Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to SpamSieve page
SpamSieve free download for Mac

SpamSieve Reviews

06 July 2021

Robust spam filter for major email clients.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
elby77
elby77
Dec 29 2020
2.9.41
5.0
Dec 29 2020
5.0
Version: 2.9.41
As so many of these reviews have cited, SpamSieve is the best spam filter on the market. My experience with the software not only confirms that of other users but adds another dimension. When I had difficulties with Mail on my iMac, multiple senior advisors from Apple were unable to solve the problem. Desperate for help (I did not want to follow the latest senior advisor’s recommendation to reinstall the OS and all of my third-party apps), I turned to SpamSieve’s support for help. By far, this has been my best support experience with my computer. The expert who responded to my many emails did so with abundant patience and skill—during a holiday weekend, no less. For the first time in months, my Mail client is running smoothly.
Just-Fred
Just-Fred
Dec 11 2020
2.9.41
5.0
Dec 11 2020
5.0
Version: 2.9.41
I have been using SpamSieve on my Macs for over 15 years. Given its cost, that works out to about $2 per year. And it has certainly saved me more than that in time spent cleaning up my mailboxes! It works, like a Mac application should: seamlessly and unobtrusively. Out of the box it's a terrific helper, but if you spend time "training" it, it really shows its magic! I once went overboard and got too "deep into the weeds," but SpamSieve even has a way out of that (e.g., "rebuilding the corpus"). SpamSieve is one of those I-can't-do-without programs, and the one-time charge is well worth it!
Fariborz
Fariborz
Oct 19 2020
2.9.40
5.0
Oct 19 2020
5.0
Version: 2.9.40
I’ve been using SpamSieve with “Airmail” since the developer made it compatible with this emailer. Something I’ve noticed and you probably know, is that the more you use it, the better it becomes in distinguishing “spam” from authentic mail. It does this by learning the pattern of junk mails you receive and not by simply identifying and blacklisting their senders. Therefore, after a week or two no spam passes through if you correctly blacklist spam in the first place. I still receive junk mail, but it’s limited to 10 mails a month and not 100 a day like before! The developer has done a great job by making it compatible all major emailers and not solely with Apple Mail. In this way, even if you change your emailer, your blacklists will also be transferred to the new one. I can’t remember the last time I paid for an upgrade but in the market of applications that work on a subscription basis it’s rare to find a developer that instead of seeking new strategies to increase his profits prefers to spend his time on enhancing his software and making it more efficient for all users alike. Thank you very much sir and please continue like this. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI – Verona (Italy)
Aargl
Aargl
Oct 19 2020
2.9.40
5.0
Oct 19 2020
5.0
Version: 2.9.40
I can't understand the bad reviews below! So easy to set up, so transparent to use... It's even easier with MailMate or Postbox than Apple Mail.
dcm767
dcm767
Sep 24 2020
2.9.39
0.0
Sep 24 2020
0.0
Version: 2.9.39
Spent the good part of an hour in total futility do download and run S.S. What a joke
The have ZERO customer support. Some guy named Michael kept telling me to read the directions.
Thanks Michael.. have a 2-year old MacBook Air. I took it to a Mac "Guru". After 90-minutes, even he gave up. Good Luck!!
lauriefaen
lauriefaen
Sep 21 2020
2.9.39
3.0
Sep 21 2020
3.0
Version: 2.9.39
It works well on Macbook but not on my Iphone, so sometimes I miss emails that spamseive thinks are junk, but are important. Not sure how to fix this as I always have my phone but often am away from Macbook
ken-31
ken-31
Mar 15 2020
2.9.39
0.0
Mar 15 2020
0.0
Version: 2.9.39
very difficult to use. Doesnt catch persistent spam. use macs own Mail instead. Much better.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Dec 25 2019
2.9.38
4.0
Dec 25 2019
4.0
Version: 2.9.38
Good app, but has been very broken since upgrading to Catalina. The latest update didn't fix it... :(
richard-219
richard-219
Nov 26 2019
2.9.38
5.0
Nov 26 2019
5.0
Version: 2.9.38
Just excellent. Effective and easy to tweak filters.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Sep 8 2019
2.9.37
5.0
Sep 8 2019
5.0
Version: 2.9.37
Hate Spam? Distrust your servers decision as to what is spam? This app is your best alternative! Hugely accurate. Learns quicker than you do. Support excellent. Yes it works just great in Catalina!
