Back to Raskin page
Raskin free download for Mac

Raskin Reviews

2.0.b20
18 February 2020

Alternate desktop interface for OS X.

rcprador
18 February 2020

Most helpful

Why is this app showing version 2.0.b20 as update today (18/feb/2020)? I received the news via macupdate RSS, but I differently that what macupdate is telling, I checked the authors website and version 2.0.b20 is from 2014! There is no new version since.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.b20

Read 26 Raskin User Reviews

Rate this app:

rcprador
18 February 2020
Why is this app showing version 2.0.b20 as update today (18/feb/2020)? I received the news via macupdate RSS, but I differently that what macupdate is telling, I checked the authors website and version 2.0.b20 is from 2014! There is no new version since.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.b20
Sgmoye
31 December 2012
I would like to update this application. Trouble is that I got it from Apple's App Store. The update -- 1.8.2 -- is still not available there. I know the App Store is slow, but 3.5 months?!?!
Like (1)
Version 1.8.2
1 answer(s)
Raskin-Support
Raskin-Support
25 June 2013
Raskin 1.8.3 is now ready in App Store as well as on our website. Thank you for your patience.
Like (1)
Revco
13 September 2012
Crashes on launch for me. On 10.6.8.
Like
Version 1.8.2
buschheuer
23 March 2012
Installiert, gestartet, Absturz! Mit anderen Worten: unbrauchbar
Like (1)
Version 1.8
Prince-Isaac
23 March 2012
In the description above is this fragment: "On top of a supped-up performance..." Perhaps the word "supped-up" should be changed to "souped-up?" :-)
Like (2)
Version 1.8
Macsterdam
15 December 2011
A very interesting and aesthetically looking project. Every now and then I try a new release, but never use it for long, because it gobbles up RAM like there's no tomorrow. Within 3 minutes after launch, RAM use was up to just over 1GB! If they manage to keep it well under 100mb, I'm willing to giver it a serious try.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
Raskin Software Llc
Raskin Software Llc
06 February 2012
With the newest Release we decreased the memory consumption of Raskin. There are still several things you could do to optimize your Surface: * Hide the Quick Start Guide (using Menu View > Hide Quick Start Guide) * Hide the Application Place if you don't use it (also in Menu View) * Hide unused Places using menu View > Hide Place > ... (they keep their layout when added later again) * Hide folders using context menu (or select them then menu View > Hide) * Hide documents and folders using the "Display Less" buttons Generally speaking Raskin takes as much RAM as there is available but releases it as soon as there is memory pressure from other apps (as known from iOS). This mechanism ensures that you always have the optimal speed to load all the previews of your documents.
Like
Edgarcabrera
25 November 2011
I'm evaluating it and it's quite a pleasure to use under Lion in my MBA 2011. It's quite good for managing folder for a projects, it feels quite intuitive and lean. I'll give 5 stars if it has got the ability to automatically add a new drive or network drive as they are connected to the computer as a place. I can do it using the service of "reveal the selected item in Raskin", but if that can be done, that would be brilliant!!!
Like (2)
Version 1.7
korsbakken
15 August 2011
WARNING: Be very careful when using this app. I made a few (apparently) wrong moves with my trackpad, and it started moving files around all over, from completely unintuitive and in some cases random locations (looks like a bug). I inadvertently moved one folder into another due to a somewhat too sensitive trackpad, and all of a sudden I found that folders from completely different locations had also been moved to the same target folder. In some cases the folders were also renamed. Individual scattered folders were moved, not entire directory trees, which made it all the more confusing. Fortunately I was able to figure it out by comparing with my most recent Time Machine backup, but ended up wasting and hour and racking up my blood pressure many, many notches. To top it off, Raskin crashed in the middle of the moving (maybe a good thing, or no telling what it would have ended up doing). Neat concept, but the interface is a bit dangerous. Stability needs to be improved, bugs weeded out, and there should be a confirmation when moving large numbers of files as a safety net.
Like (5)
Version 1.5.3
1 answer(s)
Raskin Software Llc
Raskin Software Llc
26 August 2011
Thanks for your suggestion. None of our users had run into this issue yet. We'll consider including an information dialog into our roadmap.
Like (2)
sachaweiss
07 August 2011
Easy to use project/file organizer, amazingly simple to clean up the desktop (or dowloads...) folders etc. Use with trackpad, not mouse!
Like (2)
Version 1.5.3
Yennta
23 July 2011
