Back to FolderBrander page
FolderBrander free download for Mac

FolderBrander Reviews

2.4
30 September 2012

Change folder icons in the Finder sidebar.

Borisd
21 February 2011

Most helpful

Easy to use + saves time + the result is really nice to see (Well, I designed it ;-)
Like (5)
Version 2.3.1

Read 50 FolderBrander User Reviews

Rate this app:

amaloney
28 October 2019
FB website has msg: "We're sorry but FolderBrander is no longer available." FB has been retired.
Like
Version 2.4
Mully
26 March 2019
Just loaded Folder Brander on Mojave 10.14.3 and it works as before. Love this app so that it works on Mojave is a real plus.
Like
Version 2.4
DerKrobsen
26 December 2018
Great app that makes life easier on your desktop. Mojave says it will need updating for next release. Hope it is.
Like
Version 2.4
Rafaelgonzalez
23 November 2018
Great and easy to use
Like
Version 2.4
Jacar9
26 July 2016
Have used Folder Brander for years and love how easy it is to use and how I can now find all my "stuff" in such neatly labelled folders.
Like
Version 2.4
dhwebber
27 May 2014
This is one neat program. It is easy to master, does what it claims to do, no crashes, and just adds an awesome look to folders.
Like
Version 2.4
A2mandel
11 March 2014
Being able to highlight my folders in different colors and styles makes it much easier to find things. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that the program hasn't been updated in quite a while.
Like
Version 2.4
Toots
28 March 2013
Enjoying personalising my folders everywhere on my Macs. Lots of fun. CpB
Like
Version 2.4
Sunapics
15 March 2013
Very nice, easy to use. If only it worked on folders in the sidebar it would have got the full 5* all round! Note- it displays on folders inside Adobe Bridge which is a nice bonus!
Like
Version 2.4
Ferlong
15 March 2013
Excellent product that needs a few tweeks. Easy to use and is especially useful when teamed with other software like Desktop Shelves. Needs the ability to Left-Center-Right justify text.
Like
Version 2.4
ALFmacUTD
14 March 2013
On first use, I was impressed with ease of use and feature set (e.g., font adjustment).
Like
Version 2.4
rob-35
14 March 2013
Hi, where are the folder images stored? If I upgrade in the future, will the folder images be lost? Or are they backed up somewhere?
Like
Version 2.4
Ppod
06 March 2013
Used the App only a few times, but so it's great.
Like
Version 2.4
willregla
21 November 2012
Just what I was looking for to easily customize folders I keep in my dock. Works as described, and lots of creative freedom!
Like
Version 2.4
Mikeathome
21 November 2011
Nice overall, but I'd like more control over text. I just wrote to Yellow Mug suggesting the following improvements: 1. Add choice of left, center and right justify. 2. Add ability to select vertical position of first text line. 3. Add ability to kern.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.5
Albertross
28 March 2011
So much easier to find files after using Folder Brander
Like (4)
Version 2.3.2
Borisd
21 February 2011
Easy to use + saves time + the result is really nice to see (Well, I designed it ;-)
Like (5)
Version 2.3.1
1 answer(s)
Smayer97
Smayer97
20 August 2011
next time use the REPLY Button
Like
Mookzmom
26 January 2011
I know there are ways to do this manually, but being a noob, AND a granny, I have trouble remembering all the steps. This app makes it so much easier for folks like me to make folders that stand out and are more easily identified. I'm hoping the person who makes this app will add more variety soon, though, as I enjoy playing in the colors!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
The-Captain
26 January 2011
Like all Yellow Mug Software programs, simple and easy to use. Most of all, useful! New Mac graphics are great but many general folders look a like! Now you can spot them faster & easier with custom text making your work flow faster!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Patrous
25 January 2011
Good simple little application that makes it real easy to customize folders with the ability to add sets of folder icons and give folders a name.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Anthonyg65
22 January 2011
Perfect dedicated utility. It does one thing and does it well, allowing you to customize folders with your text. Well worth the price.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Jden
21 January 2011
Has any one made a preset that mimics the OS X folder pictures?
Like
Version 2.3.1
Boy10
21 January 2011
Get's the job done of customizing folders. Adding letters and words to the folders is an awesome feature. Great app.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Jeanne75018
20 January 2011
Very cool! It works great. It would need a little update for it to be a little more modern.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Mmannh
20 January 2011
I just purchased and installed it. Works just as promised, so I'm happy. Simple to use, no need for a manual (at least for me). More options for folder colors, etc. would be appreciated. Maybe the next release?
Like
Version 2.3.1
Monzterdk
20 January 2011
