Back to iVolume page
iVolume free download for Mac

iVolume Reviews

3.7.5
07 July 2015

Improves iTunes' built-in sound level.

Stormchild
01 August 2008

Most helpful

If it's really true that iVolume 2 will no longer work properly with iTunes 7.7.1 and newer, then that really stinks. Because quite frankly, $30 for this one-trick pony is a bloody insane ripoff, and I simply won't pay it. It was well worth the $7 it originally cost, and I was even willing to pay again when it doubled in v2, but the developer is getting awfully greedy now, and $30 is absolutely RIDICULOUS -- especially when you consider that the core "work" done by this app is done by an open source algorithm painstakingly written by SOMEBODY ELSE, given away for free, then taken by this schmuck and wrapped in a simple GUI that gets unnecessarily gunked up with CPU-wasting and pointless animations while the price -- for the exact same algorithm and results (which is all the work of someone ELSE) -- doubles every release. I no longer recommend this to anyone, and I will never support this guy ever again.
Like (4)
Version 3.1.1

Read 79 iVolume User Reviews

Rate this app:

TeRRyZx
20 November 2019
CONSTANTLY CRASHES Can not get through my entire 55000 song library without a SUDDEN CRASH after less than 1000 songs EVERY TIME, Writing to their support is USELESS - NO REPLY AFTER 20 problem COMPLAINTS. AVOID THIS WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY
Like
Version 3.7.5
cooljoe
14 November 2019
Version 3.8 ist compatible with MacOS Catalina and free for registered users.
Like
Version 3.7.5
Bento de Espinosa
20 February 2014
Great application!
Like
Version 3.7.3
rikk5952
09 February 2014
IVolume 3.7 crashes immediately on startup. I use a iMac27 and latest version of Mavericks. Anyone having the same issue? No problems however when returning to iVolume 3.6.6.
Like (1)
Version 3.7.0
1 answer(s)
rikk5952
rikk5952
14 February 2014
Found the cause: there were a some songs in the library with missing files.
Like
Algos
06 February 2014
Holy… It's here!
Like
Version 3.7.0
Stormchild
04 May 2013
As of iTunes 11 (or maybe one of the later versions of iTunes 10.x), I've run into a lot of songs in my library that are no longer playing at the correct volume level. It used to be possible to "nudge" iTunes into re-reading the iTunNORM value from the file, but the old trick for this (editing some tag, then changing it back) no longer works. 1. Selecting multiple songs and changing one or more tag values no longer causes iTunes to refresh the SoundCheck value for those songs. Absolutely nothing will change when editing multiple songs. The *only* way to get iTunes to recognize the volume level in the file is to change a tag for one (and *only* one) song at a time, e.g. add "2" to the end of the album name. 2. Here's the worst part: as soon as you change that tag back, iTunes reverts to the wrong volume level, which means there's effectively no way to get it to recognize the SoundCheck level set by iVolume unless you're willing to have wrong info for the song. Even restarting iTunes between changes doesn't help. iTunes now seems to have the original SoundCheck level for each song (as measured by iTunes when the song was first imported) stored in its big unreadable binary database, and apparently there is no longer any way to get it to update that value. If a song plays too loud or too quiet, it's basically stuck that way. While iVolume itself still works quite well, this issue really defeats the entire purpose of using it. I've contacted the developer with a detailed report of this problem. Here's hoping he can figure out some way to work around this, because I've tried everything (and I've been coercing iTunes to do what I want it to do since v1.0, so I know my way around it).
Like (1)
Version 3.6.6
1 answer(s)
Digital_Me
Digital_Me
30 May 2013
Your right. I've recently started using iTunes Match since I have many old music from the now out of business eMusic store. After iTunes Match to higher bit rate, some just won't adjust with iVolume. I have to manually adjust them.
Like (2)
freiheit
18 October 2012
So glad to see iVolume is still being maintained. Been running it for a couple of years to keep my new iTunes tracks' volume in line with the rest of my library. Works rather well though I still occasionally have a track I need to tweak (usually they're too quiet and need to be brought up a bit) but most tracks fall right in line.
Like (4)
Version 3.6.6
Mruben
22 September 2012
Just tried to use iVolume after updating to OS X 10.8.2 and iTunes 10.7. iVolume crashes whenever I click the "Start" button. Anyone else having this lockup problem?
