Back to Newton page
Newton free download for Mac

Newton Reviews

10.0.32
29 September 2019

Client for multiple e-mail accounts (was CloudMagic Email).

Dolphinboy2u
21 January 2016

Most helpful

I'm surprised the developer thinks people will shell out $20 for software without a trial version available. (No, I don't consider an iOS app in any way a trial version of an OS X app.) Though I'm actively searching for an alternative to Apple Mail, there are plenty of other options out there that don't require me to pay for a trial. Airmail, Postbox, Mail Pilot, Mailmate, Unibox, etc., in no particular order.
Like (8)
Version 7.6.19

Read 18 Newton User Reviews

Rate this app:

Edeerly
11 July 2019
If you're looking for an email app that's super stable, responsive, and helps you get through piles of email quickly and efficiently then give this a try. I've used almost every email client available today, including Airmail (iOS, macOS), Edison Mail (Android, iOS), Front (Android, iOS, macOS, Windows, web), Gmail for Mobile (Android, iOS), Outlook, Mail by Apple (iOS, macOS), MailMate (macOS), Outlook Mobile (Android, iOS), Polymail (iOS, macOS, web), Postbox (macOS, Windows), Spark (iOS, macOS), Spike (Android, iOS), Thunderbird, etc., and Newton was the last one standing. What's free? The test-drive is free. After that, I was more than willing to pay a fair price for a modern email app that continues to get developed and refined.
Like
Version 10.0.18
deltaos
14 March 2019
What FREE? Is $49.99 per year FREE?
Like
Version 10.0.16
cjred
08 August 2018
SUCH A SHAME.... SHUTTING DOWN BY SEPTEMBER 2018
Like
Version 9.8.421
1 answer(s)
markusvonkaenel
markusvonkaenel
11 August 2018
will miss it but mail.app with mailbutler is the better choice. mail butler is now reliable again.
Like
Njronbo
09 July 2018
I really wanted to like NEWTON. It has so much potential with its supercharged features. The problem is, the supercharged features are the ONLY thing this email client has going for it. Otherwise, it's lacking in just about every other respect. Let's start with the UI. It's as plain as plain can be. It looks like you are using mail on a webpage. I know NEWTON wants to keep it simple, but it's too simple. Only single pane viewing, not dual. That certainly does not help one's workflow. Next, there are no gravatars to quickly allow you to see quickly see received email through images of your friends or clients. Other email software like AIRMAIL and MAILSPRING feature gravatars. Next, there is a total lack of a RULES feature. You can't make your own rules so incoming mail goes to a folder of your choice. No spam filter either. The least NEWTON could have done was work with SpamSieve (as other clients do) to create a system that weeds out unwanted mail. Touchbar support? Not on NEWTON. For those with the 2017 Retina Macbook Pro, there is no touchbar support. While NEWTON does support Apple Watch, there is no way to respond to mail on the watch. How does that happen?! Listen, if you are going to charge $50 per year for this email client, please be sure you have something worth charging people for. I really loved the premium aspects of this email software but its lack of just about everything else drives me back to using Apple Mail with the MailButler plug-in.
Like (1)
Version 9.8.407
5 answer(s)
Mindplay
Mindplay
09 July 2018
cough...$120...cough...a year...cough...
Like (1)
Njronbo
Njronbo
11 July 2018
Also does not support MacBook Touch Bar which just about every other mail client does.
Like
markusvonkaenel
markusvonkaenel
12 July 2018
same here. an then the lack of integration. I too, are back on Apple Mail with Mailbutler. And now with USD 100, they need to offer much more on the Mac OSX.
Like (1)
Njronbo
Njronbo
15 July 2018
Mark,

