Back to EndNote page
EndNote free download for Mac

EndNote Reviews

19.1.1.14483
29 March 2019

Bibliographic management app.

Almar
06 January 2015

Most helpful

Now at v. 17.2.1, on Yosemite is a total disaster. Tech Support is minimal, everything moved to TR Community forum and "Connect" (beta) on MyEndNote Web. With MS Word is now in tune, perfectly integrated in the same swamp of malfunctions .. I spend enough time to run the two together, and I miss just to stand and chat on forums. Life is short. The final decline of a poor software, expensive without merit.
Like (5)
Version 17.1.0.9529

Read 25 EndNote User Reviews

Rate this app:

Vitaly
28 August 2019
the application is bloated and not snappy as it used to be. may be they need to spin out endnote just fr storing refs (w/o pdfs and images and online and collaborations) just for people who write papers and need to format references. and then the full version. also, the way the company handles updates is abysmal. Catalina is in its 6th beta and there is n beta or patch for 64 bit endnote. why not provide users with this capability?? ​
Like
Version 19.1.1.14483
AnnL7456
19 May 2018
This is funny. The current v.18 receives 5 stars here although NOBODY has written a review and rated this version yet on MacUpdate! The previous 17 version received 5 reviews—all are from the years 2013 and 2015—and the average rating then was 2.8.

But wait a minute, if I click on the "Ratings" button, I see that one person, PRjohnson, seems indeed to have rated the current version with 5 stars. But he or she doesn't seem to have written any review.

Is it possible to rate an application here without writing a review? Ratings without a review can not be accounted as serious. They are useless, misleading and should not be allowed.
Like (1)
Version 18.1.0.12930
Ari-Tj
01 October 2015
17.4 is out. Still no compatibility with Word/PowerPoint 2016 (15.xx) for Mac.
Like
Version 17.3.1.10444
Aaron-T
24 August 2015
The best biblio app. Survived my EndNote App with ease.
Like
Version 17.3.1.10444
1 answer(s)
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
14 October 2015
@Aaron-T,
What kind of nonsense review is this? Five stars for what? And what does "survived my Endnote App with ease" mean?? Are you in fact writing about EndNote?
Like (3)
NSA-not-horray
31 May 2015
Incredibly confusing software. Couldn't manage to grab metadata for a local PDF file I imported. This was much easier using Bookends, so in the end, I went with that.
Like (3)
Version 17.3.1.10444
Almar
06 January 2015
Now at v. 17.2.1, on Yosemite is a total disaster. Tech Support is minimal, everything moved to TR Community forum and "Connect" (beta) on MyEndNote Web. With MS Word is now in tune, perfectly integrated in the same swamp of malfunctions .. I spend enough time to run the two together, and I miss just to stand and chat on forums. Life is short. The final decline of a poor software, expensive without merit.
Like (5)
Version 17.1.0.9529
gramuel
03 March 2013
I had to write the Bachelor's Thesis with MS Word. Not a big deal I thought because I like text editors like Word and Pages. I bought Bookends some time ago in a MacUpdate Bundle so it was my first choice to go to. Unfortunately I didn't manage to make the in-text citation links Bookends needed for the bibliography. The institution wanted some special sort of in-text citations I wasn't able to configure with bookends. So I turned to EndNote X6 on the one hand I didn't have to pay for as student at my university and on the other hand it was promoted with a very good Word Plugin. Well, after about 2 hours I had this special configuration I needed. That was so easy that I decided I will not give Bookends another try - at least for this thesis ;) I never had ANY problems with EndNote. One Time I had a corrupted Word document that caused End Note to give out some errors while creating the bibliography. Turned out Word always had some sort of crash with one in-text citation. Deleted that and inserted it once again, then I had no problem. All I can say is that I didn't need the whole bunch of features. I was using City while you write the whole time, inserted new sources into my EndNote library and let it create the bibliography. The Word plugin is indeed a very good one that made it easy for me. For me it's 5 stars!
Like (1)
Version 16.0.2.8570
1 answer(s)
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
15 May 2015
gramuel
To begin with, you don't have to write anything in MS Word. Nisus Writer Pro is a much better word processor, and Nisus files (which, by default, are just Rich Text Files) can be directly opened in MS Word.