Like
Version 3.6.5
LizBo
07 July 2012
What gives with the PPC/Intel 10.4+ requirements? When I downloaded version 3.6.5 it was 10.6+ and Intel only.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.5
Xplicit
13 April 2012
Kind of a failure especially compared to prior versions. Bloated and confusing interface, keyboard shortcuts not intuitive and worst of all the app crashes every time right after the start if it's not allowed to connect to mani.de. Also since the app is just some GUI for the replay gain algorithm it's grotesquely overpriced.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.5
Big Johnson
07 January 2012
OMG! This is the worst case of NAGware I've ever seen! The registration window says it will remind you "from time to time to register." That "time to time" works out to every 5 seconds! When unregistered, the process only runs for 5 seconds before it stops and displays a registration nag screen. You must wait the designated amount of time before you may proceed: 1st pause=5 sec., 2nd pause=10 sec., 3rd pause=15 sec., and every pause after that is 20 seconds. So after running for 5 seconds, you must wait 20 seconds before you can run for 5 more seconds! Then, even though the process starts again, it provides an extremely annoying uh-uh sound when you press the Continue button. Maybe the registration screen pops up after a certain number of tracks have been processed, but it worked out to every 5 seconds for me. And don't you dare go try to use another app while it's running, because in 5 seconds when it's time to hit Continue again, the icon begins bouncing in the Dock, making you want to punch the screen. I have now disabled Dock icon bouncing. I didn't get to fully evaluate the app, because I don't have the patience or time to sit here pressing the Continue button every 20 seconds, and I'm not not gonna waste time making a script to do it for me. I'm giving 2 stars for Features, Value and Stability just because I have to provide a rating to submit this review. They may merit 5 stars, but there's no way to tell since I couldn't test the app.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.5
1 answer(s)
Mruben
Mruben
07 March 2012
You gave a paid app a half-star because it doesn't let you use it fully unlocked for free? That doesn't seem appropriate. The app works well enough to allow you to gauge whether it fulfills its function - and it does that very well. If you don't have any stability complaints, it's unethical to rate it low on stability. Sheesh.
Like (9)
pnn314
26 December 2011
iVolume v3.6.5 does not exist in App Stote! There is omly iVolume v3.6.1,
Like (1)
Version 3.6.5
Lopoz
25 December 2011
In my opinion this software is overpriced. I like to have my music at the same volume, but I'd pay around 4 to 6 euro's for it, tops.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.5
Lopoz
25 December 2011
In my opinion this software is overpriced. I like to have my music at the same volume, but I'd pay around 4 to 6 euro's for it, tops.
Like (1)
Version 3.6.5
anonymous-snipe-287
23 December 2011
Version 3.6.5 (finally) arrived on November 22. This version fixes numerous issues with Mac OS X 10.7.x.
Like
Version 3.6
Contributor
10 July 2011
I wanted all my 6½ thousand music tracks on iTunes to be at the same volume level, and had started listening to them individually and adjusting each one. This would take for ever, so I looked for an application that would do it for me, and iVolume seemed ideal. I set it to adjust all tracks to 93db. Although it adjusted all the tracks, they were audibly still at different volume levels. Many of the originally quieter ones, such as those from the 1930s, although now louder, were still too quiet and certainly not at the same volume level as louder tracks. To overcome this, I created folders in iVolume, each with its own volume adjustments, and started listening to each track to determine which ones should go into which folders to bring all tracks to about the same volume level. It was several weeks before I realised I was doing again what I had been doing in the first place before buying iVolume to do it for me. I want an application that will adjust all my music collection so that all tracks play at the same volume level such that, for example, Bing Crosby plays at the same volume level as Metallica without my having to adjust the volume. iVolume is not that application. Finally, there doesn't appear to be a way to remove all iVolume's adjustments and reset mps3 to their original volume levels.
Like (3)
Version 3.6
2 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
23 December 2011
@Ludio iVolume does exactly for me what you say it does not, make each song have the same relative volume level. I think I may know why it isn't working for you. You had already started to make your own manual adjustments prior to iVolume with iTunes, using Get Info on a track, then under Options, adjusting the slider from 'none'. Did you set those all back to 'none' (in the middle, no adjustment) before using iVolume? iVolume I think is analyzing the songs and setting the volume property correctly which is NOT the same as the manual adjustment you see in Get Info, it's another property. Then during playback, iTunes still tacks on the manual adjustment you set ON TOP of whatever volume setting iVolume has saved. In the iVOlume preferences, there is check box "Reset Manual Adjustments to 0%". This should be checked to remove any manual adjustments you made PRIOR to using iVolume. Also, have you confirmed that you have 'Sound Check' turned on in iTunes Preferences? I'm fairly sure it has to do with the adjustments you made prior to iVOlume that weren't reset to zero. Because iVolume has worked PERFECTLY for me for over a year (Mac), covering nearly 7K tracks. This includes classical music, which is especially prone to wide volume ranges. Hope this helps. As far as reseting the volume setting made by iVolume, if you have a Mac, then you can use AppleScript with iTunes. Check out Doug's AppleScripts for iTunes http://dougscripts.com/itunes/ There are scripts there that will do just about anything in iTunes, including setting any track property to any value you want. Good luck
Like (2)
Contributor
Contributor
23 December 2011
Hi Mcr. Thanks for your reply, but I had made sure to follow the instructions to reset the volume setting for all tracks to 'None', and made sure 'Sound Check' was on, before making adjustments with iVolume. After shelving iVolume, I looked for an alternative. I found and tried Smart Gain. There's no way to undo the changes made with Smart Gain, so I made a copy of some of my iTunes library and set about adjusting the volume on the copied tracks. It works well, and the waveform display of the the volume is very useful, as is the feature whereby the volume level of selected parts of a single track can be adjusted, but every track in the library would have to be adjusted individually. Thanks again for your reply, and thank you also for recommending dougscripts.com.
