Back to MacBooster page
MacBooster free download for Mac

MacBooster Reviews

8.0.1
03 January 2020

Maintains and optimizes your system.

dtc79
17 April 2019

Most helpful

ver 7.2.4 contains a trojan horse; developer does not respond to this issue
Like (3)
Version 7.2.4

Read 43 MacBooster User Reviews

Rate this app:

maxime-ory-14
26 April 2019
Cette application est vraiment très utiles pour optimiser les performances de mon MacBook Pro et iMac à usage professionnel. Je suis également très satisfait du sav. Merci à eux !
Like (1)
Version 7.2.4
dtc79
17 April 2019
ver 7.2.4 contains a trojan horse; developer does not respond to this issue
Like (3)
Version 7.2.4
1 answer(s)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
10 July 2019
Because that's the software itself....
Like
komersonship
15 November 2018
I am looking for a Mac junk cleaner app.Then I googled and found cleanmymac and Macbooster. I compared them with trial version in details. It seems that cleanmymac has a cool interface.But macbooster can find more junks than cleanmymac. what's more macbooster has a duplicated clean which cleanmymac doesn't. It has a gemini which will cost extra over $29.99!!!!. The malware function in cleammymac has no use at all. Can anyone use pro edition of both apps give me some advise?Thanks a lot
Like (2)
Version 7.2.0
1 answer(s)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
10 July 2019
The best advice I can give you is don't use this crap. You don't need it. And it's going to cause you problems instead of solving any. There are plenty of free apps with excellent reputations that perform cleaning functions.
Like (1)
june8
12 October 2018
We the Mac users; get macOS for free but have to pay for applications to clean it. What a dirty OS this macOS. :)
Like (1)
Version 7.2.0
cig0
10 August 2018
After a long time using CleanMyMac I'm totally pissed off with them as they removed the Opt-in feature for gathering telemetry about your use of the app and now is COMPULSORY! I email them to ask about this and they answered in a truly Microsoft fashion: a lot of blah-blah saying _nothing_. Because of their total disregard for their users' privacy, I started to look into alternatives. OnyX is in my Top 3 list for sure but I don't know nothing about MacBooster -- I would greatly appreciate if current and former users of MacBooster can share their experiences. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 7.0.2
mcorbaz
26 July 2018
Version uniquement en anglais !!
Like
Version 7.0.1
1 answer(s)
Mylon
Mylon
05 November 2019
Offended ? Don't be. English is still the main language all around. French is not ;) Anyway, to give the app 2 stars because of this, is just plain stupid.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.6
MacParc
02 May 2018
https://www.virustotal.com/#/file/7b17e3a22f2be4902968e2b067e388d03dcb9c4938aa92cb810b9480159b9e31/detection
Like (1)
Version 6.0.6
Laurent-Grisel
27 April 2018
Do not mix MacKeeper (malware) and MacBooster (which works fine for me)
Like (3)
Version 6.0.5
mineraldreamer
24 March 2018
Well, I also tried version 6.0.4, after using the version 2 for a long time. I must say that it is a good application. Convenient to use, it has all the main tools to keep your Mac at a good level of performance, in a easy-to-use panel. No miracles, just makes practical maintenance.
Like (4)
Version 6.0.4
Milla
22 March 2018
I have been using MacBooster2 for a long time, and it has always been a reliable program. It helps me keep my Mac at a good performance level.
Like (3)
Version 6.0.4
b89c85cf
31 January 2018
Other reviewers have put it so clearly: do not trust this application. My ISP sent me mail to alert me to malware on my computer, which Malwarebytes later quarantined. Need I say more?
Like (4)
Version 6.0.4
Zarathoustra
06 January 2018
Crapware.
Like (3)
Version 6.0.2
RJC.NJNYC
15 November 2017
This software was Upgraded to version 5 back in June, and only got to v5.0.5, now less than 6 months later v6? Sounds like a money scheme, something not right here.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
Tiny-Fox
22 September 2017
I've been using the old MacBooster since Version 2. Took me a while but I finally decided to upgrade since I have a new computer. The best thing I like about MacBooster is it let me get rid of at least 3 or 4 other programs such as status, cleanup, uninstaller and duplicate finder. Great program.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.4
lacwbo
23 August 2017
How often is the Virus and Malware data base updated?
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
Mr.Ash
10 May 2017
I can't beleve that this malware is still available on MacUpdate, it goes hand in hand with MacKeeper... . Never ever install & pay for this crap, it won't boost you Mac at all, on the contrary, your Mac will run slower and slower each time you run this crap. The only true and clean speed up tool is Onyx, which is also totally free to use. Same here, all 5 star reviews are 100% fake. My last advice: NEVER EVER INSTALL & USE THIS CRAP, IT'S 100% MALWARE !!!
Like (12)
Version 5.0.0
3 answer(s)
Drknd
Drknd
24 May 2017
Your review doesn't make sense to me. I've used MacBooster since v 3, am on 4 now, it works great, no malware. What are you talking about? MacKeeper is bad stuff, I warn everyone away from it as malware, but I don't see the connection you're making.
Like (3)
Claude-Demierre
Claude-Demierre
13 December 2017
Warning!
Running ClamXAV v2.15.4/0.99.2 (3560) on my Mac, it found this:

