Back to SEE Finance page
SEE Finance free download for Mac

SEE Finance Reviews

2.1.6
30 June 2019

Comprehensive personal finance manager.

Tericks
16 September 2016

Most helpful

I was advised by a friend of mine to try this app as the most reliable, useful and comprehensive app for managing my money. Really, he said the truth about this soft. It was difficult at the beginning to understand how it works and what I need to do to make it serves me efficiently. But as soon as I get used to it, I feel myself more sure about all my accounts and payments. Thanks for developing such an advanced app.
Like (7)
Version 1.0.11

Read 114 SEE Finance User Reviews

Rate this app:

kendjordan
08 February 2020
I'm evaluating switching from Q2017 (given the upcoming sunset in April) to See Finance 2. I've downloaded v2.1.6 in trial mode and See Finance 2 repeatedly crashes with an error when trying to import my QMTF file produced by Quicken. It pops the error window and asks "what were you doing" and sends it off (i assume) to scimonoce software. I'm following the export/import instructions provided by the See support site... Not a good start for the trial. I'm awaiting a response from scimonoce and hope to get this working (and will update my review at that time as well).
Like
Version 2.1.6
1 answer(s)
Scimonoce Software
Scimonoce Software
14 February 2020
In case it will help others, with this user’s assistance we determined the issue they had importing the QMTF file that was exported from Quicken Mac 2017. It was due to an issue with special characters in the names of categories that were exported from Quicken which didn’t conform to the QMTF file specifications. Once removing special characters from various categories in Quicken and re-doing the export/import the QMTF file imported into SEE Finance. A check for such an issue has been added to our next update. Thanks again for troubleshooting this issue with us! SEE Finance Support
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
Old-Man
24 January 2020
I have used Checkbook Pro, Moneydance and Quicken. After trying See Finance 2 it became apparent that I had found the best personal finance app. See Finance is extremely customizable and easy to use! The conversion from Moneydance was done without a problem in less than 5 minutes! I was astounded at how easy it was to use! I would advise anyone looking for a personal finance app to try See Finance 2! You'll fall in love with it!!!
Like
Version 2.1.6
bumcatt
16 January 2020
I was looking for a replacement for Quicken which I had used since the early 90s on both mac and windows when I found See Finance 2. While not as "deep" as Quicken I find the program has more than enough capability to help us track all our credit, bank and asset and investment accounts. In operation the program is very polished, smooth, fast and seems to have few bugs or glitches. Although some things, like transfers, are handled differently than in Quicken it is not hard to learn the new methods. The overall feeling when using this app is very positive and confidence inspiring vs. the dated/antiquated feeling from today's Quicken. I've found the See Finance developer to be exceptionally responsive as well. For example: When we were working I handled all the financials. In retirement a major goal for us was to share the financials in case something happens to one of us. We wanted to keep the See Finance database on a UBS stick and sync it manually between our 2 iMacs rather than electronically due to the various issues when trying to electronically share data. We also wanted each person's usage of the system to be identical, but we had an issue getting bank downloads to work on both iMacs when moving the database back and forth. The developer helped us over a period of 2-3 weeks to get this working and it now works flawlessly. See Finance also backs up the database to each of our computers so we now feel we have a very secure data sharing and archiving method. Great program, great developer. Highly recommended!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
markwhy
09 December 2019
After many failed attempts to replace the wonderful but dated Quicken Mac 2007, I finally found the solution in SEE Finance. It does have a slight learning curve due to the ways that it differs from QM2007, but every alternative finance package does. I have to say that I am 100% satisfied with the features and reliability of the software. It does transaction tracking and investment account maintenance as well as QM2007 did. Also, this company is extremely friendly and responsive to user suggestions, which is the exact opposite of the Quicken experience. I have no affiliation with the company, other than being a satisfied customer. I give is my 100% endorsement.
Like
Version 2.1.6
Dsp
26 November 2019
Pros: Allows saving file where you want. Nice UI QIF import works good. Investment lookup works fine. Cons: Serious flaw when you open file it moves file to a new location/os drive and then sets the file privileges to what it wants, when done, it replaces your file with the messed up privileges file. Developer stated it was done to fix an issue, but this is very bad and potentially security issue! If you set privileges to allow others access, now they cannot access file. Scheduled transactions not intuitive if the developer updated the app to stop moving the file and changing the privileges I would buy it.
Like
Version 2.1.6
1 answer(s)
Scimonoce Software
Scimonoce Software
28 November 2019
When you open a file, that is not stored on iCloud, the program makes a copy of the file’s database to the program’s “container” within the user’s Library folder to record new changes. When the file is saved the file’s database is replaced with the copy of the database with the new changes. This copy of the database never leaves the user’s files and is deleted when the file or program is closed. This is all designed to safeguard the file’s database during editing and saving. When a file is saved the program does apply the default file permissions as would be set for any new file on macOS. File permissions are being set this way to ensure that the logged in user of the computer retains read/write access for the file. We’re looking into not adjusting file permissions each save as it was originally implemented due to older versions of macOS sometimes setting file permissions incorrectly. However, only the scenario of the logged in user being able to edit a file in the program is supported. Other scenarios, such as storing a file on a network to allow for multiple users to edit the file which would require different file permissions, are not supported. The only supported option to edit and sync files across multiple devices is to store the file on iCloud. If you have any further questions, feel free to contact our email support. Thanks, SEE Finance Support
Like
Version 2.1.6
Zampom
14 September 2019
Thumps up! Started keeping my financial transactions/records with a computer program back in 1993. Had still been using Quicken (since back when Quicken was probably the Mac financial program available). While Quicken 2007 still works with Mojave (but with some minor annoyances), know its days are numbered as we transition closer to Catalina. Knew I needed to find a replacement. Had tried out iBank (now Banktivity) a number of years ago ... but it was a nightmare and after using it through 2 version upgrades, went back to Quicken 2007. Glad I decided to Try SEE Finance. It does everything I need to do and does it well. While a few things appear to be slightly more cumbersome to accomplish than with Quicken 2007 ... the reality could be that I just need more time to get the hang of the program. Overall, a great financial program for my needs and, over time, I doubt I will miss saying good-bye to Quicken. A+ for Scimonoce Software.
Like
Version 2.1.6
terra22
13 September 2019
SEE Finance 2 is miles ahead of every other financial app for the Mac. It has a gorgeous interface which one may customize to the hilt. The features are elegant. SEE Finance 2 offers four different ways, all very simple, to reconcile accounts with the bank. While other financial apps around have clunky functionality, are overly-simplified, are plain ugly or, in one way or another, attempt to force you to stay with that app, SEE Finance 2 has no subscription to shut you down if you don't pay every year, no dysfunctional QIF file that puts out unusable export data (SEE Finance 2 provides thorough exporting of your data to other financial apps if you wish to share finances with your brother-in-law...) and no hassle for the fastest, most thorough technical support for this intuitive product. SEE Finance 2's single developer wears more hats and does a better job than any full development team at Quicken. And while Quicken is a better financial app for Mac since leaving Intuit behind, SEE Finance 2 is simply BETTER than Quicken... (I am not related to the developer or an employee of his company). I am just very impressed and recommend this SEE Finance 2 without reservation because it soars way above all the rest of the financial applications for the Mac in its thoughtful design, customization, full features, and its sheer elegant beauty. For instance, while by default, SEE Finance 2 comes with a compact formatting of transaction line items on its register, I could easily modify the line width between transactions and even the size and style of the font as desired.
Like
Version 2.1.6
Turquoise
01 August 2019
Sadly, support for Canadian Banks is non-existent.
Like
Version 2.1.6
Msealey
09 July 2019
Have been using See Finance (versions 1 and now 2) for three years. Truly the best finance package for the Mac available. (I have no relationship with Scimonoce Software - other than as a completely satisfied customer/user.) Having tried all the others - and I mean all - this is the one for me. Version 2 takes a big leap forward in terms of interface. Its feature set is superb. The organization of the many, many features is intelligent and extremely user-friendly. The support from Scimonoce is outstanding. And the program is 100% rock solid. The versatility and flexibility - different ways of getting See Finance 2 to do what you want - are superb. Yet the many functions never interfere with your own particular workflow. I'd recommend See Finance 2 without hesitation!
Like
Version 2.1.6
ken-108
03 June 2019
I’d been using Microsoft Money for Windows for almost 17 years, even porting it across to my Mac within VMWare Virtual Box. Sadly, that option has become unusable in recent months so I needed a proper finance app for my Mac. First of all, I tried trial versions of most apps out there about a year ago and eventually ended up buying Moneyspire 2018, then 2019. It was fine but, as a heavy user, I noticed a few bugs. When I reported them, initially, I got a reply (which didn’t actually help). Then, when I reported more bugs they decided to no longer reply to me. The last straw was about three weeks ago when I noticed an entire account had vanished from the app overnight. I reported that, too, but got no response. Time to move on. So, I tried Banktivity but was a bit put off by the price. I read the comments below on this page and tried SEE Finance version 2.08. I asked Technical Support about an issue and was pleased to find a full, helpful, response within about two hours. But, I still wasn’t completely sure about SEE Finance. So, I tried Moneyline. Absolutely dreadful. Deleted in 30 minutes. I then tried Moneydance. Unfortunately, its trial only allows 100 transactions, so I wasn’t able to try it out properly. I also tried YNAB but I didn’t like that. So, it was back to Banktivity. I then discovered the (to me, at least) rather odd way that it handled scheduled transactions, by requiring “reminders” to be set up beforehand. And, there was still that $69.99 price. I took one more look at SEE Finance last week and was pleased to see a big upgrade to version 2.12 which now had the ability to reconcile accounts. The more I played with this app, the more I realised it was exactly what I was looking for. And, at $39.99 it was much cheaper than Banktivity. I bought myself a copy of SEE Finance and am really glad that I did. I’ve spent several hours on it and it does everything that I would ever want. In fact, it has everything I used to have in Microsoft Money - and more!! Why, it even has access to Ugandan shillings in its currencies, which no other app provides (yes, I do need that currency for one of my accounts). I’m very pleased with it and can see myself using this app for years to come.
Like
Version 2.1.3
r-owen
26 May 2019
Version 2.1 adds a nice reconciliation mode that allows you to edit transactions (in the usual register window) while reconciling. There are a few small features I'd like to have, but by and large this is the best financial software I have used, and much nicer than 1.0 in the areas I care most about (adding and modifying transactions and reconciling statements). It is easy to add and modify transactions. The main screen gives a clear overview of the totals in all accounts. Mutual funds are handled well, with a running total of shares. I have found the software to be rock solid. Tech support is first class; when I have a question or feature request I usually get a useful answer quickly.
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
03 June 2019
I concur that this is very nice software. What I don't understand is why, if you don't check the preference to require transactions to be unlocked for editing, hitting return (or at least escape) while editing a transaction doesn't close and save the transaction. I actually have to click on another transaction in order to close and save the previous one.

