Back to Cookie Stumbler page
Cookie Stumbler free download for Mac

Cookie Stumbler Reviews

2.6.6
09 May 2016

Scan for ad and tracking cookies.

Most helpful

Really? Twenty-five dollars? You just lost me.
Like (12)
Version 1.0

Read 158 Cookie Stumbler User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
01 March 2018
ABANDONWARE. My impression is that it was an interesting, if intermittent school project. Now it's abandoned.

-> Go get Cookie by SweetP Productions, which is excellent and frequently updated, highly recommended. Its developer is terrific.
Like (4)
Version 2.6.6
Yubben
13 July 2017
Sounds like the end of WriteItStudio, their site is unreachable, and I can't even retrieve my serial number. I did really like the program before, especially its new Mac version. On my PC the design is awfull and it takes a lifetime to uncheck everything in order to remove a cookie. Talking about the Mac version, I have paid for 2years x2 but they did only validate 2 years!!! When I reported the problem, they told me the registration time is correct and that I misunderstood. Actually, I renewed twice using the same MacUpdate discount code when it was on sale on MacUpdate a few years ago.
I do really hope they won't stop their programs though... (I'd change my rating, if the cookie stumbler is not discontinued)... at least they could inform us about what they are planning to do like most of honest developper do!

I noticed that many polyvalent software like CleanMyMac offer a feature to remove cookies... that is probablu the reason why Cookie Stumbler has discontinued.... When we think of the annual registration fees, I feel like I have been cheated ! I don't know if CleanMyMac (also available as CleanMyPc) does recognize every cookies like this software, but as far as I know is that when I used the latter one, there were no cookies detected by Cookie Stumbler....
Like (2)
Version 2.6.6
Hermie
04 June 2017
Hmmm, WriteitStudios site unreachable, Cookiestumbler dot com gone. What happened here? Abandonware?
Like (2)
Version 2.6.6
Lounge-Deluxe
15 January 2016
Cookie Stumbler works in annoying ways to me. After clicking on Sources CS analyses the cookies present on my system and also shows a tick box for each cookie to specify if you'd like to keep it as a favorite or not. But upon clicking clean cookies CS mysteriously ticks boxes that haven't been ticked, hence each time I end up with all kinds of cookies from dreadful companies that I definitely don't want to keep. I have to manually uncheck them and run CS again and again.

This totally defeats the purpose of having a cookie manager such as CS in the first place! I run 10.11.2 with Safari 9.0.2. I'm giving up on CS permanently, why annoy myself every time?
Like (1)
Version 2.6.3
drdrmrmd
23 December 2015
Terrible product and terrible support. This was a fine program until it was "upgraded" and simply doesn't work. No response from support when I was trying to purchase, no response after purchase. Stay AWAY from this terrible program. Don't buy it. Trust the reviewers below.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.1.1
Jazzimus
16 July 2015
I use http://www.editthiscookie.com/start/ extension for Chrome FREE
Like
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
19 July 2015
Great find, especially for web developers. However, this extension works only for Chrome and requires the user to manually block cookies by hand. Considering that a website can have an infinite amount of cookies and that you cannot easily identify tracking cookies, this will quickly become tedious. Cookie Stumbler provides a professional and convenient solution to all these issues at the click of a button.

Thanks for sharing!
Like
Lenwhyte
02 July 2015
Has anybody downloaded this, only to find that once the .dmg is mounted, the app inside is 'damaged' and won't run on Yosemite?
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
3 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
02 July 2015
Please get in touch with support with a screenshot and we'll look into it asap. http://support.writeitstudios.com
Like
Lenwhyte
Lenwhyte
03 July 2015
Turns out to be a Gatekeeper problem. Strange though, since I usually deal with this issue by right clicking, taking Open, and Open again to get the first launch done. This time, for CS, had to turn Gatekeeper off, launch CS, then turn Gatekeeper back on again.
Like (1)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
15 July 2015
We have resigned the update - this should be resolved.
Like
Lounge-Deluxe
24 June 2015
I still can't deselect cookies by clicking on the tick box with version 2.5.1. What's going on?
Like
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
24 June 2015
Please verify that you are in fact using Cookie Stumbler 2.5.1. I have just re-verified the checking / unchecking of domains and it does work.

Should you still encounter issues, please contact support and we will be glad to assist: http://support.writeitstudios.com
Like
Lounge-Deluxe
24 June 2015
I still can't deselect cookies by clicking on the tick box with version 2.5.1. What's going on?
Like
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
24 June 2015
Please verify that you are in fact using Cookie Stumbler 2.5.1. I have just re-verified the checking / unchecking of domains and it does work.

