Back to Power Manager page
Power Manager free download for Mac

Power Manager Reviews

5.3.0
23 October 2019

Auto-start, shut down, or sleep your Mac.

Raven-
30 September 2019

Most helpful

A happy user, the programmer is very helpful and responds very quickly! I also read the comments here about the price of the program and yes it costs money, but your time is money too! So I use the user-friendly Power Manager in combination, saving energy, restarting and shutting down the computer in certain hours of the night or not at home to finish certain things, starting certain programs to finish the Queue or the cleaning, move and delete of certain program backups etc, running some Apple scripts or via the Automator, so just things that cost me valuable time during the day or things that could possibly slow my computer happen now during my working hours or at night. In the distant past I sometimes had the problem that I closed certain things that were still running ... and lost hours, not anymore! In short, Power manager in combination with ... is a wonderfully easy time and energy saving program.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.0

Read 18 Power Manager User Reviews

Rate this app:

Raven-
30 September 2019
A happy user, the programmer is very helpful and responds very quickly! I also read the comments here about the price of the program and yes it costs money, but your time is money too! So I use the user-friendly Power Manager in combination, saving energy, restarting and shutting down the computer in certain hours of the night or not at home to finish certain things, starting certain programs to finish the Queue or the cleaning, move and delete of certain program backups etc, running some Apple scripts or via the Automator, so just things that cost me valuable time during the day or things that could possibly slow my computer happen now during my working hours or at night. In the distant past I sometimes had the problem that I closed certain things that were still running ... and lost hours, not anymore! In short, Power manager in combination with ... is a wonderfully easy time and energy saving program.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.0
paulsrandall
10 August 2019
Can't install scheduler either automatically or manually. Even tried the package installer. No luck there, either. Used to be one of the best things on my computer.
Like
Version 5.0.0
2 answer(s)
Dragon Systems Software Ltd (DssW)
Dragon Systems Software Ltd (DssW)
12 August 2019
Hi Paul, please can you get in touch via support@dssw.co.uk so we can help. Thanks, Graham
Like
Raven-
Raven-
30 September 2019
I had the same problem (which was on my side) one mail to the programmer and 15 minutes later I already had the solution from him
Like
Version 5.1.0
Baccaroeja
09 May 2016
Maybe I don't get it. $50 for letting my Mac shutdown automatically?
Like (2)
Version 4.5.2
2 answer(s)
Dragon-Systems-Software-Ltd-(DssW)
Dragon-Systems-Software-Ltd-(DssW)
09 May 2016
Power Manager is capable of more than reliably shutting down your Mac. The Power Manager cookbook is a good place to start learning more – https://www.dssw.co.uk/powermanager/cookbook/
Like
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
13 October 2017
Exactly. All capabilities are already in place with cron, which runs already in the Unix underpinnings. The cookbook mentioned are all things you can do *without* this software if you know how. Paying $50 to have someone else do them for you *and* increasing the threat surface of your system because one of those feature is to let non-admins do admin stuff, like change your MAC address. If I had a system with this on it, I would NOT let it on my corporate network.
Like (1)
Raven-
18 March 2014
Runs good... I like to see a function for adding a week number! Example: people who working in shift's 06-> 14h. and 14 -> 22h. day shifts etc. Different time's for startup or run a program etc.on a weekly base..
Like (3)
Version 4.1.8
1 answer(s)
Raven-
Raven-
05 May 2014
Also to group the different commands or schedules in one task drawer.
Like (2)
Screentom
14 November 2013
The program offers more than you think. Just try it. Demo is available. I find it very useful. I wanted only a German translation. I've tried and just bought.
Like (3)
Version 4.1.6
M-t-
19 July 2010
