Back to Mac Malware Remover page
Mac Malware Remover free download for Mac

Mac Malware Remover Reviews

1.1.6
10 December 2018

Rid your Mac of common Malware.

Derekcurrie
10 December 2018

Most helpful

No. Just no. This thing is minimal and out-of-date. The core code is from 2012. It doesn't remove anything from what I can tell. But instead it tosses users off to actual professional anti-malware websites like F-Secure for DIY removal of the couple things it can actually detect. I literally have no idea why this exists. That this strange, teeny tiny, entirely inadequate application requires Root access to run makes me worry. What is this app, really? Marketing-ware to impress potential clients?

IOW: Look elsewhere folks. There are so many excellent, professional quality anti-malware tools. Three of my favorites are listed above with the best star ratings. One of them is free! Also, reviewing the 5-star reviewers below gives me distinct déjà vu of nefarious MacKeeper FAKE REVIEW bombardment. I believe not-a-one of them. How does someone give a 5-star review for something as minimal and pointless at this app? Boggling.
Like (8)
Version 1.1.6

Read 15 Mac Malware Remover User Reviews

Rate this app:

Penguirl
27 June 2019
For what it's worth, Avast flagged MMR on both my boot drive and my backup drive. For me, I trust Avast more than MMR so adios MMR.
Like
Version 1.1.6
Derekcurrie
10 December 2018
No. Just no. This thing is minimal and out-of-date. The core code is from 2012. It doesn't remove anything from what I can tell. But instead it tosses users off to actual professional anti-malware websites like F-Secure for DIY removal of the couple things it can actually detect. I literally have no idea why this exists. That this strange, teeny tiny, entirely inadequate application requires Root access to run makes me worry. What is this app, really? Marketing-ware to impress potential clients?

IOW: Look elsewhere folks. There are so many excellent, professional quality anti-malware tools. Three of my favorites are listed above with the best star ratings. One of them is free! Also, reviewing the 5-star reviewers below gives me distinct déjà vu of nefarious MacKeeper FAKE REVIEW bombardment. I believe not-a-one of them. How does someone give a 5-star review for something as minimal and pointless at this app? Boggling.
Like (8)
Version 1.1.6
1 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
10 December 2018
So appreciate your knowledge and the time you took to post this.

?Thank you!!

