Back to LiteSwitch X page
LiteSwitch X free download for Mac

LiteSwitch X Reviews

2.8.3
18 February 2019

Keyboard application switcher.

clakes
17 April 2010

Most helpful

YES!! 64 bit-update! I love LiteSwitch. It's a conditio sine qua non on my Macs.
Like (4)
Version 2.7

Read 86 LiteSwitch X User Reviews

Rate this app:

Eldorado47
25 September 2018
Oh no! Looks like LS doesn't work with Mojave. Ammon -- I hope you are listening and will be so gracious as to update the app. I've been a user for as long as I can remember and find if hard to live without.
Like
Version 2.8.3
2 answer(s)
Eldorado47
Eldorado47
28 September 2018
Goops! Spoke too soon. It suddenly started working and appears to be okay with Mojave. Sorry for the alert.
Like
gradebuster
gradebuster
31 December 2018
LS still works great in Mojave. However, a message pops up every so often saying that it will need to be updated (to 64-bit?) in the near future. Truly, I cannot imagine using a Mac without this fantastic little app. Here's hoping for an update before Apple disables it in a future OS release.
Like
Scott-Winklebleck
03 March 2017
I have loved this app, but for various reasons I have to let it go. The one feature I am trying to replace is the "switching sends re-open event" so if there are no windows open for that app, it opens one. I can get the same effect if I hold option before letting go of cmd.. Anyone know of a script or terminal command that makes that the default behavior so I don't have to hold option every time I cmd-tab.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.3
1 answer(s)
Scott-Winklebleck
Scott-Winklebleck
20 April 2017
Command-Tab Plus does what I want:
https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/57759/command-tab-plus
Like (1)
Doug-Engelbart
12 November 2016
Works perfectly now (v2.8.3) in Sierra (X.12.1). Much better than Apple's CMD-TAB (next app) and CMD-Shift-TAB (prev app) because LiteSwitch can switch using ALT-TAB (next) and ALT-Shift (prev) which is much more comfortable and easy-to-use. I dunno why Apple didn't do it just like that.
Like
Version 2.8.3
Ward
12 February 2016
A shortcoming of LiteSwitch X on Yosemite is that its keyboard shortcuts (especially tabbing to a previous application) do not work by default. The simple work-around to activate the shortcuts is to select LiteSwitch X in System Preferences, disable it and re-enable it. This must be done after each OS X startup or restart.
Like (1)
Version 2.8
Mcx
24 November 2014
LiteSwitch X was recently updated to 2.8.3, fixing the Yosemite shortcut incompatibility. The latest version can be found at http://sysbeep.com
Like (2)
Version 2.8
macupdate-122
23 October 2014
Ammon (the developer of Liteswitch X said the following :- "Yes. I plan to release a new version this week. For now if you want to use the old version, unset the command-tab hotkey and use another" Hope that helps others !
Like (3)
Version 2.8
orazio-principe
22 August 2014
Hi, anybody have already test it on Yosemite? I had to uninstall it because my desktop become instable... Any suggestion?
Like
Version 2.8
3 answer(s)
AlVarnell
AlVarnell
29 September 2014
According to his Google + page, the developer now works for Apple, so that tells me there won't be any more updates.
https://plus.google.com/+ammonskidmore/posts
Like
Gilbarbara
Gilbarbara
17 October 2014
It's not working with 10.10! :(
Lots of errors in Console including CarbonCore.
I love this utility and I hope it could be fixed!
Like
Eldorado47
Eldorado47
20 October 2014
His Google+ page says he's worked at Apple since 2002. He altered the code for LS to work in Mavericks so let's hope he blesses us with an update.
Like (1)
Marivaux
14 January 2014
Works in Mavericks, but with some problems--mainly (at least for me) it doesn't run at login/startup--you have to go to the System Preferences and click on the preference pane, which is an annoying additional task. Also un-retina-ized--I wouldn't expect that one, though. I've used this for years and years and paid for it (albeit quite a while ago). it'd be nice if the bugs got worked out!
Like
Version 2.8
Dmcrimson
31 October 2013
Used to be great and indispensable - now won't even activate under Mavericks!
Like
Version 2.8
8 answer(s)
clakes
clakes
06 November 2013
You used to be great, but now you're dropping a sloppy comment, I'm afraid to tell you: 1) LiteSwitch worked just fine even as of 2.6 in 10.9 for me 2) it works even better as of 2.8 ßeta 3) my heart is beating to a LiteWitch drummmm!!! =) so delited it's still alive < 3 *un-beat-able* 4) try again, you might be luckier
Like (1)
Dmcrimson
Dmcrimson
09 November 2013
Just retried - nothing. Well, need to erase all things related to it, delete and reinstall once more after a fresh reboot.