Should you still encounter issues, please contact support and we will be glad to assist: http://support.writeitstudios.com
Like
Derekcurrie
15 June 2015
Nice progress. It's been great working with the developer, who's been very responsive. He's also integrated a new feature for keeping track of and keeping out new tracking cookies during browsing. Gradually, it's becoming easier to maintain privacy during web browsing, the way it should be.
Like
Version 2.5
BenRoura
31 May 2015
Way ahead from all other similar apps. And the most concerned about security and privacy. Its programmers team is constantly improving it. Support is superb.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.3
Derekcurrie
27 May 2015
DO NOT UPDATE to 2.4.2!!! Again a bad version of this software! I'm not going to offer a review rating again until the developer sorts himself and his program out so that it actually works properly again. Meanwhile, rather than post another rant or OMG list of continuing problems, I'm going to attempt to work directly with the developer. I'm going to make this effort specifically because I like this program... when it works. v2.4.2 is NOT working. I went backwards, yet again, to version 2.3.1, which does work. If you too have installed any of the recent updates and gotten nailed with the multitude of bugs: To go back to v2.3.1, you have to have its installer/program file, AND you have to go into the following location to delete Cookie Stumbler files. (Otherwise, when you attempt to run 2.3.1 it's going to crash crash crash): ~/Library/Application Support/Cookie Stumbler/ After you've trashed this, boot v2.3.1 and re-enter your password to re-register the application. It then works fine as ever.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Hello everyone! David from WriteIt! Studios here. I realize that support in recent months hasn't been the best for everybody, but there's a good reason for this. No, Cookie Stumbler is not discontinued. Nor have I given up on all customers. First of all, due to a rogue firewall rule, not all e-mails were coming through to support. There was no error message at my end, so I genuinely had no idea about this. This has now been resolved. At the same time I am also a university student, and currently I'm in the middle of final exams and assignments. This means that I have less time to work on Cookie Stumbler, but I have released two updates in the last two weeks while another team member is still actively releasing definition updates. My apologies for the inconvenience caused. If you're experiencing problems with Cookie Stumbler, please e-mail them in. I don't have your browser databases, so not all bugs you're experiencing can be reproduced on my Mac, nor on the other testing machines I have here. Thanks to Derekcurrie for keeping me up-to-date on MU here. Much appreciated. A new update will follow shortly.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
2 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
12 May 2015
I try not to be mean. Thanks for thanking me.
Like
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
14 May 2015
Dropped you an e-mail.
Like
Derekcurrie
07 May 2015
v2.4.1 was kindly provided in a hurry. Thank you! EXCEPT: It's still doing a lot of the same old garbage: - I refresh the Sources list, a pile of tracking cookies show up. - I clear the tracking cookies, supposedly. - I refresh the Sources list. ALL the 'cleared' tracking cookies are BACK AGAIN. - I Quit Cookie Stumbler and reboot it again. ALL the same tracking cookies are still there in the list. - After a few repeated clear/refresh/clear/refresh cycles, Cookie Stumbler LOCKS UP for a few seconds, then BOMBS. IASSOTS. Once again I am back stepping to version 2.3.1, which at least doesn't bomb and appears to actually, for real, remove tracking cookies and stay that way. Seriously: What's going on? This is severely disappointing.
Like
Version 2.4.1
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
11 May 2015
Thanks for your feedback. Please get in touch with support, and we'll gladly take a look at the issues you have listed.
Like
RogerKatz
06 May 2015
Stills cleans cookies, for me, after I updated to version 2.4.1 with am using a MacBook Pro with MacOS 10.10.3. HOWEVER, 1) after it cleans cookies it sometimes crashes (see below); 2) when it opens it warns me ("Attention: Your copy of Cookie Stumbler is out-of-date. Version 2.4 is available for download via the 'Check for Updates ...' menu.". ), but its Check for Updates and About windows both show that I already have version 2.4.1 (even after I quit and reopen it several times), 3) after getting "Sources" and cleaning them, I can immediately repeat this cycle (while still in Cookie Stumbler) and find more cookies (I did this four times in immediate succession). Crash reports were obtained and submitted to the Developer for the following cases: The first crash report happened after I ran Cookie Stumbler, cleaned out the 44 cookies it identified, then immediately ran it a second time without quitting it after running it. It then crashed while executing it's “Sources” search (i.e., before it found the cookies). After it crashed, I immediately re-opened it and ran it again - this time it found, and removed, 195 cookies. I am puzzled as to how it could find 195 cookies it wanted to remove only a few minutes after I ran it and it found only 44 cookies to remove. After it successfully ran the second time, it crashed again. I reopened it, ran it again, and it found (and I removed) an additional 163 cookies. A third crash report, from the day before (cause unknown), was also submitted to the developer.
Like
Version 2.4.1
Hogaku
05 May 2015
Crashes crashes crashes...the new update made it worse...Keeps showing the same cookies...tells me I'm not using the most current version when I am...crashes...says my definitions are not up to date...crashes...
Like (3)
Version 2.4.1
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
11 May 2015
Hello Hogaku,

please get in touch with support so we can have a look at the issue that you are experiencing.
Like
lacwbo
02 May 2015
What a piece of crap! I downloaded the trial version. When I attempted to open it, I received a message that the trial had expired. What a farce! Stick with Cookie.app, it works.
Like (3)
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
11 May 2015
Have you had your logic board replaced recently? If this is the case, then your hardware ID is undefined, which is why this issue happens. Please get in touch with support and we'll get you sorted out.
Like
Derekcurrie
01 May 2015
I've always wanted to champion Cookie Stumbler as I value its concepts and goals. It could be great. But I consistently have to question the coding ability of its developer, because...

