Back to Camino page
Camino free download for Mac

Camino Reviews

2.1.2
15 March 2012

Lean and fast Web browser with Gecko rendering engine.

Gordon142
19 November 2009

Most helpful

I understand that the Camino team is small, but in the years since its debut, the browser world has changed, and it's just not clear what purpose this browser serves anymore. When Camino was released, Safari was in its infancy with a very limited feature-set and a long list of major sites that failed to render in webkit. Firefox was rough and slow and very badly integrated on the Mac OS. Camino gave you the attractive and mac-like interface of Safari with the powerful and widely compatible rendering engine of Firefox. A winning combination at the time. Well, in the last few years Safari and Firefox have made massive strides. Safari has matured rendering and feature-wise. Webkit is now considered one of the best and most compatible rendering engines on the market and is widely used on the Desktop and mobile space. It is rare indeed to encounter a site that Safari cannot render properly. Firefox is faster, more feature-full, and integrates much better into the Mac OS features and appearance. Camino has not kept up at all. Version 2.0 adds nothing terribly compelling and is essentially just trying to play catch-up with the big players. Camino's rendering, which used to be one of its big selling points, is far behind Firefox. Camino's javascript performance is about on par with Internet Explorer 8, and Firefox and Safari leave it in the dust in this respect. I just can't find any reason to use Camino at this point. If you want a quick-launching, completely mac-like app, use Safari. If you want a large integrated feature-set and true extensibility, use Firefox.
Like (10)
Version 2.0

Read 580 Camino User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mr-Zark
21 March 2015
This was probably the only browser that handled Flash extremely well back in the day when Safari and Firefox had horrendous issues with Flash. It's so sad to see this browser being a casualty in the browser wars.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
BDog
09 July 2014
This browser will always hold a warm place in my heart. I was involved with it via the forums for many years, still the best browser I ever used.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.2
MacUpdate-Lon
31 May 2013
Camino Reaches Its End: http://caminobrowser.org/blog/
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
4 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
01 June 2013
Farewell old friend, you will be missed.
Like (2)
Penguirl
Penguirl
01 June 2013
For those like me who would like to get the most recent, and final, nightly build it and other nightlies are available here: http://ftp.mozilla.org//pub/mozilla.org/camino/nightly/ Makes me sick, with all the garbage on the MAS and quality Cocoa software like Camino gets left by the wayside.
Like (5)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
25 November 2013
It's of course possible for developers to get the source and continue.
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
25 November 2013
Camino source: http://ftp.mozilla.org//pub/mozilla.org/camino/source/
Like (1)
Unicorn
27 May 2013
Sometime I like just sitting on my bed with my laptop~ using any other browser will start burning my legs, but this does just fine for things I need it to do. I don't use it as much as other things, but it's a nice alternative when I get tired of firefox burning up :) The flash is disabled by default, unless you want to use it. There's some other weaknesses as far as website compatibility sometimes, but that's okay.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Bob Jacobson
25 April 2013
I've been using Camino again over Chrome and definitely Safari and Firefox. It's still the fastest, most direct, most stable, and complete. Chrome may be better tied to Google applications, and it has a few nifty features like auto-translation -- but I hardly use Gmail anymore and I can always hit a toolbar icon to get Google Translate. So for the speed I've gotten back, and the excellent linkage to various extensions and plug-ins (those still available), I've given up very little. Here's hoping someone revisits Camino and brings out the next version, or a new variant, whatever it may be. I love Camino.
Like
Version 2.1.2
OhEssex
14 February 2013
Coming up on 1 year without an update. I think McCoy said it best: "He's dead, Jim"...
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
4 answer(s)
Tanner1294
Tanner1294
04 March 2013
No no no! They're still doing nightly development builds. I just got an update about a week ago in fact. It's still not going to be very.. good though. I've noticed that since it's advertising as FireFox 4 I'm constantly switching browsers to use websites that deny access to these old FF's. It's pretty sad considering the speed and low mem use of Camino.
Like
Tanner1294
Tanner1294
04 March 2013
I stand corrected. Another nightly build was released today!
