Back to PDF Browser Plugin page
PDF Browser Plugin free download for Mac

PDF Browser Plugin Reviews

2.4.4
13 March 2012

Allows Web browsers to display PDF documents.

Sunburn
23 March 2009

Most helpful

This would be GREAT if it worked with the scroll wheel! The features are very nice, it loads fast, overall, very good--but not great. Could be great...
Like (6)
Version 2.3

Read 147 PDF Browser Plugin User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
02 May 2014
I've been using this for years when I was on PPC, but now I find Safari's integrated pdf management a lot better and faster. It has not the menus of PDF Browser Plugin, but for browsing pdfs on line, it's a lot smoother.
Like
Version 2.4.4
Aargl
10 May 2013
Doesn't seem to work anymore in the latest Safari 5.1.9 (may be also the former ones, I don't use it very often...)
Like
Version 2.4.4
π
22 December 2012
Great, but backspace for back is not working. Please improve. :)
Like
Version 2.4.4
misterjspencer
11 June 2012
It would be even better if it worked with adobe reader typewriter tool, so you could fill in pdf forms and print them. here's hoping
Like
Version 2.4.4
Samadams
12 March 2012
Crashes with Firefox 10.0.2. See https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=733704 I attempted to revert to 2.4.2, only to discover it won't load pdf's at all now.
Like
Version 2.4.3
5 answer(s)
Samadams
Samadams
22 March 2012
I sent an email to Manfred Schubert about my problem. He was prompt in responding and asked me to email the Safari and Firefox crash logs. Manfred identified the culprit as Flip4Mac. What? I thought I'd uninstalled that a long time ago (I knew Flip4Mac was causing me problems with other apps). Turns out the only way to properly uninstall Flip4Mac is with it's own Uninstaller (I'd used iTrash). So I reinstalled Flip4Mac, uninstalled it, and installed PDF Browser Plugin 2.4.4. Now we're golden. I have to say I'm thoroughly impressed with Manfred. He went way above and beyond the call of duty! If only I could get that kind of support for all the apps I've paid for. Thanks Manfred! You're awesome!
Like (1)
Oo0-bailey-0oO
Oo0-bailey-0oO
09 May 2012
To offer a contrasting view, I emailed Schubert support 2 weeks ago and still haven't received a response. I had 2.4.2 installed in Firefox 11 when PDFs seemed to stop loading in browser around the beginning of April. I noticed that the plugin wouldn't update itself so I had to uninstall it and then install 2.4.4, but that didn't fix the issue. I know I'm not the only person with this problem. It turns out four other people I know at work and elsewhere are having the same issue as well. I hope Manfred fixes it soon.
Like
per4manz
per4manz
11 September 2012
Attempted to fix same issue on FF version 14 and greater, but to no avail. Flip4Mac was not the culprit. Turns out it is the "plugin click-to-play" feature in FF that I had enabled. While the feature works fine for most plugins, it would load the PDF browser plugin but not the actual PDF. Only disabling this feature in about:config or by enabling plugins for a particular site (plugin icon next to favicon only when click-to-play is enabled) would allow the plugin to load PDFs properly. It is a known bug and supposedly Mozilla is working on it. While either "fix" is not ideal, it is the only option at this point if you have enabled click-to-play.
Like
Oo0-bailey-0oO
Oo0-bailey-0oO
11 September 2012
I think our issues precede plugin click to play. That didn't appear until Firefox 14. Regardless, after not receiving a response from the developer, I moved on to Mozilla's PDF Viewer add-on. It's pretty great, I recommend it.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
15 August 2013
Samadams, I'd say you're pretty darn lucky - I've sent 3 emails to him and never received a reply. It would sure be nice if he could make the scroll function work when using up/down arrow keys.
Like
Gregm
16 February 2012
Just noticed that I had to remove the older version first. (Previous ver showed in the Firefox add-ons after "successful" installation of 243 --- inspite of restarting the browser and computer)
Like
Version 2.4.3
Robotank
16 February 2012
Very nice--provides a substantial improvement over the bare-bones default PDF in Safari. Thanks very much for the free-for-non-profit-use licensing model.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.3
Dana-Sutton
15 February 2012
Sounds useful. But I'd rather spend a week in a Turkish drunk tank than spend seventy bucks on a browser plugin.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.3
1 answer(s)
Croquignol
Croquignol
15 February 2012
Yes but you can read on the developer's web site that "PDF Browser Plugin 2 is free for not-for-profit activities if used at home or at educational institutions." I guess you won't regret your Turkish drunk tank week anymore. ;-)
Like (4)
Macguruguy
15 February 2012
Like the addition of scroll wheel.