Like (3)
Perfakir
14 October 2010
I've been using this for a long time and has been very happy with it. Lately I have experienced some crashes with Apple Lossless files. This new version has solved that, the files that used to make iVolume crash are now analyzed correctly without crashes.
Like (3)
Version 3.6
jakebaruch-1
04 June 2010
Will iVolume ever be updated? It still crashes on me in SL when analyzing the tracks....
Like
Version 3.5
2 answer(s)
Schnitzel
Schnitzel
11 August 2010
No crashes on Snow Leopard so far, works great here. iVolume is still developed and most probably their customer support can help. iVolume decodes every song from the beginning to the end, so very often corrupt or non-standards-compliant songs can make it crash. Get rid of those bad songs and everything's fine.
Like (1)
Version 3.5
Stormchild
Stormchild
04 September 2010
I haven't had any crashes or reliability problems here. Been using iVolume with Snow Leopard for nearly a year now with no issues.
Like
Version 3.5
Mugwump
25 October 2009
This app seems to work, but I'm finding recently (since 10.6) that random songs that were previously adjusted now are gray, and need a re-adjustment. Also, songs that have been played many times mysteriously come up as "File Not Found" in this app. I've gone so far as to remove the songs from the Library and re-add them, but no change. I've tried to get an answer from the developer, but no reply yet. I have about 9600 songs - does this make a difference in the way iVolume works? And there's still no alternative to this?
Like
Version 3.5
1 answer(s)
Schnitzel
Schnitzel
11 August 2010
Had the same issue, got response from the developer support, the cause for the rare "File Not Found" errors is found and fixed, a (free) update is planned very soon.
Like
Version 3.5
Werty
11 October 2009
Worked really good, the only things that i don't like of this app are the gui and the price...
Like (3)
Version 3.5
Larry-R
18 September 2009
The staff that updated iVolume should be applauded for responding so quickly to the volume adjustment problem that was created by iTunes 9. Using the new updated version of iVolume I was able to go into my iTunes, selected all the songs that iVolume was unable to previously adjust (due Tag issues) and it adjusted everyone of them, quickly and without a single error. Congratulations for work well done. Everyone needs to recognize mani.de efforts.
Like (3)
Version 3.5
pl-svn
17 September 2009
... 15,95 € + Taxes an upgrade from version 2.x? =:-0
Like (2)
Version 3.5
Shock-J
12 September 2009
Apparently iTunes 9's Sound Check uses a new mechanism for adjusting song playback volume. Any new songs I import into iTunes 9 cannot be adjusted by iVolume. It gives me the "No iTunNORM Tag" error every time. And yes I have Sound Check turned on. I hope the developers are already on this problem.
