Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Commander One page
Commander One free download for Mac

Commander One Reviews3.2

26 July 2021

Dual-pane file manager.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
hedgehogbr
hedgehogbr
Nov 14 2020
2.5.2
1.0
Nov 14 2020
1.0
Version: 2.5.2
This is tottayi dog's shit without any lie ! I spend two hours for this dammed peace of gumus! Does not work! Does not open archieved with the pass on mac!
valentinbenavente
valentinbenavente
Nov 10 2020
2.5.2
2.0
Nov 10 2020
2.0
Version: 2.5.2
I used it to have all my connections (FTP, Dropbox, GDrive, etc) within the same app, but find it a bit messy. Don't like the way it works for dragging things (it works differently depending of the type of view you use, stlill don't know why) and currently the FTP connection doesn't work, at least for me. If you're looking for a Finder substitute, I think this is harder to use. If you're looking for an app to access all your connections, I find it buggy. If you're looking for a FTP client, this does not outperform FileZilla. So I cannot recommend it for any of the purposes I imagine is intended to.
Piotrgm
Piotrgm
Jul 6 2020
2.4.2
1.0
Jul 6 2020
1.0
Version: 2.4.2
These people are nothing more than thieves. STAY AWAY from them!!! I paid for the Pro version of this product and the developer NEVER sent me the Activation Code. Such practices should be punishable by law.
Tim27
Tim27
Jan 24 2020
2.4.1
0.0
Jan 24 2020
0.0
Version: 2.4.1
So I am trying to use this, but having difficulties. It seems in list view you can't see what's inside a folder unless you double click it to go into the folder. In the regular Finder there is an arrow toggle to view contents hierarchically. Also, there doesn't seem to be a column view mode, which is what I am accustomed to in the Finder and is easiest to navigate for me. Am I missing something or do these features just not exist in this app?
PeterNoSpam
PeterNoSpam
Sep 16 2019
2.2
3.0
Sep 16 2019
3.0
Version: 2.2
Bought C1 pretty soon after I went from windows and linux to osX and felt like finder was even worse than explorer under windows. Have another opinion today ;) finder is pretty neat. Spoiled by Norton Commander and then Total Commander (TC) under windows I was reliefed when I discovered C1. Not as great as TC but almost. Upgraded for free to v2 recently but have so far not seen anything new I missed with previous version. Still missing the feature to make a comment on a file like in finder thats even better than ctrl-z in TC :)! Btw, finder is great when you learn it!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Sep 15 2019
2.2
0.0
Sep 15 2019
0.0
Version: 2.2
WARNING! The Commander One 2.2 installer has been verified to contain ADWARE OSX.Trojan.Bundlore. Here is a brief description of Bundlore as well as DIY removal instructions: https://www.thesafemac.com/arg-bundlore/ - - You can also remove Bundlore using the free Malwarebytes app here @MU: https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/52105/malwarebytes
brian8124u
brian8124u
Aug 23 2019
2.2
0.0
Aug 23 2019
0.0
Version: 2.2
I bought the Pro version for the simple reason that I want to connect my Android (samsung) phone to my mini mac. But my mac still doesn't recognize my phone. Anyone help me out here?
john-1234
john-1234
Jun 30 2019
2.0
5.0
Jun 30 2019
5.0
Version: 2.0
C One 2 is out, very good! Thanks for the update.
eldi-g
eldi-g
Jan 20 2019
1.7.4
4.0
Jan 20 2019
4.0
Version: 1.7.4
Commander One is a great file manager with many nice features. I'm using it daily and it greatly increases my productivity. It would be awesome if you could add the following features/fixes in the 2.0 version: 1. When copying some files to an archive and repacking it by going out of it (to the containing folder), the compression method set in the preferences does not seem to be taken into account. The resulting archive has the same size irrespective of the compression method chosen. 2. Edit and save files directly over SFTP 3. Edit and save files directly in an archive 4. Ability to move files in the same pane with Cmd+C & Cmd+Opt+V (like Finder). This is very useful when wanting to move some files one folder up/down. 5. In the Search dialog (Opt+F7), the checkbox Search in selections can be checked only when at least 2 folders are selected. When only one folder is selected, the search is performed from root folder, which is annoying. 6. The search results list is missing horizontal scrolling and long file paths are impossible to see 7. Ability to configure the Size column to show just B instead of bytes 8. Ability to cancel a file selection by just clicking on a non-selected file (instead of going to the enclosing folder) 9. The terminal feature is cool, but seems to use only half of the screen (one panel) to display the shell prompt and the typed command and in case they don't fit it will override the beginning of the line, making it impossible to read. Thank you and looking forward to the next update. Is there any estimate for the release date of v2.0?
trickyboy
trickyboy
Oct 7 2018
1.7.4
0.0
Oct 7 2018
0.0
Version: 1.7.4
Still no Mojave Dark Mode support. Any time ?
Sparrowhawk
Sparrowhawk
Mar 27 2018
1.7.4
4.0
Mar 27 2018
4.0
Version: 1.7.4
I bought this so that I could access my Android phone's files - works great. Note that I had to uninstall the Google's Android File Transfer app first as they compete for the same resource.

