Back to NetShade page
NetShade free download for Mac

NetShade Reviews

8.2.1
25 September 2019

Browse privately using anonymous proxies and VPN servers.

xcoxco
11 January 2015

Most helpful

Why the negative reviews? This is a great product. It works as advertised, and is updated regularly. Users seem to confuse the application's functions with those related to the "public" Internet. For example, do you really think a VPN is going to work flawlessly in China, if at all? If so, you may not be living in the real world ...
Like (7)
Version 6.1.4

Read 176 NetShade User Reviews

Rate this app:

Big77
16 June 2019
This page is giving release notes for Netshade 7 even though Netshade 8 is out. Netshade 8 is a newer GUI and now supports different connection modes (VPN, SOCKS, HTTP). includes a speed test, and Netshade 8 apparently also lays down the foundation for their new product, HOP, which lets you easily configure your own computer as a VPN server.
Like (1)
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
brandon_1
brandon_1
16 June 2019
Thank you for your vigilance! The inaccuracy has been eliminated.
Like (1)
jpnedeleg
23 October 2018
Been using Netshade since NS3. Never had ANY problem with it. Smooth, easy, and very reactive developer, even for local problems! Won't change before next century :p
Like (1)
Version 7.2.1
SprintiPhone
10 August 2017
Netshade is the only annually billed VPN/proxy that I've been willing to pay for. More reliable than the other paid or free ones I've tried. There are periods where there are issues, generally when there is an update. But developer is very quick to respond to inquiries, usually in a day or two.
Like (3)
Version 7.0.3
ben-marko
07 January 2017
Good bit of software, but goes through periods where no network traffic can make it through. When it works however, it is very reliable.
Like
Version 7.0.3
Odysseus
29 October 2016
The app is buggy beyond a shadow of a doubt. The service is incredibly slow -- both the proxy and the VPN server.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.3
3 answer(s)
Rayner Software
Rayner Software
01 November 2016
I'm sorry to hear that. We try hard to squash bugs. This 7.0.3 release fixes a bug which showed up in Sierra. If you are still experiencing any bugginess, please let us know the specifics and we'll fix it.
Like
xcoxco
xcoxco
26 December 2016
Netshade has worked great for me over the years. The developer has proved very responsive when need be. I use it (primarily the VPN) on Mac and iOS versions, with the latest OS versions 12.x and 10.x respectively.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
19 February 2017
Cloak is a hundred times better than this. Much better integration in the OS, and for the rare problem, tech support usually responds within minutes.
Like (1)
tcr
20 June 2016
For clarification: Today's MacUpdate promo is for 6 months of VPN + Proxy access, which would normally be $29.50. It works for new and existing customers.
Like
Version 7.0.1
3 answer(s)
Danm34
Danm34
20 June 2016
I got the app. How do I activate the 6 months of VPN + Proxy access? Thx
Like
tcr
tcr
20 June 2016
Hello,
Thank you. You should get an email from MacUpdate with the registration code. You can enter the code into the NetShade app and your service should be activated. Please let us know if you encounter any problems: support@raynersw.com
Like
tcr
tcr
11 July 2016
Hello davalentin,
Thank you- you can purchase a license for NetShade here:
https://secure.raynersw.com/store.php
Regards,
Rayner Software
Like
markr9439
20 June 2016
This is the best product by far i bought it at version 5 and never looked back its awesome and very secure the they reply really fast with queries. i made a mistake of buy another company VPN offering a lifetime subscription as i was installing it on another mac in another country but it was not as good as this one so the saving did not really work out. buying another one of these while its on offer ;) version 7 is really cool they are on the ball with this product and i feel safe and secure using it.
Like
Version 7.0.1
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
20 June 2016
Thank you. I really appreciate the review.
Like (1)
Guido-Muldoon
01 June 2016
Version 7 is fast, easy to use and seems far superior to me versus other paid for VPN/proxy software I've tried. I first used Netshade back in version 4. All the problems/concerns/issues and needed features of past versions appear to have been addressed in version 7. Many VPN services are now offering lifetime licenses for less than the Netshade annual fee but they just don't seem to me as professionally implemented. Netshade does not now offer lifetime licensing but do offer several license options and occasional discounts. They also have Keyshade for password security and Flight Kit which looks like it might be nice for private pilots but I am not a pilot so I can not offer any advice on that one.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
16 June 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write this review- I appreciate it. And thank you also for being a NetShade user since version 4- a lot has changed since then!

