Back to Breeze page
Breeze free download for Mac

Breeze Reviews

1.5.11
19 August 2019

Simple window manager.

JetsSetter
01 August 2010

Most helpful

Breeze: a fresh look at the windows in Mac OS X. Breeze is located in the menu bar and allows you to resize any active window using keyboard shortcuts. But unlike other utilities Breeze does not limit us presets or grid, and allows you to remember the window position and assign shortcut. You specify hotkey to any of the windows in the independence of the active program. Breeze works with any screen resolution and has positioned the window regardless of the display user. The program has a simple interface that allows you to easily add a new status window, assign a shortcut, and view the saved position of the icons in the menu bar. Function "Rescue Window" resets the state of any window and brings it to the center of the screen. Thanks to developers for an interesting product! Best Regards Vitaly!
Like (5)
Version 1.5.2

Read 23 Breeze User Reviews

Rate this app:

F.Lagnab
25 September 2019
Breeze is invaluable, but the update schedule (if it exists) is obscure. See comments below by artie505 . . . If you're looking for the latest version of Breeze, see the dev's directory, here: http://autumnapps.com/downloads/ As I write, the latest version # is 1.6, which installs & seems to run on OSX 10.10.5 just fine (haven't tried it on macOS).
Like
Version 1.5.11
ylluminate
19 August 2019
How does this compare with Stay (https://cordlessdog.com/stay/)? Stay has been a huge help, but sometimes a bit quirky. It would be interesting to know if this really compares.
Like
Version 1.5.11
1 answer(s)
Autumn Apps
Autumn Apps
19 August 2019
Interesting. Looks like Stay is more about recording/restoring a bunch of window positions/sizes like a workspace, even across multiple monitors. Breeze is just about putting one window at a time exactly where you want it (fullscreen, 50% left, 50% right, etc). You would probably need to try both to see what suits you better.
Like
RJC.NJNYC
26 January 2019
Although it says that v1.5.12 is the latest version as of 1-25-19, you get v1.5.11. I now have v1.5.13 via link from artie505 below. What is the Dev's problem?
Like
Version 1.5.12
2 answer(s)
artie505
artie505
27 January 2019
You missed this part of the listing:

"Note: The downloadable demo is version 1.5.11; the version available for purchase on the Mac App Store is version 1.5.12."
Like
RJC.NJNYC
RJC.NJNYC
27 January 2019
The Dev makes it difficult to update
Like
artie505
30 September 2018
PLEASE NOTE: THERE'S A SECRET VERSION OF BREEZE - v 1.5.13 - AVAILABLE ON THE DEV'S WEBSITE THAT IS 64 BIT!!!
Like
Version 1.5.11
14 answer(s)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
23 January 2019
i can't find it and you get no replies to support emails, do you have a url please ?
Like
artie505
artie505
25 January 2019
<http://autumnapps.com/downloads/Breeze1.5.13.zip>

Dunno why this version hasn't been disseminated.

I guess it's my job.
Like (1)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
25 January 2019
Thanks for that artie505, works fine and is indeed 64bit, strange that the app gets updated here today to 1.5.12 on the mac crapstore, be nice if the dev bothered to contact us re 64bit version, he could do with some positive feedback, I will be happy to oblige, cheers Gary
Like
artie505
artie505
27 January 2019
My only guess is that the dev is waiting 'til the last minute to release the 64 bit version, which doesn't seem like the wisest idea, because people may look elsewhere if they can't get 64 bit here.
Like
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
27 January 2019
I think you’re right about that, sad part is I’ve tried two other apps from the Macappstore which both work ok but neither of them seem to let you save custom window sizes like breeze does, I emailed the support for Magnet which gets top reviews and that dev hasn’t replied either !, so that’s deleted and using breeze again now thanks to your link.
Like
artie505
artie505
27 January 2019
If you haven't noticed, the 64 bit version's creation date is August 2017.

It's actually been around for a year and a half!

Got me beat.
Like
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
27 January 2019
Yes I did see that when trying to check it’s 64bit, looks like he’s given up on it.
Also breeze is still showing as a legacy app in the system info ?
Like
artie505
artie505
27 January 2019
I don't use Spotlight, so nothing shows up in System Info > Apps and I've got no basis for comparison, so I"ve got no idea what a "legacy app" may be.