It would be nice if you could drag a URL shortcut form the browser URL bar into C1, but that is a minor thing. Overall, pretty pleased with this.
yungparkloo88
yungparkloo88
Feb 21 2018
1.7.4
5.0
Feb 21 2018
5.0
Version: 1.7.4
Nice
fleur2metaline-1
fleur2metaline-1
Jan 27 2018
1.7.4
1.0
Jan 27 2018
1.0
Version: 1.7.4
Two essential functions are missing : a batch file rename and a folder synchro. Too bad, otherwise it would have been a very useful program.
Jhall-3rd
Jhall-3rd
Nov 22 2017
1.7.4
1.0
Nov 22 2017
1.0
Version: 1.7.4
I was crazy about this AT FIRST but soon discovered that you cannot ftp any file that contains accented characters in the filename! It renames the file on the server as it incorrectly codes these characters.
Csean2006
Csean2006
Oct 3 2017
1.7.4
5.0
Oct 3 2017
5.0
Version: 1.7.4
Got the pro version, which I wanted to use primarily to replace Android File Transfer with my Android phones. I couldn't get a previous version to work at all, as the app didn't recognise my LG phones. But customer support was very responsive and in the end they pointed me to a new version (1.7.3) on their site, which I downloaded and works great. Using it with LG G5 and LG G3 phones, for backups and file transfers. Simple but efficient. The paid app works well for my needs and customer service was very responsive. 5 stars.
Volcanus
Volcanus
Sep 24 2017
1.7.4
0.0
Sep 24 2017
0.0
Version: 1.7.4
Can not edit all POSIX permissions. Can not edit file flags etc. Wants to control the computer by using the accessibility interface. Very strange.
SALAMA Youssef
SALAMA Youssef
Sep 7 2017
1.7.3
5.0
Sep 7 2017
5.0
Version: 1.7.3
Mon review sur le logiciel Commander One: Le test du logiciel a été fait sur un Macbook Pro 13 (version 2012) dont j'ai installé le dernier système d'exploitation Mac osx sierras 10.12.6. Commander One a été rapide dans l'installation et l'exustion des taches = donc l'application est très compatible et rapide L'interface est meilleure surtout dans cette version...ce que j'ai aimé plus dans ce logiciel qu'il est multilingue. Le fonctionnement a été rapide puisqu'il execute rapidement les différentes taches de transfert des fichiers et dossiers. Pour mon avis final ...je recommande Commande One à tous les utilisateurs et je lui donne 5/5
Gven-Nose
Gven-Nose
Aug 21 2017
1.7.3
5.0
Aug 21 2017
5.0
Version: 1.7.3
I've come across the review on appleworld.today and decided to try this file manager and I can say that it was the right decision. I've been searching for a handy file management solution for a long time because my work involves the huge number of documents. Really appreciate this free Mac app.
rw49
rw49
Aug 19 2017
1.7.3
2.0
Aug 19 2017
2.0
Version: 1.7.3
I'm a PathFinder user but, because I'm also on High Sierra beta, it won't work until they provide an update once it's in the public domain. So I installed your programme but deleted it after a short trial. Not at all intuitive for me and so I'll just wait for PathFinder which I've always liked very much indeed.
rick-58
rick-58
May 31 2017
1.7.2
3.0
May 31 2017
3.0
Version: 1.7.2
Having just come to Mac from Windows, I too found the Finder to be severely lacking. I started with Path Finder, but when I needed to open a 7z file, I came across Command One.

I've really wanted to like the app as it has so many features I find especially useful, like:
1) 7z support, as well as most other archives I might need
2) Ability to access Android devices (I actually uninstalled the Android File Transfer app)
3) Google Drive support - this feature alone had me sold

Unfortunately, as much as I like the features, I just can't get over some aspects of the UI. Namely:
1. NO ability to change it - and some things just don't make sense, like what's the mess along the bottom with that drop-down and those key labels?
2. Multi-selecting files while dragging the mouse - this is the deal-breaker for me. Why when I select a file with the mouse and go to drag it, do I start selecting other files?? And worse, I can't just click on a file to unselect everything else, I have to hit the command minus key.
3. The non-standard delete hotkeys was odd, but at least those were configurable

Lastly, I will have to agree - many of the reviews do not sound very genuine and make me question why they need to do that.