Like
Version 2.4.3
umaromc
15 February 2012
Works really well. Adobe's Plug-in never worked with Mozilla's browsers, its free and even works with Mozilla's 13.0a1 Nightly builds of Firefox. From a loaded PDF I can Save, Print or open with Preview/default PDF viewer.
Like
Version 2.4.3
VictorPrijker
14 February 2012
An amazing web plugin. My Firefox can't live without it.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.3
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
15 February 2012
Agreed, and still works with my Nightly 13.0a1 Builds
Like (1)
Molamola
05 January 2012
Great features, works with FireFox - only complaint: scrolling is still sloooow and cho o oo pp y... this really sucks... if this could be fixed it would be 5 stars +
Like
Version 2.4.2
monty-3
22 December 2011
Works more reliably for me than Adobe's plugin or Safari. Ready access to print and save. CONS: No ability to digitally edit a pdf form like you can with Adobe's plugin. I don't know if this is a CON or a bug as the developer never responds to emails for support (CON - no support), but you cannot PASTE anything into the Save Dialog for a filename. I tried Snow Leopard and Lion. Lion was a brand new clean install. No ability to paste in the name field. It would be nice if at least the developer responded whether that is a bug or not, but since he hasn't I'll assume it is a bug.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
Eric•Woehler
13 September 2011
ok, I have solved the issue of blank pages when opening PDFs in FF: do not strip away the 32-bit code. The plugin works perfectly when both the 32- and 64-bit code is present, but if the 32-bit code is stripped (eg xslimmer) then the plugin shows blank pages. hope this helps others out there
Like
Version 2.4.2
Eric•Woehler
09 September 2011
Despite having d/l the most recent FF 7beta (b4) and re-installed the plugin, FF continues to tell me that it has 2.4.1 installed, despite the installer telling me it is v2.4.2. Very strange and perhaps is why I continue to get blank pages in FF when Safari works fine.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Eric•Woehler
09 September 2011
doesn't work on FF 7.0b2 - opens to blank page/screen used to work flawlessly then updated to b2 and nada... anyone with any ideas?
Like
Version 2.4.2
umaromc
10 August 2011
Works flawlessly for me; Firefox 8.0a1 Nightly build (Add-On Compatibility Reporter installed to disable Add-On version/compatibility check), OS X 10.7
Like
Version 2.4.2
Tozzo
09 August 2011
This does not work in firefox 3 anymore when used in lion.
Like
Version 2.4.2
r2xman
09 August 2011
Safari opens pdf's just fine without this.
Like
Version 2.4.2
2 answer(s)
Molamola
Molamola
31 August 2011
but Firefox wont, and the Firefox pdf Plugin isn't (officially) working with the actual FF Version. So I am really glad this Plugin now has been updated to support Intel Macs and recent browsers. If you don't need it, skip it, but why give it a 1/2 star review??? It's not bad only because it makes no sense to you.
Like
Lostcities
Lostcities
25 October 2011
Safari (5.1) without the plugin opened no pdfs; with the plug-in, opens only some. The others return a blank black page.
Like
2stepbay
02 August 2011
Does not work on Safari 5.1. All buttons are inactive. Emailed developer over a week ago. No response.
Like
Version 2.4.1
3 answer(s)
f-rol-orange-fr1926
f-rol-orange-fr1926
02 August 2011
Hi, In Safari 5.1 I could not longer download or view PDF files. I had only a black background after downloading. I removed PDF Browser Plugin, everything works fine now in 32/64 bits. Regards, F Rol (France)
Like
Molamola
Molamola
06 August 2011
Buttons come back after a few seconds for me, but the PlugIn regulary maxes out one core of my cpu for no reason. Have to force quit the process or quit safari. It seems there are some serious issues with this plugin and safari 5.1
Like
Molamola
Molamola
08 August 2011
there is a new Version 2.4.2 on the download page (not listed on the homepage yet) which seems to correct the problems.
