Back to Tincta page
Tincta free download for Mac

Tincta Reviews

3.1.2
20 March 2017

Fast and intuitive text editor.

Kid-Sun
16 June 2011

Most helpful

Beside the program, I like the icon. It looks a little like my girl friend. She would say, oh, I have lot of feet, lets go shopping!
Like (7)
Version 0.99

Read 23 Tincta User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
21 November 2016
This is abandonware, no longer available from the developer. His only app at this time is Workabulary.
Like
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
mghty
mghty
11 February 2017
You are wrong. Fault is with Macupdate!

The app is available for free in the App store.
Like (1)
Tony2013
25 February 2014
There is an annoying line down the middle of the page whenever I load a text document with Tinca. How do I remove that annoying line that is in middle of every page, running from middle top to bottom?
Like
Version 2.2.3
1 answer(s)
Mr. Fridge Software
Mr. Fridge Software
31 May 2014
That is a page guide that (by default) shows the 80 character column which in many coding guidelines is the maximum line length. You can easily turn the page guide of in the Preferences.
Like (3)
Mondele
04 December 2013
I'm sure Tincta is a wonderful editor, and all of that, but it's the first program I've ever encountered that required me to agree with the user's religion in order to use it. No thanks. There are enough code editors out there that I don't need to embrace your green religion to write code.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
6 answer(s)
Markie205
Markie205
10 January 2014
Your posting is nonsense and has nothing to do with the efficacy of the software. --
Like (6)
Xenophile
Xenophile
10 July 2014
I evaluated Tincta and have not the slightest idea what you're babbling about.
Like
Mondele
Mondele
10 July 2014
My posting isn't nonsense, and the license is a very important part of a program. If you don't have any idea what I'm talking about, there are continuing ed. programs to help you with that.
Like
Markie205
Markie205
10 July 2014
Let me be clear about my comment. I look for user experience to see whether software is useful. So Mondele's original comment doesn't add value, just wastes bandwidth --
Like
Big-Mac-XXL
Big-Mac-XXL
03 August 2014
*LOL* I just downloaded Tincta to see the environmentalist statement of faith that I as a user have to agree to if I want to use this software. And indeed, they write:

Anyway to use Tincta you must agree to the End User License Agreement (EULA) beneath. This EULA also contains a paragraph which obliges you to do something to stop global warming or reduce pollution. It is up to you to decide what actions you will take; Mr. Fridge propose:
- replace a conventional light bulb with an energy efficient CFL-bulb
- go to work by bike (of course: bicycle not motor cycle)
- buy a new fridge
- or just put your computer to sleep when you leave for lunch

OK, I will today butcher one of my chickens to reduce CO2 greenhouse gas emissions. And to reduce waste I will fry the chicken in my green colored pan and will eat its delicious meat while wearing a green Robin Hood hoodie. This entitles me to use Tincta with a pure conscience.

Mother Gaia will love me!
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
25 November 2015
This is not a religious request, so Mondele's response is indeed nonsense in that regard.
Free software should be free IMO, but any developer is free to set any fee or another requirement for an action in order to use the software. It's up to the user to make the decisions.

