Back to Telegram page
Telegram free download for Mac

Telegram Reviews

5.8
21 October 2019

Messenger based on the MTP protocol.

EnormousDave
31 August 2015

Most helpful

The developers of this app and its OS X version are awesome! They managed to create something that combines all the best features of Skype, Viber, iMessage, Facebook Messenger and other popular services. Thank you!
Like (9)
Version 1.70

Read 35 Telegram User Reviews

Rate this app:

drydkh
23 October 2019
Telegram 5.8 won't start on my MacBook Pro, 2,4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, High Sierra 10.13.9
Like
Version 5.8
Acerbic
22 October 2019
Best of Russia for the World.
Like
Version 5.8
applearmanmozafari
03 June 2019
perfect
Like
Version 5.3
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
11 July 2019
how to install it on Samsung Galaxy ? I don't want to use Google Play, to be dependent and followed by the cartel.
Like
RogerKatz
16 October 2018
I get a 404 error. again, when I try to download this update (version 4.5) from MacUpdate.
Like
Version 4.5
RogerKatz
16 October 2018
I get a 404 error when I try to download this update (version 4.5) from MacUpdate.
Like
Version 4.5
RogerKatz
29 August 2018
I get a 404 error when I try to download this update (version 4.3.1) from MacUpdate.
Like
Version 4.3.1
1 answer(s)
iurii
iurii
30 August 2018
Hi, RogerKatz
Thank you for letting us know. For some reason the link with latest version stopped working. We have changed it on AppStore
Like
Fra
26 May 2018
When I download Telegram on editor site, it cames in a dmg. When I download it here it cames in a zip file. Why ? Has MacUpdate modify the app another time to add some crapware ? That's suspect !
Like (2)
Version 3.9.1
skylinewarrior
16 February 2018
Cannot download it. Are there any troubles?
Like
Version 3.7.5
tannabusch
12 February 2018
The best messaging app I've user used! Many opportunities!
Like
Version 3.7.5
higherterrain-com
20 January 2018
404 Not Found nginx/1.12.2
Like
Version 3.7.5
dirdesmett
13 January 2018
Very conflicted about this app. It works well, it's multiplatform and the themes are cool. BUT. There seem to be privacy issues. I read that Telegram recently evesdropped on protesters and helped the Iranian regime. Is that right?
Like
Version 3.7.3
2 answer(s)
TCalhau
TCalhau
21 January 2018
Needing to know more information about this! If this is indeed true, it is a more than justifiable reason for everyone to stop using the Telegram! I will not use an Application that is against the citizens for corrupt governments!
Like
Maxter
Maxter
24 June 2018
No, it's just a sort of Propaganda...
The channels that were banned infringed with Telegram's terms of use
Like (1)
Amergin
30 July 2017
I use it to connect to my wife and daughters. It is always reliable. iMessage failed too often so we gave up on that. WhatsApp is often okay but sometimes fails. Until Telegram lets us down (if ever) it gets 5 stars from me.
Like
Version 3.1.1
mariabeatty111
25 January 2017
The best
Like (1)
Version 2.30
2 answer(s)
jackjames9012
jackjames9012
03 April 2017
hi listen
Like
yhwt
yhwt
03 July 2017
how so?
Like (4)
Monkeyjunkey
22 January 2017
insecure
Like (5)
Version 2.30
3 answer(s)
Amergin
Amergin
30 July 2017
We need a bit more than that… Is it you or Telegram that you're referring to?
Like
afst
afst
31 July 2017
@Amergin: For starters, Snowden claims it's unsafe. https://www.rt.com/news/326565-snowden-durov-security-telegram/

More: https://security.stackexchange.com/questions/49782/is-telegram-secure/49802#49802

And: https://security.stackexchange.com/questions/130559/is-telegram-e2e-still-insecure