Like
Dp-G4-450guy
Dp-G4-450guy
26 March 2013
I love the developer's loyalty but as stated by moz.org Camino team, w/o funding, it's just going to slowly fade away in importance. A shame. Used to be my main browser, but today, many sites just won't render properly or allow you to use it interactively.
Like
sjk
sjk
11 April 2013
moz.org is not the Camino team's site.
Like
Michaelthegeek
25 November 2012
The nightly is still going.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Macroradical
17 November 2012
I use to love this browser, version 2.1.2 is unstable crash very often, also my MBP 10.6.8 over heat when using camino.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Sxreader
11 November 2012
I don't know why anyone would use this browser. It is *reaaaaly* slow. On my mac peacekeeper benchmark gives the following results: Chrome 24: 3808 Safari 6: 3154 Camino 2.1.2: 778 ipad 4th generation: 951 An ipad's browser is faster than camino on a macbook pro and Chrome is about 5 times faster and safari 4. Clearly this software is somewhat abandoned and does not receive the same development effort as other browsers.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
DNAgent
30 June 2012
Camino used to be my browser of choice, but in the 2.1.x version, the developers changed the autocomplete algorithm such that you only get 10 results, and the results are not stem matches to what you type in the URL window. Also, I've been noticing more and more pages which do not render correctly. As a result, I'm now looking at going back to Safari or Firefox. It's a shame, because it really is a nice, fast, lean browser, as the description suggests.
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
18 July 2012
I'm still using Camino, but indeed there are more and more sites that give me problems and that I have to load in Safari or Firefox. Years ago, firefox was so slow launching, so heavy, but now it has become real fast there's no big reason not to use it instead of Camino (Actually I've set MacUpdate as my startup page in Camino, that I use mainly for it! ;-) For PPC users, there's also TenFourFox that is really efficient (actually a PPC port of Firefox — at this time 10.0.6 ESR version)
Like
Batdan
24 May 2012
Tried it again, after a year and it still doesn't render pages well on some sites, especially with Flash. Used it as my favorite browser for years, when all Mac browsers did't fare too well in rendering more than a few sites. Some irritants have been fixed. Still fast and uses little memory and cpu. Work on the Flash issue or HTML5 and it should be great. Handles cookies Far better than Safari. Terrible for popups and popunders, still. "Pimped my Camino" very lightly the last time I brought it out of hibernation and it seemed to make it worse in most respects. Freezes more than other browsers.
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Batdan
Batdan
24 May 2012
Forgot to thank all involved in the making, continued development and maintenance of Camino. Your time and work Are appreciated. Now fix the dang Flash and popup issues. = ) Thanks.
Like
An-onymous
19 April 2012
My preferred browser for many years, especially because of its capacity to work when very restrictive security parameters are chosen. However, Camino's cookie blocking option does not work against cookies whose name starts with a dot, in particular the much problematic .atmdt.com cookies (that keep passing, even when connections to atmdt.com are blocked using sudo nano /etc/hosts)
Like
Version 2.1.2
Corpsecorps
21 March 2012
Camino seems to get totally bogged down and not do anything if I try to use Google Maps "Street View".
Like
Version 2.1.2
Trashie
16 March 2012
AWSOME very fast but the UI come on it is 2011 I remember we used this UI in what 2003? Get a grip Camino project. Not it is not just about looks but when I look at this it is so naff and ruins my experience. Get Firefox add-ons working in it and you got the best browser in the world there. This seems a hobby project to make a fast ass browser not to make it feature or UI rich. So I don't really use it as it seems only for the developers to play in and they are blind to easy it would be to be the developers of the best browser and not some hobby thing. Sad but AWSOME talk about a dichotomy.
Like
Version 2.1.2
3 answer(s)
BrilorSoftware
BrilorSoftware
25 March 2012
"This seems a hobby project..." Well it doesn't seem like a business since it is given away freely! If I had a product this good it would be for sale
Like
Trashie
Trashie
25 March 2012
Most of the code is not theirs it is Mozilla's they can't sell it. Who would buy it? There is many better browsers on the Mac now for free or tiny fee. It is a hobby project nothing more and know body would ever buy it or could they ever sell it as it is not commercial grade software. It lacks soooo many modern features people demand now. I like it but take it for what it is a dying on the vine hobby project.