There are indeed many new VPN services offering "lifetime" subscriptions, but I think you're correct to question their legitimacy. VPN/proxy servers are expensive to operate because of their large bandwidth needs. In order to keep a VPN/proxy service running long-term (13 years in NetShade's case), it's necessary to charge a subscription. A VPN operator needs to be able to scale the server bandwidth capability to handle the number of users on the servers, and a one-time subscription fee doesn't allow for this. So I suspect these new "lifetime" VPNs will not be very long-lived (and that might be their plan.)
Like
Achim2
23 May 2016
7.0 crashes as soon as I switch to any other app. It's broken. The previous version worked fine.
Like
Version 7.0
2 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
23 May 2016
That's definitely not a common problem- please contact us at support@raynersw.com and we will hopefully be able to get it figured out.
Like
tcr
tcr
23 May 2016
I think I know what's happening in this case. I don't think this is a crash- it's a preference: NetShade -> Preferences -> Quit NetShade when last window is closed.

In the past this preference was off by default, but in NS 7 it's enabled by default. Sorry if this change has caused some confusion with users who were accustomed to a different default setting.
Like
tcr
17 May 2016
Hello NetShade is doing a promo this week, for the launch of NetShade 7. $39 for NetShade with a year of proxy & VPN access. (normally $59) https://secure.raynersw.com/store.php Free trial available too. -RS
Like
Version 7.0
Macupdate-User
20 February 2016
Hello, I'm interested in purchasing soon. When will NetShade be discounted next or appear in a bundle?
Like
Version 6.3.1
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
17 May 2016
It's discounted this week, for the launch of NetShade 7.
$39 instead of $59 for NetShade with a year of proxy & VPN access:
https://secure.raynersw.com/store.php
Like
Mrtomato
15 December 2015
Over the last year I've become somewhat disenchanted with Netshade. The move to NetShade 6 was a bit awkward -- a $10 charge for, in essence, an add-on that I don't use and have no use for. I could live with that, but over the last 9 months the servers - particularly the UK servers -- became so slow that I moved to another VPN (CyberGhost, FWW), which has been 5x ~ 10x faster than NetShade. I'm not sure what's gone wrong. NetShade is the only VPN for Mac that I know of that is consistently updated and has a completely Mac-friendly interface, so it's a real shame that the essential service is now so slow.
Like
Version 6.3.1
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
28 May 2016
Suggest Private Internet Access. $39.95 / year (Netshade is $59). Clients for Mac, Windows, and can be setup for iOS and Android and Linux easily because it is OpenVPN compatible. Netshade is MAC and iOS only. PIA allows up to three simultaneous logins, meaning you can be using VPN on a Mac, tablet and Windows PC at the same time. Netshade provides multiple licenses, but it isn't clear if these can be simulatenously logged in. PIA supports port forwarding over VPN, kill switch (disconnect Internet if VPN connection drops) and DNS leak prevention. You can even pay anonymously, using pre paid VISA cards or gift cards. I get the full 50 Mbps down rate my ISP provides.

I'm not discouraging use of Netshade, there isn't enough info on the site about the technical features (port forwading, kill switch, DNS leak prevention etc) to compare with PIA and I shouldn't have to try a trial to find out. EVen if Netshade does everything PIA does, you still have a $20 differnce in price (regular price, not counting bundles or specials) and the fact that PIA has a Windows client. Also PIA Mac client works with Mountain Lion or later. Netshade is Yosemite or later. If you use Mac and Windows, PIA is a good option.
Like (2)
Sincoseis
02 December 2015
Is VPN and Proxy access included in the Netshade version that is part of the bundle "11 awesome apps, 1 super low price" If so for how long ? One year or ...
Like
Version 6.3.1
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
03 December 2015
VPN and proxy access, 1 year subscription.
Like
joaonunosoares
08 October 2015
used the trial, and only can say booth proxy and VPN very fast. best proxy and vpn service i used till now. any discount soon, so i can buy? ;)
Like
Version 6.3.1
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
13 October 2015
Thank you.
We'll be doing another MacUpdate promo at some point within the next few months, but we don't have an exact date yet.
-Rayner Software
Like
Geoff6
11 July 2015
Netshade works and works really well. I have been using it from earlyish days and I have never had a problem with it. The developer replies quickly to questions and I appreciate the continual effort to improve it. Definitely a five star app.
Like
Version 6.3
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
12 July 2015
Thank you!
Like
Rickzeman
11 July 2015
I like this product. Very stable, unobtrusive, and the proxy servers aren't so overwhelmed that they're unusable. Was surprised to see that Netshade suffered from ipv6 leakage, too.
Like
Version 6.3
2 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
12 July 2015
Thank you for the review. We're glad to have the IPv6 leakage issue fixed now. More info: http://www.raynersw.com/email-ns63-announce/ipv6.html
Like
Rickzeman
Rickzeman
12 July 2015
Yeah, as one of the few that have fully functional and routable ipv6 at home this was a concern to me. Luckily, after reading the blog entry, I don't run the iOS versions at home so that's a non-issue; the MacOS was the biggie for me. Glad it was fixed, and kind of p*ssed at myself that I never caught this on my own (mtr -6 works wonders). Since all google sites are ipv6-enabled this was a biggie.
Like
mgus
21 May 2015
Netshade works very well, and is far superior to some of the other so-called VPNs. It runs smoothly in the background, provides plenty of VPN and/or proxy options, and customer service is top notch. Highly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.5
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
12 July 2015
Thank you!
Like
GregSkilleter8619
30 April 2015
Has anyone tried Netshade from Australia? I have tried a number of VPN services over the last few months but although many say they have servers located all over the globe this translates to the northern hemisphere. Australian broadband is already slow enough without only being able to connect to a VPN server located somewhere in Europe. Would appreciate any feedback from users as I am distrustful of the marketing information released on behalf of actual software companies.
Like
Version 6.1.5
1 answer(s)
Tyrayner
Tyrayner
05 May 2015
Hello,
I am the developer so I understand your inherent distrust, but I promise not to be a marketing guy! The internet situation on the Australian content is far less favorable than in Europe or North America, for both content-providers and end users. Bandwidth is very scarce, and the ISPs charge much more for it than they do here in the US (10x price differences are not uncommon). It is not viable to host a server there, unless it has very low bandwidth needs and it serves mainly an Australian audience. Proxy and VPN servers consume a lot of bandwidth.

