Back to FileSalvage page
FileSalvage free download for Mac

FileSalvage Reviews

9.2
15 January 2019

Recover deleted files from a drive.

Xenophile
15 July 2008

Most helpful

Downloaded to try out, but upon launching it, it asked to install files on my HD. No indication of what it wanted to install where. I couldn't find any clues in the manual, either. I'll pass on this one until I can find out what it wants to do to my system.
Like (5)
Version 6.1.5

Read 26 FileSalvage User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lolita
02 February 2012
Crap that barely works. And what's with the retarded new version numbering systems? Monkeys.
Like (1)
Version 7.5
Poikkeus
20 December 2010
Almost certainly, your best defense against accidentally deleted files will be the judicious use of Time Machine. However, if a file somehow evades your attempts at retrieval, there's still a chance that FileSalvage may not come up with the results you seek. Moreover, the file will come up with a generic name, which means you'd have to find it first. And doing a Salvage can take the better part of a day. In other words, aggressive backup is your best strategy - rather than picking up the pieces with a software solution. Also, beware that you'll need an external hard drive to save the results.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1.0
Isahenx
11 January 2010
i have trouble recovering dada or even mount the LaCie hard drive on to my computer, need to recover all data , any suggestions? Lacie is a external Hard drive, thanks
Like
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
10 December 2015
I'm having better results with Disk Drill.
Like
Xenophile
15 July 2008
Downloaded to try out, but upon launching it, it asked to install files on my HD. No indication of what it wanted to install where. I couldn't find any clues in the manual, either. I'll pass on this one until I can find out what it wants to do to my system.
Like (5)
Version 6.1.5
1 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
10 December 2015
I'm pretty sure its a S.M.A.R.T. scanning extension that launches at system start. All of these file recovery apps seem to have their variation of that.
Like
Matreya
18 March 2008
I just downloaded the demo of version 6.1.5, and I'm not impressed that the 'trial' usage doesn't give me any way of assessing whether this app can do what it promises, even for a day.... Sorry, you're not getting my money this way.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.5
1 answer(s)
Cromer
Cromer
20 March 2008
I totally agree with Matreya. I downloaded the trial, but I am NOT going to shell out $90 for something that might or might not help my current situation. At least let us see what files it finds that are possible to recover. If it finds the files I need then you got a sale. Either that or sell for $30...I'd buy it for sure then.
Like (3)
Version 6.1.5
Mad-Mac
12 November 2007
I needed to undelete files I had stupidly put in the trash and then emptied. File Salvage worked great, and the customer service responded via email within just a couple of hours when I had a question. The interface was user friendly, and I got my files back. No complaints. Worth the $$$
Like (1)
Version 6.1
Shotgunweddings
26 October 2007
Up until today I would have praised this tool as being very good and useful in a pinch. Version 6.1 has a very dumb bug, you cannot install it properly or even us it if your OSX account has no password like mine. Very very silly, how many home users waste time with a password? Losing 1 star for this one!
Like (1)
Version 6.1
2 answer(s)
Zenzenpup
Zenzenpup
12 November 2009
And how many people are too lazy to type in a 7-digit password when they install OS X?
Like
Version 6.1.5
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
01 October 2011
To Zenzenpup: Who says you need 7 characters? I chose a single digit for my password, and only chose one at all because Terminal sometimes requires one to process a command.
Like
Chimoosoft
01 September 2007
Tried the demo of this software on an external drive where I'd deleted some pictures I wanted to recover. It churned on the drive for many hours (looking only for jpg and raw files) and then this morning said it was done. Went to save the search results, and the program produced a spinning beach ball which I let spin for about 1.5 hours before giving up. Not impressed; poorly designed user interface, confusing to use, and didn't work for me. YMMV.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
Warwickmelbourne
29 August 2007