I am using Apple Mail with MailButler. MailButler is fantastic and adds gravatar support. However, it is a VERY expensive plug-in --- more per year than Newton. The plus side is, MailButler with Apple Mail is miles better than Newton.
Like
markusvonkaenel
markusvonkaenel
15 July 2018
I know, but functionality is the most important thing. The only thing i really miss is the Interface of Newton.
Like
Panthera
16 June 2017
This won't work with Apple mail UNLESS you enable two-factor authorization. This isn't the fault of the vendor, except that they were foolish enough to code for Apple. Don't reward this mistake.
Like (2)
Version 9.8.8
1 answer(s)
larrymcj
larrymcj
27 September 2017
Apple's goal is to eventually force all users to enable two-factor authorization. I fought it for the longest time, but finally did it and actually I'm now happy I did. Lots of other great apps out there that simply won't work without...Fantastical comes to mind first.
Like
From the web site, it looks like this is NOT free, but rather a trial. Free and trial are NOT the same thing at all. Don't they call this "false adverting?"
Like (2)
Version 9.7.29
2 answer(s)
Wade-Smith
Wade-Smith
09 September 2017
You're so right. In no way should this software be described as 'free'.

Description
Newton is a subscription-based service that supercharges your email with power features like Read Receipts, Snooze, Send Later, Undo Send, Sender Profile, Connected Apps and more across iPhone, iPad, iPad Pro, Apple Watch and Mac. Comes with a 14-day free trial.

Newton is available as an in-app subscription for $49.99/year. That's about $4/mo for something that you use dozens of times everyday.

Works with Gmail, Exchange, Yahoo Mail, Outlook, iCloud, Google Apps, Office 365 and all IMAP accounts.

*What happens after 14 days*

Push notifications & power features like Read Receipts, Tidy Inbox, Send Later & more stop working. Email sync will also stop i.e. you won't get new emails automatically. Not an experience we recommend.
Like (1)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
13 June 2018
I complained about this to the MacUpdate admins and they said they're repeating what the company is claiming--that it is free--for 14 days, then you pay $50/year for it. But you only find that out once you go through a trial. I guess MacUpdate doesn't want to piss off a vendor. I walked away from their Cloudmagic mobile email client once they pivoted and switched to the subscription model. They also closed their Palo Alto offices.
Like
Dr. Evil
11 April 2017
So far works just fine.
Like
Version 9.6.26
Phreek
15 February 2017
This app really has potential, too bad it doesn't work very reliably with iCloud. There are always some kind of sync issues ... or you have to wait for ages until a folder was synced etc etc. Not sure how good it works with other gmail etc, but with iCloud it is a mess.
Like
Version 9.4.52
13 answer(s)
larrymcj
larrymcj
16 February 2017
FWIW, I have Newton configured with my Google Apps Gmail account and my iCloud account. I have never have one single problem with iCloud. When I add a folder on either side to my iCloud account, it's quickly synched.
Like
Phreek
Phreek
16 February 2017
@larry - Well, I didn't tested folder sync ... that is nothing that happens very often. I had problems like ... mails were somehow duplicated in a folder ... or mails weren't synced correctly when I deleted one from another app/icloud.
Furthermore, I had a case, where I deleted a mail, then I decided to answer it and searched for the mail in trash ... nothing found. I went to the trash folder .. saw the mail .. but when I searched for it ... nothing.
I wouldn't mind certain bugs, but the core ... imap implementation etc. needs to be rock solid at the very beginning (in v1). If bugs still were found in that direction, that is a very bad sign.
Like
larrymcj
larrymcj
16 February 2017
I mentioned my experience with folder synching only because in your original post you said it was slow for you, but it wasn't for me. Also, I've never experienced any of the problems you list here, so I guess it's just two different experiences. For me, Newton is the best email app available and I've been searching for the best one for nearly 20 years. Everyone has different opinions, that's why there are so many different email apps :-)
Like
Phreek
Phreek
16 February 2017
@larry - I like Newton too! I am even a subscriber at the moment. But it is just too buggy... if you didn't experienced any bugs yet, good for you! :-)
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
09 March 2017
Has anyone tried Canary Mail? (still in beta) All of these email clients are starting to look similar …
Like
larrymcj
larrymcj
09 March 2017
@Odysseus. I tried Canary Mail a couple of times but just couldn't get past the bugs, though it might be better now. One of the biggest problems for me was no matter what font size I selected for my outgoing messages, recipients received a HUGE font size that just wasn't professional looking. Also, it crashed a lot on both my iMac and rMBP and took up way more memory than it should have. I'm sure they'll eventually fix the memory leaks, if not already. Probably best to give it a try and decide for yourself. One of the reasons I love Newton so much is the clean and simple look. Canary Mail is yet another client with a list of folders on the left and the inbox on the right. As you say, they're all looking the same these days.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
09 March 2017
Looks like Newton is storing the login info for your accounts on their servers
Like (1)
larrymcj
larrymcj
09 March 2017
They do not. Like several email services, they store a separate login to Newton itself (different login credentials) on their server specifically so they don't have to keep the individual email account logins. This allows you to login to your accounts using Newton on any computer or iPhone, etc. You can read how they do not access your data at: https://newtonhq.com/k/privacypolicy
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
09 March 2017
Yes they do! See this:

"Accounts are added to Newton through OAuth authentication (where possible). OAuth is a secure mechanism which gives us access to your data without letting us know your password.

Where OAuth is not supported, we keep your account username and password in our secure servers.

We then use the authorization provided to download your emails on the cloud and push to your devices. We use AWS servers to store your data …"

So they don't have your passwords, but they do have your data! This is the same mechanism that Spark uses.

They may not read your mail, but they certainly *could*.
Like (1)
larrymcj
larrymcj
09 March 2017
Then they'll just have to have my data :-) I opt to have a beautiful email app rather than all I've tried since 1995 which are terrible (only a few still even being around today). I don't have anything that important in my email, but if you do, then I recommend one of the encrypted email apps. Just not worth it for me :-)
Like
larrymcj
larrymcj
10 March 2017
@Odysseus: I asked the folks at CloudMagic about this and here is what I got back

"Security and privacy are given very high priority at Newton. We practice all industry level standards.

1. Apart from AWS security processes, we take the following steps to protect your data:

- Newton password is hashed and salted
- We don't take password for services which support OAuth. (OAuth is a secure mechanism which gives us access to your data without letting us know your password.)
- For services which don't support OAuth, we take your password, obfuscate and then encrypt them and store them in an encrypted database in a secure AWS server. These passwords are necessary for Newton to connect to those respective services.
- A strict firewall in place. Most critical hosts do not have an internet connection.
- Forced HTTPS use for all client-server communication.

As an added measure, we have introduced Two-Step Verification.

2. Only a few DevOps employees have access to the data. We make sure that the following things are taken care of -

- All employees sign NDAs & data leak policies
- Allow access to our only servers only thru specific IP addresses
- All access is logged
- Do continuous testing for XSS attacks, etc"
Like
Phreek
Phreek
10 March 2017
@Odysseus
In some way, they need to store your password, so they are able to sync your account to all your devices. If you don't trust them, you shouldn't use the app. It is a valid point though!

Another reason I don't use Newton at the moment is, that it doesn't play well with SaneBox. Newton's notifications for new mails are sent very quick, which is normally a good thing, but when using SaneBox it is not. I just want to get only notified when "important" mails hit my inbox, not on every mail.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
10 March 2017
@Phreek @larrymcj They don't just store your passwords -- they store your mail *and* have access to your mail. That much is clear.

One of the selling points of Canary Mail is that they don't expose you to either of these security risks.
Like (1)
cjred
07 December 2016
Updated Review: Ok yeah i'm one of the long time user of CloudMagic (Newton). After many updates now it is fully furnished especially with SUPERCHARGERS and other addons like save to evernote, todoist, 2factor, user info etc. Yes i'm still not inclined with their price point. And i think Newton Mail will be forced to lower the price especially Readdle's SPARK mail is already available in mac.
Like
Version 9.3.29
tjekov37
05 November 2016
14 days free trial :-( Its not free !!!
Like (1)
Version 9.2.6
Mikmaksen
14 October 2016
Not free: 14 day free trial, which is quite different
Like (2)
Version 9.1.25
2 answer(s)
Zoidbert
Zoidbert
01 November 2016
Indeed. $49.99 a year if you decide to keep using it.
Like
SomeGuy-
SomeGuy-
18 November 2016
That is called lying they could just say it here!
Like
Schwity
08 October 2016
I tried "Newton Mail" few days ago. Of course it is an interesting piece of software for mailing, etc. BUT what I don't like is when software connected to google services (google-analytics,etc.) although I don't enter any Google account or open a html styled mail! To the developer. If you want money for your product, it is okay, but then don't sniffing user data in any case. Otherwise, if you mean to deal with devil tell this your customer before. I delete every kind of software, which means to call any analytics services. Don't make google or similar companies bigger then they are. thx.
Like (2)
Version 9.1.19
Mindplay
17 September 2016
This is probably the best email client overall, although not perfect yet. It's fast man... super fast. That said, it cannot be your only mail client, because some even basic features are still missing... like deleting a single email in a thread for example (you can disable threads and do it, but... yeah...), or viewing HTML emails correctly (many times they get trimmed). However, usability and UX is so good I'm willing to stick to it!
Like
Version 9.0.71
Michael-Vilain
10 July 2016
As was said here before, it's really quite basic. I can't change fonts or have sounds or skins for readability. I can't have rules to put emails into different folders and ring different sounds.