Foulger
Foulger
Aug 19 2019
2.9.37
0.0
Aug 19 2019
0.0
Version: 2.9.37
Apple mail without spamsieve is like being married with no wife.
Gilles9
Gilles9
Aug 19 2019
2.9.37
5.0
Aug 19 2019
5.0
Version: 2.9.37
Great software, always up to date quickly for new MacOs Outstanding support
tim-lueth
tim-lueth
Aug 13 2019
2.9.36
5.0
Aug 13 2019
5.0
Version: 2.9.36
Changed my life. Suddenly no more SPAM mails (>80 per day). Email is usable again. Amazing that there was no solution from Apple!
msandman1943
msandman1943
Jun 9 2019
2.9.36
5.0
Jun 9 2019
5.0
Version: 2.9.36
After linking to an insecure network overseas, I was getting a hundred or more spam messages every day, many of them offensive. With SpamsSieve, they're gone. You do need to follow the installation instructions precisely. And... do take the time to train the software to recognize your particular flow of spam. (It's all there is intro well-written but lengthy step-by-step instructions.) It's also important to monitor the Spam folder every day for the first couple of weeks or so to catch false positives and train SpanSieve to not delete a few specific email senders. (using version 2.9.36 - June 2019) You may need to switch your iPhone/iPad email from "Push" to "Fetch every 15 minutes" for new mail. That way, your Mac will discard the spam before it gets to your mobile device. The downside is that there can be as much as a 15-minute delay on your mobile device unless you go to settings and fetch manually when you're expecting an urgent email.
facebook-480
facebook-480
Mar 22 2019
2.9.35
5.0
Mar 22 2019
5.0
Version: 2.9.35
After training and having used for a few months now, it is currently almost faultless. Currently no false positives (identifying good email as spam), barely any false negatives - way, way better than Gmail or Ourlook. Because (by design) it runs locally on your main device, control and security are maximised, but it means it's a bit fiddly to set up and other devices may pick up spam if the main device hasn't processed the emails on the IMAP server. For that reason, would love a cloud-based version.
Aargl
Aargl
Dec 20 2018
2.9.35
5.0
Dec 20 2018
5.0
Version: 2.9.35
How could we live without it? ;-)
Gilles9
Gilles9
Dec 20 2018
2.9.34
5.0
Dec 20 2018
5.0
Version: 2.9.34
Excellent software works perfectly support is incredibly fast and accurate
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Oct 8 2018
2.9.33
5.0
Oct 8 2018
5.0
Version: 2.9.33
If you have a spam problem and most of us do SpamSieve will solve your problem. Takes a bit of time to train but the time and minimal effort is well worth it. I use it in Apple Mail and Airmail 3 and it performs very well. My spam stopped happening. Works just fine in Mojave.
jeff-151
jeff-151
Sep 7 2018
2.9.32
1.0
Sep 7 2018
1.0
Version: 2.9.32
SpamSieve has been painful for me so far. First it wholesale moves a large number of "good" emails into Junk just as I was beginning the process of "training" it. Now I have to find them and move them back, because marking them as Good (in Junk) only moves the marked one back to Inbox. Also, about once a minute it locks up Outlook for a few seconds (shooting to 78%+ of the processor usage), making Outlook nearly unusable. Am I missing something?
Gilbrh03
Gilbrh03
Aug 31 2018
2.9.32
0.0
Aug 31 2018
0.0
Version: 2.9.32
You ask me why I put my email application to the trash. When I proceeded to the last update I got a damaged copy of the software and I have had to reinstall it. I love that software which is really a plus using Mail.