Enjoy
Like
Amergin
Amergin
31 July 2017
@afst Seems to be a load of fud. Snowden questions its security, developer answers. StackExchange has varying opinions. Bottom line is that it has not, afaik, been hacked to date. I also have an automatic distrust of anything with the backing of the american authorities as they have proven themselves the most unethical of all parties in this area. This leaves me more likely to trust Telegram as having originated outside the 'West'.
Like (1)
Maxter
14 January 2017
Telegram Desktop has made it to v. 1.0 https://desktop.telegram.org/ for the non Cr*p Store version
Like
Version 2.30
etorsten
06 January 2017
For me it is the best messenger app around, partly because you don't need a smartphone (just for registering) and it is available on all platforms/devices. On the other hand the people behind Telegram are pushing updates with new features quite every month.
Like
Version 2.30
morrishlindsay
26 September 2016
Best messenger ever. It is very fast, light, easy to use and join, cross-platform and free for all the platforms. It is my favorite one. It is very handy to add photos, share videos and links. A lot of funny stickers and emoji. You can also follow different popular channels from social networks. Hats off to the developers!
Like (2)
Version 2.25
ggt667
25 September 2016
This is the snappiest IM I have used to date. The only thing wrong about this app is no iOS 3.1.3 port.
Like
Version 2.25
roller-coaster
15 September 2016
It's really very fast. I think this is the most considerable advantage. Moreover, Telegram can be a good alternative to other social messengers as it also has an option to share not only text but photos. I also like that simple and user-friendly design.
Like (1)
Version 2.24
George6
25 June 2016
new russian law forces storing ALL communication data for 3 years with full access for their secret service (2016 June)
Like (2)
Version 2.15
CDavid
01 April 2016
As it is stated in the description above, the app is fast, simple and free. I've been using it for a while on two different Macs (2014 MBA and 2011 iMac) and I haven't seen any glitches, freezes or things like that. I mean no issues at all, which is pretty impressive. To start using the app, you should download, install and launch it, enter your phone number and then the verification code you receive. I like this system as it's simple and comprehensible. If you need a decent, lightning-fast third-party messaging application, Telegram is worth a try.
Like (4)
Version 2.06
bowski
29 December 2015
Best messenger app of all for me... easy to handle... with a klick on a symbol you can send in a cryptic safe mode... its safer than whatsapp when sending from iOS to android and iOS to iOS....and so much more sympatic. And a desktop version exist too for win and mac and its free..nothing more to say.
Like (1)
Version 2.00
Sha4k
28 November 2015
Metadata: https://oflisback.github.io/telegram-stalking/
Like (4)
Version 1.98
cpp
22 November 2015
1. Fast. Really fast. Did I say it's fast?.. 2. Secure. Secret chats rock 3. Multi-platform + synchronization across devices that actually works. Open source clients code! 4. Free without ads 5. Public/private channels 6. Bots + powerful bots API
Like
Version 1.96
EnormousDave
31 August 2015
The developers of this app and its OS X version are awesome! They managed to create something that combines all the best features of Skype, Viber, iMessage, Facebook Messenger and other popular services. Thank you!
Like (9)
Version 1.70
1 answer(s)
ggt667
ggt667
25 September 2016
Skype?
Like
Maxter
09 July 2015
Messenger *Deluxe*
Like
Version 1.65
mfolder
31 May 2015
The best IM app! Secure, stable, simple, fast, reliable... Rocks also in web, windows, android, etc.. Good bye iMessage!
Like (1)
Version 1.60
Crus13
11 April 2015
Amazing fast and add free multiplatform App.
Like (2)
Version 1.40
Maxter
04 April 2015
On the dev website, there's another version named "Telegram Desktop" https://desktop.telegram.org That version is several versions "behind" the Cr*p Store's. Correct me if I'm wrong but I think that one is the "real" open source version. I'm not too sure open source software can make it to the Cr*p Store. At least I do not remember having seen any there, but I'm not too much a fan of that shop either....
Like
Version 1.40
2 answer(s)
Crus13
Crus13
11 April 2015
It confused me too, but now both are in the Appstore.
This reply from dev..
https://telegram.org/faq#q-why-do-you-have-two-apps-in-the-mac-store
Like (2)
ysgad
ysgad
03 September 2015
The developer states: "One is our native OSX app, the other is the OSX version of our multiplatform client— Telegram Desktop. Both are official. Both started out as unofficial apps by two different developers and vary in design and functionality.

The OSX app features native OSX design and supports secret chats. Telegram Desktop is optimized for photo and document sharing, as well as sending long text messages. Try both and pick one that suits your day-to-day Telegram usage best."
Like
iMiNiMaL
30 March 2015
I need Signal/TextSecure for OS X!!!
Like (3)
Version 1.39
DotTheI
13 February 2015
The best messenger out there. * Free * Open source * Encrypts messages * Multiplatform * Allows sending files
Like (3)
Version 1.38
H3L0
07 February 2015
No data encryption, and no real message deletion
Like (1)
Version 1.38
1 answer(s)
siamlotus
siamlotus
08 February 2015
I don't use the software but this is from their website : Telegram messages are heavily encrypted and can self-destruct.
Like (2)
TCalhau
09 January 2015
Just one thing to say: FAR TOP to WhatsApp! I love the Telegram.
Like (1)
Version 1.36
asux
06 August 2014
Great OS X client for Telegram!
Like (3)
Version 1.5
kingofleon86
23 March 2014
What about snow?
Like (2)
Version 1.21
1 answer(s)
Beamy
Beamy
04 May 2014
I am waiting for winter and xmas, too !
Like (7)