Like
Grandpa-John
02 July 2011
I am having trouble here. With many of the pdf pages online, the Shubert plugin will return a PDF icon with a question mark. As soon as I remove the plugin I can read the file online just fine. I am using the latest version of Safari and this is the first time that the Shubert plugin does not work properly for me.
Like
Version 2.4.1
Eric•Woehler
28 June 2011
Happy to report newest version (2.4.1) works in 64-bit mode with Firefox 5. Don't know why it didn't work before (see my comments below) but all is well now. Congrats to dev for maintaining this critical plugin.
Like (3)
Version 2.4.1
smtips
26 June 2011
And the Dev wants to charge money for this when it's not compatible in 64 bit mode on the most popular browser on the planet?? Hello....Dev?!? I was going to use this til I read that.
Like
Version 2.4.1
3 answer(s)
smtips
smtips
26 June 2011
Before you come at me with both barrels...yes I know the price is for a site license. Still not worth it...it's a browser plugin that doesn't work in 64 bit firefox...and MacUpdate needs to prominently note that the cost is for a site license, and you Mr. Dev. need to find out why it doesn't work in 64 bit FF...because like was said already...so you can use 32 bit Firefox...but who would want to? Pretty much all Macs that are less than 10 years old are 64 bit.
Like
Dmcrimson
Dmcrimson
27 June 2011
Mmm, I'm on 64-bit Fx here and just checked the plugin - definitely works.
Like
umaromc
umaromc
01 July 2011
Same here [as Dmcrimson]- works fine 64-bit. Actually I'm using it on the 7.0a1 Nightly
Like
umaromc
24 June 2011
WORKS WITH FIREFOX IN 64-BIT MODE! Works quite well, I NEVER remember it rendering this fast!- FREE for personal and educational use! How could I complain! Using on Firefox/Nightly 7.0a1 Build with 'Add-On Compatibility Reporter' Add-On which allows older Add-Ons to load with newer builds of Firefox. I'm SUPER happy- I hope the developer takes donations!
Like
Version 2.4.1
Drsfg
18 June 2011
No longer works in Camino or Firefox. Completely crashes Camino, nothing renders in Firefox. It does work in Safari.
Like
Version 2.4
3 answer(s)
Lgoldman
Lgoldman
21 June 2011
Works for me with Firefox in 32-bit mode.
Like
Drsfg
Drsfg
22 June 2011
But I'm not using 32-bit mode, why would one?
Like (1)
Drsfg
Drsfg
22 June 2011
This is from the Camino Project: You recently submitted a Camino crash report[1], presumably triggered by viewing a PDF file. If you haven't already diagnosed the problem yourself, this crash is caused by version 2.4 of the SchubertIT "PDF Browser Plugin". Unfortunately, this newest version of the plug-in only supports Safari, per its "System Requirements"[2]. The previous version, 2.3.2, is still available for download[3] and works properly with Camino 2 on Mac OS X 10.5 and 10.6.
Like
umaromc
17 June 2011
From developer's website; "New in PDF Browser Plugin 2.4: Support for Safari in 64-bit Mouse wheel support in Safari"
Like
Version 2.4
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
17 June 2011
MU says "10.4 or later " but actually, version 2.4 is for 10.6.
Like
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
17 June 2011
Thank you both for identifying that information. I've updated the listing!
Like (1)
Shock-J
16 June 2011
OMG.... $70 for a browser plugin that reads PDFs? I'm speechless. Didn't this use to be free? Unless this thing does your taxes and makes coffee, the developer must be crazy.
Like (2)
Version 2.4
3 answer(s)
Caslon
Caslon
16 June 2011
"PDF Browser Plugin 2 is free for not-for-profit activities if used at home or at educational institutions."( from the developer's web site)
Like (3)
Shock-J
Shock-J
16 June 2011
Ah...well then I humbly recant my previous comment. MacUpdate needs to make note of the free "qualifications." Just flat out stating it's $70 is misleading... and scary.
Like (3)
Molamola
Molamola
24 June 2011
As stated, free for personal use, and $69 buys a site licence for as many computers your organisation has within 5 miles. Which could be a few hundred.
Like (1)
Katharhino
14 April 2010
Installed seamlessly (I'm running 10.5 on a PPC iMac) and then I navigated to a PDF file in Camino. It works! Hallelujah! That's one small annoyance solved. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Zeev-Belkin
10 September 2009
Both the version 2.3.1 and 2.3.2 are buggy and do not work properly with Firefox 3.5.x when a fire sidebar is opened. This plugin is absolutely useless: it can not be used with FF and there is no sense to use it with Safari because there are much better PDF plugin for Safari from Adobe (sipped as part of the Acrobat Reader).
