Back to Thunderbird page
Thunderbird free download for Mac

Thunderbird Reviews

68.1.0
12 September 2019

Email client from Mozilla.

mbt
21 September 2013

Most helpful

Someone at MU needs to update the "no longer being actively developed" notice at the top of this page. It may not be under active development by the Mozilla team, but its under active community development. Getting to the review - I used Eudora for many many years, and it was great. It pretty much just worked and had a very intuitive interface. I eventually had to bail on it because it got left behind. I've been using Thunderbird for a few years and found it to have a nice, responsive interface. It does have a bug that causes send-mail errors with some IMAP servers that caused me to switch to Apple Mail for a while. At first I thought was equivalent, but after about a month, I found myself trying to switch back to TBird because it just worked better. I eventually figured out how to get around the bug, and all has been good since. The interface has had minor updates over the last few years, but v24 has an impressive number of under-the-hood updates. Quite happy with it.
Like (8)
Version 24.0

Read 324 Thunderbird User Reviews

Rate this app:

brian163
31 August 2019
This is like a previous release and it not intended to upgrade current versions. From the Thunderbird site: "Thunderbird version 68.0 is only offered as direct download from thunderbird.net and not as upgrade from Thunderbird version 60 or earlier. A future version 68.1 will provide updates from earlier versions."
Like
Version 68.0
1 answer(s)
brian163
brian163
31 August 2019
Sorry, I meant to type "preview release"....
Like
Version 68.0
a3a05603
30 August 2019
I had been using Thunderbird 60.8.0. When I installed 68.0 it didn't recognize any of my e-mail accounts and saw none of my old messages. It asked me to create things anew, as if I had never used Thunderbird before. When I did that it still couldn't see the old data. And it essentially didn't work. So I removed it and restored 60.8.0. I consider this application useless. If I could give zero stars, I would.
Like (1)
Version 68.0
1 answer(s)
brian163
brian163
31 August 2019
See my comment
Like
Version 68.0
badbadger
29 August 2019
I understand that free software and everything independent, and open source and theoretically taking care of privacy etc. But it looks terribly archaic, like from 15 years ago. And this is a lot in technology. As already mentioned, it takes a lot of resources. Thunderbird doesn't understand modernity at all. Good for basement nerds.
Like
Version 68.0
zlazkow
16 June 2019
excellent. BUT...uses a lot of CPU and Memory. So 1.5 stars less.
CPU: 24...44..57% !!!
Memory: 260mb, while Spark uses 150mb - more than any other application.
Like
Version 60.7.1
2 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
16 June 2019
sorry, I clearly marked 3.5 stars, but ended up with 3 stars.
Like
cig0
cig0
28 June 2019
I'd advice you to stay away from Spark if you value your privacy -- that app and the company behind it are intrusive as few dare to be.
Like
RogerKatz
14 June 2019
MacUpdate's URL downloads version 16.7.0 - I had to go to Mozilla.org to get the newest version 60.7.1
Like
Version 60.7.1
1 answer(s)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
14 June 2019
Sorry, my TYPO - MacUpdate's URL downloads version 60.7.0 - I had to go to Mozilla.org to get the newest version 60.7.1
Like
Hal-Itosis
21 May 2019
Yesterday, MacUpdate presented a link to Thunderbird version 60.7.0 which I downloaded. Today, they present a link to version 60.6.1 and according to https://www.thunderbird.net/en-US/thunderbird/releases/ there is no version 60.7.0 out there... and never has been.