You say, "The institution wanted some special sort of in-text citations I wasn't able to configure with bookends."

What kind of in-text citations? You must tell us, otherwise your review is completely useless here.

As far as I know, you can create every conceivable kind of in-text citations in Bookends if you go to Biblio > Formats Manager and select your style format (in the left pane); then click on the "Citation Option" button (in the right pane). You can configure there how the citation appears the first time you cite, and how it appears subsequently (if you want).

[Using v17.3.1]
Like (2)
Nontroppo
27 January 2013
This update is designed to work around a bug in 10.8.2 which has hit lots of other apps, appleeventsd causes freezing and other problems. With no 10.8.3 in sight, Endnote have had to implemet a workaround. Search on appleeventsd and 10.8.2 for all the details...
Like
Version 16.0.2.8570
Ajmac25
01 December 2012
Can MacUpDate get the version number for Endnote fixed on their webpage? The current version for both Mac and PC is X6, not 16 as listed here. Very confusing. www.endnote.com Thanks!
Like
Version 16.0.1.8432
1 answer(s)
Cortig
Cortig
27 January 2013
The application is called EndNote X6, but the version number is indeed 16 (check the Get Info window in the Finder). X is the same as in Mac OS, it's a Roman 10 anyway.
Like (1)
Ferg
27 September 2012
I'm surprised by the negative reviews here. I've used EndNote for several years and I've found it to be a great program. It works well with both Pages and Word and I've not had the problem with crashes some of the other reviewers mentioned. I will admit that it's a bit pricey, but the quality is excellent in my opinion.
Like
Version 16.0.0.8318
2 answer(s)
Frankeed
Frankeed
28 September 2012
EndNote has a long history of releasing buggy software but rather than fixing the bugs for free, releasing a new version and charging a healthy upgrade price. I suspect the reason they get away with it is because a lot of purchasers are using grant or institutional funds for the software. Having said that though, recent releases have been much better. I've been using it since version 2 (currently have X5) and don't have any major issues with it now.
Like (2)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
28 September 2012
Because they tend to release buggy versions for several years, and Endnote is clearly inferior to the other bibliography managers on OS X. I use EndNote, largely because it is free for academic staff and Endnote is just about good enough, and I can't really justify $100 off a grant for a better reference manager, but Bookends or Sente both wipe the floor with Endnote and if you are paying, at a substantially better price.
Like (3)
George-e-marcus
27 September 2012
I used to use Endnote (going back to the very first version which was developed solely for the Mac).. when it got bought by Thompson it got large, cumbersome and unstable. Then, when OSX and Pages came out, they were slow to come out with a Pages compatible version. After searching (Sente, etc.), I opted to go with Bookends - and have never looked back. Bookends has excellent features and has exceptional support. I highly recumbent it.
Like
Version 16.0.0.8318
Lidador
18 January 2011
I bought EndNote 3 some ten years ago, and stopped using it at version 5. Some six months ago then offered me a nice price for an upgrade and I accepted it. I am now using EndNote X4 the present version. I had not a single problem with EndNote X4, I am using it daily to manage my 2500 work references mostly for academic work and do automatic references and citations/bibliography with Microsoft Word 2008. Stability has been solid, features are extensive.
Like (1)
Version 14.0.0.6695
Neuron
28 May 2009
I now realize that I have to use Endnote again. I love both Bookends and Sente, and Bookends has been my workhorse for the past 3 years. However, because nearly all of my colleagues use Word and Endnote (mostly on PCs), its almost unbearable collaborating on documents if I use Bookends to generate a bibliography. My main question before I plunk down $99 for the Endnote upgrade is the compatibility between PC and Mac Endnote-generated bibliographies in MS Word files. Specifically, if someone generates an Endnote bibliography on a PC in word, then sends me the references to import into my Mac Endnote, can I work with this Word document seamlessly using my Mac and Endnote? Any help is greatly appreciated. If I will have difficulty using a PC Endnote-bibliography with my Mac Endnote, then it will not be worth buying. I'd rather continue my collaborative struggles with Bookends.
Like
Version X2.0.1