Like
THEE:LEE
THEE:LEE
22 June 2012
The code is theres because this is a Mozilla project! in terms of "fast ass browser" maybe in 2003 nowadays is lags far behind the likes of safari, chrome, firefox, roccat or even sunrise.. They need to pick up this project, they may still be "updating it" but i'm not seeing that in the product.
Like
Snoebay
15 March 2012
Been using Camino since v,0.8. I like browser that's fast and simple and Camino does that for me. And for you PPC users, Camino is still the best for PPC machines.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.2
Fyreflye
22 February 2012
Thanks again to Uncle Asad and the dedicated Camino developer team. I keep trying to use those "advanced" browsers like Firefox, Chrome and Safari; but I keep coming back again and again to Camino as my default browser. It's fast, light, simple and beautiful.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.1
Tintonium
15 February 2012
Camino is my favorite browser, but the version 2.1 (1.9.2.24 20111113195207) don't work properly with Mac OS X 10.7.2. When some file is downloaded from the web with Camino the Finder stops working normally and has to be relaunched.
Like
Version 2.1
chriscosta
20 December 2011
I really can't use this because of one simple reason... The "Annoyance Blocker" does not work nearly as well, nor is as flexible, as AdBlock Plus in Firefox. I gave it a go as my default browser for 2 weeks and the ads everywhere, finally got to me. I'll say one thing though, when watching Flash (YouTube) video, or Silverlight Video (Netflix), Camino seems to use a lot less resources than Safari, Chrome, or Firefox. So Camino has become my "Netflix & Youtube Browser", just because of that :)
Like
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
Uncle-Asad
Uncle-Asad
22 December 2011
Can you file a bug (http://caminobrowser.org/documentation/bugzilla/#found) on the unblocked ads (or at least some of them)? We do try to update our ad-blocking rules for each release… I don't see very many ads, but we must visit different collections of sites ;-) Also, beginning in 2.1 it's easier to supplement the built-in ad-blocking rules (see user_ad_blocking.css in the profile's chrome folder) or to install more stringent content-blockers (e.g., XPCOM components like https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=656584).
Like (5)
Thyx
Thyx
21 January 2012
@chris: you might check GlimmerBlocker – I started using it on my old MacBook, getting sluggish with AdBlockers etc. It needs some configuration (basically adding rule sets), but works for all browsers and other apps alike.
Like (2)
Bigdave56
Bigdave56
22 February 2012
I want to thank this poster for this extremely useful entry. I too had been baffled by the extremely high CPU for Netflix in Safari (pushing 100%) and Firefox (about 85%) on my 2.26 MacBook. (Didn't try Chrome.) On Camino it hovers around 50% (still excessive just to play video, but much improved.) (Up yours, Silverlight).
Like
alas!
15 December 2011
I'm afraid that Camino has been overtaken by Firefox and Safari, not to mention the Chrome offshoots, i.e., Chromium, SRware Iron, even Roccat. Camino, for me, is dog slow and tired when compared to the others; featurewise it just doesn't measure up. Camino will likely die a slow death. However, if it floats your boat, enjoy it while it's still around. Anyway,one can do better.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
leninmonkey
05 December 2011
recent new lease of life put camino back on my mac and even in the dock - for some reason it always worked on some sites which others really struggled with. but something's really wrong with 2.1 (even the core2duo specific builds) as it can't get itself going even on google. despite this am happy camino's back and have i faith that the dev will fix all. (ignore my rating as firefox was playing up)
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Uncle-Asad
Uncle-Asad
06 December 2011
leninmonkey: It sounds like you might also be hitting the problem where certain routers misbehave badly when DNS prefetch is in use (https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=706969). Check your router to see if it has firmware updates available. If not, or if the firmware update doesn't help, download a nightly build of what will become 2.1.1 (http://caminobrowser.org/contribute/#nightly) and disable DNS prefetch (http://caminobrowser.org/documentation/hiddenprefs/#aboutConfig & http://caminobrowser.org/documentation/hiddenprefs/#ControlDNSPrefetch). That should return Camino 2.1 to the speed you're used to from Camino 2.0.9. If you need more assistance, please visit the support forum: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewforum.php?f=12
Like (2)
Big Johnson
05 December 2011