/Applications/MacBooster 6.app/Contents/MacOS/MacBooster 6: Trojan.OSX.FakeAV.UNOFFICIAL FOUND

The version info is 6.0.1 Copyright © 2017 iobit. All rights reserved. and the size is 49 285 537 Byte

Seem's this is a fake version

Re-downloading and installing the version here (6.0.1), Malwarebytes found:
com.iobit.MBHelpToolerDaemon.plist
and put-it in Quarantine !
Like (2)
Laurent-Grisel
Laurent-Grisel
27 April 2018
Do not mix MacKeeper (malware) and MacBooster (which works fine for me)
look at this article
https://macsecurity.net/view/169/
Like (1)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
03 December 2016
Interesting how this GUI looks like a slightly lame copy of CleanMyMac. Overall app design including the Window layout and colors in the interface is almost a direct copy, Buttons are similar but with less finesse, features list similarly but with less info. What did they call it when one student copied another student's work...

CleanMyMac has significantly more features and the both apps have prices that bounce around each other with the periodic discounts and online coupons. CleanMyMac does seem to be regularly less expensive over all.

Be careful of the +0 reviewers, that have only ever reviewed this product....

Like (5)
Version 4.0.3
1 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
23 August 2017
And their review is often fake!
Like (1)
Eyeless
27 November 2016
At best you are likely to screw up your computer using a program like this. Even the best in the class (and much cheaper) TinkerTool System & Onyx are dangerous and should not normally be used by end users. This and others like it are more dangerous. Best would be upgrading to Sierra where much of this maintenance occurs by the system in the background. For specific problems ask at a site like Apple Discussion forums.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.3
samlink
11 October 2016
Use this app since version 2 and has always stood for accuracy and precision. It has solved some problems due to inventories after uninstalling old app as well as junk files. He has improved the speed of my old macbook. I consider it a tool to keep on hand in case of problems.
Like
Version 4.0.1
jose-kikin-5
09 October 2016
I am pretty happy with this app, it lets me clean very well my mac just by doing a simple click and it has a lot of great features and when the scan process finishes it tells you where every file is located so you can see where the trash goes. I really recommend this app for every one who wants to keep their mac safe and clean
Like
Version 4.0.1
isandahl
29 September 2016
I've tried MacBooster for my father's old mac, and it turned out to be effective enough. That Mac experienced very slow boosting and it became so annoying. The main advantage of the app is an option to manage extensions to make browser faster. Full scan seems to be also helpful to figure out what processes slows a computer down. So, that' good.
Like
Version 4.0.1
Popop
26 September 2016
In sierra macbooster 3 doesn't work. Not one word about it on the developers site, no clue or help ... just a "buy macbooster 4". DON'T waste your money on this fake-ware. If you already got macbooster installed on your mac, install "malwarebytes anti-malware" and press "scan", after scan press "remove selected items".
Like (4)
Version 3.1.5
1 answer(s)
Popop
Popop
26 September 2016
tested on my third mac, mac booster 3 works (kind of) on my macbook pro (i7). Does not work on mac mini (i7) or macbook air. Don't know why and since i have to buy yet another update i don't care. Onyx still works better and is still free.
Like
thebigshowsstar
25 August 2016
Tried MacBooster for a test to see if something like this would actually work. It works Way beyond what i expected, this is a fantastic piece of software and a steal at its price! I would recommend this to anyone 10/10.
Like
Version 3.1.5
Mr.Ash
30 June 2016
I too believe that all those 4-5 star ratings are fake. I'd recommend to not install this crap ware, or worse, spend money for it. Even many Anti-Virus/Adware tools (e.g. Bitdefender, Malwarebytes) will warn you about MacBosster, which is considerably just malware (like MacKeeper). It even won't boost your Mac in any way. If you're looking for good & free maintenance/performance app's, try OnyX or CCleaner,.
Like (3)
Version 3.1.4
Light-Years-Ahead
27 June 2016
Hi everyone, I've always heard that Mac OSX doesn't need additional optimising software. But after my MACs started to slow down, and after lots of comparing, I finally bought MacBooster. Unbelievably it turned my MACs almost as light as they were when I first bought them. And it does that seamlessly. The technical assistance is very fast and the team is very kind. For the work it does and the quality of service you get, the price is excellent. Kind Regards, Sajjid Domun, Founder & CEO, Energy Conversions Ltd. Mauritius.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.3
3 answer(s)
WetNet
WetNet
30 June 2016
If you bothered to use your real credentials, then why use a fake avatar? It would have been much more believable. As it is I have to say you are a paid advertiser or an associate with a stake in the company. I call fake ether way.
Like
Light-Years-Ahead
Light-Years-Ahead
12 July 2016
In reply to WetNet post of Jun 29, 2016:
Hello,
(1) In reply to: (If you bothered to use your real credentials, then why use a fake avatar? It would have been much more believable.)
Oh really? I did not use a fake Avatar! It's the default Avatar assigned by MacUpdate. I'm sorry, I have my real photo on my MacUpdate Account, but don't know why it's not visible here.
Now I have a question for you. What about your Avatar then? Maybe you're really a funny cat :)
Man I'll tell you something, I guess you must be very young, pay respect for elders. You know, in most places you go over the internet, people use Avatar like you're using, or photos of models or celebrities or even they copy the photos of other people and use as their Avatar, but these people don't know the penalty which the Federal Law exerts for such a crime.

