Back to Art Text page
Art Text free download for Mac

Art Text Reviews

3.2.6
10 September 2019

Create high quality headings, logos, icons, banners, and buttons.

Alexrom1000
29 March 2011

Most helpful

I use it in conjunction with Disc Cover. Never had any problems and the program only gets better. I am a big fan of BeLight products, so 5 stars from me. For those who doubt - go to developer's website and download free trial. For developers.. Guys, I look forward to 3D graphics in v.3. Hope you will release it soon ;)
Like (15)
Version 2.3.2

Read 46 Art Text User Reviews

Rate this app:

hatata84
15 July 2019
Art text 3 is the best ever tool in the design platform, allows me to creat stunning designs , logos and banners with an easy to use and intuitive way with the best results ever , I donot know why many people pay for designing software like sketch and Adobe while this app is professional and all in one . Laogos , shapes , art texts and many more . I'm in marketing department and I use it for my work . The killing feature is the ability to add both 2D and 3D letters with a fully customizable designs that are outstanding . I deleted an app for making logos after tried art text. Sure 5 stars
Like
Version 3.2.5
rphartle
29 August 2018
Great Timesaver! This APP is amazing and can do so much but you have to dig deep and experiment.. great for Video Titles, Advertising Headers, Web Ad Banners, Export features are great allowing me to use the files in and creative Adobe App! Very stable now.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.4
gulija-farfara
14 February 2018
Cool app!
Like
Version 3.2.3
etgonzalez
04 April 2017
The new Art Text basically sucks, it just sucks. What a waste of money....and the lowest score I could give was an 0.5.... i need the option for minus 1,000 stars.
Like
Version 3.2.2
CarrieS9032
23 November 2016
Not that replaced Adobe, but it solves some tasks I did't know how to solve. 3D objects tool works correct.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
jamesloc1971
11 July 2016
Love the app, but my only issue is it crashes when I attempt to use the "3D" function....
Like
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
etgonzalez
etgonzalez
04 April 2017
Yeah, that's true, which is why it simply sucks, The old version was awesome. Not sure who in the hell they hired to update a once great app.....
Like
Ecohomo
10 June 2016
WARNING! This upgrade is a hot holy mess. Basic features like coloring a PNG are gone. Opening 2.x files in 3.x destroys them and requires that they be completely rebuilt. Raising these issues with the company results repeated replies asking and answering the same questions over and over as if they either don't know what they are doing or are intentionally delaying. DO NOT UPGRADE if you depend on 2.x of this app. If you do then after upgrading 2.x will no longer export files unless you completely reinstall it.
Like (4)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
etgonzalez
etgonzalez
04 April 2017
This new upgrade is something from a third world nation...not sure what happened to the old Art Text... it used to be awesome....
Like
Pugwash
23 May 2016
Having used this for a few days now I can say this current version is a huge improvement on 2. Whereas I found version 2 to be a little amateurish and 'cheesy', version 3 is now more professional in its features and effects with the added ability to control and create effects. Having said that I do question it's overall stability, it's prone to freeze especially when saving and while crashes don't occur very often they do occur. I'm sure these will be fixed in future updates (I hope). For now my advice is to save as often as you can.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Tonylawrence
13 May 2016
Version 3 is awesome. The only thing I would change is the interface color. I hate the white on black (dark gray). I abandoned the use of Pixelmator simply because it was too hard on my eyes. I would have given it 5 stars if it hadn't made the interface harder to see.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Fariborz
Fariborz
16 May 2016
I do agree. It's also very hard on my eyes. Hope this issue can be addressed in a new update.
Like
RoyPDX
12 May 2016
Version 3 appears to be a giant step forward, but there needs to be a manual. How do I copy my formatted text without the background? Generally, I only want the "artified" text and don't want a background at all. In version 2, when I copied the text to the clipboard, it would copy just the text. I'm sure I'm missing something here.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Belight-Team
Belight-Team
13 May 2016
You can read Art Text 3 help here:
https://www.belightsoft.com/art-text/ATHelp/index.html