1) Version 2.4 was whacky as can be when I first ran it. First it warned me that my cookie definitions were out of date. OK, but what am I supposed to do about it? There is no user accessible update process.

2) Then I found that it was reporting a mass of cookies I'd never seen before. Ok, kewl! So I had it clean the cookies out. Then I had it refresh its Sources again, and ALL the cookies were listed again! This was consistent upon repetition! So, I rebooted the app. Happily, it told me my cookie definitions were now up to date. Great. But again, it kept finding cookies, I'd clean them, they'd be back again. After trying a few times to get the cleaning to stick, the app BOMBED. Flaky.

3) So I started it a third time! Same deal. Eventually it again BOMBED after I tried to get the cleaning to stick. Same with the fourth boot...

4) And I never have liked the annoying scheduling system. The scheduling in 'Cookie' is perfection.

I'm moving back a version of Cookie Stumbler until these new bugs are worked out. I'm also giving the alternative app, 'Cookie', an extra hug today for just working great all the time. That's the one to get. If Cookie Stumbler stabilizes again, I'll add the new version alongside it.

But hey! The map works again!
Like (4)
Version 2.4
Nicolasd
11 February 2015
This program has always been unstable at best, but it's promised functionality was good enough for me to purchase a license, AND the upgrade, AND years of cookie definitions. I cannot recommend anyone buy and install this piece of software in its current state. Currently, it crashes on every launch. Every one. I've written the developer three times over the course of weeks with no response. None. Not, "I'm a solo developer and I'm having personal issues I must attend to." Not, "I've been overwhelmed with support requests. Thank you for being a loyal customer. I'll respond to your issue within (x) number of days." Nothing. I am at the point where I have to uninstall the program and give up.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.0.1
Bdudek120
18 January 2015
To the folks with negative comments below , try it again . The new upgrade has fixed many issues . Cookiestumbler has been on my Mac for 2 years and I wont be without it . The customer service has always been top notch. If they have stopped replying , its because theyve answered your question. I have nothing but praise for this wonderful app . And no ... i dont work for them . I am a paying customer .
Like
Version 2.3
4 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
18 January 2015
Bdudek120: I'm glad you've had a happy smilie experience. But: As I've stated extensively here, WriteIt! Studios has ignored obvious, frequently reported bugs for months and months. When they have stopped replying to me it is because they have NOT fixed the bugs I've reported and apparently aren't going to. What does that tell you?

I write about Mac computer security in my spare time. I've extensively tested and used a wide variety of computer security software and confer with a great group of people also studying and writing about Mac security. Cookie Stumbler was once VERY promising. Now, it's neglected by its developer, no question about it. I know he's had a lot going on in his life, including getting a good education. But he's let Cookie Stumbler (the correct spelling!) fall behind 'Cookie' to the point of being, as I call it, clunkware. It needs an overhaul. It has incredibly obvious problems that apparently are NOT going to get fixed in a reasonable period of time. Let's be realistic about it. Tossing Cookie Stumbler a 5 star review is plain silly and NOT appreciated. You're misleading people. And yes, I've tried it again, again, again, again and will continue trying it again again again and reporting back here and at my Mac-Security blog the results.