(2) In reply to: (As it is I have to say you are a paid advertiser or an associate with a stake in the company. I call fake ether way.)
Man, I neither have time to write about lies, nor I'm a paid advertiser.
I'm the CEO of a Company in Renewable Energy. And instead of leading people to lies and fakes, I share a big part of our profit to the needy in every way.

I wish you a good day. And remember, if you respect the world, the world will respect you.

Kind Regards,
Mr. Domun.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
27 October 2016
The fact that this person, and others like thebigshowsstar have only ever left ONE review, this one, and have not downloaded any software, shows they are fake shills.
Like (1)
SegN3rd
05 June 2016
I only got this because it was in a bundle with other stuff I wanted. I always thought, "Mac OS X is self-optimizing, and all these booster utilities are a total waste of money." Well I'm going to have to admit it: This program is amazing. I thought I was reasonably careful about not wasting disk space, but MacBooster freed up a huge amount of disk space that was serving pretty much no purpose at all. It also gives me better control over Startup Items than the built-in Preference Pane, and it can also scan for duplicate files and malicious cookies. Okay, $60 is too much, but this program really helped me. I am not affiliated in any way with the developer.
Like
Version 3.1.3
roggie
31 May 2016
Speed up your Mac to make it run like new? How? Is it possible? All these tools have nothing to do with mac performance. If you free up space it does not mean you boost up your machine. 40 bucks is definitely too much just for cleaning tools. You've been warned.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.3
Swo
30 May 2016
I've got no horse in this race, but why would anyone in their right mind pay $60 for software that you could get for free–or at least significantly cheaper–from known and proven companies like Titanium Software (Onyx, Maintenance, etc)? Or instead save a bit longer and get either TechTool Pro 8 or Disk Warrior, indisputably two of the most powerful utilities for repairing an Apple computer. I have no idea if MacBooster is garbage-ware of not, but I can tell it's WAY overpriced based on what it apparently can do.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.3
jvanhulst
28 April 2016
Just wanted to say a quick thank you for helping me solve my issue. One email, one recommended download and problem solved. Couldn't be easier. Thank you.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.2
harryrivers3
21 April 2016
40 $ for this? No way.
Like (7)
Version 3.1.1
davanlor
19 April 2016
I recently upgraded from Mac Booster 2 to 3 and I am quite satisfied with the performance and my ability to query any of the tests it performs and see what is being fixed as opposed to blindly agreeing to fix whatever was found. And the support is super!
Like (2)
Version 3.1.1
8 answer(s)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
26 April 2016
YAY more drive by one post shill accounts!! Used by desperate, crappy software companies.
Like
lacwbo
lacwbo
05 May 2016
I see by your +0 that you have made many reviews. How much did you get paid for your fake review?
Like
davanlor
davanlor
06 May 2016
Sorry to disappoint the two a-holes (Virtualruffy and Lacwbo) who think my review was a fake but it wasn't. I don't normally provide reviews but I actually like this software. You two can go sh#t in your hats if you think a shill account would come back at you idiots. And I see by your "+" numbers you two have nothing more interesting to do than write reviews - pathetic! Bite me!!!
Like
WetNet
WetNet
06 May 2016
davanlor < Stormtrooper moron from IObit. Welcome to MacUpdate. Enjoy your stay. . .
Like
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
06 May 2016
I'm sure a jackoff, lying sack of excrement such as yourself is rather annoyed when your fake reviews get called out. Oh, the suffering, the pennies you might not get for your fake reviews. Again, your lies are revealed. ZERO downloads. One post. You were sent here to post a fake review. You DON'T use this site. You contribute nothing. You just magically show up, join and post a glowing 5 star review. So yes, you get called out, you douche!
Like
davanlor
davanlor
06 May 2016
Whoa, somebody's feathers got ruffled Virtualfluffy! Wonder when the other cry-baby is going to reply with a similar, intelligent response - Ha!