To hide any layer use list of Layers, see #2 from the link below. Deselect layers you want to hide.
http://www.belightsoft.com/art-text/ATHelp/ui_main_window.html
Like (3)
ffeldt
20 April 2016
A fantastic app that has made creative projects so easy compared to TypeStyler which used to be my go to. Suggestion: Horizontal & Vertical Rulers. When Exporting to file, the Spinning Wait Cursor appears making the export take up to 10 minutes or sometimes not at all, requiring a force quit of the app. This never happened until a couple months ago. Wondering if the app should be trashed and reinstalled.
Like
Version 2.5
Shovelbums
04 June 2014
I love this app! I do not have a background in design, yet this lets me add genuinely professional looking flair to my personal projects and some more widely seen public viewable projects. It is well worth the money to have this niche tool to stand out from the crowd! My only request to the developer - please pick up the flag and lead the charge to bring back the "Save As". Maybe I am to old school, but I really prefer that :-) Regardless, it is a great app! Nicely done.
Like (7)
Version 2.4.6
2 answer(s)
Moogan
Moogan
25 June 2014
If you hold down the Option (alt) key when the file menu is shown, Save as... appears.
Like (8)
admin-94
admin-94
11 October 2015
I have just tried to download the update for El Capitan but it fails to update after download. Art Text will not open any previous documents under El Capitan.
Like
Glidagida
18 May 2014
Used to use Typestyler which is still good, but now Art Text has replaced it. AT is elegant, has plenty of templates. If you create your own it is very adaptable and intuitive, just play.... Brilliant
Like (5)
Version 2.4.6
Chaloots
27 November 2013
Temporarily on half-off ($9.99) for Black Friday 2013 on the App Store.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.6
Appledogx
05 May 2013
While I like the polished interface of Logoist a bit better as well as its larger selection of clipart, I find Art Text a bit more intuitive and functional. The bezier drawing tool is great and I like the immediate feedback when making changes, as well as it's use of undo. It's a very functional and piece of software.
Like
Version 2.4.4
ErmoS
24 April 2013
very nice
Like (3)
Version 2.4.4
ylluminate
03 April 2013
Art Text really did a fantastic job for a long time, but Logoist has replaced it in my arsenal. Certainly not going to give any kind of negative review here, just saying there's a better option now.
Like (3)
Version 2.4.4
3 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
04 April 2013
Nice try, Synium GmbH ;))
Like (2)
Synium
Synium
04 April 2013
This comment is NOT from us!
Like (3)
ylluminate
ylluminate
04 April 2013
Of course this comment is not from Synium. LOL, just trying to be helpful to fellow designers / users. :s
Like (1)
Jason-Milles-76
03 April 2013
I like this. Its so simple to make nice looking logos even I can do it. :-) :-) Recommend.
Like (3)
Version 2.4.4
pavlovroma
07 December 2012
Belight make it so difficult to update. Too many product to keep track of and update at different time. I contact them to tell them and they only rude to me. Sure they take money but no customer appreciate.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
3 answer(s)
Mark-1971
Mark-1971
25 March 2013
Never had any problems with their updates system and guys were always polite and replying fast (even during the weekend). I think you should contact them directly and resolve the issues instead of posting this comment under each BeLight product.
Like (3)
Belight-Team
Belight-Team
25 March 2013
Well, Printfolio Bundle is a collection of stand alone apps, which require independent updates/upgrades. We tried to simplify the process as much as possible by adding auto-updater functionality, so you don't have to actually follow our website or news, simply update when the program prompts you to. Not sure when or how our support team was rude, but we always respond to customers when they have problems and be polite.
Like (4)
appjunky
appjunky
06 May 2013
I thought PAVLOVROMA was an STD.
Like
PieterOpie
06 October 2012
One word: BRILLIANT!!!
Like (4)
Version 2.4.2
Stronachab
07 February 2012
This is just exceptional. It's a long time since I have found a piece of software that does everything I want it to in the way I want it to ... and then some. The flexibility is astonishing, and the ease of use for someone like me (absolutely not a graphics designer) just blows me away. It's almost at the stage of "if you can imagine it, you can do it". What really pleases me, though, is that it is completely intuitive. On more than one occasion, when I have been stumped, I have thought: "I wonder if THIS is how to do that." Invariably, it has been. It's as if the program is one step ahead of me at every turn. Best money I've spent in a long, long, long time.
Like (8)
Version 2.4.1
Alexrom1000
29 March 2011
I use it in conjunction with Disc Cover. Never had any problems and the program only gets better. I am a big fan of BeLight products, so 5 stars from me. For those who doubt - go to developer's website and download free trial. For developers.. Guys, I look forward to 3D graphics in v.3. Hope you will release it soon ;)
Like (15)
Version 2.3.2
Johnostrowick
25 March 2011
This completely wins. I can import PDFs and other vector art and turn it into gumdrop/aqua/waterdrop shiny logos that make my clients wet themselves with excitement.
Like (9)
Version 2.3.2
colproductions
06 February 2011