I hadn't realized that I"ve had the 64 bit version for so long. (It was created specifically at my request.)
Like
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
27 January 2019
Hi artie, are you using Mojave ? I didn’t see the legacy app item in system info before, I’m assuming it’s to warn you that any apps listed will not work in the next version of macOS, it probably checks the certificates. At least it works for now, whether the dev updates it any more we’ll have to wait and see. Cheers Gary
Like
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
07 February 2019
Hi Artie505, I actually had an email from Daniel the dev the other day, he says they will have a 64bit version ready before the next macOs version so watch this space
Like
artie505
artie505
07 February 2019
Hi, Diarbyrag,
Thanks for the heads-up, but I wonder how this new 64 bit version will differ from v 1.5.13 which already is 64 bit?
I guess we'll find out when it happens.
Like
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
08 February 2019
Indeed we will but better late than never I suppose !
Like
artie505
artie505
08 February 2019
As long as it precedes macOS 10.15 (aka La Brea Tar Pits) it will be timely.
Like
Autumn Apps
Autumn Apps
19 August 2019
I'm surprised to see this much discussion about Breeze, which only makes about $20 a year after Apple fees. Indeed I've been squatting on a 64-bit update and a handful of changes for an embarrassingly long time (4 years).
Like
macus
22 April 2018
I love this app, but it is being flagged as 32 bit only. I wrote to the author regarding whether a 64 bit update is in the works, but never got a response.
Like
Version 1.5.11
1 answer(s)
artie505
artie505
25 January 2019
See my response to Diarbyrag on 1-24-19.
Like
Remi
11 July 2016
I love this App. I use every Day. But! This is one and only 32Bit App on my OSX. And no Updates. This is not cool.
Like
Version 1.5.11
artie505
02 June 2015
One of my FAVORITE apps...enables me to customize my windows as and where I want them...no muss, no fuss, no bother! Many thanks to Daniel for a great job.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.11
LeMerlot
28 November 2014
Breeze is exactly what I'm looking for… BUT: It seems not to work with multiple displays which is a deal breaker for me. If this would work I'd buy it immediately – and give 5 stars.
Like
Version 1.5.11
Foulger
21 October 2014
Best thing since sliced bread. Since Yosemite when my MacPro E2008 feeding a Radeon HD7950 and Samsung HD 28" monitor wakes up from screensaver, windows revert to a generic shape. Breeze sorts that out in an instant Simple app. simple keypress and no more hassel. Live long and prosper.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.11
DanielF7951
26 July 2014
This is precisely the application I needed to fix up the precise positioning of windows. As you all know, from time to time, windows decide to wander around the desktop(s) whether on the main computer or on the additional displays I use. I don't know about you but I spend far too much time moving windows where I need them to be. Simple and perfect application. Ready to act at the touch of a couple of keys. Well done Daniel and thank you for making my day today. Daniel.
Like
Version 1.5.10
Cowicide
06 June 2013
I'm now updating my review with a higher score since I screwed up and didn't read the Help file enough to see how to change the shortcuts.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.7
1 answer(s)
Autumn-Apps
Autumn-Apps
07 June 2013
I appreciate the updated review, though I feel Breeze has failed in it's simplicity if you have to read the manual for something as common as editing your saved window states. A better solution would be putting a little pencil button next to every window state, clearly indicating how to edit it.
Like (2)
Cowicide
31 January 2013
Breeze is great, but suffers a huge flaw where you can't turn off or change the keyboard shortcuts or simply disable it for certain applications. Currently, Breeze conflicts with a keyboard shortcut I use in Windows 7 in Parallels and it makes the Parallels Window go full screen and screw up my work. AFIAK, there's no way to disable Breeze for Parallels so there's no longer a conflict. This lack of options is a glaring omission from an otherwise great product.
Like
Version 1.5.7
1 answer(s)
Autumn-Apps
Autumn-Apps
05 June 2013
You can change keyboard shortcuts in Breeze by holding the Option key down when you select a saved window state from the Breeze menu. I admit it's a bit hidden, but fully explained in the Help. As for excluding apps, you are correct, there's currently no way to do that, though I agree it would be a good idea.
Like (1)
SickTeddyBear
11 July 2012
FYI, free for a limited time via StackSocial: https://stacksocial.com/sales/breeze-for-mac-freebie
Like (1)
Version 1.5.6
j-rankin-cp
08 July 2012
I can't believe I haven't mentioned what a fantastic window management system this really is. I know it's brilliant mostly because I've never bothered to look for an alternative yet. There's only one thing I'm not too keen on and it's mostly to do with me memorising a whole bunch of keyboard shortcuts. So what I do, is I tend to have no more than a handful of window positions layered over each other, and because I also have HyperDock it allows me to hover over what's underneath, so to speak. A thought has just occurred to me. How hard would it be for a software developer to be able to prosecute an action through a snippet rather than a keyboard shortcut?
Like
Version 1.5.6
Cowicide
24 June 2012
I wish Breeze also had the features of Cinch or Cinch had the added features of Breeze. I'm running both at the same time and they complement each other perfectly, but I wish I could run just one to save system resources and money. What this would mean for Breeze is you could have the option of moving the window to the left to splitscreen left, etc.. It would be great to have the option to move the window to the top and having your own custom size be triggered instead of fullscreen being your only option. I use keyboard shortcuts, but I often prefer to move the window instead as well. It helps to prevent RSI if you randomize things a bit. This is by far more advanced than Cinch since Cinch isn't application specific, etc., but I also think the features of Cinch would perfectly compliment Breeze and make it a much more complete, yet still simple/streamlined window manager app.
Like
Version 1.5.6
2 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
30 June 2012
Ugh... this doesn't seem to work with Dreamweaver CS6, then again even DW CS6's own workspaces have issues so it might just be Adobe's fault, I dunno.