We could potentially host servers in these markets, but they'd need to be an optional add-on to a regular NetShade subscription. If we didn't charge extra for them, they'd be overwhelmed with traffic and not very usable for those who really need them. It is worth considering, but I need to consider whether enough people would want it, and if it's worth adding the complexity to our pricing model.
-Ty Rayner
Like (4)
gjcreative-1
30 April 2015
Never a bad experience with NetShade and I've been using it for years. The software is very intuitive and easy to use. Both VPN and Proxy services work as advertised. Support when needed is very responsive. This is a first class service that's Mac-centric. For me, it's been a five-star experience all the way.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.5
1 answer(s)
Tyrayner
Tyrayner
05 May 2015
Thank you- happy to hear that.
-Ty Rayner
Like
Sgginc
29 April 2015
I just purchased and it appears I need to add $9
for the upgrade to v6 from v5.

It states:
"This promotion is for NetShade and 1 year of Proxy and VPN services"

This certainly was not clear!!!
Like
Version 6.1.5
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
29 April 2015
Hello,
All the issued codes should be for version 6. If you had an earlier code that was upgraded via the promo, it should have been enabled for V6 when you purchased the promo. If this was not the case, please contact us at support@raynersw.com with your registration code and we will fix it.
Like
tcr
29 April 2015
If you are a current NetShade user and you only want the proxy service (not VPN), you can buy this promo and we'll convert your 1 year of proxy+VPN to two years of proxy. Just e-mail us with the registration code and the MU receipt and we'll get it all sorted out. support@raynersw.com
Like (1)
Version 6.1.5
Mylon
29 April 2015
Hello,

I am using NetShade, and I just renewed the service until April 2016.
If I buy today, will this extend my present service beyond that date ?
Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.4
3 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
29 April 2015
Hi Mylon, it sure will!
Like (1)
Mylon
Mylon
29 April 2015
So I have now purchased this.
What do I do to make it extend my service ?
Should I contact Rayner ?
Like
tcr
tcr
29 April 2015
Yes, if it didn't find your old code and extend it (it searches based on email,) please e-mail us with your receipt and the old and new codes, and we will get everything fixed for you. Thanks for your purchase.
support@raynersw.com
Like
Tim27
21 March 2015
I am just curious to know how you know if apps like this actually work and do what they say they do? Why would I trust a service like this instead of a hotel wifi network? Couldn't companies like this collect data by having it beamed to them directly through their apps? Anyone can make a front end GUI that says "Your IP address is being hidden." How can I test this to make sure?
Like (1)
Version 6.1.4
2 answer(s)
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
30 March 2015
Do some research into VPN to answer some of your questions. Most hotel wi-fi is incredibly insecure. There is a reason many companies require employees to use a company VPN when they are not in the office!