Over all a nice little program, with a few more options this program could be Great! I would like to see an easier way of adjusting letter sizes and placements one letter at a time. Would like to be able to change colors of fonts to anything I wanted, there are some restictions now. Then again maybe I haven't used the program long enough. I really like this program.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.2
1 answer(s)
Belight-Team
Belight-Team
11 February 2011
You can enter several letters separate of each other (use different layers) and apply different effects to each separate letter. Or, use "Split into Letters" option to automatically split a word into independent letters. Right click on a word, and select respective menu option. As for changing text colors, you can do so via Fill tab, use Color option for this. I don't really understand why you want to change font color? Thanks for positive review.
Like (8)
45zer0
14 January 2011
In promo at 10$ in the App Store, I decided to give Art Text a try. The idea of eye catching effects made easy is wonderful. You can customise all the effects, which is important if your customers already have their own colors. The choices are vast and the effects great. But that’s about it. The interface is weird and not very clever; you can’t undo an effect to return the the previous one; the program is slow at rendering it’s effects when customizing them; some attributes stop responding when customizing «too much» and exporting big document (eps or png) make the program window go all white and nothing happens (on my 2010 iMac with 12GB of RAM…). It’s like Art Text has been design for small creations; web and homeworks. But for design professionnals, it can’t stand our needs. We usually don’t use much those kind of effects, but it can be great for little extras or funky projects. I hope version 3 will be better. But for now, even 10$ is not worth it for me.
Like (4)
Version 2.3.2
Cenocre
07 January 2011
I really want to like this program as Art Text can do really great things. I will continue to use it, but the interface and work flow are very defective. Parts of the interface are utterly idiotic (understatement). For example, almost 100% of the time when you create something and then go to the Category menu MERELY TO EXAMINE OTHER OPTIONS your carefully crafted creation gets altered. Then when you go back to the original category, the changes usually don't revert to your previous choice so you have to hunt through the palettes to find your old selection. The layout is awkward, where you can't hide layers, you have to go through two different windows simply to change any text characteristic, and objects can't be edited directly (so it's not truly WYSIWYG). The Panels (palettes) are stuck to the main window and cannot be resized so they are often in the way or too small. There are MANY other inconveniences such as where multiple steps are required where other programs only require one and where changes on the screen are not what they logically appear to be. I copied some gold text with a gradient and made a new layer. Absurdly, new layers automatically put in content which alternates between blue text and a solid blue rounded rectangle. So, I pasted in the gold text and the program changed it to solid blue. This is idiotic behavior. Strangest of all this is a graphics program that does not work with multiple monitors. All of the program resides on the main monitor so it is crowded with overlapping windows while your secondary monitor just sits there will totally wasted space. Doesn't BeLight realize that it is people doing graphics who have one of the biggest needs for multiple monitors?
Like (6)
Version 2.3.2
1 answer(s)
Cenocre
Cenocre
18 January 2011
Update: Turns out that it does work with multiple monitors in most arrangements, just not the one I have where a big monitor is above a laptop screen containing the menu bar. All other programs work fine with this arrangement. Strange. Also, it turns out that you can hide layers, IF you just happen upon the layers palette. In this inconsistent interface there are multiple menus for layers that are almost the same, but with subtly different choices. If you find the rather obscure Layers popup menu, you'll find a choice for the Layers palette. Why is this not in the menubar menu? Ah, but it is, just way down and in a different menu! The layers palette is actually nice and clear and a separate floating window. I wish the rest of the interface were like this. There are many other aspects of this program's behavior and interface that make it hard to use and the more I use it the more I dislike it. It is missing such rational conventions such as restricting the dragging of objects to a straight line when the Shift key is depressed. The only way to move in a straight line is to hold down the arrow keys and wait and wait. Doing things differently is great when improving on convention, In this case, it is just a big annoyance. So, I would give this program five stars for what it can create, but only one star for the interface.
Like (3)
Fredducker
16 August 2010
I just tried ArtText for a few minutes. It looks like it doesn't know where to stand, with some features extremely developped (modifying the bezier curves) and some processes extremely simplified (like the galleries with styles and effects already applied). I couldn't try all the features but I noticed there was just one style of outlining available (smooth, round edged)
Like (3)
Version 2.3.1
1 answer(s)
Belight-Team
Belight-Team
18 August 2010
