Back to AccountEdge Pro page
AccountEdge Pro free download for Mac

AccountEdge Pro Reviews

23.0.13
09 January 2020

Small-business accounting software.

Sam-A-Oregon
18 December 2019

Most helpful

On the one hand AccountEdge is an easy-to-use accounting program that our business used for many years. In the pacific northwest of the USA, however, there are no accountants who use it or who will use it. None. So you're fine as long as you (or your business) doesn't need an accountant or bookkeeper. Once you do, you'll need QuickBooks because that's what they all use. It doesn't help that AccountEdge tells us not to upgrade to Catalina until THEY are ready…
Like (1)
Version 23.0.11

Read 16 AccountEdge Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sam-A-Oregon
18 December 2019
On the one hand AccountEdge is an easy-to-use accounting program that our business used for many years. In the pacific northwest of the USA, however, there are no accountants who use it or who will use it. None. So you're fine as long as you (or your business) doesn't need an accountant or bookkeeper. Once you do, you'll need QuickBooks because that's what they all use. It doesn't help that AccountEdge tells us not to upgrade to Catalina until THEY are ready…
Like (1)
Version 23.0.11
tomnor27
05 December 2018
Great App. Has greater customizable than most out-of-the-box accounting apps.
Like (2)
Version 22.0.3
Mtalexander
28 January 2013
The backend of AEP, the part that implements the accounting rules and database, is not too bad, but the user interface is terrible. It is all based on Classic Mac APIs which Apple deprecated a decade ago. Worse, it doesn't even use those APIs in a reasonable way. Most, if not all, windows are implemented as Classic Mac dialogs which has many disadvantages. No more than one window of any type (invoice, bank register, etc.) can be open at any one time. There is a maximum of around a dozen windows of all types that can be open at one time. Worse, many things that you think are menus (e.g., selecting a vendor) are really dialogs so you may be several levels deep in dialogs and have to back out and close something because you can't select from something you think of as a menu. Some of the dialogs (like transaction recap) are even modal dialogs and lock up the whole application. The file handling APIs that it uses are also ancient history. One side effect of this is that it doesn't support long file names. You're still stuck with the old Classic Mac limit that went away for most apps a decade ago (was it 31 characters? I forget). Even new features suffer from this. If you try to attach a file to an entry (a new feature in the current version) it fails if the file's name is longer than the MacOS 9 limit. If you try to open an accounts file with a long name you get nothing but a beep, not even an error message. It's too bad that an otherwise reasonable program is so crippled by a bad user interface.
Like (8)
Version 16.1.1
Macsolu
30 March 2011
-- Up to version 2011. Developer is now called AcclivitySoftware. $100 rebate offered to QuickBooks owners who switch. Direct download: http://get.acclivitysoftware.com/downloads/AccountEdge_Mac_2011.dmg.zip
Like
Version 2009
1 answer(s)
D9
D9
11 January 2013
I agree...why there's not more love for AccountEdge is puzzling. It has both Mac and Windows versions as well as *free* iOS apps, which Intuit doesn't even offer an app. The import of QuickBooks to AccountEdge is near perfect. I made the switch about 3 yrs ago and am very pleased w/ AccountEdge. Give it try, folks...there's a trial version to test out.
Like
Graytexperts1
29 July 2009
This is better than Quickbooks by a long shot!! I am a small Business owner and do my own accounting. I need something with an easy user interface yet in-depth custom-ability. This offers both and has great reporting tools and an easy to understand and learn effectively broken down way to keep track of items and services. Excellent!!
Like (1)
Version 2009
Bumbleb
30 April 2009
I was prepared for a less than optimal user experience. But I simply could not stand looking at this, and use it? No way! Every little aspect: Fonts, alignment, attention to detail, resizing, is a reminder that tells me how important good user interface design really is. It is not about beauty. It is about usability. This app makes me feel nausea. All those button thrown everywhere, as if they did an acid-meth when developing this app. Yuck. Heck, they even have halftone-screen 16-color Win95-like pie charts! Now, why is there no *really good* small business accounting app for mac? Only MoneyWorks seems somehow to fit, but it has a wacky interface as well. If I could develop Cocoa I would do it myself and earn a lot of money selling it. There is a huge whole in the market here.
Like (1)
Version 2009
Computer-guy
17 April 2009