W T F ?
Like
Version 60.6.1
4 answer(s)
Macfool
Macfool
22 May 2019
Wrong! https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/thunderbird/releases/60.7.0/mac/en-US/
Avail. since the 18th of May.. So much WHINING!
Like
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
22 May 2019
You're confused. 60.7.0 was not listed yesterday, at the http link I provided (who uses ftp anymore?). But... the point was: MU posted 60.7.0 one day, and THEN 60.6.1 the NEXT day. You needn't take it so personally, unless you're the one in charge. 8-)
Like
Macfool
Macfool
22 May 2019
The ftp site is the primary repository for all Mozilla products, even when using their websites. Learn something and cease the whining. Nothing personal.
Like
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
22 May 2019
Wrong. The 60.7.0 update which I downloaded from MU two days ago has an "https://download-installer.cdn.mozilla.net/pub/" URL in its "Where from" metadata. So, your ftp comment is •entirely• irrelevant. :) Also, you keep ducking the principal point... which is that they posted version 60.6.1 •after• they already posted 60.7.0 initially. You're not particularly bright, are you. :)
Like
Macfool
20 May 2019
TB rock solid for years. Never missed or lost a thing. Also v 60.7.0 is in release incl. some ZombieLoad mitigations like FF67.0..
Like
Version 60.6.1
56eagle
10 April 2019
Would not Accept my email user name & password
Like
Version 60.6.1
rmaniacnyc
07 April 2019
wonderful, includes pop so i can archive. also has internal browser so while click on link in email it opens internally, saving time
Like (1)
Version 60.6.1
Itbjorn
31 March 2019
Looks OK but couldn't use the Adress book
Like
Version 60.6.1
zlazkow
14 March 2019
Used T. many centuries ago with Windows. I use Spark and like it, but decided to give it a try. What a surprise...it is also controlled by Google. Went straight into trash.
Like
Version 60.5.3
4 answer(s)
Brian Kendig
Brian Kendig
20 March 2019
Thunderbird is developed and released by Mozilla. Google has nothing to do with it.
Like (3)
zlazkow
zlazkow
20 March 2019
for some reason it asked me to sign-in with google or FB, otherwise it didn't let me to proceed. Yes, it's weird.
Like
Brian Kendig
Brian Kendig
20 March 2019
Thunderbird by itself has nothing to log in to. Perhaps you have a Gmail account still set up in it from the last time you used it?
Like (2)
zlazkow
zlazkow
21 March 2019
@ Brian Kendig....perhaps. I switched to Mac in 2007, and probably before that I did use TB, but not Gmail for sure. But I'll try again to install TB, I'll see how it goes. I think last time I downloaded from here.
Like
476429
27 December 2018
I used Thunderbird for a few years in the mid-2000s then switched to Apple Mail. I figured I'd give the Apple's built-in mail app a shot and get the benefits of its integration with the system. It was not worth it. I started using email on a VAX running Pine around 1991. Since the beginning, I've always preferred plain text. Apple Mail had some hidden preferences that forced it to always use plain text. Then Apple decided to remove those prefs. If someone sent you an email that included both plain text and HTML parts, Apple Mail shows use the HTML part by default. No way to change the default setting. That was just one of the Apple "upgrades" that drove me away from Apple Mail. I went back to Thunderbird and it was just as awesome as ever. I can set it up just the way I want it and use plain text by default. I also customized its appearance to look the best with my system. Thunderbird development still continues to this day. I have no problems with it at all. No bugs. No performance issues. In fact, I routinely perform searches on almost 100,000 messages and the results appear almost instantly. Awesome performance. If you want a rock solid email client with great performance, give Thunderbird a try.
Like (1)
Version 60.4.0
Weaztek
11 December 2018
I love Thunderbird. I was forced to move to it several years ago after Apple Mail wasn't playing nice with my charter email settings. A few plug-ins like Send Later and XNote make the app ingenious.
Like (1)
Version 60.3.3
piquadratpi2
10 December 2018
Version 60.3.3 is out since last week!
Like (3)
Version 60.3.2
7 answer(s)
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
10 December 2018
Yes... well, sort of. I also downloaded version "60.3.3" from MacUpdate last week. But as of right now, Mozilla shows no version "60.3.3" listed in its version history. Very strange...

https://www.thunderbird.net/en-US/thunderbird/releases/

-HI-
Like
nobody2011
nobody2011
10 December 2018
http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/thunderbird/releases/60.3.3/mac/
since 05/12/2018
Like (1)
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
10 December 2018
Since today 60.3.3 is listed in its version history and it shows up in the info window. But it is strange indeed that there is such a gap between the possibilty to get it and the version history.
Like
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
10 December 2018
@nobody2011: A file hiding in some ftp directory is not the same thing as being officially listed the Release Notes.