DON"T BOTHER! Even the developer can't give me a single reason why I might like Camino better than Safari or Firefox. I recently contacted them, and here's our email messages: ME: "On the homepage, there this link that says "We’ve created a page which points out some of the common differences between Camino and Safari ..." But on that page there is NO comparison, just paragraphs explaining how to migrate from Safari. I want to see a chart or screenshots or, preferably, a screencast showing the differences. On the What makes Camino special? page, everything I see looks just like what Safari and Firefox already do, so why would I want to switch? Is it faster, uses less resources (Safari's a hog!), what? QUOTE: "Built from the ground up exclusively for Mac OS X, Camino is designed to make your browsing experience better. With features like annoyance blocking, tab overview, and phishing and malware detection, Camino keeps you browsing safer and faster on the Web." Safari and FF both have annoyance blocking and tab overview, as well as anti-phishing and malware protection. So, what makes Camino so great? I'd need a very good reason to invest the amount of time necessary to setup and learn a new browser. And then there's Opera, which I know nothing about, but hate the name." CAMINO DEV'S REPLY: "Taste in browsers is extremely personal; everyone has a different idea about what differences are important. No matter what we put on the web site, the only way for someone to find out if they like Camino better than other browsers is to try it for themselves. We continue developing Camino because many people like it, and we want to keep offering that choice--we aren't trying to convince people to switch if they aren't interested. It sounds like you are happy with the browser you are using then, which is great! Stuart Morgan Camino Developer" ME: "So, you can't tell me a single thing about how Camino is different or better than Safari or Firefox? That doesn't say much for Camino! Doesn't matter how happy I am with them - if there's some valid reason to change, or at least try another, I would. But they must be faster, easier, less resource-hogging or SOMETHING! If they're nearly identical in all aspects, why bother? When I buy a new car, I don't buy the same year, and model as the last, I want one that's newer, faster or better in some regard." CAMINO DEV'S REPLY: "I could tell you about lots of differences--or you try Camino, for free, and see them for yourself. I can't tell you what's "better" because it's subjective. I have yet to see a browser that some people don't claim is faster than all the other browsers they tried, or takes fewer resources than the other browsers they've tried, or has the best feature set of all the browsers they've tried. Camino is developed by volunteers, working in our free time. I'd much rather spend my free time improving Camino than trying to hard-sell it to people. If you want to try Camino and see if you like it better than your current browser, great! If not, that's fine with us too. We're not selling cars; we don't have a financial interest in convincing you to use Camino. Stuart Morgan Camino Developer" Although I took the time twice to inquire as to the benefits of Camino, not a single one was noted - all I was given was a bad impression of it. Stuart seems pompous and apathetic - he said he could tell me "about lots of differences," but didn't. Evidently, Camino isn't faster, easier or better in any way, just different, and that's not enough to make me switch. It's not as simple as installing and knowing within minutes if I like it; At a minimum it will take several hours to discover all the features of a new browser and to know if I want to continue using it. I'm not willing to invest that much time without knowing WHY I might want to try it, and if Stuart's attitude is an omen of the way Camino's dev's respond to questions and support issues, I'll pass.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Trashie
Trashie
16 March 2012
lol yeah hobby project - a really good one but this is no Safari or Firefox or Chrome effort we have here that is for sure.
Like
Kenshmid
30 November 2011
Downloaded version 2.1 but browsing was so sluggish I had to trash it and revert to 2.09. Running Mac Pro 2x3 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon with 9 GB DIMMs OS X 10.6.8. Clearing cache and restarting both the app, and then the Mac, made no difference. Several pages would not even load. Some here knock Camino, but I know of no other browser that wraps icons in the Bookmark Bar for the speediest access of any browser I know of. Just hope the developers work out the sluggishness of 2.1. I'm looking forward to HTML-5.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
4 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
30 November 2011
Report this on the Mozilla Forums http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewforum.php?f=12 not here. You will find optimized builds for your machine there also.
Like (2)
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
03 December 2011
Unfortunately I have also find browsing with the new version a bit more sluggish than before. Hope an update will have a fix.