Does it work? Yes.
How do I know? Go to a website like whatismyip.com without the app on. Go to the same website after you've turned the app on. Different IP. (You may have to restart your browser after starting the app. Proxy won't work on Firefox, but VPN will).
Could they collect data? Theoretically, yes, but it would be very bad for business.
Like (1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
29 August 2015
Because I accidentally left it on once, and within 20 minutes, I got a call from my bank saying that someone in Amsterdam tried to access my account (it was me). It works.
Like
wissme
14 March 2015
Nice software. I use it for a year. May I get a bargain to rebuy for a year ?
Like (1)
Version 6.1.4
lalicata
11 January 2015
I have used this software for at least 3+ years (back when it was version 4 on a PPC MAC) in places where the author could not have imagined, under conditions that are absolutely bizarre, and using combinations of VPN and proxies just to get mail out and manage bank accounts, using Safari and this software. It has yet to let me down, and when something came up that seem not to work correctly, the author fixed it, or tried his best. I have stressed tested this software and it has come through in every case but one, which was NOT its fault, but the public wifi connections I was trying to access. So, if you need the features and options this program offers, I can say with near certainty that this software will deliver and will perform as it described.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.4
xcoxco
11 January 2015
Why the negative reviews? This is a great product. It works as advertised, and is updated regularly. Users seem to confuse the application's functions with those related to the "public" Internet. For example, do you really think a VPN is going to work flawlessly in China, if at all? If so, you may not be living in the real world ...
Like (7)
Version 6.1.4
2 answer(s)
Neal
Neal
20 June 2016
Servers in USA and UK... about as secure as a pint of water in a sieve.
Like
EnA6785
EnA6785
26 June 2016
The pricing is very good compared to other services however NetShade keep logs for seven days which can be used to trace back to you. If you really want to be anonymous from the moment you log in to when you log off and not have to worry about someone asking the provider for logs you'd be better served with another provider. But yes, you'll pay a lot more.

Like
Pirx
08 January 2015
I spent EUR 60+ for VPN & Proxy on NetShade. While it works in India and Singapore (where it is not really needed), It does not work in China. All NetShade's VPN servers are unresponsive when accessed from China. The developer should make sure, that NetShade actually serves its advertised purpose. People in certain countries depend on a working VPN for life and livelihood. Selling NetShade as-is without a label "May not work where needed most" is irresponsible.
Like
Version 6.1.3
3 answer(s)
Tyrayner
Tyrayner
10 January 2015
Please do know that we are very proactive about customer refunds in cases like this- we don't want to take money for something that's not working for a user. We would never want to sell a user on a false expectation. Just contact us.

Practically speaking, there's really no way of ensuring accessibility in a country like China with actively managed firewalls. We do try to make this clear on our website, and in response to increased user activity coming from China, we've updated the site to make it more clear. Some VPN services may work better than others in China at the moment, but implementing a block is as easy as typing in an IP. China has shown high responsiveness in implementing these blocks. The idea of flying under their radar permanently isn't a realistic one – not without running one's own dedicated private-access proxy server at high cost.
Like (2)
Pirx
Pirx
11 January 2015
Managed firewalls..... tell me one major censorship country, except for Iran and North Korea, that does not use them.

Typically VPNs work in China, because with wholesale blockage the Chinese would also affect a large number of foreign invested enterprises.

Apart from that, China's propaganda departments still need access to their Facebook pages, Twitter accounts and access for the 5-cent army to South China Morning Post, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc. comment functions, to spew their poison. So they need VPNs to work, in order not to lock-out their own propaganda departments.

To put it a bit controversially, it cannot be, that your VPN works only for protecting privacy (or whatever is left of it) in Germany, Great Britain, Denmark and Singapore. Recent experience suggests, that VPN servers are blocked if hosted on shared servers, which co-host websites that are deemed "detrimental to the social development of China." That could be porn, warez, cryptography or news.
Like (1)
tcr
tcr
11 January 2015
China does have a very clear interest in blocking proxies, since proxies can be used to circumvent their censorship and defeat the whole purpose of their firewall. As far as selectively giving access to their own people, they can of course do this with their own servers and access points. When we launch a new server, it's usually blocked by China within a few weeks. And none of our servers are shared- these are systems that sustain 30-300Mbps of traffic on average. They are all dedicated servers on 100 or 1000Mbps links. Frankly I can't imagine any VPN server being hosted on a shared system unless the service has about 50 users... VPNs require a huge amount of bandwidth to operate. As I said, please contact us if you want a refund.

We've put the following excerpt from our user agreement in bold, in the hopes of averting future misunderstandings about the service:

I understand that the NetShade service is subject to any blocks and/or firewalls that exist on a network, and that an ISP's access restrictions may block my access to NetShade.
Like (2)
Wts
29 December 2014
Apparently NetShade is an Internet security tool that conceals your IP address on the web.

I want to give this app a try however the price seems steep and also...

Does this app work straight out of the box or how much fidgeting with the settings do i have to do and how do i confirm that NetShade actually conceals my IP address ? Should i still use Little Snitch which i always thought concealed my IP address.

And can i hide my true IP address only from certain sites or is my IP address hidden from every web site i visit ? And if that happens will those web sites prevent me from downloading upgrades to the software i purchased as an example?
Like
Version 6.1.3
3 answer(s)
Big77
Big77
29 December 2014
It works straight out of the box. And I'm pretty sure you can try it for free for an hours with a trial code, or you can just buy 3 months for service for not very much money.