I've written tech support about this, but haven't received a reply. It would be nice if there were online forums for user discussions.
Like
Sampler
24 May 2019
I'm disappointed that SEE Finance2 omits the ability to set a date range for a list of transaction, something that is easy to do in version 1. The Calendar view does not permit quick scanning or edits compared to the list view in Version 1. So for now I'm sticking to SEE Finance 1.
Like
Version 2.1.0
2 answer(s)
Scimonoce Software
Scimonoce Software
24 May 2019
You can set the date range of the transactions shown for accounts in version 2. Version 2 was written from scratch and has some significant changes. Above the transactions area there’s a settings button that looks like a gear just to the right of where it shows “Transactions: X Items”. That settings button will show a popover that contains the options to control the transactions shown including the option to set a custom date range or use a pre-set date period option like “This Year”. You can also set it to where only uncategorized transactions will be displayed and/or restrict transactions based on their set status such as deselecting the option to include reconciled transactions. In version 1 you had to set this date range for each account, but in version 2 you can select to apply these settings to all accounts or set them per account. Below is a link to the help page that shows this settings button and popover:

https://scimonocesoftware.com/products/see-finance/versions/version-2/help/mac/views/accounts.html#transactions-view-settings-popover

I’m not clear on your comment about the calendar viewing option. It is just payee and amount info that is shown in calendar view. You can select an item in the calendar and press the spacebar or the Enter key to open its details in a popover. You can also double click on an item to be shown that popover. You can change the month shown using keyboard shortcuts for next/previous.

Feel free to contact us if you have any questions or other feedback.

Thanks,

SEE Finance Support
Like
Sampler
Sampler
24 May 2019
I wasn't aware of the popup box. . I do find it less convenient than the always visible Start and End fields in Version 1, but considering the other enhancements in Version 2, it's a worthwhile tradeoff. Thanks
Like
sandy-ramlet
09 February 2019
I've been using SEE Finance for nearly 10 years, having switched to it from Quicken when I made the leap from Windows to iOS. It has worked well for me! Now, I must leave a review and say that the few times I have needed customer support, it has been OUTSTANDING. This week, for instance, I needed help with migrating SEE Finance from my old MacBook Pro to a newer one. I'm not terribly tech savvy, but Patrick was patient, responsive (quick), thorough, clear and -- did I say, patient? With not too many difficulties, I now have SEE Finance running on my new MacBook. With so many software possibilities, and some of them only differentiated by small nuances, customer support is a deciding factor for me. In this category, SEE Finance cannot be matched.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.8
Pokeyjoe
19 January 2019
I looked for a Quicken replacement for a long time. SEE Finance is the only app that worked the way I wanted it to right out of the box. Highly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
Red Deb
24 December 2018
Couldn’t be happier with this app and finally being able to ditch Quicken. I’m finding it to be very intuitive and discovering new options all the time. Not having to use the mouse is very refreshing compared to the number clicks needed to do routine tasks in Quicken and in the other apps I tried out before finding this one. I’m really liking the different status settings for transactions that let you view different balances for accounts such as the pending balance. Being able to flag transactions for review is a nice option too. I didn’t think I’d get much use out of the color coding options, but am using them more and finding them useful. The companion iPhone app is good for on the go and syncs great. Icing on the cake was having a question answered thoroughly and super fast from their tech support.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
08 January 2019
I just wanted to add that Quicken's developers have removed the QMTF export feature from Quicken 2019 because it is buggy and they don't wish to devote time to fixing it. Perhaps SEE Finance's developers could reverse-engineer the SQL database? I understand that the database format could change, leading to a cat-and-mouse game, but I think it's unlikely that it will change much, and there's currently no way to export data from Quicken. Downgrading probably isn't an option, either.
Like
GForce
08 January 2018
This app has a lot of promise and I want to try it out, but as stated on their webpage, it will not import Quicken 2015+ Mac investment transactions. This is a dealbreaker for me as I have hundreds of investment transactions and reentering them all manually is simply not feasible. Hopefully this is a feature that can be added and I will give this software another look when/if that happens.
Like
Version 2.0.2
7 answer(s)
Scimonoce Software
Scimonoce Software
09 January 2018
It is not that SEE Finance will not import Quicken Mac 2015+ investment transactions. It is that Quicken Mac 2015+ doesn’t export them. If the information was available for import then it would most certainly be imported. This is a result of Quicken Mac being built on Quicken Essentials for Mac which didn’t allow recording investment transactions at all, only overall values of holdings. Quicken Mac 2015 added the ability to record investment transactions, but they have yet to add the ability to export them. When Quicken Mac begins to export investment accounts you should be able to import them into other programs. Quicken users should be demanding that they stop locking users in by not allowing an viable option to export their data.
Like (3)
GForce
GForce
10 January 2018
Instead of exporting as a QMTF, Quicken Mac also allows exporting a QXF file (not sure if investment transactions are included), but SEE finance can't read this format. Alternatively what about offering the option to import that Quicken Mac file directly without having to export first?
Like
D9
D9
10 January 2018
The option I had to use was the CSV format through Quicken Mac 2015+. Of course, all transfers and transaction links were lost. But it did allow me to import my years of Quicken data so I could adequately test the new 2.x version.

