Back to Air Video Server HD page
Air Video Server HD free download for Mac

Air Video Server HD Reviews

2.3.0-beta1u1
19 October 2018

Stream videos in almost any format to your iOS device.

Sheagirl
08 June 2011

Most helpful

This product is great because it just works and it is free although you have to buy the iphone/ipad app. It is still a very good value and easy to use.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.3

Read 18 Air Video Server HD User Reviews

Rate this app:

sxjohnson
22 July 2019
I've had this App for years, I don't know what I would do without it! Must get the Beta stuff, lets you stream over Google Play. Really flexible and play almost any video file format.
Like
Version 2.3.0-beta1u1
promoowebhosting
06 April 2019
2 years ago my Air Video has working good but when I changed my system with the same features in the old system. It's getting slow and sometimes didn't respond. So its the drawback and they have to work on it.
https://www.promoocodes.com/coupons/hostinger/
Like
Version 2.3.0-beta1u1
Shane-Smith
11 March 2019
This used to work and now it doesn't. Their website has nothing to help not even a contact. This software used to be amazing, but with a lack of updates and zero support, I'm going to look for an alternative.
Like
Version 2.3.0-beta1u1
WordWeaver
19 October 2018
Heads up! Please note that Air Video Server HD 2.3.0-beta1u1 is by no means a new version for machines running macOS. It has in fact been out since February 19th of this current year, 2018. Regarding the iOS client -- aka Air Video HD -- it currently stands at version 2.3.3 on the App Store.
Like
Version 2.3.0-beta1u1
Burt-Reynolds
31 October 2015
2.2.1u1 doesn't verify with the current iOS AV app. Update iOS app waiting for approval. So stick with your current AV computer software and install 2.2.1u1 when that app is updated. There is a thread on the AV forums.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1u1
Andrewm8
30 October 2015
MU download link brings version 2.2.0, while autoupdate and developer's site already have version 2.2.1
Like
Version 2.2.0
Jeff-H-
08 November 2014
Air Video has been working flawlessly for me for a couple years now (maybe 3?). I've gone from 10.7 -10.10 without even a hiccup.
Like
Version 1.0.4
lisowski8o@pobox.com
07 October 2014
Current version is 2.0.2, why doesn't MacUpdate know about this?
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
14 December 2014
You can use the "Add/Update App" link at the bottom of the page to submit an update: http://www.macupdate.com/developers/update/
Like
Stephen-Fry
12 October 2013
Doesn't work on OS X 10.9 Mavericks GM Works fine on OS X 10.8 Any fix for this?
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
30 July 2014
I have this working just fine on 10.9.4 and also Yosemite Beta
Like (1)
D9
03 September 2013
After reading up (& testing where possible) on this offering as well as Air Media and AirPlayIt, I have a couple of observations: 1. Only AirPlayIt says it can play DRM movies (albeit via Safari on iPad/iPhone but play it does and w/ no issue) 2. AirPlayIt is the only free option for both server & iOS client 3. AirPlayIt has not been updated in some time and does not play properly on iPhone 5 (& thusly 5S/5C) as well as iOS 7 (perhaps?) 4. Air Media offers the broadest selection of video formats to view 5. Air Video seems to be the best supported from a development, performance and customer service standpoint. Like anything, there are pluses and minuses with each option. If you use an iPhone 5 and/or you're concerned about iOS 7 support plus want the finest playback, then this Air Video seems best, although Air Media seems intent on supporting iOS 7 too. However, if you use iPhone 4S or older, or if free is the key, then AirPlayIt seems to be the solution. /
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
martinb2
martinb2
04 September 2013
After you review I tested AirPlayIt, too. And I must say: great! It is free, works on Mac OS X 10.6 / iPad with iOS 6.1 without any problems and plays all my videos as expected. Why should they update if it runs perfectly? And iOS 7 is not officially out now.
Like
Stephen-Fry
01 September 2013
Great app for streaming MKV movies. Top notch.
Like
Version 1.0.4
The-Jtizzle
01 September 2013
Upgraded to the HD version today and went smooth and running great on both my iPad and my iPhone. Even streamed a movie to my Apple TV 3 today. The new UI is a great update and performance is even better than the old version. I really like how settings sync between devices if you enable the feature.
Like
Version 1.0.4
martinb2
31 August 2013
