Back to Sunrise page
Sunrise free download for Mac

Sunrise Reviews

2.2.1
03 May 2012

Open source Web browser especially for Web developers.

Phaleron
26 January 2009

Most helpful

Nice to see a browser that still fits on a floppy. Compared with Safari (66MB unzipped) it's amazing it can do as much.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.8

Read 63 Sunrise User Reviews

Rate this app:

$ir-M-
06 December 2012
Gotta love Sunrise! However, I just noticed that it seems to be eating my bookmarks: letting me (think I'm) adding more, but then only displaying/being able to access ~18 of them! Since the homepage moved to code.google.com, I can find nowhere else to ask whether this is a bug or perhaps only a problem on my machine. Anyhow, Sunrise is still great ...
Like
Version 2.2.1
Mr-Harley-T-Davis
06 November 2012
It's the SAFARI of the past for simplicity, and speed. Plus, the dev features can be useful for anybody, not just dev. When my 80 year old parents see something online they can snapshot. Great. Now you've made them more annoying because I get twice the email from them. But it's the good kind of annoying. Faster, cache control, not a memory hog... ...It's my new browser, and my parents like it too. Good work. It's highly functional, but beware, there are some sites that do not conform to even modern standards (which are usually wider than the old standards). If a site doesn't display well in this app, it'll be very slow in others, but viewable. This was meant to be simple, and for the most part, is extremely compatible. But all apps have limits, don't forget that. Programmers aren't GOD, they can't think of every possible thing all the time. As such, this one did a darn fine job of catching most of it. A decent app for those on the go.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Aargl
14 September 2011
Latest version doesn't support ppc anymore (though it's not stated neither on the dev's site). Until now, it was the fastest browser I've tried. Because I'm not a developper, and because it has nothing really high-level regarding bookmarks, I'm using it exclusively to view videos on specific sites that doesn't display too well on other browsers.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.0
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
03 May 2012
Same remark about 2.2.1: not PPC!
Like
Aspartamemsgsuck
07 June 2010
I have not been able to find the Auto-resizable window... Has it been removed from this version, I wonder?
Like
Version 2.1.3
Corpsecorps
25 May 2010
Broken download link. Page not found.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Valrus
07 May 2010
Where the heck is the automatic window resizing?!
Like
Version 2.1.1
Djsnickles
20 February 2010
just tried out the latest version 2.0.6 i can't get sunrise to load my development server: http://localhost:9001 no combination works, it just keeps searching google for 'localhost:9001' as such, i can't really use it for web development
Like
Version 2.0.6
2 answer(s)
Erick-Wong
Erick-Wong
07 April 2010
You said you tried every combination, but here's a simple solution that works: just add a single period to the end of localhost, i.e "localhost.:9001".
Like (4)
Version 2.0.8
sjakubiec
sjakubiec
29 August 2011
You could also try 127.0.0.1:9001
Like
Web-Jive
24 November 2009
This would be a good web devs browser if it used the latest webkit inspector. Saying this is great for web development without this is a bit overstated.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Djsnickles
28 September 2009
this app is great for webdev. it has a couple bugs, and is missing some features, but it not a memory hog like safari and firefox. bugs: * random constant dialog box popping up that says "the file could not be found", or something to that effect * occasional crashes * window resizing is slow; i suspect because of the transparency toggle. i can live with it * you have to press apple _shift_ + , to scale text larger * typing "localhost:3000" into the url field searches google for "localhost:3000"; i have to type 'http://' everytime i want to go to a site. that's dumb. provide a toggle or something! missing features: * middle button click to open a new tab doesn't work, but apple click does * tabs don't open in the background * shiira can read safari's bookmarks without importing them; it would be nice if sunrise did the same * right click on dock icon should include "new window" function * right click adblock, like firefox? * whitelist popup blocker (as in, allow localhost for webdev, and nobody else) good points: * small buttons and interface is awesome. keep with that! * clicktoflash seems to work with sunrise as well. cool! * fast! focuses on rendering html. i like it.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.5
1 answer(s)
Djsnickles
Djsnickles
28 September 2009
forgot one: as this app is for web developers, add an "inspect element" option!
Like
Version 1.8.5
Igreg
13 April 2009
Frighteningly slow for me. I just downloaded 1.8.4 and it dragged terribly and was unusable.
