Back to Trash It! page
Trash It! free download for Mac

Trash It! Reviews

7.5
24 April 2019

Force-empty your trash can.

blkmc2
21 April 2017

Most helpful

I can't tell you how many times I've gotten a file or folder that tells me it can't be deleted because it's in use. Even though I have no programs open and no servers listed. I downloaded this programs and Ta Da!! No More Problems!! Works every time. Never had any problems or any issues with any other program. I'm running a Mac with OS El Capitan (10.11.6). Will use this program always for those tough files I can't get rid of.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1

Read 150 Trash It! User Reviews

Rate this app:

jcutolo
09 November 2019
I have tried to use it ever since updating my systems (iMac and MacBook Pro) to Catalina 10.15 and 10.15.1. I have removed, rebooted, tried to use via Safe Mode, everything I can find and it still doesn't work. It runs thru all the options, but never empties my Trash Can. I see another person has the same issue and yet no one can tell us why it won't work.
Like
Version 7.5
miyama-fukashi1
10 October 2019
Hello! I use FCPX I have used Trash it! Which can empty unnecessary trash. However Up until now, I was running up to Mojave, but when I changed the OS to Catalina, it became completely unresponsive. I can't erase the trash by clicking "Fast" Is there something wrong? . Do you have an updater?
Like
Version 7.5
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
01 October 2019
It has never failed me in the many years I've been using it.
Like
Version 7.5
joe-151
11 April 2019
Administration...why only use as a last resort?? and not as a replacement finder trash or periodical trash can?. main reason i want to utilize it is for net work removal files that prompt me in saying " can't delete because file is in use..."
Like
Version 7.0.1
richard-c-page
03 February 2019
Failed to remove files in Trash. Folder containing various system files. com.apple.LaunchServices.dv com.apple.nsurlsessiond com.apple.routined SafariFamily
Like
Version 7.0.1
jack2001
17 April 2018
non sempre funziona. a volte devo andare nel cestino e cancellare i files uno ad uno
Like
Version 7.0.1
gcoghill
23 December 2017
I downloaded this for one thing: to delete specific files on an external drive without having to also empty my entire Trash. It worked perfectly for that function.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
Raven-
30 November 2017
Works great and flawless... It does what it must do! No problems for deleting rest files from Time-Machine or other!
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
cayobv
12 June 2017
Diret! End!
Like
Version 7.0.1
daydiggins
12 June 2017
Not working for me. I tried Fast and then Really Stuck, but the items are still in the trash - even though I get the message from Trash It that they've been removed. I tried re-installing the app, restarting the computer, and emailing Tom, but nothing. The files are still there (they're backup files from Time Machine that nothing works to delete.
Like
Version 7.0.1
2 answer(s)
SandraK7452
SandraK7452
29 September 2017
Yep--same problem.
Like
Raven-
Raven-
30 November 2017
Here it works fine with delete some rest files from Time-Machine!
When I delete the files from Time_Machine I use the normal delete from the OS and the rest of the files I delete with the fine app. "Trash It" in mode "Really Stuck" but it takes some time.... And no, its not that long Deleting the whole Time-Machine at once in really stuck means very long............... time ;) ;) :)
Like
sw2015
19 May 2017
Does a great job removing stubborn files. Haven't had any issues with it.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
ajsmall99
24 April 2017
Help! I downloaded Trash It and it says trash is deleted but all trash is still there. I want to empty everything in my trash (old backups). Am I doing something wrong? I double clicked Trash It and hit Fast...said it did it, but trash still there. Did it again and hit Really Stuck...said it did it but trash still there. I restarted the computer and still all of the trash is there. I am running a Mac with Sierra (10.12.4). Thanks in advance!
Like
Version 7.0.1
1 answer(s)
ajsmall99
ajsmall99
26 April 2017
update...trash-it wasn't working...kept hanging. finally re-downloaded it and it worked instantly!! yay!!
Like
blkmc2
21 April 2017
I can't tell you how many times I've gotten a file or folder that tells me it can't be deleted because it's in use. Even though I have no programs open and no servers listed. I downloaded this programs and Ta Da!! No More Problems!! Works every time. Never had any problems or any issues with any other program. I'm running a Mac with OS El Capitan (10.11.6). Will use this program always for those tough files I can't get rid of.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