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
02 October 2012
I should note that it is, indeed, the fault of Adobe, not Breeze for this issue.
Like
bobembry
30 October 2011
I have licenses for MercuryMover, Zooom2, and Breeze. I use Breeze many, many more times that the other two. I have a set of global window sizes and then one or two custom window sizes per application. The global: Safari size (room for a QuicKeys toolbar and dock on the right, Graphic size (full width with room for dock on the right, Left (half width), Right (half-width), and Centered text edit size (1/3 width). I use ⇧⌃⌥ r, l, c, t, s, g for the global shortcuts. I use option 1 or 2 for the application shortcuts. These take care of over 90 percent of my window needs.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.5
T-Rex
02 September 2011
The specific saving state is great and that is exactly what i'm looking for. Unfortunately, i have no free space anymore in my tool bar to go for Breeze (as often). Regarding this, apart from simply transferring the menu bar icon functionality to a dock icon (not really fan of this), if Breeze for its main menu could totally operate by the way of shortcuts or at least a simple pop up bezel window on demand, it would be perfect. Soon further more, the need for a status pane should arise as you locally manipulate more and more specific application windows. But this is another story...
Like (1)
Version 1.5.5
Jonathan-Marshall
20 March 2011
This app is awesome. It totally provides something that OS X (or Finder I guess) is missing. That stupid green button never does what you want. This app lets you specify all your favourite window sizes and map them to hot keys. They give a few samples and its easy add more. Plus app specific settings. It's only 8 bucks so how many features do people expect. I love it.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.3
1 answer(s)
Wts
Wts
16 June 2011
Awsome when working with browser windows. I usually have 3 browser windows running because i am not a fan of using tabs in browser windows.
Like
trungpt
14 January 2011
- Doesn't work well with Microsoft Office 2011 for Mac (sometimes it works but very slow, sometimes it doesn't). I didn't try with Microsoft Office 2008. - Also, this software can be improved by adding more options such 1/2 top, 1/2 bottom or even user-defined options.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.3
Bik0z
12 August 2010
This application follows the KISS principle, it is really great! And its developer is very reactive, helpful (he helped me to fix a shortcut/keyboard issue...) and open to suggestions. The price is really fair (the lowest for this type of application).
Like (4)
Version 1.5.3
JetsSetter
01 August 2010
Breeze: a fresh look at the windows in Mac OS X. Breeze is located in the menu bar and allows you to resize any active window using keyboard shortcuts. But unlike other utilities Breeze does not limit us presets or grid, and allows you to remember the window position and assign shortcut. You specify hotkey to any of the windows in the independence of the active program. Breeze works with any screen resolution and has positioned the window regardless of the display user. The program has a simple interface that allows you to easily add a new status window, assign a shortcut, and view the saved position of the icons in the menu bar. Function "Rescue Window" resets the state of any window and brings it to the center of the screen. Thanks to developers for an interesting product! Best Regards Vitaly!
Like (5)
Version 1.5.2
Mlbkxbx
13 May 2010
The menubar icon is very small. It would probably look better if it was a bit larger (thus matching the "norm" of other menu bar icons). The font size is also smaller than the standard font size of menu items. Perhaps the developer should make these things optional? Mac users tend to like consistency... I see no configuration options, such as setting a "divider position" and perhaps margins to the screen and other windows (when using the built in splitscreen, and fullscreen actions), and for that matter, i can't seem to edit saved states at all (or update a state). I do not agree with doobiexx that 3-4 bucks is a fair price for this application. If it was a one trick pony, and i do mean that literally, like a "deep sleep this mac" button in the menu bar, then sure, 5 bucks might be allright, but his application applies a little bit of magic to almost every application on your computer. It has to deal with old (or non standard) scriptingbridge APIs (bounds doesn't work on all apps), it has to deal with windows that don't follow normal procedures, but react only when you probe the processes through "system events". It can be a real mess trying to get this kind of functionality served to you on a silver platter through custom applescript snippets. Like the "script menubar", breeze can also hide application specific states, and show only whats relevant for the frontmost application. Thats a nice touch. I'm not prepared to buy this app just yet though. With a bit more polish, and some more functionality built in, then sure, i'll buy it.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Fishscale
13 May 2010
Hmm... $8 for breeze or you can have windowflow pro right now for $15. Think about it... WFP does backflips over what breeze can do. It can place windows much more intuitively let alone the organization of windows and it's multiple re-sizing moving options. Breeze is a nice app but not worth $8 when you can get windowflow pro for $15... They consume the similar amounts of resources so... I would say go with windowflow pro but if you need something like breeze which can just place named windows, i.e. safari - macupdate where you can "lock" the window's specs then look into free applescripts or spend $8 for breeze. Apps like findersize which are applescript based are similar to what "breeze" does for various windows... 10 minutes of applescript research and you can save yourself from breeze and a constantly running app. Nothing against the app but I don't see too many updates in the works (at least not publicly) and breeze was just bought from its' original developers to a company who makes no other apps so I have to think... does "autumn apps" have the skill/know-how/desire to make breeze that much better... We have to wait and see if "autumn apps'" can put out updates of magnitude. The current features were created by and bought to "breeze" from the original dev. Bit harsh but this is a $3-$4 dollar worthy app max imo.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1