Back to iPulse page
iPulse free download for Mac

iPulse Reviews

3.0.4
25 September 2018

Monitor system activity, CPU, memory, network, and more.

Mr-Kitty
23 November 2006

Most helpful

i hate "conceptual" interfaces. i spent ten minutes trying to figure out where i was supposed to click to get the information i was looking for. even loaded each of the alternate designs included.... still couldn't do it. nor could i figure out what the menubar was supposed to be indicative of. went straight in to the trash.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6

Read 34 iPulse User Reviews

Rate this app:

James-Igoe
29 September 2018
My sense is that it’s a beautiful utility capable of providing a wealth of information. I’ve been using this for as long as it has been around, compared it against other similar utilities for system status, but keep coming back to it. It’s very customizable, but I’ve got a favorite I’ve modified that gives me time, date, memory usage, CPU activity and has bubble messages if I want to drill down into the details. Even then, it is capable of so much more...
Like
Version 3.0.4
lacwbo
24 September 2016
No trial? No buy!
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
Jessebacon
26 October 2015
HIGHLY configurable and easy on the resources. Very cool utility.
Like
Version 3.0
Nontroppo
26 October 2015
I used to use the excellent iStat Menus but wanted something that used less menu space, and iPulse 3 is really really perfect for that. The window packs in lots of info in an immediate visualisation (probably not for everyone), and uses negligible resource. Lots of tweakability, well worth it!
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Fabro
16 August 2012
Still the best system monitoring app, even with Mountain Lion does it job neatly with no fuss and, most important, it doesn't overload your system. I have used MenuMeters (free but lacks some features) and iStatMenus (useful and with a plethora of features and options, but too resource-intensive). If only iPulse could show a graph with the history of my network interfaces utilization into its Info window...
Like
Version 2.5.1
2 answer(s)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
20 September 2012
It is a wee bit inaccurate. The popup display commonly does not show the processes that are responsible for all the processing shown in the concentric rings at the center of the display. Largely makes the list of processes and their percentages useless. see this http://bit.ly/PMusGA
Like
Fabro
Fabro
21 September 2012
In the iPulse preferences, have you enabled "Include iPulse in listings" and "Include low priority tasks in totals" (see here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/txqs6gz3ko7blun/wyXcMyWxRE) These options are disabled by default and may be the cause of the inaccuracies you are reporting.
Like
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
27 September 2010
iPulse has been updated to 2.1.10 and there have been system updates as well. Regardless of "who" was responsible prior, when running iPulse the lockups would occur. When not running iPulse, no lockups. It may have been a buggy call back to Mac OS X or just a poor implementation of that call in the shareware. iPulse now *appears* to be a better citizen. Is the problem gone, time and usage will tell.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.10
Ncianca
03 October 2009
The latest version (2.10) of iPulse has a huge problem. "You are now prompted for a password each time you launch iPulse on Snow Leopard" Why can't it remember the setting? Why do I need to enter a password every time I start iPulse? Apple's "Activity Monitor" does not prompt the user for a password every time it is started. If it can't be fixed because there are inherent problems with the way that iPulse is implemented, then that security vulnerability should be addressed and fixed rather then creating a huge inconvenience for the users. This change means that I can no longer have iPulse as a startup item has I have for years.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.10
1 answer(s)
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
06 December 2009
Oh really? How does Apple activity monitor work when you scrap SUID bits from couple of helpers in it? It doesn't. It will tell you to "fix disk permissions". It is Apple who has broken a working thing again and as usual, Apple users instead of asking "Why are you breaking?", they blame the little shareware vendor instead. iPulse has ZERO connection ability to network, including local network so it is not insecure in any way. Please don't claim such absurd things while you apologize for Apple. The root of issue is: Apple doesn't give a s**t to "little guy" or third party vendors while they design/implement OS upgrades. Fascistically removing third party component support from Quicktime X, removal of Input Manager functionality, not implementing Carbon 64bit last second and announcing it at iPod event. Let me continue?
Like (2)
Version 2.1.10
