Back to Aqua Data Studio page
Aqua Data Studio free download for Mac

Aqua Data Studio Reviews

20.0.0
24 May 2019

Single interface for common relational databases.

Solidated
17 January 2009

Most helpful

I use Aqua Data Studio almost every day. Having switched from a PC last year, I'm on a Mac and this is the only tool available that's both commercially viable and at a reasonable price. To the reviewers that complain about the $399 price: You guys aren't serious developers. ...Maybe database hobbyists, but no way you guys make a living developing anything. If you did, you'd know just how good a price it actually is. I actually can't think of any other commercial DB software that's cheaper. Can you? I'm very happy with the available database connection types and options as well as the ease of use. Overall the application is rock solid. My only gripe is that on the Mac (don't know about other versions), I don't like the way windows behave when you're creating or altering a table. The focus of elements isn't what I'd prefer but I can deal with it.
Like (4)
Version 7.0.22

Read 24 Aqua Data Studio User Reviews

Rate this app:

ddemers6
08 April 2018
Buyer beware - they do NOT sell perpetual licenses. A perpetual license for a software product (Aqua Data Studio) was purchased in 2015 under the terms of the company's EULA. This software was installed on a single workstation. That workstation was reimaged and replaced. The software application was not 'deactivated' prior to reimaging, however. Upon attempt to reinstall the software on a new workstation through their online activation system, I was provided an error stating that the license was previously activated and the license would need to be reset to proceed. I contacted customer service and they refused to deactivate the license to allow me to use the perpetual license on the new workstation. The company claimed the ability to reset a license requires an active subscription for the perpetual license. In reviewing their EULA (http://www.aquafold.com/store_licensing), there is no indication that activation of a perpetual license requires an active subscription. Rather, 'Subscription Fees' cover maintenance, support and upgrades only. Furthermore, Section 2.3.3 Software Activation of the EULA outlines the requirements for activating the software and there is no indication that a current subscription is required to do so. Customer service offered to allow me to renew a subscription (at a higher cost than what was paid for the original perpetual license) as a remedy. The company is in violation of its own EULA and have been of no assistance in resolving this issue.
Like
Version 18.0.19
Mitzanu
30 June 2011
You can use DbSchema it's much cheaper and also it's one of the best software on the market, try it :)
Like (2)
Version 9.0.15
Solidated
17 January 2009
I use Aqua Data Studio almost every day. Having switched from a PC last year, I'm on a Mac and this is the only tool available that's both commercially viable and at a reasonable price. To the reviewers that complain about the $399 price: You guys aren't serious developers. ...Maybe database hobbyists, but no way you guys make a living developing anything. If you did, you'd know just how good a price it actually is. I actually can't think of any other commercial DB software that's cheaper. Can you? I'm very happy with the available database connection types and options as well as the ease of use. Overall the application is rock solid. My only gripe is that on the Mac (don't know about other versions), I don't like the way windows behave when you're creating or altering a table. The focus of elements isn't what I'd prefer but I can deal with it.
Like (4)
Version 7.0.22
Blee
21 January 2008
I just came back to this software because I needed to do some database work and was shocked to see the price is no $399 thats pretty insane considering all the other options out there including the slew of free tools.
Like (2)
Version 6.5.7
1 answer(s)
Locomoco
Locomoco
30 July 2008
You get what you pay for. For instance, look around and try to find a decent Stored Procedure debugger. There isn't too many. Sybase Workspace Studio 2.0 costs like $2,000 per license. At that price $400 looks like a steal.
Like (3)
Version 6.5.12
Ynot
28 January 2007
Looks cool, but too expensive. If their price jumps $400 in one step, what's the next price increase going to be? Would have liked to continue to recommend this to my hosting clientele, but I am not going to get them into a program that sees such price increases. I would have much rather seen smaller and consistent price increases throughout the life of this product.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.12
Nemesys
16 January 2007
Ouch! What happened here? $399 for a single-user license? Sorry, that's way too expensive for hobbyists.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.10
Germano60
16 January 2007
Yep, not only it's no longer free but a single license costs $399!!!! OK, nice piece of sw, lots of effort, it's fair to ask money for it. OK, you have full functional version not-expiring for free but that's just for "evaluation purposes". But going from totally free to $399 in just one shot, well guys, that's maybe one step too much. What about considering a special discount or a special pricing for single-computer, single-user licensing?
Like (1)
Version 6.0.10
Ennuini
16 January 2007
While a good application, it should be noted that contrary to the information at the time I downloaded Aqua Data Studio, this version marks a changed pricing scheme, and is in fact no longer free.
Like
Version 6.0.10
Nadeemf
06 September 2005
Great value (free for academics). It does the job pretty well when I use it to query Oracle (both from a Mac and from Windows). Some interactions seem a bit quirky, but it is probably more to do with my ignorance of some Oracle intricacies.
Like
Version 4.5.2