http://Mac-Security.blogspot.com
Like (5)
TCalhau
TCalhau
19 January 2015
Thank you very much for your clarifications Mr Derekcurrie. From now on I'll be visiting your blog regularly. :-)
Like (4)
bsox327
bsox327
20 January 2015
Cookie Stumbler is fantastic. I wouldn't be without it. I have been a user since 2011.
Like
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
11 May 2015
Everyone's experience is different. Cookie databases that are in good order work well with Cookie Stumbler, and Cookie Stumbler's API is being more and more improved to deal with those that aren't. So Bdudek's experience could have been a good one, and yes, that's helpful to others. If Cookie Stumbler doesn't handle your databases well, send them in, and we'll provide a fix. The more fixes there are, the better the software becomes at handling corrupt databases.
Like
Derekcurrie
18 January 2015
In this version: The Statistics map is still broken. The Maintain/Cleaning Tasks still won't keep user settings when you leave the tab. The scheduling is still annoying to use. But it still self-updates. It finds tracking cookies, it's a reasonable addition to the far better application 'Cookie'. There's no question. Get 'Cookie' first. Cookie Stumbler is still an afterthought, still clunky.
Like (6)
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
18 January 2015
Oh and the Dock/Command-Tab icon for Cookie Stumbler is still has a broken left foot. How does that happen? Clunk.
Like (3)
geno
25 December 2014
As Advertised, Great
Like
Version 2.2.1
Arthur-f90d27ff
30 November 2014
For anyone interested in Cookie Stumbler, my experience follows: I purchased Cookie Stumbler 6.1.3 in April 2013 but did not install it then. On Nov 28, 2014, I had the idea to install it and upgrade to v2 but it failed to install on OS 10.9.5. The program icon bounced on the dock interchangeably with a nag window asking to install definitions. I gave up after 30 minutes and sent an inquiry to Write It! Studios Ltd. They replied that they no longer supported 6.1.3 I purchased v2 and Write It! Studios debited my account and sent me an e-mail informing me that Order “9S735465LE6351133” is invalid, bye! I am now out of pocket for both purchases with nothing to show for it. I uninstalled the programs including any system files I could find but the Nag window remains active but hidden somewhere.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.1
Lounge-Deluxe
30 October 2014
Cookie Stumbler is a great addition to Cookie as both cookie apps each complete each other. However the support from the dev of Cookie Stumbler is terrible actually it seems non-existent). I purchased a license to CS a year ago and it took them 3 (three!) weeks to answer my e-mails regarding obtaining a login for activating the darn subscription service! And now I recently purchased a license to the Windows version and the same thing happens, WriteIt! Studion simply ignore my emails regarding the subscription service, making the software completely useless. So be aware if you purchase a license to CS, you're completely left in the dark and you probably won't be able to activate and make use of the paid subscription.
Like (5)
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
Millertyme61
Millertyme61
02 November 2014
I'm in the same licensing boat. They were fast to answer my first email. But since then, they haven't replied and I've not received my activation code. This company has lost my business. I'm only out $10. But they lost out of more because my friends won't be purchasing either. The CS in Cookie Stumbler, doesn't not stand for Customer Service.
Like (4)
Derekcurrie
24 October 2014
I've been waiting months for WriteIt! Studios Limited to get serious about two bugs in recent versions of Cookie Stumbler. I'm tired of waiting for them to care. Instead, I've stopped using Cookie Stumbler entirely and stuck with using both Cookie, from SweetP Productiona, and the Self-Destructing Cookies add-on for Firefox. They're both focused and functional, a pleasure to use. There is no perfect cookie control solution as of yet. Cookie Stumbler can be a very good addition to Cookie and Self-Destructing Cookies as it has some very good features. But it's also clunky in many respects, especially it's timer, and I'm tired of the bugs. It may find more tracking cookies that Cookie. But then again, Cookie finds many tracking cookies that Cookie Stumbler does not. - Go get Cookie instead and add on Cookie Stumbler as a secondary cookie control app, if you are still keen on using it.
Like (5)
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
pedropanza
pedropanza
10 January 2016
Clunky, buggy, subscription-dependent, atrocious post-purchase support (mostly they just ignore you) – all the same reasons I abandoned Cookie Stumbler almost two years ago. Granted, Cookie does not find all the trackers either (they are sneaky bastards those trackers) but Cookie is a pleasure to use and my preferred app.
Like (1)
BenR3032
19 July 2014
Can't say that I've had a bad experience with this software. I had some trouble registering, but that issue was resolved by support pretty quickly. Works smoothly on my 2014 MacBook Pro running OS X 10.9 and now regularly cleans my cookies according to a schedule I setup. I recommend it.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Solo68
27 June 2014
First of all, I'm new to Cookie Stumbler. After reading reviews on it compared to other applications like it I choose to purchase a license, but I should not have relied on reviews and used the trial version before exchanging my money for this crapware! Second, I purchased a two year license because it was only a few dollars more than a one year license. That is the one good thing I experienced with this piece of crap! Third, after I completed my purchase I received a few emails from the developer. One email contained login details. So I promptly logged in to change the given password to a password of my own creation. Would you believe it took more than four attempts for the new password to complete. Fourth, I installed the software and attempted to register it according to instructions in one of the emails mentioned above. Albeit, I tried to register with the password I created. Would you believe this piece of crap gave me a login error? Fifth, I contacted support and explained my situation and asked for assistance. I haven't heard from them, and at this point their assistance is no longer welcomed. Their website's change password form sucks! Their application sucks (more on this below)! Their support sucks because it is non-existent! Sixth, after waiting several days without any response from support I decided to look for a solution on my own. The only relevant documentation I found on their site instructed me to login to my account and change my password, and use the new login details to register via the application. WTF? Isn't this what I did on day one? Idiots! Seventh, with no other alternative I attempted the password change advise AGAIN; although I did this on my own on day one. Would you believe it took several attempts to change my password again? But would you believe the application accepted my newest password? I couldn't believe it myself. It must have been a classic Kodak moment! Eighth, I read the help file from the application's Help Menu. As far as I'm concerned its instructions were easy enough to grasp and apply. But this is crapware, remember! For example, it gives specific instructions on how to import data from Cookie, another application that manages cookies and such. On my first and every other attempt to import data from Cookie Cookie Stumbler crashed. Cookie Stumbler crashed when attempting to click on new tab views on the tab bar. Cookie Stumbler crashed when attempting to launch Cookie Stumbler from LaunchPad. I could go on without exaggeration, but why, Cookie Stumbler is crapware. It sucks! Steer clear from it at all costs. It is not readily supported. I really want my money back. But the developer is non-repsonsive. I wonder if this review is a solitary remedy. You suck, and I wrote about it! Put that in your limited studio!
Like (8)
Version 2.0.9.1
2 answer(s)
pedropanza
pedropanza
23 July 2014
I have had very similar sorts of problems from this bunch. I walked away from this subscription scam last year.