It does exactly what it promises !! its a VERY easy app to use. i felt at home right away, no need for a manual at all !!! i did miss some picture features and some more templates in various styles other than that Great app very happy to be a customer !!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
plmorgan
20 January 2011
Very nice, easy-to-use application. It does just what it promises--intuitively and without hassle. I'm hedging on my "stability" rating because I haven't used it long enough to know, but given it's straightforward feature set and the length of time the current release has been out, I'd guess it's pretty stable.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Hudsonvalley
20 January 2011
Easy to use.Beats any other way of branding folders. Looking forward to more development features (for example: color wheel for customized folder color) and usefulness.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
aglessi
28 October 2010
Graphics possibilities are basic but usefulness is undoubtely!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Corpsecorps
04 July 2010
When i choose a shadow or glow, it looks fine. As soon as i click "Apply", the brand is applied *without* the shadow or glow. Mac Pro, 10.6.4
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Corpsecorps
04 July 2010
Not a bad app. With some work, could be useful. There are so few icon tools around any more.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Haikuty
01 July 2010
A classic example of a small focused single-purpose utility that makes a common task easier and faster than it would otherwise be. Sure, you _could_ do this yourself manually in an image editor and get less good results in more time, but what's your time worth?
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
Rcli
26 June 2010
Very nice little app - but I can't figure out how to center text - they don't seem to have that as an option -but they should
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
1 answer(s)
Jden
Jden
21 January 2011
Just drag it.
Like
Dsw1958
25 June 2010
I had not heard of this until the MUPromo. It sounded like a good idea so I download the demo. The app works great and is very easy to use so I picked it up. Beats trying to manually label folders.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Fred-M-
24 June 2010
This is a terrific app if you need some basic ways to tweak your folder icons. I have found this program to be an easy and effective way to make sense of, for instance, the generic folder icons in the dock. Highly recommended!
Like
Version 2.3.1
Edelart
24 June 2010
This is app really rocks! chingno!! now I can really organize my folders in a visual way
Like
Version 2.3.1
I'm a writer and am constantly involved in multiple projects. So keeping track of which folder is which is essential to my work. The color coding the Mac OS offers is helpful, but there are only six colors, and we soon run out of colors. The most helpful way for me to organize is to put folder aliases on the desktop. To make them stand out, I use icons I download for free from various sites. But to paste them onto a folder is time consuming and a real pain. Enter "Folder Brander". This is the most elegant software I've seen in a very long time. You drop a folder into the window, then click on an icon in the column on the right. You're done. If you want to try out different icon "looks" before committing, click the Apply button. You can also add text over the face of the icon. And you can give this text attributes like size, transparency, line spacing, (if a name is long enough to wrap around), plus three degrees of shadow and three degrees of glow. If you want to add a group of icons to the Folder Brander application, first click the + button in the top window labeled "Custom". You can name the folder at this point. Once done, choose that folder set you just made, then drag and drop Mac icons into the tall column below. It's so stupidly simple...almost. I was briefly confused by the +/- buttons at the top. That's because I didn't see the +/- buttons below. The top set is for adding or deleting an icon set FOLDER. The bottom buttons are for adding or deleting ICONS in that tall bottom column. Once you spot that, you are on your way for some fun. It's helpful to know that even though you are pasting on a new icon, you can still change the color of the regular text label with the Mac's six colors. Also, the new text one adds with Folder Brander appears across the face of the icon. It doesn't change the Mac's folder name. And although the app won't accept aliases when you try to drop them in, just make changes on the original folder, then make an alias, (which preserves the "look" you've applied to the original folder). BTW, although the free "Viou" application suggested by a reviewer is probably very good software, after trying to decipher how it worked, I gave up. I simply didn't have the time to try to figure my way through the multiple steps this software seems to require. And I couldn't find a Help file for this application. But without judging further, (since it might be that the software is very simple to use), my vote goes for Folder Brander. It's very Mac-like, it's very elegant, it's very easy to use, (a caveman could do it ), and the price is extremely reasonable. If organization, or maybe just plain fun, is important to you, give this software a try. This is a superb application, and upon using it you will probably find yourself downloading massive collections of Mac icons. I've already started. ^_^ fluteflights.com