Annie
Like (1)
Adyton
18 September 2013
The download link is still not working, here is the download page: http://midatlanticconsulting.com/Mac_Malware_Remover.php
Like (2)
Version 1.1.4
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
18 September 2013
Thanks for letting us know. The listing has been fixed!
Like
Vincent-Sanford
Vincent-Sanford
15 July 2014
Why does this show up as a top result, the update link is bs and the company it takes you to has no downloads even at their download link!
Like
Michael-Love
24 May 2012
Magican AntiTrojan leads security concept to a new level. It detect and remove Flashback Trojan in seconds.Wow!!!!!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.5
Gang*
22 May 2012
Mid Atlantic Consulting always surprises us.Good app guys. This one is fantastic!and is perfect choise for all Mac users as it provides security features and configuration options that guarantee a solid security. Love it!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.5
Patricia56
22 May 2012
Five stars for this app! Magican AntiTrojan is totally free and very useful because provides protection against Flashback Trojan.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
There really isn't much to review for this app. There is no way it could have scanned and 200+Gb drive in less than 1 second. And yes, I timed it. Get something real in place of this. Get something that doesn't have to keep phoning home multiple times before, during, after its executed process. For my money (which is no money, free), get Sophos instead. Though I wasn't ever infected by flashback, I did go after a copy of it to "sandbox", and Sophos found and killed it.
Like (5)
Version 1.1.3
5 answer(s)
Deemery
Deemery
13 May 2012
Well, it could be that the items it checks for are installed in known locations, which is certainly true of the Flashback item.
Like (2)
macjeffva
macjeffva
13 May 2012
Correct. It only scans for the known trojans that can hurt the mac. It does not scan for viruses that wont hurt the mac but may hurt a PC if "passed on". One example would be Word Macro Viruses. They have unique signatures and are found in the same places on every computer. The program is updated as new trojans come out with their signatures. Sophos is a different type of program. It is a virus scanner. It scans every file and monitors new files. I agree its a good program but it does search for a lot of things that dont really matter to the average mac user. So with that said, I guarantee if you had one of the 4 trojans we currently check for it would have let you know. Based on this explanation, if you can improve your review that would be nice since I think it was a misunderstanding.
Like (1)
macjeffva
macjeffva
13 May 2012
Thanks Deemery for your your comment. You are correct about how it works. I am not going to make this do what Sophos does but we are open to suggestions. We put it out as a way to calm down the mass media scare about the recent trojans. Our phones were ringing off the hook from home clients, to businesses, and even the FBI. We put out this software so people could quickly check if they have any Trojans and repair them. All the repairs can also be done in the terminal but not every user knows how to do that. Our program cleans using the SUDO command so it can clean the entire computer. That is why it needs Admin rights.
Like (1)
Geofrant
Geofrant
17 May 2012
macjeffva, and what is the purpose of this program phoning home, as mentioned above?
Like
macjeffva
macjeffva
18 May 2012
I think you might be misunderstanding. The program itself does check for updated definitions and program updates but it does not phone home. In my comment when I said phones ringing, I mean people physically calling our support lines.
Like
Dremwkr
13 May 2012
Grade: A This fires on all cylinders. It just works. It does what it needs to do...100%. It is "Mom" proof (I hope she isn't reading this...LOL). It doesn't crash.... AND in terms of value, you can't beat free... I extend gratitude and blessings to the developers for this charitable work against internet evil. Grace be with you. I extend to them, the traditional US Navy WELL DONE!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
macjeffva
macjeffva
13 May 2012
Thank you for the good review. If there is anything you would like to see in later versions let us know.
Like (1)
Ravenlunatic
13 May 2012
I don't understand the motivation behind a few of you positing here, ((What is this the Salem witch trials?)) This is a FREE preventive maintenance App. or are you simply closet spelling and diction Nazi's, with No Life, that has nothing better to do than cruise the New software reviews, and Whiz on them. if you don't like it something, simply don't buy it, watch it, listen to it, and Move on to something you do like or can use.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
2 answer(s)
Psychos
Psychos
13 May 2012
So, you needed to post a second 5-star review just to call people Nazis and compare this to the Salem witch trials? Hmm, I have to wonder about your motivation on that one. *My* only motivation is to point out the unethical behavior of the developer to other users. Why does it matter if the software is free or not? Developers should not be reviewing their own software. This type of behavior is especially concerning when it's security-related software...
Like (7)
Dalahast
Dalahast
13 May 2012
>I don't understand the motivation behind a few of you positing here I assume you mean "posting" (not "positing", which is a word). At any rate, I will explain the motivation behind our comments. We are unhappy with the fact that several five-star reviews have been posted by people who are likely, or appear to be, connected to the development of this program in some way. Posting those kinds of reviews is unethical, and is unfair to users who want to download software that has good ratings. When the developer(s) skew the ratings by posting positive reviews on their own software, users see what the developer wants them to see, not what impartial users actually think of the software.
Like (4)
tot
13 May 2012