Crapware – correct.
Like (2)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
24 June 2015
I have been using Cookie Stumbler daily, on two computers, using several MacOS versions, for several years without any serious issues. It has removed many thousands of Cookies for me.
Like
Nitroxer
19 May 2014
First time to write a negative review. I have been unable to get the app to work properly. After selecting Sources (of cookies) it chugs for a while and ultimately fails. No response to several emails along with attached dumps and log entries. Same behavior on last 3 releases. Having been on the developer side, I've worked patiently with other developers to help them when their app misbehaves. I have little tolerance for those that don't investigate defects.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.9.1
2 answer(s)
Pripyat
Pripyat
20 May 2014
While you may not be following us on Facebook, we've tried to keep customers aware that due to personal commitments, I haven't been able to follow up on all e-mails this month. I (David) am in the final stages of obtaining my university degree and had to complete a final year dissertation, hence I did not have time to handle your issue until now. Rest assured that your issue will be investigated and that any time lost under your subscription will be refunded accordingly.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
24 October 2014
Nitroxer, I'm having the same experience right now with WriteIt! Studios Limited in October 2014. It's sad to see that nothing has changed.
Like (2)
wickedsp1d3r
15 May 2014
Why I should install this instead of Cookie.app? Any notable reasons?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.9
2 answer(s)
Detlevski
Detlevski
19 May 2014
Nope
Like (1)
Pripyat
Pripyat
20 May 2014
You should give both applications a try and see which one works better for you. Overall, our application finds significantly more tracking cookies unlike other cookie managers, tends to work really well with larger cookie databases (which most people have, if they haven't ever cleaned their cookies), features advanced cookie management features (Smart Rules) and allows you to track advertising cookies back to their origin. You'll find a complete list on our website: http://www.writeitstudios.com
Like
tvalleau
23 April 2014
simply crashes when finished examining cookies. OS 10.8.5. Wrote developer but only got silence in return.
Like
Version 2.0.9
vandy72
23 April 2014
2.0.9 seems to work just fine with Safari. It does NOT see Firefox 28 so it cannot remove Firefox cookies. It may just be my installation but I have a fairly plain vanilla machine. I asked a question at WriteIt Studios about how to get Cookie Stumbler to see Firefox. All I got was "make sure you are using the most recent version" and nothing else; no help at all. I would love for this to work and am glad I was using the trial version and had not purchased it.
Like
Version 2.0.9
1 answer(s)
Pripyat
Pripyat
20 May 2014
We did run your databases which worked fine on our machine. Firefox 28 is supported. The last suggestion was a corrupted / duplicate profile, hence we implemented a profile selector in v2.0.9.1.
Like
cemil-alyanak
10 April 2014
Won't rate it yet in case it turns out to work well in the long run but for now, just installed on latest Maverick and I'm crashing constantly when trying to delete a batch of cookies at once (anything over thirty or so). I'll keep trying.
Like
Version 2.0.8
2 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
17 April 2014
Please get in touch with support and we'll look into it asap!
Like (1)
cemil-alyanak
cemil-alyanak
21 April 2014
Thanks. I will when I get up to enough cookies again to warrant getting rid of a large bunch. Meanwhile will rate shortly. Thanks for your quick reply.
Like
Derekcurrie
29 March 2014
At the moment, the available archive of the 2.0.8 update is corrupt. I've tried updating from within the application and via direct download with the same results. (It could be my stupid ISP, Time Warner Cable! But I sort of doubt it). I've written up a bug report at the developer's website. If you run into this problem, I'd give the update a try a bit later.
Like
Version 2.0.8
3 answer(s)
Oculi
Oculi
29 March 2014
Same here! I can't install the update.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
29 March 2014
Resolved! The direct download worked perfectly for me this morning. Thank you WriteIt!
Like
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
30 March 2014
This was our fault, not your cable provider's - there was a problem with the zip archive. I've replaced it last night and the update will now complete without problems. Also, welcome to the Cookie Stumbler community, Derek!
Like
Agosdragos
26 March 2014
Cookie Stumbler STUMBLED, fell then died. Sadly immediately after install it crashed hard 3 times as another commenter stated. I had to pull out AppCleaner to discontinue the stumbles. Nice idea but it appears it is before its time.
Like
Version 2.0.7.1
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
28 March 2014
Cookie Stumbler is not at all before it's time - there's usually a good reason it crashes. Things like input managers, corrupt system caches can cause Cookie Stumbler to crash as well and isn't necessarily our fault. Could you please forward us your system log so we can have a look? (support.writeitstudios.com)
Like
Katbel
19 March 2014
Downloaded for the first time today I have 10.9.2 Launched and when I tried to see my cookies after seeing briefly a map, it crashed! Launched two other times, same result I deleted all preferences and started it again but now it says my trial period is over, sic Only 10 min?! I even did the survey to help out..but I don't know where to email it. Help!
Like
Version 2.0.7.1
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
