Back to Tunnelblick page
Tunnelblick free download for Mac

Tunnelblick Reviews3.8.6a

03 September 2021

GUI for OpenVPN.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
lucaalex89
lucaalex89
Aug 17 2020
3.8.3
1.0
Aug 17 2020
1.0
Version: 3.8.3
Constantly breaking!
iWare
iWare
Mar 18 2020
3.8.1
3.0
Mar 18 2020
3.0
Version: 3.8.1
Tunnelblich has a lot of DNS leak issues. Try Shimo for Mac instead.
Atalantia
Atalantia
Oct 26 2019
3.8.1
0.0
Oct 26 2019
0.0
Version: 3.8.1
Crappy software that can open a DNS leak to your VPN connection. It can not even handle the DNS Settings on macOS. I'm not really excited about Shimo. But it works much better than Tunnelblick.
cubanpete
cubanpete
Jul 10 2019
3.7.9a
5.0
Jul 10 2019
5.0
Version: 3.7.9a
Very ver nice app. Love it. Thank you very much. Works very well and never crashes. Also works with older VPN configs I got. Using it for quite a while now I'm not having any problems at all. I really like the screen stickies that appear when you hover over the icon and show the connection stats and allow to connect/disconnect. Easy to configure.
MQLe
MQLe
May 24 2018
3.7.5a
4.0
May 24 2018
4.0
Version: 3.7.5a
The latest version includes some improvements but it's not compatible with the old profiles that are used by some VPN providers.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Dec 8 2017
3.7.4a
0.0
Dec 8 2017
0.0
Version: 3.7.4a
Yes, for some reason connection speeds are notably slow with it. What could be cause?
zolafyu
zolafyu
Oct 17 2017
3.7.2
4.0
Oct 17 2017
4.0
Version: 3.7.2
I like the app but sometimes the speed is slow.
Metropical
Metropical
Jul 13 2017
3.7.1b
4.0
Jul 13 2017
4.0
Version: 3.7.1b
works very well, as well as Visc. The interface isn't as sexy as Visc. Do you care?
Mavericks w/MBA 2013 and PIA
captaing
captaing
Jun 16 2015
3.6beta06
4.0
Jun 16 2015
4.0
Version: 3.6beta06
Tunnelblick works great on my Mac to connect to my VPN server at my office. Is there any way to use Tunnelblick(or similar app) with the latest iPad?
Markoh
Markoh
Mar 31 2015
3.5beta10
0.0
Mar 31 2015
0.0
Version: 3.5beta10
I tried Tunnelblick for a couple of weeks but I kept having issues with my VPN provider. I switched to Viscosity and everything has been peaches ever since.
Stevie24
Stevie24
Mar 20 2015
3.5beta08
5.0
Mar 20 2015
5.0
Version: 3.5beta08
Use TB for years now. Incompatibilities in some versions often were solved very fast. Many thanks to the developers.
Macs-Pain
Macs-Pain
Oct 16 2014
3.4
2.0
Oct 16 2014
2.0
Version: 3.4
Always disconnects and does not reconnect. Very annoying.
Appledogx
Appledogx
Dec 29 2013
3.4beta18
0.0
Dec 29 2013
0.0
Version: 3.4beta18
I see in the description "easy-rsa". I feel my privacy is well protected knowing that an company who has sold its soul for $10 million by putting in back doors in their encryption algorithms, is part of this software.
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
Jul 22 2013
3.3beta56
3.5
Jul 22 2013
3.5
Version: 3.3beta56
Months ago, I started with Tunnelblick. But with Mac OS X 10.8.x, I had to move to the beta 3.x versions. And it was rough, I couldn't connect, the new version didn't convert the old version's data, etc. When it was good, it was really good. But since Tunnelblick is still in beta - for several months now, I had to move on. So I paid for and now use Viscosity - which works really well and has regular updates which are not beta. I doubt I would need to move back to Tunnelblick.
Hi-ram
Hi-ram
May 17 2013
3.2.9
4.5
May 17 2013
4.5
Version: 3.2.9
Thanks for supporting old Macs and System... Works fine with my G4 MMD 10.4…
krikra
krikra
Jan 12 2013
3.3beta32
5.0
Jan 12 2013
5.0
Version: 3.3beta32
Excellent software: I use it regularly. Very stable, no issues so far for me (OS X 10.7.x, 10.8.x).