According to a study DSSW is a two-year cost savings when using their applications Power Manager (for a professional photographer!!!) € 10.54. Thus the annual cost savings of approximately € 6 / 1 year. (Look: http://www.dssw.co.uk/powermanager/energysaving/professional.html) This is most evident as the price of their product absurd. They want € 40 for it !!!!!!! And if you bought the previous version for € 22 and you have it before 1. April 2010 (Only after that date can upgrade for free...), you need to invest the entire product DSSW € 22 (Version 3) + € 40 (version 4) = € 62!!!!!! (The annual savings of this amount shall be repaid in approximately 10 years!!!! But then it would be possible again, and version 5 will cost how much? € 70??????) And hurry, because the official support for version 3 of the DSSW end of the last December 2010 !!!!! :-) Really brilliantly conceived! (Look: http://www.dssw.co.uk/blog/2010/07/19/power-manager-3-supported-until-31st-december-2010/) Given their stated annual savings count yourself how much you pay on this product .... Really absurd licensing policy - a pity that the program ... But - who are so greedy - will ultimately lose a lot. Goodbye DSSW.
Like (10)
Version 4.0.0
1 answer(s)
nobody2011
nobody2011
18 January 2011
I agree M.t. fully. The cost for this product far exceeds the savings in energy. Switched off completely from your device, or sends them into deep sleep. This is more efficient than any product whose later (update) price development is incalculable.
Like (4)
paulsrandall
17 July 2010
I gladly paid for the upgrade. The last time I had to pay was in September 2005. Five years of a great product is well worth the price I've paid. The only problem is attempting to use Power Manager with Tiger. You simply can't license the software. The Apply button stays grayed out with after all of the proper information is entered (even via a DSSW supplied AppleScript). I hope they get that fixed in version 4.0.1. I gave all five stars rating, except for ease of use because of this one problem.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.0
1 answer(s)
paulsrandall
paulsrandall
18 July 2010
I managed to get Power Manager to take my registration information. I'm very happy with Power Manager in all respects, now.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.0
Espiridion
15 July 2010
The price is ABSURD. When it was a $30 application, one of the complaints was that it was overpriced. Now at $50 it just got worse. Their upgrade policy; "There are no upgrade discounts." They do have some ROI "studies" on their website, and even those show that generally speaking this is NOT worth the investment. Maybe the software itself is good, but at this price I'm not interested in giving it a try.
Like (4)
Version 4.0.0
Fariborz
15 July 2010
I tried this remarkable software for one day but then I quit. It always functioned perfectly under all circumstances and never let me down. The reason I abandoned it so quickly was solely its high price tag. I didn't want to get used to it by trying it for let's say a month and then swallow a bitter pill and sadly remove it from my computer. It would simply break my heart! My advice to you is to buy it if you can afford it because there's simply no contender that even comes close to it. It's a fantastic program to put it mildly and gives you all the satisfaction you'll ever need for its functions. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like (2)
Version 4.0.0
1 answer(s)
M-t-
M-t-
15 July 2010
Go for it! I hope you bought the previous version? So in total you appreciate this piece of nearly $ 80 (!!!!). It will then congratulations! It's a great program - no doubt about it - but licensing policy DSSW is mildly insane and puff!
Like (2)
Version 4.0.0
M-t-
15 July 2010
New version Power Manager 4 cost $49,95!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And Upgrade price???? "Power Manager 4 is a paid upgrade from all previous versions. There are no upgrade discounts." Really great way to deter their existing customers: 29 + 50 = 79!!!!! Thank You DSSW and GoodBye!!
Like (3)
Version 3.7.3
3 answer(s)
Dssw
Dssw
15 July 2010
M.T., I hope you will give Power Manager 4 a try. We have greatly expanded Power Manager's capabilities and have added the features most often requested by our core customers. As with previous versions, licensed customers of Power Manager 4 will continue to receive upgrades and new functionality for the lifetime of version 4.
Like (4)
Version 3.7.3
M-t-
M-t-
15 July 2010
Version 3 Update: 2008 = one per year 2009 = one per year 2010 = no update For current users still valid equation: 29 + 50 = $79. (Or comparison purposes only - Adobe Photoshop cost $79). Absolutely no discount. Nothing. Hmmm ... Thank you - I do not want.
Like (3)
Version 3.7.3
Fariborz
Fariborz
15 July 2010
