Back to Graphic page
Graphic free download for Mac

Graphic Reviews

3.1
21 January 2018

Powerful vector drawing app.

Drdul
06 July 2013

Most helpful

I've been looking for a replacement for Illustrator, and iDraw does it foe me. I occasionally have a need to work with vector files. Nothing heavy duty, just adding, editing and moving elements. iDraw may not offer all the capabilities of Illustrator, but it does everything I need and can even open my old AI files. I have happily ditched my 6-year old version of Illustrator and switched to iDraw.
Like (5)
Version 2.3.b

Read 44 Graphic User Reviews

Rate this app:

fleur2metaline-1
25 January 2018
Works like a charm :-) Much more efficient than Affinity, Illustrator and others.
Like
Version 3.1
Kihoalu
03 January 2017
Its pretty good for its price, if it does enough of what you need.
For occasional use, its quite good as a helper application. Can’t rip it.

I won’t say that its handy enough (to me) to use on a daily basis, if one wants to be efficient & make a living doing what it does. Of course, then you/I wouldn’t be relying on a $25 application either.

The import/export options are pretty good.
You can drop an image as svg & work it in Illustrator, or import Illustrator files to it.

Right now Graphic doesn’t seem to sufficiently rival what a n app called Canvas used to do in its day. Canvas might be a competitor for this. Or perhaps TouchDraw (even more rarely updated).

Slightly offtopic:
Canvas before it was swallowed up by another company & languished for a decade & a half. (It now has returned in stripped down form from those days, at a higher price point than iDraw/Graphic).

Its interface is a tiny bit cumbersome.

The observation someone made that this "used to be a good simple draw tool” has not changed that it remains so today, even if it hasn’t evolved in over a year.
Like
Version 3.0.1
ash-f
05 December 2016
This used to be good simple drawing tool and UI is resemble to Adobe Illustrator. But since Autodesk bought this, it hasn't been updated. It's bad sign...
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
03 January 2017
In the beginning iDraw resembled a low end Illustrator alternative.
For the price its adequate & can handle simpler Illustrator functions.

As long as they don’t deadend this, it is recommended as a possibility, depending on your needs.

It does have a quirky interface, but manageable. Following more closely to Illustrator interface would have left warm & fuzzy feelings.

I have this version today & haven’t seen many updates either. As an offering from a large company, I think some enhancements are warranted, but I appreciate that they haven’t generated updates that are nothing more than cash cow minor upgrades with an upgrade fee.

Oct 30, 2015 to Jan 2017 really should have seen a little upgrade, but the price ($25) is still quite good.

More specific tools & better gridding (faster ways to change grids & snaps, etc) & more canned template sets (called “tiles” in their parlance) would be useful.

My very longtime experience is that when AutoDesk buys a competing product - they’re usually stifling affordable competition by buying up potential challengers & let the product mold over gradually. Not an uncommon practice in the world of CAD & graphic applications, either.

I would hope I am wrong in this case. They could make this a substantial player in the low end vector graphic dept.
Like
kalexan
29 November 2016
Super graphical editor!
Like
Version 3.0.1
DirkTheMenace
16 May 2015
My fav vector editor. Looks great (Pixelmator-esque) and works fast. Although Pixelmator has a (hidden) vector editor too, this is much better. 5 stars
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
Portman
05 February 2015
Great vector drawing app. Has a great looking GUI and works very smooth. That said, it sometimes cannot important adobe vector files correctly. If this could be improved this would be bargain at $25 Highly recommended.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Amergin
04 February 2015
It's got to be 5 stars! I have bought Acorn, Affinity Designer and Pixelmator in the quest to find a replacement for Photoshop and none of them have drawn me away from CS6. iDraw, however, has managed to become my first port of call for doing UI stuff with the occasional flip into Photoshop for pixel stuff and compressing output to png. Over the past few months I've been getting more and more bombs in Photoshop and am beginning to avoid it as much as possible. I know that is a vector based app but it does nearly everything I need.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Cgcorley
04 February 2015
The best vector drawing app for the Mac
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
Pik80
15 January 2015
Now includes support for sublayers and pasting objects inside of other shapes!! It’s easy to move objects around inside other shapes. Unfortunatly layer groupings only show a generic folder icon and not a picture of the drawing. The ability to copy out to another app and choose which file format you want to copy to is also a plus. The plugin feature is really nice. It now allows me to release a clipping path I made. While it is adding a lot of Yosemite features it still doesn’t have the standard duplicate file funionality or the quick way to rename or retag files that has been standard for many versions of OS X by now. Also doesn’t have the raster drawing tools that Affinity Designer has. Despite that I am still very excited to see where this app is headed!
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Thomas1977
10 November 2014
Wonderful, powerful, easy to use and cheap vector drawing app.
Like
Version 2.4.1
Appledogx
09 August 2014
With 2.4.1, and the new plugin feature, iDraw, which was already great, is getting greater. If you do vector graphics, you can't beat the power of this fine app. It's the first app I go to for any vector graphics I need to create, and it isn't really missing too much. CMYK is still missing and a way to convert bitmap to vector. What a gem!
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
1 answer(s)
peterbreis
peterbreis
16 April 2016
"...it isn't really missing too much. CMYK is still missing and a way to convert bitmap to vector. What a gem!"