Netshade is a VPN client. The point of a VPN isn't so much that it conceals your IP address, it's that a VPN encrypts the data. This is great for public wifi hotspots, for example. But yes, you CAN make it look like you are connecting from any of several different countries and "your" IP address will be one from that different country.. Places you download software or data from may or may not have different restrictions in different countries and that can work for or against you, but since you always have the option to use different countries (including the US) it's unlikely to cause issues.

Netshade also is a proxy client which is somewhat similar to a VPN without the encryption, at least in concept. Because there is no encryption a proxy service is less taxing on your computer (and theirs) and so is generally faster and less expensive.
Like (3)
Wts
Wts
29 December 2014
Thanks Big77, that does clarify some concerns.

Now as to pricing, it appears that MacUpdate is not telling the truth. when they say the cost is $29 which i thought that was it.

I have since, as a result of your comments, come to realize that Rayner is selling a "service" at various subscription prices for various time periods.

So, at this time i am not happy with the poor disclosure by MacUpdate and also at Rayner for not making sure MacUpdate gets that information out correctly.

Also not sure i can truly hide my existence because no doubt some one has another programme that can trace my travels in cyber space, so then there's another programme or subscription up for sale.

On the other hand , perhaps i will come to realize thru using the programme in its "trial" try before you buy time i may come to change me mind.
Like
Macaddict2007
Macaddict2007
30 December 2014
I have been using Netshade since NS2. In the past there have been issues with stability, but every time Mr. Rayner solved the issue. He has even contacted me personally via Skype to work out the issue. This app works out of the box and is well worth the price if you wish to have a proxy or VPN. At the moment, NS seems to be working smoothly. When a bug crops up, usually due to a change in the OS, the folks at NS work at it until the bug is squashed. For the present, as most Apple products, it just works. My 2¢.
Like
tcr
20 December 2014
If you've had issues with NetShade and Yosemite, you were likely running into an issue involving corruption of one of NetShade's helper tools. It affected some users during Yosemite install and not others. Version 6.1 should correct this. If you still have issues with 6.1, please run the Uninstaller: http://www.raynersw.com/downloads and then re-launch NetShade, and you should be in business.
Like (1)
Version 6.1
Xipper
01 December 2014
Hangs on Yosemite, completely unusable.
Like
Version 6.0.2
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
20 December 2014
If a computer had previously had certain versions of NetShade installed, their helper tools could become corrupted by Yosemite. The workaround is to get the NetShade Uninstaller for Mac: http://www.raynersw.com/downloads , run it, and open NetShade again. Fortunately this should only need to be done once.
Like
Macatak
14 October 2014
I cannot get v6 to install and launch on Yosemite Beta Current Build: 14A388b. Keeps saying the app is damaged. Anyone else experiencing that, or do I need to dig up a solution elsewhere?
Like
Version 6.0.2
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
20 December 2014
I believe this had to do with a NetShade helper tool which became corrupted and subsequently "stuck" during the Yosemite install. The newly-posted version 6.1 attempts to detect this scenario and uninstall the corrupted components when necessary. If 6.1 does not work right out of the gate, you can always run the Uninstaller: http://www.raynersw.com/downloads . A fresh install of 6.1 should work without problems on Yosemite.
Like
Mcr
25 September 2014