2 answer(s)
Martinbb
Martinbb
02 June 2009
I think it depends on what you mean by "work with". As I understand, it, Endnote uses the unique ID number from each entry in its database when generating a bibliography (it goes to the database and fetches the information that matches the unique ID that is stored in the temporary citation). If you have a different database from that of your colleague, you will almost certainly have different unique IDs for each entry (the unique IDs are generated automatically by Endnote when you first enter the information for the journal, book, or whatever it is). Bookends is a lot more flexible, as it will use other information (such as the title) to match temporary citations to the entries in the database. If you want to exchange references with someone, I don't see why you need to use a Word document. The database entries could be exported direct from Endnote into an XML or other file that can be imported into Endnote or Bookends. As I say, I think it depends on what you want to do.
Like (1)
Version X2.0.1
Neuron
Neuron
06 June 2009
Thanks, that info helps. I absolutely have to use Word. *All* - not most - of my colleagues use Word. I write scientific and medical manuscripts, and for every manuscript we pass back and forth at least 10 revisions, all with tracked changes. I hate using Word, I much prefer Scrivener then either Pages or Nisus, but that's the way it is. I guarantee every biomedical writer uses Word/Endnote if they have to collaborate on a manuscript. When I use Bookends and someone sends me a revision of a manuscript with a significant amount of tracked changes as well as changes in the references, Bookends has major problems with un-scanning and then re-scanning. The only way I can get this to work is usually by losing all the tracked changes. Its very frustrating. Anyways, I ended up buying Endnote X2.0.1, and to be honest, its working quite well. It imported my 2500 ref library, including linked PDFs, without a hitch. Its much quicker than Bookends. It hasn't crashed on me yet after a week of use on its own, without CWYW. I don't know if CWYW is causing Word 2008 to crash a lot, because Word 2008 is a crash-fest on its own anyways. Besides its ability to spontaneous quitting several times an hour, Word 2008 is the only program that will freeze my entire Mac and make me hard-restart (MacBook 13 inch 2.16 GHz 2 MB RAM OSX 10.5.7).
Like
Version X2.0.1
Drbarnes
21 February 2009
Absolutely Awful - Sente seems much more stable; it doesn't have Cite While you Write (CWYW), but then again EndNote's CWYW crashes virtually every time anyway. Having previously used EndNote fairly reliably on a PC, I bought it for Mac before the 'X versions'. That version rarely worked, but given the hype about the newest refined X2 version and CWYW fixes, I paid again for the latest update (another £75 or so!). It is every bit as buggy, and has virtually no innovation over previous versions. In contrast, I am now looking at Sente, which lacks the much hyped integration with Pages, but will produce bibliographies for Pages outwith the application itself after inserting easil formatted citations. Sente also features a much more intuitive interface, web search facilities that actually work, and a great system for linking downloaded PDF files to the citation database. It can be a little slow opening my 50k database, but not intolerably. Unlike EndNote, it also has a trial.
Like (1)
Version X2.0.1
Nontroppo
29 October 2008
Horrible interface, buggy, poorly featured, slow program updates. The only reason Endnote exists is that many people don't research the software they buy and Endnote lives off its name (our Department buys a site licence only for this and not other better options). Both Bookends and Sente are significantly better, and their developers are very receptive to input.
Like (3)
Version X2.0.1
Lev
29 October 2008
FYI, Bookends sucketh not. Nor does Sente. Either are way ahead of EndNote with better online functionality and better customer support. EndNote is a dinosaur; as medics are no longer allowed to write on patients' notes, it's T.F. BUNDY. (= "Totally f***** but unfortunately not dead yet.")
Like (1)
Version X2.0.1
Sunburn
04 September 2008
This is totally ludicrous. These clowns want $100 a year for upgrades to piece of software that STILL sucks even after years of upgrades. This is PC software with a bad UI and mediocre functionality. I'm done with what is essentially an annual subscription. Right now, for HALF the price of the _upgrade_, I can get a bundle which includes Bookends. Even if Bookends also sucks (I haven't tried it yet, but I'm about to buy it anyway), there is virtually no way that EndNote X2 is twice as good as Bookends. Of course, there is no way in heaven or hell that anyone from the developer will ever see this. ISI is a lumbering hulk to whom "customer service" means nothing unless you are a huge on-line library or publisher.