I want my money back. This is a lousy app at any price. Crashes continuously, slows the computer. Yuk!
Like (3)
Version 1.5.2
2 answer(s)
Raskin Software Llc
Raskin Software Llc
25 July 2011
There's bound to be a solution for this problem, please do contact Support directly with a crash report in case you haven't done yet. Some specific set-ups, even though these cases fortunately are rare, have caused instability issues before. Usually our Support team can analyze them quickly and provide a solution. We appreciate all user feedback that will help improve the application very much.
Like (5)
Yennta
Yennta
15 September 2011
I tried it some more. Crash, crash crash. That's it.
Like (2)
John-S
22 July 2011
I've been trying Raskin since 1.5 came out about a month ago. I have to say, it took a while to get used to it. Initially it looks very easy but then to use it efficiently I had to learn to the zoom shortcuts. Then it's really awesome... if you have to switch between documents, for example in a project folder. It's also good to review a bunch of files I don't know yet, like when I receive materials from clients. I'd say it doesn't replace Finder as such but adds some very interesting functionality.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.2
Levelbest
21 July 2011
I purchased Raskin about a month ago. The developers have been very nice to deal with and they are aware of most of my comments already. I want to like it, but it really isn't ready for what I think it could or should be yet. I had the endless spinning beach balls too, until they came out with an update and they also suggested I was letting Raskin index all my files which was creating the problem. I thought that was kind of the point at first but apparently, it is not. You have to use it just to look at a relatively few folders and files at a time. I haven't heard clearly how the Raskin team plans to run with This idea, if they plan to improve it working with many folders and files or if that really Isn't the point anyway? If they had a helper app or a preference pane that allowed me to select the folders to work with on the fly, that would be a good idea. The other drawback I find is that I am still old school, no trackpad, just keyboard and scrolling trackball. I can use modifier keys and the scroll wheel to get around but it is not really intuitive and doesn't flow very well. I suggested they take a clue from ironic Software's Deep as that has a great interface where you can feel like you are flicking the whole screen into a horizontal scroll wheel. If Raskin had This and allowed better choices as to what files it works with on the fly, it would be a stellar app. Without all This though I really am not using it at present So I could not recommend it. Reliability has improved but ease of use as user interaction is still a bit lacking, and it does seem like visual ease of use was kind of the point in the first place?
Like (2)
Version 1.5.2
Sgginc
30 June 2011
Clicked on Ratings tab and found Raskin Support rating their own product 5 stars for each version (3 total ratings). 4 stars overall is not accurate.
Like (6)
Version 1.5.1
2 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
30 June 2011
Ya, I see the same thing. I was going to try this, but I don't trust a developer that does this kind of thing.
Like (2)
Raskin Software Llc
Raskin Software Llc
14 July 2011
You're of course right to point this out. We've asked MacUpdate if they can delete them. Please consider, that there are a substantial number of independent reviews out there on sites like Macworld (US, UK, AUS), Cult of Mac, Softpedia and more, they're ratings (for Raskin 1.1 or 1.2) average with 4 stars.
Like (1)
Djefis
01 January 2011
Something different and innovative . . .
Like (6)
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
09 February 2011
But does it work? I get totally frustrated after a few minutes of attempted use.
Like (3)
Djefis
Djefis
26 March 2011
It works well and is often updated, initially uses a lot of CPU (resources), but then after the scan is average. . . I meant to innovative use of the concept of managing files and folders. The latest versions are more stable.
Like (2)
Anon-Bud
20 December 2010
Tried this newest version and after forty five minutes now, I am getting the spinning beach ball each time I try to do anything. I didn't get this behavior earlier. I've written the developer and hope to hear what's going on. In the meantime, I've trashed Raskin and am hoping to try again with another version once the kinks are worked out.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Anon-Bud
05 November 2010
