Back to Face2Face page
Face2Face free download for Mac

Face2Face Reviews

1.4.4
18 January 2016

Connect Apple Mail email to friends' Facebook profile pictures.

Dan-D
19 February 2013

Most helpful

The Face2Face installer seems to have problems with user folders on a separate volume! I have my user folder on a hdd while my system/os files and apps are on a faster ssd, and as a result the installer created a new, unnecessary user folder (and subfolders) on the wrong volume, to which Mail had no access to! (I never ever had any problems with other software, btw) After placing the bundle in the correct folder and deleting all unnecessary folders the plugin seems to work fine, tho. Cheers, Dan
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1

Read 27 Face2Face User Reviews

Rate this app:

WordWeaver
24 March 2016
It is a sad day for the Face2Face plugin, and I will henceforth be uninstalling it from my computer. Let me tell you why. As some of you will have already discovered, this formerly free Apple Mail plugin has now been incorporated into Feingeist's "MailButler" app, and has been discontinued as a free, standalone plugin. About an hour ago I received an on-screen notification that there was an update available for Face2Face, which would make it compatible with Mac OS X 10.11.4. So, dutifully, I installed the update. What Feingeist did NOT tell me in the update notification is that if I installed Face2Face 1.4.4 (1413), I would henceforth be assaulted with a nag screen to purchase MailButler EVERY SINGLE TIME that I launch Apple Mail. Feingeist, I am NOT interested in paying $84/year to use your MailButler subscription service, and I certainly do not appreciate your nag screen every time I launch Apple Mail. I was happy using your FREE Face2Face plugin. That is all I wanted, and that is all I still want. But with your nag screen, it is "¡Adios, amigo!".
Like (2)
Version 1.4.4
2 answer(s)
Mausie2
Mausie2
02 April 2016
Me Too! I am NOT interested in paying $84/year to use your MailButler subscription service! Bye Feingeist!
Like (1)
Mondele
Mondele
11 October 2016
I hope I have good news for you. I did not previously own Face2Face, but I did have two of their other plugins, now part of MailButler.

Three items that may interest you:
First, if you don't mind registering with them, you can get the Face2Face element of MailButler, and many other features, for free. You only need to pay the subscription for other of the features of MailButler.
Second, when you launch Mail (with the final version of Face2Face) it gives you a check box to turn off the upgrade screen for MailButler.
Third, there is now a discount code offered when you first launch Mail with Face2Face, for those who would like to upgrade.