Jesuguru
Jesuguru
Sep 16 2012
3.3beta24
4.0
Sep 16 2012
4.0
Version: 3.3beta24
Recently signed up for VPN service, they offered a link to Viscosity (shareware). I discovered Tunnelblick (opensource), decided to give it a try first. Got it up and running almost instantly, zero tech issues or troubleshooting needed! It does drop the connection once every few hours (could be because I'm connecting from China, not nec. Tunnelblick's fault), but always *automatically* reconnects itself without issue. 4/5 stars, thanks!
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Aug 5 2012
3.3beta12
0.0
Aug 5 2012
0.0
Version: 3.3beta12
Very good VPN software. But the last two (or three?) beta versions always ask(ed) to access my keychain. Even if I click "always allow", Tunnelblick doesn't remember it. Same every time I connect to my VPN. Anyone else experiencing this? Something to do with the permissions perhaps?
xati-ba
xati-ba
Jul 5 2011
3.2beta22
0.0
Jul 5 2011
0.0
Version: 3.2beta22
Urgent help needed please. I live in a country where the internet is partially restricted, so a patchy connection can cause me some VERY unpleasant problems. I use tunnelblick with a paid VPN service and so far it has worked perfectly but the other day I noticed that my ip was exposed at some point because the connection dropped! How can I prevent the connection from dropping? Alternatively how can I make certain apps like Transmission, Sparrow or Chrome forcequit or refuse to work if I am not connected?
Zarathoustra
Zarathoustra
May 12 2011
3.1.7
4.5
May 12 2011
4.5
Version: 3.1.7
Excellent app, works better for me than Viscosity ! And it's open-source !
Mu-Frequenter
Mu-Frequenter
Apr 3 2011
3.1.7
4.0
Apr 3 2011
4.0
Version: 3.1.7
This is good software and a generally solid choice. Viscosity is a cut above, however, and worth it for me. More reliable connects, holds the connection where tunnelblick disconnects, and is easier to use for those not tech savvy.
techgaze
techgaze
Jan 24 2011
3.1.2
2.0
Jan 24 2011
2.0
Version: 3.1.2
I have evaluated Viscosity for 30 days and after the trial has expired I decided to give tunnelblick a shot, however, I think I'm going to pay for Viscosity for the following reasons. Keep in mind that I'm using a MBP i7 with a fresh install. 1. I had multiple disconnects for no reason what so ever, something I never experienced with Viscosity. 2. Every time I get disconnected I have to quit and restart tunnelblick for it to work again. 3. For some odd reason, every now and then, it leaves an openvpn process running in the background and tunnelblick gives me a message that it cannot recognize an openvpn process that is running and unless I terminate the process manually I cannot access the vpn server although tunnelblick shows that I'm connected. It is good for what it is but for mission critical vpn access you should really consider something else.
Cheesecake
Cheesecake
Nov 2 2009
3.0b20
5.0
Nov 2 2009
5.0
Version: 3.0b20
I've been using this excellent software for a while to connect to office server running openvpn on windows server 2003 without any problems. If using an opensource solution, I prefer to use freewares on both client and server ends. Other clients on osx are good as well, but I don't think it's a good idea to charge customers for enhanced features of a free solution.
Planbforopenoffice
Planbforopenoffice
May 27 2009
3.0b10
0.0
May 27 2009
0.0
Version: 3.0b10
As of version 3.0b10 and Mac OS X 10.5.7 all works well. I run Tunnelblick very stable. So the comments below of it crashing or not working are obsolete. A big Thank you for a great free tool.
Pirx
Pirx
Jul 28 2008
3.0b9
5.0
Jul 28 2008
5.0
Version: 3.0b9
Works flawlessly and reliably for me for more than a year, using Witopia VPN. Brilliant app, good work. Upgrade Maniacs on Leopard may have lots of issues with many other softwares as well, so it is not fair hammer each one developer for compatibility issues.
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
Jul 24 2008
3.0b9
0.0
Jul 24 2008
0.0
Version: 3.0b9
A day too late. I put up with Tunnelblick for months and just yesterday I switched to the new Viscosity, and I am amazed how much nicer and more stable it is.