A re-ranking. First and foremost the system lockup problem: If you run iPulse on a laptop and use iDisk or other servers, you will find that iPulse will habitually lock your Mac forcing you to control-command-power hard reboot to get free. iPulse will check the mounted volumes (hard drives) including remote server volumes periodically to update the usage status. When it does this and the volume is no longer available, it will not time out nor release the query call for disk usage statistics. Here is the scenario: You are at work and you have a server mounted. Maybe it is your Windows NT corp server, Mac OS X corp server, your iDisk cloud server, or your TimeCapsule volume. You close the lid to sleep the Mac and it sleeps. Pack it in your bag, jet for the door. You then later open your Mac (on the train, at home, etc.) and you have no network connection or a different network connection that does not allow you to get to one of the servers that you were connected to before. iPulse will go brute force against that server asking for statistics and not let go. That server volume appears busy and the Finder cannot let go either. You establish an Internet connection (wifi, ethernet, cell modem, etc) and now nothing seems to be able to talk to the network even though you do have a connection as verified by the Network Preferences in your System Preferences. Then you check your process list (command-option-escape) and note that iPulse is not responding. You figure, ok, just kill it but that thing is a vampire and drains your network connection dry and cannot be killed. Kill Kill Kill, nope nope nope. Then you see your Finder go non-responsive. Kill, nope. Other processes, as they access network resources start to go red including iChat, Pages (oops, update check...) and others. Some kill, some do not. You try launching network utilities that just seem to bounce indefinitely (they are trying to open network connections and the network stack is gridlocked by iPulse, sorry charlie) Ok, long story short, your Mac is Tango Uniform, time for the three key salute: command-control-power. This time you take iPulse **out** of your login items and come and write a lengthy review about one of your favorite little utilities becoming more pain that it is worth. Sad Monday, lost an old friend.
Like
Version 2.1.9
sansk
05 April 2007
2.1.8 seems fixed problems I was having (see below). Otherwise, did not see any other resource monitoring tool on Mac, even remotely close to iPulse by UI/Usability/Information per screen real estate/Price ratio! Well deserved 5 stars in each category!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.8
Lee123
05 April 2007
Yes, it takes a few minutes to learn the interface but once you do this app is great. It tells you everything activity monitor or x resource graph does but in less space and it is infinitely more customizable. I have been running this for 4 months and it has never crashed or caused me problems. You can also access activity monitor, terminal and network utility with just a right click. Also, instant access to processes, memory and network activity. What a great tool.
Like
Version 2.1.8
sansk
19 January 2007
2.1.7 has problems displaying network speeds on my MacBook Pro - negative speeds, ridiculously large speeds, etc. 2.1.6 seems OK.
Like
Version 2.1.7
Mr-Kitty
23 November 2006
i hate "conceptual" interfaces. i spent ten minutes trying to figure out where i was supposed to click to get the information i was looking for. even loaded each of the alternate designs included.... still couldn't do it. nor could i figure out what the menubar was supposed to be indicative of. went straight in to the trash.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
Slob
24 February 2006
Are the previous reviewers using iPulse itself to read CPU load? In which case, yes, it reads 15 to 20% (omm, a p'book with Tiger), but check Activity monitor and it's only using around 2%.
Like
Version 2.1.5
Anonymous
28 June 2005
I think iPulse is great but every version I've tried since 2.0.2 on Tiger has given me enourmous trouble after an hour of letting the app run. There seems to be a memory leak that is allowing iPulse to consume up to 95% of my iBook's resources. Please get this issue fixed, because the newest features are quite nice except for the fact that they become unusable if the app eats up so much CPU power.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Anonymous
07 May 2005
Great app but this version gets funky in Tiger. It works ok for awhile but then the cpu indicator turns into a square block and ipulce starts sucking up processor power. I'm looking forward to an update because I miss it on my desktop
Like
Version 2.1.2
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 June 2005
Try version 2.0.2 to avoid the square CPU problem: www.iconfactory.com/software/iPulse_202.dmg
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 June 2005
Use a version that is over a year old? No thanks.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Robegian
Robegian
24 May 2006
The squares come after a while only when a pirated serial number is sensed. Registering the product with a regularly bought serial number fixes the «problem» ;-) --- Roberto Giannotta Trieste, Italy
Like
Version 2.1.5
Anonymous
29 April 2005
Great eye candy, and accurate too.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
29 April 2005
I wonder when Iconfactory will repair their FTP server !!!! (it is the slowest I know). I have to download it more than 5 times to test their software.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
29 April 2005
I'll just wait for a FREE Dashboard Widget...
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
26 February 2005
It's simply a GREAT monitor, very useful and cool. It's skin-able-d from iconfactory too. G-R-E-A-T.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
04 February 2005
This may be the best non-obstrusive system monitor interface for Mac OS X. People who are criticizing maybe do not understand the meaning of this tool. The idea is to a a global overview of what's happening, not to have an oversized window with statistics and numbers. And iPulse does this better than any other system monitor. And if you need more precise info, just move the mouse over a graph and a translucent window will appear with more technical information. This is the best shareware I bought since a while.