24 March 2014
The issue you've been experiencing has already been resolved. We do not regularly monitor messages here, so please message us directly if there's a problem: http://support.writeitstudios.com Have a nice day!
Like
Hermie
15 March 2014
Don't upgrade to 2.0.7 because on Mavericks something goes wrong. Suddenly it doesn't find anything in Firefox anymore so cookies I know got placed are not deleted, while it keeps balking out long listings from Safari which is not in use AFAIK is empty bar a few keepers. So CS has gone haywire for the time being.
Like
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
16 March 2014
Hi, an amended version will be up shortly. Firefox has changed their database format, again. Thanks for pointing it out!
Like
makinger
08 March 2014
Related to SGGINC and comment "writeit!studio": Sgginc is right --> because(in my case) when i have to pay for an upgrade then i will not upgrade my OSX too. See requirements: >OSX 10.8 ! Sorry "writeitstudio", make it possible for using OSX 10.6 again then we can "talk" about an upgrade immediately ;-) Otherwise Cookiestumbler 1.6 should recognize that the customer has lower than OSX 10.8 and not penetrate to buy an upgrade, you know! Please change this circumstances, THANKS! Regards, Jo
Like
Version 2.0.6
2 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
16 March 2014
In order to offer more modern features we had to use more modern APIs. It has always been our policy to support the two most recent operating systems, enabling us to continue producing high quality and most importantly, maintainable software, and that's exactly what we did with version 2 again. I understand that you may not want to upgrade your Mac / OS, which is why we still offer version 1.6.3.1 for download. Cookie Stumbler 1.6.3.1 runs fine on older versions of Mac OS X and will remain the final version to do so. There's just no way around it. The updater should not offer the update unless you have 10.8+ installed - we'll look into that.
Like
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
16 March 2014
In order to offer more modern features we had to use more modern APIs. It has always been our policy to support the two most recent operating systems, enabling us to continue producing high quality and most importantly, maintainable software, and that's exactly what we did with version 2 again. I understand that you may not want to upgrade your Mac / OS, which is why we still offer version 1.6.3.1 for download. Cookie Stumbler 1.6.3.1 runs fine on older versions of Mac OS X and will remain the final version to do so. There's just no way around it. The updater should not offer the update unless you have 10.8+ installed - we'll look into that.
Like
makinger
08 March 2014
Related to SGGINC and comment "writeit!studio": Sgginc is right --> because(in my case) when i have to pay for an upgrade then i will not upgrade my OSX too. See requirements: >OSX 10.8 ! Sorry "writeitstudio", make it possible for using OSX 10.6 again then we can "talk" about an upgrade immediately ;-) Otherwise Cookiestumbler 1.6 should recognize that the customer has lower than OSX 10.8 and not penetrate to buy an upgrade, you know! Please change this circumstances, THANKS! Regards, Jo
Like
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios Limited
Writeit! Studios Limited
16 March 2014
In order to offer more modern features we had to use more modern APIs. It has always been our policy to support the two most recent operating systems, enabling us to continue producing high quality and most importantly, maintainable software, and that's exactly what we did with version 2 again. I understand that you may not want to upgrade your Mac / OS, which is why we still offer version 1.6.3.1 for download. Cookie Stumbler 1.6.3.1 runs fine on older versions of Mac OS X and will remain the final version to do so. There's just no way around it. The updater should not offer the update unless you have 10.8+ installed - we'll look into that.
Like
Sgginc
04 March 2014
You need to pay yearly for a subscription to the database AND for program updates. A double whammy. Now CS 1.6x is constantly asking me to update my cookie DB. When I cancel, as it won't update w/o CS 2x is paid for, it nags me every 30 mins to do it. The only way I can see to halt it is to pay another $10 to upgrade the program or delete CS 1.6x as the CookieStumblerAgent (also cannot force quit it in Activity Monitor) is inside the 1.6x program. Great business model...NOT. Thanks ... Ken
Like
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
Pripyat
Pripyat
04 March 2014
The program update charge was the first in three years. $10 for a brand new, major update is fair. Your subscription is independent from the application license. v1.6 needs to be uninstalled - it has been discontinued for a while and does not work properly anymore. Please use this uninstaller (http://cookiestumbler.s3.amazonaws.com/Uninstall Cookie Stumbler.zip) and the warnings will go away. Next, fetch the most up-to-date version from our website and you'll be good to go!
Like
Cortig
29 January 2014
Version 2.0.4 corrected a number of issues that I had in version 2.0.3. The authors have been extremely responsive and addressed them immediately. The application is now stable and responsive for me and provides a great level of flexibility allowing me to manage my cookies in multiple browsers. Very convenient indeed!!!
Like
Version 2.0.4
Sergesouszero
28 January 2014
Great cookie manager. Developper very responsive.
Like
Version 2.0.4
a-m-k
27 January 2014