ROTFL!
Like
OsloX
31 July 2014
Best of the vector drawing apps. Great clean looking GUI .
Like
Version 2.4.1
Markoh
31 July 2014
EPS export. Please.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.1
Alex-Macinsky
28 May 2014
Looks nice, but haven't been able to try it since there is no demo. This no demo 'buy it or leave it' tactic will hurt them in the long run. Too many times I have spent money on shareware or little company ware, that they have either closed down, abandoned, or sold out to a bigger company, and was left hanging feeling like an idlot. I am all for supporting developers, but they need to convince me to give them my money.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
3 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
07 June 2014
No demo? Odd. I got a demo from the Indeeo website (if I remember correctly), probably 6 (?) months ago. I never test drove it well enough in the 30 day allotment to have a strong sense of the app, but it looks quite promising if you don’t have Illustrator & its on my list for future purchase. (Yes, only $25, but there are so many toys & tools on my list). I haven’t bought iDraw because I have Illustrator in a useful version. I run CS4 & that is adequate for many of my needs. Now that Create Suite is an online subscription service, I am not as interested in upkeep on my Adobe apps (a strategy if you only need the Adobe apps for a short time is to subscribe for a month or two term, but buy iDraw for more regular use if you have modest needs).
Like (1)
Pik80
Pik80
13 June 2014
@Alex iDraw is insanely cheap for what you get. With a price that low a trial version is hardly necessary. I am sure you will use the program enough to justify it's price. The same price will only get you about one month's of service with Illustrator. If you are looking for a good basic vector program this is the one to get. If you are looking for an illustration program with lots of bells and whistles then you won't be happy with it.
Like
mikokim
mikokim
27 July 2014
There is no risk. If you purchase through MAS, and you don't like the app, you can always "Report a Problem" using the link included in the iTunes invoice you get. If the app doesn't perform as you expected, you will get your money back — as long as you report back within a reasonable amount of time (less than 14 days, for example). I, too, used to be skeptical of the MAS, but I discovered that if the product doesn't perform to your expectations, you complain and will get a refund (pretty fast).
Like (3)
Phillat5dock
21 May 2014
Hooray! I have finally found a Drawing Package (Vector Programme) which is easy to use and learn. I have been looking for this since MacDraw (Claris Draw/Appleworks) days. Terrific! Now if this developer could also develop a Phots***p replacement all would be great.
Like
Version 2.4
Pik80
20 May 2014
2.4 is a pretty large update. Don't let the modest version number fool you. Now includes support for sub layers!! The ability to copy out to another app and choose which file format you want to copy to is also a plus. I am very excited to see where this app is headed!
Like (2)
Version 2.4
GabrieleU4458
19 May 2014
Incredibly small, fast, stable and powerful. One of my favorite apps
Like (2)
Version 2.4
Pik80
18 February 2014
Below is a letter I sent to iDraw's developers. The letter contains just about everything I would put into a review so I am posting it here as well. Hi, I've really enjoyed trying out your app, it works much more intuitively to me then illustrator. I was a big fan of FreeHand and I find that I can move through your program just about as easily as FreeHand. The most important additions to me would be to add the file management options menu (that menu that comes down when you click on the title bar in programs like Pages, Preview, Sketch, etc. It has options like rename, move, duplicate.) I love that menu since it is so much easier to work with files that way then having to deal with them in the Finder. Most of the improvements could be done with the layers panel. It would be helpful to have a layer filter tool like Sketch. It's nice how you can hit Command-F and get a search box come up. Layer filtering by object attribute may help as well. I have a hard time seeing the layer previews so increasing the size of those would help a lot. A way to group the layers together would also be important. Having a rotate view tool would be very helpful to those working on a Wacom tablet. It is easier to rotate the view on the screen then it is to change the angle of your arm to awkward positions. Thanks for the great work, Kip PS I really really hope you never sell iDraw to Adobe. There needs to be more innovation with graphics software that can only come if the playing field has enough competition.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
4 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
16 June 2014