Overall, it's a nice upgrade from 1.0 and has many valuable new features, even though it still feels rough in comparison to Quicken...but, much closer to at least recommend worthy of a full switch. In addition, the iOS app is SO MUCH better than the horribly designed and performing Quicken mobile app.
Like (1)
Scimonoce Software
Scimonoce Software
10 January 2018
GForce:

QXF and actual Quicken files are proprietary formats of which only Quicken knows the specifications. QMTF files are really just QIF files that for some reason Quicken Essentials for Mac and later decided to label with the QMTF file extension.

From Quicken’s website info on how to import/export a QXF file: “The import and export of investment and business accounts, transactions, budgets, attachments, reports, and application settings is not supported by QXF.”

https://www.quicken.com/support/how-do-i-importexport-quicken-transfer-format-qxf-file

That leaves the Quicken file itself as the only location of investment information. With the nature of proprietary file formats, trying to decode another program’s file formats would be a never ending game of cat and mouse. If you could somehow get the specifications in the first place, each update of the other program could include a change to the proprietary format. It’s just not a realistic approach.

Quicken should be doing the responsible thing and provide a legitimate file export option to an open file format that users are able to use to switch to another program if/when desired. The QIF file format is the common file format used to export/import between programs and would be sufficient since its specifications are known. Even with how old it is, the QIF file format is still considered the best option for transferring data between programs. Quicken’s QXF import/export info page even references “If you need to import investment or business data, we recommend that you use QIF import instead.”, but Quicken Mac doesn’t provide a QIF file option. There’s only the masked QMTF file version of it that doesn’t include investment transactions. As it stands, they seem to be intentionally locking their customers into their program.

Quicken Mac users should be demanding there be an option to export all of their data to a format that can be imported into another program.
Like (2)
Odysseus
Odysseus
01 May 2018
I wrote the SEE Finance developers yesterday about the fact that Quicken relies an a SQL database that is apparently readable. Is the ball therefore in Scimonoce Software's court?

By the way, I raised with the Quicken Product Manager the possibility that they're intentionally locking their customers into their program, but he denied it. Apparently the data format they use would have to be extended in order to handle other types of information like investment transactions, and if the SQL data is directly accessible, who cares?
Like
Scimonoce Software
Scimonoce Software
02 May 2018
Yes, files for Quicken Essentials for Mac and later use a SQLite database to store the bulk of their information. So does ours and so does most other personal finance programs. SQLite databases can contain any information the developer wants to put in them. We could reverse engineer what is in a Quicken file’s SQLite database, but what happens when updates for Quicken Mac come out that alters the schema of the SQLite database in their files? As mentioned above, it would be a never ending game of cat and mouse. It’s just not a realistic approach when they’re open formats commonly available to transfer data.

Did you also bring up with the Quicken Product Manager why you can’t directly access Quicken Mac files in Quicken Windows? Did you read above how Quicken officially recommends to use a QIF file to transfer information if it involves investment data instead of using a QXF file? Yet you can’t export a QIF file from Quicken Mac as you can in Quicken Windows. Shouldn’t Quicken Mac users expect a reliable and complete file exporting option?
Like
Smayer97
Smayer97
30 June 2019
"QXF and actual Quicken files are proprietary formats of which only Quicken knows the specifications. "

Actually only the QXF file is proprietary. The Quicken database is a standard Apple SQL file that is not proprietary and not encrypted that can be queried (this has been confirmed by the QMac Product Manager). It just takes someone to dig into its format to figure it out.
Like
Nealnt
31 December 2017
Shame on them for requiring OS 10.12 or higher. I have been a long time user and have been promised an update for years. Since I cannot run OS 10.12 I am left in the dust!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
3 answer(s)
Scimonoce Software
Scimonoce Software
09 January 2018
SEE Finance 2 for macOS does require macOS 10.12 or later for multiple reasons. Essentially any Mac made after 2009 can run macOS 10.12 or later. We don’t believe that is an unreasonable requirement for any new program. Although we don’t agree this is a justifiable reason to leave a 1/2 star review, we understand how frustrating hardware requirements can be. Hopefully if/when you get a newer Mac you will choose to continue being a customer.
Like (2)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
22 January 2018
This is the reason I will never upgrade. I bought it when it was still 0.9 and the last version I can run is 1.1.11. I concur with the 1-star review. Leaving customers who can't run the lastest and greatest version of MacOS in the dust just means this product is dead to me. As is your company because I'll never trust you not to do it again.
Like
ERRRRRRRR
ERRRRRRRR
27 May 2018
Hey - this seems absurdly harsh.

Apple changed the bar for developers - and APPLE is the one leaving you in the dust. The same way they forced everyone to buy upgrade or buy adapters with a wholesale change to USB-C.

Giving a one star review skews results and is detrimental to people like me who are trying to check the software.

I'm only doing this becuase my go to (moneywell) had issues when Dropbox changed their codebase. The developer only has so much time and resources. If you watnt something more - then go pay the $100's a year for quickboks.
Like (1)
Odysseus
06 December 2017
Well, without guidance from the developers, here are some initial observations:

1. The interface is really much improved over version 1, and there's inline editing of transactions!
2. Documentation (only online) is minimal at this point (it isn't at all clear how to reconcile transactions, for example)
3. SEE Finance only offers direct connect to financial institutions (ofx)), which excludes many that use aggregators (of the type "Quicken Connect"), such as my credit union.
4. There are some notable bugs: clicking on "Overview" shows nothing, and there must be some considerable memory leaks since after doing very little, the app is using over 1.2 GB of real RAM.

All in all, this is a very appealing and promising app.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
Msealey
Msealey
10 December 2017
The ever-responsive folk at Scimonoce told me that improvements in reconciliation and direct updating of files in SF 1 format are coming (soon).

I've tried practically every finance software currently available; this is streets ahead of them all… rock solid, supported extremely well, comprehensive in features, easy to use - and now more elegant than ever in Version 2.

The developers really deserve to do as well with this new version as they have with the old.
Like (1)
Odysseus
05 December 2017
Some developers don't appreciate negative feedback on their products, and Scimonoce Software LLC is one of them. I just sent them an email message inquiring about new features in version 2, and this was the response:

"With all due respect, we have had 100+ email exchanges with you in the past and we simply cannot afford to take any additional time away from other current and potential customers. We hope that you can agree that both your time and ours can be spent better elsewhere."

I was taken aback, and looked in my email history to see whether this was true. It wasn't. It wasn't even close to 100 -- about 50. The most lengthy exchange consisted of 37 emails with them over a period of *three* months -- from February to May, in *2010*. That's right, over 7 years ago. My last email was sent to them on August 4, 2015, which I complained that version 1.0 was hardly different from the 0.9 version from a user's point of view.

Talk about holding a grudge! Is such a rude response justified? I'll let you be the judge.
Like
Version 2.0.0
3 answer(s)
Scimonoce Software
Scimonoce Software
05 December 2017
Our apologies, no ill will was intended. We have replied 78 times to the 103 pre-purchase emails that you have sent us in the past. We just can’t possibly continue to give that level of dedicated service to a potential customer.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
05 December 2017
Even if those figures are true, I wonder what makes you think that I was expecting "that level of dedicated service" again, 7 years later!
Like
BrilorSoftware
BrilorSoftware
17 January 2018
Thank you Odysseus for demonstrating the patience and tenacity of this developer. It gives me at least one more reason to consider SEE Finance.
Like (2)
r-owen
05 December 2017
Current users of SEE Finance 1 should wait to update to 2 until a version comes out that can import your old data. The company told me that is coming within a few weeks, and this is why SEE is not widely advertising version 2 yet.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.0
Jimw
19 October 2017
Still no mention of Electronic Bill Pay from inside the App. That is still a showstopper for me.
Like
Version 1.1.11
dana-lynn149
13 August 2017
I have been using See Finance for years but recently I have had problems with the backup file not being accessed. I have to 'find' the file every time I open the application. It is there and saves but the fluidity on opening has been lost. Still love the program but I am a bit dubious about updates now after years of no glitches.
Like
Version 1.1.10
1 answer(s)
Scimonoce Software
Scimonoce Software
14 August 2017
Is it that your file isn’t being restored when you open the program? If so, the program uses the computer’s list of recently used files to automatically load the last used file when you open the program itself from the Dock or from your Applications folder. Due to a bug in the Mac operating system the recent files tracking can get turned off during macOS updates. You can open the System Preferences app in your Mac’s Applications folder and in the General section make sure that the “Recent items:” option towards the bottom is not set to “None”. If it is, you can change it back to the default of 10. It has been reported that sometimes you need to reboot your Mac to get a change to the “Recent items” setting to “stick”.

