Back to DesktopUtility page
DesktopUtility free download for Mac

DesktopUtility Reviews

4.2.2
20 June 2019

Quickly access useful system tasks.

Jazzyguy
21 July 2012

Most helpful

Excellent Utility. It does whatitis designed to do.
Like (4)
Version 1.2.5

Read 17 DesktopUtility User Reviews

Rate this app:

Love it!
Like
Version 4.2.1
Derekcurrie
17 October 2016
Simple, functional, free, a required utility for all advanced Mac users, written by SweetP Productions. Get it. Use it. Enjoy it. Check out SweetP's other excellent software as well.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
WordWeaver
03 May 2016
When I first saw "New brighter icon" under the "What's New" section for 2.2, a smile came across my face, and I thought to myself "Ha! Maybe Russell listened to reason after all and changed DesktopUtility's menubar icon so that it doesn't look so similar to Xmenu's menubar icon. Alas, I was mistaken. While the Finder icon is indeed new, the menubar icon remains the same. It looks kind of like a black flower with a white center. I made sure to shut down DesktopUtility first, before I installed the new version. When that didn't work, I shut down 2.2, and then deleted every file and folder that was related to it in my Home/Library folder, and made sure to empty the trash. Nevertheless, when I relaunched DesktopUtility, it is still the same black menubar icon. The only thing I haven't tried is rebooting my entire machine, which I can't do right now because it would interrupt all of my web services and other Internet-related things that I run. So, assuming that you really didn't change the menubar icon's appearance, Russell, I again appeal to you to consider doing so, so that older folks like me aren't confused by the similarities between the Xmenu and DesktopUtility icons. Thanks for your consideration.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
04 May 2016
I took a lot at Xmenu, and the icons aren't similar at all?
which version of Xmenu are you using?
Like
Foulger
12 October 2015
Such an excellent utility that I have only praise for it. Well done to the author.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
WordWeaver
11 October 2015
Thank you for this update to a very practical, time-saving little app. I would like to offer one suggestion for your consideration: If you compare your menubar icon to that of Xmenu, you will see that they are very similar in appearance. Being an elderly person myself, I have to now look even more carefully, in order to make sure that I don't click on Xmenu's icon, instead of the intended DesktopUtility icon. I think just colorizing your app's icon would help to distinguish it from Xmenu . . . perhaps with TWO colors; one for the center, and one for the periphery.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
twilliams-2
23 June 2015
I have been working for months to delete 150,000 items from my trash. I would leave it emptying over the weekend only to see less than 5,000 gone. This little app cleared all the hanging files in under a minute with a simple click. As with most software, use it only when you need it.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.3
1 answer(s)
George6
George6
12 October 2015
nice fake review
Like
GianMarco-Tavazzani
25 April 2014
The Finder adds are already there in XtraFinder, a 'must have', not so the Dock and MenuBar restart so… I believe that some more actions should be found out to justify its use. By the way, once more, the suggested alternative apps showed here above are almost not. Not a reason to not be grateful to the developer for his efforts.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
antoniong
08 November 2013
Great app but since 10.9 it reverts to the topfolder.
Like
Version 1.4
XerSon7358
15 October 2013
Спасибо Огромное. Русская локализация как раз в тему.
Like (2)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
George6
George6
12 October 2015
fake review
Like
GeogProf
18 June 2013
A great app. Thanks to the dev for offering it on a 'donations' basis.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.4
GeogProf
16 April 2013
I like this app and have used it since its release, but in the last few versions the ‘Force Empty Trash’ command simply does not work on Trash items which Onyx handles with aplomb. Shame too, since that one extra capability is what made me switch from/ignore other such Menubar apps that only enable invisible files revealing/hiding, but now it’s no better than the rest of them. I use Mac OS 10.8.3.
Like
Version 1.3.1
7 answer(s)
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
23 April 2013
thats odd? It works on my 10.8.3 setup, ill look into it.
Like
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
23 April 2013
Ive just updated the Empty Trash script, try d/l v1.3.2 and see if it works better for you.