Ladies, just get it done... Maybe it would help to let just THREE people NOT from your company TEST the thing...and your homepage. I bought Version 1 years ago, then, when it comes to time, upgraded to version 2 with lots of problems on YOUR site (activation was a hell and your homepage is a bad joke of unlogic) - just to find out that now, after the new update, your buggy program again tells me that I did not purchased it so far... You licensing management is a mess, sorry. Why is it possible for almost any other company to manage the update and/or upgrade process haslefree - but not for you guys? See, I wouldn't complain if it would have been the first time but now it seems to become a standard having troubles with simply updating or upgrading your program... When, for example, one wants to reset the "count" online (as told by your advice) he gets: "Forbidden You don't have permission to access /myaccount/ on this server. Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request. Apache/2.2.25 (Unix) PHP/5.5.0 mod_ssl/2.2.25 OpenSSL/0.9.8y Server at www.writeitstudios.com Port 80" Do we have the first of April so quick?!? And compared to the "old" version: it's much more un-responsive and lacks the possibility of "clean when closing" !!! a Program. As it sould be. Why did you take that away from us, your paying customers? The old version , I would rate 4 out of 5.
Like
Version 2.0.4
3 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios
Writeit! Studios
28 January 2014
Thanks for your comments. The website doesn't show renewals for a reason, only people that have actually purchased the software will be provided with the link. So it's to no surprise that our website won't reference it anywhere. Once one has the link, the process is pretty straight forward. With regards to being asked to login again - this was clearly explained in the release notes. There was an access rights issue with Keychain, which we had to fix and did fix in v2.0.4. We don't mess with your registration for fun. You accessed the "reset" link from Cookie Stumbler 1.6, so it's to no surprise that a link in a long outdated program may no longer be active. So no, it's not the first of April - you're using an outdated piece of software. We took the "on app close" schedule feature away because it was not used as often as we thought it would be. Feel free to submit a feature request for it to be added again though and it may be considered in a future update. We haven't received, nor observed, any reports of Cookie Stumbler 2 being unresponsive at this point in time. Please get in touch with support so we can look into your issue. Have a nice day!
Like
a-m-k
a-m-k
29 January 2014
I hereby apologize , mea culpa. Maybe because I once purchased it via a software bundle or what reason ever, I had confirmation mails mails with 2 different email addresses. I took the wrong one and, totally correct, my registration gets refused. Second, you site , again, totally correct, showed that I never purchased Version 2 (because I logged in with the wrong email address from the old bundle buy). I learned my lesson and will never buy anywhere else, I promise! ;o) I just got so upset because until I found the correct mail, I thought I was right based on the informations I had at this point. And it had been a hell of a day at work. The fault was totally on my side. Thank you for your patience, I'll drink a beer on your health :-)
Like
Writeit! Studios
Writeit! Studios
29 January 2014
Absolutely no problem, a_m_k. Next time, get in touch with us directly and we'll see what we can do! :) Have a nice day!
Like
Sarus
15 January 2014
same here bought on 7.01 and it is not possible to activate product :-( please help!
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios
Writeit! Studios
26 January 2014
Hi, please contact support directly at: support.writeitstudios.com and we'll get on the issue!
Like
Lounge-Deluxe
11 January 2014
After buying the MU Promo for Cookie Stumbler I'm still waiting for the registration info. I emailed the dev and got 2 replies but that didn't result in receipt of the registration details... Odd. I emailed MU Support and asked for help but so far no reply yet. Things can go wrong, no problem but get it fixed guys. I'm forced to file a reclaim with Paypal in 2 days as this doesn't seem to resolve itself.
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios
Writeit! Studios
26 January 2014
Hi, please contact support directly at: support.writeitstudios.com and we'll get on the issue!
Like
abruceuscedu4815
07 January 2014
I purchased this product yesterday and followed the poor link to their website. After entering my address information, which it didn't say was required, it told me I had timed-out and didn't allow me to download the product. I sent an email by clicking the link to support@writeitstudios.com nearly 24 hours ago and have received no response. A couple of hours later, I opened a discussion on their message board (where they promise a rapid response) describing my problem, and have yet to receive a response. I downloaded the temporary app and used the login and password they supplied me, but they informed me that I didn't buy the app. Needless to say, I am underwhelmed by their customer service. If I could give them a negative rating at this point I would, but since I have to give them something, I'll give them half a star.
Like
Version 2.0.3
9 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
07 January 2014
Hi, I'm really sorry you haven't been able to get Cookie Stumbler activated yet. If you can send us an email to support [at] macupdate [dot] com I'll make sure we get this taken care of for you!
Like
Mrchips
Mrchips
08 January 2014
Hi Ryan, I just purchased Cookie Stumbler too and am also unable to register it. Help!
Like
Mrchips
Mrchips
08 January 2014
OK, I've sent an email to your support email address (as given above).
Like
Pripyat
Pripyat
08 January 2014