Eblynn2
27 March 2017
I wasted hours on a number of occasions trying to delete stubborn files. I have used other programs in an attempt to delete files. Now I don't waste my time anymore. I just run TrashIt! Also please make a donation to the developer. If for no other reason for the time he will save you deleting files that are almost impossible to delete any other way.
Like
Version 7.0.1
chrisdefrance
21 December 2016
Trash It did the trick. Files piled up that I did not expect and nothing would remove them. Trash It did excellent work to remove the trash. This is a really good app. Top rated. Thank you.
Like
Version 7.0.1
smprod
03 October 2016
Trash It! worked perfectly on my iMac with OS x 10.6.8!!!!! I had been struggling for days trying to delete my trash and getting the -8003 error message. Tried several scripts I found online but nothing worked until Trash It! Thanks so much!!
Like
Version 7.0.1
Kobalt
30 September 2016
Does what it says and does it every time without a hitch.
Like
Version 7.0.1
d-osbourne-1
03 September 2016
This is the absolute best software to get rid of trash, especially long files. Unfortunately, it may be too good, or I was too quick to delete???? HELP. Is there any way to retrieve deleted files? Using most recent Trash it on a Mac running Yosemite IOS 10.10.5.
Like
Version 7.0
David-Bennett
19 July 2016
Incredible performance! I have tried emptying my trash for months... with NO Success. None. I have had between 25,000 and 32,000 items to delete... and could not trash any of it. I tried several things... and several sites. I even let it run all night trying to empty; but nothing! Pure frustration. Finally I stumbled onto TRASH IT. I was leery of it, but was so frustrated that I decided to try it. I tried it a couple of times not knowing what I was doing, honestly, and failed. But suddenly, I dragged my trash there and it was empty! PRESTO! Really? Yep! It didn't take all night... nor even a minute. It was LITERALLY all gone just like that. Thanks. I do not know what others think, but this worked for me... and freed up 120 Gb of memory! MANY THANKS!
Like
Version 6.0.1
1 answer(s)
tom-nnsw
tom-nnsw
21 July 2016
Thanks, David. Appreciate the kind words. For some reason I don't get notified when people leave comments/reviews so I have to remember to come back here to see if things are going smoothly. Anyone can contact me using the contact form on my site for assistance. Thanks again! -Tom
Like
val-fairhurst
13 July 2016
hi can someone please help - I've used this for ages now & loved it but now it wont work at all.. I've downloaded the newer version too thinking it might be that - but it wont empty the trash either - I've restarted the machine too - why wont it empty?
Like
Version 6.0.1
1 answer(s)
tom-nnsw
tom-nnsw
21 July 2016
Can you please contact me using the contact form on my website. I'll be more than happy to assist if you haven't already gotten it to work. Thanks, Tom
Like
beautyangels
10 July 2016
Hi, Can anyone give me some much needed advice please? I'm running OS X 10.6.8 and tried installing Trash It! 6.1, it wouldn't open (quit unexpectedly error) so after reading some of these post I downloaded the earlier version. This opens up but when I have clicked on the trashcan icon and chose the Fast delete option, my computer is now stuck on the Trash It! Status window("unlocking Volume Trash..." it hasn't moved in 30 minutes although the blue bar (all 5 mm of it) is looking active. The mac trash is full of old Time Machine Backups, (I made the rookie mistake of dragging them into the trash) and the only solution I have left is to remove them with Trash It! but it doesn't appear to be working. What should I do? Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm ready to stick my head through the mac
Like
Version 6.0.1
2 answer(s)
tom-nnsw
tom-nnsw
21 July 2016
Hi,
Can you please contact me using the contact form on my website. I'll be more than happy to assist if you haven't already. Thanks, Tom
Like
tom-nnsw
tom-nnsw
15 August 2016
Go here: http://nonamescriptware.com/contact-us/ Thanks.
Like
giantrobot503
23 May 2016
An essential OS X script. It's never let me down!
Like
Version 6.0.1
Bob Jacobson
26 April 2016
Absolutely indispensable, reliable, and even easier to use than before. No file can resist being erased by TrashIt! I'm a fan. Contribute to its further development, please.