Love the idea here but the implementation could stand some tweaking. 1) No way to sort across all places. Default sorting is by date modified. I want sorting by name and have to go to all places and all subfolders within these places to sort the way I prefer. Very laborious. 2) Contextual menus only allowing moving items to a new folder. No way to move to an existing folder this way. 3) Navigation can be a bit laborious, i.e. moving a file to a folder that may be several places away. 4) Having to zoom in to see the name of a folder or file. Would be nice to have a pop up when I move over an item so that I can see its name when zoomed out. 5) A bit pricey right now. I love the way that files are shown in Raskin; much better than in any other Finder "replacement" (PathFinder, Leap, Yep). But for now I'll stick with PathFinder and Leap for easily and quickly locating and manipulating files. I'm keeping an eye on this, though!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
Px9-855
03 November 2010
For being priced at $49 I would expect something like Raskin to be a serious player. As in i.e. being able to handle diagonal scrolling smoothly and not the current jerkiness. Also some professional style, one hand mouse-navigation (to zoom and pan with the mouse scroll/wheel) is a must. These two essentials is what I think Raskin needs to become a serious alternative to Finder and not just what's in reality much more of a workflow hampered gimmick when it comes to longevity and actual use. Until then, $49 is beyond me.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.3
mcmillan
24 September 2010
I bought Raskin and hoped to use it on my MacPro at home and on my MacBook Pro when I am traveling. I just read the comment by ME2 and was very disappointed in the Raskin developers. Reading their reply was no consolation. This is a very expensive application for what it does. I would guess that most purchases have included some kind of discount as mine did. Even then I consider it expensive however. Now I have no desire to incorporate Raskin into my work flow as I can only use it on one Mac, period. If the developers were aware of the unusual licensing restriction and the reaction among the buyers who were surprised when they discovered it then it is a mystery why the developers don't have a cheap second Mac upgrade license available. At this point I would personally prefer a refund than a second license for more money. This is a clever little app and arguably at times it can be useful but there are alternatives that are much more feature rich that cost less. They also do not have the multi Mac restrictions that Raskin does.
Like (8)
Version 1.1.1
3 answer(s)
Raskin-Support
Raskin-Support
29 September 2010
Thank your comment about Raskin licensing. Raskin is a young product and rest assured that we'll be constantly monitoring customer feedback on this topic. Similar to eg. Apple's software license agreements we chose to opt for the single computer at a time model while at the same time offering great value multi-license packs. We've now decided to open a cross-grade path for all existing customers, allowing to step up to one of the multi-license packs for the actual price difference. That is a second license for only $19. Please just write to sales@raskinformac.com and our team will be glad to assist. Michael from the Raskin Team
Like (4)
Version 1.1.2
mcmillan
mcmillan
06 December 2010
I actually bought a second license which was discounted so that I could have peace of mind using the application on both Macs. I would not call this an endorsement of Raskin by any means but if it helps the developer improve the program then it will have been worth it.
Like (1)
Raskin Software Llc
Raskin Software Llc
19 April 2011
This restriction no longer applies. Raskin can now be installed on multiple Macs for your own personal use. This is true when bought from Mac App Store or from the Raskin Store. Also, all existing licensed have been upgraded.
Like (3)
Fishscale
24 September 2010
Found this somewhere so with Raskin being updated and new attention given by MU users here is a discount code if you wish to buy the app. I will leave my bias out but I will hint I agree with those below. Anyhow - Now get Raskin for only $29 instead of $49 with promo code AB201010. Hope this helps.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
Px9-855
23 August 2010
How can something like Raskin NOT have (Auto)Cad-style, one-hand mouse navigation?! Too much 'hip' and not enough 'function'.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.2
Me2
20 August 2010
Be Aware..... I thought when I purchased a license, I, per usual, could use this on not only my MacbookPro but my MacPro desktop as well. I've been notified by the author that I'd have to purchase a second license. Yes, I know I got a discount to begin with. THAT is a sign of faith that this will be a worthwhile program. I only had 5 hours to download and evaluate and did so on a MacbookPro, too small, IMHO, to use this program. I'm more interested on my 2 30 inch monitors. So, even though I think this has possibilities, I've already been corrected by the author that I can only use it on ONE of MY machines. Not like Adobe. Other than that, I'm interested in what it will do on two 30 inch monitors so will give a review later. Warmest regardss.