Like (3)
Version 2.3.1
PBpilot
24 June 2010
FolderBrander is the PERFECT application for exactly what it claims to do - "branding your folders". It really helps with organization and visual arrangement of folders. I've recommended it to dozens of people!
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
Megamix
24 June 2010
Nice little application - cheap, slick and easy to use. Helps to distinguish folders and customizable so dont be put off by the lack of prest icons - you can download free sets and add your own text.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Foulger
14 May 2010
I've had this forever and am very impressed. Would be nice if all enclosed folder icons in the "branded" folder could have the option of automatically be the same type (i.e. Fruit for example). Also the option of pasting screenshots or graphics would be good - at a higher price of course. Yellow Mug for me is the epitome of a great shareware company - simple good strong products at a very good price.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
hwgray
13 September 2009
But why is its *own* icon so crummy?!
Like (3)
Version 2.3
Pat320
22 November 2008
Can I say that FolderBrander is the "CandyBar" of folders? Great app! It's a good .icns maker with image (see folder in the user's library…)
Like
Version 2.2.4
Corpsecorps
12 July 2008
A very simple, self-explanatory little tool that's easy to use. Great! It would be nice to see it get some additional functionality. .
Like
Version 2.2.3
Bruce-y
09 July 2007
A useful and easy to use tool for adding unique identification to folder icons. For me, I use it to add a short one or two line text label to the folder, which then makes it very easy for me to see which folder is which (since many of my views are intentionally Icon view). Thus, the icon text labelling is the main benefit I use, and that capability is not in Finder (contrary to some posters who say this app is same as built in Finder). BTW, cost is $9.95, not the 11.95 reported on MU. Also, their site states latest version 2.1.x now requires Tiger. They have a version (2.0.2) for Panther linked at their site.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Sanjinko
09 February 2007
As much as I like Yellow Mug Software titles, I cannot find $12 justifiable for this app. Beautiful Mac OS X icons can be easily found on Apple's Downloads site, and creating new folders and substituting default folder's icon is just thru Get info command (single-tab goes to icon, double-tab to comments).
Like
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
Jazzaddict
Jazzaddict
06 March 2007
Though I do agree with you that customizing the icon used for a particular folder is easy, customizing a folder with a unique branding is a pain, and to mundane of a task to justify opening a real illustrator. I keep a few folders on the right side of the dock, where the name of a folder is not displayed. Without having the folder branded with its names initials (or a symbol), I get confused. I also don't like having the text displayed under Finder toolbar items, so having this always me to add identifiable folders to the toolbar. Regarding your opinion of the price... to each his own. Cheers, Eric (not affiliated with Y.M.S.)
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Raddle
Raddle
29 February 2008
You either didn't try this software, or didn't understand it. Doing what this software does - without getting into PhotoShop and iConBuilder, a great buy heavyweight solution - is actually nigh-on impossible. The price is reasonable too.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
12 July 2008
Not only is doing what this does without special tools difficult, it's a function that's been left out of most other icon tools, such as Viou.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
Musiclc
17 June 2006
Great little app - allows me to quickly distinguish different folders without spending a lot of time on custom icons. Wish list - more included (base icon) folder choices in future releases.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
26 May 2005
The one feature this app doesn't have is the one I would really love to see, which is the ability to make the folder icons in the side bar larger - Any chance of this in an upcoming version?
Like
Version 1.3.7
Jimw
02 February 2005
After studying this app, but not using it, it seems to me that it would simplify what can manually be a somewhat involved process but I am not so sure it is worth $12 given what else is out there. I would encourage prospective users to take a look at Viou, a FREE application that manipulates icons and folders, doing much of it from a contextual menu. That is what I use and have been for a long time. It seems to be an effective substitute for a number of shareware icon and folder manipulators. At least that is my impression of it, as just an end user.