I recommend Private Internet Access: 1) Client software is always free, you only pay the subscription. 2) More than 2 dozen server proxies located in US, Canada, Western and Eastern Europe. 3) Accessible from within China (I've tried it, it works) 4) Supports Port Forwarding, UDP or TCP, and VPN Kill Switch (if you lose your VPN connection it will disconnect from the Internet). 5) Client software for both Windows and OS X, with manual setup instructions for tablets, phones (iOS, Android) and Linux, based on OpenVPN protocols, so you don't even have to use their client software if you don't want to, any VPN client that supports OpenVPN can be used, or you can setup manually yourself from within OS X or Windows. 6) Install client software on as many devices as you want, only limitation is no more than 5 can be logged in to any of their servers simultaneously, which I think is very generous. 7) Annual subscription is $39.95, price hasn't changed in three years. 8) they don't log or track usage, anonymous, especially if you choose a server in Canada or Europe where the laws are more pro-consumer regards the courts being able to request user data. 9) you can even purchase anonymously through various methods (gift cards, and so on), so there isn't even a paper trail back to you, and that is the main point right? Being anonymous.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.2
2 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
25 September 2014
No, I'm not a shill for this company, I really use it. Since PIA is more about the service, rather than the software, you won't find it here on MacUpdate.
https://www.privateinternetaccess.com/
Like
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
03 November 2014
PIA utterly fails to work for me in China (Shanghai) at the moment (PIA support agreed), shame as the reviews are all very positive. Luckily it is very easy to get a refund, and I switched to the more expensive ExpressVPN which is much more robust in China...
Like
Surfspirit
19 September 2014
Amazing that a so called Privacy App don't have an unninstaller, it leaves system extensions benhind like tap.kext and tun.kext that only God know exactly what they do, even when you trashed the app...!!
Like (1)
Version 6.0.2
1 answer(s)
tcr
tcr
20 December 2014
There is an uninstaller available on the website, http://raynersw.com/downloads.php . It removes everything, and shows you everything it removed.
Like (1)
Amcan12
02 September 2014
NetShade sucks! Tried to use it for about a year, all without much luck when on trips to China and other 'censored' places. Finally switched to ExpressVPN and never looked back.
Like
Version 6.0.2
Malby
19 August 2014
I've been using Netshade 5 with some frustration. My Macbook Pro tells me that it's always 'using significant energy' causing the fans to run full tilt while I watch Netflix. My daughter uses a Chrome plugin on her computer that performs the same trick as Netshade but is completely free and doesn't run her computer hot. So, I select 'Check for updates' to see if a newer version of Netshade has been produced that runs more efficiently. Sure enough version 6 is available and the notes claims, 'Deep optimizations and streamlining. App is smaller in size despite many added features'. But the catch is a $9 upgrade. But hang on, I'm already paying a yearly subscription of about $20 per year. Surely, I shouldn't have to pay extra for them to get their client software running properly????? What planet are these guys on? I think I need to talk to my daughter about that free plugin for the Chrome browser.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.1
2 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
21 August 2014
I won't speak to a company's pricing policies as I think that's up to them (and us to judge accordingly), but I would be wary of any "free" solutions in this category. The Chrome plug-in will also obviously only protect your Chrome traffic (not your greater Internet connection), but at what price? Whose servers are you going through then? How are they using the information they can scrape from you?