Didn't know this site allowed cretins to attack regular folks who just wanted to give their opinion on a piece of software that they paid for! I think the site admin needs to clean up this trash or useful reviews will disappear - I for one am out of here - don't need this tripe! So fluffy and whoever the other clown is, save your breath because I won't see your drivel.
Like (1)
WetNet
WetNet
06 May 2016
Good riddance! Moron...
Like
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
08 May 2016
YAAAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWNNNNNNNN> so boring. So Banal. Scammer gets caught, Scammer whines like a little biotch. Everyone laughs at pathetic scammer. Go away with your paid fake reviews. No one is buying your BS.
Like (1)
jennyslate
13 April 2016
After weeks of research and looking at many tools that don't really work , i' found this very important peace of equipment , it cleans my catch and system , run this sometimes twice a day , it truly works. A good pice of technology.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1
6 answer(s)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
26 April 2016
drive by one post shill account. By the way, LOVE the spelling! What is"i'" supposed to be a contraction of? It's software not a 'peace of equipment' or 'piece' rather. Your 'catch' ? Yeah. You've been caught. Sitting in your Nigerian cafe typing fake reviews for pennies. Again, a 'pice' or rather a piece of sh@*&@^%^%#VGUT!
Oh, and you 'run this twice a day'?!?!?! You are such a lying sack of SH*#@&*MV!
Like
lacwbo
lacwbo
27 April 2016
A sucker is born every day. This software is crap and for $59.95? You must have money to burn. Oh and I noticed that you have much experience with reviews---+0. Where did you learn to spell?
Like
jennyslate
jennyslate
05 May 2016
@Virtualruffy & @Lacwbo,
Thank you so much for pointing out my spelling mistakes. I will keep learning and improving. Seriously, why don't you be an English teacher, since you said so many harsh things about my reviews. Oh no, maybe you are not qualified, as no one can clearly understand what you really wanna express. The only thing we can notice is you are attacking everyone who expressed their real feeling about this software. If you think what we said is fake, PLEASE prove it or just SHUT UP! DON'T MAKE THE CEASELESS NOISE!
Like (1)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
05 May 2016
Dear Internet Noob, Since this is your very first time EVER on the internet the first thing you should learn is that your browser has a spelling checker! Yes, that's right! You don't have to write like a Nigerian Spambot! But when you do then EXPECT to be treated like one! You also have the ability to EDIT your post! Hoo-ray! But, I'm sure that's time you just don''t have to waste out of your busy spamming day. At pennies a fake review that's money lost! Let's see, you join a rating site to post only a single 'review' in ridiculously glowing statements about a poor quality product and you have no other activity then...SPAMMER! Can you follow that? Your profile shows ZERO downloads -you didn't even download the crappy software from here BUT we are supposed to believe that for some reason you were compelled to somehow find this website -that you never used before- join it, and with only the goodness of your intentions to enlighten us with the holy sanctity of your 'honest' opinion! -A website that you neither post to, or download from, and we're supposed to buy into your BS!?! Get real spammer. We call you out and make everyone else aware of your fraud. You don't use this site except to post your fake review then argue about it. GO AWAY LITTLE SPAMMER, JUST GO AWAY LITTLE SPAMMER. And can you really afford to lose those fake review pennies by coming back?
Like
WetNet
WetNet
06 May 2016
Another paid advertising shrill moron. . . Welcome to MacUpdate!
Like
Swo
Swo
30 May 2016
You've got to admit that your review is AWFULLY suspicious (your choice of icons does not help your case at all, by the way).
Like
nickwilde
08 April 2016
Tried Macbooster 3 for 2 months and it did a significant job at cleaning up Mac. By the way, the support team is of great help!
Like (2)
Version 3.1.1
2 answer(s)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
26 April 2016
drive by one post shill account.
Like
lacwbo
lacwbo
05 May 2016
Another fake review. +0 Shill Review.
Like
hoppsjudy328
06 April 2016
Currently pretty happy with this software. Simply pressing a button can find & fix problems shown on my Mac. Gonna see whether the issues you guys mentioned will show up.
Like (5)
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
05 May 2016