On Mac OS X 10.6.8 nothing happens. No icon in the menubar, no (preference) window, nothing. Even no crash report window, but in the console a crash report (EXC_BAD_ACCESS). On Mac OS X 10.7.5 the application starts well, but can not establish a internet connection. I disabled the Firewall and restarted the application - no changes. I then downloaded "Air Video Server 2.4.6 beta" and everything works fine on Mac OS X 10.6. I tried many UPnP servers and never had such problems.
Like
Version 1.0.3
7 answer(s)
Revco
Revco
31 August 2013
You're right. Tried it with v1.0.3 & 1.0.4 and both don't launch on 10.6.8.
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
31 August 2013
> I then downloaded "Air Video Server 2.4.6 beta" and everything works fine on Mac OS X 10.6. Which is an older version required by Air Video for iOS but not the newer Air Video HD which requires Air Video HD Server. HD or non-HD versions of both the OS X server and iOS client have to be used; they're incompatible with each other.
Like
martinb2
martinb2
31 August 2013
It is not about HD or not or incompatibility: this application is saying: REQUIREMENTS Intel, OS X 10.6 or later. That is what I have - but it does not work. But crashes without any feedback. And I can launch the older version of this Mac application and I see something, can watch movies. That it's! May be a hint to the developers that something is wrong.
Like
sjk
sjk
01 September 2013
> It is not about HD or not or incompatibility: this application is saying: REQUIREMENTS Intel, OS X 10.6 or later. I understand that both newer HD and older non-HD versions of the server should work on 10.6 or later. > And I can launch the older version of this Mac application and I see something, can watch movies. With which iOS client(s)? If the HD client works with the non-HD server then I was wrong about interoperability of that combination. > May be a hint to the developers that something is wrong. Have you reported the crashing to InMethod through their forum, helpdesk, or email?
Like
martinb2
martinb2
01 September 2013
As I said: the HD version crashes on Mac OS X 10.6, starts well on Mac OS X 10.7 but can not establish a internet connection. Thus I did not install / buy the iOS app. The older non HD version starts well on Mac OS X 10.6, can establish a internet connection and with the AirVideoFree on iOS 6 videos can be streamed. I registered at the forum to post a message, but did not get a confirmation mail. Spam folder is empty. May be someone already registered can tell them that there is a problem on Mac OS X 10.6?
Like
Lemming
Lemming
01 September 2013
For those with crashing on 10.6.8, email the developer directly. That's what I did and he sent me a new build that works with 10.6.8
Like (1)
martinb2
martinb2
02 September 2013
Thank you for your reply! Very good to know that the developer is informed and has a bug fix. Hopefully everyone using 10.6 is reading the posts...
Like
Andrewm8
02 April 2013
Brilliant!!! Effortlessly streaming avi's and mkv's from my MBP (Mountain Lion) through iPod Touch Air-Playing to Apple TV connected to my HDTV - on the fly painless conversion, working in the background on MBP. Works as advertised! My only concern is the fact that last release is dates more than 2.5 years ago - I hope developer will continue improving and supporting the product.
Like
Version 2.4.5-beta6
1 answer(s)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
02 April 2013
Oops... My apologies - just found 2.4.6beta3u2 released July 2012 through the developer's website.
Like (1)
Mr-amnesia
22 September 2012
First of all it is free. It plays practically every format that I want, and when used with the iOS App it is brilliant. I regularly use the two together to watch videos in bed. With the air play features in iOS you can now use it to send a video to another device. For example I use my iPad to send the video to an Apple TV and so can watch on my HD TV.
Like
Version 2.4.5-beta6
Ikir
07 February 2012
Awesome software, cheap.. the only downside.... the OS X icon ;-)
Like
Version 2.4.5-beta6
antoniong
26 October 2011
In simple words: A (near) perfect product.
Like
Version 2.4.5-beta6
Sheagirl
08 June 2011
This product is great because it just works and it is free although you have to buy the iphone/ipad app. It is still a very good value and easy to use.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.3
1 answer(s)
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
12 September 2011
If you have to buy another app for the iPad/iPod to view the video, THEN IT'S NOT FREE. Semantics! However at $2.99, it may be worth buying if it converts the video and streams it effectively.
Like (2)