Seems ok to me. I bought it. It should improve with future revs & the developers are interested in adding useful features. Its definitely light duty. Intuitive? I would have to beg a difference there: Very little in a draw program is "intuitive.” A tool might be closer to what you are already used to, but that’s not at all the same as “intuitive.” Its not Illustrator. Its swell for light duty, but having bought this - I have to wonder why I did, because I already have Illustrator & several other pretty decent apps. A little too much of a whim purchase in my case, I’m afraid, but its still affordable & all right at what it does, but there is a lot of misinformation in some of the comments here.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
16 June 2014
I've never liked illustrator and I have been trying the program since the 1990s. . When Adobe killed freehand I forced myself to use it. The software just irrates me, lots of other people are in the same boat. As for features one advantage is that it has a good companion app on iPad. Illustrator doesn't come in tablet version which is too bad since tablets are ideal for drawing. Also I like that it integrates with Mac technologies. I think iDraw will make good use of iCloud Drive in Apple's up coming OSes. Adobe is wrong to try and handle the cloud part. That is a function that should be handled by OS manufacturer not third party software developers.
Like
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
16 June 2014
You replied to yourself - and that’s fine. Although it sounds a little like you were responding to me. Being irritated while “trying” the application implies that maybe you didn’t learn it, or have very light need for a high end application. I cannot quantify “irritated,” and it puts down illustrator without explaining anything about iDraw, other than the implication is that there is a tablet version for one vs the other. The price points are there in iDraw, if you have modest needs. Thus is sounds as though you are like iDraw because you loathe Illustrator in your trials. Whomever is in your boat, I do not know, but I’m not too sure you’ve offered a strong argument if that’s the basis. Tablet technology is yet in its infancy as far as true use for precision drawing. Painting, yes that one can do & some business apps.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
17 June 2014
Yes, tablet drawing apps are in their infancy but the iPad app is off to a very solid start which should give iDraw an advantage over Illustrator as it continues to mature. As of this date iDraw has put out two good versions on the tablet and Illustrator has put out zero versions. That fact alone justifies iDraw’s incredibly low price tag even if one already owns Illustrator. Also keep in mind that you don’t have to make the entire illustration in iDraw. You could, for an example, start the drawing on your iPad and then use version 2.4’s new advanced “Copy As” feature to bring the drawing into whatever handles the kind of work you trying to do the best. If you work in 3D illustration you will often start the drawing in a 2D drawing app and then bring it over to 3D. Adobe has attempted to bring 3D functionality to Illustrator but to little success so most 3D artists will copy their designs out anyways. Copying work between other apps depending on your needs is a common thing to do and iDraw has made this work really well. Also I believe that it is better for an app to based on one platform then to be cross platform like illustrator. When a developer just bases their software on an Apple OS they can really take advantage of all the features that the platform offers. When Adobe makes software that runs on Windows and Apple and Android they can’t take full advantage of what Apple OS offers. This is why so many of the best Mac apps are exclusive to the platform. They are built from the ground up to take advantage of Apple hardware and operating systems.
Like (1)
Noivad
07 February 2014
If you are a amateur user, then add a star to my rating. I deduct a 1.5 stars for its instability that can cause a loss of a lot of work if you are not careful. Overall I like iDraw, however do not try to use it for anything being exported as a PDF or saved as an .ai to be printed at a service bureau. If any gradients or special effects are used on the vectors, the resulting file will require a lot of clean up before they are press ready. I made the same design in Illustrator after having to choice but to purchase it and did not have any problems when send to the printer. The prior identical vectors & effect in iDraw, that was no more than 8 layers of simple shapes with an overall gradient on one layer and translucency took well over an hour to clean up before it was press ready which will quickly negate any savings. For light duty work iDraw works well if you can forgive the crashes, but for anything beyond home printing, the way it writes files is unacceptable. It’s disappointing that iDraw cannot replace Illustrator for anything even remotely professional especially considering bad Adobe’s business practices, bloated software and installation restrictions are. iDraw is good value and will work for anyone who doesn’t demand pixel perfect alignment, but it is no Illustrator.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