Anyway, if anyone knows how to address either of my issues above, I'd certainly appreciate hearing about it.
kpublik
kpublik
Apr 28 2017
1.7.2
3.0
Apr 28 2017
3.0
Version: 1.7.2
On the plus side, Commander One is performant, with a nice design, clean interface, and useful features. And while I really wanted to like Commander One, there were some feature oversights and other nitpicks that I just couldn't get past, listed below.

Double-clicking folders when using the mouse to open them sucks. Unlike in Finder, there is no reveal/tree mode for folder views. Worse, IMO, there is no column view mode either. So, you're left with a very "Windows" feeling file explorer but even more limited as folders can only be opened by double-clicks (when using mouse).

Doesn't respect the traditional cmd-delete keyboard sequence to delete files. You have to set it up in preferences / hotkeys

I was unable to revert my font choice back to the default system font. i.e. Once you pick an alternative font, there's no going back to the original/default.

Finally, the default mode for sending telemetry data to the developer is "enabled". You have to uncheck the setting in the privacy section of "Preferences".

As I said, most of these are "nitpicking" and, other than adding the finder like view options, easily resolved by the developer. I'll keep watching this product, but I'm not going to use it yet.
eelesky
eelesky
Apr 13 2017
1.7.2
4.5
Apr 13 2017
4.5
Version: 1.7.2
Can easily move around to external drives, flash drive, etc. Moving files from one place to another is a breeze.
Ivan8
Ivan8
Mar 28 2017
1.7.2
0.5
Mar 28 2017
0.5
Version: 1.7.2
The software is ok, though I find Forklift more polished. I just consent you against buying the Pro option. It's laughably bad. I've paid $29 to get the terminal after reading the article called "The Best Terminal Emulator for Mac OS X" (their piece of literature). It's the worst terminal ever: no tabs, single window, no autocomplete, etc. Moreover, I had some disappointing experience with their support. Polite and caring, yes. Helpful, no. Bottom line: 1. Free version is ok 2. Pro version — don't buy it. 3. For terminal, use iTerm or Black Screen. PS. Be aware they post tons of fake reviews which are the rewrites of the same text: "easy to use, especially I liked this feature, the future looks big". Their support will respond to this comment quoting their refund policy. Good luck making customers this way.
martinpaush
martinpaush
Mar 17 2017
1.7.1
1.0
Mar 17 2017
1.0
Version: 1.7.1
Poor customer service, lots of issues and bugs. After the first day I was annoyed from Commander One's mad usability and frequent errors. Copy and pasting creates in Finder a copy called "file copy" ("file copy2" ... etc) - even these basic functionalities lacks Commander One. There is no chance to reset a single keyboard-shortcut - you are only able to reset all keys. Btw: The default mapping of Commander One is a pain if you are used to Finder! Annoyed by these things I requested a refund after the first(!) day. The refund was rejected without a reason. They advertise '30 days money back guarantee' and do NOT pay the money back.
Wunderhorn
Wunderhorn
Feb 24 2017
1.7
0.0
Feb 24 2017
0.0
Version: 1.7
Looks really good and has a lot of what I'd be looking for, but I am missing the option to open a folder via the little arrow in list view - like in the Finder.
Razz
Razz
Feb 23 2017
1.7
0.0
Feb 23 2017
0.0
Version: 1.7
I love the comments but Commander One 1.7 crashes upon launch on Sierra 10.12.3. Anyone else having this issue?
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Jan 8 2017
1.6
4.5
Jan 8 2017
4.5
Version: 1.6
If you need to work with dual panes in Finder or Path Finder, it's not difficult to set up, but it's also a little pain (no pun intended) in the a.. Commander One to the rescue. This app makes it a no-brainer to work in the dual pane mode. I find myself using it more and more instead of Finder and Path Finder.
interstellar
interstellar
Nov 21 2016
1.6
5.0
Nov 21 2016
5.0
Version: 1.6
I dont understand why we would pay for any other apps when we got Commander One. This app is just awesome!
Quinnt
Quinnt
Oct 18 2016
1.6
5.0
Oct 18 2016
5.0
Version: 1.6
This app is really good, it is a new level of working with files in Mac. I thought Mac built-in Finder was handy until I tried Commander One. It speeds up the work so much I am pretty in love with this app! Many thanks to the creators, good job.
stonerpete
stonerpete
Oct 17 2016
1.6
5.0
Oct 17 2016
5.0
Version: 1.6
This is actually the best File Manager I've tried. It is convenient and works really fast. "Show hidden files" feature is really helpful sometimes, and the search tool is very powerfull. I am considering of upgrading to PRO version, after I've used PRO features in 15 days Trial.
joinmaynie
joinmaynie
Oct 5 2016
1.6
4.5
Oct 5 2016
4.5
Version: 1.6