I wouldn't like this to be common place, even as I think every developer can do what they want.
Like (1)
Rondfranks
16 February 2013
The link on MacUpdate downloads 2.0.2. The link on the developers site downloads 2.0.3.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Tony2013
09 February 2013
I'm very dissapointed that the programmers abandoned Snow Leopard and that they couldn't work out how to get this to work on Snow Leopard :(
Like (3)
Version 2.0.3
2 answer(s)
Barisart
Barisart
10 February 2013
Really? 3 bad ratings for a free Application although the developer explained their move of abandoning SL? I use this editor since version 0.something and I have to say that it got better with every update.
Like (4)
Filp
Filp
21 March 2013
@Tony2013. Three bad-star reviews in little more than a week because it doesn't do what dev already explained it couldn't do? And a free app at that? Grow up.
Like (5)
mark-strahl
09 February 2013
I really like the new icon!
Like
Version 2.0.3
Tony2013
01 February 2013
When will this text editor work on Snow Leopard? Every single version has always crashed for me. I have never seen an App for Mac not being able to be fixed by the programmers like this before?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Tony2013
30 January 2013
Would love to try this App, running Snow Leopard, unfortunately I ran the very latest hotfix, but it crashes as soon as it loads: Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV) Errors. I am hoping a fix is released in the near future.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
badbadger
badbadger
01 February 2013
I confirm that version 2.0.2 has stopped working again on Lion :( Version 2.0.1 works well and will stay with her.
Like
badbadger
30 January 2013
After repairing errors (very quick response of developers) it works perfectly. It is simple and fast but has great potential. A small note: As someone points out a nice look - I suggest to hide the toolbar - the icons are a bit weird :)
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Tony2013
Tony2013
01 February 2013
Tried version 2.0.2, but it also crashes for me with an Exception Type: EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (SIGILL) ERROR.
Like
badbadger
28 January 2013
I've been able to run version 2.0. The program closes immediately. (EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (SIGILL). 1.3.1 version works without a problem. (Mac OS X 10.7.5)
Like
Version 2.0
Iliketrash
28 January 2013
"one-window text editor" The trend to all-in-one application programs, especially programmer's text editors, is one of the worst interface ideas in decades. It is an extremely poor use of precious screen real estate, especially for laptop users. It's like Windows 1.0 all over again.
Like
Version 2.0
vm35
12 April 2012
Is there Tincta for OS X 10.5?
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Mr. Fridge Software
Mr. Fridge Software
15 June 2012
Unfortunately not. Tincta uses several APIs and technologies that were only introduced with 10.6. Also Apple makes it really difficult for developers to support any OS that is older than version preceding the current... However we will do our best to support 10.6 as long as possible.
Like (1)
S/ash
17 October 2011
Thanks developer, for this awesome app.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
Mlbkxbx
17 October 2011
Please don't take this the wrong way, because it's just how i am, but personally i can't even begin to use an application with icons (both the main application icon, and the toolbar etc icons) that IMHO (i.e. a personal preference) look less pretty than what i would expect from a modern OS X application. I'm sure some of you think the icons look awesome though. :) Just saying!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Mr. Fridge Software
Mr. Fridge Software
02 November 2011
Hi, we hope you like the new icons in 1.3 better and maybe you reconsider trying out Tincta.
Like (1)
exilederek
15 October 2011
Awesome editor, dig the octopus.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
blackbonez
28 July 2011
Very, very fast and simple editor. I like it.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
Samuel222
10 July 2011
Nice app indeed. I use it instead of Fraise which was also good but quite often would not open a second file, when one is open. This one opens as many files as you wish. The only thing I would like to have is the possibility to save files in any directory, given in the Preferences. It always suggests to save in Home directory, and I always change it to Desktop. The Preferences do not have this option.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Mr. Fridge Software
Mr. Fridge Software
10 July 2011
We're happy that you like Tincta. Actually Tincta should always suggest the last used location to save your file. This location is not saved over restart, though. If you open a file from your Documents folder Tincta will suggest to save it there. If you save a file to your Desktop it will suggest any new files to be saved to the Desktop, too. However we will think about adding an option for that or saving the last used location over restarts.
Like
Roman-Valenta
25 June 2011
Dear developer, thank you for creating a very nice tool, that I can use to play around with HTML, CSS and another files around website coding. I love the simplicity, all the features are easy to access. Only thing I'd change are the purple icons inside the interface. I'd switch it to something more Mac like - it's 8 icons if I'm not mistaken. The main app icon is awesome though. Otherwise when Lion comes out, it will need some stability improvements (on DP4 it's quite unstable).
Like
Version 0.99
Kid-Sun
16 June 2011
Beside the program, I like the icon. It looks a little like my girl friend. She would say, oh, I have lot of feet, lets go shopping!
Like (7)
Version 0.99
mark-strahl
13 June 2011
Tincta is finally a useful alternative to Fraise/Smultron. It has about the same feature set. But Tincta is a lot faster, has a line numbering that really works (Smultron always had problems with that) and a more convenient search interface. And it seems to be in active development - there's even a built-in feedback form.
Like (3)
Version 0.99
Barisart
05 June 2011
This little editor is really fast and with 0.98 syntax coloring is great. It does what it should do without being clumsy. For my daily scripting it is near perfect. Nice would be a menu to run your script. But after having the terminal open most of the time it is not a real downpoint. I'm looking forward for the 1.0 version!
Like
Version 0.98
Barisart
02 June 2011
Dear developer, this new version (0.96) keeps crashing, please fix this fast so I can use it again. One question at last: Will it be free when it is no beta anymore?
Like
Version 0.96
1 answer(s)
Mr. Fridge Software
Mr. Fridge Software
02 June 2011
Hi, we fixed this bug. If you encounter any other problems please write us so we can fix them as fast as possible. By the way Tincta remains free.
Like (1)
Tice
14 May 2011
Looks promising! Keep up the good work. Still working with TextWrangler so far, but there are some great features missing: 1. Organize tags (like in Taco HTML Edit) 2. Highlighting the closing tag - same with { } if your cursor is before or after it ( {| ) This is VERY useful i.e. for long while loops or many brackets(?) 3. If you highlight a word the editor should highlight all equal words (tags, numbers, ...) which helps a lot if you want to replace a var or some text. 4. The option to choose the highligh color is necessary, because in syntax coloring it bites the syntax color sometimes.
Like
Version 0.9.2
1 answer(s)
Mr. Fridge Software
Mr. Fridge Software
20 May 2011
Hi, thanks for your suggestions. With the new Version 0.94 we implemented that moving the cursor over a closing bracket highlights the opening (just like Xcode does). Also we added the option to choose the selection color in the preferences. We hope these new features makes Tincta even more appealing.
Like