Like
Version 1.8.3
Phaleron
26 January 2009
Nice to see a browser that still fits on a floppy. Compared with Safari (66MB unzipped) it's amazing it can do as much.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.8
1 answer(s)
Threedee912
Threedee912
13 April 2009
That's mainly because it uses the same rendering engine as Safari. It takes the system's WebKit (the Safari backend) and uses it to display it's pages. The 1MB is mainly only the new GUI wrapped around it.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.4
Southpawami
07 January 2008
.. just to give an actual review.. Sunrise becomes useful to me after turning the homepage to http://www.google.com , and making the bookmark images as small as they can go. Due to a lack of submenus of bookmarks in the Bookmark menu which is unlike virtually every other browser out there, including Firefox, Sunrise excels at about 7 to 8 bookmarks on a newer widescreen MacBook(consumer). The bookmarks being images and offering color coded labels makes an instant recognition not found with submenu bookmarks. In light of their bookmarks... which is their strength and their weakness, Sunrise would be quite a bit more useful on a variety of systems if they would allow choosing *which* bookmarks out of all your bookmarks are images, and keeping the rest of the bookmarks in a submenu system in the Bookmark menu. Also, an optionally viewed one line of bookmarks below the url address bar would be welcome. The other issue, is the 12 tab issue on any old new MacBook(consumer w/somewhat shrunk Dock on the right or left of the screen instead of bottom). After 12 tabs, their is no arrow for a submenu that allows selection of the extra tabs. This is.. annoying. To most people this issue is nonexistent. To the average person that loves trying the newest browsers, this is a feature flaw. And the third issue, is the no 'load in background tab' feature on right clicking a link. Every time you tell Sunrise to open a link in a new tab, Sunrise *selects* that tab as the current tab. This is a horrible thing if you want to research 10 different pages through Google really quick... you'd simply Google your search, then click each link you wanted to view to open up in a background tab, all the while staying on the same Google search. When you made all your selections, taking only a few seconds if you have a background tab feature, you could then look at each tab that opened in the background. And... it would be nice if Sunrise added a menu option in the Sunrise menu to Clear All Cache instead of having to visit the Preferences menu. Prior to 1.5.8, Sunrise seemed to be a little slow on the Acid2 test, which it nows seems to pass as if it were sleeping. Stability is not Sunrise's strong point, as it's crashed on me a few times too many. However, as of this review, version 1.5.8 hasn't crashed yet. Strange Yahoo issues like problems moving from Mail to Notes which are plaguing the Opera 9.25 right now, are non-existent in Sunrise 1.5.8 As usual, when a browser is interpreting to standards, many webpages sometimes look hideous, due to simple markup errors on the person responsible(though simple, can sometimes be crazy tough to figure out). So, odd looking webpages are probably not really Sunrise fault.. as I've become confident enough in Sunrise that it is usually more the author than Sunrise(most likely there are exceptions here). So, by and large... Sunrise is the fastest loading web browser for Tiger that I know I can depend on to be useful and functional to what I commonly need.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.7
Southpawami
07 January 2008
When ya just want some quick surfing... get something done kind of thing, Sunrise is just the ticket. For example, checking mail, or studying kana, or drilling kanji online, Sunrise can't be beat because it's often faster loading websites and often faster loading up than other web browsers like Opera, Firefox, or Safari inside of Tiger. It's a similar way with Tiger verse Leopard right now. If you need to get something done, chose Tiger, if you want to experiment, choose Leopard.(got both OSs on two separate partitions right now.) For website testing, obviously finals *should* be tested through major webrowsers, like Firefox/Safari/IE6/IE7/Opera. At least one browser should pass Acid2 testing, which Sunrise 1.5.8 on my system seems to do easily. So... yes.. Sunrise actually could be used for creation stages of websites... maybe..
Like
Version 1.5.7
Ninjaboy
05 November 2007
I like being able to save webpages as PDF docs - something other browsers don't support. However, I'm only getting 2-3 minutes of use out of this app before it "unexpectedly quits". -Why?
Like
Version 1.4.9
3 answer(s)
Grantneufeld
Grantneufeld
25 November 2007
Actually, most browsers can save to PDF. Just print the page you are currently browsing, and select “Save as PDF” from the “PDF” pop-up (usually at the bottom left) in the print dialog.
Like
Version 1.5.4
Mcmack
Mcmack
09 December 2007