Like
Version X2
Flori
10 April 2008
I have been using Endnote for many many years. The last stable, and reliable (with Word), version was v.5 on OS9. None of the OSX versions have been properly fixed for bugs and the latest (10.0.2) is unstable in both Mac and Windows versions. Even a successive search enquiry can crash it. If you are using Word (2004 or X) and cite-while-you write, keep regular backups! I had a large scientific review document completely corrupt on me. Endnote has increasingly added new and attractive features, but never seems to provide adequate bug-fixes for each version. Rather a new (and to be paid for) version is released with additional features. My colleagues and I have been hit with so many of these upgrade charges - always hoping in vain that things will improve - that we are seriously looking at alternatives. What are the chances that v. XI will be any better?
Like
Version 10.0.2
Lev
19 July 2007
Corrupted my library, crashed itself repeatedly, crashed Word repeatedly, wouldn't work with Mellel, didn't attach pdfs properly... oh, I could go on. I only revisited this achingly terrible app because of the need to collaborate with a colleague; it proved easier, quicker, better and cheaper (WAY cheaper, time being money) to convert said colleague to Bookends. The whole experience was like meeting an ex in the street and thinking "Wow, was that a lucky escape when we split up." ISI should be ashamed of themselves, but I don't think shame is in their corporate repertoire.
Like (1)
Version 10.0.2
Anon-Bud
01 April 2006
Two words: SLOW, EXPENSIVE Using a 1ghz PowerBook G4 it took over five minutes to add just one reference to a brand new database using the online search method. Scrolling is extremely slow. Images and objects are not added to references. I'm new to this, but I am also new to Bookends and find Bookends to be extremely fast, low learning curve, works with Mellel seamlessly. It only took me thirty seconds to search and add a reference from the Library of Congress site. All this, and it is almost a third the price!
Like
Version 9.0
Anonymous
16 September 2005
I tried many times, but one conclusion: EndNote 9 don't want to open on my Mac OS Tiger... Quit unexpectedly... each time. other guys have the same problem?
Like
Version 9.0
Anonymous
02 September 2005
Downloaded demo of version 9 and it won't convert my EndNote 6 library despite saying that it can. It appears to go through the process, but then errors out saying that it cannot save the file. I have tried creating a new copy of my library in EN6 before converting, and that hasn't helped. Beware, their tech support is a toll call, you will wait on hold indefinitely, and then most likely have to leave voice mail and wait for a call back. I'm still waiting.
Like
Version 9.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 September 2005
Okay, finally heard back from Thomson. I had to run the 'recover library' command from within EN6. I was then able to convert the new library to EN9. Would have been nice if this was mentioned somewhere in the troubleshooting documentation.
Like
Version 9.0
Vitaly
01 September 2005
this is a good release, fast and stable. BUT it should not have been a paid new version. instead, this should have been an update for v8 which is less than a year old and is incredibly buggy. the company seems to produce one major release, charge for it, and make it so full of bugs that the users have no choice but buy the next version
Like
Version 9.0
Bart Sefton
03 November 2004
I used Endnote on a Mac for years when it was sold by Niles. I loved it. It was priced right, versatile and was well supported. Then they sold it to Thomson. Then PubMed downloads didn't work and I paid $99 to upgrade to version 6. Only then did I discover that you couldn't format an RTF document with version 6. That made EndNote 6 worthless to me. To get this feature that had always been available before, would cost another $99 for version 7. I switched to Bookends, which is great, and has great support. Reference Miner is also a great utility. I think the new EndNote business model is to charge $99 a year to maintain compatability. It's not worth money.
Like
Version 7.0
Hawker
30 October 2002
This is a great piece of software, but it could be improved by taking advantage of services and by integration with wordprocessors other than M$ Word.
Like
Version 6.0.1