No I didn't buy the previous version. I believe that its hefty price will surely keep many users away. Still it's the market that decides whether a program can survive or not. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like (3)
Version 4.0.0
Lpeting
31 May 2010
Power Manager has worked very well for my office Mac that I VPN to but don't want to leave on 24/7. It has never failed to shut down my Mac, while Energy Saver has. I can also schedule more than one start up/shut down a day, which works well with my schedule. My only complaints are the price and that the interface is a little unwieldy. The price being a little high might be because they are aiming for business customers, plus the bad exchange rate with the Euro.
Like (2)
Version 3.7.3
Dorkypants
15 December 2009
Developer is unresponsive. I emailed quite some time ago asking if this utility is able to deal with a condition that Apple's Energy Saver prefpane setting is unable to: i.e., shutdown a sleeping Mac (in Leopard) on a schedule. In more detail: Energy Saver allows you to set up a scheduled shutdown time. However, if the Mac is sleeping at the appointed time, the shutdown never happens. A related question I asked was whether it could successfully shutdown if Safari was running. Energy Saver's scheduled shutdown can't: it says that the shutdown was canceled by Safari. I haven't gotten any response from the developer.
Like (1)
Version 3.7.3
2 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
11 January 2010
In short, it does. I've been using PM for years and its been very reliable. Energy saver NEVER worked for me, but PM does what Energy Saver should.
Like (2)
Version 3.7.3
Dssw
Dssw
15 May 2010
dorkypants, thank you for question and apologies for not responding to your e-mail. I do not believe your e-mail made it through to us. Power Manager will shut down to a schedule. Any running applications will be quit. Power Manager will quit applications that traditionally block the shut down or log out process. If you have any questions, please get in touch via: support@dssw.co.uk
Like (2)
Version 3.7.3
Jeff-H-
01 January 2008
it seems to work fine, but the "sleep after a period of inactivity" puts my computer to sleep even while there is an EyeTV recording active. The reason for an app like Power Manager is specifically for EyeTV and that Energy Saver has never worked in accord with EyeTV. A recording will start at the right time but in 10.4.10 it never sleeps after the recording is done. Trust me, I've trashed prefs and all that...if anyone has any suggestions or if I'm missing something, please me know. Thanks
Like
Version 3.7.1
1 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
03 January 2008
I should have said "my specific meaning to have an app like Power Manager".
Like
Version 3.7.1
8oo8
04 January 2007
At $23, it's overpriced. I'd say $12 would be about right. I could make use this app, but I don't want it badly enough to pay the asking price. Using Energy Saver in System Preferences to schedule computer turn-on/off/sleep works well enough.
Like (1)
Version 3.5
Frankt
30 July 2006
Too many bucks! I will read the man page of pmset and maybe additional create a cronjob or a LaunchDaemon. My choice!
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
Shenzhou
09 February 2006
Nice app but no report on their website about the development of a universal binary. Also, the price is way too high for this limited function app. I could use this app but am turned off by the price. Will make do with Energy Saver
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Anonymous
01 August 2005
Agreed. $23 is really steep for something that comes with OS X. Just go to Energy Saver in the Control Panel and click schedule at the bottom... why even bother with this app? I'm not sure auto-sleep is really something really useful for most.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 September 2005
If you have no need for it, then don't buy it. It gives you much more flexible control over what is built into OS X's Energy Saver control panel. As noted on their website, you can schedule automatic log-out/sleep/shutdown/restart on specific days and at specific times, which would be useful for a school lab environment and even for home users who would like their computers to turn on at different times of the day and on different days (like starting up at a later time in the morning on weekends). :)
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Anonymous
01 August 2005
Looks like a nice addition to the built-in scheduler, but $23?! Someone is getting a little greedy.
Like (2)
Version 3.0