Back to Spectacle page
Spectacle free download for Mac

Spectacle Reviews

1.2
27 December 2016

Organize your windows without using a mouse.

hashier
20 March 2013

Most helpful

Awesome app, only features that I miss are: 1/3 2/3 split and restore defaults. Awesome app and not just free it's open source as well. Another nice to have feature would be, that I can click on the menu bar item and see all possible shortcuts + click there and execute the action like "size up" does it.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.1

Read 20 Spectacle User Reviews

Rate this app:

elfbuddy96
20 November 2019
Spectacle is no longer actively maintained, but Rectangle (https://rectangleapp.com) is a more than worthy alternative.
Like
Version 1.2
Hachepunto
03 January 2017
Simple, functional and free. Just perfect.
Like
Version 1.2
cmdr-spaceraygun
10 September 2016
Smart and fast. My current window manager, leapfrogging several others (including Alfred window management workflows).
Like
Version 1.0.6
courtney-2
07 May 2016
Love love love this app! I've been using it for years and have ZERO complaints. It only does a small handful of things. But it does them well. Set your own keyboard shortcuts to easily move and re-arrange apps and finder windows. I have a small 13" macbook pro, so screen space is precious. ⌃⌘← to move display to left side of screen ⌃⌘→ to move display to right side of screen ⌃⌘P top right ⌃⌘M bottom right ⌃⌘Z bottom left ⌃⌘Q top left
Like (1)
Version 1.0.6
applehelpwriter
13 February 2016
It says it's donationware, but I don't see an obvious way/place to donate from within the app itself.
Like
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Akanico
Akanico
22 February 2016
not sure a donation ware implies providing a link to donate inside the app itself, but it's pretty easy to find the link to do so on the dev's homepage, though.
Like
Designer
19 December 2015
Fantastic. Works perfectly. Gorgeously designed, super clean and a great icon. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
bowski
01 March 2015
Simple, nice Icon, perfect and for Free. THX
Like
Version 0.8.8
Wts
29 October 2014
At last a window mover with a Apple drop down menu listing all the different movements that actually make sense.
Like
Version 0.8.8
Khannibal
21 October 2014
Perfect app, really easy to use. Very stable (it never crashed). Works with 99% of the apps I use. Can't live without it. :) Thanks to the dev for his work !
Like (1)
Version 0.8.6
DS7545
19 June 2014
Just updated to spectacle 0.8.5 on os X 10.9.3. Works great! Just wish that it worked with all apps/windows (Outlook and others only with a few sizes or none at all), and that there was the ability to snap windows by dragging a window title bars to sides of screen.
Like
Version 0.8.5
jwjb
19 March 2014
Spectacle is an awesome app that I could not possibly do without and has saved me innumerable hours in being able to quickly organize and resize all the various windows I have open on my Late 2013 27" iMac.
Like
Version 0.8.4
x0x0
01 December 2013
I really like this app; can't hardly do without. But why in the world does it need to call home at ramdom? There's no box to tick off in the prefs to prevent it.
Like
Version 0.8.4
Jazzyguy
31 October 2013
This version is working for me.I love it 5 Stars for sure.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.4
Tom-Smith
10 October 2013
Unfortunately buggy. Won't, for instance, operate on pdfs open in recent Adobe Reader versions. It has one function not present in SizeUp, which is bug free: the ability to re-size windows from the keyboard, so I keep it around for just that.
Like
Version 0.8.2
hashier
20 March 2013
Awesome app, only features that I miss are: 1/3 2/3 split and restore defaults. Awesome app and not just free it's open source as well. Another nice to have feature would be, that I can click on the menu bar item and see all possible shortcuts + click there and execute the action like "size up" does it.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.1
Ilyeah
07 February 2013
can't start at 10.6.8
Like
Version 0.8
mantral
07 February 2013
could be the best, but crashes every time i try to display preferences.... (ML 10.8.2)
Like
Version 0.8
2 answer(s)
ZenMaster-Flash
ZenMaster-Flash
09 February 2013
Ditto -- under OS X 10.8.2
Like
mantral
mantral
10 February 2013
issue fixed in 0.8.1. thanks.
Like
pluswn
29 January 2013
It just simply works.
Like
Version 0.7
GreenVomit8
26 October 2012
Best app of this type that I reviewed. There are about 10 of them. Handles all of my needs with simplicity. Latest release now can split screens up into thirds. Awesome!
Like (1)
Version 0.7
Jazzyguy
18 October 2012
I like it. It sits in the menu and is very convenient to use.
Like (1)
Version 0.6.10