If you are having a different issue, feel free to contact our support: seefinancesupport at scimonocesoftware.com
Like
Gregm
29 April 2017
Went into this when Intuit dumped QWin 2007 support and totally killed QuickBook (worse than just dropping support) for Canadians -- worried about my QMac 2007 becoming abandonware. At the time, it was the *only* alternative that would successfully import my years of data. I have since obtained QMac2017 and still use SEE. QMac is prettier, but has yet to be able to do loans/ amortization/ calculations. SEE has done that/ been there for quite some time. QMac, even under the current spin-off/ reorganization still looks like fully paid *annually calendared* (instead of serious changes) updates. I've paid for a SEE update once. Right now SEE is more capable. For me I can see (sorry 'bout the pun) the choice eventually becoming one of choosing between a small responsive developer or a bureaucracy ( with a questionable history) that mostly depends on users for tech support.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.6
Kitmos
29 April 2017
I just tried the new version and it crashed 3 times a row when I tried to import Quicken 2017
Like
Version 1.1.6
1 answer(s)
Scimonoce Software
Scimonoce Software
29 April 2017
There's no known issues with importing from Quicken 2017. Please contact our support at seefinancesupport at scimonocesoftware.com for help troubleshooting this issue regarding importing from Quicken 2017. Since there aren’t any known issues, it might be something specific to the QMTF file you are trying to import and we’re always willing to help.

If you experience a crash in the program, the next time you open the program you should be prompted to submit a crash report. Please always do so. We didn’t receive any crash reports involving file importing recently.
Like (1)
Msealey
20 December 2016
After either using (or downloading trial versions of) all the major Mac finance packages from Quicken in the '90s on, I do believe that SEE Finance is streets ahead of the competition. It's robust, fully-featured and well documented. The developer is extremely responsive and helpful. And it has many of the hallmarks of a designer who has really thought long and hard about how their users will want the software to behave… little touches like the ability to 'transform' a transaction into a recurring one and build a transfer between two accounts in one go. It's not cluttered; yet is very powerful. Well worth the money. This seems to be the one to go for!
Like (2)
Version 1.0.11
2 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
15 February 2017
I beg to differ. It has changed very little over the years. It still doesn't link transfers between accounts or allow inline editing, among other deficiencies.. Its UI is dated.

Now that Quicken is independent of Intuit, it has a good team committed to it and is evolving rapidly.
Like (1)
Msealey
Msealey
16 February 2017
The version I have definitely allows transfers between accounts to be linked.

In a lot of ways I prefer a rock solid app to one where the developer keeps introducing unnecessary 'features' and shakes updates.
Like (1)
Zeb-B
10 October 2016
I've never had a crash. Most questions I've had could have been solved by a more careful reading of the Help and preferences choices. When I've emailed the Developer, he has always' answered promptly. I initially wished for inline transaction editing, but after a little experience came to prefer the transaction edit window because of the larger fonts and extra space. I take off 1/2 star for inability to search on multiple criteria. Currently one can search transactions only on date and on one other criterion, such as payee, phrase in the memo field, type of transaction.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.11
Tericks
16 September 2016
I was advised by a friend of mine to try this app as the most reliable, useful and comprehensive app for managing my money. Really, he said the truth about this soft. It was difficult at the beginning to understand how it works and what I need to do to make it serves me efficiently. But as soon as I get used to it, I feel myself more sure about all my accounts and payments. Thanks for developing such an advanced app.
Like (7)
Version 1.0.11
Lectrohowie
15 May 2016
I apologize for this rather brief review. I am coming originally from Quicken and then MoneyDance. When I found the beta version of SeeFinance I gave it a try. That was several years ago and since then it has been both rock solid and a pleasure to use. I cannot say that for Quicken and frankly, See Finance is much more pleasant to use than MoneyDance. Bottom line, I think, is that it's certainly worth a try. Finance programs are one of those types of applications that are very "personal" and what appeals to one person may not to another. Hence the free trial periods! For me it's the one.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.9
wintermute
03 April 2016
I have to say, the more I use this program the more I find to like. I am busy reconciling accounts for taxes and realized how many keyboard short-cuts are available and how fast you can edit and enter data. In the reconcile pane, for instance, you can use command-a to select all and then hit space to check off all selected entries. (Or you can shift-click between entries or command-click to select/deselect individual entries, like in the Finder, and then hit the space bar to check off those selected.) In the normal transactions listing, you can select/deselect as mentioned and then control-click (or right-click) to make batch changes to all selected entries, such as changing categories, etc. These well thought out functions make quick and easy work out of updating or changing entries, such as correcting a bunch of entries to make them taxable events, etc. I remember struggling to make such sweeping changes to entries in Quicken previously. What a time saver SEE Finance has become! And one of the best things about it is that is is supremely stable (and fast!) It is one of the only applications I know of that has never "unexpectedly quit" or otherwise misbehaved--- I can't think of any other application that I can say that about. Scimonoce Software has done an outstanding job with this application.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.8
3 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
11 May 2016
See what Amcarter3 wrote below!
Like
wintermute
wintermute
11 May 2016
I've read Amcarter3's comments which he has repeated for several years. He completely ignores the many improvements have been made and he strangely focuses on near meaningless version numbers. While a few of the items on his wish list may be welcome additions to the program, they by no means make the program a deal-breaker for most people. Let's look at his requests:

1. Revised Account Reconciliation. Yes, I agree that Quicken's method was simpler and less confusing, but Reconciliation still works in SEE Finance and I have grown accustomed to it. This is probably the one weak point in SEE Finance, but it is by no means a deal breaker for me considering how SEE Finance excels in everything else.

2. Option to force link transfer transactions. This requested option actually created a lot of problems for me in Quicken and drove me mad when trying to edit data in Quicken in the past, especially with linked items with posting dates that varied greatly. SEE Finance handles this better in my opinion, since you can create both entries at one time during entry or create the corresponding transaction from a highlighted entry. Otherwise, the entries are automatically downloaded from your banking institution, anyway, albeit unlinked. I think this option has the potential to be just as problematic as helpful.

3. Revised reports and budgets. This has been enhanced over time and allows one to customize and create almost any Report for any Category, Payee, Account, etc. and view it in a number of different ways. Just play with the various settings and specify what your are interested in. Budgets are similarly powerful.

4. Inline transaction entry. I'm not sure what he is asking for here. SEE Finance has automated download, as well as manual entry with keyboard shortcuts for moving between fields and new transactions, and also memorized transactions that fill in all or part of any new entry as specified. Preferences specify whether transactions need to be unlocked or not before changing data. I prefer to use the keyboard shortcut to unlock a transaction before editing to prevent errant mouse clicks from erroneously changing my data.

5. Easier investment transaction entry. Just how can it be simpler? It downloads your transactions automatically from your brokerage or it presents you with clear fields to manually enter the transaction data. All fields can be navigated via keyboard shortcuts or mouse clicks.

6. Improved investment tracking. Investment tracking in SEE Finance is much more comprehensive that any other software I have tried, including iBank, Quicken, etc. To my knowledge, these others cannot track bonds and options easily and can be confused by such things as securities splits, specifying security lots, etc. I would, however, like to see drill-down graphs being applied throughout the investments section in SEE Finance.

7. Improved recurring transactions. This must have already been addressed since I see no deficiency in how recurring transactions are being handled.

8. Improved downloading/importing. This sounds like Amcarter3 is just looking to list anything here to try to present an unfavorable impression of SEE Finance. To actual users of SEE Finance, this is a silly request. SEE Finance has very comprehensive downloading and the most robust import/export of any finance software I have tried (and I have tried everything I could find via MacUpdate and Google.) It consistently is able to import Quicken data files covering decades of transactions that even the new versions of Quicken can't.