Like
Uncle-Asad
Uncle-Asad
06 December 2011
Kenshmid and Wickedsp1d3r: It sounds like you might be hitting the problem where certain routers misbehave badly when DNS prefetch is in use (https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=706969). Check your routers to see if they have firmware updates available. If not, or if the firmware update doesn't help, download a nightly build of what will become 2.1.1 (http://caminobrowser.org/contribute/#nightly) and disable DNS prefetch (http://caminobrowser.org/documentation/hiddenprefs/#aboutConfig & http://caminobrowser.org/documentation/hiddenprefs/#ControlDNSPrefetch). That should return Camino 2.1 to the speed you're used to from Camino 2.0.9. If you need more assistance, please visit the support forum: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewforum.php?f=12
Like (2)
Kenshmid
Kenshmid
06 December 2011
I am having a hard time understanding why all my other browsers-- Safari, Firefox, etc.-- are working just fine. I would think they would also have to contend with any existing DNS prefetch problem. But only Camino 2.1 is affected.
Like (1)
Aargl
30 November 2011
To get your 1Password working in Camino (if « unsupported version ») - Quit 1Password and Camino - Show Package Contents of 1Password - Open Contents > Resources - Open SupportedBrowsers.plist in a text editor or a plist editor - In the org.mozilla.camino section, Change MaxBundleVersion to 2010.05.20 (for 2.0.7) - save I found this trick at Agile's forum, you have to change the date for more recent versions (something like 2012.12.31)
Like
Version 2.1
Fyreflye
30 November 2011
Reports of Camino's death have been highly exaggerated. Congratulations and thanks to Camino's dedicated development team.
Like (7)
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Rampancy
Rampancy
30 November 2011
Amen to that. The Camino Project has been my number one web browser for many years now, and it's great to see it continuing despite the issues posed by the design decisions made at the Mozilla Foundation. Thanks again for all of your hard work!
Like (6)
Theothertim
Theothertim
30 November 2011
Except it's true. The problem with Camino's development is that Mozilla ended Gecko embedding. As described on their blog, "Without support for embedding, releases of Camino using newer versions of Gecko—like the one used in Firefox 4—won’t be possible." Camino 2.1 is using the Gecko engine from Firefox 3.6, according to their blog. And while the Camino dev team does dedicate resources to security fixes, I'm reluctant to use Camino as my default browser. Camino has been a great browser. I still take it for a spin occasionally, but other browsers are offering a lot more features. I had hoped that Camino would get the development support and push, but alas, it's still a struggling project. And in the meantime, Firefox and Chrome have added a lot of features, as has Safari. I still like Camino a lot, but knowing that the writing is on the wall for the browser, and that it is behind on the Gecko engine, I choose to only use it for casual browsing. My hope is that Camino will live on, but it doesn't look like it will be a Gecko-based browser if it does. And I'm not sure what Camino can offer as a WebKit browser that isn't already filled by Safari or Chrome.
Like (3)
Fishboy
30 November 2011
1Password is known to crash Camino in some cases, particularly when customizing the toolbar. If you experience crashes, try removing 1Password's Camino integration.
Like
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
30 November 2011
1Password has no Camino integration unless you're using 1P 3.5.15. Keychain works quickly and efficiently with Camino, but if you do switch back to 1P 3.5.15 current versions of Safari, Firefox, and Chrome/Chromium will continue to work with the 1P extensions installed directly into them.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
30 November 2011
Never had a crash because of Camino, AFAIR. As for 1Password's Camino integration, there's a trick I found at Agile's forum that I'm giving you right now! ;-) See Troubleshooting tab.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
30 November 2011
... uh, I meant "because of 1password"! ;-)
Like
Tomeg
11 November 2011
Beats me why Camino users continue to favor the browser. It's UI, compared to Firefox, Safari, Chrome, you name it, is ugly, ugly, UGLY!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.9
5 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
30 November 2011
I don't need pretty, pretty, PRETTY! It's fast enough and simple enough for my needs. Choice is nice. This is ours.
Like (4)
Steve K
Steve K
30 November 2011
1998 called. It wants its browser UI back.
Like (1)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
30 November 2011
At the college where I teach, we are required to use a particular LMS (Learning Management System). Alas, that system does not play well with Safari or Chrome. Although the system loves Firefox, I have found that Camino works faster and better with it. That is my exclusive use of Camino. I've used OmniWeb browser for many years. I like the icon tabs and the speed.
