Back to Thunderbird page
Thunderbird free download for Mac

Thunderbird Reviews

10 April 2021

Email client from Mozilla.

How would you rate Thunderbird?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
adrienemarroquin
adrienemarroquin
Mar 19 2021
78.8.1
5.0
Mar 19 2021
5.0
Version: 78.8.1
Nice and secure
Weaztek
Weaztek
Mar 12 2021
78.8.1
5.0
Mar 12 2021
5.0
Version: 78.8.1
I switched to Thunderbird many years ago after Apple Mail stopped working for me on my email account. I really like it, but miss the functionality of a "send later" plug-in for email messages. I hope a developer can update that in the future as it's quite useful!
prLab
prLab
Dec 19 2020
78.6.0
5.0
Dec 19 2020
5.0
Version: 78.6.0
I have been using it for three years. Love the integration with calendar and contacts. Search function works well.
RickOLeary1436
RickOLeary1436
Nov 15 2020
78.4.3
0.0
Nov 15 2020
0.0
Version: 78.4.3
This is the best email reader ever!
Swingscars
Swingscars
Oct 21 2020
78.3.3
1.0
Oct 21 2020
1.0
Version: 78.3.3
les polices sont beaucoup trop petites ,pas facile pour les mal voyant. je n'ai gardé l'application qu'une heure malgré cela l'application est facile a manipuler
drmichaelaschumacher
drmichaelaschumacher
Sep 7 2020
78.2.1
0.0
Sep 7 2020
0.0
Version: 78.2.1
Habe mich dagegen entschieden, da man die Konten und Ordner nicht aus der Vorgängerversion transferieren kann. Sie alle neu zu erstellen, ist mir zu viel Arbeit. Insofern bin ich sehr enttäuscht über dieses no go.
prLab
prLab
Sep 3 2020
78.2.0
5.0
Sep 3 2020
5.0
Version: 78.2.0
It does everything I need. Never had a problem. Regular updates. Somewhat clunky but heck it's just email.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Aug 21 2020
78.1.1
4.0
Aug 21 2020
4.0
Version: 78.1.1
Glad to see TB back in development. it could use some minor tweaks, though. The text in the main window is much too small, it would be nice to see it adjustable for farsighted folks. And the process for adding calendars is still cumbersome, and even broken. It isn't easy to add iCloud calendars or even Google Calendars (that option is completely gone). Hopefully this will be fixed soon. And I am completely amazed at all of the people complaining about the update to v78. Did none of you even bother to read the release notes? Might help. Especially those who are complaining about broken addons. [Hint: https://www.thunderbird.net/en-US/thunderbird/78.0/releasenotes/]
Suricate15
Suricate15
Aug 2 2020
78.1.0
2.0
Aug 2 2020
2.0
Version: 78.1.0
I like Thunderbird especially v68.x due to all extensions and internal features.. but v78, if you don't use PGP (who really use PGP..?), seems to be for me at least a kind of "kickback" : a lot of features aren't no more available and customizing TH78 is more restricted. Furthermore still not possible to change the font size of messages list, all Retina Macusers know what I mean. It's a pity that's not implemented again; old third party extension doesn't work since a long time. Updating TH68 database to TH78 seems also not easy.. Finally looking for another Mac email solution in the near future. But not for Apple's email client.
francoisvernaz28
francoisvernaz28
Jul 31 2020
78.1.0
5.0
Jul 31 2020
5.0
Version: 78.1.0
Excellent.
Bolt1963
Bolt1963
Jul 26 2020
78.0.1
4.0
Jul 26 2020
4.0
Version: 78.0.1
1. I really like Thunderbird but 2. it is just crazy that at least for me 100 % of the extension I am using stopped working with release 78. I am only using extension with a high user community. Not something really special, So be careful before updating, check the support of your extensions and make a copy of the Thunderbird profile folder before updating to 78. Just in case you need to downgrade again to the older release.
sandysandaver
sandysandaver
Jun 7 2020
68.9.0
3.0
Jun 7 2020
3.0
Version: 68.9.0
It does not upload new versions from 68.6.0 and asks you to download it. Then after deleting App from Applications and dragging new version into Apps the loader can be ejected, but comes out again as soon as you try and open the new App. It then offers you the chance to keep your existing profile, but the dock icon and the App in the Apps folder is not open properly. It is compromised by poor code as, otherwise it would load automatically on the upgrade, which it does not do. All the advice on Mozilla Support does not work with this problem. It seems that Thunderbird have given up any sense of integrity in this App. I have always been able ti update until 68.6.0. The code is wrong in the updates now and everone says that here is not a problem, but I have an iMac just over a year old and the latest OSX which is always up to date and my computer works flawlessly it's just that I have to say using 68.6.0 whether I like it or not.
