Back to DEVONagent Pro page
DEVONagent Pro free download for Mac

DEVONagent Pro Reviews

05 December 2019

Maximize Web-search efficiency.

5
anonymous-ladybug-5359
08 February 2018
Version: 3.10

Most helpful

DEVONagent Pro is an excellent search engine and browser, for doing in-depth research, especially when combined with DEVONthink Pro Office. My only complaint is that DEVONagent Pro doesn’t get updated very often (which makes me wonder about security). Otherwise it's great.
(2)

How would you rate DEVONagent Pro app?

Read 21 DEVONagent Pro User Reviews

5
anonymous-ladybug-5359
08 February 2018
Version: 3.10
DEVONagent Pro is an excellent search engine and browser, for doing in-depth research, especially when combined with DEVONthink Pro Office. My only complaint is that DEVONagent Pro doesn’t get updated very often (which makes me wonder about security). Otherwise it's great.
(2)
1
Levelbest
18 May 2017
Version: 3.9.6
This company has terrible customer service. They offer great software but it is also highly complex. You are going to spend a lot of time in the manuals and asking dumb questions on their forums. But beware, the forums allow far too much “RTFM” type commentaries, “what’s wrong with you”, etc. And that’s from the moderators and the forum experts. I have some genuine learning disabilities as the result of injuries suffered in service to my country (disabled vet). I was really hoping that many of Devon’s products would be very helpful for those of us who struggle to organize information on a daily basis. Unfortunately, Devon people do not suffer fools gladly and I have been suddenly and permanently banned from their forums. Why? No explanation was given after I asked repeatedly. Apparently it was for complaining to Devon customer service about how I was getting treated in the forums. To add insult to injury, Devons web site boasts about how they won’t bury problems by closing tickets before they are through and how much they value fairness. Don't you believe it. None of these are values that I have seen. My ticket on this issue was closed prematurely and their head guy refused to provide any justification for their actions. Apparently asking too many questions about good netiquette on their forums will get you banned. I can't see using such a complex and important piece of software (it’s about managing all the files on your Mac), and not being able to ask questions about it on an active user forum. Devon makes great software. I have no argument with that. I have a license for DevonThink Professional Office, DevonAgent, and some others. But learning something with such complex capabilities, having learning challenges of my own, and having such a non user friendly forum, just got to be too much. I have been trying to use Devon products for a couple of years now. Sadly, I probably will not continue with this company barring a sharp reversal in their way of treating customers. Why pay for abuse? Your mileage may vary. I have rated this software as low as it can go, not because it isn't really smart software but because if you can't get help using it or worse, you are ridiculed and then banned, then why recommend this brand to others? Without ongoing access to good customer service through the user base (forums), my licenses are now pretty much useless. And these software titles from Devon, are not cheap.
(2)
Show comment (1)
5
goggles
27 February 2012
Version: 3.1.1
It finds everything I need, and things I didn't know I needed, there is a small learning curve but once you get used to it, you can't go without it, great companion to DevonThink. I use DevonAgent Pro with DevonThink Pro Office, using these 2 apps together, you can find a needle in 1 million hay stacks.
(2)
5
Istra
17 August 2011
Version: 3.0
great tool! it saves me enormous time & effort even so, out of the box; I'm keen to learn using this other unique boolean stuff.
(4)
Trashie
20 July 2011
Version: 3.0
One thing to make clear is this is not a browser but a powerful internet research tool. This is only for people who do research. Everyone else will fine it useless and should use safari etc. Compared with the last version this is massively improved. Works best with devonthink. It will streamline the proces of online research. The only thing that let's it down is the web itself and quality of information available. However as the web gets better and more and more publish direct online this will only improve. A fine app for anyone involved in research even if it does not get what you want 100% it will always sign post you there due to it's AI. Not something to pick up and use in 5mins you need to practice using it.
(5)
5
Anon-Bud
20 July 2011
Version: 3.0
Devon Technologies is the best! Using the internet for research is great, but DevonAgent makes it fun and easy, especially with all the filtering tools they have available to help you wade through the junk and get to the good stuff! And their support team is second to none...
(2)
5
Afreese
16 December 2010
Version: 3.0pb1
There is no better tool for Recherche, look no further.
(2)
5
Anon-Bud
16 December 2010
Version: 3.0pb1
So very glad that DevonTech has released an update to this perennial favorite of mine! Makes searching the web for paper writing a snap and a joy! An indispensable tool for research, now updated with new search plugins.
(2)
Trashie
04 October 2010
Version: 2.3.1
They should just revamp this and merge it into devonThink. It is not like it is a big seller alone from what I hear anyway. If they do that they may work on it more as devonThink is non stop with updates and powerful new features but this is ignored. Making it devonThinks default browsers makes a lot of sense. As there is an argument that they should have a customised webkit browser built into devonThink eventually as many people do their research online now be it free or paid sites it is all going electronic. Why waste time supporting integration for others with so many browsers out there...when they already have one of their own.