Like (1)
Tomeg
Tomeg
30 November 2011
I certainly respect other folks' opinions, but I still find Camino's UI unattractive ('ugly' is probably too strong a word). Firefox (I have v. 9.0, and, finally, it is looking good, too, and it's faster (for me), than Camino. If Camino would create something closer to OmniWeb's UI I might consider it. I started with Camino while it was still Chimera and the concept of a faster, more Mac UI-like browser that is still simple and doesn't hog a barge-load of CPU and memory as Safari, Ffx and Chrome do, I will stick with Chrome, which is my current browser of choice.
Like (2)
Tomeg
Tomeg
30 November 2011
I downloaded and launched the new update. It is very fast, and may take the lead among browsers. I won't eat my words, but qualify them. I'm very glad to see that development is proceeding, with nightly builds, to boot!
Like
Jb4
15 September 2011
The best! Still my everyday browser and I've tried them all. This new version makes it as fast as Chromium or Lightning and as reliable/compliant as Opera. I love it......
Like (2)
Version 2.0.9
Oldmiller
15 September 2011
Makes me happy to see updates on Camino. It's such an elegant, nice and lightweight and fast browser - my favorite choice since way back in 2002 when it started as Chimera. Wow, more than 9 years! This thing accompanies me almost almost as long as I'm on OSX. I just want to say a real big thank you to the developers who keep this juwel alive.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.9
Solefald
15 September 2011
Oh wow... This thing is still around? Got to love biennial updates.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.9
eastside-hastings
10 September 2011
Great browser. Im glad that they are updating camino again, but i wish there was pin tab option like some of the other browsers. Id like to keep some sites open at all time. And also adress bar as search engine bar.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
Fyreflye
09 September 2011
Faster to load and render than Chrome/Chromium, no extensions to drag it down, quick password access using Keychain (remember that?), many icons and other tweaks available, small dedicated crew of developers working because they love it, native Mac look - what's not to like? The perfect alternative to those Firefox/Safari/1Password blues.
Like (6)
Version 2.0.8
1 answer(s)
ben-marko
ben-marko
10 September 2011
I agree...I loved Camino, used it since it was Chimera. But I thought development had ceased...? This is good to see it up and updated again.
Like
Gerylaurent
09 September 2011
The latest version of Camino crash on Mac OS 10.7.2. It is impossible to have an open window. The same applies to version 2.1 Beta
Like (2)
Version 2.0.8
Aargl
30 August 2011
I recently noticed that this very site (MacUpdate) doesn't behave the same in Camino than in Safari or Firefox!!! - the top apps of the day (listed in red) are less (today 1 in Camino, 4 in the others — the 3 missing ones don't even show at all) - when you search for an app via the search field, it gives less or no results (try searching for "Camino", it drops you directly on "Camino Frost" while the others give you 48 results! Search for Cocktail or Awaken: no results! — 13 and 6 for the others respectively) Another brick in the wall... :-(
Like
Version 2.0.7
4 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
30 August 2011
I've trashed my app support/Camino folder and it now behaves correctly on Macupdate... probably some corrupt file there inherited from a previous version! I now have to retry the few sites that gave me problems until then, such as Youtube, myspace, facebook...
Like
Aargl
Aargl
30 August 2011
I confirm that after this cleaning Camino works well again! :-)
Like
-M-S-
-M-S-
30 August 2011
Glad to hear it -- do you want me to delete these posts since the problem has been resolved?
Like
Aargl
Aargl
02 September 2011
No problem, you can delete them! :-) (though it might be useful to someone having the same problem, ain't it?) For months I thought my searches on macupdate giving no result were a bug from MU, before having the idea to trash things... ;-)
Like
arkayn-1
06 August 2011
Camino 2.1b5 is also available at http://preview.caminobrowser.org/
Like
Version 2.0.7
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
09 September 2011
2.1b2 you mean? Also, first line of that page ;) Please do not submit this to Mac software sites like VersionTracker and MacUpdate.
Like (2)
friautz
21 July 2011
Camino is still my favorite Mac Browser. It's fast, easy and good. All sites, plug ins and videos I need are working, the bookmarkmanager is great. Camino doesn't need more features or updates, it's perfet as it is. Safari, Firefox and Opera try to be more than a webbrowser, but I really don't need all these extras. So I don't panic about Camino's end as long as I can use it. And thank you for still supporting Tiger and PPCs!