glindabaum
glindabaum
Jun 1 2020
68.8.1
1.0
Jun 1 2020
1.0
Version: 68.8.1
Thunderbird has NO Mac OSX integration, it can not even handle in line images without having a fit. This is a pathetic effort on the part of Mozilla to pass off crap to Mac users. Don't even bother!
zlazkow
zlazkow
May 27 2020
68.8.0
5.0
May 27 2020
5.0
Version: 68.8.0
finally decided to move from Spark to TB. I like when I can SEE 30 or more emails in a short space, in one line each, without any icons and stuff like that. In Spark you can scroll and scroll down in order not to mis any email, because each email is quite large and looks nice, but takes up space. In comparison, TB lets you see a LOT of emails, all together, in one line each, although in a much smaller font size. But that's ok in regards to functionality. So, TB is most effective in its simplicity.
zlazkow
zlazkow
Apr 17 2020
68.7.0
5.0
Apr 17 2020
5.0
Version: 68.7.0
I again and again try to use TB. I like it, but I have 2 big problems: 1. To paste an HTML text is catastrophic. 2. Size of the subject/composing text font is tiny, and there is now way to adjust it. These two problems are obviously connected to handling of HTML. How come in so many years of development, these two problems still remain ? Please fix them.
lubomyrprytulak
lubomyrprytulak
Apr 8 2020
68.6.0
1.0
Apr 8 2020
1.0
Version: 68.6.0
This is absolutely the second worst email software that I have ever encountered in my whole life. I am using it for the moment because the email software that came with my brand-new $5K mac is even worse. Let me tell you what went wrong just a few minutes ago. I edited a long email that I had sent to some recipients and that I now wanted to send to others. I was aware that my changes might not stick because thy already had not stuck in other experiences. So I make certain changes, and am aware that I have already made some of these earlier, like yesterday, and sent of the email only to find that the changes were gone. So, this time, I SAVED the edited email. That should protect my changes, thought I. I saved it, then I sent it, then I glanced at it, and one change I immediately noticed had been undone. Incredible, insufferable incompetence on the part of Thunderbird. This might be a just a failure to retain changes, but I fear it might be something else--very aggressive correction on the part of Thunderbird, because its algorithm, written by some nitwit, tells it that for sure, I (the writer) made an error, and could not possibly have meant what I wrote, and so Thunderbird making the change for me, is doing me a favor. I could see such aggressive self-editing going on in the Mac Mail software. I have to struggle over and over again to make a change which Mac Mail keeps on judging to be illicit. It stupidly capitalizes when I don't want it, it stupidly inserts periods all over the place, which I have to go to the trouble to remove. In Apple's case, I figure they took everybody with brains and put them to working on cell phones, because that's where the money is, which left only morons to work on Apple computers. I can't imagine what Thunderbird's problem is. I swore years ago never to buy another Apple product again, because of idiocies that Apple was forcing on me, but relented and bought the current $5K+ machine because maybe Apple wasn't as bad as Microsoft, but not regret returning to Apple and swear again never to buy any Apple product again, this time really meaning it with my whole heart. And same with Thunderbird. I've got UBUNTU on a Dell laptop. I think I'll switch to it. Come to think of it, I might already have set up Thunderbird on it, and I don't remember anything like the current fiasco on that machine. Maybe the Thunderbird failure is only on Mac.
prLab
prLab
Mar 27 2020
68.6.0
5.0
Mar 27 2020
5.0
Version: 68.6.0
Was my email program of choice but most recent version just hangs.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Mar 15 2020
68.6.0
4.0
Mar 15 2020
4.0
Version: 68.6.0
I'm only judging by the sample screens provided, which obviously is not a fair review. I'm sure it's an excellent app, but it looks so ancient. It does not even have the dark mode.
yanuarnugroho
yanuarnugroho
Dec 5 2019
68.3.0
5.0
Dec 5 2019
5.0
Version: 68.3.0
excellent. works like charm. started using TB since 2000s and now after these 15-19 years, it is still unbeatable. across different platforms and versions (moved from win to linux with different distro back to win then to mac until now from early version of macOS to the latest (catalina). TB rocks!
brian163
brian163
Aug 31 2019
68.0
0.0
Aug 31 2019
0.0
Version: 68.0
This is like a previous release and it not intended to upgrade current versions. From the Thunderbird site: "Thunderbird version 68.0 is only offered as direct download from thunderbird.net and not as upgrade from Thunderbird version 60 or earlier. A future version 68.1 will provide updates from earlier versions."