this pissi puddle scans nothing 2sec and thats all (even i put trojan in one folder) don't show nothing. during this time that poop 'calls home' 3-4 time! what for? pointless.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.3
John2011
10 May 2012
This application focuses on proactive behavior-based on detection , to stop cyber threats that other products do not detect. Great job!
Like (4)
Version 1.1.2
10 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
11 May 2012
Wow, a member since the day of your review. Can I get a sock puppet gig too?
Like (7)
macjeffva
macjeffva
11 May 2012
I just got an email from this user who is an ER DOCTOR I think in Egypt. Question was can I explain what it means in English when someone calls them a sock puppet. I forwarded it to macupdate as insulting and abusing users is not constructive criticism and is against their policies. Please don't insult reviewers. There is nothing wrong with someone who signs up for macupdate to download something and is nice enough to write a review or in this case 4 or 5 reviews. Review scams are not good. But unless there are a hundred reviews all at the same time you can't be sure it's not a real review. And macupdate tells developers to encourage their customers to write reviews. Since macupdate requires registration they have to sign up. Then they wrote a review. There is nothing wrong with them giving it a good rating and if they use the product and like it, then it's valid. So please think before you attack an innocent reviewer. You were a new member once too.
Like (1)
John2011
John2011
11 May 2012
I beg your pardon bbw7? What makes you say that, is it not allowed for any new member to post a review here or what?
Like (1)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
11 May 2012
Of course a new member is allowed to review here, John2011. It's just that the record on your MU profile shows that the only app you've downloaded here is Opera.
Like (3)
John2011
John2011
12 May 2012
Thank you Fyreflye.I am sure that i downloaded Mac Malware Remover too.Other applications (VPN server agent and The brain already have them, so there is no need to download them again. Also I am sure that i am allowed to review or rate any app here whether i downloaded it from here or not, and sure too that i am not going to download or post any thing in this forum anymore, there are many other forums where new members are welcomed.
Like (2)
Sherlockbones
Sherlockbones
12 May 2012
macjeffa: just to make things clear saying someone is a sock puppet is not an insult and is not abusive either. In this instance it usually means the poster is suspected of being affiliated with the dev team in some manner.
Like (1)
macjeffva
macjeffva
12 May 2012
Understand what sock puppet means in this case but not everyone would. You have to understand that mac users are of all types. The advanced types that are basic users. Some older people did not grow up in the computer generation and the ones like the review that was removed that was posted by someone over 70 for different product under our product. These people do not know better. So my point is dont attack someone unless you are 100% sure they are what you say. As I said before we have had positive and negative comments and I have told people to write reviews when they email me. And we have thousands of clients that are using our product but may never have heard of macupdate. So if we send them there to do a review, it is an honest review from someone who has used the product, but they may not have ever written a review or even used macupdate before. So please lets all be nice!!! Thanks for your comments.
Like (1)
John2011
John2011
12 May 2012
Since i got lots of apologies from mac malware support about the insulting that i got here, i am going to continue using this site and will refer all of my friends to it too.Have a nice day.
Like (2)
bbw7
bbw7
13 May 2012
@John2011, I'm replying to your post on this sub-thread. FTR, a sockpuppet is a term for an online identity meant as a deception (I state this because evidently some people don't know what it means). I used the term with you because you and several other new MU members became members the day this product showed up on MU, and this was the first product said new reviewers reviewed and they gave glowing 5-star reviews, which is also weird for a product that just came out the same day. This is suspicious behavior, particularly for new security software. One of the pro-MMR reviewers actually posted 4 reviews on in this first day, which is also suspicious in and of itself. Because of this suspicious behavior and the fact that this concerns security software -- and a history of similar behavior for definite hinky security ware in the past here at MU -- I and others have been vocal in pointing out these reviews (the hinkiness of the product description didn't help any either) to give a heads-up to less discerning visitors viewing these glowing reviews. If you are a legitimate user of MMR and joined MU because you wanted to give a shout out for this software that you used apparently all of a portion of a day, then my sincere apologies. But I hope you understand why yours and similar reviews from spanking-new MU members raised suspicions. I am all for new members to any and all on-line blogs and such. Which is part of the reason I am telling people to beware of this new security software with the apparently glowing reviews by newly minted reviewers. I'd like to add that although some of these pro-MMR commenters have now given at least two 5-star reviews for this product, I and the others preaching caution regarding it have yet to give it a rating. This is because we want to maintain the legitimacy of MU review ratings and are leary to try this product out because of the tell-tale warning signs regarding it. We're not being vindictive to this product, only raising reasonable warnings based on the M.O. of past hinky security software and glowing reviews of dubious provenance.
Like (2)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
13 May 2012
@bbw7: An excellent and tempered summary of the issue. Thanks for posting this.
Like (1)
macjeffva
10 May 2012