Like
Version 3.1.5
2 answer(s)
Esquare61
Esquare61
13 September 2009
They're working on it: http://www.mani.de/backstage/
Like
Version 3.1.5
Shock-J
Shock-J
13 September 2009
Thanks for the link. Their web site isn't all that user friendly when it comes to finding information. No real navigation. Just normal text links inside the main content areas. It's almost like they don't want you to find the really useful information. Strange.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.5
Crwright
30 July 2009
I really like the results this produces - and it was great value with the MacUpdate promo. As I'd already bought it when it went on sale by itself, I have two licenses now... and still don't feel cheated. Having said that, the user interface needs a fair bit of work to make it meet the quality of the underlying programming. Just putting a glossy "piano black" top on a floating window and a side pane of "Groups" does not an consistent Apple interface make. Aside from some very questionable aesthetics ("glossy" black title bar? "Glowing" blue text? What on earth are the earbuds floating in space for?), there are some fundamental navigation problems that need addressing. Starting with preference for "Use standard MacOS window" would be great. For a start, why is any search reset when any function is called? If I search for U2 so that I can level new tracks I know I added... and I select them... and I click "Start", WHY would the search be cleared - returning me to a full list of all 17,000 tracks in my iTunes library? That's nuts. I usually want to watch the tracks being adjusted without doing a second search or scrolling through 12,000 tracks. Just don't clear the search box automatically - that's what the "X" at the end of the box is for. It even happens when I call "adjust tracks selected in iTunes". Not cleverly executed. "Groups" is no substitute for a quick search & adjust. You shouldn't need to create a new "group" every time you want to isolate a set of tracks to level and check to see how much they were adjusted. In fact I still can't work out what groups are really useful for. I understand the general idea, but they really ought to function more like smart playlists and be dynamic search groups. Having to drag/drop or copy tracks to a new group each time I create it makes them much less useful. I would really like a "Live" group in iVolume to contain all tracks that have "live" in the title, genre or gouping tags to be in that group all the time. Updating the library/links. There has to be a better way to reload the contents of the iTunes library than quitting and re-launching iVolume. The MacOS has supported system events that notify applications of changes in files since... oh... like System 6.0.2 or something earlier. Not knowing the database has been changed and updating the information in resident memory is a bit sloppy. Even if that's tricky to add - just a button that re-loads the library manually would be great. Don't make me quit/restart every time a track is added to iTunes. Similarly - there has to be a better way to handle "No iTunesNORM tag". Maybe it will require a script to tell iTunes to add one, but that should probably be on the list of future things to tidy up. Still and all - I like the results - it works - and it's a good effort. It just needs a bit of spit and polish (and less polish on the title bar). [BTW - you can easily remove the absurd earbuds yourself (but not the piano black & glowing text) if you just "Show Package Contents" and look for "PhoneLeft.png" and "PhoneRight.png". Delete. You're done. Won't cause any harm in my experience. If you didn't understand that, probably best to leave it alone.]
Like (4)
Version 3.1.5
1 answer(s)
r-owen
r-owen
22 September 2009
I agree completely. The application does an excellent job of setting levels and I really appreciate the ability to set the volume for a whole album. However, the GUI needs to work. Thank you for the instructions for removing the hideous and intrusive earphones.
Like (1)
Version 3.5
Baby-Bloc
31 May 2009
Are there other developers who are charging an extra "License Code Lookup" fee so you can ask them to lookup the license code if you forget it? I've never had to do that before. Never occurred to me it was a service that "cost" much. Maybe it takes a lot of time?
Like (2)
Version 3.1.4
A-Bomb
04 March 2009
Absolutely brilliant application! Once you spend the time to balance it out with protected tracks it brings much needed consistency in your iTunes music library. I can't imagine living without it now.
Like
Version 3.1.4
Quickben
20 December 2008
I'm not going to give this app a rating as I take full responsibility for not reading the user's guide, etc as I should have. As far as working, it seems to do a fine job. My problem lies in the comment replacement this app makes. Thousands of comments about songs dating back several years--all gone (the word 'furious' comes to mind in this situation). Does this app really have to replace comments with their own drivel? If you don't comment your songs, then go for it. If you do, I cannot recommend it. (There is a preference check that allows one to turn off comment overwrites, but if you click it a warning message pops up stating the app won't work properly if it can't write over comments.)
Like (1)
Version 3.1.4
1 answer(s)
Quickben
Quickben
21 December 2008
Please disregard my post. The developers sent me a work-around to this problem. My apologies!
Like (1)
Version 3.1.4
Axle
08 December 2008
I can't believe how easy this thing is to use and the amazing difference in iTunes it has made. Even my lower sized MP3s have a boost of energy I always cringed about. I know the ID tag thing is a hassle, but this application is totally worth it. The second time I ran it, I couldn't believe how fast it was going. The initial time was a bit of a pain, but still, faster than what I've heard before. Operating version 3 on a Mac Powerbook G4.
Like
Version 3.1.4
Xplicit
09 November 2008
I tried v3 today and I'm very disappointed. Completely unintuitive, I can't figure out how it works. No problem with v2.5.3, not at all: Select tracks in iTunes, switch to iVolume, hit CMD-Enter and there you go. Not with v3: Why is it necessary to comlicate things like that? I cannot recommend iVolume v3. iVolume v2.5.3 was way better.
Like (3)
Version 3.1.4
Doug-S-
07 November 2008
Feature Request: Smart Groups. Basically, right now this program goes through all my podcasts, audiobooks and songs. I want it to only process songs as the difference in volume isn't nearly so big a deal with those.