a3a05603
a3a05603
Aug 30 2019
68.0
1.0
Aug 30 2019
1.0
Version: 68.0
I had been using Thunderbird 60.8.0. When I installed 68.0 it didn't recognize any of my e-mail accounts and saw none of my old messages. It asked me to create things anew, as if I had never used Thunderbird before. When I did that it still couldn't see the old data. And it essentially didn't work. So I removed it and restored 60.8.0. I consider this application useless. If I could give zero stars, I would.
anonymous-skink-4656
anonymous-skink-4656
Aug 29 2019
68.0
0.5
Aug 29 2019
0.5
Version: 68.0
I understand that free software and everything independent, and open source and theoretically taking care of privacy etc. But it looks terribly archaic, like from 15 years ago. And this is a lot in technology. As already mentioned, it takes a lot of resources. Thunderbird doesn't understand modernity at all. Good for basement nerds.
zlazkow
zlazkow
Jun 16 2019
60.7.1
5.0
Jun 16 2019
5.0
Version: 60.7.1
excellent. BUT...uses a lot of CPU and Memory. So 1.5 stars less.
CPU: 24...44..57% !!!
Memory: 260mb, while Spark uses 150mb - more than any other application.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Jun 14 2019
60.7.1
0.0
Jun 14 2019
0.0
Version: 60.7.1
MacUpdate's URL downloads version 16.7.0 - I had to go to Mozilla.org to get the newest version 60.7.1
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
May 21 2019
60.6.1
0.0
May 21 2019
0.0
Version: 60.6.1
Yesterday, MacUpdate presented a link to Thunderbird version 60.7.0 which I downloaded. Today, they present a link to version 60.6.1 and according to https://www.thunderbird.net/en-US/thunderbird/releases/ there is no version 60.7.0 out there... and never has been.

W T F ?
Macfool
Macfool
May 20 2019
60.6.1
4.5
May 20 2019
4.5
Version: 60.6.1
TB rock solid for years. Never missed or lost a thing. Also v 60.7.0 is in release incl. some ZombieLoad mitigations like FF67.0..
56eagle
56eagle
Apr 10 2019
60.6.1
1.0
Apr 10 2019
1.0
Version: 60.6.1
Would not Accept my email user name & password
rmaniacnyc
rmaniacnyc
Apr 7 2019
60.6.1
5.0
Apr 7 2019
5.0
Version: 60.6.1
wonderful, includes pop so i can archive. also has internal browser so while click on link in email it opens internally, saving time
Itbjorn
Itbjorn
Mar 31 2019
60.6.1
0.0
Mar 31 2019
0.0
Version: 60.6.1
Looks OK but couldn't use the Adress book
zlazkow
zlazkow
Mar 14 2019
60.5.3
5.0
Mar 14 2019
5.0
Version: 60.5.3
Used T. many centuries ago with Windows. I use Spark and like it, but decided to give it a try. What a surprise...it is also controlled by Google. Went straight into trash.
476429
476429
Dec 27 2018
60.4.0
5.0
Dec 27 2018
5.0
Version: 60.4.0
I used Thunderbird for a few years in the mid-2000s then switched to Apple Mail. I figured I'd give the Apple's built-in mail app a shot and get the benefits of its integration with the system. It was not worth it. I started using email on a VAX running Pine around 1991. Since the beginning, I've always preferred plain text. Apple Mail had some hidden preferences that forced it to always use plain text. Then Apple decided to remove those prefs. If someone sent you an email that included both plain text and HTML parts, Apple Mail shows use the HTML part by default. No way to change the default setting. That was just one of the Apple "upgrades" that drove me away from Apple Mail. I went back to Thunderbird and it was just as awesome as ever. I can set it up just the way I want it and use plain text by default. I also customized its appearance to look the best with my system. Thunderbird development still continues to this day. I have no problems with it at all. No bugs. No performance issues. In fact, I routinely perform searches on almost 100,000 messages and the results appear almost instantly. Awesome performance. If you want a rock solid email client with great performance, give Thunderbird a try.
Weaztek
Weaztek
Dec 11 2018
60.3.3
5.0
Dec 11 2018
5.0
Version: 60.3.3
I love Thunderbird. I was forced to move to it several years ago after Apple Mail wasn't playing nice with my charter email settings. A few plug-ins like Send Later and XNote make the app ingenious.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Dec 10 2018
60.3.2
0.0
Dec 10 2018
0.0
Version: 60.3.2
Version 60.3.3 is out since last week!