10 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
08 February 2014
Would loss of work be a problem if it has support for auto-save? What do you mean by "clean up work"? I am not familiar with that term.
Like
Appledogx
Appledogx
08 February 2014
I have not noticed iDraw crashing on my MacBook Pro with Mavericks. For me it is quite stable. Perhaps there are other things going on with your system?
Like (1)
Noivad
Noivad
08 February 2014
To answer Qs: 1 my system is very stable, and the crashes seem to plague some people with iDraw. System instability can be an indication of bad RAM or a bad HD directory, but neither of these is the case on my system. So, it could be I am using features less stable or it doesn't like my video card or its firmware — OpenGL and other edge case (minor) video card incompatibilities happen but tend to affect few users. I disable autosave to prevent accidentally overwriting things I like while I experimenting with things. I do not use TimeMachine versioning because of the footprint and other technical considerations. In a sense, non-pros have an easier time but less control over their system. I prefer as much control as possible and prefer my own automation and workflows over preprogrammed ones that limit choices because the pre-packaged automation such as backups, use less flexible settings that inhibit professionals instead of assist them. As I said, most users will not notice this app’s deficiencies, nor really push it. By “clean up” I mean when the file is opened for printing, they make sure the paths and fills are not needlessly complex and that alignment and other vectors are printable. If they are not, the result is often bad output and separations printing out wrong. If this is the case, as it is with iDraw, someone has to remove the bad vectors and fills and recreate the artwork before it is sent to press. On non-pro equipment, there is no color separation process, etc. What bad vectors can do in printing is cause misalignment or erroneous output, so what you see is not what you get. This will only affect professional-level processes where things are done differently than in consumer printing. If you want to know more, look up color separation and what preflight document checks are.
Like
b77
b77
08 February 2014
If by "pixel perfect alignment" you mean aligning/snapping the drawn elements perfectly to the pixel grid for crisp bitmap exports, iDraw can do it — see the "Align strokes to pixel grid" option in the Preferences > General tab. Also, no instability here on my iMac that I can remember, but I use it sparingly, and YMMV, so it's possible. (Maybe help the developer fix things by sending them the offending file?) Other than that, I agree with you that professionals need CMYK — and(!) spot colour — support, but since the developers implemented sRGB-capable colour profiles (see the Help > What's new entry), I think certain graphic elements made with iDraw that don't need pure black, overprint, trapping or spot colours, are OK and perfectly "transferable" to Ai/ID/print.
Like
M-Rick
M-Rick
17 May 2014
iDraw as also a big lack of accuracy she drawing …
Like
M-Rick
M-Rick
17 May 2014
there's no way to edit a previous commentary and correct typing errors on this site??
Like
b77
b77
17 May 2014
@ M-Rick: Care to elaborate?
Like
b77
b77
20 May 2014
OK, so it seems M-Rick won't answer. In that case I assume he has the "Align strokes to pixel grid" option activated in the Preferences > General tab, and that made him think iDraw has problems with accuracy when drawing, when in fact what it does with that option on is to snap the drawn elements perfectly to the pixel grid for crisp bitmap exports. So… not a problem at all. :)
Like
Noivad
Noivad
20 May 2014
@b77 I was referring to pixel perfect alignment when 2 vectors need to be rightnext to each other without using trapping. If you do not have 2 points that can be snapped together, then you need to work extra hard to try to align 2 vectors in iDraw. As I said, this is a problem for pros & assuming it is as simple as snapping two points together and further assuming pros wouldn’t knowto check prefs is another bad assumption. If you ever get to alevel of design where your needs exceed this aps features you with know what I am talking about. All in all, it is a decent app but not as polished as professional vector applications. It is not a replacement for Illustrator because it lack the things mentioned in my initial review. Stability might have increased, but I haven’t used iDeaw because I had to switch over to something that would output files to a service bureau without the hour long vector clean up session after they got it.
Like
b77
b77
24 May 2014