Like
Version 3.1.4
Sapporobaby
17 September 2008
I am on the fence about upgrading to the new 3.x.x version. I am currently using 2.5.3 and it seems to work okay. However, what I did prior was use DRM Dumpster (over priced as hell) to remove all DRM from my library. After this, iVolume should be able to equalize my entire library. Why Apple continues with its crappy algorithm is beyond me. They should simply buy iVolume and include it for free. I am equalizing a library right now to see how things turn out.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Stormchild
24 August 2008
Well, I finally had a chance to test this out on a Mac Mini (1.83 GHz Core2Duo), and I will say one thing: iVolume 3 really is a lot faster if you have a multicore Intel Mac. As I said before, I saw no speed improvement over version 2 on my PowerBook G4, which is what makes the upgrade price so hard to swallow (essentially no benefit for older systems). I also noticed that you can configure iVolume 3 to work like version 2 (i.e. "Start button processes tracks selected in iTunes"), which was the other main complaint I had about the workflow in v3. When I'm able to afford a new Mac, I will probably suck it up and pay the $20 to upgrade, as it does seem to offer real improvements on newer hardware. I'm still disappointed about the price doubling in every release, and the fact that iVolume 2 is no longer available for download for those who want to stick with the current version for now, but at least the speed increase adds some real value for the money.
Like
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
14 September 2008
Odd. I analysed my library once when I had a G4 PowerBook (1.5Ghz, 2GB RAM) and once again when I bought my new MacBook Pro (2.33ghz, 3GB RAM). I have a very large library and on the PB it took just under 24 hours to process every track including audiobooks and such. With the MBP it took just over 3 hours. Now given the more RAM and faster processor I would have imagined 12 hours or so to be a vast improvement. Not 3 hours. Maybe my experience wasn't typical though.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Edstate
19 August 2008
First of all, yes, this is a "one trick pony". However, this is a pony that Apple, and iTunes should do a much, much better job with than they do. So... as someone who makes a lot of mixes, burns CDs for people, and listens to a lot of music, $30 isn't so bad. I LOVED version 1.0, but I dinged the DEV in a review here when 2.0 came out, because of the "turn on soundcheck" function. Apparently when the 4th gen iPods came out, they closed the "loophole" the dev was using, so he had to go that route. So now this version has come out, and at first I was VERY skeptical about plunking for more $$. However, I downloaded the demo, and.. lo-and-behold... it IS re-built from the ground up. The interface is much improved, and it now has the ability to process many songs at once. Yay. It also produces much better results than 2.0. And while still not perfect, it's still better than iTunes "stock" soundcheck. A couple of features that need a'implimentin': • A PAUSE button • Some way of dealing with "no tag" songs. ...updating the tags in iTunes only fixes a scant few of these. More songs than you'd think do NOT have the proper tags. • Some way of dealing with iTunes AAC protected songs, and podcasts. Otherwise, a worthy update. A step forward. Stable, fast, and pretty too.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
Stormchild
Stormchild
24 August 2008
Sadly, I think the only way to deal with DRM-protected tracks in iTunes is simply not to buy any. Now that iTunes offers a decent amount of songs in iTunes Plus format, I just stick to those. If I want to buy something that's not available in iTunes Plus, I go look for it on Beatport, Juno, Amazon or elsewhere. For me, the problem isn't limited to being unable to adjust the SoundCheck level with iVolume; DRM-protected tracks cannot be played by any other software either, so I can't play them when DJing (with Ableton Live or Serato Scratch). I realize you can burn them to disc and reimport them, but that's a pretty ridiculous strategy if you buy a lot of music. Boycott DRM.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Stormchild
01 August 2008
If it's really true that iVolume 2 will no longer work properly with iTunes 7.7.1 and newer, then that really stinks. Because quite frankly, $30 for this one-trick pony is a bloody insane ripoff, and I simply won't pay it. It was well worth the $7 it originally cost, and I was even willing to pay again when it doubled in v2, but the developer is getting awfully greedy now, and $30 is absolutely RIDICULOUS -- especially when you consider that the core "work" done by this app is done by an open source algorithm painstakingly written by SOMEBODY ELSE, given away for free, then taken by this schmuck and wrapped in a simple GUI that gets unnecessarily gunked up with CPU-wasting and pointless animations while the price -- for the exact same algorithm and results (which is all the work of someone ELSE) -- doubles every release. I no longer recommend this to anyone, and I will never support this guy ever again.
Like (4)
Version 3.1.1
6 answer(s)
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
01 August 2008
Pretty harsh review. Can you at least tell us who that someone "Else" is?