Actually, I don't know browser that doesn't save as pdf! They all do!
Like
Version 1.5.5
Ssnickerer
Ssnickerer
01 January 2008
In Safari 3, you can right-click the page and select "Export To PDF..." and it will export the entire page as a continuous PDF. This may be a functionality added by SafariStand, though, I'm not quite sure.
Like
Version 1.5.7
Ajung
26 October 2007
Nothing of particular interest that is not available with other Firefox plugins that are much more powerful.
Like
Version 1.4.6
MAchintrucbidule459
02 September 2007
the myth of working with transparency -half efficient coding -half efficient preview
Like
Version 1.3.8
8oo8
01 September 2007
As I've learned, since SunriseBrowser is developed particularly for web developers, it lacks features that web developers don't really need and importing bookmarks is, apparently, one of them. Too bad, since SB is really fast......I'd like to use it but its lack of bookmark importing makes it crippled and cumbersome. It lacks other rather essential features for many of us non-developers, too, such as decent cookie control. And SB's graphic bookmarks are just not really useful for anyone but developers, I imagine. The graphic bookmarks take up quite a bit of screen real estate. Oh, and SB's forum? Yeah, there are currently nothing but about 7 pages of spam/threads containing mostly links to porno sites. I'd say that the developer is clueless about them.....he likely doesn't ever bother to even check his forum. Puzzling. Amusing, though.....heh,heh,heh.
Like
Version 1.3.8
Sjha
01 September 2007
Sunrise Browser is good - but needs to have some way to import Bookmarks from Safari or other browsers. What is weird is the URL for the 'Sunrise Browser Forum'. This seems to take one to a sex site!!
Like
Version 1.3.8
Doug-S-
21 August 2007
As a web designer what would make me move to this instead of browsers like Safari and Firefox would be the ability to swap render engines. Right now in order to browser-test I have to go to those different browsers. The ability to render from one browser in IE 5.5-7+, Firefox 2+, and Safari for both Mac and PC. If someone created a browser that could do that I would most happily pay for it as it'd be one of my most useful tools for web development. Also, you might want to look at FireBug and The Web Developer Toolbar for Firefox as those are the two most useful tools for development and checking your work. Personally, I don't care as much about a small, light and fast browser. Safari (the beta) runs very fast for me as it is and any extra speed you'd get out of it would be barely noticeable. Where as combining some of my most often used tools, as well as adding some never before seen, would make my life extremely easy.
Like
Version 1.3.5
Thevzitor
20 August 2007
Recommended for anybody who wants a fast, sleek, efficient browser. Much progress has been done since the early versions. It's getting better and better ! Many Thanx to Atsushi.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Jack-Daw
10 August 2007
I get about only 4 minutes of use out of this before it quits. Its really annoying! However this app has great potential and I would love to make more use of it. Developer - please do something about this.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Friend
19 July 2007
I am a bit puzzled. The version I downloaded doesn't look anything like the screenshot. I've used this browser previously and loved the simplicity and ease it provided, but what is this. I can not for my life find any of the features that I need as a web developer, that sposed to be therer. Sorry. Goes in the trash, with sadness.
Like
Version 1.1.3
New-User
26 March 2007
It has many useful features. But, for being developed in Xcode the interface is surprisingly cluttered and decidedly not Mac-like. Native controls (popup menus, text boxes) are eschewed in favor of odd custom-made implementations. Maybe it's just suffering from growing to far too fast. Hopefully the developer will take some time to sit back and clean up the interface. I'll keep checking it out. But in the current state, I can't stand it. I suppose really I just want Safari + useful developer add-ons.
Like
Version 0.895
Threedee912
15 May 2006
I've been using this browser along with a few others for a while. It's a great little browser, with many features a web developer could use. There's a few bugs, and bookmarks and history don't really work.
Like
Version 0.837
Micky1
15 May 2006
not bad at all :) and with the CSS ad-blocker from http://www.floppymoose.com/ it's quite nice to surf through the net.
Like
Version 0.837
Mysteryquest
09 April 2006
Simple, nice to use and stable. Good native OS X app.
Like
Version 0.82
8oo8
09 April 2006
Still no add/remove bookmark function, which all other browsers have. This is a serious deficiency of SunriseBrowser. Adding or removing bookmarks can be done but it's a rather cumbersome process of doing it via Safari, as long as Safari is set as default browser. SunriseBrowser is definitely still not ready for prime time. Shows promise, though.
