Back to MailBar page
MailBar free download for Mac

MailBar Reviews

1.3.2
05 October 2015

Manage your Inbox from the menu bar.

CareyB
27 December 2014

Most helpful

Not disagreeing with any of the positive reviews, but it REQUIRES Mail to be running, so you gain nothing. Mail will give you notifications, so all this does is repeat those in the menu bar. Find some freeware, this is NOT FREE!
Like (3)
Version 1.0.7

Read 17 MailBar User Reviews

Rate this app:

artie505
17 January 2018
Clicking on "Download" returns "Safari can't find the server...." This app is deceased and needs to be taken down. :(
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
MichaelFrankel
11 October 2017
In addition, the website, mailbarapp.com, appears to be gone.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
anonymous-snipe-277
26 December 2016
Really liked the app but it looks as if the developer has abandoned it. Has not responded to any inquiries. It's a shame as it was perfect for my needs.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
Sonnendeck
27 September 2016
Seems to be dead. Does not work with Sierra. And the developer did not answer.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
artie505
artie505
03 November 2016
My experience, too. :(
Like (1)
JamesLeBlanc1849
21 September 2016
Will this be updated for MacOS Sierra? I am thinking of trying it out, but not sure if it works with Sierra...
Like
Version 1.3.2
artie505
12 December 2015
My immediate impression is that it does what it promises and suits my needs perfectly with Notifications turned off.
Like
Version 1.3.2
bvanlenten
03 May 2015
I just downloaded MailBar to try out and it told me I had "0" days left in the trial! Now THAT"S a Catch-22!
Like
Version 1.1.9
4 answer(s)
MailBar
MailBar
12 May 2015
Maybe you install MailBar before, it's very strange behaviour. Try download latest version.
Like
artie505
artie505
14 December 2015
I'm experiencing the same thing...d/l'ed and installed MB, trashed, d/l'ed and installed again...0 days remaining. (v 1.3.2)
Like
artie505
artie505
14 December 2015
Forgot to mention that I had run MB for only ONE day before this happened.
Like
artie505
artie505
14 December 2015
Also forgot to mention that I've never d/l'ed MB in the past.
Like
Edeerly
21 January 2015
I've been testing it for few days now and like it. It is easy to set up, customizable enough for me, and a good way to monitor mail while doing something else. But of course there is always room for improvement. For instance, if left running for an extended period with either IMAP or Exchange account, MailBar will eventually go out of sync with Mail App. showing already trashed/moved/archived email as unread. The interface is nice but the tools don't have tooltips, so I'm forced to "find out" what the triangle icon is with my email. Some icons are simply poor choices, for example, the archive icon more resembles what we have come to understand as an inbox. It seem more reasonable to imitate the nav scheme of mail app, since this was created to be used with Mail App. Over all I think this is mostly successful and it adds needed features to Apple's Mail.
Like
Version 1.1
CareyB
27 December 2014
Not disagreeing with any of the positive reviews, but it REQUIRES Mail to be running, so you gain nothing. Mail will give you notifications, so all this does is repeat those in the menu bar. Find some freeware, this is NOT FREE!
Like (3)
Version 1.0.7
2 answer(s)
gryphonent
gryphonent
15 July 2015
I remember that I had a now discontinued menubar item called “Notify” that was running separately from Mail. I was hoping to find a replacement in MailBar… but alas, if Mail has to run in the background this app doesn’t cut it for me.
Like
X-jorge
X-jorge
13 August 2015
Great little program, excellent for those who don't want Mail in their face all the time and don't want to act on it as soon as a notification comes along.

Just one little bug: whenever I perform an action on an email on Mailbar (i.e. archive or mark as read), the Mail.app window immediately pops up (it was already running, but I keep it with no windows open, as that is the whole point...). I just close the Mail.app window and carry on, but it's annoying. I'm running Yosemite on a Late 2013 Macbook Pro 15''.
Like
KemerT4250
12 December 2014
This was a pleasant surprise: it has a carefully thought out design, elegant GUI, and provides a compelling reason to put another tool on the precious menubar real estate. The fact that it works in conjunction *with* mail.app and doesn't try to replace it should give critics a clue to its intent: this doesn't try do do it all, rather it focuses on getting to the most important mail. I hope they stick to their design goals and avoid turning this into more bloatware.
Like
Version 1.0.2
ylluminate
11 November 2014
Would use it if I could check all of my many (>10) mailboxes and also associate it to open up other email readers such as Unibox.
Like
Version 0.9
1 answer(s)
AndrewS5872
AndrewS5872
11 November 2014
Now you can set only four mailboxes, in the idea - most important for you.
All other you can join by some smartbox and set it as one of 4.