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Nov 2 2018
60.3.0
4.0
Nov 2 2018
4.0
Version: 60.3.0
Be warned, later versions will prevent you using your favourite extensions. I "upgraded" to 64.0b yesterday and not a single one of my 8 or so extensions worked. All deemed 'incompatible' with no replacement extensions. Examples include Mail Summaries, Printing Tools, Signature Switch, Theme Font & Size..., Config Date etc etc. Suddenly TB had bland GUI and UX was poor. Sticking w TB60 so I can use the software how I want. Be warned!
anonymous-skink-4656
anonymous-skink-4656
Oct 29 2018
60.2.1
0.5
Oct 29 2018
0.5
Version: 60.2.1
Resource-consuming, sluggish, with a non-modern interface. It will be ideal for geeks and network administrators, ha, ha
nobody2011
nobody2011
Oct 29 2018
60.2.1
5.0
Oct 29 2018
5.0
Version: 60.2.1
File: Thunderbird 60.2.1 48M 02-Oct-2018 21:56
plarcher
plarcher
Oct 29 2018
60.2.1
5.0
Oct 29 2018
5.0
Version: 60.2.1
Better than Mail
Macfool
Macfool
Aug 27 2018
52.9.1
4.5
Aug 27 2018
4.5
Version: 52.9.1
Thunderbird is now v.60.0 which will come as a shock to those who liked FoxClocks, This bug-free email client has evolved. No need for add-ons like v.52.9.1
orsobou4
orsobou4
Jul 14 2018
52.9.0
4.0
Jul 14 2018
4.0
Version: 52.9.0
At last, I can use Thunderbird again! The most recent update listed really has made my e-mail accounts accessible, which was not possible with the earlier 52s.
Scrapperoo
Scrapperoo
Apr 16 2018
52.7.0
4.0
Apr 16 2018
4.0
Version: 52.7.0
Works great for my needs!
ben-marko
ben-marko
Jan 5 2018
52.5.2
4.0
Jan 5 2018
4.0
Version: 52.5.2
Shame what has happened to this app. Pushing it off of the Mozilla main plate has resulted in a buggy piece of software only suited to the most dedicated user.
tjp1918
tjp1918
Dec 29 2017
52.5.2
3.0
Dec 29 2017
3.0
Version: 52.5.2
Thunderbird is a pretty good application for email which I've been using since 2002, however it started changing and updating from version to version and the new stuff in the newer version are annoying me. As of today, I'm staying back at the oldest version which is still compatible with my OS is 37.1.0 Any version newer than that is not up to my liking. I am still following Thunderbird's new updates by downloading them and store them away to my external hd for future use (if I ever need any of them). The best thing I like this application coz the back up is very easy. Just go to user/library/Thunderbird, copy the whole folder of 'Thunderbird' to somewhere, now you have the whole latest Thunderbird backup. You can drop it back in to replace the present one anytime in case you need it. I have the backup Thunderbird folders back for about 2 years. Anyway, that's my 2 cents for today about Thunderbird. It's still a very good application for email. I'd rather to use it than Apple mail. :) :) :)
Macfool
Macfool
Oct 31 2017
52.4.0
4.5
Oct 31 2017
4.5
Version: 52.4.0
There is a serious design flaw in Thunderbird. Thunderbird requires average or better intelligence to use successfully.
orsobou4
orsobou4
Apr 19 2017
52.0.1
4.0
Apr 19 2017
4.0
Version: 52.0.1
The new Thunderbird release has become even worse than before. It does not accept my password to the inbox as I tried to add my first account. I cannot use it at all, and when I try to uninstall it, I get alerted that some file is missing.
philim01
philim01
Feb 7 2017
45.7.0
0.0
Feb 7 2017
0.0
Version: 45.7.0
Does anyone know how to identify and delete duplicate emails in Thunderbird 45.7.0 for Mac?
orsobou4
orsobou4
Feb 7 2017
45.7.0
4.0
Feb 7 2017
4.0
Version: 45.7.0
What has got into this version of Thunderbird? I have tried to add a mail account to it, but it will not accept my password. It works in Apple Mail.
Septimus
Septimus
Jan 2 2017
45.6.0
3.5
Jan 2 2017
3.5
Version: 45.6.0
Love Thunderbird.

Doe anyone know of a plugin to enhance the vertical layout, especially the message list?
Sgilbert
Sgilbert
Dec 30 2016
45.5.1
0.0
Dec 30 2016
0.0
Version: 45.5.1
45.6.0 is out. Get up to speed, MacUpdate.
Septimus
Septimus
Dec 2 2016
45.5.1
3.5
Dec 2 2016
3.5
Version: 45.5.1
I hope the will modernize the interface soon, especially vertical view. What's taking so long.. Does anyone know of a plugin that shows multiple lines of a message in the thread pane?
Scion777
Scion777
Nov 15 2016
45.4.0
0.0
Nov 15 2016
0.0
Version: 45.4.0
45.4.0 was issued a while back - MacUpdate is a little late to the party.