Like
Version 3.1.1
Mjpw
Mjpw
01 August 2008
the actual site is http://replaygain.hydrogenaudio.org, not .com. I visited it and it looks as though it hasn't been updated since 2001. So iVolume just a wrapper for someone else's code. Code that was made available for free specifically so other people could build their own software around it. You could say that Mac OS X is just a fancy wrapper for BSD Linux and refuse to pay for that, too. If you can do it yourself, that's fine, but most people could not, and if you have any size of music library at all, it's probably worth the cost of a couple of MP3 albums to upgrade to a product that has vastly improved from one version to the next.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Mjpw
Mjpw
01 August 2008
oops, meant BSD Unix. you get my point.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Stormchild
Stormchild
02 August 2008
Certainly. The "someone else" is the author of ReplayGain, the algorithm that does all the work which iVolume takes credit for. See for yourself: http://replaygain.hydrogenaudio.org And as for the second comment, I think you are missing the point of this software altogether if you don't see the problem here. Once you have adjusted thousands of songs (in my case, over 10,000), you have to continue adjusting every new song you add to your library. And you have no choice but to continue upgrading to new versions of iTunes, since they are required to support new iPods and iPhones and -- even if you don't buy new hardware -- iTunes updates are required to keep up with general OS X updates. So, in order to keep the benefit of having adjusted my entire library with this software -- which I have now paid for twice already -- I have to keep paying for essentially the exact same software over and over, and the bloody price DOUBLES every time, with very poor discounts offered to existing users. And is there any way to simply stop using it and remove it's adjustments so that songs will at least be somewhat similar in volume via the original iTunes-generated Sound Check values? No, of course not, because iVolume has written it's values directly into the ID3 tags of every song. It does have a restore feature, but if iVolume 2 doesn't work with iTunes 7.7.1, I am already completely screwed, as there is no way to revert to an older version of iTunes without an enormous amount of work and hassle. So I am left in a position where I either suck it up and pay more for another "upgrade" that produces the exact same results as before -- and is not ANY faster on my machine -- not to mention the fact that the upgrade price is more than I paid for versions 1 & 2 put together. It's an absolute outrage, considering all the advanced math that does the psychoacoustic analysis was not even written by this greedy butthead who merely wrapped a GUI around it. Now I have to come up with my own solution for applying the same algorithm to my songs, and believe me, if I do find the time to do this, I will make sure to give it away for free so I can put this clown out of business and make him get a real job.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1
Stormchild
Stormchild
02 August 2008
And no, Mac OS X is NOT a fancy wrapper for BSD. That's not even a gross oversimplification -- it's just plain wrong. *Darwin* is built upon pieces from several different BSD variants -- and you may download and use Darwin for free. Darwin only forms the basic foundation of Mac OS X, and even then, the kernel -- the core "brain" of the entire OS -- was written by Avie Tevanian, an engineer at Apple. They did not take an existing kernel from another Unix variant, it's their own work. The full Mac OS X operating system is 90% the work of Apple. So that's a rather false analogy, and completely irrelevant to this discussion.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Mjpw
Mjpw
02 August 2008
I think 2.5.3 probably still works in most situations, as there are Leopard-specific fixes in it, but the developer no longer makes that version available on his Web site. Since I hadn't kept up with the updates (I think I had 2.5 on my HD), in order to run iVolume in Leopard I basically had no choice but to upgrade iVolume or downgrade my OS. I was satisfied with the new version and the upgrade cost, but I still think developers should continue to make older versions available on their site so people can update or reinstall the software they've already paid for.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Mjpw
28 July 2008
I thought the upgrade price was steep, too, but then I used it. I used to use the old one and it was just okay--it did an important job, but not particularly elegantly. And eventually the issue with the iTunNORM tags made it virtually unusable. The new one is ridiculously fast compared to the older versions if you have a CPU that can take advantage of it. I'm on a Mac Pro and it is on pace to power through a 21,000-song collection in about 8 hours, even while using the computer for other tasks. In the old version, you're looking at 3-4 days for the same size library. It also has not crashed once--the old one used to crash every few hours (semi-understandable considering the amount of data being processed for such a long period of time, but still annoying). As for the iTunNORM tag errors, I finally broke down and tried the process outlined on their Web site, and while it does take time, I didn't find it particularly "painful"--you're just creating a temporary library, deleting it and going back to your old one like nothing happened. And after doing that, I haven't seen a single one of those errors, so it must have worked. The one remaining caveat is that protected iTunes tracks can't be analyzed. But they can still use the default iTunes SoundCheck adjustments, which are imperfect but better than nothing. I'm glad this has been upgraded. It's absolutely essential if you listen to your tracks at work or on an iPod and don't want to be changing the volume every time a new song comes on.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
Mjpw
Mjpw
01 August 2008
update: by the time the 21,000 tracks were processed (in about 7 hours), there were actually nine files with the no-tag error. Most of them were downloaded from, shall we say, non-official sources, so they're probably just bad files. Before performing the procedure listed on their Web site, I'd say about 75 percent of the tracks went un-analyzed.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Dradra
27 July 2008
iVolume is a must-have once you realize the importance of volume leveling. I simply can't believe such a feature does not come with iTunes. But I'm definitely not upgrading to v3 until the NO TAG problem has been fixed. Even though this problem occurs with only 10% of the files, it defeats the whole purpose of using a volume leveling program. I still have to raise the volume for those problematic songs and lower it again afterwards. Although well-detailed, the workaround "kindly" provided by the editor is a really painful process (http://www.mani.de/ivolume/notag.html) . When I finally decided to give it a try I had to stop at the step A.3 "Select all the songs that ...": iVolume does not support multiple selection and I have 200 files to drag to iTunes. I find this workaround a bit outraging. Why cannot iVolume do the work itself? Am I supposed to repeat the whole process each time I'm adding new songs?