PS I'm running El Capitan OS 10.11.4, no problems whatsoever. But then, I didn't have problems back in the Snow Leopard days, either. This is one tough cookie of an application!
Like
Version 6.0.1
Joypebble
11 April 2016
Old Trashit was great, reliable. The new 6.0.1 installs but will not accept trash items. (Do I have to slip it five bucks to let me in? ;-)
Like
Version 6.0.1
2 answer(s)
Joypebble
Joypebble
11 April 2016
Forgot; Mac OSX 10.7.5
Like
tom-nnsw
tom-nnsw
23 May 2016
Before leaving a one-star review, could you at least contact me using the contact page on my website? I can't duplicate the issue you describe so it would help if you sent me an email so I can help figure out the issue. And no, you don't have to send money for it to work. It's free.
http://nonamescriptware.com/contact-us/
Like
Steve K
03 April 2016
Simple and it just plain works. I just had 3 files on my desktop that I couldn't even put INTO the trash, so I dragged and dropped all three on the Trash It! icon and POOF, they're gone. And it's still working fine for me on 10.11.4!
Like
Version 6.0.1
captaindash
08 December 2015
I can't get it to work. When I double click the Trash it! icon I put on my desktop I get: "APX300-YPS9KR-EZFMWX" doesn’t understand the “«event AGUIReg »” message." When I try to drag/drop an item from the trash on the icon I get: The document “boxfile” can’t be opened because it’s in the Trash. I'm just trying to delete empty folders that are on an external drive. When I do a search for the folder, the one in the trash doesn't even show up. I'm using 10.11.1 Any ideas? (I gave it 4 stars because people seem to like it. Wish it worked for me though)
Like
Version 6.0.1
Sabre45
18 November 2015
Not a review. A problem. I've loved Trash It up until now - now that I've upgraded to Yosemite. I keep getting a message after Trash It completes that says: sudo: unable to stat/etc/sudoers: Permission denied sudo: no valid sudoers sources found, quitting The trash does not get emptied. So I checked and found that I was running Trash It 5.0. I downloaded and installed 6.0.1 but the problem persists. I could not figure a way to check and change the permissions on the Trash. Any ideas? Thanks. hundriver@earthlink.net
Like
Version 6.0.1
ann-wregg
26 October 2015
Fantastic program -- had lots to delete and realised that it was going to probably take weeks. Trash It did it in seconds.
Like
Version 6.0.1
momiller77
17 September 2015
Fantastic to see something as simple and useful as this! Has saved me many hours of frustration! Thanks!
Like
Version 6.0.1
abrancato
14 August 2015
Re: Notification of Donation Received
Hi Tom,
Gratitude, more than generosity, was my primary motivation ;-)
Yesterday, after (intentionally) deleting a Photos "work.photoslibrary" which had contained about 7 GB of edited photos, which were also previously deleted from within the Photos app, I immediately went to empty the OS X Trash. I was soon faced with this:

Screen Shot 2015-08-12 at 3.44.38 PM.png

I have no idea why there would have been over 840,000 items!!?? Since I periodically empty the trash the only action I can imagine having caused such havoc was the aforementioned deletion of my "work" photoslibrary (not the system's default photoslibrary).

Anyway, I tried several times to delete them from the trash but I was faced with an excruciatingly long delete process. I tried Onyx’s trash removal but it kept getting hung up and displaying a long, inscrutable “Error 1” message.

So, in desperation I decided to try patience. After 10 hours of processing it managed to remove a mere 2,000 items (.24% of the total). It might have taken months to empty the trash at that rate. I even tried to perform an Info on the Trash, but after an hour of trying to calculate the size of the folder I gave up on trying to find out.

I went in search of a brute force method. I'm an old DOS hack, and I've got a passing familiarity with OS X Terminal commands but the fear of starting yet another runaway process that had no end in sight made me shy away from using Terminal commands such as:

sudo rm -rf ~/.Trash
sudo rm -rf /Volumes/*/.Trashes

Then an article led me to your product, Trash It! The reviews were highly favorable and inspired confidence, so I gave it a try. For the first time I was able to see immediately that my trash contained over 52 GB of junk inside a "package".