From NetShade: "NetShade isn't in the business of data-mining, and frankly we find the whole practice of snooping to be distasteful. Other proxy servers tend to be far less clear about how they track and log your activities. With NetShade, we leave no question about it. The NetShade proxy servers are fast, almost always online, and completely anonymous."
Like
tcr
tcr
20 December 2014
You can switch NetShade to Plain view mode via preferences, and it will use very little power. In computers with an on-demand GPU (certain MacBooks,) NetShade's globe view will cause the GPU to power on.
Like (2)
Big77
12 August 2014
I took a closer look at version 6 using the 20 day free trial. First the nice parts: giving the option of using TCP via port 443 is nice. I've never had a problem using the UDP default but that's not to say it can't happen. And the preference dialog definitely is nicer. I haven't tried scripting it, but Applescript support now exists and a quick peek shows 8 Netshade specific instructions and lots of information available to be queried. But other than port 443 and Applescript I really don't understand the upgrade. The selection of Proxy of VPN servers can no longer be made from the Netshade windows but must now be made from the menu bar. Performance doesn't seem any better or quicker. And a password manager called Keyshade now is integrated into the app. I don't want another password manager (and a limited one at that), I'm perfectly happy with my existing password manager which fills the proper fields in websites, unlike Keyshade. Nor is the app quite ready -- when I click on "What's Keyshade?" in the preferences, a window pops up saying "What's [newline] Keyshade?" and nothing more. RaynerSW, I don't want to pay $9 for a password manager I don't need. I didn't get your app years ago for password management. Or put another way, I don't want to pay to upgrade a formerly free app when I already have to pay for a subscription, especially when I don't gain anything in performance. Yes, new VPN features are nice but that should be covered by the subscription. There are a lot of choices in the VPN market and your pay model makes no sense to me, especially when NEW subscribers still get the app for free. (New subscribers pay $10 more for the first year of service but that was always the case.)
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
1 answer(s)
Big77
Big77
12 August 2014
Followup to my review above -- I now have popup menus in the Netshade window allowing me to select servers. The first few times I ran the new version the popups were not there, so I mentioned that in my review above. So feel free to ignore that part, but perhaps note they didn't show right away in case that happens to you too.
Like
Big77
12 August 2014
Used to be the app was free and you pay for the service. Now there is a charge to upgrade the app. I find it a really odd way of doing business. Kind of like buying an anti-virus package and then having to pay for a subscription on top of it.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
Michael-Wayne
01 August 2014
My subscription is now due and as I am English living in various EU countries I watch SkyGo and iPlayer etc to catch up. Now I have been reviewing other VPN services such as Express VPN and HideMyAss and othrs that provide Tier1 service. Some have their own servers and infrastructure so unbeknowns to you, the connection is just being rented or piggybacked from another provider. The top 5 providers in Europe use euro based servers so are much closer for europhiles who use the majority of their connection in europe. For some time I have found that when watching sky or iPlayer on Netchade I can never watch a complete programme without the "buffering" spinner. Having tested non US based providers based in UK and europe excluding Latvia and Romania I have found them to be faster and no "buffering" spinner. So I am now in the position to change but don't really want to as I can't find out from Netshade site if they just rent space on others and whether the new update is faster or more reliable. This is quite important when you want VPN and encryption. Still looking for an answer but based on past use with the buffering issue (not related to poor or bad connections)( I am a telecoms engineer and designer) I am giving it 3 stars based on my last 12 months use.
Like
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
01 August 2014
That is odd. I do not have problems with UK or EU based servers for the same services and I'm in the US at the moment. I watched most of the World Cup on ITV without interruption, for instance. Could it be a problem with your DNS servers?
I actually haven't tried the services you mention here -- I've never had the need. They may well be better, I'm just surprised you are having trouble.
Like
Franko
31 July 2014
Version 6 heads up: Before someone ignites a firestorm, note that version 6 is paid upgrade (9$ from v5). For the app, not the proxy service (so if your service is paid to, say December that continues). Personally I'll upgrade as NS serves me well but others may want to remain with v5.
Like
Version 6.0
2 answer(s)
Macatak
Macatak
31 July 2014
Great app. Works. Thank you Rayner. Received the upgrade email, but in my opinion a missed opportunity for the developer. $9 upgrade for app only. Could have included a 1 year proxy subscription renewal for a combo price of say $15, and I bet would have converted a lot of intermittent users like me. Instead I'll wait until the app including 1 year sub is on promo (was 50% off, $14.99 last September on MacUpdate), as while I use the service occasionally, it's not a lifeline.
Like
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
31 July 2014
And to clarify that further, my understanding after talking to a rep at Rayner is that Version 6 is a paid app, separate from the subscription. So, if you are using 5 and renew your subscription, you can continue using 5 (for how long, I don't know). If you want to use 6, you still have to pay the $9. A bit confusing if you ask me.
Also, you can try 6 for however long the trial is and, if you don't feel you need it, you can go back to 5 and resume your usual sub.
Like
Stassi
17 June 2014
Note - you are buying a subscription to the Proxy service when buying this software. There is no warning of this - it just STOPS working one day (there is one public proxy available, which won't work - any others cost money to access with this software). I chose to buy another year of service and chose PayPal as my payment option. Again - NO Warning that if you pay with paypal there may be a delay! I have paid - and I can NOT use this software until they get around to their paypal?! Had I known that, I would not have renewed and would have found another option.
Like
Version 5.4.8
2 answer(s)
Stassi
Stassi
17 June 2014
Update - it took some time, but the software has finally validated with the server and is no longer giving me warnings. I hadn't continuously checked, so I can't give an accurate assessment of the actual delay, but the above message was written about 4 hours ago, and it worked when I just tried it.
Like
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
30 July 2014
I think they make the fact that this is a subscription clear when you buy it.
Like
Frankof
11 February 2014
I like the program for what it does. For my likings, it has too much eye-candy in its main window, but that's just cosmetics. What REALLY bugs me that NetShade does not remember the user's proxy settings. I use proxies a lot (one example for a local proxy I use is Glimmerblocker), but every single time I use NetShade for something I have to remember to go to system preferences and manually type in the proxy settings again. Why does NetShade not simply save the proxy settings it encounters when the program starts, and restores them when it quits???
Like (2)
Version 5.4.5
1 answer(s)
tulbox
tulbox
18 September 2014
In v5 at least, there's the following startup settings that are off by default (privacy reasons?):