Like
Version 2.1
zoom77
04 February 2005
This should win an award for worst interface ever. You have to study the preferences to figure out what everything does. You can't tell by looking at it. The dashboard FX is cool but I can't even read it it's so small and the backgorund interferes with what's behind it since it's transparent. This app is useless.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Ifwebmaster
Ifwebmaster
04 February 2005
I think if you would give iPulse a chance, you would quickly start to recognize the individual gauges. Besides, the main UI isn't meant to display *every* single bit of data about your system, its meant to give you a graphical over view of what is going on using simple, circular bars. If something catches your eye you want to learn more about, simply roll your mouse over a bar and the info window will give you an expanded (and quite detailed) view of what is happening under the hood. iPulse is a "quick read" application that lets the user see at a glance what is happening, and one that happens to look good on any number of desktops.
Like
Version 2.1
Ohericord
17 April 2004
a graphical beauty....but not very readable....
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
19 February 2004
Drop dead beautiful!
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
05 December 2003
Wow. I mean... Wow. This has got to be the coolest application of Mac OS X. I mean... Wow. If I were a PC user, and saw this app.. I would say.. "Should I stay or should I go now?". But like every catchy pop song.. the answer can never be found. Its the question that drives Us. Seriously, this is a cool application. It really beautifies the working environment by excitingly displaying your computers various... shall we say 'moods'. On "My Other Computer"... when it is really moody.. all I see is a blue screen. This is much nicer than that. Macs rock, PC's suck. (Objectivelly speaking). Love, Troy
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
12 November 2003
I use old iBook with 800x600 max res and new panther system, with a typical OS X large size font menu. Two plus two, you will get annoyed by how easy the menu items such as clock, battery status, modem status and battery status disappear being pushed by, say, Word X menu? With iPulse 2.0 it solves everything with a really elegant way. Clock+date and battery status are combined together in a pulse-like-intelligent-look circle. CPU, RAM, modem speed are shown in an attractive colorful gauge. Warning indicator (such as if you have 10% battery remain) is very useful. The form (appearance) of the gauge can be change easily, either in its size (max 128), opacity, or it's skin (use downloadable jackets). Overall, it's an excellent piece of software that make me wonder why Apple does not implement this in the OS. The systems indicator (CPU, RAM, etc) seems to be carefully calculated, not just showing how many percentage free resources you are having. And finally, a last but not least feature is that you can see the details of each system components in an elegant fade-able transparent pop up window upon hovering the mouse on the gauge. Nice touch!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 November 2003
This program is just too cool for its own right. Design wise I think there is something here that developers/programmers could all learn from quality interface design. Although system moniter apps tend to be bland quite often, iPulse breaks the barrier with having a feature of changing "jackets". It makes you proud of owning a mac once again.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
11 October 2003
Nice upgrade from 1.0. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.0
Chieftypist
09 October 2003
Dave - You can use the system hotkey to enable/disable the ignore mouse feature. Go to the Global preference pane and set it (there's also a hotkey to turn the window on/off.)
Like
Version 2.0
Dave-Fick
09 October 2003
Your are able to disable clicking on the floating window, which is great! However, some of us disable the dock icon by going through the package contents. If I do both then there's no way of accessing the preferences. Some sort of solution to that would be nice.
Like
Version 2.0
Dave-Fick
09 October 2003
This really is a kick ass program. It should come standard w/ panther!
Like
Version 2.0
mvk
28 September 2003
I've been using iPulse since the 1.0 release, and think it's great. Just a quick glance tells me how my system is performing. Ignore the confused guy below- use it for a bit, and you'll see how simple and logical the display is. There are many options to control how it behaves, so it will only display what you need to know, and it won't clutter up your desktop unless you want it to. It's worth every cent, and one more reason to support shareware.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
10 April 2003
Not a bad idea, but I find the whole interface too confusing. Also there's enough stuff on my desktop without adding more - better off putting itself in the menu-bar like 'MenuMeters' which is my app of choice, and it's FREE.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
16 February 2003
This makes "top" look like a dinosaur. This is a great system monitoring tool for anyone who wants to keep an eye on there system.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Laird Popkin
21 December 2002
Beautiful little application
Like
Version 1.0.1