Like (2)
Version 2.3.2
Nguyenhm16
02 September 2009
The built-in PDF support in Safari on Snow Leopard is even better than this plug-in, if only because the page-up/down keys and mouse wheel behave like you'd expect, and you can search through the PDF using Safari's search feature. The only "downside" to the built-in support in Safari is that there is no PDF plug-in toolbar. After using this plug-in and Adobe's (on PC's too) for years, it feels as little weird for PDFs to be treated this way by the browser.
Like (4)
Version 2.3.2
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
02 September 2009
I mostly like the minimalist PDF viewing in Safari, with the few mouse-activated controls at the bottom hidden by default. One annoyance is it disables the Command-[ shortcut for History > Back.; I still haven't checked if that might be caused by a plug-in conflict.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Cealus
02 September 2009
Doesn't seem to load under Snow Leopard.
Like
Version 2.3.2
4 answer(s)
Wooden-Brain-Concepts
Wooden-Brain-Concepts
02 September 2009
On their web site: Snow Leopard PDF Browser Plugin only works in 32-bit mode of Safari. To switch to 32-bit mode select Safari in Finder, choose "Get Info" in the "File" menu and select "Open in 32-bit mode".
Like
Version 2.3.2
Cealus
Cealus
02 September 2009
I am in 32-bit mode due to 1Password2. I tried it again and it still doesn't seem to be the plug-in that shows pdf's. Safari does say it's loaded when I look under installed plug-ins under the help menu. For me, Safari 4.0.3 defaults to the built-in pdf display or will use the Adobe plug-in if its loaded, but not this one. The Adobe plug-in can't handle pdfs in protected folders which is why I was keen to try this one.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Wooden-Brain-Concepts
Wooden-Brain-Concepts
02 September 2009
I'm pretty sure that the Adobe one will Trump this one. I didn't know about that 32 bit trick and tried it -- and all of a sudden to my happy surprise I got Glims, AdBlock, and the Adobe plugin. Since the Adobe plugin now works, I no longer need this. Try uninstalling the Adobe one.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Cealus
Cealus
02 September 2009
I tried the reinstall again and this time said to install for me only instead of all users. This time it worked just fine and works on my protected folder as well. Yes, a lot of other add ons only work in 32-bit mode. I'm sure as developers like yourself get time to update to 64-bit these glitches will subside. Just like moving from Tiger to Leopard.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Sunburn
23 March 2009
This would be GREAT if it worked with the scroll wheel! The features are very nice, it loads fast, overall, very good--but not great. Could be great...
Like (6)
Version 2.3
2 answer(s)
Stormchild
Stormchild
27 March 2009
Was about to leave the exact same review. Lack of scrollwheel support is a showstopper for me. Uninstalled immediately as soon as I noticed it doesn't work.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Meego
Meego
30 March 2009
+1 Ì can't understand how such a simple feature was not implemented. Maybe, between Adobe and Apple, there isn't really a market for a third PDF plugin and sales are terrible...
Like
Version 2.3.1
Plotzenhots
06 March 2009
..wonderfull plugin, developed from one of the gently macpeople ;-) but, wouldn´t it be nice to let it work together with seamonkey? today i´ve tried it with seamonkey 1.1.15 ..but nothing happens :-/ ..the older 2.23 version works with seamonkey in rosetta, i know ..please mr. schubert..make it work with seamonkey ..please, please :-)
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Dcannis
Dcannis
07 March 2009
This also for Firefox3.1 beta ....
Like
Version 2.3
Leopoldbloom
06 March 2009
Very nice plugin. Far more versatile than the default PDF viewer in Safari. The inability to use the scroll wheel is a bit of a nuisance, but it does have grab scrolling, which means you don't have to go to the scroll bar whenever you want to move the window. In conclusion, I'll take the additional features and live without the scroll wheel. Thanks to the dev for making this plugin free for non-commercial use.
Like (2)
Version 2.3
Gordon142
06 March 2009
Nice to see this finally updated. The good news is despite it simply talking about Safari, it appears to work just fine in Firefox. The bad news is it still doesn't support mouse wheel scrolling, something that works fine in the built-in PDF viewer for Safari, the Acrobat plugin, and the google code pdf viewer for Firefox. So you have to ask yourself if you like the added features more or being able to scroll with your mouse. For me at least, the lack of mouse scrolling is a deal-breaker. But hey, it's free.
