Back to qBitTorrent page
qBitTorrent free download for Mac

qBitTorrent Reviews4.3.4.1

26 March 2021

Lightweight Bittorrent client.

How would you rate qBitTorrent?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
cinam
cinam
Dec 12 2020
4.3.0
0.0
Dec 12 2020
0.0
Version: 4.3.0
4.3.1 - not worked in BigSur ;-( In first run it's ok. After second run - application get freeze and going to crash.
Macs-Pain
Macs-Pain
Dec 4 2020
4.3.0
3.0
Dec 4 2020
3.0
Version: 4.3.0
Quite good, but I would really like to see some improvements... - The window should be devided into "downloading" and "downloaded/sharing". - The "last activity" should NOT be resetted when restarting the app. - When deleting torrent files or the files itself, they should NOT ne deleted at once but be put into the trash.
Septic Monkey
Septic Monkey
Mar 26 2020
4.2.2
5.0
Mar 26 2020
5.0
Version: 4.2.2
This is, by far, the best BT client. It gets things moving. Totally free with no distracting ads getting in the way.
Humiston
Humiston
Oct 18 2019
4.1.8
5.0
Oct 18 2019
5.0
Version: 4.1.8
BEST BIT TORRENT CLIENT! Just try it and see.
Spudboy
Spudboy
Aug 27 2019
4.1.7
0.0
Aug 27 2019
0.0
Version: 4.1.7
Made another donation this morning. I'm really digging the BT client. Does what I want and gets out of the way.
Spudboy
Spudboy
Aug 5 2019
4.1.7
0.0
Aug 5 2019
0.0
Version: 4.1.7
I donated this evening and so can you. This is the kind of application I can support.
MarcoB001
MarcoB001
Aug 4 2019
4.1.7
3.0
Aug 4 2019
3.0
Version: 4.1.7
Kudos to qBitTorrent dev team, this version is a good initiative to the right path. The UI has improved so much. Now it usable. Keep improving and will keep giving up stars.
MarcoB001
MarcoB001
Jul 31 2019
4.1.6
3.0
Jul 31 2019
3.0
Version: 4.1.6
My problem with qBitTorrent for Mac is the interface, it is ugly as hell. Even for obscure and unused Haiku OS, qBitTorrent is nicer. Come on. I tried it on Windows 10, Mint Linux 18, Haiku OS and it sure is worst on Mac.
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Dec 27 2018
4.1.5
0.0
Dec 27 2018
0.0
Version: 4.1.5
link is wrong, it goes to 4.1.3 correct link https://sourceforge.net/projects/qbittorrent/files/qbittorrent-mac/qbittorrent-4.1.5/qbittorrent-4.1.5.dmg/download
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Dec 25 2018
4.1.3
0.0
Dec 25 2018
0.0
Version: 4.1.3
The current version is 4.1.5
Atalantia
Atalantia
May 12 2018
4.1.0
4.0
May 12 2018
4.0
Version: 4.1.0
What I really like... ban IP's of "I'm a leecher only" I would affirm that it is the best torrent client on OSX.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Feb 24 2018
4.0.4
5.0
Feb 24 2018
5.0
Version: 4.0.4
Not lightning fast but it works very well and the results are better than expected.
michael-154
michael-154
Oct 23 2016
3.3.6
2.5
Oct 23 2016
2.5
Version: 3.3.6
Worked for a while - 3.3.6 but now I'm completely stumped - it searches and finds lots of torrents, the yellow light at the bottom stays on saying I have network issues, I test the outgoing port and it's OK but I cannot download anything - download button not working. I've spent significant time reading their forum and internet posts on the topic and just can't find anything - at least at a low enough technical level that I can understand. Like the interface and speed but just can't get it working.
Atalantia
Atalantia
Oct 4 2016
3.3.6
4.0
Oct 4 2016
4.0
Version: 3.3.6
The best client I found so far. I tried some 4 or 5. Transmission and Dulge included. Its fast and has a nice interface even its not OS X style.
ben-stamp
ben-stamp
Mar 31 2016
3.3.3
4.0
Mar 31 2016
4.0
Version: 3.3.3
Very good alternative for Transmission but has a terrible ugly non-OSX-like GUI. Please give this some attention for a future release.
bbbc
bbbc
Mar 8 2016
3.3.0
5.0
Mar 8 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.0
My solution for crashing on qBitTorrent 3.3.3 and lower is to uncheck / turn off Display torrent content and some options within Preferences -> Downloads. Do this before you ever add a torrent or magnet link. Use AppCleaner to trash the app if you're stuck, then reinstall qBitTorrent, and subsequently (before anything else) get into Options (Preferences) with my suggestion. This resolution works on Lion 10.7.5 and Mavericks 10.9.5 .
avv3lenato
avv3lenato
Jan 3 2016
3.3.0
4.0
Jan 3 2016
4.0
Version: 3.3.0
Testing. Switching from Transmission. So far, very fast, feature rich (I love the built-in torrent search engine) and stable! Give it a try!
Guest
Guest
Oct 19 2015
3.2.3
0.0
Oct 19 2015
0.0
Version: 3.2.3