I chose not to register with them, at this time, because I'm an old-school computer user, but it looks to me like they took your criticisms to heart and have corrected those issues. The updated Face2Face is available from their site, in the support area. I'm using it on El Capitan, btw.
Like
Dan-D
23 March 2016
Not compatible with the lastet El Capitan update. Are we forced to upgrade to MailButler and pay a monthly fee now? Any news about discounts for existing customers?
Like
Version 1.4.4
Moxiesozo
19 January 2016
Feingeist (the developer) has apparently killed off this Mail plug-in and is integrating it into a package called MailButler. So, even if you paid for this plug-in, there will not be any future updates (the developer's web page is devoid of all information), and there are apparently no discounts for upgrading to MailButler. Worst of all, MailButler has a limited "free" version (up to 20 uses per month), but will be charging MONTHLY fees for their "professional" and "corporate" offerings of MailButler. Very saddened by this situation.
Like
Version 1.4.3
1 answer(s)
Mailbutler
Mailbutler
19 January 2016
Face2Face is now to be found as one of the various functions of our new product, MailButler, - that's true. For those, however, who already has the plugin on their computer: it will continue to serve you within El Capitan. As to the discounts for upgrading to MailButler, we will have a special offer for existing customers. More details will be revealed soon.
Like
trickyboy
07 February 2015
Bravo ! My lovely Apple Mail app is beautified.
Like
Version 1.3.1
ntistnt
08 December 2014
Not very happy on Yosemite with 1.3.1 installed the program each and everytime I enter into mail asks me for the images for my 7 email accounts. I supply them and all seems to work until i exit mail and renter and again all images are lost and have to be roloaded...
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Techboy
Techboy
10 December 2014
I have noticed that to, plus, it will randomly start downloading images for my thousands of email messages in the background grinding my computer to a halt and causing the fans to go crazy. I end up having to quit Mail to get any work done. I may have to abandon the plug-in which is too bad since it does perform a very useful function.
Like
Liam-
10 November 2014
Useful tool and works as advertised.
Like
Version 1.2.15
ylluminate
16 August 2014
Not yet compatible with Mail 8.0.
Like
Version 1.2.11
WordWeaver
06 August 2014
Version 1.2.11 is available on their website here: http://www.chungwasoft.com/face2face/
Like
Version 1.2.10
RavenNevermore
28 June 2014
This is not working with Mac OS X 10.9.4 even though it says it should.
Like
Version 1.2.9
2 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
01 July 2014
1.2.10 is now available on their website.
Like (3)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
01 July 2014
Thanks!
Like
ReinerMa
11 May 2014
Works great with 10.9.3 (13D61)
Like (2)
Version 1.2.7
IanM8164
26 February 2014
This still doesn't work with 10.9.2. Mail disables it instantly. Come on guys we need this upgraded properly.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
28 February 2014
Download the latest version; 1.2.5, that works.
Like (2)
RavenNevermore
26 February 2014
Mail is claiming this new version is not compatible...
Like
Version 1.2.4
RavenNevermore
21 December 2013
This version works with Mail 7.1. :)
Like
Version 1.2.3
PieterOpie
08 November 2013
You won't ever see me using a picture in anything. No way!! It's pure vanity. I am far too modest...... Besides, 48x48 is not enough to show off my devastating good looks. It's an insult to my many many many admirers.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
PieterOpie
PieterOpie
08 November 2013
that should read "devastatingly"......
Like
Marcossi
26 October 2013
Great little gimmick that I hope gets upgraded to work with OS X Mavericks Mail.app soon!
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
29 October 2013
The latest version is compatible with Mavericks!
Like
avengery
22 October 2013
The app is good but it needs some time to fix some issues regarding photo specs that it should be accepted by the app , app is freezing the mail app if you select wrong photo and if you hit later it will work ..
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
avengery
avengery
22 October 2013
forgot to ask about a small guide for how to remove it ( till they fix it )
Like
Akrobat
22 October 2013
This update constantly crashes Mail. I've had to remove it and go back to the previous version.
Like
Version 1.2
kapps
08 August 2013
Not working on 10.9 dp5.
Like
Version 1.1.11
Moxiesozo
04 August 2013
"Removed Facebook support..." -- !!! Umm, so is this now worthless?
Like
Version 1.1.10
2 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
08 August 2013
No, Face2Face still adds user images based on Gravatar. Moreover, company images are displayed, if available. Currently, I am working on integrating Google+ support...
Like
Techboy
Techboy
29 August 2013
Is there a way to add LinkedIn images?
Like
kapps
05 June 2013
Excellent. I wish it would overflow into the messages app.
Like
Version 1.1.9
::mile::
04 June 2013
Looks like today's 10.8.4 update to OS X broke it…!? Hope there's an update on the way…! :-/
Like
Version 1.1.8
1 answer(s)
::mile::
::mile::
04 June 2013
Version 1.1.9 is already available from the developer's website…! :)
Like (1)
ManfredA
30 May 2013
Great added missing contact images, most missing feature in Mail!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.8
Yannick-P-
15 April 2013
WOW! add Linkedin please!!! I am willing to pay for it.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.7
MacBunny
24 March 2013
Thank you for making this! This is something Apple should have done years ago both for Mac and iOS!!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
BiL-C
24 March 2013
Works well, and i like that it identifies which photos it adds to Mail. I see some people have uploaded their photos to the F2F service already (mostly businesses) so that's cool. I did have some initial weirdness with the file requester when selecting a personal photo to upload to the F2F service which i fixed by adding the F2F plug-in (~/Library/Mail/Bundles/Face2Face.mailbundle) to Default Folder's exclusion list. Cant' say I'm a fan of the modal dialogue box in the image upload settings.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
Dan-D
19 February 2013
The Face2Face installer seems to have problems with user folders on a separate volume! I have my user folder on a hdd while my system/os files and apps are on a faster ssd, and as a result the installer created a new, unnecessary user folder (and subfolders) on the wrong volume, to which Mail had no access to! (I never ever had any problems with other software, btw) After placing the bundle in the correct folder and deleting all unnecessary folders the plugin seems to work fine, tho. Cheers, Dan
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
21 February 2013
This is fixed in 1.0.2 :)
Like (1)
Dan-D
Dan-D
21 February 2013
UPDATE: Problem solved indeed with the latest version (v1.0.2). Bundle gets installed in the correct folder now on systems with user folder on separate volume. Friendly, quick support and active developer – thanks again Fabian!
Like (1)
Desbois
17 February 2013
It blocks mail and leads to a crash of the app on 10.8.2
Like (1)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Bezierboy
Bezierboy
17 February 2013
Not for me it doesn't. Perhaps your system is somehow different from mine.
Like (1)
fjaeger
fjaeger
18 February 2013
Please send an email to support@chungwasoft.com and we will figure out what's wrong with your configuration.
Like (1)