Like
clakes
clakes
09 November 2013
Hmm... Weird. But possible nonetheless. Indeed you should try a clean install (AppCleaner is a fast, free and reliable companion when it comes to this, but it's just a matter of a pref file after all, in this case). Actually, although OS X is less prone to such mess, one should clean-install new OS's every time it upgrades, imvho: I zeroed my disk, had a sheer 10.6 install and straight all the way up to 10.9 and now my MacBook is ten times faster than before and not a single glitch even as verbose as I might let it be... Meh
Like
Dmcrimson
Dmcrimson
09 November 2013
Still, no go. Worked fine on mountain lion, tho.
Like
clakes
clakes
09 November 2013
*facepalm* Really, I feel it for you, brother, and sorry for being so stupidly ironic in my first post... I'd truly feel lost without this custom transparent, less obtrusive, bottom o'screen working LiteSwitcher! I think this - along with Spark and Quicksilver, and let Shortcat kick in why not - is a must have for people who still trust their keys instead of wandering around with a touchy-thing (blame string calluses here?!) and constantly chasing a damn pointer (tap-a-tee-tap... tap, tap, tap) IDK... Maybe something tightly related to video and specs? *double meh* I guess that the only real help could come from Ammon himself, the dev of this must-hav
Like (1)
Dmcrimson
Dmcrimson
09 November 2013
Hmm, liteswitch fails to start for some reason. I get "9.11.2013 19.53.09,962 System Preferences[804]: 8837325: Attempting to SIGCONT to pid #947 failed, with errno=#3, or the process failed to actually start " all over the logs.
Like
clakes
clakes
09 November 2013
Ow... That makes a lot more sense! =D No, seriously now... Feeling the pain, for I wouldn't live without LiteSwitch, I'm not a coder, and not even a decent debugger: it just sounds like it fails to start, as you stated, IDK... I can't be more helpful, and it *bugs* me, I swear. Given you're on a clean 2.8ß install, try feeding Ammon via Twitter with such log thing... Maybe he'll be kindly back at yours with a fix... or a reason at least! *meh-eh* =(
Like
Dmcrimson
Dmcrimson
17 November 2013
Doh. HAd my boot drive fail on me, and reinstalled Mountain Lion -> Mavericks, and now it works... Luckily, most of my apps were ok, and data rescue did it's job. Curious though, every sing Apple app was busted :D
Like
Maclover1-1
08 September 2013
It destroys the drag and drop capacity of the Switcher, making it unusable for me. Too bad, all I wanted was to be able to hide a few "Background" apps in my Switcher. Oh well.
Like
Version 2.8
1 answer(s)
Beige
Beige
02 October 2013
drag and drop still works for me.
Like
Beige
16 July 2013
great app - simple but very clean and less clutter than the others IMO. Thanks for the Mavericks support.
Like
Version 2.8
Phantazm
15 July 2013
Head over to sysbeep.com for 2.8b1. It works in Mavericks and eliminates the registration code.
Like
Version 2.7
1 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
16 July 2013
Thanks for the heads-up, Phantazm! I've updated the listing with the link to the dev's site, and the link to the new beta. Do you know if this is now freeware?
Like
Doug-Engelbart
16 November 2012
Every function of LiteSwitch 2.7 works in my OSX.8.2, except: After every login or reboot, it is not running until I open its prefpane, then it popups a window saying "Note: In order to enable Apple-Tab, the Dock must first be quit and relaunched. This will cause all minimized windows to be expanded. Do you wish to proceed? No/Yes", then I click "Yes" and the Dock relaunches, and ONLY THEN LiteSwitch works completely — until next startup/login. :(
Like
Version 2.7
Tlance
06 September 2012
What a shame we can't contact the developer. Well actually, it's a shame you can't buy it! Once upon a time they did give free serials for LS and MaxMenus. I bought early on. Now under Mountain Lion LS doesn't work until the PreferencePane is opened.
Like (2)
Version 2.7
2 answer(s)
clakes
clakes
15 September 2012
Actually, it still works OK here on 10.8, but I remember having such issue in Lion. Not 100% sure, but I think I fixed it by simply wiping and reinstalling... you might want to give a try. But indeed it's a horrible shame LiteSwitch's been abandoned! I love the way... it keeps out of the way! Witch is just so much more obtrusive! Someone should really get LS going again, for its (should-be-Apple's) simplicity and effectiveness truly deserve it!