Unfortunately I shelled out the $79 for File Salvage, having read some positive reviews elsewhere. I wasted 3 days trying to get it to 'salvage' 180gb of data from a hard drive which would not mount. Mostly video files, of the type it says it will retrieve for you. The software crashed so many times, hanging part way through it's 'magic'!$%#@! Thus, 3 days later, and I had several partial retrieves of up to about 70 gb of data, mostly unreadable, unrecognisable, and having lost any names or folders that rendered it largely useless. Only around 20gb of the data retrieved would even open in any format. Most fo the drive contents were a mystery to me still. Then I was recommended Data Rescue, and downloaded a demo, which took all of 5 minutes to show me every single file on the drive, with correct names and folder structure! Sadly the money does not stretch far enough to spend another $100, but I so wish I had purchased Data Rescue instead of this tragedy. At least now I know what I gave lost. I implore you: check out your other options. I am a Mac User of 20 years, and have no connection with either software I have mentioned. (yes, i know I should have backed up the drive, but I do non-profit video production for non-profit organisation, so the budget isn't there for that many hard drives to back up video projects being worked on. I use tape backups)
Like (1)
Version 6.0
TonyKnight
14 August 2007
This product is absolutely fantastic! One of our designers deleted a major project yesterday. I was away at a conference and my daily Retrospect Server tape had run out six days ago. No one had put in a new tape. I had never lost anything on my network in 13 years. FileSalvage SAVED THE DAY and my record of never loosing anything. It worked like a charm. This is a MUST buy if your bacon is on the line.
Like
Version 6.0
James-Madelin
13 May 2007
See comment for details.
Like
Version 5.1
James-Madelin
13 May 2007
Having seen negative reviews here I felt I was taking a gamble, but File Salvage worked superbly for me, recovering important MS Word documents I had created ten months before and somehow trashed from my iBook. I guess it won't always work and when it doesn't you may well feel like posting a negative review, but it worked for me and was well worth the price to avoid having to do the work all over again.
Like
Version 5.1
Richard-Tallent
16 March 2007
This program just saved my butt. I lost an entire photoshoot (CR2 RAW files) due to a bad mv command in bash (don't ask). FileSalvage recovered everything. The volume recovered from was a RAID 1 drive array of two 500GB SATA disks formatted with HFS+. Proving once again, RAID is no guard against user stupidity.
Like
Version 5.1
Betaiii
04 March 2007
This can recover files from reformatted disks, but the rename feature is worthless. After recovering the files (named as 1,2,3, etc), it is supposed to dig into the file to determine the original name and reset it to the original. The software just stops working, forcing you to either force it to quit (which often doesn't work) or force the computer to restart. Renaming bogs down at File 1. This is very expensive software for what you're getting. I was able to recover files using cheap PC shareware (on a Mac formatted disk) that did the exact same thing. If this worked as advertised, it would be wonderful. FileSalvage, unfortunately, is mostly snake oil.
Like
Version 5.1
michael-3abn
22 August 2006
MacUpdate doesn't yet list the changes that come with version 5, so here they are (gleaned from MacMinute): a new and streamlined interface, support for Intel-based Macs, an auto file renaming feature, and a new bootable DVD. I own the previous version of this software. Unfortunately it has not helped me recover a single file successfully; it could just be my bad luck. All I've ever gotten is gibberish, even when possibly hundreds of files were mistakenly deleted all at once. (They couldn't have all been overwritten, could they?)
Like
Version 5
Noneyet2002
09 August 2006
useless for fixed media (hard drives). Will find NO files to recover. Works for FAT32 (flash drives) only. There is freeware to work with FAT32 drives. Do not be fooled by positive reivew elsewhere on the web- the negative comments here are the correct ones.
Like
Version 4.2
2 answer(s)
Noneyet2002
Noneyet2002
09 August 2006
although this didn't do anything for undelete on the hard drive as specs seem to indicate, it did work on FAT32 flash and likely would work on FAT32 hard drives (although not tested here). The support response was rapid and the right thing was done to resolve my situation--
Like
Version 4.2
Subrosasoft
Subrosasoft
25 January 2007
FileSalvage is file-system independent. It will recover files from drives formatted for HFS+, NTFS, UNIX, Linux, etc. It doesn't care what the file-system is as it doesn't reference the directory to find files. It seems very strange that you were only able to recover files from a FAT32 drive. I would recommend you try version 5.1 and see if that resolves your issue.