Anonymous
31 August 2005
I'm a professional database developer and this is the app I use for practically all my SQL work. I develop for MS SQL server but spend 90% of my time on a Mac. This is really the only app for the Mac that gets it right (I've tried them all and paid several hundred dollars for some of them). If I didn't have this I would have to spend a lot more time on my Windows machine. It's got a combination of features included in the Microsoft tools that ship with SQL server, plus a few that they don't have (like autocomplete of SQL statments, filling in table names and the like). It's intended for developers who know SQL, not casual users who want something to write SQL for them because they don't know how. It is Java based but performance hasn't been an issue for me (I do most of my development on a dual G5). Note that my high rating in Value is partly because I'm an edu user and it's free for educational use - though I would pay if necessary.
Like (2)
Version 4.5.1
planeten-paultje
29 August 2005
Pasco.com sells a data aquisition program for its probes called "Data Studio". Could be confusing.......
Like
Version 4.5.1
Anonymous
06 May 2005
The feature set is nice but (:::shudder:::) its written in JAVA... YUCK!!! Not exactly a performance/speed demon...
Like
Version 4.0
3 answer(s)
Ynot
Ynot
03 May 2006
That is not the author's problem that Apple cannot have a decent Java Runtime Environment. Apple's Java implementation stinks at best.
Like
Version 4.7.2
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
03 May 2006
And just how, specifically, does Apple's implementation "stink"?
Like
Version 4.7.2
Ynot
Ynot
03 May 2006
Extremely slow and does not work well with many enterprise level systems that operate in Java, such as Cisco. You're right, though. It just gets really frustrating when you see stuff in Java run great on another machine, yet when you try to run it on the Mac, it either fails to run, runs so slowly that it times out or does not process the information correctly. I would really love to run some of the admin applets I have for equipment here, but they just don't work effectively, not to mention efficiently on the Mac. I am sure in many cases, Java on MOSX is perfectly fine for some.
Like
Version 4.7.2
Anonymous
19 October 2004
For some alternatives see www.mludi.net/YourSQL/ and DataWerkz by www.uwerkz.com!
Like
Version 3.7
Anonymous
02 August 2004
while I may only need OS X 10.2.4 (I have 10.2.8), once down loaded, I then discover that it wont start-up due that I dont have java 1.4! And were do I find it? How frustrating!!!!
Like
Version 3.7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 August 2004
A Software Update from System Preferences will give you Java 1.4
Like
Version 3.7
Anonymous
06 June 2004
Defintely robust, but don't get it twisted - This is NOT a mac-friendly app. "Visual editing" does not mean graphic editing. This is not a schema generator by any means. This simply gives you kernel level control over your db. The learning curve is sheer, but a short hike for sure. Not my personal fav, but likely useful when I work with multiple database types and servers.
Like
Version 3.7
SCTN
02 June 2004
The best of the best.
Like
Version 3.7
Anonymous
11 November 2003
Yeah I've been using it when I have to for a few versions but its nowhere near what it needs to be to use as a developer. Its basically just able to run queries & save result sets. Not sueful for much beyond that.
Like
Version 3.5
Anonymous
04 June 2003
been using it for a few days on RedHat 9.0 connecting to MS SQL Server 2000. Its not bad for a start but it is missing some key features - most notably the lack of a DTS package editor. Also, right-click pop-up menu in left pane is not context-sensitive - which can be very frustrating. Finally, I cannot figure out how to open and edit a stored procedure from the sql server (right-click | edit would be nice). Oh, and there is no graphical 'design table' mode like in MS. In fact, the left pane seems to be browse only - i cannot open anything, queries, tables.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
20 May 2003
Really nice. I'm not a SQL-guru but I can use this. It makes me feel right in control over my database. My collegues use EnterpriseManager on Win, but this goes far beyond... Well done..
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
19 May 2003
Its good for what it is but doesnt work well dor a database administrator. I dont understand why all the graphical interfaces focus on data manipulation but dont give options for actually managing the structure of the table. All of the commands to create, edit, & delete tables & columns can be done via SQL, so why not just add the functionality to automate those SQL scripts. OSX needs a good DB management solution for MS SQL server that includes these basic (and preferably advanced as well) database desidn functions. Also, Java is slow. It'd be nice to see it in Objective C instead.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
18 May 2003
An excellent program, rivals all of the pay programs that do the same and in some cases even less than Aqua Data Studio 3.0. No driver downloads required for SQL servers. The best part is it's FREE!
Like
Version 3.0
S.M.
11 May 2003
Good start but to slow and to complicated to work with every day. :( There are much better tools out there for the PC then this, just wish somebody would bring those to OSX.
Like
Version 2.0.7
ale2000-1
31 March 2003
Maybe even someone like me who's trying to get to grips with MySQL from scratch will now be able to make it! Just tried it for a few minutes, but am enthusiastic. Only thing I don't like is to have to start it from the Terminal (but it's such an easy thing to do though...)
Like
Version 2.0.7
Anonymous
21 February 2003
Clear interface, very fast. That's the forth Java SQL query maker I test, and the best no doubt.
Like
Version 2.0