Complete & deep product, very mature, incredible value for the money. There are accounting packages selling for three times what Account Edge costs that don't have the variety and depth of features this product has. Uses Mac interface very well; most new users able to learn quickly without major training or manuals. Particularly strong in handling billable time along with products on invoices. Highly customizable invoices & purchase orders, unlike Quickbooks for Mac, which doesn't allow much. My experiences with MYOB csr support have been much better in the past few years. This was a rougher area some time ago than it is now.
Like (1)
Version 2009
Mac-Advisor
28 March 2009
Seemingly capable - final analysis is disappointing... MYOB, often considered the leader in Mac accounting software, has offered fairly functional software for quite a while. In my experience (having been a customer for years) somewhere along the way they have: - adopted the profoundly expensive pay per annum for updates and support - have interface and file systems that are SO COMPLEX and finicky that they are confusing and prone to corruption - offer Mac software that is very second-class to Windows options - limited features, compatibility, etc. - don't seem to care about individual customers - neglecting to solve issues, passing the buck to Apple, having banker hours support - even when on paid support plans After many hours trying to resolve my issues with MYOB to no avail - I have decided (and its a BIG DECISION to change business applications) that it is time to stop the madness. I will no longer waste money, time and endless frustration trying to make their haphazard, hobbled and dysfunctional application suit my business. While I have yet to find a "perfect option" - the closest I have seen so far is Cognito MoneyWorks. It is a pain to convert (because MYOB does not offer a clean or easy export function) this process will take me and my staff days of time - but at the end of the process we will be free from the shackles we have suffered in for so long... good-bye MYOB - and good riddance!
Like (2)
Version 2009
Teksestro
09 March 2008
The support for MYOB is infamous - and has been so for a *very* long time. Even though it is supposed to help you "mind your own business", not many small (or even medium-sized) business owners who have been able to setup their books in MYOB out of the box, without having to call the help of an accountant. The program's interface is unfriendly and unhelpful, even for an accounting package. MYOB made their name in the day when there were not many viable alternatives for small-business accounting, and (a bit like Microsoft) have become arrogant over their success in the industry. It was not until I switched to another package (MoneyWorks), which follows sound accounting principles, and *IS* easy to setup and use, that I started to feel just how *bad* things had been with MYOB. Conclusion: shop around. There are less expensive and more helpful alternatives.
Like (1)
Version 2008
Anonymous
29 June 2005
Good software, but lousy support. Assume from the start you are on your own. I had problems with an upgrade. I talked to customer service and told them that I thought their link to the download was wrong. They explained that I had done something to my install, and therefore I would need to do a clean install from scratch. Did it. Problem still there. Called back and was told they had a problem with their links and I had downloaded the wrong updater. Gee, I think I said that. Note to MYOB. Sometimes the customer isn't stupid.
Like (1)
Version 8.5.8
Anonymous
07 February 2004
I use have used MYOB since Version 4 ,5, 6 7, 8, 9 . Excellent product. Not one time did I have to call MYOB tech support.
Like
Version 7.5.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 November 2004
That's good because they're not all that helpful, that is, if you can get to a human being without forking over your credit card. We just buried MYOB after running our business on it for 5 years. Their new version has this ridiculous internet verification scheme that checks your registration code constantly. When the phone lines went down for two days, we were locked out of our own business! Infuriating.
Like
Version 7.5.4
Anonymous
06 February 2004
Ten times better than Quick Books. #1- Networking. #2- Alert when invoice number is duplicate. #3- Can save up to 5 different shipping addresses. #4- Did I mention Networking? #5- Can export reports to Excel, Mail, PDF, in just one click! #6- The same file can be open on Windows and Mac. The same file, no conversion utility, no nothing. This alone, in a mixed platforms environment, is worth five stars. #7- $100 cash back when you send them the cover of your Quick Books Manual. I could go on, but let me just say: Good bye Quick Books! Hello AccountEdge!
Like
Version 7.5.3
Anonymous
07 January 2004
lousy software, way to expensive for the performance
Like
Version 7.5.2
Anonymous
13 November 2003
Support service is terrible--only help if you pay them money. Will start with Quickbooks for Mac in 2004
Like
Version 6.5.4
Anonymous
31 December 2002
dropped Canadian users for a quick buck from Intuit
Like
Version 6.5.3
1 answer(s)
Computer-guy
Computer-guy
17 April 2009
Canada support has been picked back up again, as of this year (2009).
Like
Version 2009
Michael-5
25 January 2002
great!
Like
Version 5.6.2