Like
Version 5.1
Justsad
07 August 2006
Worthless. Don't be fooled, these types of programs appear to reveal files for you. Then you pay the money and you get gibberish. I reformatted 140gigs of info and got back 72gigs of gibberish. Software jumbled, MP3's with no name or artist, no iMovie files, no Word docs would open, just a bunch of junk. It just reminds you how much you really lost. Don't send the money, it isn't worth it. Veteran Mac user (12 years)
Like
Version 4.2
1 answer(s)
Subrosasoft
Subrosasoft
25 January 2007
Please allow me to address your issues. If your getting back gibberish when recovering files it is likely caused by your deleted file being overwritten by a new file (such as swap files that Mac OS X makes extensive use of). This is why you need to stop using and shut down your machine as soon as you delete a file you then realize you need to recover. If you are getting portion of movie files it is likely because they are large and could not be entirely written to one contiguous piece of free space on your drive so they are fragmented throughout the drive. Recovery software has no way of knowing where this file ends (unless it has a footer which most do not). This is why you may get the first part of a movie but not the whole thing. As for the file names missing, this is because the file names are not stored in the file but rather in the disk catalog which is overwritten as soon as you delete a file. The current version of FileSalvage 5.1 will attempt to rename files based on metadata it finds within the recovered file. Unfortunately, not all files have this information to build the names from. Data recovery services will be just as successful at recovering lost file names as FileSalvage.
Like
Version 5.1
Bob_weiner
20 October 2005
This program saved my thesis outline, and several freelance projects I'd been working on that I accidentally deleted two nights before. Yes, I do back-ups, but my last known back-up was 3 weeks ago. Enter FileSalvage. This program works as advertised. It was able to retrieve over 80% of my data, intact. As for the price - how much is your data really worth? I think $80 is a fair price - it's about $10 more than DiskWarrior, and in my opinion, FileSalvage is just as important to have around as DW.
Like
Version 4.2
1 answer(s)
Mike
Mike
08 November 2005
Very good information on the product. One question though: Does this software have to be installed on a separate HD to work or can it be installed on the HD that is being scanned? Is there a Demo available? Thx Mike
Like
Version 4.2
jxpx777
19 August 2005
FileSalvage is well worth the $80 I spent on it. None of the other solutions could see near the amount of data that FileSalvage was able to recover. The process was simple from registration all the way to recovery and I got back some very important files from my USB flash drive. Read my detailed review on my site. http://www.jamiephelps.com/cogentprose/archives/2005/08/filesalvage-is-worth-the-price/
Like
Version 4.1.1
Anonymous
22 July 2005
Whether this is overpriced or not (I do agree its expensive and don't like that there is no demo - so perhaps there is an element of opportunistic gouging) the final question when you lay out your hard earned pesos is "How much is my data worth?" Inattention has its price. I was glad to have my data back in spite of the high $$$, but they might get more buyers if they lowered the entry fee. Peter
Like
Version 4.1
1 answer(s)
Subrosasoft
Subrosasoft
25 January 2007
FIleSalvage does include a demo. Download it and run the scan. It will then show you all the files it can recover and allow you to preview things like pictures and movies that it can recover. If you find the file(s) you are looking for, simply purchase the full version of FileSalvage to recover it. On a side note, it's price very competitively compared to other products.
Like
Version 5.1
Sengoku
29 April 2005
I used the software to recovered most of my MP3 class lectures and my office documents. However, there will be file formats it cannot handle. I was sort of upset with the fact it cannot recover a couple of my PowerPoint documents (class presentation). Contacted the tech support and was told more file formats will be added soon. All in all, I am glad the software recovered all my class lectures, and hope SubRosaSoft can get support for PowerPoint soon. Annie Wang
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Subrosasoft
Subrosasoft
25 January 2007
FileSalvage 5.1 supports recovering Microsoft PowerPoint documents. Download the demo and give it a try.
Like
Version 5.1
Anonymous
23 February 2005