Like (1)
Tlance
Tlance
15 September 2012
Well said Clakes. Also, a restart was all I really needed (color me shamed).
Like (1)
Doug-Engelbart
01 September 2012
Works great in OSX.8.1! I'm using it since Jaguar. Simply better than Apple's Switcher because LS can not only switch forward, but also backward (shift) — and hides an app (H), shows one alone (A), quits one (Q) instantly, changes the switcher colors etc.pp. ... I dunno why such usability is still not implemented by Apple itself. Shame.
Like (2)
Version 2.7
Cowicide
23 March 2012
Is this abandonware? The developer's website appears to be gone.
Like
Version 2.7
1 answer(s)
gatovadio
gatovadio
15 May 2012
and there's no email to contact the author. this is so light-weight, simple yet powerful (with single app mode included) it's a pity that was abandoned. expose for app windows stopped working in X 10.7.4 and there's also 2 other things i miss: when it's set to bring all forward in the window layering, it would be great if liteswitch x could bring smaller windows to the front (a preferences window that could be behind the main window, for example). also, one thing that was overlooked would be the ability to disable command-shift to switch backwards and leave just command-`. the reason for this is that in single application mode, holding shift when clicking another app on the dock or switching to another app via command-tab, overrides it so you can view 2 or more applications at the same time. as it is, the only clumsy work-around is to command-tab to the item right next to the one you wanna view at the same time and press shift once while keeping command pressed. it's also advised to disable key repeat in the advanced options so you don't get just 1 split second to do it.
Like (1)
Sequoia1
20 June 2011
Currently works on Lion! (10.7 , 11A494a) Yaaa!
Like (1)
Version 2.7
5 answer(s)
Beige
Beige
16 July 2011
actually, it makes my desktop flash grey on launch and when my monitor wakes from sleep, this grey desktop comes back and only relaunching Liteswitch fixes it.
Like
Beige
Beige
17 July 2011
oops - it seems this bug is with the Dock. Glad it's not a problem with Liteswitch because the support link is dead on the Proteron site.
Like
matrixbud
matrixbud
29 September 2011
Actually, it is beginning to break down in Lion. It does work but the Exclude function no longer does. Also some of the hot keys no longer work. An update would be welcome.
Like (1)
Sequoia1
Sequoia1
29 September 2011
Bud_simrin, the Exclude feature still works by right-clicking on the Finder list of open apps, and choosing "Don't display in LiteSwitch." You're right: the wheels are falling off, though.
Like (1)
matrixbud
matrixbud
29 September 2011
Thanks, Sequoia1. I had ver 2.7 and the current download is a beta so I just assumed it was older than what I have. But, in fact I just tried the beta and it is newer and improved. The Exclude function works as it always had and there are additional hotkeys now that I didn't know about. So I retract my comment.
Like (1)
Peternsteinmetz
06 April 2011
The developer did the same thing previously, disappeared, with no updates or news for 1 or 2 years. Also wasn't paying their taxes. Best avoided -- lots of alternatives, like Switcher Maestro, which is cheaper and supported by a great developer.
Like
Version 2.7
Paul-Roberts
04 January 2011
Very frustrating that I can't purchase the application. I've been trying to buy for a couple months but keep getting the 404 errors when I either connect from the UI nag screen or try connecting to their e-commerce site from their own website. Especially annoying since I finally spent time evaluating the options so that I could make the *right* choice. Just like I thought, it's not worth the time. So I will buy one of the others. The rating is strictly because of the problem downloading. My experience with the actual application has been flawless with no issues.
Like
Version 2.7
Soderberg
01 November 2010
I am getting 404 errors on the developers site as well (in contrast to my earlier replies to ACCOUNTCLOSED; apologies for posting without checking more thoroughly). Download links work, but nothing else.
Like
Version 2.7
Stormchild
09 August 2010
Nice to see some new features and continued development. Just thought I'd mention that the scrollwheel issue still hasn't been fixed (scrollwheel is still scrolling whatever window is under the mouse pointer when scrolling through open apps -- which it shouldn't be doing while the app switcher is open).
Like
Version 2.7
Robotank
09 August 2010
The download link here isn't giving the latest version. Go to the dev's site for it. The DMG file will indicate verison 2.7b2.