(7)
Show comment (1)
Maclover1-1
24 March 2010
Version: 2.3.1
My take on this.. I wish it its capabilities were either completely included in DevonThink Pro and/or were a Safari plugin.. because as a stand alone browser it is awkward and I end up rarely ever using it. I'd prefer the first option.. if DTP had a more user friendly approach t its browsing dept (own set of bookmarks or at least editable Safari bookmarks and tabs.. DA has them but not DTP). I would not even have to launch Safari at all.. and with the DA capabilities it'd be a powerhouse all in one..
(7)
Stike
24 February 2010
Version: 2.3.1
Dont get me wrong, this app is great, but really - NO update for 1.5 years? Also I could really use a tutorial or anything "help-related" to fully use all the features. This app works well, but I think I barely used its full potential...
(4)
4
Lux
13 June 2008
Version: 2.3.1
An update to my earlier review nearly 2 years ago. DEVONagent Research assistant and the way it works seamlessly with the browser is fantastic - 'nuff said but DEVONagent browser hasn't been my default browser for some time since I discovered iCab, Flock and the much improved Safari in Leopard. It's also nearly 2 years since the developers said a 'new non-metal-non-Safari look was planned for a future release of the browser - or at least the option to change the old and tired brushed-metal look to an aqua / unified look along with being able to customise the toolbar. As it is, DEVONagent browser looks more like Safari than Safari does. I also don't like [since v2.3], the appearance of a national flag in the toolbar to represent the language of the web-page - I think I'm capable of recognising the English language without the prompt of the flag of St George, that symbol of English racial purity so beloved of little englanders and the right wing political fascist party the BNP..
(0)
5
ravi-1
01 October 2007
Version: 2.2
The interface is great, instantly accessible and fast. The features are just right, especially the Log tab - for recalling past searches. I've only had it a short time but it looks like it will become my preferred internet search utility.
(0)
5
Ca
19 December 2006
Version: 2.0.3
Oh my man do I love it! Devonagent makes the web an enormous database and the precision of the searches is second to none. Amazing and indispensable. My second browser alongside Safari because DA is also fast and stable.
(0)
4.75
Lux
31 October 2006
Version: 2.0.3
Registered and after playing with DEVONagent for a day I can only concur with the previous reviews. DEVONagent is fast and the searches are so precise - it really is the perfect internet research tool - as of now it is also my default browser.
(0)
Lux
30 October 2006
Version: 2.0.3
Didn't get a chance to try the demo out. Downloaded it a couple of days ago and the only thing I ever see when I launch this app is a purchase/enter key window. How long is the trial period anyway? However, based on the glowing reviews of this software I thought I'd buy it. But I can't do that either. Spent ages on the website trying to and had to give up in the end. Received email referring to the order but according to the accounts page, there is no order. Maybe a blessing though - it is rather expensive. Emailed the company.
(0)
5
Maclover1-1
27 June 2006
Version: 2.0.1
That's it MasterCard, out of my pocket !! This is as of now my SUPERFAST browser (dunno if its just me but this thing is on steroids: move over Firefox and other Safaris.. it even has the cute Shiira drawers/window-moving-back-to-place-when-you-close-type-deal). I played with it and DEVONThink and am wondering where my head was at that it took me so long to discover these browsing/cataloguing/searching-"urchin" (yeah cool icons toooo) tools. Apple (or maybe Adobe... you never know) must drool !WOOOOOOOOOOOOOW !
(0)
5
Anonymous
11 March 2005
Version: 1.6
Great software. I actually now use it as my default browser (as it's fast and you can view web pages in full screen). I get better, more precise search results than any other software of its kind. It's a must-have, especially when used in conjunction with DEVONthink.
(0)
4.75
Luis De Jesus
05 February 2004
Version: 1.2.1
I've been using this application for several months now and I am very pleased. I work on both Wintel and Mac platforms and ever since Copernic discontinued its Internet search software for the Mac I had been anxiously looking for something as productive for the Mac. DevoNagent may not have all the eye candy, but I find it easier to use and precise. It's affordably priced, too.
(0)
5
AVFolk
08 September 2003
Version: 1.0b2
DEVONagent will revolutionize web research. This remarkable tool is innovative, intuitive, and blazingly fast. From this remarkable start -- DEVONagent will just get better and better. My first search (that took seconds) saved me HOURS. Buying a license is a no-brainer. To the developer: please keep up the superb work!
(0)
5
Greg
29 August 2003
Version: 1.0b1
Some products make a small improvement over already existing products. Devonagent is an inovative leap forward. This is an intelligent internet search tool plus a dedicated internet browser. This is a outstanding tool for research. Combined with DevonThink, you have what every college student or teacher needs to do effective interernet research and archiving! Products like this make the Mac a must have for college students.
(0)