If you pay 90 dollars for this Real Basic piece of .... you're making a big mistake. If there is one mac "developer" (and I am using the term very liberally to apply to subrosasoft) that is any worse than subrosasoft, while charging more, I haven't seen them. This program is written in REALBasic. If you don't know what it is, know that you shouldn't pay 90 dollars for it. Want to save 90 bucks? Grep the partition for data yourself in the terminal. Google up how to recover files in unix... or check out http://recover.sourceforge.net/unix/. Subrosasoft sells snake oil.
Like
Version 2.0
6 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 April 2005
It's *really* annoying when ignorant people accuse REALBasic of being the source of the problem behind a poorly written application. REALBasic is just a tool to write software. If the author chooses to do a crappy job with it, it's not REALSoftware's fault. Specifics of why you think this app sucks, rather than vague references to the development language would be much more helpful to the rest of us. All that said, I will give specifics. * No demo version available * WAY too expensive (especially since no demo is available)
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 July 2005
Especially since RealBASIC is an interpretted language, therefore it doesn't runas fast as a non interpretted language.. . In general I think realbasic is crap... I'm not saying that good apps can't be made with it... But something you're selling for $90 isn't worth it if it was made with RB to me.. Good luck developers of FileSalvage... You'd be a lot better off if you didn't use RB, or charged less for it! :)
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 July 2005
RB interpreter ? What rubbish of comment ! RB is an real Mac / PC Dev Tool (complied app) and has some benefits. So you should rate the app, NOT the dev Tool. If you are an developer - make it better with your Xcode / Codewarrior Dev Envirement.
Like
Version 4.1
jxpx777
jxpx777
19 August 2005
Right-O that you can undelete files all day long with *nix, but that doesn't help with damaged volumes on drives. Read my review above for details of how this software was very valuable to me.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 September 2005
Speed of program execution is immaterial. The development environment used to write the tool is immaterial. And the target audience for this tool would feel squeamish just opening Terminal (no real Mac user touches a commandline if they can help it). If it does what it claims, and helps some users get over their own lack of backups, then *that* is what is important. As for the lack of demo, perhaps the developers could take a leaf out of BinaryBiz' book, and let it do a scan and show you what it *could* recover if it was a registered version.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Subrosasoft
Subrosasoft
25 January 2007
FileSalvage does include a demo (and has for quite a few versions). It will show you all the files that can be recovered and will show previews of things like pictures and movie files. If you find the file(s) your looking for, simply purchase the full version to recover them. No you can't simply grep the partition to recover data as you claim. Unless you know what the header and end of the file (sometimes a footer, sometimes not) are then you MIGHT be able to. How many people know that? The programming environment doesn't matter at all. What matters is does the product perform as described. I don't see you flaming Drive Genius as that too is written by SubRosaSoft using the same development environments. Note: not just RealBasic but a number of programming environments are used to develop this program.
Like
Version 5.1
Anonymous
01 October 2004
Anonymous: Unless you zero (low level format) the drive, only the volume information in the directory is changed to reflect an "empty" disk. The actual files remain intact for the most part unless written over with additional or blank data.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 October 2004
OK I had a play with the package contents. ("cause this 'demo' don't work without a serial number) And apparently this thing is just a gui to spark up terminal. So in theory there must be a way of recovering permantly deleted files from a Mac using terminal commands only. Any UNIX people want to post a few instructions. I wonder how secure, secure delete really is.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 October 2004
So do the Feds use this ? How in the hell can you recover a file after you format the drive ?
Like
Version 2.0
Cyberfunk2
30 September 2004
This is NOT a demo, it appears to be full blown commercial ware.. I couldnt find a way to "try it out".
Like
Version 2.0