Like
Version 0.82
1 answer(s)
Gmax
Gmax
15 May 2006
This browser is targeted towards web developers... bookmarks are trivial.
Like
Version 0.837
Ca
09 April 2006
It's slowing getting and better. A few things annoy me but this is a very good browser IMHO. By the way, v. 0.82 is available.
Like
Version 0.811
Ca
25 March 2006
Excellent browser! Of course, there's a lot of work left. BTW, v. 0.8 is on their website.
Like
Version 0.7994
Steve-R
28 February 2006
In a world where everyone seems to assume that everyone else has broadband, this browser is a godsend for those in the Outback dealing with sporadic and impossibly slow dialup connections. Thank you.
Like
Version 0.799
Anonymous
29 October 2005
This is surely, undoubtly the most interesting, precise,fast, best web browser to date. WOW! Thanks!!!!!
Like
Version 0.78
Anonymous
08 October 2005
Absolutely great! As usual it's not *quite* as fast as Safari, but I still love this browser! Much better (As usual) than anything made by mozilla! Congrats!
Like
Version 0.78
Macmend-com
20 June 2005
another browser?!! If only the ones we had worked, sometimes I like firefox, but then it gets all a bit PC ish (after all it was made to rival IE, but mostly I just use safari. More instability and slow use is not going to help, I did use shiira for a bit then wondered why, perhaps just to make a change, why doesn't safari have a plugin programme like firefox? Then some of the facilities on this or other Safari-Like browsers could be worked in. Sometimes I want a strip down broswer, sometims one that will make the tea, sometimes one for a developer!
Like
Version 0.773
Ancientyger
20 June 2005
Okay.... Omniweb, Safari, Shiira, Sunrise... who could ask for anything more.... really, other browsers aren't up to these.... even camino, mozilla, firefox... this is just browse, author go! great! this, i think, is the fastest. even faster than Shiira. sometimes i click and the site is loaded. wow. and that's with no cache follks.... not always that fast but, ,usually, which is impressive. the way the sites scale... that's great! i'm very impressed. As far as very helpful normal browsing.. the KHTML browsers are best... Sunrise, Shiira and Omniweb are sweeeet. Safari gets better with extra add ons... this is a good addition to the OSX browser bunch. yeah... i want this one on my dock too!! why not? it's my mac! i want great browsing... stable browsing (uh oh OW.. stability has to get better..) and powerful browsing! yes! this.. is a powerful browser... needs services though like Omniweb, and Camino!
Like
Version 0.773
Anonymous
19 June 2005
I'm sure this software is super smashing and all that, but seriously, does the world actually NEED another browser? or am I missing something here..
Like
Version 0.773
2 answer(s)
Blacklist Option
Blacklist Option
19 June 2005
READ!!! This browser is for W E B D E V E L O P E R S. So they can render how their webpages would show up without all the rest of the fancy process that goes into others like FIREFOX, OPERA, OMNIWEB and like. For instance if you just want to see how a particular font shows up IT WILL ONLY SHOW THAT FONT! Safari would change it to the default user font if it was changed!
Like
Version 0.773
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2005
Hey, we've already GOT an operating system-Windows! Do we really NEED the Mac? I mean, I'm sure it's super smashing and all that...
Like
Version 0.773
Anonymous
18 May 2005
This icon may be the most ugly icon i have ever seen, im embaressed to have it on my desktop. The program looks very nice, and the icon doesn't relate to it at all.
Like
Version 0.743
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 June 2005
Hehe :) I like the icon. Its design is a little bit of mess, but I do like it. I just do not know why...
Like
Version 0.77
UmarOMC
UmarOMC
10 June 2005
So it's an "S" in a bubble... so? Does everything have to be Aqua-compatible? lol jk I like it... at least it stands out, then... no?
Like
Version 0.77
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 June 2005
Heh. Skype's icon isn't all that different, but nobody's complaining about it. :P
Like
Version 0.77
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2005
Wow, you sure showed those developers! Boy howdy, you put 'em in their place. OK, you're so smart, let's see you come up with a replacement icon. No cheating and nicking one from the Icon Factory. From scratch, bucko. And it better be 100% weapons-grade ART, pally.
Like
Version 0.773
Anonymous
03 May 2005
This browser is definitely still a work in progress - it loads pages quite slowly, and crashes occasionally. However, it's the only browser I've seen that allows you to download media files without additional hassles or crashing on every other download, and this browser is worth keeping around just for that.
Like
Version 0.74
Anonymous
27 April 2005
Ridiculously slow, seriously what does this offer people? Free is not an excuse.
Like
Version 0.737
3 answer(s)
Blight
Blight
04 May 2005
