Back to MoneyWorks Gold page
MoneyWorks Gold free download for Mac

MoneyWorks Gold Reviews

8.1.5
19 March 2019

Fully integrated small business accounting system.

Anonymous
04 October 2004

Most helpful

I switched from being a QB user on windows to Moneyworks when I moved platform to the Mac. QB is not available for Mac in the UK. I'm so glad it is not - this program is 1000% better than QB. It is really fast. I personally think the UI is very elegant, and the support so far has been pretty good. I got emailed directly from a real person on a saturday when I had a problem registering. It's still early days, but so far, very happy indeed.
Like (1)
Version 4.1

Read 12 MoneyWorks Gold User Reviews

Rate this app:

Foulger
22 December 2017
Been using Moneyworks since before Trump was born and it is the number one. My only critique is that now it IS so popular, the update price has risen in direct proportion. Still using version 7 on 10.13.2 beta and will continue to do so until I am forced to pay the upgrade price. Sorry Cognito - you are my #1 but NZ$495 for an upgrade is to to much imho, (especially for long term users)
Like
Version 8.0.3
accounts-9
10 June 2015
A really irritating piece of software which will not allow journal entries to correct errors. Avoid.
Like
Version 6.1r5
2 answer(s)
bernardsimkins
bernardsimkins
08 October 2015
My company has used this software for 5 years and it is brilliant. I cannot understand the above comment as it is completely wrong. if the period is not closed you can simply correct the error. If it is journals are very easy to raise. I think he hasnt read the manual. the whole software is superb and very fast. great to be able to drill down from even graphs.
Like (2)
Foulger
Foulger
22 December 2017
RTFM
Like
A-Wedlake
18 December 2011
I'm new to this software, but I've been running it parallel with Account Edge until the beta expired, then purchased it about a month ago. I like it A LOT! The workflow is much better, with more sophisticated solutions of managing and tracking services. The analysis is more intuitive and clear, easier to setup, and useful (which is the point right?) I'm VERY disappointed with Account Edge, and the new version for 2012 is just another $159 upgrade that should be free. I suggest downloading the demo and trying it out first. There is a MYOB migration application on their webpage to help us out, but it wasn't completely useful for me. I was quite taken by the speed, and I'm not feeling that there should be more features missing (like I do with AccountEdge). Good luck fellow travelers...
Like
Version 6.0.8
Ardat
18 October 2011
I've been looking for a solution to replace quickbooks and found this gem. After evaluating several solutions this one was the best for our needs however trying to purchase it has been a different experience. Has anyone purchased it lately? I've tried to purchase this over the last week or so. I ordered it from buy.com, amazon.com, eCost and a couple others. All of them have canceled my order within 24 hours stating that they are out of stock and that the product is no longer available from the manufacturer. Is there a new version coming out, is this a warning sign that I should choose a different solution, or something else entirely? Has anyone else had this experience?
Like
Version 6.0.8
1 answer(s)
A-Wedlake
A-Wedlake
18 December 2011
I downloaded the demo, then made the purchase directly from their website (no physical copy mailed). Has been a great experience so far. I officially transition my photography studio over to it in January of 2012.
Like (1)
Eighty
12 April 2011
The major factors in my recommendation of this accounting software versus any other currently available are: a)Cross-Platform full functionality (that is, the Mac and Windows versions offer the exact same experience) b)Multiple Company Management (perfect for multi-tiered small businesses, especially those that operate online) c)Multiple Currencies (again, brilliant for those who conduct business online) ...and of course, the "Free Copy For Your Accountant" offer, which will finally put an end to costly data migrations and/or endless excuses from your accountant! The TCO (total cost of ownership) per year across all editions of MoneyWorks is - as they say on the website - a great deal less than the competition (this is especially true of the Gold Edition). And the learning-curve is absoutely transparent, making book-keeping far more intuitive than either MYOB or Quicken ever managed to. Put simply, MoneyWorks is the only fully-featured accounting software on the market today that won't make you cringe evey time you think of making an entry! And even more points to the crew at Cognito for including fully localized data that caters to all of us in the "forgotten countries" (Australia, NZ, Canada etc)! I couldn't be happier with this software - I've been using it since version 5 and haven't found a serous flaw yet!
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
Kim-Nz
24 May 2010
Could someone tell me if it's possible to turn a quote raised in Moneyworks into an invoice? As far as i can see, it can only be made into a Sales Order. Thanks
Like
Version 5.3
Teksestro
09 March 2008
Fantastic program - easier to use than MYOB or Quicken. Technical support is responsive, friendly and helpful. Program is stable and feature-full. Only criticism I can muster is that it lacks a 'Wages/Salary' calculation section, like MYOB has (wages and their complicated sliding-scale taxes have to be calculated and entered manually). Still better value than any other accounting package I've come across.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.1
Amcan12
22 November 2006
No UB version? And where from that price????
Like
Version 4.2
Anonymous
04 October 2004
I switched from being a QB user on windows to Moneyworks when I moved platform to the Mac. QB is not available for Mac in the UK. I'm so glad it is not - this program is 1000% better than QB. It is really fast. I personally think the UI is very elegant, and the support so far has been pretty good. I got emailed directly from a real person on a saturday when I had a problem registering. It's still early days, but so far, very happy indeed.
Like (1)
Version 4.1
Foulger
20 June 2004
Go to this web site: http://www.nbr.co.nz/home/column_article.asp?id=9385&cid=3&cname=Technology To get the whole story
Like
Version 4.1
Foulger
12 August 2003
It is a pity the previous reviewer did not concentrate on the positive aspects of the program which is exceedingly feature rich compared to QB. Does the reviewer want a program that performs superbly or one that looks nice?
Like
Version 4.0.6
Anonymous
13 May 2003
It's too bad this isn't a cocoa app. The user interface uses many small font's that just look ugly on OSX. Functionality wise, it seems pretty complete and the UI is well designed but it does suffer for being to modal (you can't go to another window when some of the detail windows are open). The English that is used is a little non standard (for Americans). The GL only works with numbered accounts. There are some quirks with reporting. I think the price is fairly high considering that Quickbooks sells for less and all the accountants in the US are used to QB.
Like
Version 4.0.1