"Restore my previous connection state"
"Share my user proxies with server"
Like (1)
mrtomstone
22 December 2013
Really pleased with this software. I am from the UK but currently live in the far east and I mainly use it to access my Netflix UK account and BBC iPlayer. It was very simple to setup, I can use it on all of my devices (concurrently if I wanted to, but that would be silly). In the 2 years approx that I have been using it, the UK servers were only down for me once. When I contacted support (because I thought that I had broken something), they were very apologetic and explained that the UK servers had gone down in the middle of the night, US time. It wasn't long before things were back up and running. I would call that first class support. When I use BBC iPlayer, I can just connect with a standard UK proxy, but Netflix requires a UK VPN. Another UK TV catchup service I have used in the past (but stopped because of the 5 minutes of ads every 10 minutes), called 4oD really didn't want anyone outside of the UK connecting because they were still able to know that I wasn't in the UK when I connected with a proxy or VPN. They thought they had one up on me, that is until I combined a proxy and VPN (ingenious!). The software does warn you that this may result in slower speeds but I was still able to watch what I wanted without any issues. Now if someone could just invent a streaming media ad blocker, things would be perfect.
Like (2)
Version 5.4.5
Geoff6
21 December 2013
I am just really happy with Netshade now. Its terrific. it went through a troublesome phase for me with the initial version 5 and the developer diligently worked out the kinks, one by one. I am so glad to have its use.
Like (2)
Version 5.4.5
JensT9787
19 December 2013
great kind of software. Now be able to listen to pandora.com and watch my favourite "neues aus Büttenwarder" on yt. Thanks. Even VPN plus Proxy takes no more than half a second roundup.
Like (2)
Version 5.4.4
3 answer(s)
Rayner Software
Rayner Software
20 December 2013
Thanks Jens- glad the German server is working well for you.
Like (1)
JensT9787
JensT9787
29 December 2013
When running Virtual PC --> Win7 --> UseNeXT, is that traffic running through netshade´s VPN?
Like
JensT9787
JensT9787
29 December 2013
sorry, i mean VirtualBox
Like
Jp7
17 December 2013
I have version 5.5.5 installed. Today I upgraded to OS 10.9.1. Now every time I reboot Netshade says it needs to install a helper tool. Little Snitch stays out of it. I install. Next time I reboot, it wants to reinstall a helper for Netshade again. What's up?
Like
Version 5.4.4
2 answer(s)
Jp7
Jp7
17 December 2013
Sorry, 5.4.4
Like
Rayner Software
Rayner Software
18 December 2013
Hello, NetShade should install the helper tool only on first launch. If you enter your admin password correctly, the tool should be installed and you should not be asked again until you install a new version of NetShade.
Like
RogerKatz
13 December 2013
I downloaded from MacUpdate, but I got an alert that the file "was corrupted". I successfully updated from within the application.
Like
Version 5.4.4
joelw3845
11 December 2013
For the life of me, I can't understand some of the negative comments and problems some people report. I have been using Netshade (both OSX and IOs )for many years with only a few outages that when reported were rapidly dealt with. I have found the technical and customer support to be excellent, and wish more companies would respond in their manner. I especially like the large number of proxies available and the fact that I can enter my own IPs and ports, many obtained online. The security is tops and though I tried their VPN, Ifound it wasn't necessary for my needs, though it was super.
Like (4)
Version 5.4.3
2 answer(s)
Franko
Franko
11 December 2013
Negative comments can never be understood as everyone has a level of tolerance when it comes to a product not behaving as *thhey* believe it should work. Problems on the other hand you should understand in that there are multitudes of configurations which the developer can't possibly have access to. I simply love NetShade; it has allowed me to access shows no longer available here in Canada but problems may present themselves based on my setup.
Like (2)
Guido-Muldoon
Guido-Muldoon
20 December 2014
I ran Hotspot and NetShade for a year and ditched Hotspot when my license ran out. NetShade is far superior and has never failed me.
Like
Franko
11 December 2013
Try as I may, both versions 5.4.2 and 5.4.3 throw a "App is damaged and can't be opened" message. I've written the folks at Rayner for advice.
Like (1)
Version 5.4.3
3 answer(s)
Rayner Software
Rayner Software
11 December 2013
This is the first I've heard of this error message. It sounds like code-signing. I've replied to your e-mail.
Like (2)
Franko
Franko
11 December 2013
Ty from Rayner sw got back to me in no time. Have downloaded 5.4.3 from a link he provided and again the damaged app error appeared. Downloaded 5.4.2, it fired up nicely so i took the direct route from within the app to update to 5.4.3. Works well and can go back to enjoying Hulu. :) For anyone still on the fence about purchasing this app, hop off and buy it. It's well crafted, offers numerous proxies, and well supported by the author.
Like (1)
Rayner Software
Rayner Software
12 December 2013
Thanks to your debugging help, the code-signing bug is now fixed in 5.4.4. It's available on raynersw.com , and should be updated on MU soon.
Like (2)
LozD2768
11 December 2013
I've been using Netshade for Mac from the very beginning and I have never been disappointed. It has let me watch my tv from another country and I have recommended it to many people, all of whom feel the same as me. I am surprised that someone on here has bemoaned customer service. I have emailed NETSHADE and had personal responses very quickly. Ty is very helpful and has designed a fantastic product. Well worth the money. Added to this is that it is available on iOS has just made it even better. Well worthy of 5 stars.
Like (2)
Version 5.4.2
Robinkendon
10 December 2013
I've been using the basic proxy version without VPN (as I don't need it) for 1 1/2 years now. For me, it has always been completely reliable for the proxies I use (really!). OK, there are odd occasions when you have to re-sync with the proxy, but that is nothing to the unreliability of the video streams I've been using it to get access to. I haven't tested all the proxies in all the available countries, so I can't comment on its worldwide reliability. What I've always been impressed with is the support from RSW. I at least have always had a response within one or at most two working days. Service has always been personal and has answered my question / addressed my problem. Know any big companies you can say that of? I would stress that I am not comparing to other similar services or software. This does what I want at a price that seems very fair to me, so I haven't looked to see what alternatives there may be. Oh, and updates appear regularly, too.
Like (1)
Version 5.4.2