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
Aug 30 2018
2.9.32
5.0
Aug 30 2018
5.0
Version: 2.9.32
Just gets better and better.... Stats: used since June 2001. Filtered 154,229 spam messages. 99.6 correct accuracy. You hate spam? Get SpamSieve.
Roger-Rodrigues
Roger-Rodrigues
May 21 2018
2.9.31
5.0
May 21 2018
5.0
Version: 2.9.31
Some difficulty to set up. Afte r that it is just great
Aargl
Aargl
Sep 21 2017
2.9.29
5.0
Sep 21 2017
5.0
Version: 2.9.29
An indispensable tool to fight spam! After some time you get 98-99% of spam filtered correctly.
Of course, due to the moving nature of spam, you can't expect any spam filter to be 100% accurate. Once in a while, there'll be some new sender that needs to be manually identified, be it good or bad.
SpamSieve is incredibly easy to set up, particularly with Postbox.
I complement it in Mail with some rules placed before the Spamsieve rule, to delete recurring spam for well known spammer (or even rules at the server level), I use Gmail spam folder as the destination for spam (so that it works whether I fire Mail or Postbox, in any of my computers, and I check regularly that folder, just in case.
Particularly helpful tool when you have lots of mail addresses to manage, all inflicted with spam!
Chuckl
Chuckl
Aug 25 2017
2.9.29
5.0
Aug 25 2017
5.0
Version: 2.9.29
Awesome product. Effective, easy to use, install, and update. Frequent updates and bug fixes are a bonus. The developer stays at least one step ahead of OS updates, unlike some other developers.
Jimsinsd
Jimsinsd
Jul 25 2017
2.9.28
1.0
Jul 25 2017
1.0
Version: 2.9.28
I honestly do not understand why SpamSieve gets such high ratings when it keeps failing over and over and over to catch spam I receive that I know I have previously trained as spam at least a dozen times before. I kept track today and fully 28 spam messages got through SpamSieve and into my inbox and I had marked each one them as spam before. I can check the blacklist and see my spams listed but they just keep coming through anyway. I have added people to my Contacts yet they get thrown onto the spam folder. I am no neophyte to the Mac having used them since the 80s and having been an IT Director for a high school for 10 years. I have read and followed the directions carefully many, many times. I have deleted SpamSieve then started over from scratch at least 8 - 10 times where I blow away anything and everything SpamSieve. And I know enough to dig into the Library Folders (Mine and the System's) to find all supporting folders/files and .pref files and deleted everything before reinstalling. I reinstall, begin to train the good and the spam and within a day or two the messages I had marked as spam get right through the SpamSieve filter. I have communicated with Michael Tsai, (I do have to give credit to Mr Tsai because he has been diligent about supporting his program.) then followed his recommendations yet spam gets through. I might as well just remove SpamSieve permanently because the Spam filter in Apple Mail actually catches as much of not more than SpamSieve has for me when I turn SpamSieve off and it on. And I know you are now thinking I have the Apple spam filter turned on but I do not. I am a disappointed customer and cannot recommend the purchase of this program. Sorry.
baxsur
baxsur
Feb 28 2017
2.9.28
5.0
Feb 28 2017
5.0
Version: 2.9.28
Great!
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
Feb 27 2017
2.9.28
5.0
Feb 27 2017
5.0
Version: 2.9.28
Gets better and better, super accurate. I've got stats dating back to 2001! 241,919 good messages, 132,324 spams (so you can see how useful this product has been), 99.7% correct. An amazing product with great support! More data below. Filtered Mail 241,919 Good Messages 132,324 Spam Messages (35%) 23 Spam Messages Per Day SpamSieve Accuracy 684 False Positives 568 False Negatives (45%) 99.7% Correct Corpus 6,276 Good Messages 7,670 Spam Messages (55%) 869,437 Total Words Rules 80,045 Blocklist Rules 41,958 Whitelist Rules Showing Statistics Since 6/12/01, 6:58 PM
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Feb 8 2017
2.9.27
5.0
Feb 8 2017
5.0
Version: 2.9.27
I've been using this for 10 years at least. It solved and keeps solving having to deal with the seemingly never ending spam flood on multiple accounts. Still I have 99.4% accuracy, from the beginning in PowerMail and since quite a few years in Apple Mail.