Like (4)
Version 2.0.7
Aargl
26 June 2011
Well, I can't remember since when I took Camino as my favourite browser! It was faster than the others at that time, but in the past year it became having problems with some sites such as myspace. Now that its future death is quite certain, I don't wanna feel like a rat leaving the sinking ship, but it's probably time to switch. Being still on ppc G5, I'll probably use TenFourFox as a main browser (as I keep safari mainly for a site I'm using a lot and for saving .webarchive format files). Thanks to all the developpers that worked on Camino during all those years! And in remembrance of the 'good old days', I give it 5 stars... ;-)
Like
Version 2.0.7
3 answer(s)
ben-marko
ben-marko
16 July 2011
Yeah, I used Camino for a while (back when it was called Chimera). It is sad, it looks pretty bad for it right now.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
01 August 2011
After one month trying TenFourFox, I must say that it's not perfect, as any other browser, and though some features are really interesting (i.e. some easy way of saving bookmarks by drag and drop; a better way to handle heavy flash sites...), others are not and I miss the simplicity of Camino. :-( (actually, that’s exactly why I haven’t been using Firefox as my main browser before... ;-) So, until there is no browser with the best features from every other browser, I wonder is the solution would not be using again Camino as a main browser and managing complex or problematic sites with TenFourFox? (Safari is great but definitely has strange behaviours on some sites...) I found Choosy or MultiBrowser being fine enhancements to open specific sites with a specific browser.
Like
Maeric
Maeric
18 August 2011
The same sentiment with me as others are saying. Using Camino is pretty much a habit and I too don't know when it became my "go to" browser in years past. I'll pick up the 2.1 update as it appears that will be the final release unless volunteers rejigger the rendering engine.
Like
SickTeddyBear
22 June 2011
Read about Camino's future: http://caminobrowser.org/blog/ It doesn't look good.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
1 answer(s)
alas!
alas!
25 June 2011
So Camino is headed for orphanhood, big deal. As David-Scheifer below noted, it "seems to be falling behind the other web browsers more and more." Camino was once pretty fast in comparison with other browsers but no longer. Firefox 5, Opera 11 and Safari 5 have pretty much passed it by at this point and I'll take Firefox's or Opera's features over Camino's in a heartbeat. Sorry, but I can browse quite happily without Camino in my life! [Version 2.0.7]
Like (1)
Pripyat
15 May 2011
Displays many websites at a poor quality. Interface is okay, but I think it can be improved also as Camino seems to be falling behind the other web browsers more and more.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
Kenshmid
29 March 2011
In my opinion, Camino has the best bookmark management and bookmark bar of any current browser. On the other hand, its handling of streaming video-- especially on older machines--is problematic, with filled buffers sometimes slowing performance to a crawl, or a complete halt, and necessitating a "killall Camino" termination from the Terminal. And both Firefox and Safari handle some video that Camino can't. Also, on some web pages when using a mouse scroll wheel, there is a buffering problem that manifests itself by pages continuing to scroll even when the user halts the mouse action. The user is left "chasing" the scrolled page, which can be very annoying and time-wasting. To be fair, I have also seen this behavior on other browsers. Nevertheless, Camino remains my default browser with points for its speed and user friendliness.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
alas!
28 March 2011
Was once one of the fastest browsers around but no longer. In my experience, it lags behind Firefox and Safari speedwise. Featurewise it's blown away by Firefox, which is my browser of choice(FF4 really rocks). I keep Camino on hand because, for some reason, it's the only browser that will allow me to access/render a favorite web site forum properly. For a secondary browser Camino suffices but as a main browser....afraid not, at least not for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
Djefis
25 March 2011
If I have to be honest it could be the Schtroumpfs's browser . . . .