Really horrible. Doesn't work most of the time. It crashes more than 75% of the time at launch. I can keep re-opening, or ignore, the launch again, but the bottom line is that it doesn't work most of the time. I switched back to Transmission. It's not as pretty, but it's completely stable. If they ever fix this one, I will try it again. I do like the looks of the interface more, it's just completely unusable. It didn't work back in April when I tried it before, but now we are many versions later, and it's still not fixed. MU says 3.2.3, and I tried it, but then I even tried 3.2.4. MU us just one version behind. None of them work.
Penguirl
Penguirl
May 14 2015
3.1.12
4.5
May 14 2015
4.5
Version: 3.1.12
qBittorrent does not look like your usual Mac app, but once you get past it's appearance it is feature rich and fast. I would like to see it support a blocklist but other than that it is very good. I especially like the "Download in sequential order" which is useful when downloading anything with episodes, such as podcasts or tv shows. And for me it is MUCH faster than uTorrent and without the adware the BitTorrent developers are so fond of. Thank you developer for this excellent app! Mac Pro, OS X 10.9.5
Panocha
Panocha
Apr 24 2015
3.1.12
0.0
Apr 24 2015
0.0
Version: 3.1.12
Too bad, it looks like it would be better than the other Mac clients if it worked. I guess they need to fix it for Yosemite. All it does is add files to the queue, but they never download. It is just stuck there forever.
Nuttawut
Nuttawut
Oct 15 2014
3.1.9.1
5.0
Oct 15 2014
5.0
Version: 3.1.9.1
Just found this little gem. Works perfectly on my Mac. Very fast, well for me anyway.
iBelieve
iBelieve
Sep 18 2014
3.1.9.1
3.0
Sep 18 2014
3.0
Version: 3.1.9.1
To bad the tun0 setting (network interface) doesn't do what it's supposed to do, letting QB to still download on my reg IP when my VPN drops.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jan 22 2014
3.0.6
0.0
Jan 22 2014
0.0
Version: 3.0.6
I just downloaded v3.1.3 SIX TIMES directly from the Sourceforge site, using 3 different mirrors, and this app just will not open; The disc image mounts fine, and I can drag the app to my Apps folder, but it won't open. I even compared the checksums with the qBittorrent website, and they all matched. Evidently there's a bug in the newest version, because that's the only app giving me trouble, but that seems unlikely given that the sourceforge site says there were "134,523 Downloads This Week." I tried to register to post a bug report, but my usernames were taken so I gave up.
Gregm
Gregm
Nov 22 2013
3.0.6
0.0
Nov 22 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0.6
Stable 3.1.3 has been available for a few days
bbw7
bbw7
Feb 7 2013
3.0.6
0.0
Feb 7 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0.6
The latest stable version, available via the MU download link, is actually 3.08.
truthhurts
truthhurts
Feb 6 2013
3.0.6
0.0
Feb 6 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0.6
Cross platform (whether QT, Java, etc) is the antithesis of lightweight. Needless abstraction layers adds libraries, space, and memory, impairs performance, and least common denominator usability. Lightweight is native code, finely tuned.
Bezierboy
Bezierboy
Feb 6 2013
2.9.10
0.0
Feb 6 2013
0.0
Version: 2.9.10
January 20th 2013 - qBittorrent v3.0.8 release http://qbittorrent.sourceforge.net/download.php
Guest
Guest
Aug 3 2011
2.8.1
0.0
Aug 3 2011
0.0
Version: 2.8.1
In excemple what lightweight is: uTorrent (v1.5.4) ~2.4MB Transmission (v2.3.3) ~3.8MB - that's real lightweiths. qBitTorrent is only free - this it ok
Zapp-Brannigan
Zapp-Brannigan
Feb 11 2011
2.4.4
0.0
Feb 11 2011
0.0
Version: 2.4.4
You can find the Mac OSX version 2.6.6 here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/qbittorrent/files/qbittorrent-mac/qbittorrent-2.6.6/qbittorrent-2.6.6.dmg/download Took a bit of time to find it on the developer's site, but it's a stable version. They should at least update their listing here at macupdate!
Bezierboy
Bezierboy
Oct 11 2010
2.2.10
0.0
Oct 11 2010
0.0
Version: 2.2.10
Version 2.4.4 (latest as of 10.11.10): http://qbittorrent.sourceforge.net/download.php Direct download link for Mac OS X version: http://sourceforge.net/projects/qbittorrent/files/qbittorrent-mac/qbittorrent-2.4.4/qbittorrent-2.4.4.dmg/download
Darukaru
Darukaru
Dec 26 2009
2.0.2
0.0
Dec 26 2009
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
For open source zealots only. And even then, Transmission is probably the better client.
Mark-Everitt
Mark-Everitt
Dec 26 2009
2.0.2
0.0
Dec 26 2009
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
`Lightweight' is nearly 13MB larger download than Transmission. I assume that it bundles QT and that probably adds a lot substance. I guess lightweight refers to the memory footprint whilst running. QT is pretty ugly too, so perhaps a nicer way of making it cross platform and just as ugly would have been a Java UI to lower the size of the download.