@piquadratpi2: >>Since today 60.3.3 is listed in its version history<<
Nope. Still not there.
Like
iurii
iurii
10 December 2018
Hi to everybody. For some reason Mozilla rolled back to the previous version. We had to do the same.
Like (1)
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
10 December 2018
take a look here: https://www.thunderbird.net/en-US/thunderbird/60.3.3/releasenotes/?uri=/thunderbird/releasenotes/&locale=de&version=60.3.3&channel=release&os=Darwin&buildid=20181204174145
Like
Scion777
Scion777
11 December 2018
yeah I was just about to say that but ya'll beat me to it
Like
Eric•Woehler
02 November 2018
Be warned, later versions will prevent you using your favourite extensions. I "upgraded" to 64.0b yesterday and not a single one of my 8 or so extensions worked. All deemed 'incompatible' with no replacement extensions. Examples include Mail Summaries, Printing Tools, Signature Switch, Theme Font & Size..., Config Date etc etc. Suddenly TB had bland GUI and UX was poor. Sticking w TB60 so I can use the software how I want. Be warned!
Like (1)
Version 60.3.0
badbadger
29 October 2018
Resource-consuming, sluggish, with a non-modern interface. It will be ideal for geeks and network administrators, ha, ha
Like (1)
Version 60.2.1
nobody2011
29 October 2018
File: Thunderbird 60.2.1 48M 02-Oct-2018 21:56
Like
Version 60.2.1
plarcher
29 October 2018
Better than Mail
Like
Version 60.2.1
Macfool
27 August 2018
Thunderbird is now v.60.0 which will come as a shock to those who liked FoxClocks, This bug-free email client has evolved. No need for add-ons like v.52.9.1
Like (1)
Version 52.9.1
orsobou4
14 July 2018
At last, I can use Thunderbird again! The most recent update listed really has made my e-mail accounts accessible, which was not possible with the earlier 52s.
Like (1)
Version 52.9.0
Scrapperoo
16 April 2018
Works great for my needs!
Like (1)
Version 52.7.0
ben-marko
05 January 2018
Shame what has happened to this app. Pushing it off of the Mozilla main plate has resulted in a buggy piece of software only suited to the most dedicated user.
Like (4)
Version 52.5.2
2 answer(s)
Macfool
Macfool
27 August 2018
What bugs, be specific? And these bugs effect you how?
Like (1)
Macfool
Macfool
20 May 2019
WRONG! Cite bugs which affect actual users?
Like
tjp1918
29 December 2017
Thunderbird is a pretty good application for email which I've been using since 2002, however it started changing and updating from version to version and the new stuff in the newer version are annoying me. As of today, I'm staying back at the oldest version which is still compatible with my OS is 37.1.0 Any version newer than that is not up to my liking. I am still following Thunderbird's new updates by downloading them and store them away to my external hd for future use (if I ever need any of them). The best thing I like this application coz the back up is very easy. Just go to user/library/Thunderbird, copy the whole folder of 'Thunderbird' to somewhere, now you have the whole latest Thunderbird backup. You can drop it back in to replace the present one anytime in case you need it. I have the backup Thunderbird folders back for about 2 years. Anyway, that's my 2 cents for today about Thunderbird. It's still a very good application for email. I'd rather to use it than Apple mail. :) :) :)
Like (2)
Version 52.5.2
Macfool
31 October 2017
There is a serious design flaw in Thunderbird. Thunderbird requires average or better intelligence to use successfully.
Like (1)
Version 52.4.0
2 answer(s)
orsobou4
orsobou4
28 November 2017
This new version of Thunderbird, the 52.5, accepts the password of one of my mail accounts, but I could not find out how to make a signature for my outgoing mails.
Like
grantster5405
grantster5405
12 October 2018
I prefer Netscape Navigator Suite
Like
orsobou4
19 April 2017
The new Thunderbird release has become even worse than before. It does not accept my password to the inbox as I tried to add my first account. I cannot use it at all, and when I try to uninstall it, I get alerted that some file is missing.
Like
Version 52.0.1
philim01
07 February 2017
Does anyone know how to identify and delete duplicate emails in Thunderbird 45.7.0 for Mac?
Like
Version 45.7.0
orsobou4
07 February 2017
What has got into this version of Thunderbird? I have tried to add a mail account to it, but it will not accept my password. It works in Apple Mail.
Like
Version 45.7.0
5 answer(s)
Andy-Hewitt
Andy-Hewitt
10 March 2017
That's most likely nothing to do with Thunderbird, i'll bet you've recently activated two-step security in your iCloud account. Some clients do not work with Apple's two-step security, so you have to go into your iCloud account and create an App-specific password, which you then use to login from apps such as TB.
Like (2)
orsobou4
orsobou4
10 March 2017
@Andy-Hewitt: It has nothing with iCloud either, because T-Bird can neither accept the passwords from my Yahoo IMAP account nor from my IMAP account of my ISP in Sweden.
Like
Andy-Hewitt
Andy-Hewitt
11 March 2017
Righto, it was just a thought. FWIW, it's been fine here on Linux and MacOS.
Like
orsobou4
orsobou4
11 March 2017
@Andy-Hewitt: Things have cleared out now. After having intalled the new update, the 45.8.0, I found that it was a mail account from Yahoo, but I have deleted it. I have another Yahoo mail account which works fine with Thunderbird. I have still access to the mails from my deleted Yahoo account in Apple Mail.
Like
orsobou4
orsobou4
11 March 2017
Sorry, but the server for outgoing mails kept demanding my password, but I never got a chance to fill it in, so now I'll stay with Apple Mail.
Like
Septimus
02 January 2017
Love Thunderbird.