The product can be downloaded directly from our homepage. No login, address or anything else required, so I'm not sure what you mean. We did respond to your query roughly 24 hours after you e-mailed us and fixed the problem. We have a lot of e-mails to respond to, so there's a queue, other people need our attention too.
Like
Pripyat
Pripyat
08 January 2014
@John Hall - Hi John, I don't seem to have an e-mail from you, could you contact us at support.writeitstudios.com?
Like
abruceuscedu4815
abruceuscedu4815
08 January 2014
I got an email from David Schiefer of Write It Studios Support yesterday. He said to bring up the app I downloaded here and go to Register on the menu and enter my email and the password that I received from them when I purchased the application. This time it registered the app instead of saying that I hadn't purchased it, so I'm working now. The email also stated that I didn't have to enter any address information, but until I entered address information on the original web page on their site, no button pushes did anything. After I entered the address information I got error messages, frustrating, but some feedback at least.
Like
Pripyat
Pripyat
08 January 2014
The reason you couldn't register earlier was because of a server glitch that messed up the license generation process. We do not need your address and don't prompt for it, as I have already said. Enjoy your purchase.
Like (1)
Mrchips
Mrchips
08 January 2014
Hi David, I've sent you an email. :) Cheers, John
Like
Mrchips
Mrchips
08 January 2014
Just an update - David (Pripyat) wrote me back in a matter of minutes saying they'd resolved the server glitch. I've been able to register successfully so all is well... :)
Like
Mhoutman
01 January 2014
Warning: On OS X 10.8 CS after updating CS 2.0.2 to 2.0.3 latter will start up in German language. This is even when settings are in EN. Behavior is not on Mavericks. Informed dev on Twitter but no comment yet.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
2 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios
Writeit! Studios
01 January 2014
We replaced this build with a fixed version a few hours ago. (build 2031)
Like (1)
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
01 January 2014
Just got a reply. Issues is fixed :) Happy new year !
Like (1)
Jfm
19 December 2013
Great step forward with version 2! The interface is nicer. It works faster. It seems to have become stable (it does no longer quit suddenly after doing the work). It is more user-friendly. I am glad I paid the fee for the upgrade.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Dieter-Degen
25 November 2013
It does it´s work. Running stabil, missing the Safari-Extension.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Jh2010
23 November 2013
To the developer, Thanks for supporting the mac platform. Your software has worked without any issues for me. I have a few comments: 1 - I just paid to upgrade to CS2 2 - Logged in with the temp password you sent and changed my password - I appreciate the email letting me know that the account password has changed but the new password was sent as well. I guess there are two ways to look at this, if someone hacked my account at least I know what the new password is (but in that case they probably would change the email address as well, in which case I would not receive the email with the password change[Yes/No?]). My way of looking at it is you just sent my password in the clear... not something that I'm sure a lot of us would want. 3. While I am logged into my account at the store address https://store.writeitstudios.com/store2/ if I click on the support link http://www.writeitstudios.com/support.html it come up as 404 Not found. 4. 3. While I am logged into my account at the store address https://store.writeitstudios.com/store2/ if I click on the contact link http://www.writeitstudios.com/contact.php it come up as 404 Not found. 5. I cannot login to the support site with the same account info that successfully logs me into the store... it displays (in a big red bar) "Couldn't log you in as "myemailaddress" http://support.writeitstudios.com/login?to=%2F 6. My new login info, through the app, successfully updated/registered CS2 and the definitions list. Hope this helps. All the Best
Like
Version 2.0.1
3 answer(s)
Writeit! Studios
Writeit! Studios
23 November 2013
Hello, thanks for your view on the password being sent to you. We do so merely as a courtesy - but we agree with you. This will be changed in the upcoming store update. With regards to the dead links - this was explained in our blog post from last Tuesday. We updated our main website last week and didn't yet get around updating our store as well. We will update it this weekend. The support system doesn't require you to login, this is for support staff only. Any queries you submit can be accessed using your e-mail address through a special link sent to you via e-mail. Enjoy your purchase & thanks for your comments!
Like
Jh2010
Jh2010
13 December 2013
WriteIt! Studios, Thanks for responding. Well it has been a few weeks and I still can't login to the support site to log a problem... I sent you an email yesterday to support@writeitstudios.com. Not sure if you got it. I have an issue when I try to run tasks it say "you don't have permission." I'm logged in as admin. Anyways thanks again for the the sorry to post here but it seems like you site is still having issues. All the Best
Like
Writeit! Studios
Writeit! Studios
19 December 2013
As I have said in my previous message, the support site's login is for support staff only, which is why you still can't login there. Your login is only valid for the WriteIt! Studios Store. We did receive your e-mail and will respond to it shortly.
Like
Peter-Stoddard
22 November 2013
I just upgraded from 1.x to 2.x and found more cookies I should delete. The new interface is easy to use. The support crew is very responsive and excellent.
Like
Version 2.0.1