Back to DEVONagent Pro page
DEVONagent Pro free download for Mac

DEVONagent Pro Reviews

22 July 2021

Maximize Web-search efficiency.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
penpoints
penpoints
Feb 8 2018
3.10
5.0
Feb 8 2018
5.0
Version: 3.10
DEVONagent Pro is an excellent search engine and browser, for doing in-depth research, especially when combined with DEVONthink Pro Office. My only complaint is that DEVONagent Pro doesn’t get updated very often (which makes me wonder about security). Otherwise it's great.
Levelbest
Levelbest
May 18 2017
3.9.6
1.0
May 18 2017
1.0
Version: 3.9.6
This company has terrible customer service. They offer great software but it is also highly complex. You are going to spend a lot of time in the manuals and asking dumb questions on their forums. But beware, the forums allow far too much “RTFM” type commentaries, “what’s wrong with you”, etc. And that’s from the moderators and the forum experts. I have some genuine learning disabilities as the result of injuries suffered in service to my country (disabled vet). I was really hoping that many of Devon’s products would be very helpful for those of us who struggle to organize information on a daily basis. Unfortunately, Devon people do not suffer fools gladly and I have been suddenly and permanently banned from their forums. Why? No explanation was given after I asked repeatedly. Apparently it was for complaining to Devon customer service about how I was getting treated in the forums. To add insult to injury, Devons web site boasts about how they won’t bury problems by closing tickets before they are through and how much they value fairness. Don't you believe it. None of these are values that I have seen. My ticket on this issue was closed prematurely and their head guy refused to provide any justification for their actions. Apparently asking too many questions about good netiquette on their forums will get you banned. I can't see using such a complex and important piece of software (it’s about managing all the files on your Mac), and not being able to ask questions about it on an active user forum. Devon makes great software. I have no argument with that. I have a license for DevonThink Professional Office, DevonAgent, and some others. But learning something with such complex capabilities, having learning challenges of my own, and having such a non user friendly forum, just got to be too much. I have been trying to use Devon products for a couple of years now. Sadly, I probably will not continue with this company barring a sharp reversal in their way of treating customers. Why pay for abuse? Your mileage may vary. I have rated this software as low as it can go, not because it isn't really smart software but because if you can't get help using it or worse, you are ridiculed and then banned, then why recommend this brand to others? Without ongoing access to good customer service through the user base (forums), my licenses are now pretty much useless. And these software titles from Devon, are not cheap.
goggles
goggles
Feb 27 2012
3.1.1
5.0
Feb 27 2012
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
It finds everything I need, and things I didn't know I needed, there is a small learning curve but once you get used to it, you can't go without it, great companion to DevonThink. I use DevonAgent Pro with DevonThink Pro Office, using these 2 apps together, you can find a needle in 1 million hay stacks.
Istra
Istra
Aug 17 2011
3.0
5.0
Aug 17 2011
5.0
Version: 3.0
great tool! it saves me enormous time & effort even so, out of the box; I'm keen to learn using this other unique boolean stuff.
Trashie
Trashie
Jul 20 2011
3.0
0.0
Jul 20 2011
0.0
Version: 3.0
One thing to make clear is this is not a browser but a powerful internet research tool. This is only for people who do research. Everyone else will fine it useless and should use safari etc. Compared with the last version this is massively improved. Works best with devonthink. It will streamline the proces of online research. The only thing that let's it down is the web itself and quality of information available. However as the web gets better and more and more publish direct online this will only improve. A fine app for anyone involved in research even if it does not get what you want 100% it will always sign post you there due to it's AI. Not something to pick up and use in 5mins you need to practice using it.
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
Jul 20 2011
3.0
5.0
Jul 20 2011
5.0
Version: 3.0
Devon Technologies is the best! Using the internet for research is great, but DevonAgent makes it fun and easy, especially with all the filtering tools they have available to help you wade through the junk and get to the good stuff! And their support team is second to none...