9. Companion iOS app syncing. Some may appreciate entering financial data on a portable device. I rather stick to the efficiency of doing so on a computer with a larger screen and a physical keyboard. I capture receipts on my iOS device with its camera (try Scanner Pro or Genius Scan) and save them as PDF on a secure shared cloud drive which I later use to fill in transaction details in SEE Finance on my computer. Keying in such details on my iPhone would be far less efficient. Personally, I rather not have the developer get distracted with an iPhone app unless it creates much better efficiencies in managing my finances.

While improvements to SEE Finance are always welcome, none of these points that Amcarter3 keeps reiterating are "deal-breakers" for me. So almost all of what Amcarter3 wrote carries very little weight in my decision to use SEE Finance. Others are free to agree or disagree. This is my personal perspective. I invite others to try SEE Finance for themselves for free and make their own decision.
Like (2)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
05 August 2016
Wintermute, I appreciate your detailed response to my list of issues. I suppose I could have been more detailed in my explanation of some of the issues on my list.

I hope you noticed that my list was generated in 2012 -- it was after extensive testing of several finance apps. (I was a disgusted Quicken user). I really wanted to like See Finance, however I could not get past the incredibly confusing method for reconciling accounts. Maybe its changed now? The other issues on my list back then were simply what I considered to be design limitations. Maybe they too have been improved.

Unless the current version has a different method for reconciliation, I really struggle to support / use this app... despite its many good features and excellent stability. And, I totally agree with your comment about the developer's friendly and rapid support. I may try it again though. So thanks.
Like
Amcarter3
09 January 2016
The developer knew many of us have been waiting for years for a fully upgraded Ver 1.0. Why? Because, as good as this app is, there are still many issues that he acknowledged back in 2012 and said he planned to fix in Ver 1.0. For example... On Jul 6, 2012, at 7:38 AM, See Finance wrote: "The general list of feature changes planned for in version 1.0 is rather large and really encompasses most aspects of the program. The following is a short list: • Revised account reconciliation • Option to force link transfer transactions • Revised reports and budgets • Inline transaction entry • Easier investment transaction entry • Improved investment tracking • Improved recurring transactions • Improved downloading/importing • Companion iOS app syncing" Almost all of these items are deal-breakers for me. How much of this list shows up in this Ver 1.0 upgrade? Not much. Anyone have a different view about these issues??
Like (1)
Version 1.0.6
4 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
10 March 2016
No. The program is really going nowhere.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
11 May 2016
It's a great list, because of all the things planned for v.1.0 on July 6, 2012, *none* have been implemented nearly 4 years later!
Like
wintermute
wintermute
12 May 2016
Check all the Change Logs for both pre and post version 1 on the developer's website. Much of the program has been improved or revised rather regularly since 2009. What is remarkable during all this, even since the program was initially released pre-version 1, is how extremely reliable and robust this program has been. This is in stark contrast to Quicken which I recall on several occasions having corrupted my data file which required a rebuild. Personally, I have found the developer of SEE Finance to be very responsive and actually enjoy using this program, but as the saying goes, you can't please everyone. Personally, nothing on your list is a "deal breaker" for me, although I do think Reconciliation was simpler on Quicken. However, for me, this small difference does not detract from the overall massive advantages of SEE Finance over the competition.

https://scimonocesoftware.com/seefinance/versions/version_0_9/changes.html

https://scimonocesoftware.com/seefinance/versions/version_1/changes.html

PS
According to the Change Logs, there have been many improvements to investment tracking, recurring transactions, downloading/importing, etc., so it looks like it is your list that is in need of revision more than SEE Finance.
Like (2)
Odysseus
Odysseus
15 February 2017
No, Wintermute, you are mistaken. I just examined the change logs, and there are very few additions (and any of these are minor) -- the log lists mainly adjustments and bug fixes.

Again, of the general list of feature changes planned for version 1.0 (and announced in 2012!), absolutely *none* have been implemented as of February 2017.
Like
MR-MM
18 December 2015
Why aren't more people talking about this? I've patiently worked my way through all the abandonware, bloatware, and spyware in the genre. SEE Finance is rock solid, totally private, runs lean on OSX, and the developer is responsive and friendly and constantly working on it. They suggested iQIF to fill the mobile app gap. I find the reports are especially good, highly customizable, compact and sensibly designed, not like some primary school project with absurdly oversized typography and graphic elements. And its only fifty bucks!
Like (6)
Version 1.0.6
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
15 February 2017
Well, for one thing, it does not have bill pay capability. That is a showstopper for me.
Like
wintermute
13 September 2015
This is an excellent and comprehensive personal finance app that is extremely reliable and stable, unlike most of its competitors. Just try it for yourself.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
Lectrohowie
08 August 2015
I've been using See for a couple of years now. Has never had a glitch or error so I updated to the official release. Choosing a banking program is a bit of a personal matter and there are lot's to choose from. I'm very happy with See and you owe it to yourself to at least give it a try. Bonus: very responsive developer.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.5
Nealnt
05 August 2015
The 1.0.5 upgrade costs $30 and you get a few bug fixes. No operational changes. I find this very disappointing to what otherwise is a nice program.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
13 September 2015
This supposed upgrade is VERY disappointing. There continue to be multiple "deal-breaker" issues that block me from even wasting time to test this app again.

The developer knew many of us have been waiting for years for a fully upgraded Ver 1.0. Why? Because, as good as this app is, there are still many issues that he acknowledged back in 2012 and said he planned to fix in Ver 1.0. For example...

On Jul 6, 2012, at 7:38 AM, See Finance wrote:
"The general list of feature changes planned for in version 1.0 is rather large and really encompasses most aspects of the program. The following is a short list:

• Revised account reconciliation
• Option to force link transfer transactions
• Revised reports and budgets
• Inline transaction entry
• Easier investment transaction entry
• Improved investment tracking
• Improved recurring transactions
• Improved downloading/importing
• Companion iOS app syncing"

Almost all of these items are deal-breakers for me. How much of this list shows up in this Ver 1.0 upgrade? Not much.
Like
Odysseus
04 August 2015
When did SEEFinance get to version 1?
Like
Version 1.0.5
5 answer(s)
Franko
Franko
04 August 2015
Truly odd. I have version 0.9.18.0 which is listed as most recent when "Checking for update.."
Yet I received 2 notices from MU for versions 0.9.18.1 and 1.05.
On their website no mention of the change, simply the availability of 1.05 for download..
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
04 August 2015
That's because from the user's point of view, there really is nothing new in 1.0.5.

There are none of the oft-requested improvements such as:

1. Improved reconcile for checking
2. True linking of transfer transactions
3. Inline transaction editing

In-app documentation is minimal, and the UI hasn’t changed in years and is dated.
Like (1)
Redward
Redward
04 August 2015
I've been using this program for 4 years (when Quicken dropped support for OS X) and really like it. It imported 18 years of Quicken data with ease, and is the only program I have found that accurately tracks employee stock options.

The program isn't flawless - double-entry transactions involving 2 accounts aren't automatically created as they were in Quicken, and return on investment calculations need work (especially for securities that receive substantial dividend income).

I had no idea a 1.0 release was imminent - just saw it here today. The company hasn't emailed users about the new release yet, and I don't see significant changes listed for the new version other than El Capitan compatibility. Will stay at 0.9.x for now until I know more.
Like
hnmurytes
hnmurytes
04 August 2015
if you noticed this version 1.0.5 is listed as a paid update... so I guess if you want to go with the updates we must pay again? If so, most disappointing, as I paid full price for my current version about a year or so ago.
If the the 0.9.18 will not work with El Capitan, and the new version is a paid update, I am out of here and will find another app to take care my financials. I find paying 2x for an app in such a short time span to be unacceptable.
Like
wintermute
wintermute
21 August 2015
From the Developer: "Version 1.0 was released on 8/3/2015 and it is a paid upgrade. Everyone can upgrade to version 1.0 for $29.99 and anyone who purchased version 0.9 since January 1st, 2015, can upgrade for free."