When I used to use Windows, I often worked in Commander, it was very convenient for me. It was a great surprise when I found this Commander for Macs. Now I can work with my documents in the most comfortable way like previously on Windows. The app is designed fine and it's free. That's cool!
john-1234
john-1234
Sep 28 2016
1.6
5.0
Sep 28 2016
5.0
Version: 1.6
I have a feeling, this piece of work would develop into something really powerful (just bought the licence to support the developers), just like Total commander. But the tool bar is a bare land, I need it to be more flexible (and also more integrated system terminal). And DiskOrder which had great hope seems to be abandoned by the developer (wasted ~4 pints of beer). Oh my, wasted lots of money on these tools. I suggest people test these software before you fully commit (spend money) to one tool (you know what I mean).
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Sep 22 2016
1.6
0.0
Sep 22 2016
0.0
Version: 1.6
I like this software, but I'm am so done with the activation crap that is inherent of all Eltima software apps. I did a clean install of Sierra on both my Macs, and now when I go to activate the Pro Pack, I get a "too many activations" warning. And after I go to the link they provide for resetting the activations, it still fails saying that I have to contact tech support. Back to Path Finder.
r-d-hesselman
r-d-hesselman
Sep 2 2016
1.5.2
5.0
Sep 2 2016
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
I came from a PC environment and have only used my Mac book Pro for a while now. Finder is OK, but nowhere close to what I expected from my PC file manager. Commander One is much closer to my previous PS environment. I am recommending it to anyone looking to expand Finder's possibilities. Fats and accurate. I have never had it crashed. Give it a try!
Tschigg
Tschigg
Aug 17 2016
1.5.2
0.5
Aug 17 2016
0.5
Version: 1.5.2
Many 5 star "reviews" from people with no other activity on MU. Analogue to what can be found for Elmedia Player (another software from Eltima-Software). Rating a half star because, Commander One kills any Services running in macOS finder. Once this is installed, the Services menu is gone. Seriously? Tampering with macOS on that level and breaking essential core functionality is not only a no-no but shows that this software should not be installed - at all.
peter-solomon
peter-solomon
Jul 15 2016
1.5.2
5.0
Jul 15 2016
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
This is a terrific application. Just the multitude of commands and utilities one normally has to hunt for short cuts or look for in the launchpad in one place clearly puts this application hands above "Finder". I imagine it will be some time before I know all of the in's and out's of this product. I do know this though, out of the box it has already started saving valuable time I used to spend trying to pull various parts of the built in and other various applications I've purchased in the past. I highly recommend this application, well worth the sticker price, if not more.
mellywi
mellywi
Jun 22 2016
1.5.2
5.0
Jun 22 2016
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
Tried a few similar apps. And this one I like more so far. It has familiar keyboard shortcuts, expand selection feature, quick file navigation and other handy features
andy-schlegelmilch
andy-schlegelmilch
May 10 2016
1.5.2
5.0
May 10 2016
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
SW works brilliant, easy and user friendly. easy andy fast connection to FTP and other WEB servers. I do not know why Apple itself is obviously not able to implement such a tool into OS X
evan-engering
evan-engering
May 8 2016
1.5.2
0.0
May 8 2016
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
How do I get my "open Terminal at directory" command back in finder? Before I installed this app I was able to open Terminal at a specific directory by right clicking on then folder in the file path on finder. Now it has an option to open the folder in Commander one but it has disabled the terminal command I am forced to use Commander one to do it now.
Sherman-Wilcox
Sherman-Wilcox
May 5 2016
1.5.2
0.0
May 5 2016
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
Downloaded, used it for 15 minutes, and it said my 15 day trial had expired. Deleted.
Mentalcolic
Mentalcolic
Apr 20 2016
1.5.1
0.0
Apr 20 2016
0.0
Version: 1.5.1
Tried to download and the site was blocked by our school's SonicWall firewall with this message: "The requested page or advertisement has been blocked in accordance with local policies to prevent malware infection. If you feel this domain (http://mac.eltima.com/file-manager.html) has been blocked in error, please contact your helpdesk or network administrator." The blacklist isn't picked randomly, so there has been a validated report in the past or a malware ad was detected by active scan. Not worth the risk for me.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Apr 20 2016
1.5.1
0.0
Apr 20 2016
0.0
Version: 1.5.1
I'm a longtime user of Path Finder, and I see little that Commander One can do (if anything) that PF can't (although I haven't actually used C1).