Like (1)
Version 2.7
junlam
04 June 2010
While I love most of the LiteSwitch features (especially the ability to ignore some app like LaunchBar in the Tab-Switcher, and the use of just "shift" key to go backward), I revert back to the standard Tab Switcher because of this: http://www.macworld.com/article/142637/2009/09/106expose.html I simply cannot just use Cmd-Tab, then up-or-down arrow key to activate the new Snow Leopard Exposé Application Window mode. Instead the Contextual Menu will be displayed for that App. I wish they can put some enhancement in it to either allow this new Snow Leopard behavior, or allow us to choose which behavior we want.
Like
Version 2.7
KNOBO
26 May 2010
How to deal with multiple windows in liteswitch, like several browser windows? I cannot access it via liteswitch, right? Thank you in advance.
Like
Version 2.7
4 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
28 May 2010
Correct. For window switching check out Witch or WindowFlow.
Like
Version 2.7
KNOBO
KNOBO
30 May 2010
Thank you Robotank. This makes LiteSwitchX useless. Even the original Cmd-Tab facility can deal with multiple windows - and looks much better.
Like
Version 2.7
Nicksloan
Nicksloan
29 June 2010
And SnapRocket and Exposé. BUT Kantorde this doesn't make LiteSwitch useless --or any different from the Cmd Tab switcher as far as I can see. Sure you can go to Exposé from Cmd-Tab, but if you have multiple app windows open, Exposé or Witch is probably your best bet anyway. As an application switcher, I find LiteSwitch to be the best by far.
Like (1)
Version 2.7
KNOBO
KNOBO
29 June 2010
BUT an application switcher without this functionality is just to limited to be a "replacement" for the original one. Thus, things like that make little sense for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.7
Batgirlshops
24 May 2010
I was just wondering how can someone purchase LiteSwitch X and get rid of the annoying pop-up screen. Proteron's page does not have enough information on how to do that
Like
Version 2.7
1 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
25 May 2010
Grab it on MU Promo today for $5.95.
Like (1)
Version 2.7
Gregr
27 April 2010
And there was much rejoicing...
Like
Version 2.7
Stormchild
20 April 2010
Oh yeah, one other thing. Since Snow Leopard added the option for windows to minimize to the app icon (instead of taking up space on the Dock), I actually minimize windows all the time now (never used that feature from 10.0-10.5). The one thing that's been annoying about it, though, is that minimized windows don't restore when switching back to the app via Command-Tab…even if it's a single-window app. This differs from the behavior of clicking an app's icon in the Dock. To make a long story short, the LiteSwitch option "Switching sends re-open event" totally solves this problem, and makes the behavior of switching apps consistent, whether you switch via Command-Tab or clicking the app's icon in the Dock. Okay, make that two other things. It's also nice being able to hide specific apps from the switcher. For example, I really don't need LaunchBar in there, since I already have a shortcut for that.
Like
Version 2.7
1 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
07 May 2010
I love the ability to send a re-open event as well. It even works to automatically restore windows minimized in place or window shaded with WindowSahde X. Anyway, I just wanted to point out in case it's useful for anyone that there is a little-known trick to unminimize windows with OS X's built-in Command+Tab application switcher (at least in SL; i don't know about earlier versions). Switch to the desired application, press and hold Option, then release Command, and the switch will unminimize the application's frontmost window. LiteSwitch is definitely better, but this trick may be handy if you're working on a machine without LiteSwitch.
Like
Version 2.7
Stormchild
20 April 2010
Really happy to see this is still alive (or back from the dead, as it were). The new version seems to be working nicely (on 10.6.3). Apple's Command-Tab switcher has certainly improved over the years, but I still find it frustrating to use at times due to the way it sorts apps. Apple's implementation moves hidden apps to the end of the list, which is annoying if you just want something out of the way for a second (especially apps that tend to fill the entire screen, like Aperture and Photoshop). I also still prefer the way LiteSwitch handles quitting apps -- by marking them with an X, and not actually quitting them until you let go of the Command key, it gives you the opportunity to hit Esc if you hit Q by accident. In Apple's version, accidentally hitting Q instead of Tab can be very annoying, depending on what app you just accidentally quit. I also missed being able to hit 'R' to relaunch an app. This is particularly handy when you want to restart the Finder, since it lacks a quit command of its own. One thing they haven't done (yet?) is deal with the scrollwheel scrolling background windows. This was added in Leopard (which is about when LiteSwitch got too buggy to use), and this is the first update since then, so maybe it'll be addressed in the next update (if there is one…here's hoping). But FYI, if you're used to using the scrollwheel to scroll through open apps, you'll notice it will also scroll whatever window (or text box, etc.) your cursor happens to be over, if any. Would be nice to get that sorted out, but it's not a big deal.
