Back to CleanMyDrive page
CleanMyDrive free download for Mac

CleanMyDrive Reviews

2.1.14
27 October 2018

Clean and eject external drives.

bsmit
30 October 2019

Most helpful

spamming all those "other products" feels like adware or spyware! can't trust it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.13

Read 15 CleanMyDrive User Reviews

Rate this app:

bsmit
30 October 2019
spamming all those "other products" feels like adware or spyware! can't trust it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.13
Edelheid
11 December 2017
It’s a decent app, but it needs to stop recommending me the rest of their products (that I already own and have installed mind you) after buying the in-app purchases.
Like
Version 2.1.10
LuisM
06 January 2016
When CleanMyDrive 2 is allowed to "Launch on system startup," which is its default setting, it somehow causes ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginitems.plist to be mostly obliterated.
Like
Version 2.0.1
jack2001
07 December 2014
non ho mai capito questa applicazione che cosa fa.
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Aliosha
Aliosha
18 May 2017
Ma se non l'hai capito perché metti una stella? Astieniti dal dare giudizi negativi.
Comunque: pulisce una chiavetta USB (o altro supporto formattato per Windows) da file che si vedono in un PC mentre in Mac sono invisibili.
Like
Wts
11 October 2014
What's the catch ?
Like
Version 1.0.4
luis-f-jorge
08 September 2014
I simply love this app. It's very unobtrusive, allows one to eject a drive without having to open finder, and cleans drives of files that are seen as "junk" by windows. Unfortunately, after a couple of months (and only by accident, when solving a problem using gfxCardStatus), I found out that this alone is responsible for a decrease in 20%+ of my Macbook Pro runtime. Why? Because once you click on it, it switches the discrete graphics card on, and never again switches it off. From then on, every app uses the discrete graphics card, consuming a LOT more power than needed. If you use it in a desktop computer (iMac, Mac mini, Mac Pro), consider this review a FIVE STAR review. Otherwise, consider it a TWO star review. I can't imagine why would you use the discrete graphics card for such a simple app, much less when only the icon is on the menu bar. I'm currently not using it.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.3
2 answer(s)
PioALt
PioALt
25 August 2015
Thank you for your comment.
he was very helpful
Like (1)
Zoidbert
Zoidbert
11 December 2015
This is more a question for the Developer, but does anyone know if this was fixed in the recency-released CleanMyDrive 2 (2015 December 8)? I generally like the app and its setup, but remember this being an issue way back when I first started using it.
Like
Cgc
24 December 2012
I've love to have all ignored drives (e.g. larger than x GB) not appear in the drop down menu on the menubar.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Cgc
24 December 2012
Nice and unobtrusive (other than the upsell to CleanMyMac). When I eject a drive I see some animation (?) moving from upper-left to the upper-right of my screen. It's too fast to see what it is but it looks like crap. This is as it's cleaning the .ds_store files from my drive. Other than that, it's perfect.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Pslieber
01 October 2012
Simple need, simple solution: dang dot underscore files were driving me crazy when transferring files to an exFAT drive intended for a media server. I lacked the stomach and patience to manually dabble in Terminal nor Windows deletion toward this end. Clean My Drive works wonderfully in 10.8 toward this end, sports an easy-to-use interface and design. Let alone being free. I'm also a big fan of its quick eject feature, also shortcut to access the HD/attached drives via the menu bar.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Alvin-H
14 July 2012
I've tried it because its free, but you need to reduce foot print (It use 49MB RAM, instead other similar only 9MB), and need simplify the GUI, its to big. I like the idea that i only run this kind app when i want plug non mac drive, but unfortunately it cost more RAM than app that i use now with sit in prefpane. Hope see improvement in next release, i'll try it again.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
using-Mac
09 July 2012
CleanMyMac and CleanMyMac, which one should I choose? Is CleanMyMac can help to clean up drives?
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
3 answer(s)
Gregm
Gregm
09 July 2012
Do you mean CleanMyDrive or CleanMyMac? It appears to me that CleanMyDrive is *one part* of CleanMyMac. I'd suggest that the logical thing to do would be to grab the free CleanMyDrive to see if you are comfortable with the way it works. If so, then you might consider the other. CleanMyMac does a lot more (some thought should be applied before using all of it) --- has a limited trial period -- and has a purchase price.
Like (2)
using-Mac
using-Mac
10 July 2012
Thank you. I'd better choose CleanMyMac rather than this app.
Like
Old-Toad
Old-Toad
14 March 2017
Before using either I suggest you go to the Apple Support Communities and search for "CleanMyMac". It's considered malware by most users there. I wouldn't let either get near my Mac or hard drives.
Like
Zbyszekc
08 July 2012
Why program need OSX 10.7?
Like
Version 1.0.2
Gregm
07 July 2012
The over two year old Hidden Cleaner wins for performance. I tested it with a 32 G USB stick, OS 10.7.4. I looked at all the files (using a "visibility" toggler) before I ejected. The stick was then carried it to a Win machine three times (ordinary eject, CleanMyDrive eject, and Hidden Cleaner eject.) To begin with, CMD said that the stick had no trash files (wrong!) -- but it displayed a cleaning progress bar when ejected via CMD. There were still some Mac invisibles left on the stick-- but it did clean some off. Hidden Cleaner got them all. Significant differences: CMD has a nice interface and some preferences to play with. Hidden Cleaner interface is a drag-your-drive-to-the-icon. CMD is still under development --- HC has not been updated for over two years (but then why would it?) I'll be uninstalling it --- but will try it again when it is updated.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2
Eric•Woehler
16 June 2012
Its not 100% clear exactly what this software does - I can understand why Resource Forks might not be needed anymore, but .DS_Store files are not what I would call "junk". Before I install this, I would be curious to hear from any users if it is possible to select the categories of "junk" so that I might delete Resource Forks but not the DS_Store files? Or does the software do a complete delete with no selection possible? Any experiences from others to clarify/expand on the software's activities would be welcomed.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Gregm
Gregm
07 July 2012
It becomes useful if you are using the same drives on non-mac OS's. Give your Win buddy a USB stick loaded by your Mac and watch him go nuts trying to figure out WTH you've given him.
Like (2)
Macjudge
24 May 2012
The app works really well and does exactly what it claims. There's some space for improvement though: 1. Please add an option to change how the menu appears once you press the icon in the menu bar. I'm not a big fan of this gigantic pop up. (maybe some fade-in or the option to turn off the animation entirely) 2. I would also like to see a more compressed interface. An option to 'shrink' everything so it appears more compact would be very welcome - especially with many drives attached. Again, this is just my taste. Otherwise, grab it while it's free!
Like (2)
Version 1.0