leopard 10.6.8 is still running, as I need to skip Lion and get all Mavericky, soon. It appears that 2.5 is not back-compatible, currently. Thus: no smcFancontrol now--luckily it is not summer. I see no way (via this site) to obtain, reinstall 2.1.3, apparently deleted via V.2.5 on Install. Pity that--no, it is not in Trash, where one would hope it was sent... LOG crash report: 10/22/14 12:08:14 AM c-98-207-228-146 [0x0-0x4a04a].com.eidac.smcFanControl2[449] [0x0-0x4a04a].com.eidac.smcFanControl2 terminate called after throwing an instance of 'NSException' 10/22/14 12:08:14 AM c-98-207-228-146 smcFanControl[449] smcFanControl An uncaught exception was raised 10/22/14 12:08:14 AM c-98-207-228-146 smcFanControl[449] smcFanControl *** -[NSKeyedUnarchiver decodeObjectForKey:]: cannot decode object of class (NSTableCellView) 10/22/14 12:08:14 AM c-98-207-228-146 smcFanControl[449] smcFanControl *** Terminating app due to uncaught exception 'NSInvalidUnarchiveOperationException', reason: '*** -[NSKeyedUnarchiver decodeObjectForKey:]: cannot decode object of class (NSTableCellView)' *** Call stack at first throw: ( 0 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff82f77784 __exceptionPreprocess + 180 1 libobjc.A.dylib 0x00007fff800dcf03 objc_exception_throw + 45 2 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff82f775a7 +[NSException raise:format:arguments:] + 103 3 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff82f77534 +[NSException raise:format:] + 148 4 Foundation 0x00007fff82b73d0a _decodeObjectBinary + 2427 5 Foundation 0x00007fff82b731fd _decodeObject + 208 6 AppKit 0x00007fff883831e4 -[NSNibConnector initWithCoder:] + 406 7 AppKit 0x00007fff88383036 -[NSNibOutletConnector initWithCoder:] + 343 8 Foundation 0x00007fff82b73d83 _decodeObjectBinary + 2548 9 Foundation 0x00007fff82b74a89 -[NSKeyedUnarchiver _decodeArrayOfObjectsForKey:] + 1229 10 Foundation 0x00007fff82b74fc9 -[NSArray(NSArray) initWithCoder:] + 462 11 Foundation 0x00007fff82b73d83 _decodeObjectBinary + 2548 12 Foundation 0x00007fff82b731fd _decodeObject + 208 13 AppKit 0x00007fff88382351 -[NSIBObjectData initWithCoder:] + 2046 14 Foundation 0x00007fff82b73d83 _decodeObjectBinary + 2548 15 Foundation 0x00007fff82b731fd _decodeObject + 208 16 AppKit 0x00007fff88381a41 loadNib + 146 17 AppKit 0x00007fff88380fa1 +[NSBundle(NSNibLoading) _loadNibFile:nameTable:withZone:ownerBundle:] + 248 18 AppKit 0x00007fff88380dd9 +[NSBundle(NSNibLoading) loadNibNamed:owner:] + 326 19 AppKit 0x00007fff8837e35b NSApplicationMain + 279 20 smcFanControl 0x00000001000019e4 start + 52 )
joaoa8863
joaoa8863
Oct 21 2014
2.5
5.0
Oct 21 2014
5.0
Version: 2.5
No sync fans at the same time ?
TCalhau
TCalhau
Oct 21 2014
2.5
4.0
Oct 21 2014
4.0
Version: 2.5
I use this application in 1 MacBook and 2 Mac and i love it!