Like (6)
Version 1.0.2
3 answer(s)
Raskin-Support
Raskin-Support
21 August 2010
Dear ME2, many thanks for your feedback on the Raskin licensing agreement. Whereas Adobe would allow you to install their software twice they restrict usage to only run the software on one machine at a time. The reasoning behind opting for a one seat license with Raskin was that you'd be very likely have Raskin running all the time on any machine where it's installed and we wanted to avoid any need for the software to "call home" to the devs in order to check if it's only running once. The privacy of each user and their data is a foremost concern for a file management tool. - There are no restrictions for moving Raskin from one machine to another and no need to activate the license. Being aware that many users would like to run Raskin on multiple machines, we offer 2- to 5-packs at very reasonable prices.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.2
Dtruett1
Dtruett1
18 September 2010
Looks interesting, but the licensing of only one machine is a deal breaker for me. I would like to use it on my Mac Pro at home and my MacBook Pro at school, as I do with 99% of my licensed apps.
Like (4)
Version 1.1
Raskin Software Llc
Raskin Software Llc
19 April 2011
Raskin can now be installed on multiple Macs for your own personal use, both when bought from Mac App Store or from the Raskin Store.
Like (3)
Ecbrown
20 August 2010
Very creative and innovative application. I have to agree with SKELLER. It is great for things that integrate well with Quick Look. This is especially useful for images and first pages of documents. One thing that I would like to see in the future is the ability to interact with multi-page documents. For example, if I have a set of multi-page PDFs, like books or articles, I would like to flip through them while remaining in Raskin. Also, it seems that it is possible that third party Quick Look plugins that work in Finder (e.g. Mathematica in my case) may not work. Could be an isolated case, but something to check out during your trial period. It is an excellent application to keep open on a second monitor. I'm not sure if this app is for people who don't get nested folders, or who are power users and who simply want a different perspective. Maybe both. I don't think that it is a Finder replacement or even a Path Finder replacement. It's its own thing. One thing that I have noticed is that it takes a lot of juice to generate all of those Quick Looks. The app generates the quick look images on a "need to see" basis--generally not until you have panned over the area where the placeholder is. There also seems to be tug of war between me wanting it to generate ALL of the Quick Looks even before I scroll them, and the desire to save my battery life. All fine, you can't get something for nothing. Maybe the developers can work on better multithreading and perhaps tying into the Energy Saver settings, but they may be constrained by OS limitations as well. One interesting use (interesting to me at least) is to do a power search in HoudahSpot, and then put aliases of the resulting files into a folder that is being watched by Raskin. Then, one can look at all of the files in a light-table, rather than flipping through Quick Looks one at a time. It could stand some improvement in the stability department, but I have faith that the developers will put more work into quashing bugs, adding features, and improving usability. I'm not going to ding them too hard on this aspect. Notwithstanding, the program definitely works and I was happy to get it via MUPromo. I give it four stars and I reserve the right to increase it to five as the developers build on this first effort.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Ecbrown
Ecbrown
10 October 2010
The developers have listened to The People, and they have made many improvements in stability, as well as adding full Quick Look functionality. This program continues to improve, and I am fully satisfied with my purchase. 5/5
Like (3)
Version 1.1.2
Djefis
18 August 2010
I like it . . .,It is like a finder mural in database format.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.2
Conner-w
13 August 2010
Love it! It's really a cool way on how to see and interact with the Desktop in a new way. Would also like to have it on my iPad :-)
Like (4)
Version 1.0.1
Skeller
10 August 2010
I like the radical approach Raskin takes by flatten my folder-hierarchy, it's especially useful as I work a lot with visual content. For my music-productions, it's not that useful as i can't change which kind of metadata is shown on a document. I can recommend it to everybody who likes new kind of User Interface Design, it's really easy to use.
Like (7)
Version 1.0.1
tvalleau
05 July 2010
Fair. Doesn't scale up well if you have (as I do) millions of files.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1