**FROM THE DEVELOPER Please manually update to 1.1.2 as the updater in 1.1.0 or 1.1.1 is not working properly. Download this update (now online), unzip it, and copy it to your applications folder (replacing the old version). If you do a get info, the version should be 1.1.2. Thanks, Mid Atlantic Consulting, inc. www.midatlanticconsulting.com
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
macjeffva
macjeffva
10 May 2012
Thank you everyone for your feedback and THANK YOU for also not slamming us with a 1 star review for these errors. We appreciate comments so we can fix the problems but there is nothing I can do to get rid of a bad review. So we are working on 1.1.3 to come out probably tomorrow to correct grammar issues. I also fixed the description. I am happy to get suggestions or typos if you want to email me. For SPAM reasons use the contact us on www.midatlanticconsulting.com Also if you email me any corrections or give us a good review after we make a change you are happy with, I will be happy to give you a code for the paid options fee for our iphone/ipad app called HotMacNews2. So thanks again for your constructive criticism but also for doing it in a nice way. Please continue on with the discussion!!! Jeff
Like (2)
bbw7
10 May 2012
It's hard to take seriously an anti-malware product for which the product description is rife with English usage errors, yet the company claims to be based in Virginia, USA. And to be clear, I fully understand that English is not the native language of all (or even most) developers, nor do I even assume English is the lingua franca of software. However, I take a very careful look at any anti-virus/malware software I am considering to install on my computer, and such matters as described above make my spidey sense tingle. In addition couldn't find any reviews of this product with a google search either, so I think I'll pass for the time being, thanks.
Like (6)
Version 1.1.1
9 answer(s)
macjeffva
macjeffva
10 May 2012
We are in Virginia. Our developers are from around the world. We apologize for grammar errors as the app is written, and also the description, in many languages. Some of the translation errors got overlooked. But at the same time I don't understand how a grammar problem would change how a product works. We have updated the descriptions and are working on updating the app. Google has introduced auto translation to emails and they don't come out perfect but no one is canceling their email accounts. Just like gmail accounts it's free so give it a try. It's very easy to use and our clients love it. You said you could not find any reviews on it. That is because it just came out yesterday and the official press releases only went out to the media yesterday. If there is anything we can do, like answer some mac support questions, to make you happy please let us know. (We specialize in Onsite Macintosh Consulting and Support for Apple, Inc.)
Like (2)
mikokim
mikokim
10 May 2012
@macjeffva: Speaking for myself: as a consumer, I also pay attention to the little details of how a company presents itself, from design to language and wording consistency is key for me -- it's all part of the brand; if I don't see much attention being paid to the presentation, I suspect the business doesn't put as much attention to detail into the product either. Of course, that doesn't mean that a business that goes all out to make itself look sleek and cool in its presentation does actually produce the better product. However, the least a business can do is make sure that the wording of its product in the language targeted is free of mistakes; it shows some respect for potential customers.
Like (6)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
10 May 2012
I have to agree with the previous assessments regarding grammar used, spelling errors, etc. I have always considered it very unprofessional for a developer to create a great piece of software, only to shoot himself in the foot by writing a very poorly-worded software description which contains grammatical errors and spelling errors. It does a lot to rob the potential user or buyer of confidence in both the developer and in his or her product. In short, a sloppy, mediocre software description could be indicative of a low-quality product as well. It reflects directly on the developer's work habits, and possibly on their coding habits as well. My natural reaction is to steer clear of software where the developer does not even make a serious effort to proofread his or her work prior to publishing it. Some people may consider this nitpicking, but if you want to instill confidence in your product, then please, please take the time to write a top-notch software description, without errors. Thanks!
Like (4)
Sherlockbones
Sherlockbones
10 May 2012
When this software first appeared on MacUpdate my 'whiskers' twitched too bbw7. I said to myself "give it a day to simmer and see remarks come (discounting the obvious self promoting). Mmm, smells like bacon!
Like (2)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
10 May 2012
@macjeffa: I agree with what everyone else pointed out. What you must take into serious consideration is that fake anti-virus products are often immediately obvious by their poor English, terrible spelling and awkward grammatical errors. So, ANY product purporting to be a security related product that shows any of these symptoms is immediately suspicious and will be treated like a dead raccoon in the office kitchen and studiously avoided by anyone with a whit of sense. And, while we overlook theses errors in games I for one, won't touch a security related product that flaunts them. Also, defending the mistakes and going as far as comparing them to email translation errors does not help your case. Instead, it demeans it further. As a result, you are gaining nothing but negative publicity here. I wish you well, but; you are not off to a good start.
Like (2)
macjeffva
macjeffva
10 May 2012