Otto-m
Otto-m
Jul 4 2008
3.0b6
0.0
Jul 4 2008
0.0
Version: 3.0b6
The developer seems to have given up more than half a year ago. There is an alternative that works fine in Leopard: Viscosity 0.4 Viscosity imports Tunnelblick configurations and has been running without problems for almost a week now.
Buzzard
Buzzard
Jun 27 2008
3.0b6
2.0
Jun 27 2008
2.0
Version: 3.0b6
As with others, I am experiencing constant unexpected quits of Tunnelblick. So much so that the application is extremely frustrating to use. Unfortunately, I am using Witopia, and Witopia packages their paid VPN service with Tunnelblick. Accordingly, I have no other choice than to endure the constant instability of Tunnelblick. I am using OSX 10.5.3
Xad
Xad
Mar 3 2008
3.0b6
0.0
Mar 3 2008
0.0
Version: 3.0b6
hang on leopard, please fix it!
Christoph3
Christoph3
Feb 9 2008
3.0b6
0.0
Feb 9 2008
0.0
Version: 3.0b6
Same here. Tunnelblick dies and creates hung ovpn processes.
Psychos
Psychos
Nov 12 2007
3.0b6
0.0
Nov 12 2007
0.0
Version: 3.0b6
Tunnelblick unexpectedly quits for me sometimes. This seems to happen when changing network connections, but not always. (I'm semi-frequently switching between my Airport and an EV-DO card.) When it happens, it leaves behind a stray openvpn process that I have to manually kill before I can establish another VPN connection. Tunnelblick will actually establish a new connection successfully, but it will be unusable unless I've killed the old openvpn process first. I'm running 10.5 on a MBP, clean install. Worked fine under 10.4. Anyone else experiencing this under 10.5?
Christoph3
Christoph3
Oct 29 2007
3.0b5
0.0
Oct 29 2007
0.0
Version: 3.0b5
Set nameserver is broken with 10.5.
Zeitkind
Zeitkind
Oct 28 2007
3.0b5
0.0
Oct 28 2007
0.0
Version: 3.0b5
The new version (3.0b5) has a bad bug - it's NOT universal. The main binary is intel only (OpenVPN 2.0.9 i386-apple-darwin8.10.1), so it won't run on PPC machines. I was able to "fix" it by using the macports binary. Hope they will fix that soon.
Mac-Kiwi
Mac-Kiwi
Sep 17 2007
3.0b4
0.0
Sep 17 2007
0.0
Version: 3.0b4
It's not working with the developer-preview 9A527(Leopard). :-(
jonathan-dale
jonathan-dale
May 21 2007
3.0b4
0.0
May 21 2007
0.0
Version: 3.0b4
Version 3.0b4 causes all kinds of trouble when an OpenVPN session is connected and then the Internet connection is unexpectedly broken (for example, unplugging an Ethernet cable to closing the lid). Almost every time, it removes my user name from the password file and I am forced to reboot.
Christoph3
Christoph3
Aug 3 2006
3.0rc3
0.0
Aug 3 2006
0.0
Version: 3.0rc3
Works for me. Awesome!!
Christoph3
Christoph3
Jul 26 2006
3.0rc2
0.0
Jul 26 2006
0.0
Version: 3.0rc2
Version 3.0rc2 is broken. When I connect w/ my openvpn router I try to ping and I get not enough buffer space. Version 2 works though. But it doesn't support multiple listings like version 3.
Guest
Guest
Jul 4 2005
2.0
4.3
Jul 4 2005
4.3
Version: 2.0
Tunnelblick works nice together with my linux openvpn server. Very kewl ... Configuration might be a bit tricky, but, reading the openvpn docs might help :-)
Guest
Guest
Mar 2 2005
0.7
4.3
Mar 2 2005
4.3
Version: 0.7
Openvpn.dmg file has buggy version (old) of openvpn, and -pull option causes trouble eaven. I compiled newer version from source, and that worked from command line. I did not get GUI to work, I could not see any log what happened. I just saw exclamation mark, that is "Error". Same configuration file worked fine when running from command line. Ugh.