I have found SEE Finance to be an excellent application and the developer is not unreasonable; I'm sure he is just trying to make a living and receive fair compensation for his hard work. If you feel that you have not received fair utility from the app since your purchase date for the amount you paid, try writing to him.
Like (1)
Tait-Kahray
05 April 2015
After using various generations of Quicken since 1993, Quicken 2015 finally drove me over the edge to find another application - buggy, slow and did not at all inspire confidence. After looking at a number of options, I've settled on SEE and am very happy with it after a couple of months. I still haven't explored all its features, but have found that the ones I do use, which are the same ones I used on Quicken, work well.

SEE feels very solid, stable and flexible. It does do some things differently than what I was used to, but that hasn't been a problem once I got used to the idea. In fact, I find myself using SEE with more discipline and enjoyment than I had experienced with Quicken for some time, and I am encouraged to explore more of its functionality. The absence of check printing is not a concern to me.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.17.4
MtBreeze
26 April 2014
I'm not advocating for any particular finance program. I tried SF and although it did a great job of importing my Quicken data I found it quirky. In this day and age check writing is not important to me as I very rarely write one. But some people seem to write off Quicken because for so long Intuit failed to come out with an update to run on what were current Macs at the time. But I believe in 2012 Intuit finally came out with an update, and they have come out with four or five updates since then, that allows Quicken 2007 to run on the current Mac operating system, OS X 10.9.2. Quicken does run on OS X 10.9.2.
Like
Version 0.9.16.0
1 answer(s)
HMALETTER
HMALETTER
05 July 2014
I just did that update today. I want both of my Macs to be at Mavericks, so I found the Quicken 2007 update. I've kept my trial version of SEE Finance up to date, but don;t use it. SEE has the best in a lot of areas, especially the Quicken import function. However, not printing checks has been my number one Must Have item, and they don't. So, while Quicken may not have the newest interface or some neat features, I've been using it since 1995, which is where my data file transactions start. I've never lost data, never had an unrecoverable crash, and I've been happily using it for 20 years now. SEE, wise up, you have a great program that doesn't print checks. I'm quite sure the many customers you could have had don't write in and complain online, they just purchase something else instead. Or like myself, they continue to use Quicken.
Like
LiaB9449
18 April 2014
By far the most comprehensive and stable finance application on OS X. The only program that effortlessly and accurately imported my years of Quicken data. The only program with comprehensive investment tracking. Yes, it doesn't print checks, but the only time I use checks is when I am out and about, not in front of my computer--- so I use a checkbook and import the data from my bank, which SEE Finance handles perfectly fine. This application is so much better than Quicken, especially for making batch changes--just highlight, control-click and select. Easy-peasey.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.15.0
Polekat
28 February 2014
I recently bought the program. I have had it import several years of information for my checking account, investment accounts and one of my credit cards. It was accomplished easily and correctly. I have always found the web site to be available when I tried to access it. I have had questions a few times and support usually answered on the same day or the next day. A question I had on one weekend was answered on the following Monday. I admit I do not use printed checks, so that is not an issue for me. There are things that I had to learn to use the program, but this did not take long. I have not had a crash or error in the few weeks I have been using it. There seems to be lots of things to customize in the program, but I'm happy the default setting for now. I find the program to be worth every cent I paid.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.15.0
Yaya7xs
24 February 2014
I agree with everything Bowlerboy said. I would not recommend this software.
Like
Version 0.9.15.0
bowlerboy-jmb
04 December 2013
I am in the process of transitioning from Quicken 2005 for the Mac, which has served me well, except that I can only run it up through Leopard. Ideally, I want a product that works both on my Leopard partitions, as well as on my Mountain Lion partition, and soon on my Mavericks volume on an external Firewire disk. I'd like to be able to access one database, stored probably in a DropBox folder, from any of my Mac volumes, as well as from an iPad and/or iPhone. In my research for the right product, I read the comments by MacUpdate reviewers several pages deep in several contending programs for top financial app in the Mac world, including: SEE Finance, Money, MoneyBag, MoneyWiz, MoneyWell, iBank, CheckBook Pro, and, of course, Quicken 2007 (Lion), as well as Quicken Essentials. Very few of these products qualify to meet all of desired objectives, so I have to see which one(s) come closest to doing the job right. I really wanted to love this software, but I'm afraid I can't. There are some deal breakers which flaw an otherwise nice product and make it not yet ready for prime time. I spent over 18 hours yesterday, burning the midnight oil, as I imported QIF files from my Quicken database and my bank and credit card accounts. I would judge SEE Finance to be excellent in importing data fast and accurately. I was not very impressed with this application's rather strange approach to "reconciling" accounts. Unlike Quicken for the Mac 2005, which gives you a window in which you deal with four pieces of data: the beginning and ending dates and their corresponding balances, followed by the transactions which occurred during that time frame, which you then proceed to check off in Quicken against your bank statement, in order to be rewarded with a "Congratulations!" window when everything is reconciled, SEE Finance makes the whole process more complicated than it need be and gives you balances based on the TOTAL balance of all your items in the register, together with an indication of how far off you are from matching up with your bank. Weird! That took some getting used to, but it isn't the show stopper for me. The show-stopper for me is the fact that this is a financial management software program which cannot print checks! I just cannot fathom why a developer would fail to include the capability to print checks in a program that has a checkbook register. What am I supposed to do? Write out all the checks by hand? How tedious! How boring! How filled with the potential to make mistakes transcribing data that is already perfectly entered in a checkbook register! On top of that, unfortunately the developer's web server is out of service more often, and for longer periods of time, than I am willing to tolerate. Since there is no user manual, the only HELP which is provided occurs at the developer's website, where he maintains an unstructured, reference-style guide that has no search feature built into it. You have to read the whole thing to know where the material you need is located and them remember where it was, because you can't key-word search for it later. Taken altogether, I happen to find such design flaws to be fundamental errors that are not customer friendly. I would hope that the developer can address all these matters in the future, for they are not insurmountable problems. But I cannot wait around until he does so. By the way, one of the most useful pieces of information I eventually unearthed in my online research for a Quicken replacement turned out to be a table comparing the "top 10" contenders in the Mac finance software category. The table, nicely gridded out, lists the features one might want in such a program, and it shows which programs have those features and which do not. If I knew ahead of time that SEE Finance could not print checks, which is pointed out in this table, I would not have bothered to test it out. Reviewers here are helpful, but only minimally so, because no one here rarely, if ever, provides such an in-depth comparative analysis as you can find at this page: http://personal-finance-software-review.toptenreviews.com/mac-personal-finance-software/
Like (5)
Version 0.9.14.13
3 answer(s)
wintermute
wintermute
06 December 2013
Valid points, for the most part. I have never experienced a time when I tried to access the developer's website when it was down, so I can't agree that that is a problem. I do think it would be trivial for the developer to create a search capability for the support documents on his site and agree it is quite odd that that is not yet in place. A user forum would also be useful as users familiar with the workings of the program could surely help to explain how certain things, like the reconcile feature, function. And the developer could also glean some insight on what areas of the program could use some adjustments for ease of use, etc. Having said that, the reconcile function does work fine, although it is a bit different than Quicken. In SEE Finance you usually view imported data from your financial institutions on the top of a split pane and compare that to the recorded information in the lower pane. I usually check off the items in the top while comparing to my paper, email and PDF receipts and then copy those checked items to the lower pane for reconciliation. Works fine for me, but yes, not as straight forward as Quicken was. As for printing checks... that is a good point. I could see where some people might need that function. Personally, I write very few checks nowadays... like maybe one a month, so I never missed such a feature... but I can understand that it would be important to some. Credit cards, Electronic Transfers, etc. have replaced paper checks for the most part in my life.
Like (1)
D9
D9
04 February 2014
I appreciate the link to the Top 12 Mac Finance Software web article, Bowlerboy_jmb. That's a great side-by-side comparison showing the value of each with the major features required. However, I'm a bit puzzled as to why an in-depth study such as this has excluded probably the most popular Mac Quicken alternative, iBank. I can think of Jumsoft Money, MoneyWiz and Checkbook Pro as other alternatives that could be excluded, but iBank certainly seems to be a major option this article has overlooked. I don't even like iBank but I'd like to see how it is evaluated by others.
Like (1)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
13 September 2015
That Top 10 Review site is biased. They get paid to compare certain software and sometimes ignor excellent apps in a category like Personal Finance. They also grossly over simplify (with a simple checkmark) whether an app has a feature. For example, several finance apps say they have a budgeting feature. In reality, most budgeting features in apps like Quicken, iBank, See Finance, etc. are extremely difficult and impractical to use.
Like
Jimw
01 November 2013
Looks good, but still has a showstopper for me. No on-line bill pay built into then the program.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.14.13
3 answer(s)
wintermute
wintermute
22 November 2013
Just curious... what are you using Bill Pay for? I have never had the need. All my bills are either automatically deducted from my checking account, billed to my visa or paid via app with no additional fees or charges. My bank has a Bill Payer service, but I have never found a use for it.
Like (1)
Jimw
Jimw
22 November 2013
Built in Bill Pay in program gives me full control over who gets paid. when they get it, and how much they get. It minimizes problems in case of billing errors, and allows me to fully control my account with less risk of hacking or identity theft. It also allows me to change banks or credit cards, such as lost cards, or hacked information without notifying all the payee's of these changes. If you are using automatic payments for all of your bills you have a lot more faith and trust in your payee's than I do. I just hope your trust is not taken advantage of, or misused.
Like
wintermute
wintermute
22 November 2013
I always check the amounts being billed and reconcile the invoiced amounts with the amounts paid to payees, so I haven't had any issues with being taken advantage of. (This is precisely why I use SEE Finance, to track all income and expenses.) The few times when an amount was in dispute as stated on a bill, I always called or emailed before any amounts were withdrawn and had the billed amount corrected... so I have never had any issues where Bill Payer would have made a difference. I guess my cell phone bill is the one that has been wrong the most / that I trust least, and for that one I pay via an app, which is like using Bill Payer, I suppose, since no money is automatically withdrawn. But I guess it all depends upon what businesses and utilities you are dealing with.
Like (1)
Franko
15 May 2013
With this latest update the guys have offered a workaround Yahoo's half-a$$ed issue of listing latest prices for Mutual Funds under History. SF gets better and better and won't be long before it becomes *the* goto app for personal finances.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.14.8
craigharl
14 April 2013
Having been a contented user of Microsoft Money on the Windows Platform my search for a suitable replacement on the Mac platform meant that I have tried just about every personal finance MAC solution. My first criteria was a perfect, simple import of my accounts - I don't need Billpay being a UK User. The only solution that satisfied me was IBank which I used for several years. However, I tried Seefinance out a few months ago and haven't looked back. The import from Ibank was perfect on all Accounts. It is far quicker than IBank and far more stable. I have also had excellent support from the developer. I swapped over after a month or so, and haven't looked back once.
Like (5)
Version 0.9.14.7
wintermute
29 March 2013