Afreese
Afreese
Dec 16 2010
3.0pb1
5.0
Dec 16 2010
5.0
Version: 3.0pb1
There is no better tool for Recherche, look no further.
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
Dec 16 2010
3.0pb1
5.0
Dec 16 2010
5.0
Version: 3.0pb1
So very glad that DevonTech has released an update to this perennial favorite of mine! Makes searching the web for paper writing a snap and a joy! An indispensable tool for research, now updated with new search plugins.
Trashie
Trashie
Oct 4 2010
2.3.1
0.0
Oct 4 2010
0.0
Version: 2.3.1
They should just revamp this and merge it into devonThink. It is not like it is a big seller alone from what I hear anyway. If they do that they may work on it more as devonThink is non stop with updates and powerful new features but this is ignored. Making it devonThinks default browsers makes a lot of sense. As there is an argument that they should have a customised webkit browser built into devonThink eventually as many people do their research online now be it free or paid sites it is all going electronic. Why waste time supporting integration for others with so many browsers out there...when they already have one of their own.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Mar 24 2010
2.3.1
5.0
Mar 24 2010
5.0
Version: 2.3.1
My take on this.. I wish it its capabilities were either completely included in DevonThink Pro and/or were a Safari plugin.. because as a stand alone browser it is awkward and I end up rarely ever using it. I'd prefer the first option.. if DTP had a more user friendly approach t its browsing dept (own set of bookmarks or at least editable Safari bookmarks and tabs.. DA has them but not DTP). I would not even have to launch Safari at all.. and with the DA capabilities it'd be a powerhouse all in one..
Stike
Stike
Feb 24 2010
2.3.1
0.0
Feb 24 2010
0.0
Version: 2.3.1
Dont get me wrong, this app is great, but really - NO update for 1.5 years? Also I could really use a tutorial or anything "help-related" to fully use all the features. This app works well, but I think I barely used its full potential...
Lux
Lux
Jun 13 2008
2.3.1
4.0
Jun 13 2008
4.0
Version: 2.3.1
An update to my earlier review nearly 2 years ago. DEVONagent Research assistant and the way it works seamlessly with the browser is fantastic - 'nuff said but DEVONagent browser hasn't been my default browser for some time since I discovered iCab, Flock and the much improved Safari in Leopard. It's also nearly 2 years since the developers said a 'new non-metal-non-Safari look was planned for a future release of the browser - or at least the option to change the old and tired brushed-metal look to an aqua / unified look along with being able to customise the toolbar. As it is, DEVONagent browser looks more like Safari than Safari does. I also don't like [since v2.3], the appearance of a national flag in the toolbar to represent the language of the web-page - I think I'm capable of recognising the English language without the prompt of the flag of St George, that symbol of English racial purity so beloved of little englanders and the right wing political fascist party the BNP..
Britonius
Britonius
Oct 2 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 2 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I have seen and heard of it before, but never realized the need for it. This summary explains it quite well. Problem is I would need to see it in action a few times to realize if it was truly benefiting me before I decided to buy, so there is no way I would have time to test it out tonight.
MattRob
MattRob
Oct 2 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 2 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I tried it out for a while, and read quite a few reviews. All in all, seems to be worth $30, so I'm going to buy it.
Rdavid-c
Rdavid-c
Oct 2 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 2 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Aside from the steep learning curve, the visual representation of data is rather cool (especially when one gets use to it).
Trail-Walker
Trail-Walker
Oct 2 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 2 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I look forward to trying this tool again when it matures. 1) 3 of 4 sessions in its browser crashed 2) a search "neck health" AND pillow featured several hits from sites which began their webpage with a nonsensical jumble of words --- the AI component of DevonAgent should have excluded such garbage.
Tannit
Tannit
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I've been eyeing DEVONthink Office for a while, and while I've yet to take the plunge, DEVONagent is worth the price of admission. The learning curve is rather steep (it's not as intuitive as it may seem), but it does return results you wouldn't easily get with Google.