@Noivad, thanks for taking the time to reply. :) Believe it or not, I work in prepress – I use Illustrator, Corel Draw, InDesign, Photoshop, PhotoPaint, a RIP and an imagesetter every day – and I know what trapping is and when it's needed (for amateurs reading this – the answer is "Not all the time"). I also did graphics for print on the side at home in Illustrator CS5 and, for some elements, in iDraw(!), and I don't confuse the "Align strokes to the pixel grid" feature with trapping – one is needed for exporting images for web/screen, and trapping is a "cure" for imperfect registration, obviously meant only for print. The same goes with me confusing "snap-to-point" with trapping, for that matter. Since iDraw doesn't do CMYK at the moment, we can't require plain black/trapping/overprint/etc yet. But despite that, iDraw can be used to do cool graphics on a budget, as long as you don't need the CMYK-specific stuff I mentioned – I know this, because I did it – it's much easier to play with the "stacked" effects of iDraw than the ones of Illustrator, so I used those (to great effect :P), then exported it and placed it in Illustrator as part of a bigger CYK+Pantone job. Yup. :) Also, many people are confused when they see iDraw "offsetting" the strokes of the shapes a bit down and to the right, and they assume the program has some problem with the accuracy, when in fact it's the "Align strokes to the pixel grid" option at work. That was my answer to M-Rick. Cheers :)
Like
Gary-box
21 August 2013
Just about the best vector drawing app for a low budget. Some drawing tools needs some practice though. Clean and stable UI. Seldom crashed on my iMac
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
Fabio53
16 August 2013
Now, that what I call vector app this 2.3.1 is very good and the tutorials on the web site is the cherry on the cake!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Revco
12 August 2013
A demo version would be nice.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
2 answer(s)
Prlab
Prlab
14 August 2013
Looks like a nifty app, but yes a demo would be nice. They only need to time-limit it for a week or so. I'd buy it now without a demo, if it could export in CMYK, which is coming, they say. I will get it then and won't have to use my daughter's Illustrator.
Like
Prlab
Prlab
12 December 2013
I bought it, as it does have CMYK. And it's great.
Like
Techboy
18 July 2013
My needs for a vector program aren't very demanding as I'm mostly just proofing and tweaking work, but this really seems to do the job well for me. My biggest concern was the ability to open and save .AI files which it does, even though I didn't see any mention of it. It doesn't actually export into ".ai" format but does SVG and PSD as well as the usual (PDF, JPG, TIFF, GIF, etc). I used to use VectorDesigner which was ungraciously abandoned and stopped working in Snow Leopard or Lion. Seems like a great product for the price and reminds me of Pixelator, which I love. Check out the beta.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.b
2 answer(s)
Christa-1980
Christa-1980
10 August 2013
Did you know Pixelmator has a hidden feature? I full vector based editor. :)
Like
Prlab
Prlab
14 August 2013
Looks like a nifty app, but yes a demo would be nice. They only need to time-limit it for a week or so. I'd buy it now without a demo, if it could export in CMYK, which is coming, they say. I will get it then and won't have to use my daughter's Illustrator.
Like
Drdul
06 July 2013
I've been looking for a replacement for Illustrator, and iDraw does it foe me. I occasionally have a need to work with vector files. Nothing heavy duty, just adding, editing and moving elements. iDraw may not offer all the capabilities of Illustrator, but it does everything I need and can even open my old AI files. I have happily ditched my 6-year old version of Illustrator and switched to iDraw.
Like (5)
Version 2.3.b
Nick-Collingridge
27 June 2013
Looks great, but lack of DXF import unfortunately rules it out for me. I need to be able to import mapping data which is supplied as DXF.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Stephan2nd
25 May 2013
Beautiful vector drawing app at a fair price.
Like (3)
Version 2.2
Bdkennedy1
08 May 2013
I was looking forward to trying this. Too bad. No trial version, no buy. Could have at least disabled Save and Paste like other demos.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
b77
b77
04 July 2013
There's a 2.3 public beta available now from http://www.indeeo.com/idraw/beta/
Like (2)
BrilorSoftware
04 May 2013
As others have noted, the lack of a free trial is a show stopper. The price is reasonable but nobody wants to spend $25 and find out the app doesn't meet their needs. As a developer, my apps are available BOTH on the Mac App Store and on my web page.
Like (4)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Rpmurray
Rpmurray
05 July 2013
A bad review for a program you haven't even tried because the lack of a free trial is harsh. Could you list some of the programs you have developed so we can return the favor?
