Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Texpad page
Texpad free download for Mac

Texpad Reviews

22 June 2021

LaTeX editor.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
limies
limies
Dec 26 2020
1.8.19
5.0
Dec 26 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8.19
Great application!
mac-hannes
mac-hannes
Sep 19 2017
1.7.44
4.5
Sep 19 2017
4.5
Version: 1.7.44
I've written several papers with Texpad and now I'm writing my thesis with it. Great app, and I've tried all there are. One half-star off because tab management works a bit different than in most macOS apps and there's no way to change it.
oakcask
oakcask
Apr 14 2017
1.7.41
2.0
Apr 14 2017
2.0
Version: 1.7.41
One thing I dislike about Texpad is their faulty “auto-sense” algorithm and the developer insists on not providing manually setting the default engine. Any situation that is not known to the developer and their auto sense rules will most likely default in xelatex, and that happens VERY often. Even if the input file is made for LuaLaTeX, using style files specific to that engine, it auto senses to xelatex and requires manually stopping auto-sense and then specify the correct engine, each time a new file is opened. The same thing happens when the app sees an input text in a language that the developer didn’t consider. I suggested to the developer several times to create a manual default engine option, but they religiously insists on their auto sense algorithm and not allowing a user to specify a default engine (unless that is xelatex, because that’s what it defaults to). If you are a LuaLaTeX user, or write documents that includes languages other than English, your chance of getting frustrated with this app is high.
MichaelE5084
MichaelE5084
Nov 3 2015
1.7.18
0.0
Nov 3 2015
0.0
Version: 1.7.18
Great new icon!
Ed-Up
Ed-Up
Aug 11 2015
1.6.14
5.0
Aug 11 2015
5.0
Version: 1.6.14
The greatest LaTeX program ever written
Manfred-Bergmann
Manfred-Bergmann
Oct 13 2014
1.6.14
5.0
Oct 13 2014
5.0
Version: 1.6.14
Best LaTeX editor for me.
anonymous-hummingbird-1667
anonymous-hummingbird-1667
Sep 19 2014
1.6.13
5.0
Sep 19 2014
5.0
Version: 1.6.13
I like Texpad a lot, and have settled on it to write my thesis. It looks nice and clean, the outliner is good (I like the % TODO visibility in the outliner too), the .bib integration is well done, and it doesn't balk at opening .Rnw files (like some other editors). The ability to easily create a custom build chain with a .tpscript has been useful for me (I'm using knitr, xelatex and biber), although the dev says that direct knitr support is coming in 1.7.0. In my opinion the interface is well-designed (and I'm working on a laptop). I find TeXShop clunky, but obviously a lot of people like it. In Texpad ⌘-1/2/3/4 all switch between useful views. Best Mac LaTeX editor I've found so far for my purposes.
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
Feb 8 2013
1.4.5
0.0
Feb 8 2013
0.0
Version: 1.4.5
This trend towards "elegant single window design" needs to be shot in the head. It's extremely inefficient use of precious screen area, especially for laptops. Maybe these developers don't remember Windows 1.0
slowbrain
slowbrain
Dec 5 2011
1.2.5
0.0
Dec 5 2011
0.0
Version: 1.2.5
crippled demo is worth nothing, even set of screenshots would be more helpful... I somehow cannot justify to pay more than $10 only to find it does nothing more than other free alternatives.
angelito-mendoza
angelito-mendoza
Dec 3 2011
1.2.5
5.0
Dec 3 2011
5.0
Version: 1.2.5
Great
Georg-74
Georg-74
Sep 16 2011
1.0.2
0.0
Sep 16 2011
0.0
Version: 1.0.2
I don't get it ... there are many free and oss tools out there that outpace this payed app by far. As neat as it may be, I don't know, who is going to pay even 99 Cents for something if there are stable long time developed alternatives for free like TeXMaker or TeXShop?