Like (2)
Version 2.3
2 answer(s)
Hofman
Hofman
07 March 2009
I can't get this to work with FireFox, it simply does not appear in the popup for PDFin the Applications preferences and it also does not appear in the Plugins list in the Add-Ons. Of course I installed it in /Library/Internet Plug-Ins, and I even changed the owner to root. So what else do I need to do to make this work?
Like
Version 2.3
Gordon142
Gordon142
11 March 2009
Not sure what to tell you. I just put it in /Library/Internet Plugins, opened Firefox and it handled any PDFs I loaded. Didn't have to change anything at all within Firefox… I'm using Firefox 3.1 beta 2.
Like
Version 2.3
Eric•Woehler
06 March 2009
Seems to be working fine - am using it with Siretoko intel-optimised version and opens PDFs on the web and on my computer ok. Appears to be better than the Firefox PDF plugin for Mac OS X (v 1.0.1) [see http://code.google.com/p/firefox-mac-pdf/ for details]. Free for personal/educational use.
Like
Version 2.3
Ncc876
19 June 2008
At long last! An alternative has emerged for Intel Mac users! It's not as feature-laden, but it works. firefox-mac-pdf - Google Code: http://code.google.com/p/firefox-mac-pdf/
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
tim-dehring
05 May 2007
Yes, that is because Netscape is not a Universal app, meaning it launches in Rosetta. Shocker here....so does the PDF plugin. Therefore, this plugin is not native to Universal apps unless we force them to open using Rosetta, which is kinda the point about wanting a Universal version of this plugin.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
Jcraig
12 February 2007
This plugin used to receive regular updates, but since the Intel transition, nothing. It would be nice to know one way or the other if the developer intends to create an Intel or UB version. If the answer is no, that's fine, but just let us know so the speculating can end.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.3
Rc1
17 November 2006
I have an Intel--this works great with my Netscape. I can print pdf's off the web again!
Like
Version 2.2.3
MAchintrucbidule459
27 October 2006
Please, make it works on intel machines. Even the one from adobe doesn't work...
Like
Version 2.2.3
Nicolas-F
11 October 2006
Seems not to work with Safari and iMac Intel core duo MAcOS 10.4.8 ( plugin 2.2.3 version). Hope there will be soon a new version ?
Like
Version 2.2.3
Mntbighker
22 September 2006
I see ne reference to Intel support anywhere on their site.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Kittysonnenschein
05 August 2006
I loved this plugin on my old Powerbook, but I'm really bummed there's no Macbook version yet. Is this ever coming???
Like
Version 2.2.3
1 answer(s)
Dgriep
Dgriep
31 August 2006
The plugin will work for Firefox on my intel macbook if you go to Get Info for Firefox and then click the Open using Rosetta button. Then the plugin runs through Rosetta and works. Now when I do this, the PDF Browser Plugin works, but then I have some java problems with Firefox, java animations don't work. So beware.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Tomrakewell
05 July 2006
... it cannot be that complicated to make this work with Safari/OmniWeb on intel Macs. But the developer does not even reply to messages. Is this plugin dead?
Like
Version 2.2.3
Foolsmaster
21 May 2006
Works great on my 12" iBook. Doesn't work anymore with Safari on my new Intel Macmini (but works with firefox...). Someboby's got a clue?
Like
Version 2.2.3
Jcraig
05 April 2006
Just wondering if a universal binary release is imminent?
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
Anonymous
23 November 2005
Fast and stable. The only problem I could notice is that the mouse scroll wheel doesn't work. Much better than sarafi's built in engine.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Anonymous
31 October 2005
Great! But my mouse wheel does not work in omniweb or safari. It does in camino and that piece of junk browser firefox.
Like
Version 2.2.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 November 2005
... and that piece of junk browser firefox. Everyone's entitled to your opinion. ;-) Personally, I don't use (or like) Firefox on OS X but it's far from qualifying as a "piece of junk".
Like
Version 2.2.3
Anonymous
09 September 2005
I think this plugin is great. However, when multiple PDFs are open at once, the buttons in the button bar stop working. This problem is a big nuissance.
Like
Version 2.2.2