macjeffva replied on 10 May 2012 Thank you everyone for your feedback and THANK YOU for also not slamming us with a 1 star review for these errors. We appreciate comments so we can fix the problems but there is nothing I can do to get rid of a bad review. So we are working on 1.1.3 to come out probably tomorrow to correct grammar issues. I also fixed the description. I am happy to get suggestions or typos if you want to email me. For SPAM reasons use the contact us on www.midatlanticconsulting.com Also if you email me any corrections or give us a good review after we make a change you are happy with, I will be happy to give you a code for the paid options fee for our iphone/ipad app called HotMacNews2. So thanks again for your constructive criticism but also for doing it in a nice way. Please continue on with the discussion!!! Jeff
Like (1)
bbw7
bbw7
11 May 2012
@macjeffva, I meant no disrespect, and I appreciate the fact that you appreciated the fact that mine and other dubious commenters did not, out of hand, give bad ratings to your product, as we haven't used it. I wrote what I did (and I figure other similarly inclined commenters did too) both for your (the developer's) sake as well as for relative newbies who might wander upon this page and see the glowing sock puppet reviews for this product and download it straight away and install it based on these specious reviews. I also checked the profiles of some of the glowing reviewers and found that a number of them had signed up for MU accounts on the day this product was released. This further raised my suspicions and caused me to write my initial comment as a heads up for others. Furthermore, I'll say that some of the other commenters fleshed out some of my own concerns, so I am not going to repeat them, besides saying that marketing is a crucial aspect for any product and new anti-virus software really needs to be akin to Caesar's wife, i.e. above suspicion. I'll mention one other thing: There's not a plethora of free anti-virus/malware products for the Mac, so a new one undoubtedly catches a lot of attention AND scrutiny here at MU, so you really do want to put your best foot forward. I will, with the best of intentions, make two recommendations to you: 1) Submit your product to some webzines/blogs for review -- such as OSX Daily or Mac World, but there are many others. Try a search of "comparison of free anti-virus mac applications" to find some have articles on this topic and contact them. 2) Call off the sock puppets. SERIOUSLY. Regular users of MU can smell them out at 50 paces, and will definitely call them out -- particularly when it concerns anti-virus/malware software, because of past such abuses by purveyors of not-so-fine "anti-virus/malware" products. It really doesn't help your cause, if your product is legitimate, to use guerilla marketing tactics of this ilk; to wit: you've already seen the backlash to it. Please take this in the spirit it was meant, i. e. respectful, constructive criticism.
Like (2)
macjeffva
macjeffva
11 May 2012
BBW7- We have been fixing errors in typing. As far as reviews there were a few from our employees. We had them removed already. The ones that are left one of them is someone using the product who wrote us a thank you. I said put it in a review and they did. They had to sign up to do it. Whats wrong with that. The person is not even a client of our business. The other person I have no idea who they are. We only have two reviews. But, after talking to the CEO of MacUpdate, they said they appreciate it if we encourage reviews as long as they are real reviews. So I will continue asking people to write reviews if they like our product. But again I thank you for only commenting and not reviewing. When you only have a couple reviews, one bad one kills the average.
Like
Psychos
Psychos
12 May 2012
macjeffva: If you're indeed against your company's employees posting fake reviews/ratings, why are there TWO 5-star ratings of this product by YOU personally?
Like
Ravenlunatic
09 May 2012
This is a Great App. Very easy / User friendly. This should be added to your Routine Maintenance . Once a week I run Apples,Disk Utility, and This,..MMR Cheers !! Keep up the great Work !! Randy C.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Dalahast
Dalahast
10 May 2012
It's been out for a couple days, so what is "once a week" supposed to mean here? You ran it once? Mmhmm.
Like (5)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
10 May 2012
Perhaps, instead, you ought to be running grammar check with every fake posting? The bogus capitalization, incorrect -and odd- punctuation does nothing to legitimize your fake claims. What company do you work for? Just so I know never to let anyone hire you for fake grassroots ad campaigns. Toodles! Don't quit your day job! -Unless of course this is your day job, then, by all means...
Like (3)
Fyreflye
09 May 2012
"You can't open the application Mac Malware Remover because it is not supported on this type of Mac." My system meets all the stated requirements. Looks like the developer forgot to mention something important.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
3 answer(s)
macjeffva
macjeffva
09 May 2012
We did note it requires 10.6 or later and intel mac. We have zero reports of any issues so far on OS X 10.6.8. I would like to work with you to figure out the issue. Did you expand the zip file and then run the app. go to this site and fill out a support request and I will personally handle it. We hope you give us a good review and if it wont work on your computer we will either change the description or make it work. http://midatlanticconsulting.com/contact.php
Like (1)
macjeffva
macjeffva
10 May 2012
I just checked with Developer and he said it requires a 64 bit capable mac. I checked back end of the listing and 64 bit required is checked. But MacUpdate did not post it. So I just sent a message for them to correct it. Sorry for this but it requires a Core 2 Duo or later which is the same requirements for Mountain Lion coming out.
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
10 May 2012
As I wrote, the developer forgot to mention something important, like 64 bit only. BTW, the developer asked me to report here that the app is not a scam. I don't know about the app, but some of the reviews here are from obvious sock puppets. MU should be investigating and removing them.
Like (1)