Why is it that everyone raving about this software has +0. Another shill review!
Like (1)
MsDpool
28 March 2016
Don't know why it has such a low score, I have used Macbooster and Mackeeper both. Macbooster works good on my Mac for 6 months, and feel easy for non tech folks to use. Customized setting is just what I need, duplicate finders is an surprised bonus. Only a little bit expensive.
Like (4)
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
05 May 2016
Another fake shill review! Can tell by your +0, that you have much experience with real reviews. Not!
Like
ericyoung16
03 March 2016
the support team is Great so if you have a problem Help/support center or Help/Feedback there is actually someone there Named SKY who will help you within hours of your request and if you already have the free version of MacBooster 2 you can upgrade to MacBooster 3 though an email link IObit sends out and the activation registration is reasonable discounted there's not a really big difference between MacBooster 2 & MacBooster 3 iTunes Junk was the only new category listed it cleans the left overs & IOS apps that have been installed in your Toys besure to look in the Preferences and make sure to tune it to your needs because it does more than listed like clean email attachments under Security Center change this to full scan, Under System Cleanup check the boxes to suit your needs there's only one language File in my MacBook Pro 4.1 I cleaned the rest out more space MacBooster 3 does what it is designed to do clear out the unneeded junk and Boost the speed of your Mac my rating reflects my appreciation of the support staff, SKY who was very professional correcting my situation Thank you again. Eric
Like (2)
Version 3.1.1
Titanium1
25 February 2016
60$ for this [ CENSURED ]!!!!!
Like (3)
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
08 April 2016
Yes...
Like
Virtualruffy
25 February 2016
Do you want to wreck your computer? uhhuh. Do you want to regret the day you bought it? uhhuh. Then install this GARBAGE! I'm not saying you'll also be aiding terrorists, providing assistance to those who kick kittens or causing the downfall of civilization... But I'm not saying you won't either... Do yourself a favor, buy $60 in alcohol and drink it until you forget this POS ever existed.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1
anonymous-tapir-4715
19 December 2015
What a pity to see crapware like this, Clean My Mac, and of course MacKeeper, listed here. People new to the Mac? You don't need any of this. You simply do not.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.5
lacwbo
18 December 2015
Brought to you by Obit the original developers of MacKeeper! $59.95 for this crap? There are many apps which do the same thing for far less money.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.5
Mr.Ash
13 December 2015
This App is well known crapware and never ever worth 60$. It doesn't boost your system at all, on the contrary, it slows down your system in many aspects and is considered to be a thread for the whole OSX system. For me it's a riddle how anyone can give a 5 star rating for this crap. I strongly recommend to use freeware App's like Onyx or CCleaner which do a much better (even perfect) job, are safe to use and totally free.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
18 December 2015
I agree. I wonder if it is as hard to remove as MacKeeper is? You realize the Obit was the original developer of MacKeeper before selling it.
Like (2)
Haliomaster
11 December 2015
All 5 star ratings are fake reviews for sure. This is known crapware like Mackeeper.
Like (9)
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
davanlor
davanlor
19 April 2016
Sorry Haliomaster - my rating was not a fake and this program works very well. Stick that in your pessimistic pipe and choke on it! Think a company rep would tell you to stick it??
Like
danrol92
11 December 2015
Used this app once on Windows and when I've moved to Mac installed again. Best cleaning and boosting app for mac. Also when I've lost my license key they didn't found it but gave me the new one! Really great customer support.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.4
3 answer(s)
WetNet
WetNet
12 December 2015
Hello assistant paid developer! Enjoy your stay and fake reviews!
Like (3)
lacwbo
lacwbo
31 December 2015
How much did they pay you??
Like
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
25 February 2016
Oh good you 'used this app on windows and then on mac" Freaking lying sack of festering excrement. All scammers and spammers should DIE.
Like (1)