MailBar works only with Mail.app..
Like
Sonnendeck
12 July 2014
Very nice! A possibility to choose a mailbox for "drafts" would also be fine!
Like (1)
Version 0.7.5
Hobojoe
06 July 2014
Hi Andrew, Something a bit odd: It seems some of the rules I had set up in Mail have disappeared. It's very strange. This seems to have happened more or less when I installed MailBar. I'm not saying MailBar is to blame, but it is a coincidence. What do you think? Is it a possible bug, or do you think it's unrelated? Thanks!
Like
Version 0.7.4
2 answer(s)
AndrewS5872
AndrewS5872
07 July 2014
Hi. What you mean as rules? Smartboxes? I think MailBar can't be a problem. It don't change anything in Mail.app, only read information. If its situation repeat, write comment again or send me email please.
Like (1)
Hobojoe
Hobojoe
07 July 2014
Thanks for the reply. In Mail > Preferences, there's a "Rules" tab that allows you to set up automatic actions on incoming email. It was probably a coincidence that some rules I had created disappeared, but will let you know if it happens again. I've never had this issue before. Thanks!
Like
Andy-Hewitt
06 July 2014
I've only been using this a couple of days, but already like it. The idea of different colours for the accounts is great, and showing in the menubar is helpful. It seems to be stable at this time too, and doesn't appear to cause any issues with Mail so far. However, as mentioned earlier, I'd also like to see it hidden in the Dock, as it seems an unnecessary use of the space in the Dock. Nice bit of free software, thank you.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.4
1 answer(s)
AndrewS5872
AndrewS5872
06 July 2014
Thank you for review, I remove icon from dock in next update.
Like
Sonnendeck
05 July 2014
Thanks for this App! It would be great if MailBar could just run in the Menubar and not in the dock. (And it also would be great if Germany could win the Soccer World Cup in Brazil!) Regards
Like (1)
Version 0.7.4
1 answer(s)
AndrewS5872
AndrewS5872
06 July 2014
Thank you for review, I fix this in next version.
Like (1)
Hobojoe
05 July 2014
Just installed on 10.9.4, and works just fine with Mail. It runs as a separate app as opposed to an extension like Dockstar used to. Man, I really, really miss Dockstar... Has some simple preference settings like color of each of the dots, and sound effect for new mail. Couple of things: - Asks for permission to access Contacts. I denied access, and still running fine, so not sure why it needed that access in the first place. - CPU load is minimal (currently at .1%). - Wish it had option to turn off the number setting (it shows the number of unread emails, as well as showing a colored dot for each account that has new mail; in other words, I'd like to just see there's new mail, without needing to see the number, which is additional clutter in the menu bar). - Only gives access to mailboxes in the Inbox. If you have set up filters and other mailboxes, it doesn't show new email if they are automatically filed. All in all, a great effort, and gives hope that something will replace Dockstar. Personally, I'd be glad to pay for this app if it encourages further development and adding features.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.4
1 answer(s)
AndrewS5872
AndrewS5872
05 July 2014
Thank you for my first review and 4 stars! I very glad that you like it. App ask for contacts to show people icon if it exist in you contacts. Maybe you right and ask this at start little bit strange. I add this option to preferences. Today is first day MailBar in public access and maybe some features work not like people expect. Give us some time and it will work like a charm. P.S. I miss DockStar too..
Like (2)
JeremyNewton9714
05 July 2014
Hrmmm. Sounds like a hopeful replacement for Dockstar which never crossed over to Mavericks. Unfortunately, the app crashes on my system. Still hopeful for something, though. No support from the website linked from this site.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.3
2 answer(s)
mckmck
mckmck
05 July 2014
don't work on 10.9.4 last version mail.app plugin crash
Like
AndrewS5872
AndrewS5872
05 July 2014
Add support for OS X 10.9.4. Please download new version from site
Like