Screen Shot 2015-08-13 at 8.41.48 AM.png

Within about 1 hour, Trash It! had managed to practically clear the entire trash. There were a 2 or 3 times when the program requested that I "allow your trashcan a moment to reset". The dialog box did not instruct me to restart the program, but I did anyway. At the end the computer had to be restarted and that finished the job.

Screen Shot 2015-08-13 at 12.16.25 PM.png

In the end I had an EMPTY TRASH!
And that's, why I'm so grateful. :-)
Adrian
Like
Version 6.0.1
1c1e3d07
04 August 2015
One REALLY SLICK tool. I had several Photo Libraries I tried to trash by the conventional trash can and it was going to take HOURS. Trash it! did the job in a few minutes. I'm running 10.10.4 and it is SMOOTH in operation. Don't forget to contribute to the developer!
Like
Version 6.0.1
Slowandsteady
26 June 2015
App worked great for me while trying to delete a large clone folder from the trash. I was unsuccessful with regular trash and did not want to use Terminal to do so at the root level. Good reviews here and elsewhere led me to try Trash It!. Happy I did. What took more than 24 hours and did not complete in the regular trash took an hour or two with Trash It! My only complaint is that there is no progress bar to show you either the amount completed or that it is even running...you just have to trust it is running (or I guess you could look in Activity Monitor). Just add some type of spinning ball or progress bar and you got yourself a 5 star app. I am running 10.9.5 and it runs clean and fast with no issues.
Like
Version 6.0.1
groot1946
16 June 2015
I downloaded Trash It to my Mac 10.6 and it won't open. Is there some trick? I am reading all these great reviews
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
3 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
01 July 2015
Judging from my own experience, and that of other reviewers here, the app works just fine, which leads me to think it's all at your end.

Doesn't seem quite fair of you to give the app half a star because *you* can't open it. Try re-installing it and have a read of the user instructions here http://www.nonamescriptware.com/installation-and-usage/

If you still have problems, contact the developers http://www.nonamescriptware.com/contact-us/
Like
MGMacUser
MGMacUser
27 August 2015
I had a simliar problem.
With OS 10.6.8, Trash it! 6 was not able to open. I posted an inquiry to Mad Hatters and got a near immediate response to try Trash it! 5.2.

You know what? It worked. I had 1.6 GB of unwanted items in the trash, and presto, gone in a minute or so. Developers who make software like this are worth their weight in gold (or gigabytes). Try 5.2 and see if that works. (Just a thought; consider a contribution to the developers as a sign of appreciation, and to keep them working on new helpful products :-) I can't tell you how much frustration this simple freebie eliminated.
Like (1)
Garbanzito
Garbanzito
13 October 2015
it looks like the OS version compatibility info is incorrect for this listing; that's too bad because it has misled several people already; TrashIt! 6.0.1 crashes on launch for me on OS X 10.7.5

version 10.5.2 (from the "older versions" link in the description) worked for me
Like
Diogo-Cocharro
16 May 2015
Version 6 constantly crashes in my system (10.7.5). :/
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
1 answer(s)
Garbanzito
Garbanzito
13 October 2015
same OS version, same problem — crash on launch, while displaying "Trash It!" is an application downloaded from the Internet. Are you sure thou want to open it?"
Like
collegeforall
30 April 2015
A solid, muscular app! Wrestled Time Machine files out of my trash and made them vanish after I had tried so many other things. Brilliant!
Like
Version 6.0.1
Pat-II
16 April 2015
Like others, Trash It! has been saving me for several years. It is fast and very easy to use, and the ONLY program I have found that can delete all the stuck files in my Trash bin. The developers deserve all the donations they can get!
Like
Version 6.0.1
tom-35
07 April 2015
After going absolutely nuts for nearly an hour when i ignorantly tried to trash almost six months of Time Machine backups in what I thought was a 'normal' way, I read about Trash It! on a Time Machine disaster thread. I downloaded the app and in less than ten minutes I'd been saved! Problem over, done, finito -- fantastic! I'd give the program SIX stars if I could, it is so amazing at solving one of the most vexing Mac problems I've had since first turning on a 128K Max in 1984. Great, great application, so get it "just in case."
Like
Version 6.0.1
basuhr
31 March 2015
Just amazing!! I am so grateful. Like some of you guys I had manually deleted files from my time machine. I know now this is a very bad idea - but thanks to this thread with info about Trash It I managed to get rid of more than 100.000 files!! It took all night, but Trash It made it! It is just fantastic. I am not a very experienced MAC user, so I was in deep shit when I found out what I previos had done wrong. I have made my donations! Indeed Trash It is worth it. :)
Like
Version 6.0.1
alanbleiweiss
25 March 2015
Amazing! I had over 7,000 files in the trash bin after recently helping a friend migrate files from an old laptop to my external drive, then to her new laptop. When I tried to clear the bin, only a few files had been deleted 15 minutes into it. I was freaked out.