Just updating my review... I've been using this for well over a year now and can honestly say this is the best financial app I've used. If you are still trying to get by with Quicken, dump it and make the jump to SEE Finance. The reconcile interface is not as immediately intuitive as that of Quicken, but everything is by far much better, especially the stability and support of the app. I'm not sure why people are rating this lower for not having Bill Payer... why not just use automated payments (most utilities allow automated payments via an on-file credit card or linked checking account, which also prevents late-payments) or Bill Payer from your bank's website? I've never had the need for Bill Payer and don't quite understand why one would want it. And while an iOS version would be nice, I'm more than happy that the developer is concentrating his efforts on making the Mac version as feature rich and stable as possible before getting distracted with an iOS version. Aside from possibly entering a few receipts and such on my iPhone, 99.9% of my accounting would still be done on my Mac. Why not just use Genius Scan on the iPhone and email yourself any receipts to be entered in SEE Finance on your Mac at a later date? (Or just keep your paper receipts.) I suppose the only feature missing for me is better stock graphs... I'd like to double click on a stock and get a graph of the stock price over a selectable time period with little red and green arrows showing my Sells and Buys (and a Splits indicator) --- and then show a line of my average cost basis--- that way I can easily see if I should sell or buy based on current price and my past transactions.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.14.7
11 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
10 May 2013
I mostly agree with you and Craigharl that See Finance is a step above all other Mac-based personal finance programs. It has huge potential. However... they know many of us have been waiting for many years for Ver 1.0. I currently use iBank, but would switch in a flash IF and WHEN they release Ver 1.0. Why? Because, as good as this beta version is, there are still many issues that they acknowledge and plan to fix in Ver 1.0. Here's why I'm holding off: On Jul 6, 2012, at 7:38 AM, See Finance wrote: The general list of feature changes planned for in version 1.0 is rather large and really encompasses most aspects of the program. The following is a short list: • Revised account reconciliation • Option to force link transfer transactions • Revised reports and budgets • Inline transaction entry • Easier investment transaction entry • Improved investment tracking • Improved recurring transactions • Improved downloading/importing • Companion iOS app syncing I suggest that anyone interested in See Finance VER 1.0, send them a message encouraging them to 'GET'ER DONE"!
Like (2)
wintermute
wintermute
25 October 2013
@Amcarter3... Waiting for a "Ver. 1.0" is plain silly. That Version number means very little relative to other software offerings. It is just a label. This "beta" of SEE Finance that I have been using for the past couple of years is FAR more stable and usable than any version of Quicken for Mac. As far as that list you are waiting for for Ver. 1, most are already done and many are just standard mentions of improvements which are standard changes in almost any software update. SEE Finance could be listed at Ver. 5.0 by now if held to the same lower standard of any other software developer. That the developer has chosen to leave the enumeration as a beta is the developer's choice, but it does not detract from the fitness or usability of this particular product from my actual user's standpoint. I normally steer well clear of beta versions of any software, but in this case, I have found the software to be extremely stable, usable and error free. I am more than happy that the developer takes his time to ensure that even these pre-version-1 releases are stable, robust and usable. I truly hope he ignores your request to "Get 'er done" and just continues his steady improvements and strict quality control. Your request sounds like you are in favor of the ridiculous version numbering of software such as Mozilla's Firefox which releases a full-point update almost monthly with no substantiative improvement to quality, features or stability of the product. "A rose by any other name would smell as sweet...and poop stinks just as bad."
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
27 October 2013
I maintain my assessment of See Finance. Until the changes that the developer indicated would NOT be done until Ver 1 is finally released, I will not use it. In the meantime, this app is rapidly losing ground on iBank. I've been using iBank for 3 years and am very happy with it.
Like
wintermute
wintermute
27 October 2013
I tried iBank a few times. I really wanted to like iBank since I like its developer and already use another one of his products (iBiz). iBank was originally my first choice when leaving Quicken. Unfortunately, I found iBank buggy and far less robust (it choked on my decades of Quicken data) compared with SEE Finance (which imported all my data and worked with it without a hiccup.) From comments made by other users, I was not the only one who experienced frustration with iBank. I encourage users here to try out both iBank and SEE Finance and choose which works for them.
Like (1)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
31 October 2013
For those interested, iBank is just about ready to release Version 5. This comes 3 years after Ver 4 was released. Ver 4 has been extremely stable and works very well for all aspects of personal finance management. Ver 5 will be a significant upgrade. (I participated in the Alpha and Beta testing of it).
Like
wintermute
wintermute
21 November 2013
@Amcarter3: Since you use iBank5, what is your opinion of the subscription fees that are levied by iBank to synch and update bank data? Personally, I HATE having to pay ongoing subscriptions for anything. The cost for subscription services always ends up costing the consumers way more than traditional purchase arrangements. It is becoming all too common as a means for greedy developers to milk more profit out of there customers. Microsoft has been leading the charge in this method of ripping-off consumers for several years and it is worrisome that iBank's developers have now headed down that path.
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
21 November 2013
rezstudios... you are mistaken. There are no subscription fees at all for syncing any bank transactions in iBank. The only IGG product that charges subscription fees is the iBank Investments app. That is completely separate from iBank itself.
Like
wintermute
wintermute
22 November 2013
@Amcarter3: Re: iBank not utilizing subscriptions... that's odd. The iBank description touts a new subscription service as part of iBank5; "Direct Access. IGG’s exclusive subscription service for automatically updating transactions in all accounts...." I prefer SEE Finance... it updates all transactions and connects to all my finance institutions without having to pay any additional fees.
Like (1)
wintermute
wintermute
22 November 2013
@Amcarter: I just verified that iBank charges $4.99/month or $39.99/year for their new Direct Access synching subscription service, although it says the subscription service isn't required. It seems a bit confusing... it isn't too clear what functions you will lose if you do not subscribe to the service. My concern is that once introduced, subscription services like these end up becoming a requirement and become more costly over time. (Remember that cable TV began as a paid service that touted the elimination of commercials which paid for the programming... I don't know about you, but on every subscription TV service I've used in the past few years, all of them "double-dip" by generating revenue from commercials AND subscription fees--- heck, they have entire swatches of channels that are nothing BUT commercials now.) Anyway, related comments on this subject are probably best moved to the iBank listing. Amcarter, feel free to enlighten us over there.
Like
wintermute
wintermute
22 November 2013
Just as I suspected... the list of financial institutions that are supported in the free Direct Connect service in iBank 5 is smaller than in SEE finance. So in my case, if I want to be able to easily download and update my account information for my main bank, I would have to pay the additional Direct Access subscription fee to iBank, whereas in SEE Finance it is completely supported and free. That's a big reason for me to prefer SEE Finance to iBank 5. Just think about it logically... what incentive does the developer of iBank have to update and expand support for the free Direct Connect service in iBank if it competes with their subscription based Direct Access service?
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
25 November 2013
Rezstudios, I believe you still misunderstand how iBank works regarding downloading transactions. You do NOT need to pay any subscription fee to download transactions. I suggest you carefully re-read IGG's statements at: http://www.iggsoftware.com/ibank/ofx_info.php "iBank can download transactions from hundreds of banks that support the OFX protocol (also known as Direct Connect). If your bank doesn't support Direct Connect then you can still easily import your data using Direct Access, a subscription download service offered by IGG Software. Please note that some financial institutions charge a fee for providing OFX access to your accounts. For those financial institutions that do not currently support the Direct Connect protocol, iBank provides an integrated web browser that simplifies the process of importing transactions from your bank's website." NET... in iBank, you have a choice. For banks that charge a fee for using OFX protocol, you can pay a subscription fee to IGG to do it for you, OR you download your transactions for FREE using iBank's integrated web browser. I use both Direct Connect and the web browser option. It's not hard and it IS FREE.
Like
Lectrohowie
21 March 2013
I just purchased. The developer so impressed me with quick responses to my questions and help setting up Direct Connect with my bank that I was happy to pay the modest asking price. The program is more polished and stable than most any beta I've ever used and is under active development - getting better all the time! Goodbye Quicken!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.14.7
1 answer(s)
Lectrohowie
Lectrohowie
21 March 2013
BTW - I intended to give it 5 stars across the board but for some reason the web interface I was presented wouldn't allow me to.
Like
Localboy56
16 March 2013
I will buy this as soon as it hits version 1 and is available through the Mac App Store, whenever that is.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.14.7
1 answer(s)
wintermute
wintermute
01 August 2013
People who are waiting for version 1.0 of SEE Finance before making the jump don't quite understand that version numbers are very relative when comparing software between different developers. Yes, a version number prior to 1.0 can indicate a beta or early release; however, in the case of SEE Finance, I have found the software to be far more capable and far more stable than ANY version of Quicken ever released by Intuit, despite Quicken having been around for decades. Quicken is still one of the buggiest and kludgy pieces of mac software available... and the "Essentials" edition was just an insult to Mac users. If you are still using Quicken, you really should check out SEE Finance asap.
Like
Jimw
01 March 2013
But still no bill pay - a real showstopper for me!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.14.6
David32207
18 February 2013
I have to agree with the prior review. This is a ridiculously good program. Like others before me, I have delayed my transition to Lion due to no real alternative to Quicken. Prior to eliminating Quicken from my life, I worked on eliminating my need for in-program bill payment, which was primarily done by setting up auto-payment for credit cards and automatic exchanges within my mutual funds. Really, should have done that years ago, anyway. I then made the jump. I knew from prior experience that SEE Finance would transfer my accounts pretty darn well. I consider my needs to probably be more stringent than 95+% of users out there. Over 20 years of Quicken data, stretched across nearly 100 accounts (many of which are defunct due to multiple moves during this period of time leading to bank changes, etc). I also track every single credit card transaction, every single mutual fund transaction (including purchase price and shares) along with every banking transaction, and reconcile each of these monthly. Again, I am guessing most users will not have these relatively OCD kind of needs. When I made the jump four months ago, I decided to purchase right away and fully commit. I felt that with the kind of support I might need, it would not be fair to ask that without being committed as a customer. This may or may not have been necessary--I may have received excellent support as a non-paying customer, too. But I felt that would be unfair to the developer, and I wanted to see further updates come along. I can assure you, the support has been absolutely excellent. The first time I reconciled my checking account, I almost had a seizure. It took me five times longer than usual and I felt everything was still hard to figure out. Contacting support and changing my process to use the program's abilities, instead of trying to make it Quicken, made this a lot easier. In fact, without a doubt, I can say that my whole process now is many-fold better than it was when I used Quicken. All my mutual fund information, credit card information, and banking information gets updated with a single click. Reconciling to downloaded statements is a breeze. This is a really slick program. The only "complaint" I had is that there is no linking of transactions. If your paycheck, for example, includes a contribution to your 401k, in Quicken, this would get entered automatically, In SEE Finance, you need to enter this in. Even this, however, is pretty darn easy, as there is a menu command/keyboard command to make this happen. Would an iOS app be nice? I guess. Would in-application BillPay be nice? Yes, I guess, but I was dependent on it in the past and no longer need it at all. But we all know this program does not have these features. What it does claim to have, it has, and it does very, very well. The price is extremely fair, and the support is excellent. If you are looking for an alternative to Quicken, I highly recommend this program.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.14.5
1 answer(s)
D9
D9
29 September 2018
I wanted to update this post with my thoughts on what is now SEE Finance 2(.0.6). This has really become the de facto Mac personal finance program, in my opinion. The features are robust, the customization deep, the performance fast, and the iOS solution is practically independent in its ability to perform most of the desktop's tasks.