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Consumer
10 July 2008
Version 2 promised that the volume adjustment correction made by iVolume was carried over during the audio CD burn within iTunes. That was the only reason I bought it, and it never worked. No responses from the developer when I notified him about my problems. developer 15, me = 0
Like
Version 3.0.1
Stormchild
01 July 2008
I've been using iVolume since the very first public release, and I highly recommend it... ...Version 2, that is. I'll be skipping version 3, at least for now, because: - It may be faster on current multicore Intel CPUs, but I'm not seeing any real performance improvement on my 1.67 GHz G4 PowerBook. Frankly it might even be slower due to the wasteful new animation in the UI. - The end result is the same; the algorithm may have been optimized to run faster (for some people), but as far as I can tell, the calculated result is no more accurate than it was in version 2. (If I remember correctly, version 2 introduced a new/improved algorithm with better results.) - I actually prefer the workflow in version 2. I select some songs in iTunes, open iVolume and hit command-return. In version 3, I have to go find the songs again in iVolume before I can do anything to them. The fact that it loads the entire iTunes library also makes it take a lot longer to startup, and it uses 3-4 times more memory. To me this is zero steps forward, two steps back. - It's just way too expensive. Version 1 was $7. Version 2 was $15. Version 3 is $30. The price keeps doubling, but it's just the same one-trick pony with a nicer UI. A $20 upgrade for a UI makeover is not worth it, but the fact that the memory usage/disk reads are so much worse clinches the deal. The bad news is, there is apparently no way to download iVolume 2 anymore. If you're a registered user, you might be able to get a download link by emailing the developer, but if you didn't buy version 2 before, you're probably out of luck. Obviously you can't buy version 2 licenses anymore. :( To me, iVolume 3 is like Windows Vista. It's prettier, but everyone's going back to XP (= iVolume 2).
Like
Version 3.0.1
gryphonent
14 June 2008
I'm shocked by the high upgrade price. As a registered user of both version 1 and 2 I still cannot see much improvement to the earlier versions apart from the GUI and some speed gain. Furthermore, the app has lost ground to iTunes, which now does pretty much the same job... and in my opinion much better. The developer puts out an upgrade very two years or so... without ever fixing existing bugs or replying to customer feedback in between. I've had enough. Buyer beware.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Esquare61
20 May 2008
Guys, you have to realize that the maker of iVolume lives in Europe. In Euro the price hasn't changed that much. :) That being said: I think version 3 clearly needs some work before it's worth its price.
Like
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
10 July 2008
if ever ...
Like
Version 3.0.1
Xplicit
20 May 2008
Does what it's supposed to do. But it's way! too expensive considering that it's based on a free framework. I stick with version 2.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Tekl
20 May 2008
I also bought v2 for $15 and it was worth the price. But I'm one of the customers who bought the update without thinking as I need iVolume regularly. Well, if I think about the price afterwards it's really expensive and the update price for customers is a pain in the ass. That's not how to deal with customers. As iVolume is based on the free ReplayGain, you just pay for an interface and some sort of comfort. To talk about the software itself. The speed-bump is enormous and that's the only real big thing. The new interface is nice but it's just a cosmetic thing. I'm missing some real enhancements like automatically fixing songs with missing iTunNORM tags or a way to normalize DRM songs. You should think twice if you really want to pay such a high price for the comfort and the speed. If you own v2 and you are satisfied you don't need the update for $20.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Jimw
20 May 2008
First of all you may need to change your paradigm of business. It is the exception for a person to be in business to provide a product or service. The overwhelming focus of almost all business (non-profits excluded) is to make money. Providing a service or product is just how they do it. Some achieve a balance between the quality of the product or service; some are just greedy. For those whose product or service exceed the cost of what they are providing, they either go out of business or run it as a non-profit. In my experience I have encountered these types of business persons: 1. Quick Buck Artist: Driven by greed, supply a barely on non functional product or service - interested in single purchases by suckers. 2. The Opportunist: Puts out a product or service that sort of works but provide little or no support. In the case of software, buy it again at or nearly at full price. Only looking for one time purchases by uninformed customers and not interested in long term business relationships. 3. Show Me the Money: Puts out quality service or product but charges for every little item or update. 'Nickels & 'Dimes' people to death. Business plan is 'Whatever the market will bear.' Looking for customers that are willing to 'mortgage their house' in order to use their product or service. Only interested in long term business relationships with customers who have deep pockets. 4. Desired Business Person: Achieves a balance between solid products or services and a fair profit. Their reputation and ethics is as important as profit. Looking for long term business relations where the customer is satisfied and the company makes a reasonable profit. 5. Clueless: No business sense at all. Puts out a good product or service but does not know how to market or charge for it. A short term relationship for both - business and customer. Such businesses go out of business. 6. Philanthropist or Student: Puts out a great product or service. In business for the experience. Regards the journey as the reward or in it for the learning experience. Does not expect to make money but hopes to break even someday. It not, at least they leave a legacy and happy customers. So I will leave it to the reader to choose what category you might place this developer. Too bad I vote tally can't be set up on MacUpdate :) FYI: Non-Profit can be sort of a misnomer. While the net profits of a non-profit is supposed to be zero, employees are paid, sometimes very handsomely. Some administrators do very well to the tune of 6 or even 7 figure salaries. That's is not 'non-profit' by my standards. Some argue that that is what they are worth as they would be making that or more in 'industry.' But that has nothing to do with it. If they accept a position with a non-profit there is supposed to be a more important reason that the paycheck. If they were looking for a fat paycheck they should have stayed in 'industry' instead of profiteering from others good will.