Like (1)
GeogProf
GeogProf
24 April 2013
I’m afraid v. 1.3.2 has no effect either — force-emptying the trash does nothing. I thought that this might be caused by the fact that I have my Mid-2012 2.9 GHz i7 MacBook Pro's hard disk partitioned into 2 volumes (Main and Scratch) and the OS is only installed on 1 of them (Main), while all data (including my Home folder) is stored on the Scratch partition. But, DesktopUtility has always worked fine with that setup until now, so I don’t know what the problem is. I’ve been running this setup since I bought my MBP last July, and I like to reinstall the OS occasionally, so I’ll take this opportunity to reinstall over the next day or so and later report whether that helped.
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
13 June 2013
I finally figured out why DesktopUtility 1.3.3's Force Empty Trash function doesn't always work. This time, running on my main partition, it only emptied half of the items in my Trash, leaving the other 3 items untouched. And, when I ran it again, it still wouldn't empty those items. The 3 files that it wouldn't empty each came from outside the main partition: 1) version 1.3.2 of "DesktopUtility.app" came from the Applications folder of my Emergency partition; 2) "DesktopUtility 1.3.2.7z" came from the 500 GB portable USB drive on which I store copies of all my software, and it was still attached and mounted when I ran the Force Empty Trash command; and 3) "GIS Spatially Referenced Remote Imaging Data Acquisition Methods.txt" came from my 3rd partition, on which I store only data (that doc was a third copy stored there while I was writing the article). The files that it did empty were of a similar nature, but all came from the main partition. I thought that maybe DesktopUtility might be behaving oddly because I had it sort of hidden away in my Bartender 1.0.9 menubar item, but I tried unhiding it and using the Force Empty Trash command straight from DesktopUtility's own menubar item, but it still wouldn't empty those 3 items. But, all along, I've been assuming that the Force Empty Trash command should work on all files in the startup drive's Trash folder no matter where they came from, just so long as those volumes were attached and mounted when the command was initiated. Once I realized that the files which DesktopUtility ignored came from non-startup volumes, I realized that my original premise was flawed. I confirmed this by running a couple of other freeware/shareware apps' Force Empty Trash command, and they too failed to empty the files that came from outside of the startup volume. Only running the regular Empty Trash or Secure Empty Trash command from the Finder menu would empty those files. So that's it, DesktopUtility is not faulty, my reasoning was.
Like (2)
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
15 June 2013
does this version work any better: http://sweetpproductions.com/products/desktoputility/DesktopUtility134.zip
Like (2)
GeogProf
GeogProf
17 June 2013
Yes! Version 1.3.4's Force Empty Trash function now works on whatever is in the startup volume's Trash folder, whether it came from the startup volume or not. The only (tiny) issue I noticed was that the normal Trash emptying sound effect was absent while DesktopUtility performed the Force Empty Trash function. Great job, Sweetp Productions.
Like (1)
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
17 June 2013
ok, thanks for the detective work, and the feedback. Ive added in the trash sound to the official v1.3.4, just d/l from here, or my website: www.swetpproductions.com :)
Like (2)
alimak
30 January 2013
I had problems with the toggle function of Show/Hide Desktop. The Desktop went blank without any possibility to get the files and folders back into visibility. Fortunately it could be reset/repaired by TinkerTool.
Like
Version 1.2.9
VerifyMe
05 December 2012
Love this utility. Version 1.2.1 broke after upgrading to Mountain Lion (would not toggle invisible files/folders) but version 1.2.9 fixed the problem. Everything is good again!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.9
jladd-2
30 July 2012
Not working with Mountain Lion.
Like
Version 1.2.6
1 answer(s)
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
30 July 2012
what exactly isnt working? Its working fine on my MacBook Air, running 10.8. send me an email at: info at sweetpproductions dot com
Like (2)
Jazzyguy
21 July 2012
Excellent Utility. It does whatitis designed to do.
Like (4)
Version 1.2.5
wintermute
11 November 2011
Great little utility to show (and re-hide) files and folders that are hidden, especially with Lion now hiding the user Library by default.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.2
Alamak
29 July 2011
Small, simple and useful. Thank you!
Like (3)
Version 1.2