Doe anyone know of a plugin to enhance the vertical layout, especially the message list?
Like
Version 45.6.0
Sgilbert
30 December 2016
45.6.0 is out. Get up to speed, MacUpdate.
Like (2)
Version 45.5.1
2 answer(s)
freiheit
freiheit
31 December 2016
A day later and even the Mozilla site is still pushing 45.5.1. Chillax.
Like (1)
WetNet
WetNet
02 January 2017
Sgilbert < Chill out moron. . .
Like
Septimus
02 December 2016
I hope the will modernize the interface soon, especially vertical view. What's taking so long.. Does anyone know of a plugin that shows multiple lines of a message in the thread pane?
Like
Version 45.5.1
Scion777
15 November 2016
45.4.0 was issued a while back - MacUpdate is a little late to the party.
Like
Version 45.4.0
kWASj
22 August 2016
Such a great thing. Helpful and useful app.
Like
Version 45.2.0
Bousozoku
05 April 2016
I've used a three e-mail clients over the years, including Claris em@iler, Eudora, and Thunderbird. Thunderbird works well and integrates with Firefox. For years, they've been trying to decide what to do with the application but development continues at a very slow rate, except for security updates. Every time I go to a web browser to handle e-mail, I'm missing functionality that makes Thunderbird useful. Besides, one interface for all of my e-mail is useful. Having a pretty interface over efficient functionality may win over the eyes, but I'd rather be efficient with e-mail.
Like
Version 38.7.1
Bousozoku
05 April 2016
38.7.2 is available right now.
Like (1)
Version 38.7.1
TeddyUrsadorable
04 April 2016
Just as slow and kludgy as Firefox. Sticking with Apple Mail for now.
Like
Version 38.7.1
freiheit
18 February 2016
MacUpdate Desktop installed version 3.1.20 (VERY outdated) over my existing 38.5.0. Be aware.
Like (4)
Version 38.6.0
Runs very stable. Has a lot of great features build in or via add-on. Great search functionality. Very good documentation. This is sure one of the very best mail client and it's free! I simply must give it five stars!
Like
Version 38.5.0
f-mcgregor88
30 December 2015
Really helpful app! I'm dealing with a great amount of email's on every day basis. And this app definitely makes my life much easier. Simple app but with many helpful features. My strong recommendation for this app!
Like
Version 38.5.0
Cattus-Thraex
29 December 2015
Excellent, easy to configure, asking all the time whether OK with insecure connection. The interface is Linux-like, i.e. ugly, but this does not bother me very much. On the way to be my default mail app.
Like
Version 38.5.0
Kobalt
02 December 2015
From ArsTechnica: Thunderbird “a tax” on Firefox development, and Mozilla wants to drop it Thunderbird is already low on its priority list; Mozilla wants to spin it off. http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2015/12/thunderbird-a-tax-on-firefox-development-and-mozilla-wants-to-drop-it/
Like (1)
Version 38.4.0
drot389
30 September 2015
I like the app, but it has minor bugs. I couldn't add a gmail account because of my mistake in one symbol. There is no possibility to edit and I had to drop it and create a new one. Seems like bug.
Like
Version 38.2.0
aholloahkate
24 September 2015
This mail agent doesn't want to work with Gmail. I couldn't configure right settings. Too complicated. And google identify the program as less secure….
Like
Version 38.2.0
fiesjanett
21 September 2015
Easy and comfort to work. I have this app for years on my Mac - one of the first software to download. The design is simple, but really to old one. Maybe, the next update will improve it?
Like (1)
Version 38.2.0
Filp
07 July 2015
Had T-bird years ago. Not sure why I dropped it, probably just took Mail for granted when I got the new iMac. After wrangling with Mail over the years, memory kicked in. Downloaded T-bird and am again comfortable. It is clearly superior to Mail... which, of course, verges on damning with faint praise. Not so. It's good.
Like
Version 38.0.1
J-A-Y
19 June 2015
I still love Tbird but, on my MacBook Pro running Snow Leopard (10.6.8), the Tbird 38.0.1 update has cut off the title bar at the top of the main mail browser window. The cut leaves only the very bottom of my tabs (Inbox and Calendar), so I am barely able to switch between tabs except via keyboard shortcuts. The defect also applies to those little red, amber and green dots in the upper left corner of all Mac windows. They've been cut off entirely. There is no setting to enable me to fix this update error.
Like
Version 38.0.1
3 answer(s)
J-A-Y
J-A-Y
20 June 2015
UPDATE: I searched in Thunderbird for "title bar" and quickly found the answer to the problem. The fix involves making a change in Tbird's Config Editor. Now I again have a title bar and full tabs.
Like
progkix
progkix
11 July 2015
Would you mind sharing what the config change was that you made?