Like
Version 1.3.5
Anonymous
04 August 2004
It works well but I am not ready to pay ten bucks for that. It has too few functions.. Dev should add folder custom color selection and the ability to combine 2 icons. That would be worth the price.
Like
Version 1.1
6 answer(s)
Stanton
Stanton
15 August 2004
This is completely pointless. Just give the folder a custom icon, and drag it to the side bar. Voila. And Rip0ff: There are already icon editors that have been around for years that combine two icons for you. No one needs to write another one for no reason.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 September 2004
In response to McCandish: "Just give the folder a custom icon, and drag it to the side bar. Voila." Well, FolderBrander is an app for doing the first part of your quote - giving a folder a custom icon. There may be other apps that's been around longer, but that's of no consequence to someone looking for a tool today. Someone looking for a tool today compares what's available and adopts the one he/she likes best. Why are you so against us making an app that many people apparently find useful? When is a little competition ever bad for the consumer?
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 December 2004
I have been using a program allowing to combine a folder and a custom icon for monthes, even years. There have been several of these available so far but what I am interested in is a software allowing merging icons PLUS adding custom text. Of course, the trick can be done by first using a combine icons app, then this soft but I'd be interested in a simple, easy to use program doing both.
Like
Version 1.2.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 January 2005
The web has become full of self-appointed selfcentered tech policemen out of nowhere. Thumbs up to the developer for a handy little tool and the nice style. ;)
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 May 2005
Well said, Anonymous; I know I sure get tired of these schlubs saying a developer shouldn't write this or that app, because a similar one(s) already exist. Of course the world would be better off if there was only one version of everything! Diversity and variety are unhealthy for us all. I liked this FB, so I bought a copy. I really respect the author's programming and the functionality of his other apps, of which I've bought several. AND, I daily use Viou, which I find an indispensable app, but that doesn't make me any less interested in owning and using FolderBrander.
Like
Version 1.3.7
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
08 June 2008
Ditto original post. I've never cared for viou. It just doesn't do what i want. Folder Icon X had potential and i used it a lot, but it always had some strange glitches. There's no do-it-all icon tool, especially not for Leopard. FB is definitely useful. I don't know what this idiocy is about there being no use creating a new piece of software because there are old ones. That's like saying nobody should open a new restaurant because there are already plenty. Why design a new car when there are dozens of designs already? Eh?
Like
Version 2.2.3
Anonymous
03 August 2004
Why do you need this app? I just give folder a custom icon via Finder and drag them to the sidebar and they keep the custom icon. Why pay $10 for something Apple provides for free?
Like
Version 1.1
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 August 2004
FolderBrander lets you put text over a base icon. The base icon can be selected from the built-in set or from your own custom set of icons. The text you entered can be rotated and skewed to match the base icon's orientation. It's a simple app, but it definitely does something the OS X itself doesn't! We wouldn't have written it otherwise. :-) Give it a try.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 August 2004
Obviously, you did not try this app, much less read the product description. A typical moronic newbie comment.
Like
Version 1.1
Stanton
Stanton
15 August 2004
It's not a "moronic newbie comment", it's a perfectly valid assessment in my opinion. Even this oh-so-fancy ability to add text and stuff on top of a folder icon template is already provided by icon editing apps that have been around for years. This app, though it may be authored very well, is utterly pointless. The ONLY possible purpose I can think of for this would be to give folders custom icons only in the sidebar, and have them remain plain-jane folder icons in the finder. But why bother? Who would want to do that and why? This app is ripe for PerversionTracker.com if you ask me, even if the code is good (which I can't vouch for; I just assume it's well-written.)
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 September 2004
To Stanton, The product description on this website was inaccurate but has since been updated. Based on the original product description, I would have jumped to the same conclusion as you did. We hope the new product description make more sense and you would give FolderBrander a try. Thank you.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 October 2004
thanks for this tip, i didn't know I could do this.
Like
Version 1.2