Like
Version 2.7
YesThatAllen
18 April 2010
I've used LiteSwitch for so long I can't remember. i've tried others, but it's just so nice to have LiteSwitch! It's never failed me since 10.4, and I'm so glad to see this new version! Thanks Proteron!
Like
Version 2.7
Peternsteinmetz
17 April 2010
And the claim on their web site that they have been around since 1996 strikes one as quite laughable given the history.
Like (2)
Version 2.7
Peternsteinmetz
17 April 2010
While I always liked LiteSwitch, I tried many times to reach Proteron during their "hiatus", all to no avail. I don't know that I could recommend purchasing items from a company which completely abandoned its customers for two years, and was listed as an inactive corporation by the Secretary of State in Nebraska due to non-payment of taxes. This does not strike one as reliable behavior. Keyboard Maestro has a nearly identical keyboard switching function now, provides much other functionality, and is back by a developer with a long track record of excellent customer service.
Like (2)
Version 2.7
Robotank
17 April 2010
Sooooo... This app is back, which is great, but there doesn't seem to be any way to purchase it at the moment, which is annoying because it still flashes a registration reminder. I hope it doesn't take too long for the devs to get their store back up and running.
Like
Version 2.7
Yazsoft
17 April 2010
It lives!!
Like (2)
Version 2.7
1 answer(s)
AronL
AronL
17 April 2010
HUZZAH! Everyone's flavorite app-switcher is back from its zombie-like hiatus! BRAAAAAAAAAAAAINS! :D:D:D
Like
Version 2.7
clakes
17 April 2010
YES!! 64 bit-update! I love LiteSwitch. It's a conditio sine qua non on my Macs.
Like (4)
Version 2.7
Batgirlshops
16 April 2010
Indeed, the site is up and there's currently version 2.7 beta available for download. So far it seems to working fine with 10.6.3. Yay! Have been waiting for an update for quite a while.
Like (3)
Version 2.6
Petty-Evil
01 April 2010
Proteron's site is back online with the old download available. They also have the following message: "After approximately two years of unavailability, we are preparing to re-commit our efforts to the prompt service and attention that have been the mark of the Proteron experience." I'm looking forward to updated versions of this essential piece of software. It's been a little buggy for me under the more recent versions of 10.5. While Apple did swipe the default look of LiteSwitch, they did not duplicate the functionality and flexibility of this tool and I'd really like to make use of it again.
Like (3)
Version 2.6
Peternsteinmetz
24 February 2010
Proteron out of business, where Keyboard Maestro provides largely same functionality with great support by the developer.
Like
Version 2.6
Mac007
21 December 2009
I wouldn't bother with LiteSwitch X. The website is totally inaccessible which means the application is abandoned. Proteron evidently went out of business.
Like
Version 2.6
Sequoia1
14 December 2009
LiteSwitch works perfectly in Snow Leopard (10.6.2, as of 12-14-09). Still one of my must-have utilities whenever I get a new Mac. So much slicker than Apple's built-in app switcher. Granted, the developers are screwing themselves by not posting any information and making it really hard for people to purchase LiteSwitch. (talk about leaving money on the table). But if you can find the installer, it works fine on SL.
Like
Version 2.6
Bradsmith74
09 December 2009
Strange, there appears to be a site here: http://proteron.portcode.com/ but most of the links (history, contact) are broken and there's no way to purchase the software.
Like
Version 2.6
Peternsteinmetz
06 November 2009
This is a 32 bit control panel, so requires a restart of System Preferences under Snow Leopard -- annoying, but works. As to Proteron, LLC, it is listed as an inactive corporation by the state of Nebraska for non-payment of taxes. The registered agent, Neill Mollard, of Omaha, NE doesn't appear to have a phone number in whitepages. But perhaps someone in Omaha might be able to reach him. The other developers, Ammon Skidmore, Samuel and Matthew Caughron seem to have moved out west. Would be nice to get the source or an update, that is for sure.
Like
Version 2.6
Doug-Engelbart
21 October 2009
Much more comfortable than Apple's built-in Cmd-Tab application switcher. Still working flawlessly on my G4 1.2 GHz with OSX.5.8 (Leo) ... as it did in OSX.2 (Jaguar) to OSX.4 (Tiger).