I've never had a serious problem as it has mostly just kept working and that includes the betas. For the odd issue support has been stellar. I'm still impressed with the great service this app and its maker give me still after a decade. There are not a lot of apps in any category I can say that about.

How would my messages look without this pearl?
Seenderella
Seenderella
Dec 23 2016
2.9.27
4.0
Dec 23 2016
4.0
Version: 2.9.27
I would say it's a bit expensive to give $30 for just sorting spam. So, I'm not going to continue my subscription. But the app is not bad, it handles the task it was created for.
@mitic@
@mitic@
Oct 6 2016
2.9.25
4.0
Oct 6 2016
4.0
Version: 2.9.25
The reason I decided to install SpamSieve was a huge number of spam coming to all my emails every day, that makes me mad, so I am ready to pay money to solve this problem. SpamSieve seems to be good at this job. It marks all the spam I receive but doesn't delete it. Therefore, i can be sure that important mails won't be deleted for mistake.
RebeccaA
RebeccaA
Jun 1 2016
2.9.24
4.5
Jun 1 2016
4.5
Version: 2.9.24
Used this app for long (up to year) and totally satisfied with it. Appreciate its spam statistics, the accuracy is very high (99,5 - 99,8%). I like the way it marks spam not deleting it, though, so you can check any mail anytime. The price is justified, plus the developers regularly give free updates. Needed and helpful app if you get tons of spam every day.
Macupdate-User
Macupdate-User
Jan 15 2016
2.9.23
0.0
Jan 15 2016
0.0
Version: 2.9.23
Hello, If I buy this app on AMAZON, how is it delivered? How do I get the serial #, etc.?
Steve-Frawley
Steve-Frawley
Aug 26 2015
2.9.20
5.0
Aug 26 2015
5.0
Version: 2.9.20
Any word on compatibility with El Capitan? Mail spam filtering is terrible in comparison.
maverick-1
maverick-1
Jun 4 2015
2.9.20
3.0
Jun 4 2015
3.0
Version: 2.9.20
Works great in Safari, but I'm waiting for them to update it to work with Thunderbird 31.7.0.
Steve-Frawley
Steve-Frawley
Jun 3 2015
2.9.20
5.0
Jun 3 2015
5.0
Version: 2.9.20
Cheap for what it does. Regularly updated and updates are free. Best in class Spam filter because it filters what I deem spam, not some bot. Highly satisfied user for years. Must have software in my opinion. Filters applied on desktop machine cleans IMAP mail on iPhone and iPad.
Bluestar
Bluestar
Feb 16 2015
2.9.19
2.5
Feb 16 2015
2.5
Version: 2.9.19
I have whitelisted emails by training email I get from Amazon Local, Eddie Bauer, All Modern as "good" at least 10 times and also adding them to my Address Book, which can be specified in prefs, but still Spamsieve catches these emails as spam all the time and puts it into my SPAM folder. Rather annoying and not very useful software.
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
Jan 28 2015
2.9.19
5.0
Jan 28 2015
5.0
Version: 2.9.19
Simply the best spam filter ever (and I've tried a few). Been using it for years, the accuracy is amazing! For example, stats since 2008: (178,480 Good Messages), accuracy is 99.7%. Better still, it's a seamless, out of your way approach to dealing with spam. Developer is constantly updating the product, making it better. Worth every penny! Hate spam? This is the product for you. An indispensable utility.

markrf
markrf
Nov 17 2014
2.9.17
5.0
Nov 17 2014
5.0
Version: 2.9.17
All I ask is that a program does what it claims to do. That it does it correctly and repeatedly. That the program has documentation that has been well written and maintained. And that the program is updated frequently as needed - but not so frequently so that the users become beta testers. SpamSieve is one of the few programs that match these simple requirements. Spam is a nuisance that won't go away. Corporations have sophisticated tools to manage spam for their users; end-users (like me) have this. And I'm happy.