After years of Quicken indifference, and suffering through trying so many alternatives (Moneydance, iBank/Banktivity, MoneyWiz, iFinance, etc), I am full vested in SEE Finance now and really have no issues to state. I'm glad to now have a full, stable solution for our Mac and our iOS devices.
Like
Craig42a
01 January 2013
This is a stable program, great value, multiple OS version friendly, and it imports really well. I tested five of the top programs when I was looking to switch from Quicken 2004 in preparation for my Lion upgrade (Okay, I'm a little behind.) SEE Finance did the best import of all the finance programs. I've been using SF for over a year and finally bought a license today (new tax year!). My delay in buying wasn't because I was not sure of it, but because of some tight purse strings, otherwise I would bought this within the first 60 days. Before SF I had set my sights on another program and was testing it. It was "more seasoned" but I soon learned it had bugs and so did newer versions, so I bailed and loaded SF with my Quicken data for the next trial run. It's obvious the developers care about their product and they clearly want to make it the best when it moves from beta to 1.0. A couple things I would like to see is a way to undo reconciliation check marks if you make an error manually, and some color code or highlight system for items (e.g. personal reminders). That said, this does everything I need and I can't rate this anything less than five stars. Rating this wonderful app two or three stars because it doesn't have iOS app or you can't do online bill pay from within is not kind. What they currently are offering is great and if those features are absent that's fine by me. Remember though this is still a beta program, I haven't had any stability problems with it or bugs as I've seen in other finance programs, as mentioned. Can't wait for version 1.0. Thanks.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.14.5