Like
Version 2.0.7
Trashie
23 March 2011
Great but just lacks the community and extras you get with the others. Frustrating as it really is a great browser. It is very like what Debian have done with iceweasel. Simple, fast, effective, enhanced for one platform. The UI badly needs changed those icons are dated. I know it is surface but it matters to people. For so little effort it could be improved. Would be nice to see some kind of add on community like ff and chromeI gotta say that does hold this browser back. Out the box it can kick it with any other browser but try to pimp it - the results are not great or easy. I always have it but it is not my main browser but it has been and may be again.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
Snoebay
23 March 2011
Excellent browser.Have been using it since V.1 on both PPC and Intel machines.Add capability for extensions to it and it would be my perfect browser. Also for you Tiger users out there ,this update is working great on my G4 IMac.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
Mikeaugustleo
23 March 2011
I've been playing around with browsers these last few days: Firefox, Safari, Opera and now Camino. Overall, I'm currently sticking with Camino because it renders all of the sites I need correctly. Suddenly, after using the Firefox betas for a few months and rarely having issues I suddenly can't use internet banking with RC2. Safari looks good but is just a bit slower than the others. I just don't get Opera - every time I use it a number of pages are just a mess. So, going back to Camino - a browser I used to use a lot and glad that it's being worked on still. It does lack some features and nifty add-ons that the others have but it does render pages quickly and correctly most of the time. 2010 MacBook Pro here.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7
Ben-Friedman
22 March 2011
It's Fast and I like it!
Like
Version 2.0.7
Djefis
29 January 2011
Other web browser have a better development.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.6
5 answer(s)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
15 March 2011
Other reviewers have better grammar.
Like (10)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
23 March 2011
I'm well aware that English might not be the above commenter's first language... I also noticed that this person has over 100 negatives... so I figured this person has made many erroneous statements elsewhere. It was more of a joke than anything... I was making light of the pointlessness of the comment... however... the irony here is... you've just insulted me about 10 times more than anything I mentioned above. Congratulations on making an account just to display hypocrisy in its purest form. Do I have a life? Why yes I do... it's amazing how much about me you derived from five words that I typed on a random website. You should probably look into anger management or stress management because if that's the kind of reaction you have over mundane things I feel for you. I'm not mad at you, I really do feel bad for you. You need help. This has been the only comment I have ever made mention of someone's grammar, so thanks for the exaggerative commentary on that as well. Your response was silly. Have a good day, sir.
Like (2)
Djefis
Djefis
24 March 2011
It 'was a surprise for me too find myself -116 approvals from week to week. . . . Maybe someone did not like some of my comments and started to disapproval them. Try to remember what they did at CoverSutra. . . . maybe a school has decided to give 25 times half a star. Back to Camino has been my favorite browswer for 5 years. I said what I thought when I noticed that opened slowly, and research began to be 2-3 times slower than Safari and Chrome. No grudges to anybody, I'm Italian, my avatar is Shirley Manson Garbage's vocalist and leader so she's not me, for what I'm concerned, I'm registered at MacUpdate from 6 years and I visit the site neraly every day. I only know that here I have always found a lot of kindness without exception of none of you even if sometimes someone though that my English it is not so brilliant . . . Thanks, Maurizio.
Like (1)
Djefis
Djefis
24 March 2011
It is exactly as I thought about the 116 negative opinions (-). All my views are considered at least once with -1, all those who have no +1 +2 +3 .... (Obviously. . .) There is always a minus to any intervention! Plus I remember that two weeks ago the number was less than 10 do not know whether negative or positive.
Like
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
29 March 2011
You're an idiot.
Like
torndownunit
26 January 2011
I absolutely love Camino simplicty and speed. The problem is I do run across issues with it on some sites that Firefox or Safari seem to handle no problem. I see odd display issues at times, or get problems with pages loading. And I get the occasional crash. This has lead me to use Firefox more often recently. It's been awhile since an update, so I am hoping the issues I am having may be resolved with an update.
Like
Version 2.0.6
trungpt
18 January 2011
That would be better if I can disable javascript and something like that easily (Now I have to open the Preferences). The same for clearing cookies, ...
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
Penguirl
14 January 2011
An Intel i686 optimized build can be downloaded at http://www.gctv.ne.jp/~yokota/Camino/download.html (note that it has been given a graphite appearance). PPC optimized builds can be downloaded at http://www.rpm-mozilla.org.uk/
Like
Version 2.0.6
Shidong
13 January 2011
for me, this is too simply.....because the speed is not the only thing i care about
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6