Then when I deleted it, I still kept getting notifications from CloudMail whenever I got mail from Apple's Mail. Once I deleted the stuff causing it, I had to reboot to clean everything up. It needs an uninstaller to clean all the stuff it leaves behind out and restart services that it affects.

I was disappointed because the Android app is fantastic.
Like (1)
Version 7.12.46
1 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
15 September 2016
They just announced a renaming of the product line and now it's a subscription model ($49/year). Wiped from my phone this very day.

Good bye Felicia.
Like
MacUpdate-Ishaq
24 February 2016
CloudMagic Email is a beautiful hybrid application: at its core, it’s a full-fledged email application in the vein of Airmail, Mailbox, and many other 3rd party apps, but it comes in a package that is reminiscent of minimalist word processing apps like iA Writer, Byword, or Ulysses. Most mail applications focus on organization, labeling, and other general mailbox maintenance pursuits, while leaving the email composition step as a seeming afterthought, peripheral to the application. CloudMagic Email flips the script by putting serious thought into the way the application looks and feels when you’re actually composing an email. It does so to the extent that the application could legitimately stand in as a word processor for many users — no minor claim, given the wealth of word processing options available these days. But that’s not to say that CloudMagic Email skimps on mailbox management. A wealth of intuitive gestures and neat tricks make it as worthy an option as any of its direct competitors, meaning you’re not sacrificing quality for an attractive feature. Because it began as an iOS application, CloudMagic Email delivers a forward-thinking interface that is at once informed by the simplicity expected of an iOS app, and the greater range of freedom that is afforded by the Mac environment. This developmental decision-making comes through beautifully, as the iOS app is geared towards quick, simple replies while the Mac app is designed for longer form, thoughtful responses, and their respective interfaces and feature sets are geared towards these causes. It’s a new Mac app being robustly developed, so there’s much more to come, but as an initial offering, you’d be hard-pressed to find a better email client.
Like
Version 7.7.33
Dolphinboy2u
21 January 2016
I'm surprised the developer thinks people will shell out $20 for software without a trial version available. (No, I don't consider an iOS app in any way a trial version of an OS X app.) Though I'm actively searching for an alternative to Apple Mail, there are plenty of other options out there that don't require me to pay for a trial. Airmail, Postbox, Mail Pilot, Mailmate, Unibox, etc., in no particular order.
Like (8)
Version 7.6.19
Sherman-Wilcox
17 January 2016
No reviews? Maybe that's because you don't provide a trial. Stop hiding behind Mac App Store and provide a trial on your website.
Like (7)
Version 7.6.18
1 answer(s)
vinit-joshi
vinit-joshi
18 January 2016
Hey Sherman,

This is a new version and Apple resets the reviews after every version. We are fortunate to get tons of quality feedback (116 from the US itself) from our loyal users, which drives us to keep on iterating and improving the product.

Having said that, we are exploring the possibility of providing time-based trials on our website. Till the time being however, our free mobile apps will serve as trials for the CloudMagic experience, which I can assure you, will remain consistent on the Mac as well :)
Like (1)
cjred
10 January 2016
Now it is still very basic. The iOS version is still superior because of the "cards" and easier navigation. Right now there are a few bugs to squash and hopefully and easier UI with the left sidebar.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.173