We are trying to balance between offering users as many tools as they may need, including some advanced tools (modifying the bezier splines, etc), while maintaining Art Text easy to use for those who may not need all these pro capabilities. I don't think that modifying the bezier splines feature complicates the program too much. As for outline (Stroke feature), you are right there is only one outline available, outline with round edges. Maybe in some future updates we will add other outline options.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
Maclover1-1
19 July 2010
"We tried to make it as appealing and not standard as possible" Er why not ? Why for instance is your new bezier tool managed in a separate MODAL (GGRR !!) window and not directly in the rendering area.. In my view the whole app would be much better if it resembled Adobe software a little more for example to name one inspiration. With manageable panels that could be placed/attached pretty much as one so desires.. Also I'd like rulers etc.. then again I may be wrong people might prefer having a rigid interface without any possibility to customize their workspace... Personally I hate modal boxes that I have to click OK on every time I apply an action.. The fewer clicks the better... in my view.. Then again why make things simple when one can complicate them ;-) I'm just saying this because I actually think this software could be great (I keep hoping every time you release a new version lol).. and I believe it could also make it feel "pro" instead of looking like a hobbyist gadget.. Then again it is your app.. you decide what you want your target audience to be... Fortunately TypeStyler is at this point very OS9 looking and a bit overpriced.. then again if TS become Leopard-like.. professionals would not mind paying I think....I this not like 200 is expensive for something you actually really use in production.. so you still have a chance of becoming "THE" Text Styling app for OSX.. for professionals.. if you care... You could still win the race... the competition is very rare in this niche... JUST DO IT: lol PS: Better yet.. make a version of it as an Illustrator Plugin.. and really tap into the pro audience...
Like (3)
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
L-G-S
L-G-S
19 July 2010
If it resemble Adobe software? Well you should read reviews and comments here about recent Adobe GUI, just to see that most of us just hate Adobe's windows-like ideas for mac. You have a point with the Rules and the modal boxes. I'm agree. And the Illustrator plug-in... what's the point? If you use this type os applications is because you're looking a way to avoid Adobe products. That's why Pixelmator, VectorDesigner, Intaglio, Art Text, SWIFT Publisher and many many other apps became popular and every day grows more.
Like (8)
Version 2.3
Ikir
19 July 2010
I'm using this program since few years to create titles and web icons... and it is amazing! Congratulations to devs.
Like (5)
Version 2.3
Clydeb33
07 July 2010
I'm 62 years old, a retired high school art teacher, who's been using computers since the 8k Radio Shack - TRS80 (some of you won't even remember that computer) - AND this is one of the MOST WONDERFUL programs I LOVE TO USE!!! FAST! QUICK! And, beautiful "EYE CANDY!" Thank you so VERY, VERY much "BeLight Software!!!" And, thanks for not gouging US! Hey! Yes YOU! The one reading this! If you have not added this to your "working" software collection - DO IT NOW! You will not be sorry!!! Download the TRIAL version, play with it, you'll like it. Don't bother listening to the "complainers." AND, forget about that -other- program. I owned it way back in the 20th century for my os 9. Waited and waited for the os X version. Gave up and bought "Art Text" MOMENTS after trying it. That -other- program did eventually arrive, but, $200 / $180 !!! That too is 20th century! It's now the 21st century. We NO LONGER HAVE TO PAY those bull**** prices for wonderful software. BUY ART TEXT! You will not be sorry.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.2
Sssnnaapshot
16 May 2010
I need to know how to remove this from my mac. I no longer want it and it wont let me get rid of it. I now have a "Art Text" icon on my screen that will no go away, I cannot "eject" because it says that the program is ni use when it is not. Help, please?
Like (2)
Version 2.2.2
Mindfad
08 March 2010
Passing the surcharge for the convenience of using PayPal onto potential buyers is just slimy. Don't you have to agree not to do that when you setup your PayPal account? Other than that, the app isn't bad. Lots of customization on the materials, though the interface is a little slow and awkward. Worth checking out, potentially powerful tool.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.2
Headhog
22 February 2010
I was going to buy this product, but I got annoyed in the checkout process. First, there is a Back Up Service charge of $4.25. This can be removed, which I did. Second, I chose to pay using Pay Pal. I then was hit with a $3.50 Surcharge. I'm not sure what the Surcharge was for, but it just annoyed me. It is like buying a car and getting all those charges added on after you agreed to a price. Although I liked using the demo version, I did not buy it because I just got annoyed.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.2
Maclover1-1
02 February 2010
If it wasn't gruelingly slow with a very clumsy interface that does no feel Mac-like at all.. this could be a great little app... the features are good in terms of results you can obtain.. if you don't mind tapping your foot while even on a powerful Mac like mine... and if weirdly thought-out interfaces are your cup of tea. Just basic resizing is a pain in the a** !
Like (3)
Version 2.2.2
Leftcoastamy
28 October 2009