Skritter
Skritter
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
EVONagent seems to be a useful tool. The topics overview helps to redefine the individual search runs. However, I am still convinced that you need to have a good understanding of what you're looking for in order to get the best search results.
Drad
Drad
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
i have mixed feelings about it because it's deep inner workings are so hard to understand -- there is a steep learning curve and face it most of us are too busy and A.D.D.-addled. the browser is generally much faster than safari altho uses the same base webkit, but it's also missing some features you'd expect to be there. it's quite complex to try to customize. in fact elements are overly complex and difficult to understand so in that regard not very mac-user friendly. but if you can get aspects of the research features to work it can be useful. maybe if they had better instructions/help features it would be more appealing/easier to use and understand. i think they could get there but right now it seems to be the kind of tool an engineering minded person easily 'gets' while the rest of us want more of the fast, direct results and less of being forced to move, tweak, manipulate the wheels and levers.
Rwbmu
Rwbmu
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
DEVONagent seems to be a useful tool. The topics overview helps to redefine the individual search runs. However, I am still convinced that you need to have a good understanding of what you're looking for in order to get the best search results.
Edified
Edified
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Interesting Concept. Let's you sift through lots of pages fast. Most things I can find faster just using Google- but this is good at finding buried results.
Dcliev
Dcliev
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Seems like a worth while utility for internet searches. Problem I came across while running the trial version and using Firefox was, it kept shutting down while clicking on DEVONAgent results. Is this compatible with Firefox? If so, their is a bug in the program.
Steven-Bagdan
Steven-Bagdan
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Looks great for us in the SEO world!
Bustersdad
Bustersdad
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Looks like a great way to gather info/links for my blog! Thanks for this great find!
Look elsewhere
Look elsewhere
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
DEVONagent and DEVONthink are independent applications that complement each other fairly nicely. They also have something in common that is pretty fundamental to understanding whether they're right for you: they are for dealing with large amounts of information. If you can normally find what you are searching for in the first page of Google search results, DEVONagent doesn't offer so much. When you start having to dig through multiple pages, repeatedly refining your searches, and generally spending a lot of time finding the information you want instead of working with it, DEVONagent gets a lot more appealing. Its ability to summarize web sites can save a lot of time otherwise spent following links. As several others have commented, this makes it a nice tool in academia, as a complement to other tools. It doesn't really replace a simple search in whatever search engine you favor. Personally, I am not sure that I do the sort of research that makes DEVONagent worth while. It's not that often that I need to do a broad survey of multiple sites, and specific searches work just as well from Google.
Cclarke
Cclarke
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
This program rocks! It finds what I'm looking for with focus and then provides its own browser to explore the links it finds. And it integrates with DEVONthink. Good deal.
Gorelets
Gorelets
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
WOW! This program is a great research tool because it allows you to monitor changed websites and find new postings on any given topic. The result web is good. I'm a recent convert from the PC, where I used "Copernic" and this program is similar...and better. More modern. Good software!
Coronaminer
Coronaminer
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I have tried it and unfortuneately I don't understand how it can be useful to me. I read many great reviews and am begining to think that I am using it wrong. The price drop for the promo is nice though.
ravi-1
ravi-1
Oct 1 2007
2.2
5.0
Oct 1 2007
5.0
Version: 2.2
The interface is great, instantly accessible and fast. The features are just right, especially the Log tab - for recalling past searches. I've only had it a short time but it looks like it will become my preferred internet search utility.
Staypuffinpc
Staypuffinpc
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
A lot of folks have complained about DevonAgent's results. While it may not be for everyone, I have to say Devontechnologies' algorithms provide interesting alternative views (e.g., graphic connections, 'see also') that are good for helping you to see connections in your data that you might otherwise ignore. Try it out and give it a fair run on some data you already have or are familiar with and see if it opens up new ideas. Good luck!
DifferentVoice
DifferentVoice
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Amazing program, one I highly recommend to everyone! The whole Devon suite is superb, and this is the one I use the most. It has really helped me to uncover and archive some sites I probably wouldn't have found otherwise.