Like
Version 3.0.1
2 answer(s)
ultratiem
ultratiem
20 May 2008
So what's your point? Why are you writing this? What does Mani have to change? I am lost... "Paradigm of business"? That's funny... pseudo-intellectualism as its finest!
Like
Version 3.0.1
Jimw
Jimw
20 May 2008
Not understanding this is precisely why people get taken by quick buck charlatans. For the people that do understand it, hopefully it will give them some guidance so they will not get taken in by some leech. As W.C. Fields once said: "It's morally wrong to allow a sucker to keep his money"
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Tboot
19 May 2008
I've been using iVolume for just a few months and now I have to buy it all over again for th same price plus $5? No thank you. I like this program a lot, but not enough to upgrade. I haven't been able to get 3.0.1 to run, anyway -- it crashes before it finishes "updating information about tracks."
Like
Version 3.0.1
Caberlin
19 May 2008
Oh please, can those earplugs-icons (with the size of shower-heads) which overlay even screen space not belonging to the software and have no use be removed? I can't understand why the slick interface from the previous version was replaced with that! I need that screen space for better things...
Like
Version 3.0.1
Feh-App-Store
19 May 2008
I bought iVolume 2 when it came out. It's awesome - just wish we could get away from a DRM world so I can equalize my entire library. That said... Charging 2/3 the cost of the full version, a whopping $20, when I supported iVolume 2 and the only thing different is "it's been rewritten" and "it's faster" just pisses me off. I paid $15 for iVolume 2. Now, I'm asked to pay that again PLUS another $5 for an UPDATE? Go eff yourself.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Bruce-y
19 May 2008
FYI, new pricing with iVolume version 3: New purchase is now $29.95 (not $15). Upgrade from either version 1 or 2 costs $19.95. (I bought ver 1, then paid upgrade for ver 2. It works well, but Too Pricey for upgrade for me currently. :-(
Like
Version 3.0.1
Baby-Bloc
14 May 2008
I'll have to learn more (where's the release notes?) before I decide on a $20 upgrade.) The new version looks flashier, but I like simplicity. If this one does something that's really better, maybe I can use it.
Like
Version 3.0
gryphonent
13 May 2008
I registered iVolume at version 2 and reported various problems years ago. They were never fixed. Overall, support and development for the app was literally non-existent. As you can read from the other reviews the app itself isn't really convincing either. I've got no idea what has changed under version 3 but won't update for $20. Way too pricey. Done the mistake once, won't do it twice.
Like
Version 3.0
Maeric
02 January 2008
GOT 'NO TAG' ERRORS - WHAT'S UP? This is the overall problem I am reading in others comments. I am using the demo mode and in the 10 song limit I found this to be true as well. I went to the website to see what's up before I buy this app and the problem is addressed clearly. Here's the answer/explanation: iVolume is adjusting the tag named 'iTunNORM' that is embedded by iTunes directly into the tracks when 'Sound Check' is turned on. If the 'iTunNORM' tag is missing in a song, iVolume can't adjust that song. The result is a 'No Tag' error. If you get 'No Tag' errors in iVolume, first make sure that 'Sound Check' is turned on in 'iTunes > Preferences… > Playback'. Sometimes you may still get 'No Tag' errors for many tracks. Especially older iTunes versions tend to store the 'iTunNORM' tag in its internal database instead of inside the track files. In this case you can force iTunes to put the missing 'iTunNORM' tags into the songs by performing the following instructions: http://www.mani.de/en/software/macosx/ivolume/faq.html#tag
Like
Version 2.5.3