Maylbu
Maylbu
Oct 17 2014
2.9.17
5.0
Oct 17 2014
5.0
Version: 2.9.17
Great app, bouhgt about 2 years ago, works very well, customer service is excellent, developer Michael Tsai always on top of every issue and improving the app at every update. I agree with some to have an option for dock or/and tool bar.
Orchrist
Orchrist
Sep 29 2014
2.9.16
5.0
Sep 29 2014
5.0
Version: 2.9.16
A marvellous app. With little training and easy installation, I now have virtually no spam any more. Highly recommended.
Marcossi
Marcossi
Sep 19 2014
2.9.16
0.0
Sep 19 2014
0.0
Version: 2.9.16
Not a review but a comment. As I am using Google App email accounts I am happy with Googles spam filter. I tried SpamSieve for a week and found it annoying and a bitt complicated with many options. But I am sure that if one does not have a good spam filter, SpamSieve could be worth learning (setting upp properly). I did also not find a good way to make it run in the background.
Aaronk
Aaronk
Sep 4 2014
2.9.15
5.0
Sep 4 2014
5.0
Version: 2.9.15
This thing works like a champ. Dozens of spam messages a week sent to my work Exchange mailbox are now filtered to my Outlook 2011 junk folder automatically. Occasionally it filters legitimate email to the junk folder (typically some unimportant marketing email from some vendor, nothing major), but after 20 days of use, I can't believe I didn't buy this a year ago. Don't hesitate. This developer makes an awesome product. Buy it!
Lenwines
Lenwines
Jun 30 2014
2.9.15
5.0
Jun 30 2014
5.0
Version: 2.9.15
This app is worth every penny of its cost. The developer, Michael Tsai, is a genius at what he does. If you want to get rid of spam, you can not do better than SpamSieve. I would hate email if it weren't for this product.
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
Jun 30 2014
2.9.14
4.5
Jun 30 2014
4.5
Version: 2.9.14
In general, this program is indispensable. I have only one quibble with it. A utility program that runs in the background should NEVER have a dock icon (dock space is far too valuable to wasted on such programs, and a developer should bloody well know and respect this fact). Yes, the documentation tells you how to get rid of it using Terminal, but that probably places an unreasonable burden on some users. It should ship with the dock switched off.
Gregory
Gregory
May 16 2014
2.9.14
4.5
May 16 2014
4.5
Version: 2.9.14
Love this app. Its always promptly updated. It does a terrific job of sorting the wheat from the chaff. It is expensive, but you get your money's worth.
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Apr 30 2014
2.9.13
0.0
Apr 30 2014
0.0
Version: 2.9.13
They forgot to mention, that it works with Airmail also ...
JosephD7991
JosephD7991
Mar 26 2014
2.9.13
5.0
Mar 26 2014
5.0
Version: 2.9.13
This is an excellent product. I haven't used any competitors but this one is perfect for me. It has few false goods and is easy to train. Almost no false bads. And the questionable ones show up as notifications. It shovels out hundreds of spams per hour.
Gregory
Gregory
Dec 17 2013
2.9.12
4.5
Dec 17 2013
4.5
Version: 2.9.12
Although it is expensive, SpamSieve is a terrific, useful application. I would buy it again.
Wanderer
Wanderer
Dec 16 2013
2.9.11
3.5
Dec 16 2013
3.5
Version: 2.9.11
Stopped working as of the release of Mavericks 10.9.1, hoping for an update soon?
Pripyat
Pripyat
Dec 16 2013
2.9.11
4.0
Dec 16 2013
4.0
Version: 2.9.11
Great Mail.app plugin, really enjoying it! One feature suggestion: Could we customize the keyboard shortcuts used for helping SpamSieve "learn" about good mails and spam?