Like (3)
bfortson
24 April 2013
Wrote this company about a problem, haven't heard back for 3-days.
Like
Version 2.2
2 answer(s)
BrilorSoftware
BrilorSoftware
04 May 2013
A bad review after a relatively short wait is harsh. Small developers need to take breaks and vacations, and life can get in the way too. Maybe there is some help on their FaceBook page:
Like (1)
Appledogx
Appledogx
12 June 2013
For me, this developer has been quite responsive to fixing problems, listening to suggestions and continues to improve on this fine app. I'm not a great fan of the App Store, but iDraw really is worth it! Most of my few gripes with it from a year ago have already been addressed in new versions, and then some.
Like
Albertkinng
04 April 2013
Ok, this has been a year of change in a Designing world that turns into full digital now days. My last Creative Suite from Adobe was the CS4. I've been using less expensive alternatives that do the job perfectly. Pixelmator (for Photoshop) Swift Publisher (for inDesign) iDraw (for Illustrator) and Flux (for Dreamweaver) This apps can be used by beginners as well as professionals and in my art department not either the clients, the designers or the print shops notice any change or make a simple complain. I know about Adobe fans (I was one) but even with the new Photoshop wonders the real world of publishing and design can meet the standards with this low budget apps.
Like (3)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
BrilorSoftware
BrilorSoftware
04 May 2013
More will flee Adobe with their subscription "cloud" model. Subscription prices could easily increase and users will be stuck.
Like (2)
Orion-Mk-V
31 March 2013
Since there wasn't a demo version, but the reviews were good and I liked what I saw in the downloadable manual that's on the website, I decided to bite the bullet and buy iDraw 2.2. So far, it's been really very good for basic vector drawing needs and has opened all my simpler EPS and AI files with ease. Exported files seem good to when I pull them back into Illustrator or other apps. The UI works well (and is intuitive) and given the tiny price, it's really excellent for working on simpler projects -- especially if you use it in conjunction with the iPad version of the app (with fonts being the biggest limitation unless converted to outline when switching between the two versions). Advanced color, typeface and stroke controls are lacking, but iDraw works fine if you don't expect it to be Illustrator or CorelDraw. I probably won't use it to lay out complex illustrations, maps or diagrams, but for individual illustrations (characters, objects, logos, etc.) it's great and the import/export is reliable. I do wish it supported dropbox syncing instead of icloud, but that's quibble. Great app FOR THE PRICE.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
Spike Jones
18 March 2013
Great cheap vector drawing app. The only thing I am missing is the mirror drawing. That would be awesome. Recommend.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
03 April 2013
Mirroring would be a nifty addition.
Like (2)
Fabio53
11 March 2013
I can't work with cmyk, if you are working with 100% black text and the output is 50C60M70Y90K is not good! And you can't work with font typography too.
Like
Version 2.2
Orion-Mk-V
06 March 2013
Offer a demo version and I'll give it a whirl. Looks very promising.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
George-e-marcus
30 October 2012
I found this to be the best alternative to the now defunct Canvas. Moreover, it has an iPad version so that one can work in either platform and move the file back and forth. This makes my life much easier as if I have an idea when I don't have my laptop handy, I can generate it with the ipad version then carry on when I get to the laptop.
Like (4)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
22 December 2012
Good info George.e.marcus. It sounds cool, but I have to assess whether I need it. Does it work with bezier curves the same as Illustrator? Does it share the same keyboard shortcuts? It might be something that is essential for the iPad, but not something I absolutely need on a desktop. Your comment about porting back & forth is something that makes sense to have in the ad for it. The grid facility needs more explanation. I've read that you cannot lock layers - which can be important in any tracking or illustration bigger than the one in the ad. Without a test drive, I'm not dropping even $25. I've done that a time or two - and doing so rarely turns out well: I am proficient in Illustrator, there is Inkscape, which is not flawless (back to my question whether its a seamless replacement for Illustrator) if we consider interface, yet is a solid program. Nothing here tells me why I need to add iDraw to my applications folder. I want to like it, but give me enough reasons, or a test drive!
Like
Xplicit
29 September 2012
Demo?
Like (2)