I've got the same problem and it's driving me crazy.

Thanks
Like
J-A-Y
J-A-Y
12 July 2015
From the Mozilla Support Forum:

Tools > Options > Advanced > General tab, click Config Editor there. Copy-paste mail.tabs.drawInTitlebar into the search bar and double-click on it to set it to "false" and the title bar should be controlled by the OS again.
Like
Sgilbert
15 June 2015
Version 31.7 to 38.0.1? What's up with that???
Like (1)
Version 38.0.1
1 answer(s)
TCalhau
TCalhau
16 June 2015
Also I would like to know... :-|
Like
mfolder
31 May 2015
Pros: stable, extensions, cross-platform Cons: no feature updates, not native UI But still it rocks
Like
Version 31.7.0
TCalhau
30 April 2015
Better, more stable and lighter than Apple Mail! I Recommend!
Like
Version 31.6.0
ishtar-1
30 March 2015
Worst. Client. Ever. They might have had the upper hand years back, but now they're trailing last and they couldn't care less.

- Can't quit, need to force-close every time.
- Resource hog (900MB and 50-100% CPU ALL THE TIME)
- Slow and sluggish (takes over 15 seconds to open a dir after clicking it)
- No support from Mozilla or community
Tested all the above on 3 different Macs (one brand new), and every single issue is reproducible every single time.

TB on Mac is using more CPU than AutoCAD!! That's just sad.

MacMail and Outlook both beat the crap out of TB, performance and stability wise. Back to webmail for me I guess.
Like (1)
Version 31.5.0
1 answer(s)
Shadokuss
Shadokuss
03 April 2015
Quite surprised to read this. Many users here doesn't have issues with since years. There is no direct support, because it's freeware made by community for community, don't forget that. I'm quite sure you can have some kind answers on TB forums. Plus the fact you have repetitive issues with 3 different mac is abnormal. You should have a conflict with an app or particular configuration somehow. Sincerely hope you'll figure it out.
Like (1)
DotTheI
29 March 2015
The best email client for any platform
Like (1)
Version 31.5.0