Then I got the "you can't do that because you don't have permission, even though it's your hard drive" message and the "but what file can't I do that with, how am I supposed to figure that out with seven thousand files!!!?" was instantly bringing my head to near implosion point.

A quick search led me to Trash It! so I figured since it was here on MacUpdate, I'd trust it.

WOW. Click. Click. Password. Click. Done. Instant. Effortless. Saved my bacon!
Like
Version 6.0.1
Kobalt
16 March 2015
If you don't already have this, go get it!

And send the dev a couple of bucks for his trouble if you can afford to miss out on that cup of coffee and muffin later in the week. (I have no financial or other commercial interest in the app or the dev's company – I just really like it :-) .)
Like
Version 6.0.1
tbernis
06 March 2015
Works like a charm !
Like
Version 6.0.1
Graphic-Mac
04 March 2015
Only thing this little gem needs is black/gray icon to match Yosemite's window Toolbar icons
Like
Version 6.0.1
peterelliot
07 February 2015
I save so much time and frustration by using the Trash It! app - Apple's own OS (Yosemite) too frequently fails to do the job but using Trash It! keeps me moving through my work without any hassles. Thanks to the developer for making this fast and reliable solution available, easily worth whatever you're willing to donate to support his work.
Like
Version 6.0.1
Gary-L-Gray
03 February 2015
This app completely rocks. I spent an hour with my department's IT guy and 2 hours and 15 minutes on the phone with Apple and we couldn't get rid of a locked file in the trash (you wouldn't believe all the stuff we tried). After escalating to a higher level support guy at Apple, he suggested I try this app and it worked immediately. Amazing.
Like
Version 6.0.1
bparis3902
08 January 2015
Cleared my Trash of Folder and file that was stuck there in trash hell! suggested by MacGeek Gab Podcast. Great product and i don't have to screw around opening the Terminal!
Like
Version 6.0.1
jack2001
07 December 2014
ottimo programma. molto utile
Like
Version 6.0.1
Funjoy
06 November 2014
I had a read me file inside a folder and both were locked. Using Get Info to unlock them appeared to work, but the trash would still not empty, claiming the files were still locked. I went to Macupdate, searched for a free "trash delete" app, found Trash It!, and it worked perfectly.
Like
Version 6.0.1
Mary-Mac-User
03 November 2014
Thank you!!! You saved me an hour a day!!! Works like a charm!!!! Why doesn't Apple pay you for this?
Like
Version 6.0.1
pedrotaquelim
21 October 2014
It did not emptied the trash, the first time I've use it after I upgraded to OS X Yosemite. Anyone else with problems in OS X 10.10?
Like
Version 6.0.1
2 answer(s)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
21 October 2014
There's still a folder stuck in the trash. :-(
Like
fahrwest
fahrwest
22 November 2014
I have the same problem w/Yosemite.
Like
Jazzyguy
13 October 2014
Excellent Application. When I need to trash something and the finder says something like this application is in use.When it obviously isn't .I get out Tashit and it does the job. I rely on it whenever the finder won't let me trash something. 5 stars for an outstanding application.
Like
Version 6.0.1