What a LOON! Can you at least describe some of the downsides other than it is sow?
Like
Version 0.74
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 May 2005
I believe you just answered his/her question with a question. Good job, loon.
Like
Version 0.74
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2005
Gee, beta software that isn't fully featured and fully optimised...what is this world coming to? How about you wait for the 1.0 release if you're so demanding? Better yet, why not try Camino or Firefox or Safari or OmniWeb or Opera or Shiira...any one of them is probably farther along in development and thus meet your exacting standards.
Like
Version 0.773
Anonymous
26 April 2005
The problem is that resizing this window to 800x600 or whatever doesn't actually show you how your web page looks on an 800x600 display. The size of the menu bar and normal window title bar have to be allowed for, nd not only doesn't this do hat, it uses a non-standard (and HIG-violating) artificial "panel" style title bar to further increase the difference between a real small screen and its emulation thereof. So, it's a cute trick, but not actually useful.
Like
Version 0.732
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 April 2005
Actually, I believe that's the way most development packages (on the Mac and Windows, probably elsewhere, too) handle the "show the writer of the page what it will look like in 640x480 or 800x600" issue - just resize the window. Wouldn't want to do all that fiddling around with actual resolution-switching, now. :D
Like
Version 0.733
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 April 2005
Who said anything about resolution switching? Changing this application window to 800x600 doesn't show you how your web page will look at 800x600, it shows you how it'll look at about 800x650.
Like
Version 0.737
Anonymous
25 April 2005
Great potential. Very interesting!
Like
Version 0.732
Anonymous
08 April 2005
Has potential. I like the quick bigsmall page resizing. Has issues with high resolutions and dual display setups. On my second monitor I can't put the window above where the menu bar would be unless I click full screen or full height. When the window is resized beyond 800 pixels tall, the backgound color falls below the bars at the top resulting in a very unreadable control bar.
Like
Version 0.718
Anonymous
07 April 2005
Regarding the evaluation of screen sizes, I find SmallScreenX 2.2 to be an excellent solution. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/10628
Like
Version 0.718
Anonymous
07 April 2005
oh yes! Nice.... so Nice ... first time used, downloaded, started up, no complications, easy as.... and forthose wondering what a 640 vs 1024 looks like ... this shows you the way... especially if you are on a large monitor... I like it... alot!
Like
Version 0.715
Anonymous
07 April 2005
WOW! I love Safari, but SunriseBrowser is in a league of it's own. Transparent web-pages are great on a small screen and are just as handy as tabs! I opened it up and practically dragged it into the dock. Transparency Pageshot (Writes to PDF without going into Print) Favicons are saved with local url links. Will open the url in your default browser! (command-e) I'm going to recommend this to my mates asap, Opensource strikes again! Kudos to the developer! ????
Like
Version 0.715
Anonymous
06 April 2005
Sweet! I have a few small suggestions: 1) make it so that you do not have to type "www" - right now it searches google if you don't. 2) When a website is loaded, have it highlight the URL address. 3) Make the top bar a bit bigger with bigger text. 4) Have changing text size to more than 2 sizes from the toolbar. I really think that this browser could become somewhat popular. Very light and easy to use.
Like
Version 0.715
Anonymous
06 April 2005
It's nice to see an alternative that is lightweight (yet with full functionality).. Keep it up..
Like
Version 0.715
Anonymous
04 April 2005
That's a really nice browser. Small and fast.
Like
Version 0.713
Anonymous
04 April 2005
Cool! i never had a translucent web browser! i like changing tne opacity! Cool
Like
Version 0.713
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 April 2005
You can make any window translucent with http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/16500 or http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/16577
Like
Version 0.713
Anonymous
03 April 2005
I'm waiting for the developer to add "Fixed: follows Mac's HIG instead of using a fake panel for the main window".
Like
Version 0.711
Anonymous
02 April 2005
Very handy for developers -- it's main purpose. I use it for that sometimes, but often just use the RESIZE link using some javascript that will resize the browser. Just create a new link in Safari/IE/FireFox/OmniWeb and add this code the the URL part. javascript:x=prompt(%22Width?%5Cn%5Cn(Return=800)%22);y=prompt(%22Height?%5Cn%5Cn(Return=600)%22);if(x.length==0)%7Bx=800%7D;if(y.length==0)%7By=600%7D;window.resizeTo(x,y); That said, SunriseBrowser offers far more than mere resizing.
Like
Version 0.711