Arobulack
Arobulack
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I get mixed results with this tool, and I'm still not sure it's worth even $29.
Trail-Walker
Trail-Walker
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Nice graphical summary of major keywords it identified during a search. I run Network SpyAlert (similar to LittleSnitch) and had to OK 30 connections during my first search --- DA's log mentiioned many TimeOuts, so I will probably need to grant it unrestricted access if I buy it. (40% off today is better than the regular academic discount of 25%.)
Rellimarual
Rellimarual
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I'd have bought this at full price if I could count on Devon to provide adequate documentation on their products. I finally had to give up on DevonThink because I just could not figure out how to use it, and the documentation was so badly written. When will developers realize that a highly sophisticate tool requires decent instructions?
sjk
sjk
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Like with DEVONthink, there's more to DEVONagent than might be apparent with brief, casual testing. The DEVONagent Video Tutorials in the DEVONacademy can be a useful for getting some familiarity with the product.
Castle-Rose
Castle-Rose
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Holy Cow! $50 for a search engine? Even at $30 it's quite a bit steep. no mater how unique or good it is. I think I'll pass thanks.
Multimago
Multimago
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I've tested this App time ago and the usability is good! and simple to use.
Parkerbennett
Parkerbennett
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I keep hitting the Lookup command key accidentally from other apps. I'd like to change this from command-/.
Chris-Walken
Chris-Walken
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I wish I had more time to try it out before deciding on this price. The last time I tried it I couldn't figure out why some people were raving about it.
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Find DevonAgent a bit overbloated. When looking up information I tend to use the browser... had this app installed and hardly ever used it. Not for me.
Mac-Andy
Mac-Andy
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Very interesting to search more than one engine... I think, it's really helpfull!
NomDeBits
NomDeBits
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Someone should tell DEVONtechnologies about this promo, because they think that they‘re selling DEVONthink Pro for $39.95. Check out the announcement on their blog at http://urltea.com/1mio?someoneisgettingfired
Fonix
Fonix
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Having spent some time trying it, I'm less enthusiastic about it for my needs. I agree wholeheartedly with those who say this would be a good supplemental search tool, especially for academia. But my searches seemed to be too particular, or too specialized, and I would often get vastly disparate results. The visual matix of search terms is pretty cool, I must admit, but otherwise, it just isn't cheap enough yet for me.
F451
F451
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
The graphical presentation of data is worth the price of admission alone for those of us studying relationships both visually and written. DEVONtechnologies has dedicated itself to the Mac community with an exemplary suite of complement data gathering applications.
kibbynet
kibbynet
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I've used an older version of DEVONagent some, and find it a little too much tool when searching for a quick answer. I'd likely use it more if I did research, or needed something a bit more comprehensive. DEVONtech actively improve their products. Also, I've found their support staff to be very responsive.
Quasimodo
Quasimodo
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
The connection to the excellent DevonTHINK makes it doub;y useful.
Tomcody
Tomcody
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
I think I have to look at this app more deeply; I know this app for years but I think I didn't check its power..
Big77
Big77
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
This is a difficult one to rate. I downloaded it and tried a couple of simple searchs for topics with which I am familiar. Most of the results were old and not at all as pertinient as what a simple google search returned. In particular, the ranking was very poor. But on the other hand, it did find things, albeit mostly useless, that I would not have been likely to stumble across otherwise. That might be a good thing if you have exhausted a simple google search and want to dig deeper. Ins ummary, I see this as a supplement to the major search engines -- definitely not a replacement for them!
iGaucho
iGaucho
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
dlwhite: You do not have to have any other Devon products to use DEVONagent. However, it integrates very nicely with DEVONthink Pro or Personal. It allows you to move over your search results and bookmarks from DEVONagent directly within the application. You can see in the screenshot the button in the toolbar for DEVONthink.
Davidusmusicus
Davidusmusicus
Oct 1 2007
2.2
0.0
Oct 1 2007
0.0
Version: 2.2
Fantastic application. Will be a great help to me!