Like (1)
Version 2.6
Nicksloan
07 October 2009
Who can say what lies behind the disappearance of Proteron? There could be any number of reasons, but they leave two exceptional apps marooned. I wish that somebody would pass on the code for LiteSwitch and Maxmenus to another developer-or even that someone would pick up the same concept (particularly for LiteSwitch) and run with it. The idea of a simple keyboard-controlled switcher of running apps, that supports exclusions and interactions, is too good to die. Witch could fill the role with a few tweaks, but as of now there is no viable replacement for LiteSwitch.
Like (3)
Version 2.6
1 answer(s)
Nicksloan
Nicksloan
15 October 2009
Yes, thanks for the suggestion Michaels, KM probably is the nearest thing, and I loved its predecessor Program Switcher in OS9, but for me KM comes with a ton of redundancy, I can't get app exclusions to work properly, and it doesn't offer useful little touches like Show in Finder or the ability to drag files onto app icons to open.
Like
Version 2.6
Jmichaels
27 September 2009
I have used LiteSwitch X for as long as I can remember, essentially since it was first released. The one point everyone hear needs to take away from this, is that no matter how good the software is, it is garbage if the developers do not respect their users. The developers, or owners of Proteron, have zero respect for their users. They Web site has been down for over a year, leaving users stranded to ask around for a shared copy if your lost yours and needed to reinstall. There is no official announcement of whether or not it works with Snow Leopard. I believe you can find the developers on twitter, and a basic search shows there are unanswered questions about this product. Even if they were to release a new updated version, with Snow support, and have a new website, I could never give these guys my money again. Even if it were free, I would not use it. There is a level of communication that a developer and company should have with their users. It is not hard to come here, and version tracker, or put up a page on their site, explaining they have stopped working on the software. I suggest everyone here, no matter how much you like this software, take into consideration, how you are being treated by someone who you have paid money to. This has been going on too long, too many unanswered emails, too many blog posts from users who have no idea what is going on. These guys should be ashamed, as it is clear fro their blogs and twitter posts, they have the ability to post something, they just chose to not care about those of us who have come to rely on their software. If anyone has any suggestions for an alternative, please post it here, as we all need to move away to something that will treat users with respect.
Like (1)
Version 2.6
Frankns
21 September 2009
Proteron's site appears to be down ... It would be great to see an update.
Like (1)
Version 2.6
Dave-H-
06 September 2009
Snow Leopard really hosed this, at least for me. To have it work as expected I have to go into System Prefs and quit and restart it after I restart my machine, which, admittedly, isn't often, but it's still 'something else' I have to do to in order to have things run the way I like under SL.
Like (1)
Version 2.6
clakes
27 August 2009
Desperate (useless?) call to the devs: _Please_ ... I love this app. I can't think of my Mac without it. Don't give this one up. It's worth it, for me and a lot of other people, including the ones who haven't even got to know about LiteSwitch X.
Like
Version 2.6
Fred-Klein
26 July 2009
Incompatibility found with Screen Sharing in 10.5.7 Switching away from Screen Sharing using command+tab in LiteSwitch X, ends up "leaving" the command key "pressed" in Screen Sharing: any further clicks behave like command+clicks. Disabling LiteSwitch X solves the issue. see http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2094309 Too bad Proteron is gone and there is no fix to this.
Like
Version 2.6
Stormchild
01 February 2009
I used to swear by LiteSwitch (I've been using it for around 10 years now!), but lately, I find myself swearing *at* it. It occasionally gets into a state where it fails to notice when you launch new apps, so they don't show up in the switcher. Quitting and relaunching LiteSwitch temporarily "fixes" it, but it soon happens again and again, and I've found that the only way to actually fix it is to restart -- which, quite frankly, I find completely unacceptable. Even just relaunching LiteSwitch is not an acceptable fix either, because it restarts the Dock every time you close *and* open LiteSwitch (two Dock restarts per relaunch of LS) -- and that gets to be a real pain in the a s s (btw, MacUpdate, comment censorship is extremely lame), cause it closes all your Dashboard widgets, and forces QuickLook to rescan all the items in any stacks you may have on the Dock. I hate to say it, but it's come to the point where the problems outweigh the benefits, so I can no longer recommend this abandonware. Here's hoping Apple improves the default cmd-tab switcher, cause I just can't put up with the bugs in LiteSwitch anymore. Seems like Proteron simply stopped caring. Too bad.
Like
Version 2.6
thec13
14 January 2009
Is this a dead application? I mean it hasn't been updated in two years.
Like
Version 2.6