PF allows dual-pane view if you want it, with just one click of the toolbar button. And it switches back to single-pane view just as fast.

However, there are times when I need to use Finder for something, and I just hate it! I was going to use XtraFinder, but didn't want to leave SIP permanently disabled.
C1 looks like it could be another decent Finder replacement.

Does anyone have experience running both C1 and PF simultaneously? If so, what are your thoughts on similarities/differences between the two?
PF doesn't allow encryption of volumes, so I must open and use Finder. That's one of the few things I use Finder for anymore. Does C1 allow encryption?

I'm not looking to replace PF, because I find it indispensable, but am looking to add another Finder replacement, because Finder is just pathetic and antiquated.
Albertkinng
Albertkinng
Apr 20 2016
1.5.1
0.0
Apr 20 2016
0.0
Version: 1.5.1
I've been using Pathfinder since day one... these days it has been a love /hate relationship with the app. Can Somebody tell me if Commander One Pro is a better alternative? I'm ready to ditch Pathfinder if a good alternative shows up!
Volcanus
Volcanus
Apr 6 2016
1.5
0.0
Apr 6 2016
0.0
Version: 1.5
Create symbolic/hard links, aliases? Edit finder/file flags, permissions, acls, extended attributes?
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
Mar 26 2016
1.2
0.0
Mar 26 2016
0.0
Version: 1.2
I'm just checking out Commander One, but I can't find a way to close the dual pane. In fact, it looks like there is only a dual pane. Is that right? Basically, it's not like Path Finder where you can open and close the dual pane. I'm asking here because I figure that some users will want to know.
dallosjudit
dallosjudit
Mar 21 2016
1.2
5.0
Mar 21 2016
5.0
Version: 1.2
I worked approximately for 12 years on Windows and I literally used Total Commander for everything. I'm very grateful to have found a nearly identical version of it for Mac - a small homelike island while having too much unusual and incommodious behavior at the same time. But also, I really miss from the Mac version the a quick search with window and that the tabs can be locked and be switched to a subfolder at once. I do not know the direction of the development, but I'm pretty sure the old Linux and Windows users would welcome these features - including me :) Anyway, the Commander One is nice and clean, clear acting and a very useful program. Thanks.
Foulger
Foulger
Dec 30 2015
1.2
0.0
Dec 30 2015
0.0
Version: 1.2
When I launch the latest version it asks to allow to use my keychain access but if I press allow or always allow, it just freezes. I have to force quit
Akwarner
Akwarner
Dec 8 2015
1.2
0.0
Dec 8 2015
0.0
Version: 1.2
Here we go again. The link above does not download the 17MB command one dmg but rather downloads a 23MB MacUpdate dmg that offers to helpfully install MacUpdate Desktop instead which can in turn install Commander One for you. They do offer a manual install but if one is not looking for it, it can be easily missed. I guess the days of simply using Macupdate (and I do use MacUpdate Desktop too) to source Mac programs is coming to an end. The extras get in the way and who knows what else they will start "helpfully" adding as well. :(
Imacxum
Imacxum
Dec 5 2015
1.2
0.0
Dec 5 2015
0.0
Version: 1.2
Buyers should be aware that the Pro Pack license is for one computer, not one end user. If you have more than one mac, you need to purchase two licenses or the Team license for 5 macs. Moving from TotalFinder which let you install on more than one mac....
pietz
pietz
Dec 3 2015
1.2
0.0
Dec 3 2015
0.0
Version: 1.2
Wow, did the MacUpdate Team really delete my Review? That's so low guys, I dont even know what to say. The application crashes when I start it, how is it not valid to rate it with half a star? And for you dear Eltima Software it's even worse. Instead of asking for details about my problem you decided to request a delete. Is that really how you handle customers? Anyway I still want to make my main point, lets hope it stays: I believe your app is terribly designed. One quarter of the screen is occupied by menu bars and options. I mean there are 6 menu bars before you get to the actual content. Plus many options and information in them appear multiple times and are redundant. To me this looks very bloated and designed without thinking it through. i just find it strange that nobody seems to mention this. So besides the fact that it crashes very often, its just not for me. I would like to rate the app, but before the Dev asks MU again for deleting my Review, I stay away.