Arttext is a nice little utility but now that TypeStyler is back, I'm afraid it is a second class citizen. If you do any kind of headline or logo design, download the free 60 day trial of TypeStyler and judge for yourself. Especially for doing complete designs as opposed to just a headline, TypeStyler blows Arttext away.
Like (4)
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
Sjsw
Sjsw
28 October 2009
I "get it" that erstwhile users of TypeStyler have an affection for it but the facts are that TypeStyler is $179.95-$199.95 and looks & feels like something from the "way back" machine. The functions that TypeStyler has that Art Text 2 doesn't are not worth an extra $140.00- $160.00 in my opinion and I say that as someone who makes a living as a Designer. The only thing that I agree with in your "review" is that anyone considering a program like this demo both of them and make up their own mind if TypeStyler is worth that much hard earned cash.
Like (12)
Version 2.2.1
Sjsw
03 July 2009
This has turned into my "first call" program for logo design and web graphics. It's beautifully thought out with an outstanding feature set not to mention a true Mac look and feel. It's really hard to find any fault with the program but I guess if I had to ask for something it would be a customizable grid with snap-to functionality. The alignment tools already available are great but being able to place elements a little more precisely would be nice. This is an outstanding program well worth the price. Highly recommended.
Like (6)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Captain-Nemo
Captain-Nemo
04 July 2009
Yes, it is cheap for what it does, and the developer's Portfolio suite is a steal. I look forward to seeing it included in a future MU software bundle (Did I say I was a penny-pincher? ... No? Well, you just guessed it).
Like (2)
Version 2.2
Mac-Mail
02 July 2009
Great as usual!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Kryten
28 November 2008
What would take ages in Photoshop takes about a minute in Art Text. Absolutely FANTASTIC value for money for Graphic and Web designers. Simple to use, really effective and flexible and it looks like an enthusiastic team behind it. THOROUGHLY RECOMMENDED for the tiny asking price, compared to other Graphics packages.
Like (8)
Version 2.0.2
Moogan
08 October 2008
Great application, very flexible and capable of producing stunning results. Works well with other Belight software like Disc cover 2. Great fun to experiment with an ideal for creating logos.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.2
Fariborz
23 September 2008
The new version 2.0 contains so many enhancements that it's simply impossible to resist buying it. I upgraded to it only after a few minutes of trying it. Art Text 2 has now a more intuitive interface that allows faster access to its tools and in my opinion has a quicker rendering as well. If you are a graphic designer, you owe it to yourself to give it a try. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like (11)
Version 2.0
St00pid-M0nk3y
24 August 2008
Simple, elegant, and fun. Great program. :]
Like (4)
Version 1.2.5
Bedouin
14 May 2007
I first learned about this program in an issue of MacWorld and became curious, especially since an OS X version of TypeStyler seems unlikely, despite the developer's claims. Even if an OS X version of TypeStyler did arrive, I don't think a glorified version of MS Word's "Word Art" is really worth $149! This is more sensible, especially since I was able to snatch it for $24.95 through a one-day promo. My only complaint is that, at times, Art Text borders on being cheesy. Some of the effects remind me too much of the horrific 'word art' found in many MS Publisher-created newsletters. Barf. No Nancy, not every heading needs 5 color 3D graphics. But in the hands of someone with good sensibility Art Text can be a very useful tool, and it's definitely at the right price. Hopefully future versions will bring reduce the cheese factor though.
Like (5)
Version 1.2.1
Ash435
26 February 2007
Great software despite a needlessly innovative interface. Capable of some cool effects and very compatible with iWork. Try buying a licence without registration backup service though. No don't bother, you can't. So don't forget, it costs slightly more than they say. But hey, you don't need to write down your keycode.
Like
Version 1.0.6
1 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
14 March 2007
You can purchase Art Text without having buy the license backup feature. Just deselect that line item when purchasing.
Like
Version 1.2
Fariborz
12 February 2007
I bought this fabulous application only minutes after its first try. It's indeed amazing and the price is very reasonable for such a full-featured program. The interface is intuitive and after a few minutes you can use it without ever consulting its manual. It's fast even on a G4 and allows making gorgeous effects in a snap. I highly recommend this program to all Mac users. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like (3)
Version 1.0.6
William25
26 December 2006
An Excellent start. Love this program. Have been looking for a sucessor to Typestyler and now we have it. The only criticism I have is minor: The text entry box could be bigger to accommodate the width and depth multiple lines of type.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Tfindlay
26 December 2006
This is a very elegantly designed program. It fills a need that has been around since the advent of OS 10. In OS 9 there was TypeStyler and now for Tiger we have its successor, Art Text. Like most OS X applications it blows its OS 9 counterpart out of the water. Art Text is very easy to use and yet almost endlessly flexible.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2