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
Egami
Egami
21 October 2012
Indeed, iDraw looks interesting but without using a demo/trial first I am not buying.
Like (3)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
22 December 2012
Comparing it to the once excellent Canvas is a little lofty, imo. It suggests a bad cycle. I guess I need to know what you draw using iDraw, in order to weigh the review, because I can't try it myself, without buying.
Like
Aikousha
Aikousha
11 March 2013
I, too have been looking for an afterTiger version of Canvas (Intel 64-bit), but still haven't found anything close. All the imagery on the publisher's website doesn't show anything that even looks like it would be even close. I want functionality and precision NOT things like iCloud integration (it might be neat but it's not necessary).
Like
Jefrart
17 August 2012
Very attractive application, but with this awful system of the Mac AppStore, NO TRIAL, NOT PURCHASE ! The developer MUST SET A TRIAL VERSION on its website!!
Like (4)
Version 2.1
Appledogx
07 June 2012
iDraw is quite pleasant to use. Despite some interface quirks and inconsistent redundancies, it is quite usable and powerful; also constantly improving. The developer is very open to suggestions and very responsive to user suggestions and bug reports. Bezier drawing and most tools are quite logical. If you've used other premium vector drawing applications, you'll be comfortable using iDraw. I bought it last year, and every new release has brought substantial improvements, though it still has a way to do to become my primary tool, it's closing the gap fairly quickly.
Like
Version 2.0.4
j-rankin-cp
22 April 2012
For what you get and what you pay for it is quite staggering, really. I purchased iDraw earlier this week and haven't stopped playing around with it. Though, at one point it made me want to jump right back into Illustrator. My bad, as I'm not really a graphics guru, and I am only now realising what a great piece of software this truly is. I'm currently retracing my old illustrator 8 (gasp!) tutorial steps along the lines of recreating the same with iDraw, mostly to help me better remember how I did stuff. The last guy mentioned its quirkiness and that's what almost made me want to abandon it. Here's what I mean... Say you are wanting to create a circle. You will notice that it will have 4 'Endpoints' well spaced out along its path. Selecting only one of those endpoints will allow you to create a gap. Choosing any of the others will collapse the circle's path. Just in case you're wondering which one that might be. It's the one I like to refer as being in the '1 o'clock' position. Oh btw, there is a way in which to create a smaller gap, but you must use the Pen + tool and place the newer endpoint ahead of the 1'o clock positioned endpoint, and it must be ahead in the anti-clockwise position. To delete it, you must first select it with the Selection tool (the 1 o'clock endpoint) and then simply hit the delete / backspace key. I'm currently having heaps loads of fun creating an abundance of Olympic rings.
Like
Version 2.0.4
NotUsed
20 April 2012
Can't seem to find a demo. Users who shell out $25 without at least trying first are foolish.
Like
Version 2.0.4
Foxyorb
10 March 2012
It seems this is now officially a product of Indeeo Inc. Clicking of the developer's site link above will no longer bring you to MacPowerUser Software. I wish MacUpdate would update the info so as to show the present product description IE version 2.0.3
Like
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
rayj
rayj
20 April 2012
I hope Indeeo, as the new incarnation of MacPowerUser, will behave a little more openly than its predecessor. I was a keen user of iDraw in its former guise and very disappointed when all development ceased. But for years after that the developer continued to take people's money for something that was clearly dead in the water.
Like (1)
Anonymous
23 November 2004
The application will not download. The home page does not work; so is this a sign of something bigger than just a few quirks in the software?? 11-22-04 at 4:25PM PST -ks
Like
Version 1.3.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 December 2004
You should withhold your comments on a program unless you know something is definitly not right. The web doesn't exist for u dude. The website is there and works fine, perhaps just not at the exact moment you tried.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.2
Xenophile
Xenophile
26 November 2012
It's a sign that there is something wrong with your brain.
Like (1)
Anonymous
24 October 2004
This is just perfect! I love this program! But theres a problem... I can't edit images with IDraw... This is not perfect anymore...
Like
Version 1.3.1
Anonymous
04 February 2004
this is a great vector graphics program. only reason I don't give it 5's for rating is it can be a bit quirky about a few things. A great companion for GraphicConverter.
Like
Version 1.3.1